SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of CheapOair

CheapOair reviews

597 reviews
41%
Categories: Hotels, Plane Tickets, Travel
135 W 50th Street, Suite 500
New York, NY 10020, USA
Tel: (800) 525-0400
contactus@fareportal.com

597 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
132
Value
128
Shipping
59
Returns
65
Quality
107

All Reviews

joanno4
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/29/16

I had significant problems with Cheapoair this summer. They issued a ticket in the wrong name. I had to buy new tickets on one airline and pay a service fee to change the name on another airline, adding over $600 to the cost of the trip.. Cheapoair assumed no responsibility, claiming it was all my fault which was not true. They actually have a link on their issues page to fix this problem which you pay a fee for, suggesting this happens often and is a way they regularly cheat customers of extra money. When I returned from my trip, I tried to send a complaint, but letters and emails were returned as undeliverable. Phonecalls ended up transferred to busy signals. When I finally did get someone to talk to me, she said it was simply all my fault which of course was impossible to disprove. Wished I had checked reviews on the internet as they have a really bad rep, which is well deserved!

Ask JoAnn about CheapOair
Advertisement
mariekes2
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/27/16

We booked a return flight Amsterdam-Istanbulp-Baku with Cheap O Air. Due to closing of the airport and airspace, we decided to cancel our flight via Istanbul Airport on July 17th 2016. The Cheap O Air representative on the phone was very helpful and confirmed full refund as Turkish Airlines announced on their website. All unused tickets for flights operating between 15-20 July a refund would be made without any charge.

In the weeks that followed I contacted Cheap O Air several times by email, phone and web chat to find out when the refund would be given. Every time I contacted them they told me I had to be patient, that it could take up to 2 months for a refund to be made. Not long after a Web Chat in the first week of September, I received the following email from Ms.Ms. Crea Allen from Cheap O Air, CS Plus-Waivers on September 7th 2016.

"We received your request for refund due to the civil unrest in Turkey.
At this time we have been advised by Turkish Airlines that they are resolving these reservations with customers directly.
We have been advised to let our customers know to file their refund claim at:
https://www4.thy.com/customercontact/index.tkf?lang=en"

The useless link brought me directly to the Turkish Airlines homepage and although I thought this was strange practice I contacted Turkish Airlines. As expected they said it was standard procedure for refunds to be claimed back by the customer through the travel agent. They could not help me.

I have sent several emails since this date, but did not get a reply. I have spent a long time on the phone with Cheap O Air to fight this case, but til today I have not received a refund. In the last conversation Cheap O Air told me to wait for another 7 days again... while they request the Turkish Airlines to refund my ticket. They completely ignore the fact that they, as the travel agent, are the one responsible to claim the refund from the airline directly and refund their customer.

Although we have booked many flights through Cheap O Air, I am deeply dissapointed and will never use their service again. I will look for different forums to share my disappointment while continuing to fight for a refund of my ticket.

Ask Marieke about CheapOair
andrear74
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/22/16

I wasn't about to write anything and just letting all of this go, but CheapOair was keep sending me email asking to review my experience with TAP (Portogual Airline). So I had to state the difference since they didn't asked me how was the experience with theyr company. Well Tap as a company was fantastic and very accommodating. The opposite of CheapOair. Booking with them instead of direct with Tap was quite a nightmare and I will probably never use this website ever again. Had two windows opened on my computer with CheapOair website for booking two separate trips for me and my husbands and at the end of everything I found my self with the same middle name of my husband in the reservation. The costumer service for your web site had only very and extremely rude people working for you. They blame on apple for the mistake saying that the computer must had enter the middle name it self. Too bad that any time there is the option to AutoFill the Mac always ask you, it doesn't do it itself. Extremely unprofessional and with a terrible accent that make everything even more impossible to communicate with them. If that was their goal they achieved it. After negotiating not to make us pay $200 for a change in the middle name that TAP costumer service would had done for free when I called, they completely ignored any of our requests. I called and asked for a Vegetarian Meal and there was NO record that the company requested it. Imagine our surprise in the middle of the ocean in the air. The day that we left Tap had no record of the second ticket because the cheapOair operator only send to my email the one that was done with the wrong middle name. So Tap had still an active reservation with no air tickets connected to it that was never canceled. I had to call the RUDE and UNPROFESSIONAL Custumer service again that day to make sure he/she would send me the right confirmation Code. Without considering the headache for making any change... We wanted to add trough cheaopOair the possibility of traveling with Tap to Barcellona from Lisbon and use Lisbon as layover for few days. They asked $200 plus the price of the ticket to add the flight to Barcellona while on the web site stated that with Tap in order to go to Barcelona you must do a lay over in Lisbon. Costumer service wouldn't let us do anything about it. When called Tap they informed me that they would had def. change the ticket for me but that weren't able to do it because I choose to book everything through the cheapOair website. CheapOair felt like a Scam where for every small change there are hidden fees.

