Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of RockAuto

RockAuto reviews

Is this your business?
157 reviews
6418 Normandy Lane
Madison, WI 53719, US
Tel: 608-661-1376
service@rockauto.com

157 Reviews From Our Community

Service
9
Value
11
Shipping
11
Returns
5
Quality
9

All Reviews

robm108
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/29/17

Trying to talk to someone about a part... nope, cant do.. looking for a head light wiring harness for a 2007 Chevy Silverado.... not only never use this company but will Never buy another GM product.. too cheap... this site. No one to discuss hard to find products....

ryans155
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/29/16

RockAuto misplaced my part number on my box and refused to take it back. Even though they sent me the wrong part in the first place I still had to pay the return shipping. Their website is not well organized and tries to put all the blame on you the wrong part is sent. There are no managers to speak to. Problems do not get resolved properly.

samd85
4 reviews
67 helpful votes
11/28/16

Just bought some brake rotors, followed their menu, got the right year, make of car, model and noted that it's a sedan but the rotors they shipped me DON'T fit. Now I have to pay the cost to return them which is half the cost of the part itself. Shop local, these guys are horrible. Check the internet, lots of complaints!!!!!

markh264
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/4/16

I've had my second fight with Rock Auto customer service and have
deleted my account.

If you receive what you ordered and it arrived in usable condition
such that you never have to communicate with Rock Auto customer service,
then you will probably rate them highly as their prices are hard to beat
(except for their shipping charges on multiple items.)

If you need to return an item / deal with their customer service:
1. Prepare for a fight.
2. Any savings you thought you would realize by using Rock Auto will vanish.
You may even realize you'd have been better off buying from ANYONE else.
3. Do not be surprised if they insist you pay return shipping even
if they ship you something other than what you ordered
(Hard to believe ANYONE in business can survive with a policy like this.)

My last botched Rock Auto order:
Ordered a Denso fuel pump listed in their online catalog for my application.
Specifically avoided cheaper pumps, such as Walbro, based on
30 years personal experience.
Received a Walbro pump in a Denso box.
If I had wanted a Walbro pump I could have gotten one in
a Walbro box for $20 less than the Denso.
The failed pump I was replacing was, no surprise to me, Walbro.
Contacted Mario at Rock Auto.
Mario claimed that Denso informed him that this type of part substitution
was common practice at Denso.
I contacted Denso America and Denso Japan and they tell me Mario lied.
Denso America referred me to their online catalog for proof:
Denso does not offer a fuel pump for my application.
I explained this to Mario who informed me I would be charged for return
shipping anyway.
They refunded $57.42 of my $68.68 purchase price.
So, BUYER BEWARE:
If Rock Auto makes a mistake, the customer will pay for it,
literally.

p.s. Wonder what would happen if you ordered a lug nut and
Rock Auto shipped an automatic transmission in error?
Their policy seems to indicate the customer would be responsible
for return shipping charges. One thing I know for certain:
Rock Auto would NOT ship you that lug nut until they received
their transmission back.

davidm536
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/22/16

Not worth the headache if you need a refund. They do NOT view the customer as central to the business. I asked for a refund. Now, I have no refund because it is a store credit. even after I said I am NEVER going to do business with these charlatans again. I will only buy parts from a store that I can walk into. I've never had an issue with brick and mortar store like I have had with RockAuto.

wernern3
18 reviews
17 helpful votes
10/6/16

Having order most of my parts from them, I find their pricing
and shipping to be on the excellent side of things.

They will in many case offer both economy, standard and premium
parts. The consumer has more options with Rock then with many
local parts stores.

Most of their shipping have been on time or quicker than expected.

The only issue was a return of a core, which required $20.oo bucks
via Fedx. I should have paid the ten dollars for the shipping label.
It took them about two weeks to process the return and credit the core
charge. Much to long, IMHO.

Do not order items on the Internet which will have a core charge, as the
hassle and shipping cost are not worth it. Just go to your local parts
store and avoid the core return.

