• Bookmark

    TorontoMatchmakers

Corporate Values

Overview

TorontoMatchmakers has a consumer rating of 2.68 stars from 38 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. TorontoMatchmakers ranks 79th among Dating sites.

  • Service
    1
  • Value
    1
  • Quality
    1
View ratings trends

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • Im currently with matchmakers after 5 months and have met 2 people.
  • You never know how much having someone can change your life until you have the right person.

Critical highlights

No critical highlights yet

How would you rate TorontoMatchmakers?
Top Positive Review

“Great service”

Paul W.
2/3/19

This took longer than I thought to work, but it did. That's all that matters me to quite frankly. I married my best friend last year and we just celebrated our 1 year together. Don't waste any more time people.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“No communication from the office”

C L.
3/6/20

2 dates in 1 year First one was so wrong... The second one was ok but I had to travel quite far and he didn't. I wasn't asked how it went as a result I didn't make any comment. I was automatically put on inactive for 6 months. After I emailed I was told about the reporting. I am still waiting for date #3. No communication unless I initiate it.

See critical reviews

Reviews (38)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

5 months (3) right person (3)
sharonb1305
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 4th, 2021

Don't be fooled by this organization. I was pressured into signing a contract that cost me over $8,000. Was only connected to three very unsuitable men. The "contract" was for them to provide 12 referrals. When trying to get in touch with my so called matchmakers to find out what was going on they were conveniently unreachable. The original company name was eLove and they disappeared and became TorontoMatchmakers to evade people like me since they never delivered on their empty promises. Don't let them prey on you. Disgusting bottom dwelling predators taking advantage of emotionally vulnerable people.

Tip for consumers:
Would give them negative stars if that was possible.

Service
Value
Quality
sorins9
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 20th, 2020

Before joining this agency, you will have the possibility of seeing their website. Very summary and no pictures. After paying the fee and becoming a full member, you will see the same. An outdated website, buggy and with an unfinished look. You can make suggestions, but you cannot choose the lady you want to meet. They will choose for you, and it seems their matching algorithm is totally random, without considering the lady's preferences or my own preferences. The members database is not maintained, they introduced to me a scammer, a woman who was not a member anymore, another woman who they were thinking she live in Toronto, but she was living in Winnipeg, and so on.
I can say it was the worst experience I ever had with an agency, and even free sites like POF are in much better shape and richer in information. I would give 0 stars, for 0 matches they were found for me. Totally a waste of time and money.

sammieo1
1 review
1 helpful vote
February 15th, 2019

Im currently with matchmakers after 5 months and have met 2 people. The first match was pretty mediocre and I was worried about this working. I met the second guy and we are really great friends. He is an amazing person and I can see we are compatible and why they matched us. I am now so hopeful and optimistic that I will meet the right guy. Being patient is hard!

cynthiaa51
2 reviews
24 helpful votes
January 22nd, 2018

I joined Toronto Matchmakers last year, and so far they only sent me three people whom I was not at all attracted too. I have contacted them several times hoping they will send me more people ( they suppose to send you eight referrals) to choose from and they have not even replied to me. All I can say is they are scammers just after your money, I paid over $6000. 00 for garbage, I can meet anyone faster and much more attractive then the people they send you. So think carefully about departing with your hard earned money. Very disappointed!

kellym267
1 review
18 helpful votes
January 27th, 2018

They take your money and fail to match you or even return your phone calls. If you ever do get the opportunity to speak with someone, they advise they are under new management and promise to right the wrongs of previous management. They prey on vulnerable people. Do not fall for this scam!

shirleyh72
4 reviews
41 helpful votes
December 27th, 2018

I joined the Toronto Matchmakers in Aug 2018 (about 5 months ago) There was a lot of pressure from Joanna to sign up during the interview, I did and wish I hadn't.
I purchased 6 referrals and was told it can take a maximum of 8 weeks to find the first match, but that there were lots of available men in my area looking for what I was, so there should be no problem! I provided my deal breakers and #1 was a non-smoker
I called at month 3 to ask what was happening, they found me a match in Nov, he was a smoker? Did they not read my deal breakers?
Silence since, I have called a few times and been told "be patient" At this point I just want my money back as I have no faith in them and their guarantees appears to be false.
It has been 5 months and nothing unless I call and am told they are searching? My lawyer is suggesting a complaint to the BBB and start blogging etc but at this point if I get a full refund I will go quietly. I wish I had never signed up and don't recommend anyone else doing so!

annam481
1 review
5 helpful votes
December 20th, 2018

This company puts pressure on you to sign a contract without letting you read through it. Watch out because whatever they do they protect their scam in the contract. Your money is gone and they give you no guarantee of the service. All they say is they give you referrals and they screw you over... now you have to deal with lawyers and more to get a dime back... if at all

consuellamonican
1 review
14 helpful votes
September 12th, 2017

Adding to my other review... Firmly believe, that the 1* ratings are the real and accurate ones... all with 4* or 5*, the "owners" have various pics, with different dogs. As a psychic I strongly believe, that is one and the same person creating fake profiles and posting positive reviews, in order to attract new victims. Shaking my head. I was not one of them; luckily. Call Police or Better Business Bureau on them, or take them to Small Claims Court. Good luck and keep your own money for your own needs, don't waste it on them. Not worthy.