As a consumer that's my experience with them and I think they should know that. I work in the costumer service my self and I never seen anything like this. DON'T EVER USE THEM

Ask Andrea about CheapOair
sarahh201
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/18/16

I am a reasonable person who has been in customer service for 13 years, currtly works as job developer, so I know the industry and I am sympathetic to employers BUT never have I received such poor service. They have no idea what they're doing. My flights got cancelled. So I shifted my whole vacation by 1 day. Now they have yet to confirm my new fights with the airline and my account reflects the original flight... It's about 3 weeks before my trip. Just got off the phone after being transferred 4 times with total call time lasting over an hour with no resolution. The call center rep refeused to put me on with a manager and said someone will email me Monday. Never Again!!

Ask Sarah about CheapOair
mohamedr11
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
9/17/16

Very very poor company I will never booking flying again
They charge me twice I been waiting for 8 months still not refunded
What happened here we booked tickets with them when we went to airport not ticket available
We bought tickets again

Ask Mohamed about CheapOair
katyag6
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/17/16

Worst site I've ever used to book a flight. Never using it again. I bought a ticket they booked my coming back date wrong. I called to change it and they fixed the come back date but also changed the fly out date which didn't need to be changed and made me pay $80 for it. When I called to get that fixed they said I need to pay another $100! A ticket that started out a little over $300 was now costing me $500 so I canceled it and they gave me no money back and only gave $300 to use as credit. Which means I lost some money. Later I call to use that credit to buy a $200 ticket and they make me pay an additional $200 for different fees so with the credit a $200 ticket cost me $400. I don't recommend them to anyone! They will purposely mess up your ticket and make you pay extra!!!!!!!

Ask Katya about CheapOair
rebeccad50
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/16/16

I booked a flight to visit my parents for Christmas and 4 hours and 50 minutes later I realized that the site whiched the date on me and it was the wrong date. So I called to cancel my flight and the agent said that you have 4 hours to cancel the flight without getting charged because the airlines only gives them 4 hours which is incorrect because every other site says 24 hours. The agent said he could cancel it with a $25 cancelation fee and I wouldn't be getting the whole amount that I paid for my flight back. I will never use this site again and I am telling everyone I know how they manipulate you.

Ask Rebecca about CheapOair
marias191
1 review
3 helpful votes
9/13/16

I never write reviews but this time i had to. They took my money for the upgrade seats and never paid the airline for the seats. I called the airlines and they confirmed that the seats were not paid for. Now i am trying to get the money back from Chepoair and they tell me that it is not refundable. They even had the odacity to tell me that the charge was pending when i have in front of me the over two months ago receipt charge to my credit card from them.

I called, they ask for you number to call back and for some reason the call get disconnected. I do not get a call but i see a NY number that shows on my phone that never rings. I guess they can then say they call back but i never pick it up.

Ask Maria about CheapOair
ahmada41
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/13/16

Here is my chat record with them for cancelling a flight 20 minutes after booking:

AHMAD
Hi, 12:54 PM

You are now chatting with Warner

AHMAD
I want to cancel my recent booking:
XXXXXXXX 12:54 PM

WARNER

Thank you for choosing Cheapoair.
12:54 PM

WARNER

All Fares/Charges Quoted on this chat would be the "total price per person"

In case of any technical issues, if our chat gets disconnected, you are advised to chat again at a later time.
12:54 PM

WARNER

Hello Ahmad. 12:54 PM

WARNER

I will help you with the same, Ahmad. 12:55 PM

WARNER

May I know the billing phone number or the billing address with the zip code please for the purpose of verification?
12:55 PM

AHMAD
XXXXXXXXX 12:55 PM

AHMAD
XXXXXXXXXXXXX 12:55 PM

AHMAD
XXX XXX 12:55 PM

WARNER

Thank you for the verification. 12:57 PM

WARNER

The amount is not charged yet. Shall I cancel it? 12:57 PM

AHMAD
Yes, please 12:57 PM

WARNER

I am sorry you are charged for it. 12:58 PM

AHMAD
But I have 4 hours free cancellation 12:59 PM

WARNER

The total refund you would get back is CAD1020.61 within 7 to 14 working days. 12:59 PM