I am surprised that customer service, in Madison, Wisconsin received so
many complains! I have called them on several occasions and never had issues
with the guys on the line.

Next time you call, press nine that you are a Packerbacker and maybe that
will improve phone service.

I give them four Stars.

ronaldg38
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
9/23/16

Order # 52143910
"They say they tried to "verify" with my bank, my credit card, who I did a three way call with RockAuto, the bank and myself, everything was verified correct, phone number, address, card #, 3 digit security code, everything correct on what I typed into the website. The money is being held in my bank account, and ordered on 9/20, today is 11PM on 23rd, and yet they still have not shipped my very needed parts. Say they refunded my money, yet bank also disputes that, and they want me to give them another credit card, seriously???? NO WAY I PAID FOR THESE PARTS, SHIP THEM TO ME"
I've contacted the apparent owner based upon Whois - https://whois.icann.org/en/lookup?name=rockauto.com and I filed a BBB complaint. Stay AWAY from this company!!!

Tip for consumers: Do your research on this company, if you have no part problems and shipped properly, you will most likely be happy. Any wrong shipment, wrong part shipped, etc, and then you get the F%#* YOU treatment.

Service
Value
Shipping
ronaldj32
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/24/16

i put a order in on tuesday 1.30 pm central paid for 2 day ship now they did not send for pickup to ship till wensday now i wont get it till friday 1 item

brownello
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/19/16

I have purchased 4 power steering pumps from Rockauto. They have all been installed by professional, main dealers but despite that each pump has failed within or soon after the warranty expired. On the latest occasion, the pump had failed before it was even installed int he vehicle.

I live in Ireland so with expensive shipping costs and customs duties etc. it was easier on each occasion to just order a new pump and pay to have it shipped. Between these costs and mechanics costs, I have spent well over 2000 to get a reliable, working replacement steering pump and at this moment, I still have a car, in a garage with no power steering.

On this latest occassion I suggested to Rockauto that I would pay for a new pump if they would cover the cost of shipping it. They even refused that.

They did offer to ship the defective product to US and replace it but I have to bring the product to the shipping depot (90 minutes drive from me). So, to get a warranty replacement (including the 1/2 day I will lose form work) will cost me more money than it would cost to just buy a new pump.

But I don;t want to just buy another new pump because I am fed up with these defective parts - I don;t know if it is ACDElCO that is at fault (I presume it must be as they manufactured this latest pump) but Rockauto are the people I gave my money to..

syls
1 review
4 helpful votes
8/1/16

who's the owner of your company, if I see him I am gone kick is ^&*#@@(
terrible and poor customer service...

dinos22
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
7/13/16

To whom it may concern:

There is a reason I ordered the part overnighted!!! I am leaving on vacation on Wednesday June 22nd early in the morning. Expecting to receive my part on Tuesday June 21st. It is 6:48PM and I checked the tracking status and they have on there delivery by 6PM on Wednesday. You will notice that I ordered the part on Saturday June 18th!!

I did not pay $28.00 for overnight shipping only to get the part on Wednesday. I will be gone for a week and must suffer the consequences in my vehicle for a long drive and a long week!!

Please refund the overnight shipping charges minus the standard shipping charges.

Your response will determine how I rate you on every internet site I can find. I actually saw a TV commercial for your business.

I cannot express how disappointed I am in not getting the part in time.

Regards,

Daryl Stokes

RockAuto Customer Service
Jun 21




Hello,

I apologize- it appears our warehouse was one day late in shipping your package.

We will refund you the difference between the shipping method you paid for (Next Business Day at $27.99) and the shipping method you will end up receiving (2 Business Day at $15.99).

This amount would be $12.00. We will refund your original payment method within 3 business days. We will email you when the refund is issued.

For further information, please see our Help pages.