gwynnes1
1 review
2 helpful votes
June 20th, 2019

Extremely unethical company
They lie about having matches when they don't.
Avoid this company at all costs. Don't give them a cent.
I've been a member for a year and no dates. They blame me
And make no effort to find me matches.
A Total rip off

christinem368
1 review
5 helpful votes
November 11th, 2018

Dear all
My perception is that Toronto Matchmakers is a scam. No matches in over a year. They promised to reimburse me for the FX difference of them having a US merchant ID - not done. I have referred this matter to the Financial Crimes Unit of the Toronto Police snd suggest you do the same.
I feel that I have been harassed, abused and taken advantage of by this company.
Please do not use them.

jacquelinea59
1 review
3 helpful votes
January 20th, 2019

As a professional thought perhaps this was the proper more " distinguished" way to encounter online dating... now much more well read & seasoned this Toronto Matchmakers Scam is a total misleading RIPOFF! I actually feel foolish to have entrusted their company & would be ashamed of myself if I were one of their employees misleading people whom are vulnerable & easily swayed. They bring you in for an interview bedazzle you (with false hope) took like 8 months before I had a date & could have probably found better playing a guitar@ the liquor store... yes its almost comical. Shame on this company for such false advertising... dont be foolish & waste money here friends it... hate to admit I was a fool... but lesson learnd so just warning all of you

paulw584
1 review
1 helpful vote
February 3rd, 2019

This took longer than I thought to work, but it did. That's all that matters me to quite frankly. I married my best friend last year and we just celebrated our 1 year together. Don't waste any more time people.

figsm
1 review
3 helpful votes
January 24th, 2019

I signed up in May 2017. After 6 months was finally sent one date to a person who never called. Have never heard from the company again. I would not recommend this organization. High pressure. I feel so silly to have signed up. I would have felt better giving the $7,000 to charity.

sheinl
1 review
5 helpful votes
August 8th, 2019

Please anyone here who file a complaint in court? Would like to file charges to this company. I did my complaint to BBB and Ontario consumer protection and Plan to pursue in court, I need to know if someone got a refund?

ebit
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 9th, 2019

They take the money and come up with all kinds of excuses for the work that they signed a contract for.
It is a shame that such companies can operate.

sinceret
1 review
20 helpful votes
July 31st, 2017

THEY ARE SCAM COMPANY FROM US AND CANADA. THEY ARE BUNCH OF LIARS AND FULL OF NONE SENSE. ALL THE GOOD REVIEWS ARE WRITTEN BY THEMSELVES. THEY ARE FAKE. THEY DONT HAVE CANDIDATES IN THEIR DATABASE. THEY MAKE UP STORIES TO GET MONEY FROM THE POOR, WHAT A SHAME. THIS HAS BEEN REPORTED TO CONSUMER COMPLAINT & CONSUMER PROTECTION

lewisa27
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 9th, 2019

I have to say I went about this all wrong to begin with. My matchmakers advised me from the start to be open minded. I was pretty rigid in my preferences. After 5 months of turning down every match I finally said what the heck, let's just go with it. Two matches later, I met Colleen. Listen to their advice and the process will work.

lisas499
1 review
19 helpful votes
October 28th, 2017

They take your money and then they disappear... total scam... STAY AWAY///The good write ups they put on her are probably from their own personal... dont waste your time or money... this is a SCAM!

carriel48
1 review
4 helpful votes
April 2nd, 2018

I spent my life building my career, never really believed in getting married because at the end of the day it's just a piece of paper. I went through a marriage with a man when I was very young but no children together. Im not looking to have kids.
I joined this service last year and the process takes time. Love is a numbers game you need to be patient.

Verdict? I'm engaged.

Sometimes it only takes one person to change your life but it takes you to decide that.
Thanks Toronto Matchmakers for everything, wouldn't have been here without the team guiding me at my hardest times.

christinah78
Christina H. – TorontoMatchmakers Rep

Hi Carrie,
Congratulations on your engagement! This is what we live for!
Thank you for your patience and kindness through this process.
I am glad it was well worth the wait;)
We wish you and your new found partner, a lifetime of happiness.

Warmest Regards,
Toronto Matchmakers

pajdme
1 review
10 helpful votes
June 8th, 2018

They are liars. Save your money and stay.

Scam employer, employee and services

Unprofessional people

Fake consultant and workers

Good thieves

WORST SERVICE COVERED WITH LIES

christinah78
Christina H. – TorontoMatchmakers Rep

Hi Pajdm,
Please rest assured that our team proudly stand for honesty and compassion.
Please send us a personal message if need any resolution, we will be by your side to handle anything that may arise.

