We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    Spamcop.net

Corporate Values

Overview

Spamcop.net has a consumer rating of 2.33 stars from 25 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Spamcop.net also ranks 162nd among IT Services sites. The most common issues with Spamcop.net are around customer service, which is not as good as expected by some customers.

Positive reviews (last 12 months): 0%
Positive
0
Neutral
0
Negative
2
View ratings trends

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

No positive highlights yet

Critical highlights

  • based in China not sure what Spamcop can do other than tell them that I am an active email account so...
How would you rate Spamcop.net?
Top Positive Review

“I'm happy these guys exist!”

F v.
9/20/19

Spamcop should be used by any admin that wants to help fight spam in general. We're all in it together and any report helps. Not sure what the nay-sayers are expecting from a service to report spam to, but I don't think they get what it's for..

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Of questionable usefulness”

SpamCop U.
8/22/20

While I admire the purpose of this service, I feel that it's of little use in actually reporting spam anymore since more and more of the reports I submit end up only being forwarded to 'devnull' addresses, meaning that they're only collected for statistical uses rather than being forwarded to the email service providers from which the spam messages originated. If the primary purposes of submitting the reports is to have the service providers be made aware of the spam being generated, then this service is unlikely to be of any use/consequence.

See critical reviews

Reviews (25)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

email account (3)
fv7
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 20th, 2019
Spamcop should be used by any admin that wants to help fight spam in general. We're all in it together and any report helps. Not sure what the nay-sayers are expecting from a service to report spam to, but I don't think they get what it's for..
warrene5
1,259 reviews
2,464 helpful votes
December 3rd, 2014
I report all kinds of stupid spam / scam emails through Spamcop.net.
There are free and paid options that you can use. I usually report scam emails through the free service.

On a side note someone has registered "spamcop.com". Its a small site trying to sell software listed on ebay?
ramonas1
1 review
2 helpful votes
March 30th, 2015
Been using for less than a week, and already, my Spam, which had become totally unmanageable -- 100s each day, including dozens of new ones. Got fewer than 15 all day today. Have purchased few dollars of extra fuel, happily, but don't think I really needed it, although the submissions did speed up a lot. Highly recommend using this site if you're overwhelmed by spam.

Tip for consumers: Try the free version -- give it a chance -- takes few days to kick in effectively.

Service
Value
Quality
franks656
1 review
3 helpful votes
January 28th, 2020
I have been using SpamCop for years, and I have honestly come to the conclusion that it is a big waste of time. Nobody that gets reported stops spamming me. Nothing happens. It is a big fraud.
bobd114
1 review
1 helpful vote
November 8th, 2016
Went from receiving 30-40 spam emails a day (individual user) to ZERO for the last week!
Took me a month or so of diligent reporting and learning that reporting spam from Russian ISPs only generated more spam. But now I'm virtually spam free!
Couldn't be more pleased!
tomm
6 reviews
37 helpful votes
May 20th, 2009
I hate spam like many people do. All you do is right click on the spam email, hit view message source, copy, then paste it onto the Spamcop site and it tells you what ISP it came from and sends an abuse report for you. It'll also tell you who hosts and offending links in the spam. It's a free site, but they'll bug you for donations.
lodewijkl
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
June 9th, 2015
I've been using the paid version to support SpamCop, and have reported many hundreds of spam over the last years. With the "fuel" I one time paid for some years ago already I still can report many hundreds of spam more. At this rate I won't have to buy more "fuel" for some years to come.

To make it easy on myself I use the free version of MailWasher. That free version allows for one email account only, but that is fine with me, as I have only one. It offers the option to report spam to SpamCop with just two clicks. Highly recommended.
royd13
1 review
2 helpful votes
October 26th, 2013
I have used the paid version of Spamcop for many years and am extremely happy with it. At least 80% of the spam I receive is blocked, which is extremely helpful since my e-mail address is public knowledge. You do have to tweek the filter, selecting various parameters and which blacklists you want consulted. In this way the sensitivity can be increased or decreased. This might be difficult for people who are not computer literate, but the improvement in service is well worth the effort.
richardm956
1 review
3 helpful votes
September 15th, 2019
Reporting spam on Spamcop's site doesn't do a single thing to diminish the amount of spam you receive. Sure, the reporting feature appears to work as intended, and does most likely email the relevant providers about spam, but you'll continue to get the same amount of spam from the same sources. Over a period of many months, I've seen increases and decreases in the amount of spam I get on any given day, but continually reporting it on Spamcop hasn't had any impact at all.

