Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of YouTube

YouTube reviews

Is this your business?
545 reviews
901 Cherry Ave
San Bruno, CA 94066, US
Tel: 2008070208
copyright@youtube.com
2017 Customer choice award

545 Reviews From Our Community

Service
25
Value
18
Shipping
6
Returns
7
Quality
22

All Reviews

cathym235
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
11/4/18

This one is not going to be real easy to write. Back in September of 2015 I published my book Blood Lines Family Ties. Early in 2017 I took a short excerpt from that book and turned it into a video to promote my book. Soon three separate companies
claimed that I had infringed on their copyrights. I went through the You Tube procedures that took months to resolve but ultimately I won.
Now here it is over a year and a half later and yet again another company has laid claim to my intellectual property on the same video. In each case I was declared the wrong doer against these large companies and big money accounts.
When you do decide to dispute the other party's claims You Tube does everything possible to discourage you from taking any action including very thinly veiled threats such as having your video removed or even you channel blocked. That didn't stop me however. I ploughed ahead taking my chances with the process. Intimately I won out against the first three. I have to say that You Tube did notify me of those three but on this last one, no. I found out when I went three levels in to edit a couple of videos and that's when I found this one. It stated that the owner of the copyright was OK with me using their work but I wasn't allowed to make any money off it however they could and would. Yes I disputed this one as well with the usual discouragement.
The video is now listed as being disputed but this is what it has posted by it, "Your copyright dispute is currently being reviewed by the copyright owner. You'll receive a response within 30 days from when you filed the dispute." Just for the record I am the
copyright owner. It's been proven three times by You Tube themselves. Yet here we are again.

For me the real kicker isn't just that I'm being called a liar and a thief, and that is what it is, they show me my work that is in question but I never get to see the other parties work.
Well this time I'm not playing by their rules. First I have a lot of people on several sites
passing the word and of course I did another video. This was a really good one. If I can I will post it for you to check it out and please if you do don't forget to like and leave a comment.
We should have the right to see the other party's material when ours comes into question and not made to feel like we'll be punished if we stand up for ourselves. You want Google aka You Tube to take you just as serious as they do the large accounts the you had better be willing to stand together to make your point. We've all fought most of our battles against large companies alone so maybe now it's time for the independents to stand up together and have one another's back if we want to be taken seriously. We may have only a few dollars to our names but standing together those few dollars can make an awful big wave. No I'm not asking for funds just making a point.
I have now fired off an email to 60 Minutes and I suggest anyone who is having issues with You Tube do the same. Together we have a voice but separately we are mute.
Here is the link to the video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v7CTFJrJko8

Below is the image of my book.

catalinp1
6 reviews
4 helpful votes
11/2/18

Youtube start to bombard viewers with lots of ads, I mean 3-5 seconds is fine but if you start to force me watching 20 sec without a skip option is to much... just saying.

boycel3
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
11/2/18

Youtube is great because the videos load pretty fast if you have good internet, there's plenty of good content to choose from and you get recommendations based on your view history.

keithg125
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/28/18

yOUTUBE have just De-monitised my main channel due to copyright? OK this is
how messed up their algorithms are, I had a BBQ 13 years ago and my
late uncle was on it, I live 100's of miles from where I was brought up
and thought if I upload the video to my channel and make it private so
the only people able to see the video are the people I send the link to
(My family) I thought that was a great idea, I did that and also 6
months ago my mate in America wanted to see the prices of food in the
petrol stations here (Gas station) so I flimed on my phone a 40 second
clip walking into a petrol station and showing him the prices but as he
doesnt have Whatsapp I uploaded it to a private video on my channel.

Youtube in their entirety have said the bbq video had copyrighted music
playing in the background which that might be true but it was inside the
house and the video was taken outside and it wasnt exactly loud? The
Petrol station had background music on and again they said thats
copyrighted...So my account that I have spent thousands of hours
building up gaining thousands of subscribers and a regular income is
about to be terminated I think WHY??

This is utter BS! And another point is they told me they will review my
account but it takes up to and beyond a month to do so whilst they gain
ALL the revenue for my entire channel HOWEVER Since typing this review I have found out YT are taking longer than SIX MONTHS to review demonitised accounts...Coincidental isnt it they take
so long to review someone's channel!

I have had my ability to contact them removed and I can only get answers
from the community! So YT have basically turned their back on me and
they are also scamming my channel so they gain all the revenue...I am
one of many tens of thousands this has happened too...A government needs
to investigate their business model and procedures!

raymondn22
4 reviews
0 helpful votes
10/27/18

Music is ok, quality is ok, but guys....COMMERCIALS. How many of them? Don't ask, in the past was like every 4 videos, now there is 4 in one video...I don't know if it's going to keep coming like that, I'm gonna quit youtube.

peterd295
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/26/18

Actually they said I violated their policy, but how it's possible when there's no content on the channel? I'm just using it to watch videos and saved some music and video in the playlist.
At least they can explain why it was banned but I still think it's ridiculous.

jevgenijusp
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
10/21/18

I always Youtube to watch videos and listen to my favorite music. This is one service I probably couldn't live without.

