Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of YouTube

YouTube reviews

Is this your business?
536 reviews
901 Cherry Ave
San Bruno, CA 94066, US
Tel: 2008070208
copyright@youtube.com
2017 Customer choice award

536 Reviews From Our Community

Service
24
Value
17
Shipping
6
Returns
7
Quality
21

All Reviews

boysh
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/10/18

This is a short boys haircut with a little more modern look than some of our usual haircuts. Hair styles for girls: Girls can have more variety as compared to boys in terms of hair styles. You can get more info about some common hair styles for girls at Boys and Girls Hairstyles.

davidc1276
8 reviews
1 helpful vote
8/10/18

I'm on you tube all the time. It's got some great producers in the things I like watching, and there is some useful educational material.
The ads are annoying, since they interrupt the viewing, and are never interesting.
I like the way the site seems to feed me with new videos, and a lot of it isn't wrong. There's some Junk on there too, not always linked to the number of likes or views. But that's the downside of the web. Mostly it's very positive. I don't need a TV anymore.

emilyb241
77 reviews
7 helpful votes
8/8/18

I have a large selection of youtubers I watch. There's a large variety of topics on YouTube. You can find anything on YouTube.

peterj243
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/26/18

Youtube is BAD FOR VIDEO CREATORS. Youtube is not a good place to make money. If you make videos, do it for fun, not for money. Before you can be eligible to make money, you have to get a 1000 subscribers and 4000 hours of watch time. Once one of my channels met those goals, youtube took another 3 months just to tell me that they aren't going to turn monetization on for my channel!!! I had no way to discuss this with anyone. I have worked my butt off and my channel is exploding with millions of views, but I can't make any money. I had another channel full of good clean videos that I made myself, and the channel got instantly deleted 2 days ago with no explanation! I have read carefully through the community guidelines and I cannot find anything that looks like a violation. There is no way for me to find out for sure why it was deleted or if this could randomly happen again with another channel that I create. THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE FOR BEGINNING CREATORS SUCKS. Unless you are really successful, expect to feel like you are being abused. If something unjust happens, expect to have no real way to do anything about it.

alexisp45
10 reviews
5 helpful votes
7/22/18

YouTube is the biggest and most ubiquitous video sharing site on the internet available today. It's gotten to the point where there's no real way to compete with the site simply because it has enough money behind itself to always be improving itself.

The downside of YouTube being so ubiquitous is that it's almost impossible for there to be anyone competing with the site. It's just too expensive for anyone to really be doing that unless a major corporation decides to throw endless amounts of money at them.

Because of this and because there's always been issues with YouTube having to negotiate its way through the corporate hell of finding advertisers, the relationship between YouTube and the people who make a living from making content for the site has always seemed fraught. There's regularly some new scandal about a new YouTube policy or because they're enforcing the terms of service in a way people perceive as inconsistent, or because there's some issue with ad revenue.

I think YouTube's ubiquity kinda hurts it as well. Really the site's only recourse if an advertiser says there's too much offensive content on the site is to essentially say, "Sure, but at least we're not 4chan or a porn site." There's no option for them to say, "Yeah, but look at the company practices of this other site; this kind of thing is industry standard."

In terms of usability, YouTube is the gold standard of video hosting. There's probably never going to be another site that's quite as good as this one when it comes to ease of use. As much as people like to complain about the site being worse than ever before, I think in a lot of ways, it's much easier to use than it was in '08 or '09.

While the standards for what's considered monetisable content on YouTube has seemed to get stricter as the years have gone on, I think this is mostly because the site has grown more concerned over what's going to fly with advertisers as the years have gone on. As it stands right now though, there's still plenty of channels who are doing content about anything you can imagine and many are still able to find an audience.

gs148
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/26/18

I am a small content creator operating channel "Kidz Learn Applications - https://www.youtube.com/c/KidzLearnApplications". My channel has been disabled for monetization citing reasons that I am not eligible for partnership program. When I look in to the Youtube support center documentation as to reasons for disabling monetization or removing me from the partnership, the documentation cites copyright infringement and inappropriate video content. All of my videos are original and none fall in to the category of copyright infringement.
My content does not have any copyright infringement material. This is an unfair and unlawful practice from Youtube to disable monetization from channels that are fair and obey all the laws. There are loads of content and channels which have misleading content, violate the criteria and Youtube overlooks them. This is a wrong practice from Youtube for playing an unfair game to small time content creators like me who work hard to put decent content and overlook channels as they find audience through unfair practice.