WARNER

Shall I cancel it? 12:59 PM

AHMAD
1029.61 1:00 PM

AHMAD
right? 1:00 PM

WARNER

No, the rest of the amount is our service fee which is non-refundable even within 4hrs. 1:00 PM

WARNER

You would get back USD1020.61. 1:01 PM

AHMAD
That was not mentioned in the free cancellation policy note 1:01 PM

WARNER

You must cancel it now as there would be a cancellation fee also after 4hrs. 1:01 PM

AHMAD
I want to cancel it, but that that 9$ charge was not mentioned before 1:02 PM

AHMAD
Your website should reflect it when you are charging people, not at the refund! 1:02 PM

WARNER

No, our service fee is not part of the cancellation policy that you read. 1:03 PM

WARNER

It is different and it is non-refundable. 1:03 PM

AHMAD
OMG, all this should be clear at purchase time 1:03 PM

AHMAD
This way, you will easily lose customers! 1:04 PM

WARNER

I am sorry for the trouble caused. 1:07 PM

WARNER

But, you get the full refund of the ticket amount you paid but not our service fee. 1:08 PM

AHMAD
Anything that you are saying now, should be clear at purchase time. 1:08 PM

AHMAD
I don't care about the 9$, but you made a bad reputation for yourself 1:09 PM

AHMAD
I'll save this conversation and make online reviews about that. 1:10 PM

AHMAD
Please finish the process 1:10 PM

WARNER

Shall I cancel it? 1:12 PM

AHMAD
yes 1:12 PM

WARNER

You will get back CAD1020.61. 1:14 PM

WARNER

I have sent an email to you that you need to acknowledge please. 1:14 PM

AHMAD
ok 1:14 PM

WARNER

Please check your emails. 1:15 PM

AHMAD
I did 1:16 PM

WARNER

Thank you. 1:18 PM

WARNER

Your booking is now cancelled and you will receive an email regarding cancellation shortly.
1:18 PM

WARNER

Is there anything else I may assist you with?
1:18 PM

AHMAD
You may assist yourself with clarity of process!
People are not stupid!, They undestand what you're doing here! 1:19 PM

AHMAD
Goodbye 1:19 PM

WARNER

I am sorry for any inconvenience caused. 1:23 PM

WARNER

Thank you for contacting CheapOair. Have a nice day!
1:23 PM

Ask Ahmad about CheapOair
amyj69
1 review
3 helpful votes
9/11/16

Purchased a ticket to fly out on the 15th. When received the email It says the 13th. Called right away to correct this. I did see they had a flight out on the 13th. I may have clicked the wrong one. However the prices posted were the same on either date. I'm pretty confident that I purchased the 15th. However willing to admit I may have messed up. It shouldn't matter as the prices were the same online anyways. So I call right away to fix. Go figure they charge me another $100. I think it's some kind of scam. I should have stock with Travelocity. I know next time..

Ask Amy about CheapOair
elied5
1 review
6 helpful votes
9/5/16

I booked my flight last evening at 7:16pm and waited for my ticket purchase confirmation. After receiving no follow-up email, during the few minutes I was promised I figured it would get done soon.
I am now on the phone on hold for about 20 minutes waiting to speak to a supervisor because my tickets are $350 dollars more than what I originally had booked and I have to pay the difference or else I cannot fly and do not have a ticket. I received an email at 1:30am telling me my fares have gone up by $350, I should be sleeping by this time not stressing about paying almost an extra 400 dollars.. I am lucky I checked my email now and that I didn't show up to the airport and not being able to fly... I am still on the phone waiting now and it has been 39 minutes so far.. so far this website is no good, so stay away! update to follow..

Service
Value
Quality
Ask Elie about CheapOair
janel202
1 review
4 helpful votes
8/31/16

The departure time for our Norwegian Air flight form London Gatwick to Oakland CA was advanced by 10 minutes. CheapOair had our email addresses and could have notified us of this change. We arrived 1 hour and 15 minutes before the flight time only to learn that the flight was closed out and that the next flight was 4 days later!!!
We spent $4,600 on new flights, but Cheap0air wants to close our file and keep the $1,500 we paid them for this flight for which we were denied boarding, because this was a "minor schedule change," so they aren't responsible for letting us know about the time change.

Ask Jane about CheapOair
donk54
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/29/16

Customer Service, is not even a word with this company.

Ask don about CheapOair
paulw182
1 review
6 helpful votes
8/24/16

Booked flights to portugal for me and my friend and was happy with the price. When checking bank statement i have be charged and extra £50 for no reason. After numerous emails which cheapoair do not respond to i have done online chat off the website i have been told someone from billing department will contact me which they havent bothered. I thought i will try ringing the billing department with the number given on online help and surprise to find its a incorrect number. There is something very dodgy about cheapoair.