justine63
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
10/18/18

I've realized how much I use youtube when it went down the previous day. Fortunately, it is back now and I can enjoy it further.

shantek
4 reviews
7 helpful votes
10/17/18

This is a very good video from Lil Nunni. He was 14 at the time. If you would like to see more, you can follow him on instagram @lilnunni

sonjaj5
4 reviews
2 helpful votes
9/26/18

FAR TOO MANY ADVERTS! Every single video I watch has an advert now. Some videos even have 2,3 or 4 plus adverts per video too. It is actually ridiculous. I feel like I watch more adverts than the actual videos now. Sort it out Youtube.

robertoi3
7 reviews
7 helpful votes
9/20/18

YouTube is where people make videos and people watch videos. It's fun and amazing for people who want to have fun.

Tip for consumers: Have fun.

Service
Value
Quality
lucass24
5 reviews
6 helpful votes
9/18/18

You can find just about anything on YouTube, some informational stuff, music, entertainment, etc. Not everything is great, but I still think it's a good site.

thomass558
4 reviews
1 helpful vote
9/5/18

my review is nothing short or awsome .did you want a review on my affiliate sponsors or youtube becouse i am just getting started and everyone loves the fact that there is a resource cociensios place to puchase items that are of little harm yo the environment

davidc1276
8 reviews
2 helpful votes
8/10/18

I'm on you tube all the time. It's got some great producers in the things I like watching, and there is some useful educational material.
The ads are annoying, since they interrupt the viewing, and are never interesting.
I like the way the site seems to feed me with new videos, and a lot of it isn't wrong. There's some Junk on there too, not always linked to the number of likes or views. But that's the downside of the web. Mostly it's very positive. I don't need a TV anymore.

emilyb241
77 reviews
20 helpful votes
8/8/18

I have a large selection of youtubers I watch. There's a large variety of topics on YouTube. You can find anything on YouTube.

peterj243
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/26/18

Youtube is BAD FOR VIDEO CREATORS. Youtube is not a good place to make money. If you make videos, do it for fun, not for money. Before you can be eligible to make money, you have to get a 1000 subscribers and 4000 hours of watch time. Once one of my channels met those goals, youtube took another 3 months just to tell me that they aren't going to turn monetization on for my channel!!! I had no way to discuss this with anyone. I have worked my butt off and my channel is exploding with millions of views, but I can't make any money. I had another channel full of good clean videos that I made myself, and the channel got instantly deleted 2 days ago with no explanation! I have read carefully through the community guidelines and I cannot find anything that looks like a violation. There is no way for me to find out for sure why it was deleted or if this could randomly happen again with another channel that I create. THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE FOR BEGINNING CREATORS SUCKS. Unless you are really successful, expect to feel like you are being abused. If something unjust happens, expect to have no real way to do anything about it.

alexisp45
12 reviews
11 helpful votes
7/22/18

YouTube is the biggest and most ubiquitous video sharing site on the internet available today. It's gotten to the point where there's no real way to compete with the site simply because it has enough money behind itself to always be improving itself.

The downside of YouTube being so ubiquitous is that it's almost impossible for there to be anyone competing with the site. It's just too expensive for anyone to really be doing that unless a major corporation decides to throw endless amounts of money at them.

Because of this and because there's always been issues with YouTube having to negotiate its way through the corporate hell of finding advertisers, the relationship between YouTube and the people who make a living from making content for the site has always seemed fraught. There's regularly some new scandal about a new YouTube policy or because they're enforcing the terms of service in a way people perceive as inconsistent, or because there's some issue with ad revenue.

I think YouTube's ubiquity kinda hurts it as well. Really the site's only recourse if an advertiser says there's too much offensive content on the site is to essentially say, "Sure, but at least we're not 4chan or a porn site." There's no option for them to say, "Yeah, but look at the company practices of this other site; this kind of thing is industry standard."

In terms of usability, YouTube is the gold standard of video hosting. There's probably never going to be another site that's quite as good as this one when it comes to ease of use. As much as people like to complain about the site being worse than ever before, I think in a lot of ways, it's much easier to use than it was in '08 or '09.

While the standards for what's considered monetisable content on YouTube has seemed to get stricter as the years have gone on, I think this is mostly because the site has grown more concerned over what's going to fly with advertisers as the years have gone on. As it stands right now though, there's still plenty of channels who are doing content about anything you can imagine and many are still able to find an audience.

gs148
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/26/18

I am a small content creator operating channel "Kidz Learn Applications - https://www.youtube.com/c/KidzLearnApplications". My channel has been disabled for monetization citing reasons that I am not eligible for partnership program. When I look in to the Youtube support center documentation as to reasons for disabling monetization or removing me from the partnership, the documentation cites copyright infringement and inappropriate video content. All of my videos are original and none fall in to the category of copyright infringement.
My content does not have any copyright infringement material. This is an unfair and unlawful practice from Youtube to disable monetization from channels that are fair and obey all the laws. There are loads of content and channels which have misleading content, violate the criteria and Youtube overlooks them. This is a wrong practice from Youtube for playing an unfair game to small time content creators like me who work hard to put decent content and overlook channels as they find audience through unfair practice.