nikolasa6
6 reviews
2 helpful votes
6/23/18

First, Youtube is one of the only big video archival sites around so I have no interactions with a competitor, since there really is none that have the backing of Youtube. If there was such a competitor to compare YouTube with it would be easier to rate it as good or bad. They have smashed their competition to death because of just how fat they've gotten.
Second, Google is one of the biggest companies in the world and they actively use YouTube as their guinea-pig. Youtube Heroes? Obviously thats corporate as hell, why use YouTube Heroes to police the site when the site is COMMUNITY based. Why does YouTube need appointed officials of the community to be their "Heroes", and why does YouTube choose them themselves?
Third, Youtube Red is frankly not worth the price it is when Adblock does the exact same thing for nothing. The content on Red isn't even good enough to shell out the dough for. "I have premium so I know what I'm saying here"
Fourth, recently I've been recommended the same videos over and over and over and over and over AND OVER AND OVER again and I'm sick of autoplay throwing me back into the same rabbit hole over and over again! So they need to fix their recommended section.

Tip for consumers: Quality is dependent on the creator, and their site is rarely flatout broken. Their YouTube Red is the only thing to pay for so and it isnt worth the price of admission.

Service
Value
Quality
amkar
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
6/17/18

If I block someone on YouTube I don't want to see no trace of them. How is it that their channel comes up? That's the only think I don't like, it should mute them fully.

vlads20
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
5/1/18

Everyone enjoys YouTube and there is a reason. Very nice interface. friendly policy and excellent content!

paull334
6 reviews
3 helpful votes
4/18/18

I think YouTube is good place to kill your time. However, in terms of video creator point of view, they take too much out of what we create. They should give more out to video creators.

maheshs12
24 reviews
82 helpful votes
4/8/18

YouTube is the name that everybody knows. So, I don't think I need to explain anything about it.

However, for creators, YT has become a $#*! job. The policies are killing the small, growing creators!

And the other thing about YT is, no matter how slow the internet is, YT is comparatively 10 times smooth as compared other websites in my region!

Service
Value
Quality
ossiriandt
5 reviews
20 helpful votes
3/25/18

Youtube is already pretty slow loading and the advertisements just make things worst!!

If you're to block a video to be shown in certain country, then just make that video not searchable for viewers there!! It's annoying when you find a video only to be told it's not allow to be view in your country!

jamiek68
7 reviews
4 helpful votes
3/21/18

When I first started using youtube it was more of a novelty than a resource. Mostly because it was limited by only what users wanted to show us. Since then though, the have expanded so brilliantly that now you can watch just about anything you could want. I go to the site at least 3-4 times a day to check on something new that might have been updated in my subscriptions or "of interest to me."

christyc40
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/19/18

Thanks for sharing your story of Kidnapping/Suicide Attempt & what youre doing to help mitigate & prevent this exponentially growing issue worldwide. Good luck on your upcoming fundraiser and I donated on your Go Fund Me page!

https://www.gofundme.com/m5yfyn-depression-suicide-prevention

jeremyv11
7 reviews
8 helpful votes
3/19/18

Youtube was great in the beginning, and that's not to say it doesn't have great original content nowadays either, but all of the new material is recycled off the old material like some sort of perpetually disgusting garbage dump.

claytonr10
61 reviews
151 helpful votes
3/15/18

Too much censorship. I think it was laid out better by other users here. But I'm just backing up what sitejabber users james p. and Jenna J. stated. Censorship is not good. It dictates against open mindedness. I understand you have youtubers who are little (I seen kids as young as age 7 use youtube). But promoting left wing political values and censoring right wing political values is only gonna create a generation of kids who all like the same things, believe in the same things, wear the same things, etc. A world where everyone is exactly alike is a boring place. The opposite of love is not hate, it's indifference. When everyone is exactly the same and afraid to hold different values simply out of fear of being accosted for it, that's a scary reality. But youtube censorship is only feeding into that.

chrisl288
7 reviews
5 helpful votes
3/15/18

BEST streaming services for everything basically. There Is so much you can look up on this site such as DIY, Music, makeup, tutorials and pretty much everything else you can think of.

zingery
12 reviews
16 helpful votes
3/13/18

I'm a youtuber *zinger75* i've been in love with this website since the age of six, now i'm living my dream of making video's and meeting new people on the way i have this website to thanks for this.

jeremyk37
15 reviews
52 helpful votes
3/9/18

I love youtube. There are many wonderful shows, movies and videos on there you can watch.

