We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    Scratch

Corporate Values

Overview

Scratch has a consumer rating of 3.29 stars from 14 reviews indicating that most customers are generally satisfied with their purchases. Scratch ranks 20th among Kids sites.

Positive reviews (last 12 months): 14.3%
Positive
1
Neutral
1
Negative
5
View ratings trends
See all photos
How would you rate Scratch?
Top Positive Review

“AWESOME!”

Alanna B.
11/16/19

This is the greatest creation ever. Kids love it! Made for literally everyone! Welcome people from different ages and backgrounds! Easy to use, and this really helps kids know what job they really want to have in the future!

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Scratch destroyed my life”

LaikaChaan -.
8/1/20

Things were going fine until i saw so many trolls and scratch blocked my account for no reason. I did the appeal but they ignored it. NEVER GOING ON SCRATCH AGAIN.

See critical reviews

Reviews (14)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

laikachaan
1 review
1 helpful vote
August 1st, 2020
Things were going fine until i saw so many trolls and scratch blocked my account for no reason. I did the appeal but they ignored it. NEVER GOING ON SCRATCH AGAIN.
alannab40
4 reviews
3 helpful votes
November 16th, 2019
This is the greatest creation ever. Kids love it! Made for literally everyone! Welcome people from different ages and backgrounds! Easy to use, and this really helps kids know what job they really want to have in the future!
bluec10
1 review
3 helpful votes
August 2nd, 2020
Hello. I am TPRisesAgain.

So I was in Scratch for 7 years, and the old scratch in 2013-2014 is great. But then all those FNAF projects came and banned it. It's kinda troublesome, right? The UI is relatively easy to do, and it unleashed my creativity. But then MIT banned me for invalid reasons. I tried to do appeals but they ignored me for over a week.

So in my conclusion, this is an alright website, just that the moderators aren't very good.
wangj9
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
February 28th, 2020
Pls unblock my second account, hingcshan. Scratch has unblocked hingcs... (At least) but hingcshan has a top loved project! PLS PLS PLS PLS PLS PLS PLS PLS unblock.
carolinai2
5 reviews
33 helpful votes
May 15th, 2019
Its Way Better Than Tynker, I Work Hard On Projects And I Got That From Ceebee And Her Friends. I Had Fun With This Website.
ryank492
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 15th, 2020
I have been a user on scratch for 6 years. Over that time I have seen scratch turn into a dumpster fire (mostly due to the moderation team consisting of left-ist lemmings who cant control a website).
Now, instead of writing a long explanation on why scratch is bad, Im just going to list all the problems with the site:
The moderators are sensitive as $#*!
Free speech practically doesn't exist
Porn projects! (Granted, most of these are just inflation/vore art, but its still on a kids site)
Constant removal of features. (Remix tree, random project button, camera, exc.)
Guidelines are contradicting to what MIT actually does. Despite the community guidelines EXPLICITLY STATING that constructive criticism is allowed, they ban any and all critizism.
Unfair bans that deal with website outside of scratch's jurisdiction. Examples? The CrummyScratchersWiki, which was a miraheze wiki intended on archiving bad scratchers, and helping them improve. Once scratch found out about it, everyone who contributed to it was banned.
$#*!ty UI.
Neglecting their user base
Taking a $#*! ton of time to respond to ban appeals, only to send a condescending letter to you.
Toxic user base
Site pandering to younger audiences, despite most of the users being 12-18
Featured projects are just the same $#*! over and over again
Popular scratchers are now "TRENDY EPIC LOL RANDOM XDDDD" 9 year olds, instead of talented artists who spend MONTHS into 5 second animations

Please, if ANY teacher is reading this, do not use scratch. Its an awful website, and it consists numerous pedophiles that scratch refuses to deal with. Just use the offline version.
perryt42
1 review
1 helpful vote
August 2nd, 2020
When I first joined Scratch in 2016, it was much better until 2018 when trolls and bullies started ganging up on me. 2020 is probably worse though, because the ST banned me, just because of the Crummy Scratchers Wiki, and they thought it was gossip and insults, but it was just valid criticism to help the Scratchers improve. I also got bullied a lot for following people, and why get mad at someone when they follow you? I've also been through a bunch of flame wars and all of that, and people who were in the flame wars even play the victim card.
bobr334
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 2nd, 2020
I liked the older version, but more recent updates have changed nothing but the ui making it harder to use for no reason.
emilj8
20 reviews
150 helpful votes
November 28th, 2018
It was great until 2014 now it's full of too many FNAF fan projects that are just ripp offs and it also became a home to many fanbases
loldjdl
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
June 19th, 2016
Love making games on it and stuff
bakurachibicatf
7 reviews
26 helpful votes
September 6th, 2013
Scratch is an online community made by MIT for children to not only learn about programming and animation, but to have fun and chat with friends. Basically, it's Facebook and Youtube combined, but techy.
You make little games, or videos, or whatever by snipping together these action and programming "Blocks" like Legos. You can do various things with these blocks, like move a character around, animate a character, or make a screen scroll. At first, it's kind of hard to understand, but you get a hang of it.
The Scratch Team and it's users are very welcoming, and their are a lot of fanbase-related things on Scratch. Anime, Gaming, Music, Art, whatever you're into, their are hundreds of thousands of people on Scratch into the same thing.
Bottom line, I highly, highly, HIGHLY recommend you give Scratch a try.
3 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Q&A (2)

Answer:

Nope. But I think maybye... did not unblock for 2 months liao! Too overrated right?!

By WANG J.
See more answers (2)
Answer:

Yup! You can make anything on scratch. Just make sure it is okay for younger children to see.

By Alanna B.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Scratch staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

The mission of MIT is to advance knowledge and educate students in science, technology and other areas of scholarship that will best serve the nation and the world in the 21st century.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Scratch?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Firefox extension

3.3
14 reviews
Have a question about Scratch?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business