Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Tumblr

Tumblr reviews

Is this your business?
81 reviews
35 East 21st St, Ground Floor
New York, NY 10010, USA
Tel: +1 (646) 513-4321
info@tumblr.com

81 Reviews From Our Community

Service
5
Value
3
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
4

All Reviews

jessicam673
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/14/19

I've had a Tumblr blog since 2010. Things used to be great and then the Russian bot accounts (some with porn, some without) that spammed tags made things crazy for a while. It's settled down, but since December 2018 when they started flagging posts for "adult content" it's gone completely around the bend. I have a blog dedicated to an old sci-fi TV show. I make a lot of photo posts, which are completely SFW. Tumblr would flag more than half of them as "adult content." I'd appeal them and they'd get reinstated, but it was very tiring to go slogging through all these posts and have to appeal them. I contacted Support countless times and they were useless. Going through my blog's archive, I recently discovered that posts I'd made 1-2 years ago had been marked as "possible adult content" and were hidden from the public. Clicking on the actual posts came up with "URL not found", meaning they deleted them (below are photos showing what happened). I was never even notified of this. Angrily contacted Support, got their useless "Zendesk" bot with a totally irrelevant reply. I'm just disgusted they've deleted totally innocent, SFW posts without notifying me. In recent days they've laid off flagging my new posts but I'm nearly done with them. I've backed up my blog to Wordpress and will continue updating there. Thanks for turning what was once an enjoyable experience into a nightmare, Tumblr.

Tip for consumers: If you're going to make photo posts, keep them at 5 photos or less. I've learned that anything over 5 photos will trigger the flagging algorithm (yes, it's a computer program that does it, the actual humans couldn't be bothered I'm assuming).

Service
Quality
debraj87
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/1/19

It used to be a site where you can be free with your art and your interests but it's turned into a place now where they have a censoring bot that goes around censoring nipples basically or anything that looks "seductive" and not well either. There was an outbreak of porn bots, which btw ARE STILL VERY MUCH ACTIVE, and that was the reason tumblr wanted to implement this, but they went about it the completely wrong way. They are going against everything they stood for and i honestly am done with the grieving of this site. It has been long overdue that tumblr would die just like myspace and every other trash social media site that started out well and just collapsed due to bad decisions.

Tip for consumers: If you want to waste your time, use this site.

Service
Value
Quality
scottr307
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/13/19

There are abundant places where adults can go online to be alone with content. What was rare and is now rarer still are places where adults can go safely online with adult content in a community setting. Tumbl abandoned the vast number of users who helped make it a worthy brand in December of 2018 when they decided to restyle themselves as morality police. I'll never log in again, but I'm not deleting my account, just so they'll know whom they're NOT reaching now.

anonap
1 review
5 helpful votes
1/1/19

There's nothing left. They pulled the plug on the heart of tumblr. Its now just full of ghosts. The company's greed killed the app

johnd2193
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/30/18

I've used Tumblr for 5 or 6 months and I already want to delete my account.

The Tumblr staff consists of some of the most lazy, selfish hypocrites on the planet. A few months ago my account was terminated for no given reason whatsoever. I sent Tumblr support multiple messages asking why my account was terminated and they didn't respond to any of them.

The Tumblr staff also allows white supremacists on their platform whereas members of the LGBT community are flagged and/or banned. It's sickening.

TL;DR The Tumblr staff is incompetent and lazy.

Service
nycteam
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/28/18

Would have a 4 or 5 star rating, but the latest ban kills the blogs of artists and even general users for no reason. But I still have porn bots following me! I've been on the site for almost 2 years now, and the updates have been "meh". This is the last kick in the face though. As soon as another site like Tumblr pops up, I'm moving.

meepm
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/22/18

staff cant be bothered to remove child abusers, pornbots ,or nazis but are quite happy to remove swathes of sfw posts because they cant be assed to code their bots properly

angryu5
1 review
5 helpful votes
12/20/18

Tumblr has driven off all of the users and content creators (both NSFW and SFW) that had kept me tethered to the site. My dash is a ghost town, and the censorship and filters make me feel stifled for choice. This is the worst blogging experience I ever had, and the punchline? Staff's "solution" to purge all the pedophiles and pornbots fixed NOTHING. They blatantly ignore the voices of its userbase, and every day that they don't fix the problem after the 17th is making my blood. I've already made several accounts on other sites. Once I find a good enough platform to export all of my content, I am gone. Tumblr can rot.

amandaz26
1 review
5 helpful votes
12/18/18

The site will completely censor you. The below screenshot is my attempt to access my OWN blog. There is no porn or nudity on my blog. I have always kept it safe for work as it is mostly a writing blog. And yet I'm stopped from viewing my own content. Not only that, but they completely allow pedophiles and hate crimes with no censorship.

jeffreyg130
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/18/18

Y'all banned "female-presenting nipples" before you banned literal, actual Nazis.