Thank you,

Catherine
RockAuto Customer Service



Jun 22


to RockAuto


Not good enough. Standard shipping charges. Otherwise I will explain your mistake on every internet site I can find.

Regards. Really all shippings charges should be refunded it it is YOUR fault

Daryl Stokes


RockAuto Customer Service
Jun 22




Hello,

We're sorry that the warehouse shipped your order one day late, so delivery is being made in two, instead of one, business day. The Standard shipping method (Ground) which you noted would not have made it in two business days as transit was from CA to NC. We will refund the $12 difference between the next day service which you paid for, and the two day service which you will receive, as delivery should be today.

Thank you,

Chris P.


Jun 22




I am not satisfied with your response. Therefore I will state the facts and your responses on every website I possibly can.
And of course I will never do business with RockAuto.com.

Regards,

Daryl Stokes


RockAuto Credit Issued
Order xxxxx

We have issued you credit for RockAuto Order # xxxxxx.

Visa
Amount (USD): $12.00

Refunded Items
DORMAN Part # 931123: Original Shipping: $12.00 = Total: $12.00

kylec43
1 review
4 helpful votes
6/29/16

I had to return a core and the box it came in was destroyed. So i put it in another box with all the info. They claim they will not refund the core charge because its in a different box. So i paid double for my steering gear

erict60
4 reviews
2 helpful votes
6/20/16

I went on line at their site to see about a "rear Axel" for my jeep wrangler I seen that they had them "In their catalog" but not available, they said leave an e-mail so they can let you know when it becomes available.I did that! and they said they did not have them AT ALL in their Inventory. sounds like False Advertisement To Me!

Tip for consumers: call them before you place an order!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
dales52
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
4/14/16

Avoid rock auto if shipping to Canada!
They have two cheap options for shipping to Canada, one is economy mail and the other is ground consolidated. I paid for the more expensive ground option. The Rock Auto.com website faq has this to say about shipping: Note: Any shipping methods with the word "Mail" or "Post" in the title will ship using a postal carrier such as USPS, Canada Post, etc. Any other shipping methods will ship using FedEx, UPS, DHL, Freight, etc. We ship using our warehouses' preferred carriers so there is not an option to choose between FedEx or UPS, for example
Again for clarity I "paid" for ground consolidated not "Economy Mail" yet the idiots sent it in the mail and are trying to blame me for this even though my order confirmation quite clearly states that I picked & paid for "Ground Consolidated". So two things are quite apparent: 1. They never admit when they make a mistake, they always blame the customer. 2. There is no difference between economy mail & ground consolidated except for the price which they pocket. Bottom line: Avoid if in Canada. Ripoff shipping. Misleading website FAQs.

damonh24
11 reviews
51 helpful votes
3/15/16

Good on all aspects. Have started using a different site now due to poor canadian dollar.
EDIT: back to being my #1 goto for parts.

blakej14
1 review
4 helpful votes
3/14/16

Reps are not helpful or understanding. Many do not take the time to read a short email and default to being rude when they should be focused on being honest. If they would check their work and look for ways to be helpful they would see an overall improvement in their call times and number of call backs.

tc68
1 review
7 helpful votes
2/1/16

CALLING CUSTOMER SERVICE IS A COMPLETE WASTE OF TIME,SPENT 10 MIN, ASKING ABOUT A RETURN AND MAKING SURE WE GET THE RIGHT PART THE NEXT TIME. THE ANSWER EVERY TIME WAS "GO TO OUR WEBSITE" WELL IF THE WEBSITE GAVE ME THE ANSWER WHY WOULD I BE CALLING?

daniele64
6 reviews
1 helpful vote
1/21/16

You can not beat the prices they offer.