Ask Paul about CheapOair
deborahn19
1 review
9 helpful votes
8/16/16

Sent my children to England for the summer....they got to the airport this morning only to be told they should have flown yesterday! Cheapoair states they talked to me regarding change and sent email. Both of these things never happend. Now, had to pay over 2k to get my kids home today. Cheapoair is a disgrace

Ask Deborah about CheapOair
faisala19
1 review
5 helpful votes
8/14/16

I have booked a flight from Detroit to Riyadh and paid extra fees to make changes but what happened was when I wanted to make changes they asked me to pay 838 dollars to delay it from 14 to the 25th. They don't care about customer services and they don't have special prices anymore. They used to have good deals back in 2013 but now nothing special but their bad services.

Ask Faisal about CheapOair
ashleyj56
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/13/16

I had to have surgery and could not go on my vacation as planned. Called in and canceled the flight and was told I need to send documentation to prove I was unable to fly for them to process my claim for either a refund since it was for medical purposes. Sent the information that was requested and it has been two months every time I call I get s different agent who seems to not know about my claim or when they do know the information I'm given does answer my question about my refund. They took my money right away for the trip and it seems like a nightmare to get it back. They claim the airline has to give them answer but the support system working on my claim can never be reached. I will never use this company even if my life depends on it. Worst customer service I've ever received in my life. Still recovering from my injury and had to be on the phone stressed out with them. Never again !

Ask Ashley about CheapOair
marykayd
1 review
9 helpful votes
8/12/16

Dear CheapoAir, thank you for charging my credit card, emailing confirmed ticket numbers, sending a reminder email 4 hours before departure, but NOT ACTUALLY purchasing my tickets. Thank you for keeping me on-hold for most of an hour while my flight left without me & my children. Yes, that was an international phone call. Thanks to Maximus for lying to me repeatedly, for NOT getting us on that flight, then YELLING at me not to buy another ticket. How long did Maximus think I was going to sit at the Airport at 01:00 waiting him to call back? I was quite certain our 3 week trip was destroyed, meaning thousands of non-refundable dollars wasted.
The next day, my husband spent hours on the phone with Cheapo trying to rectify this and finally we had a new intinarery. This sounds ok except that I had already spent @1,800 USD to get to our destination on time for my children's summer camp.
Is CheapoAir really going to say "oh well, your lose because you got to your next 2 other destinations"? Really? Cheapo DID NOT BUY THE TICKETS THEY CARGED TO MY CARD, they had 6 Weeks to realize this, 6 weeks to purchase those tickets!!
I'm supposed to be glad that I was 'allowed' to fly the 2nd & third legs? NOT OK.

Ask MaryKay about CheapOair
jackiej28
1 review
5 helpful votes
8/7/16

My experience so far with CheapOair has been less then stellar and I've not even flown yet. I booked flights in Feb2016 for travel in Dec2016 for 5 passengers. First error occurred when I go my itenirary and notice they had my son's name wrong. I immediately called back and they would not change without a significant fee. Second error after paying the change fee, occurred when they put my son on a different connecting flight from the rest of his family. Immediately I called back and fortunately got the same employee. That error was fixed and no additional fee incurred. A few days ago I get an email that the airline has changed my itinerary, basically I have to accept change or lose my tickets and money. So I accepted the change received a new invoice today and my 5 passengers are listed, one passenger is listed twice and my son is missing. Finally found him in the system but his reservation was not changed. After spending 20 minutes with one employee then told I needed to speak with someone else to get my sons flight changed to agree with the rest of my party. Then before we could really get started the employee told me I had to call back tomorrow since his system was down. Now he asked for a call back # but can't call me back? Tells me call tomorrow and they will see if they can help me or not. Worse customer service I've had with any travel site and I've worked with all of them. Just praying this gets fixed and my travel in Dec goes smoothly. Needless to say I will not be doing any new business with CheapOair. UPDATE: I HEARD FROM CHEAPOAIR.COM AND THEY HAVE CORRECTED MY TRAVEL. MY FAMILY IS NOW ON SAME FLIGHTS TO AND FROM FLORIDA. I JUST PRAY NO ADDITIONAL CHANGES BEFORE OUR TRIP IN DECEMBER.