You decided queer misfits are harder to market to than the people who literally want to kill them.

All right then.

torrinw
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/16/18

the website doesn't care about its users and will be pointlessly banning many accounts on 12/17/18, stay away

roryv3
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
12/7/18

"Bottom line: There are no shortage of sites on the internet that
feature adult content." (Tumblr CEO)... And even more sites are available to block
content at "their" discretion. Tumblr will now be one of those communities. You might consider better sites (instagram, pinterest, facebook etc.) that function under restrictions. If you like the Puritan movement, these sites have strong communities already. "Adult content" is meant for "Adults". If you consider yourself an "Adult" you will have to go
somewhere else.

teodoram6
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/6/18

Its destroying lanaccfinds,most of the sims 4 cc is going to be way harder to find now.Plus artists now can't post nswf content like what

adamy12
26 reviews
23 helpful votes
12/6/18

There is no such things as sucessful automated filters. False positives and negatives are bound to happen. Robots only know what they programmed to do, they don't understand context, and are not self-aware.

You probably have herd about the European Union's article 13 that forces major websites to employ an automated copyright filter to prevent people from uploading infringing material to websites. Youtube have done a similar thing before this happened but merely notifies copyright holders instead of proactively taking down what's potentially legal content. And yes automated takedown themselves also exist, ToppleTrack went haywire due to a bug.

While telling if something is copyright infringement is easier for most cases, due to the fact that it compares with a databases that copyright holders are welcomed to prohibit unauthorized distributions there (via matching-based data hashes), it is much harder to try to tell if something is pornographic or not, due to a sheer number of ways to represent inappropriate stuff and this isn't matching base, so it doesn't compare with anything.

The result: Tumblr ends up flagging TONS of posts that have nothing to do with "Adult Content", images of dragons, dogs, and even abstract art with no "characters" in it (here: http://dailyrothko.tumblr.com/post/180784969506/not-to-pile-on-here-but-this-doesnt-look-exactly) ends up in the wrong. You really can't trust robo-police here.

Is it enough that most websites require you to be at a certain age to even create an account. Why is it that most places, like apple's (the same company who made proprietary closed-platform in which they can decide what app can run on their devices) app store forbid porn altogether (regardless of the age of the viewer). This is overzealous censorship. We all know that parents are smart enough to prevent their kids from seeing such stuff on the Internet, there are parental controls at almost every services and systems (game consoles, google's safesearch, etc.).

Tumblr you should've done these things:
-Do something similar to how art sites censor for minors. No joke, if you are going to make changes to your policy, at least you would've done is to make existing post compatible with future changes. Something like a checkbox to notify the system to only display works towards older audiences.
-You should've made a no-porn policy when you were creating the website. But you decided to welcome them and then brake your promise.

Congratulations: you've lost a lot of your users. And also, screw apple, companies and other services who pressured tumblr to a censorship blogging place. It's another photobucket incident that images are disappearing (ESPICALLY for inactive users, which can be deleted forever).

willows6
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/5/18

They are banning freedom of self expression by disabling nsfw content. Staff cannot properly run this site so they are punishing everyone else

fynnl4
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/5/18

Tumblr will ban a lot of content (not just porn, but also art, memes...) from the 17th on, so it is literally useless for anyone who wants to post or reblog original content. It's gonna be a second facebook

mikel590
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/4/18

Tumblr will delete your account without any reason because of copyright complaints which can't be proved. Don't waste your time to create a blog. It can be shut down any day without warning or reason.

bermotd
1 review
5 helpful votes
12/3/18

They're banning accounts and censoring the freedom of expression. Whine you're at it, dump their parent company Verizon and choose ATT or another provider instead.