marks295
1 review
9 helpful votes
11/6/15

The Rock Auto website lists a Bosch O2 sensor P/N 13806, which crosses to a Porsche P/N 986 606 126 01, as fitting (among others), a 2001 Boxster. This is incorrect, it is applicable only to pre-2000 Boxsters sold in the US. This was verified both by Bosch and several Porsche dealers. I bought one from Rock Auto last year, but then found I didn't need it then, so I put it on the shelf (in its original sealed, unopened shipping box) for future use. Now I need one, and find out it's wrong. My packing lists clearly has 2001 PORSCHE BOXSTER 3.2L H6 printed on it. Rock Auto will do nothing for me, citing their 30 day return policy. Since it is their (ongoing) mistake, and since the part in hand is clearly resellable, I feel an honorable business would own up to it and make the customer whole, but no - no refund, even partial, no credit toward new purchases ( which I am ready to make). When I told the manager that he should correct the website, and he said he would check into it, but regardless of what he found out, his refusal to help me would stand.

carolc23
7 reviews
10 helpful votes
8/11/15

I use this company all the time. If a part is wrong, they have no problem either correcting it, exchanging it, or giving a refund. BEST PRICES around. The only draw back, don't be in a hurry as shipping takes a week - faster shipping is too expensive for the heavy parts.

bude4
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/5/15

The parts I ordered came in wrong and since it was the last one I had to return it and order new parts at an additional cost of $50 and they too came in with parts missingwhen I called customer service they really had a "I don't care" attitudewill spend my money elsewhere

steved72
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
7/17/15

Received part 3 days after ordered by USPS! :0)
Staff was friendly and glad to help.

drewp8
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/8/15

I ordered a new AC Compressor that RockAuto stated "May Looks different but will work the same as OEM" Well I received the part and it does not fit or work the same. I called them and they were very condescending and unwilling to admit their foot notes that caused us to order were in-correct. They wanted us to pay shipping both ways for their mistake. Their customer service after the sale is the worst I have ever experienced. One may think you are getting a better deal but after you pay shipping both ways for their mistake...not a good deal at all just bad service from a bad company that does not stand behind their mistake and make it right. STAY AWAY!!!!

aprils29
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/3/15

I live in Canada, and I've placed multiple orders for several vehicles I've owned such as 97 Chev Blazer, 96 Chrysler Sebring, '02 Mazda Protege, '06 F150, '06 VW Tiguan, '05 Jeep Liberty, '08 Toyota FJ, and an '05 Toyota Tundra. All orders have been complete, delivered on time, with no hassle, and always the right part. Parts prices are 70% or less than prices at local parts stores, so it does make sense to check local prices to account for shipping costs and exchange. Note: it seems that auto parts are NOT subject to duties! Some key hints to get the right thing at the right price and efficient delivery price: 1) Make sure you know exactly your year, make, model, engine, and accessories package. 2) Make sure you know the exact part you need, and understand that there are some variations on the part, even for the same above specifications, so do some research if different variations pop up on RockAuto's parts list. 3) To get the optimum pricing on parts price and delivery cost for a number of parts, I always select the same part from different sources, and then eliminate some from the list to get the optimum delivered price. I figure that most parts manufacturers make parts of equivalent quality so I am not partial to a specific brand. RockAuto has an ordering feature now to optimize shipping costs - a real plus.

Sebring Convertible: Parts from RockAuto: grill, head-light assemblies, brake components, cooling system components, timing belt replacement kit.

Value
Shipping
Quality
tomc27
7 reviews
7 helpful votes
4/8/15

Ordered a few car parts here...muffler...brakes..and hardware after a bad experience at another online auto parts.
items were shipped within 2 hours of order placement. I will have half the order in 2 days and the balance in 4 days.
Prices are competitive... I took advantage of a coupon promotion. On the muffler and got a fantastic deal.
Rockauto will be my place for autoparts.
I really like the options they show for all available parts from various suppliers.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Whare is my package. An $85 inside door panal. Part # 4029357733 .ca ordered 12/22/16 rock auto had no problem taking my money but apparently don't know how to make a shipment. Pissed

By Shawn c.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the RockAuto staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

4 Photos for RockAuto

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
RockAuto?
Post Review