The only thing I hate about Youtube is the annoying advertisements that runs automatically in the middle of a video ... I wish there are less of them!!

tonym196
14 reviews
32 helpful votes
3/7/18

Ding ding ding... The Communist New World Order VS middle class America and United States Consitution.

Youtube/Google is a real display of communist censorship in this global political war against the last bastion of freedom that we call America.

The good news is the communist NWO is failing fast and hard, now. Corruption is throwing itself under the bus.

Be sure to watch 13 min Gulag Tube interview: Ex-KGB, Soviet defector to Canada, Yuri Bezmenov's Warning to America, explaining the NWO strategy underway. Be informed so you don't mix up equality and equal rights with divide, conquer and control. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=bX3EZCVj2XA

I suggest Bit Chute, Dtube or Steemit. Either way, blockchain and torrent technology decentralizes control from elite manipulation via Youtube, Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. Blockchain will also replace Amazon, behemoth, Dr Death style business models and the monoply Google search engine. Watch for it and support it.

Start Breaking Free!
Operating system - Linux Mint (like windows), free, safe, lots of open source software.
Search engine - Duckduckgo.com for an amazing private search engine, 2nd to none.
Phone - I use Text Now for a free phone and phone number.
Phone Firewall - Kill/disable all Google apps. Use a "no root" app to block spy apps.
Phone privacy - Google loves to listen: use a mic block app. Turn off GPS.
Save time and stress - Dump smart phone, which I will be doing shortly.
Social network - get a real life or use blockchain
Video - I like Bit Chute

We can't afford to support companies that are out of integrity anymore.

jamesp387
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
2/25/18

a great website with lots of helpful reviews of "stuff" - you can find answers to your problems in a more interactive way giving you an audio visual you can work with and which words alone may not describe enough detail, there is comedy, music, skits, rants and entertainment, anything you can think of can be found on youtube however there was a shift after google bought it and now i dont think its as good, but its still the website to "go-to" if you're looking to go viral, get a career, get sponsored. many things are possible. will it last forever? idk

one may wonder why someone who is rich already like Tai Lopez choose not to start a clone site that can be kept independent regardless of offers and you can only choose to pay if you need more data storage for videos to support a clone site or a free limit that is financially sustainable for 1 rich person to fund the servers, bandwith etc - i understand people need to make money but it's how you go about it that can impact the user experience. power, profit and greed will inevitably destroy anything it touches slowly but surely.

content was at it's peak in 2005 but it's only gone down hill since due to stringent red tape imposed on content - censorship of right wing political views, copyright rules, family friendly enforcement and artificial tampering of what is "allowed to be popular" all tarnish the desireability to go here. this corruption means that super commercial tv shows and ads show highest in trending simply because they want the highest bidder and is less about youtubers themselves. But most of us come to youtube because it was the ultimate alternative to TV however those barriers are being eroded by inevitable commercializing starting with YouTube Red.

as you can see money is at the root of many problems youtube faces, there have been many format changes just to make useful idiot graphic designers feel useful and shift in content to still get that google ad sense money so a lot of content you see isnt genuine and from the heart anymore unless its social justice orientated and sterilised to avoid hurting any feelings.

im kind of giving up on youtube and hoping there can be a meaningful replacement that is free from the influence of giant, liberal, left wing corperations, politics plays a heavy part in youtube since reaching unprecented popularity from the general public, it was viewed as a goldmine to be exploited but it's everyone BUT the viewer and content creator hit by the "adpocalypse" that have benefited from the behind the scenes meddling at YouTube... more and more youtubers are having to go back to get "real jobs" or jobsearching which means less time making videos and less energy for frequent output of quality content.