Ask Jackie about CheapOair
jessem64
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
8/5/16

We planned our trip with them to Africa. For one we purchased our tickets back in March 2016, and come to find out they didn't purchase the tickets from Delta until June 22, 2016. We paid the fee to pick our own seats since it was going to be a very long flight and guess what? We ended up with the worst seats with no option to get our seats back even though we paid for them. The person just said $29.99 is being refunded back on the card you used. She couldn't if cared less. Just a bad way to start out an awesome trip. Delta was the one that confirmed all action with our tickets and even stated they never received a request for specific seats. Go though another agency.

Ask Jesse about CheapOair
davidk238
1 review
5 helpful votes
7/20/16

On June 15th, my wife called CheapOAir to inquire about flight insurance. After speaking with a rep and getting details on the cost and restrictions, my wife specifically told the rep to leave the itinerary as-is and NOT to apply the flight insurance. When reviewing out credit card statements we saw that the charge was put through anyways.

Around July 8th or so my wife called to have the charges reversed. The rep told her that he would investigate the claim, listen to the call where my wife says to not apply it, and then contact us back about a resolution. The rep never contacted us back.

My wife then called again on the morning of July 18th to follow-up. The rep told us that they cannot refund the cost because it had to be done within 10 days. She also said that the charge was made online, which it definitely was not.

This charge was fraudulent. It was done without out our permission. Inquiries to review it went unanswered. And now the company refuses to reimburse the money.

It should also be said that they did a similar thing with seat assignment costs just several months ago after we first booked the flights. My wife called to ask about seat assignment. The rep told her that they could not assign seats until three months prior to the flight. The rep then charged us for seat assignments anyways -- even though we did not authorize it and even though she was not even able to assign seats at that time. In that situation, however, the company did reverse the charges.

Making unauthorized charges might be a common practice among the company and should be looked into.

Ask DAVID about CheapOair
whinniec
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
7/19/16

My mom booked a flight for August from Canada to the US. She didn't realize that the prices were listed in USD until she saw that her credit card had been billed a couple hundred dollars higher than the amount she originally saw. When she called Cheapoair, the customer service rep simply told her, "You should've used Cheapoair.ca" and then refused to refund the money because the cancellation window had passed and we hadn't purchased the insurance. Okay, kind of her fault, fine whatever.

Then my mom proceeds to ask about an email she got the other day telling her to choose her seats on the plane and the rep tells her, "To do that you have to pay an extra $54/person" when it said no such thing on their website or the email we received. And of course the rep says that if she wanted to cancel her flight, they would not return the money but would instead issue a credit "for the next time you fly with us" -- because we're totally down to do that again, right?

Find a better website to book with or just book with the airline directly. This whole experience has been one whole headache. P.S., their promo codes also suck so don't be fooled.

Service
Value
Ask Whinnie about CheapOair
anubhavm
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/17/16

i really like to use cheapoair ,its so cheap.

Ask anubhav about CheapOair
ryans138
1 review
5 helpful votes
7/16/16

The Company cheapoair.com, AKA "Fareportal Inc."

offers insurance policies to customers that are exploitative, and abusive. My wife and I needed to cancel a flight to Italy for two reasons: she was in the hospital for a hernia, and also because of issues with the Department of Immigration. She was then becoming a citizen. We purchased cheapoair.com's travel insurance. They would only allow us to alter the date of the flight, but we could not cancel. We were going to Italy for work, however, we missed the convention due to the aforementioned issues. The company sent us through loops, and forced us to go back and forth between the airline insurance and the company who we purchased the ticket from (https://www.cheapoair.com/). After month of deliberation, paperwork, and literally 7 hours of exhausting conversation our claim was denied. The reason given being that despite having purchased the tickets and insurance from them the reasons given was that our claim were inadequate. How could a medical emergency, compounded with Visa issues be inadequate? CHEAP O AIR STILL OWES MY WIFE AND I NEARLY $2000.

The operate on a kind of triad that makes it nearly impossible for the customer to resolve an issue; website, airline, and insurance. None of which want to be the one responsible for reimbursing the customer. Therefore the customer feels defeated, and frustrated, gives up, and they keep the money. Do not do business with this company, their business practices are exploitative, abusive, and truly immoral.

Ask Ryan about CheapOair
kristinm38
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/14/16

We are so concerned about the legitimacy of this company that we have called our credit card company to put them on watch. Whatever you do, DO NOT pay the extra $25 for "flight protection", because it is a total SCAM - of NO BENEFIT whatsoever. The website is VERY misleading.

Ask Kristin about CheapOair

57 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the CheapOair staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
2 weeks ago
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
2 weeks ago
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
See 20 more questions
See more Q&A
LoadingLoading...
Questions? Get answers from the CheapOair staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

7 Photos for CheapOair

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
CheapOair?
Post Review