willemb15
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/3/18

Now that they censor the website it's useless, no good content anymore, users move away in huge numbers

leroyj18
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
11/18/18

Tumblr is fantastic if you have a lot of interests and don't mind jokes, memes, gifs or pictures related to those topics. The feed is usually very on point and can be scrolled for a long time to find entertaining content. You can also have your own blog and customise it to your own specific needs.

emilj8
21 reviews
73 helpful votes
11/16/18

This website contains NSFW stuff and SJWS. Also back in 2015 there was a incident where some SJWS almost droved a artist into suicide just because she din't draw the character fat

roset88
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/30/18

site is full of porn bots and pedophiles and the staff completely ignores any blogs you report even if it's for something serious like posting sexual images of minors. Dont waste your time it's a horrific environment

alexisp45
14 reviews
13 helpful votes
7/19/18

From a usability standpoint, Tumblr is very good. It's one of the most user-friendly blogging sites currently available, and it's intuitive enough to use that most people should be able to work out how to use it within a week or two of signing up.

This comes with a flipside, though. Because of its ease-of-use, it's gathered enough of a young user base that Tumblr could be described as the Twitter of the blogging world. There's not always a great market for lengthy text posts like there is on Wordpress, so you'd better learn to be succinct if you want to gather any kind of real following on the site.

Having said this, the ease-of-use also makes it one of the better sites if you want to have a good place to find stuff related to your main fandoms or if you're into photography and stuff like that. Plus there's actually a pretty active writing side of Tumblr, so if you're looking for resources to improve your writing, there's stuff on Tumblr to help you with this as well.

The place where this usability falls apart is that while the interface is simple and easy to use, it's not always the best. Because of this, it's often necessary to use the X-Kit extension, which gives you the option of using a number of features that makes the site better.

Unfortunately, Tumblr has garnered a reputation for being a site with a toxic culture. This is absolutely true to some extent--some of the controversies that occur are things that would never be controversial in ordinary, reasonable circles. Sometimes people get crucified on Tumblr for nothing more than unfounded rumours (which is what happened to the original XKit guy), or because they produced some fan-art somebody was unhappy with (which has also happened).

I think it is starting to get to the point where a lot of Tumblr users frown upon people being like this, though. You'll sometimes see posts with tens of thousands of notes where people tell teens not to be like this, or not to base their entire worldview on what happens on Tumblr. I think part of this is because of the huge backlash against the more insane elements of the Tumblr culture that's happened in recent years, and another part simply because a lot of the users that were teenagers in 2011-2014 are now in their twenties.

While the main chunk of Tumblr is left wing, there are large chunks of the site that are pretty conservative. Unfortunately, some of the more conservative users on the site are just as bad for lacking any real nuance in their thought and arguments as the left-wingers they so often criticise for being whiny snowflakes.

There is this political side to Tumblr, but I don't think it's any more cancerous and lacking in nuance than the political side of Reddit or your typical Facebook political meme page for the most part. Plus, it's not like it was a few years ago--it's now possible to avoid most of the political hubris of the Tumblr culture altogether.

For the most part, Tumblr is what you make of it. If you want it to mostly be photography or aesthetic stuff, you can mostly follow that kind of blog and it'll be fine. Same thing with fandoms (though some are hugely more popular than others, as is the case on every site).

This is the part that I think a lot of people tend to forget about the site, and why a lot of people tend to have a bad time with it. If that as long as you have XKit and you use a bit of editorial caution when it comes to who you follow, you can have a great time on Tumblr. Just don't take anything on there too seriously and you'll be fine for the most part.

tomb555
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
6/12/18

Biased. A site for whining baby liberal snowflakes. People who want to be offended and be the hero for the (imaginary) oppressed. Crap.

sammyp19
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/1/18

Anything to share in Tumblr..such as photos,video,GIF,link,Text and many...very easy to share and conversation....

2 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Freedom of expression, which has "now" been taken away. So I see no reason Tumblr is better than it's competitors.

By Rory V.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Well, as an Artist I had a show exhibiting my work (in a very Puritan State). I had two pieces taken from the wall and turned backwards, so no one could see them. My pieces challenged thought and involved nudity. Tumblr, is now another "online" community turning pictures around so voices and messages cannot be seen or heard.

By Rory V.
Questions? Get answers from the Tumblr staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

4 Photos for Tumblr

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Tumblr?
Post Review