ultimately i feel like youtube is going to collapse if it is to morph into standard TV under the guise of the brandname "youtube" which isnt about "you" anymore its about your usefulness to make money for the puppeteers unconciously pulling your strings as a creator instead of doing exactly what you want without some kind of social filter. self sufficiency is going to be the only get out clause.

unless you have a successful business of your own, a day job, won the lottery or otherwise make your own money without ads then you are under the thumb of youtube and all its ugly and cancerous terms of service which continues to grow uncontrollably by the day. make no mistake it was the best website in the entire world but that status, i fear, is fading fast.

ayouba11
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/24/18

its the best shoping web site ever its makes everything easiest than other web sites
thank you for your service Gearbest
your best costumer Ayoub ait belbrik

fationm
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
2/19/18

THANK YOU ALL TIME OF YOUTUBE FOR YOUR GREATE JOB THAT YOU DO AND HELPING PEOPLE LIKE ME TO BE AEBEL TO OPEN MY CHANNEL GADGETTUBE 24CRYPTONEWS RESPECT YOU ALL GYS

valeriag6
35 reviews
14 helpful votes
1/24/18

se encuentran todo tipo de contenidos, desde fechas lejanas al dia de la fecha. hay tutoriales con explicaciones desde como cocinar a coser, crear diferentes elementos utiles o tips. ahora hay muchos tutoriales que llevan de un lado a otro para que indefectiblemente uno se suscriba a sitios con publicidad maliciosa o gastos. deberian ser mas severos con eso y no permitir el envio de una pagina a otra. en definitiva en estos ultimos tiempos se ha vuelto un poco dificil encontrar algunas cosas, pero en general sigue siendo magnifico

jennaj18
19 reviews
41 helpful votes
1/21/18

We should be able to downvote comments like you can downvote videos. If you want to post stupid comments, you'll get over it.

215 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
It took me a long time, too, to understand some of the late night political talk shows here. I just didn't know the premise for much of the humor. And they were even more challenging because they frequently had 'famous' guests I'd never heard of. I can get a grin out of most of them now, but even so my favorite has to be Craig Ferguson who is, of course, a Scot anyway and whose brand of humor is not so self-consciously political as Jay Leno or David Letterman. You will have missed some of the assumptions and inferences in HIGNFY. Paul Merton is a very well known television and stand-up comedian and has cultivated a working class image, whilst Ian Hislop is a public school (that's "private school" in America) boy and university graduate - Cambridge, I think. So there is a subtle class thing going on there. Also Ian Hislop isn't a professional comedian, he's the Editor of Private Eye, the longest running and most famous satirical news magazine in the UK, and both he and the magazine have been sued on many occasions over the years for being a little too pointed about the people they detest. These two guys have very different approaches to humor. Plus they've been the team leaders on this programme for oh ... well over ten years now, I guess, so there is a kind of cosy familiarity with the audience that you aren't getting, and also the format of the show has barely changed over all those years so it does have an immediate appeal to any expats who used to watch it way back. I don't know if you have a similar show here based on the week's news? Frankly there are so many channels that I've never bothered to watch most of them, but let me know if you think there's a show you think I might like.
Answer:

This is a plug for one specific channel on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/user/str0tsa This guy faithfully posts the extended versions of Have I Got News For You, the still wonderfully funny BBC political current events show. It's watched weekly by an audience of 6000 or more, which I suspect are like myself, mainly British expats in places that the BBC doesn't normally make any effort to reach. And it's still funny even if I've lost touch with British politics, because frankly the names and faces in public affairs might have changed but somehow the situations haven't. And for reasons I can't explain, after eight years away, Ian Hislop and Paul Merton haven't got any older - though I can't say the same thing about the jokes. But who cares? If you were a fan of this show and haven't seen it since you left the UK, or you just want to catch up with last week's show, bookmark this one and you won't be disappointed. And if you're one of those foreign chaps and you want a taste of British political humor to take your mind off politicians closer to home, I suspect you'll still find some laughs in this even if the names aren't familiar to you.

By Chris O.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the YouTube staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

9 Photos for YouTube

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
YouTube?
Post Review