Don't bother reporting your spam on Spamcop, because the only thing it does is waste your time.
aliceb2
1 review
6 helpful votes
April 12th, 2011
I have used spamcop's free reporting for years but never knew if it was really helping until I tested it for myself. Who hasn't received an email from a scammer calling themselves Farida Waziri, a real person who is the Executive Chairperson of the Nigerian EFCC? I certainly have, dozens of them. Spamcop will probably not appreciate me doing this but one time I decided to string one of these scammers along while also reporting them. I would make up tale after tale as to why I had not yet been able to send them their "fee" to release my millions of dollars. Sometimes it was several days before they replied. They said they kept having problems with their email account and had to reregister (thanks to spamcop's reporting, no doubt). By the time I finally tired of toying with them and told them I had only been doing so to waste their time, their return email address was Farrrrida Waziiiiri. So yes, reporting to spamcop does get results but can't really stop these devils, nothing can. They just reregister using a different name or, as in this case, just add a few more letters to the name they're using. Still, it wasted some of their time, time that might have been used emailing someone else who was more gullible than me who could have fallen into their trap.
spamcopu
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 22nd, 2020
While I admire the purpose of this service, I feel that it's of little use in actually reporting spam anymore since more and more of the reports I submit end up only being forwarded to 'devnull' addresses, meaning that they're only collected for statistical uses rather than being forwarded to the email service providers from which the spam messages originated.

If the primary purposes of submitting the reports is to have the service providers be made aware of the spam being generated, then this service is unlikely to be of any use/consequence.
evana15
5 reviews
13 helpful votes
August 25th, 2017
I feel like I am wasting my time. I had better luck before when I used other WHOIS websites and contacted the ISP directly. I have spent hours sending in 1000s of Spam Mails and to be honest the volume of Spam from the same providers has increased 3-4 times. Iccloml. Loan is the most infamous... now getting 50-100 a day from "Alex"... based in China not sure what Spamcop can do other than tell them that I am an active email account so... send me more.
farmeri
3 reviews
25 helpful votes
January 28th, 2019
For sure, SpamCop has no interest in writing software to direct complaints to the appropriate abuse email addresses that are easily found on the web.
My guess is that SpamCop IT programmers and staff just sit around smoking marijuana all day and at 3:30 pm go zooming to the farthest bar in their brand new Tesla and have sex.
These guys have to be the very laziest people on the planet.
The only report they send is to *******@hotmail.com.
I found these IP addresses in the report I sent: 194. 72. 6. 62,81.144.232.66. Both belong to bt.com. It turns out that bt.com actually has a complaint email: *******@bt.com.
SpamCop did not send anything to them.
Very few of the one hundred or so reports I sent showed that SpamCop passed the report to anyone except hotmail.com. Well, hotmail.com isn't going to do anything. Their response is always that it isn't their server sending the spam, so they can't do anything about it.
steves934
1 review
4 helpful votes
February 3rd, 2019
I've been using it for years but it seems to do absolutely NOTHING about the spam problem. They don't even tell you what is done with the reports. In some cases they refuse to get the reports to the appropriate ISP, meaning you just wasted your entire effort. I'm almost done with them because it seems like all the benefit goes to SpamCop and zero benefit goes to me (who is doing all the actual work). They need to be a little more forthcoming about what is actually done with the reports you send to them, besides wasting the time of the people doing the reporting. They need to be a little more active in blacklisting the servers that generate spam, especially those which are sending spam that is attempting to extort money via BitCoin. The stupid ISPs who can't get their act together should get out of the business they're in if they can't maintain a halfway decent level of security on their mail servers and not whine to SpamCop if they are blacklisted.
mattb190
7 reviews
54 helpful votes
May 11th, 2018
For the average internet user, spamcop is too complex with all those complex instructions is definitely user-unfriendly. I got tons of Canadian pharmacy viagra spam or as they call it unsolicited email and whenever I forward the spam to them I get an error message that no spam was found, well genius, with an email address like *******@mail.com sending you VIAGRA spam, what else can it be? I never approved to have sent said spam emails to my address. While tired of the $#*! and trying to report the spam, I found out I already used this service once in the past, since I already had an account. I suddenly remembered I got the same erroneous results back that time too. So basically, I really do not like the site and I don't intend to use it ever again. I'll give it 2 stars for the benefit of a doubt, that once learned it's efficient, but I don't intend to dedicate myself so much to figure out something made so user-unfriendly. It kinda repells me.
johns2444
1 review
7 helpful votes
October 6th, 2017
Cisco System who now owns Spamcop can care less about the site. The site is worthless and does absolutely nothing to stop spam. Don't waste your time here
raymondm74
1 review
3 helpful votes
December 4th, 2017
I run a small security company and got an email from my IT support provider, when I replied it returned to me stating that SpamCop has me on their blacklist so my email is now no longer allowed to get through to my IT service provider.