*We do not see your name in our records.
Thank you
Warmest Regards!

nadiaj11
1 review
14 helpful votes
March 28th, 2018

I am a single, 35 year old woman and I just wanted to bring matchmaking company Toronto Matchmakers to your attention. I hesitantly signed up with them on October 9,2017. I had a telephone as well as an in person interview with them in which I provided them with my absolute deal breakers, a most important one was that the man not have any children. They assured me that they had a huge pool of men to match me with who met my expectations. The agreement between the company and I was for 6 matches and specifies that a match would be provided to me in 0-8 weeks. As of December 9th, the 8 week mark, no match had been provided to me. On December 27th, I called the company and spoke to a lady, * I believe, I advised her that I wanted to cancel and that she should close my file. She advised me that per the agreement, there are no refunds. I advised her that the agreement had already been breached by them since there was no match in the promised 0-8 weeks. At that point Emma said someone from management would have to call me back. I asked for a timeline; would it be a week? Two weeks? A month or two months? * would not commit to a timeline but said it could be two months before I hear from someone and that was not guaranteed. I found this response unacceptable since the company requests that matters be resolved with them, so I contacted my credit card company and disputed the charges. I sent my bank a copy of the agreement, indicating that there had been no match in the 0-8 weeks as promised in the agreement and received my money back. I also sent a written cancellation email to the company on the same day I spoke to * and emailed my bank, December 27th. Some weeks later, the bank took the money back from the company and refunded it to me. The company tried to quickly come up with a match for me, but this was after the 8 week period had passed and this person had children which was a deal breaker that I had provided to them verbally and in writing. I sent another email cancellation to confirm I was no longer interested in their services.

Today, I received a call from my bank indicating that the company is trying to get the money back, over $3,000. They provided me no matches throughout their stated timeline and the rushed match they attempted to provide was not at all what we agreed upon or what they promised. The $3,000 was for 6 matches according to my specifications and the provided me with zero, so why should they have all the money for zero service? I would just like to warn people about this company. They use high pressure tactics to get people to sign up. They over promise and under deliver. They offer terrible customer service, clearly since they think taking 2 months to call a customer back is appropriate. Lastly, they see nothing wrong with trying to keep my hard earned $3,000 for zero matches.

I know there are many people out there like me that just want a meaningful relationship in their lives. Someone to start a family and create memories with. I cannot speak for match making in general however, I can say that from my experience, this company is not the answer!

I should also say that the $3,000 that I paid was a discounted price. My sales lady, *, tried to get my to sign up for almost $7,000 which is apparently the basic package. When I declined * contacted her manager to authorize the discount. Mind you during my telephone interview, before going in, when I asked about cost I was told that they could not give me pricing because it was different for everyone and they did not have packaging. Obviously not true. Just a tactic to get people in the door!

*Personal information redacted by admin

tims184
1 review
16 helpful votes
September 3rd, 2017

After a month I had one introduction but I haven't met anyone! Toronto Matchmakers is a waste of time.

barbz4
1 review
16 helpful votes
June 25th, 2017

I paid over $3000 for their service, I was told there are lots of matches for me. I told them what I was looking for, my first match had 4 young kids and the guy was about half my size ( and I'm about 150 lbs, on a bad day hahah). 4 moths later, my second match had more earrings then I did, ( nothing wrong with it just not for me, and they knew it) another 4 months had gone by and I started to complain about the service and they simply ARE NOT ANSWERING MY EMAILS. PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY AND TIME ON THIS!

josea225
1 review
5 helpful votes
June 30th, 2018

I am a happy client of Toronto Matchmakers,
I can not believe any of the negative reviews on here, I am shocked and question who wrote them.

I am in a long term relationship with who I know is the love of my life. If I believed any of these crazy reviews, I never would had a chance of love again.

The staff here are such amazing people. I am very grateful for this opportunity. Thank you Toronto Matchmakers very much

christinah78
Christina H. – TorontoMatchmakers Rep

Thank you Jose,
Our team is passionate being part of our client's lives to find love again.
Congratulations on behalf of Toronto Matchmakers
Wishing you and your new found partner a lifetime of happiness.
Warmest Regards!

sarita
1 review
12 helpful votes
August 16th, 2018

PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM THESE THIEVES. THEY JUST TAKE YOUR MONEY AND FORGET ABOUT YOU.
FORMER CUSTOMER.

christinah78
Christina H. – TorontoMatchmakers Rep

Hi Sarit,
Our team would never want anyone to feel left. Together, we all have the same goal with you:)
Please send us a private message with your name and number so we can resolve any issues that you would to communicate to us about, we are here for you.

Warmest regards,
Toronto Matchmakers

Q&A (4)

Answer:

Thank you for your question Peter, You may reach 4166289704

By Christina H.,

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the TorontoMatchmakers staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Toronto Matchmakers is the premier matchmaking service for upscale and mature singles, with offices in Toronto and Mississauga. CALL 416-800-9249

Company Representative

christinah78
Christina H.
Toronto's Leading Premier Matchmaking Service for over 35 Years.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about TorontoMatchmakers?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about TorontoMatchmakers?