Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of StarwoodHotels

StarwoodHotels reviews

Is this your business?
39 reviews
1 Star Point
Stamford, Connecticut 93539, USA
Tel: 1-800-328-6242
starwood.preferred.guest@starwoodhotels.com
2017 Customer choice award

39 Reviews From Our Community

Service
3
Value
2
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
2

All Reviews

annaq9
7 reviews
2 helpful votes
4/23/18

I rented a handicap room at Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe for three nights. I arrived early on a Saturday and was happy to hear that Room 105 was available. I checked in and went to the room; which was on the first floor with the hall adjacent to the Lobby. The only accessibility issue I had with the room was the lack of a suitable shower chair for the roll-in shower. The staff failed on securing a suitable chair, even after the front desk manager promised to get one for the next morning. However, this was minor in comparison to what I discovered on the last day I stayed at this property.

I noticed that there was water intrusion from the baseboard and the wall opposite the roll-in shower. The wall was actually oozing water and the carpet was soaked to the point it was squishy. I immediately contacted the front desk and said they should send an engineer so I can show them what is happening. I waited for about 30 minutes and no one showed up. The front desk person, Melissa, notified me that the engineer would not be coming because they knew about the water and that they had parts on order. I was absolutely shocked. They had rented a room where there was obviously mold and dampness, which could jeopardize the health of an individual. I decided that I should take photos of what I had witnessed.

After sending said photos to Starwood Hotels and reporting what happened, the response I received is below. I am still appalled that Starwood and Marriott would not have stepped up to the plate with a better response. I have been a Rewards Member for over 25 years and this really turned me off to renting from them ever again.

StarwoodHotels.com Response:
Dear Ms. xxxxxx,

Thank you for contacting Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, LLC regarding your past stay in our property the Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe. Allow me to assist you.

We are always interested in hearing from our guests, but I am sorry it was this type of occurrence which prompted you to contact us. On behalf of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this situation may have caused you.

I have issued 2000 Starpoints to be credited to your account to cover the points part of one of the nights as an apology for the issues caused. I would ask you to allow us up to five working days to credit your profile.

All of your comments are being investigated to avoid any recurrences of similar incidents in the future.

The information above has also been documented in a customer service file. For your information, the file reference number is: xxxxxxxxx.

We appreciate your patronage of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, LLC. Should you have any further queries, please do not hesitate to contact us at 1-800-328-6242 quoting the above file number.

Best Regards,
Sara Bonanno
Associate, Starwood Preferred Guest
Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, LLC

Service
Value
Quality
Advertisement
jacobc55
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/12/18

Great experience with Starwood Hotels. I love this hotel environment. I'll keep coming back for sure!

pauln117
3 reviews
20 helpful votes
12/16/17

Been using Starewood Hotels / Sheraton Hotels for many years and I never had any issues! Keep it up!

georgei17
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
8/30/17

I am SPG platinum member and this program is the best in industry for elite members. I also like their Best Rate Guarantee program. I will hope nothing changes with new Marriott management.

taraneej
13 reviews
13 helpful votes
3/15/17

spg member. this is my favorite rewards hotel program. I'm just extremely disappointed that Marriott has bought the SPG , and Sheraton hotels. Sheraton out of all hotels I ever been to,makes me most valued as a guest. Sheraton has much greater customer service than Marriott. Marriott can't even come close. I probably will use this brand less once Marriott completely takes over as they are not as caring as Sheraton for ex. I'm so disappointed. Also the points are more generous with Sheraton as they are with Marriott. I'm a world traveler and participate with both of their hotel rewards program and I stayed at their hotels. The only reason I give 5 star right now, is because the transfer is not yet completed. I think they anticipate in October 2017....

stevew211
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
2/6/17

Fantastic hotels with friendly, helpful, and excellent service. I have never had any issues staying in Starwood Hotels and trust me: I have stayed there a lot. Five stars ...but only because I can't give them six stars.

katem69
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/29/16

Recent 2.5 week vacation at the Westin Lagunamar Hotel and Spa. The place is beautiful and the service of Armando Diaz in the Duna Bar is a Star Performance.

We enjoyed the pleasure of William Bastarrachea wonderful service and friendly smile , welcoming us for lunch. Later on into the evening we had the same pleasant and excellent service from Armando. These two men made our vacation so memorable.
Hats off to all the servers in the DUNA bar. Especially William and Armando . We will return next year.

davidt172
10 reviews
10 helpful votes
2/25/16

My wife travels a lot for work and tries to stay at Starwood properties as often as she can. They really take care of their customers. They upgrade you whenever possible and seem to go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as they can.

Service
Value
Quality
andrews179
25 reviews
10 helpful votes
1/16/16

I do have some issues with Starwoods, but have found their Westin hotels to be very good to excellent, particularly in Europe. (I particularly liked the Westin Palace in Madrid.) The SPG program leaves much to be desired!

fredl35
26 reviews
26 helpful votes
12/28/15

Starwood used to have one of the best genuine discounts for seniors.
It still owns all the best properties in Venice.
Of the hotel cards it is probably the most useful.

The only reason I do not give it a higher rating is that it has properties in Rio and Orlando that vary a lot in quality (are poorly supervised).

samsungs
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
11/27/15

I would like to travel service////////////////............

thanks

jjv3
5 reviews
27 helpful votes
11/2/15

Starwood is supposedly about to be sold.....we all know what that can mean. Many will be watching and hopefully they will be able to maintain what we have come to expect at a Starwood property.

darrylh10
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
9/1/15

My family took a well deserved vacation at Westin resort and villas bout a week ago. We have visited there many times and are owners. Our vacation at Westin Palm desert was a little more enjoyable because of one of the hostess/ servers at the pool named Deserae G. It is my families favorite spot to vacation towards end of summer, but its hot and we spend most of our time at resort , at pool. We had the pleasure of Deserae being our server most of the time there. She was kind, had a great big smile, a great personality and was engaging with myself and my family, as well as with some friends who joined us there. She made our stay at Westin much more enjoyable . Now it was 110-116 degrees most of the time we were at poolside, but along with helping all the other owners and customers there who need assistance she was always available to us too. We always seem to have pretty good service when we visit Westin , but she was definitely a shinier star! Darryl H (owner Westin palm desert)

Service
billp37
13 reviews
271 helpful votes
8/19/15

If you travel a lot and want to make sure you won't end up tired in some $#*!ty hotel, you should join starwood programm. You collect a lot of benefits and they reward you regullary. I'll keep coming back for sure! Never been disappointed with them!

bojanaz
5 reviews
4 helpful votes
2/4/15

great experience so far.the only downside is that the bonuspoints expire after a year(i was very sick so i didint trael) so they expired.

rachellel4
13 reviews
10 helpful votes
1/21/15

I LOVE Starwood, we travel a lot, and use this exclusively for our Delta points, as well. THe hotels are always PERFECT. Clean, 3-5 star. APPRECIATE!

mikel175
5 reviews
14 helpful votes
11/6/14

great site for SPG booking , easy to navigates and good maps to show where the hotels are , compared to other similar sites like marriot.

nitins
6 reviews
0 helpful votes
4/3/12

Had better experience with Four Point By Sheraton at Jaipur

21 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the StarwoodHotels staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
StarwoodHotels?
Post Review