Now I don't even do any email marketing and send out only a few emails daily, so how on earth can I be on some supposed blacklist.
billr222
1 review
3 helpful votes
October 16th, 2018
I used SpamCop.com and they claimed I was reporting things that were not spam. I have not idea what I submitted that was not spam. I called to get some help on the issue and spoke to a very RUDE lady who offered no help. They closed my account, so now I support the spamers!
marcie35
Marci E.
1 review
4 helpful votes
August 25th, 2017
I've been using the free version of SpamCop for years and have never seen any less spam, quite the opposite (and not blaming Spamcop for this) I am experiencing loads of spam lately. Waste of time, reporting, etc, and when you report through the email they provide, the email come back saying is not spam, when clearly is...
robertg26
1 review
5 helpful votes
September 1st, 2012
I paid for the spamcop email address, as well as having paid fuel to these $#*!s. Never received any confirmation, could not login. Then, I tried to find a contact address. If they are so good at stopping spam, they at least ought to have some sort of means to contact them on their website. When I finally contacted them, I was treated like an idiot nuisance child by an idiot. They claim there was nothing wrong on their side.
tg16
1 review
9 helpful votes
September 30th, 2013
It's time to BlackList SpamCop! All GoDaddy users being blocked?!

SpamCop has deliberately blocked my email - even though we have not done anything that violates their policy AND the IP address that they

Are supposedly blocking is not ours!

After and sending me a nasty notice telling me that my IP address has been blocked, and wasting my time researching the problem, I discover

That SpamCop does not even have the right IP address!

Instead it turns out that SpamCop is blocking a global list of GoDaddy addresses that also use the same mail server.

This means that SpamCop has Blacklisted our emails for reasons that are not within our control, and not our responsibility. SpamCop

Deliberately interferes with legitimate business.

It's time to BlackList SpamCop! Stop paying for an arbitrary, unreliable, "protection racket."
romanp9
1 review
5 helpful votes
February 6th, 2014
Blocking legit emails and getting the email back is pain... waste of time.
mtbb
1 review
5 helpful votes
September 27th, 2013
I am desperately trying to find an ISP that does NOT use Spam Cop or a similar service. This company has caused me to lose business contracts by intercepting vital, legitimate emails, and they don't even have the balls to put an email address or phone number on line to make themselves accountable to me. I have NEVER authorized Spam Cop to filter my emails. I have emphatically told my ISP several times that I do not want them doing it. They tell me they've turned Spam Cop off, and then next thing I know, somebody else forwards me a returned message saying Spam Cop intercepted their email. I have now fired three ISPs because of their use of Spam Cop. If anybody knows a company that offers domain hosting that does NOT use Spam Cop or a similar service. Please post it hear. I'm begging you. I'm desperate.
brucef3
1 review
3 helpful votes
July 1st, 2013
I changed over from Spam Arrest, which I wasn't completely happy with to SpamCop. I set it up and it seemed to be working. Then I went to bed and woke up to find I had no emails. Strange. I get many. I got a Skype message from an associate that my emails had been bouncing back to him. I heard from others who told me the same thing. So I went back to Spam Arrest and emailed SpamCop with my issue. No reply. I emailed them 3 times. Still no reply. Now it's a week later. I have twice emailed asking for a refund and still no reply. This service sucks!
romanoh5
1 review
4 helpful votes
October 24th, 2013
All my emails I send are blocked by spamcop, I'm on the Online.net network, i have my own website and they block all email sent on the STMP service of Online.net but my website is not a spammer. That is bull$#*!.

Q&A (2)

Answer:

Because spamcop only wants your $15. They do not actually do anything with your complaint.

By farmer i.
See more answers (2)

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Spamcop.net staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Beware of cheap imitations! SpamCop has been protecting the internet community since 1998. Automatically file spam reports with the network administrators who can stop unsolicited email at the source. Subscribe, and filter your email before it reach...

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Spamcop.net?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Firefox extension

2.3
25 reviews
Have a question about Spamcop.net?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business