nikolasa6
6 reviews
2 helpful votes
6/23/18

First, Youtube is one of the only big video archival sites around so I have no interactions with a competitor, since there really is none that have the backing of Youtube. If there was such a competitor to compare YouTube with it would be easier to rate it as good or bad. They have smashed their competition to death because of just how fat they've gotten.
Second, Google is one of the biggest companies in the world and they actively use YouTube as their guinea-pig. Youtube Heroes? Obviously thats corporate as hell, why use YouTube Heroes to police the site when the site is COMMUNITY based. Why does YouTube need appointed officials of the community to be their "Heroes", and why does YouTube choose them themselves?
Third, Youtube Red is frankly not worth the price it is when Adblock does the exact same thing for nothing. The content on Red isn't even good enough to shell out the dough for. "I have premium so I know what I'm saying here"
Fourth, recently I've been recommended the same videos over and over and over and over and over AND OVER AND OVER again and I'm sick of autoplay throwing me back into the same rabbit hole over and over again! So they need to fix their recommended section.

Tip for consumers: Quality is dependent on the creator, and their site is rarely flatout broken. Their YouTube Red is the only thing to pay for so and it isnt worth the price of admission.

Service
Value
Quality
amkar
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
6/17/18

If I block someone on YouTube I don't want to see no trace of them. How is it that their channel comes up? That's the only think I don't like, it should mute them fully.

vlads20
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
5/1/18

Everyone enjoys YouTube and there is a reason. Very nice interface. friendly policy and excellent content!

paull334
6 reviews
3 helpful votes
4/18/18

I think YouTube is good place to kill your time. However, in terms of video creator point of view, they take too much out of what we create. They should give more out to video creators.

maheshs12
24 reviews
88 helpful votes
4/8/18

YouTube is the name that everybody knows. So, I don't think I need to explain anything about it.

However, for creators, YT has become a $#*! job. The policies are killing the small, growing creators!

And the other thing about YT is, no matter how slow the internet is, YT is comparatively 10 times smooth as compared other websites in my region!

Service
Value
Quality
ossiriandt
5 reviews
21 helpful votes
3/25/18

Youtube is already pretty slow loading and the advertisements just make things worst!!

If you're to block a video to be shown in certain country, then just make that video not searchable for viewers there!! It's annoying when you find a video only to be told it's not allow to be view in your country!

jamiek68
7 reviews
5 helpful votes
3/21/18

When I first started using youtube it was more of a novelty than a resource. Mostly because it was limited by only what users wanted to show us. Since then though, the have expanded so brilliantly that now you can watch just about anything you could want. I go to the site at least 3-4 times a day to check on something new that might have been updated in my subscriptions or "of interest to me."

213 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
It took me a long time, too, to understand some of the late night political talk shows here. I just didn't know the premise for much of the humor. And they were even more challenging because they frequently had 'famous' guests I'd never heard of. I can get a grin out of most of them now, but even so my favorite has to be Craig Ferguson who is, of course, a Scot anyway and whose brand of humor is not so self-consciously political as Jay Leno or David Letterman. You will have missed some of the assumptions and inferences in HIGNFY. Paul Merton is a very well known television and stand-up comedian and has cultivated a working class image, whilst Ian Hislop is a public school (that's "private school" in America) boy and university graduate - Cambridge, I think. So there is a subtle class thing going on there. Also Ian Hislop isn't a professional comedian, he's the Editor of Private Eye, the longest running and most famous satirical news magazine in the UK, and both he and the magazine have been sued on many occasions over the years for being a little too pointed about the people they detest. These two guys have very different approaches to humor. Plus they've been the team leaders on this programme for oh ... well over ten years now, I guess, so there is a kind of cosy familiarity with the audience that you aren't getting, and also the format of the show has barely changed over all those years so it does have an immediate appeal to any expats who used to watch it way back. I don't know if you have a similar show here based on the week's news? Frankly there are so many channels that I've never bothered to watch most of them, but let me know if you think there's a show you think I might like.
Answer:

This is a plug for one specific channel on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/user/str0tsa This guy faithfully posts the extended versions of Have I Got News For You, the still wonderfully funny BBC political current events show. It's watched weekly by an audience of 6000 or more, which I suspect are like myself, mainly British expats in places that the BBC doesn't normally make any effort to reach. And it's still funny even if I've lost touch with British politics, because frankly the names and faces in public affairs might have changed but somehow the situations haven't. And for reasons I can't explain, after eight years away, Ian Hislop and Paul Merton haven't got any older - though I can't say the same thing about the jokes. But who cares? If you were a fan of this show and haven't seen it since you left the UK, or you just want to catch up with last week's show, bookmark this one and you won't be disappointed. And if you're one of those foreign chaps and you want a taste of British political humor to take your mind off politicians closer to home, I suspect you'll still find some laughs in this even if the names aren't familiar to you.

By Chris O.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

yes

By zinger y.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the YouTube staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

13 Photos for YouTube

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
YouTube?
Post Review