Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Roblox

Roblox reviews

Is this your business?
313 reviews
94401
Tel: (888) 858-BLOX
info@roblox.com

313 Reviews From Our Community

Service
27
Value
24
Shipping
15
Returns
18
Quality
25

All Reviews

samuell220
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/16/19
Roblox is a great MMO or game, depending of what you do on it. There alot of games you can play. There might be a game for you on the site. It's easy making games. There are templates on the start page, toolbox, and online. It's also easy cause the programming language, Lua, is easy to understand and learn. There's an active community both on forums and games. You can make money of making games. However negativity stuff like sex/porn or bloody games, but do come once and leave. You have to note that game is built on UGC (User Generated Content), so what's gonna happen if you going to let anyone make a game, you going to expect some bad stuff. However, the moderation, while not perfect and small, can do it nicely. I think the only problems is that some updates do ruin and people breaking the rules. However, you can change settings to avoid this, and you can Roblox a better place for all people. It's a great place to play, make, and share games. It's really up to the parent.

Tip for consumers: If you want more games like this, or you want an alt, if you don't want play Roblox, LittleBigPlanet or Minecraft can do that job as well.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
katier139
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/15/19
Pros: Roblox is a great platform for people to create games for people to enjoy. Most of the games are fun, and the genres run the gamut from obstacle courses, to roleplay, to tycoons, to simulators, and much more so it's easy to find the kind of games you prefer. Robux, the premium currency, is moderately expensive- not too bad but not too good. VIP servers are available for Robux, which means that if you want to play a game solely with friends or siblings you can get a private server and just play with the other people you invite. You can also play on a private server by yourself, which makes it easier to build up your character without getting bugged, which is especially helpful for games that include PVP. Most* players are generally likeable, they're just there to play the game the same way you are.

Cons: Bullying is a major problem, and most reports aren't taken seriously or even acknowledged. It's even a running gag among the badly behaved players on the site, most of them taunt newer players with something along the lines of "What are you going to do? Report me? They never do anything when people are reported." Swearing is actually pretty easy to do around the filter, which is either over-secure or not secure enough. My little sister went to say the word "cat" in one game and it blocked it, but she can tell people how old she is and where she lives in other games. The filter isn't the same throughout every game.

Many higher level players are either rude to newer players, or are constantly bombarded by newer players especially in games where trading items is an option. A lot of people jump onto these games for the first time and just expect people to give them stuff so that they don't have to work as hard.

Spammers run rampant, often tricking younger kids into those phony websites that "give you free Robux" but which really just take your password and give those people access to your account. Little kids are especially prone to these people, and again reporting usually does nothing. They pop up in most games.

There is no regulation for what creators can and can't do when it comes to the prompts to buy premium items in their games. I've began playing several small games but quickly stopped when prompts kept popping up on screen asking me to buy such and such item or donate X amount of robux. This can get very distracting and takes away from the game experience, but it's pretty much allowed since games are pretty much run solely by their creator/ creator's friends and they get ultimate control.

Overall, if Roblox became more centralized it would operate a lot more smoothly and it would be a much better experience. A platform-wide moderating and administration system would be very beneficial to all of the players that are just trying to enjoy themselves. Roblox has the potential to be great for everyone, but it needs a bit more work to get there.
fwasfwasfg
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
11/13/19
Clean for my kids. I play it, other kids at their school play it. It's appropriate for ages 3+. Everyone can find something they want on here. Chat filter works outstandingly, privacy settings can help set who can join them, etc. Would highly recommend!
jordynr1
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/13/19
So many youtubers make awesome videos, the games are unique and I really enjoy it, it is fun. I personally think that it is a great game
dang471
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/11/19
Roblox is very good, to say the least. It's not just a game, it's a gaming platform. People can put in their time and effort making a game, and earn real-life cash for it. Did you know that the creator of Jailbreak made the game to pay for college fees, and now he's a multimillionaire?
I'm not going to lie, though. Roblox was a lot better in 2013. Baconhairs didn't even exist, and due to a free currency, tickets, there was a huge shortage of noobs. Erik Cassel, the co-founder of Roblox, was alive back then. He died from cancer. Erik Cassel will always hold a special place in a real Robloxian's heart.
First issue: My child got scammed.
Keep in note that Roblox would never ask for account information. They already have it. Roblox confirms the fact that free robux generators never work. It would be extremely rare for Roblox to give away free robux. Robux is not required, and you can still have a great experience without it. However, if you truly want it, either develop a really good game, or purchase robux, just like everyone else.
Second issue: Roblox is just a money grabber.
Roblox is not a money grabber. The staff requires that money to live. It pays their rent, food, and other necessities. Just like in the issue above. If you really don't want to pay for robux, then it's not required. Roblox will not just give away stuff for free. It is their job, and I'm quite sure that no one else would do a job for free, either.
Third issue: There are online daters on Roblox.
Roblox does not allow online dating/sex games, people just break the rules. This is a really unfair argument to hold against Roblox. Something similar would be to say that the state of Colorado is horrible because someone shot up a high school in Columbine once. Colorado does not advocate school shootings, so no one can hold that against them. Roblox does not advocate dating/sex in Roblox, therefore no one can hold it against them, either.
Fourth issue: Roblox is a ripoff of Minecraft.
This argument hurts my brain so much. Roblox has basically been the same with a few updates. It was released in 2006, or if you count the days it was a private game, 2004. Minecraft was released in 2010. Next time, please. Do not make blind accusations.
floridam10
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/11/19
Obviously, Roblox is a platform for ages 12+, I suggest this game is an average of 10+. Although there can be some sexuality and hate towards newer players and/or furries and minorities, it's a fairly decent game. It's all community made, (yes, that can include pronography but it usually gets deleted.) You can make your own world via roblox studio, hoping none of the models give you a virus. Let's go over some negatives, shall we?
OHHHH boy where to start?
Roblox can be fun, but it is like a pay to win type game. Unlike other popular games, which aren't pay to win, Roblox seems negative towards smaller children. (I am being completely bias there) and then there's the controversial updates... I'm not going to mention those as I'm pretty sure 80% of people have seen those in your youtube recommendations or subscription notifications. There are also trollers, like Albert/Flamingo, but the chances of you being in a game with a media troller is near 0, and a non-famous troller is pretty much a 1/25,000, based on the amount of times I've personally encountered one.
bradens10
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/7/19
Roblox, as I said in the title, is NOT a game. It is a platform. Roblox is a platform in which people of mostly any age can join various different games, and make friends. If there is any real problems, such as inappropriate content, it is not Roblox's fault. All games on this P-L-A-T-F-O-R-M are N-O-T made by Roblox themselves, but are made by the players. Sure, Roblox has their faults, but most of them consist of events that give you things that are purely cosmetic. I can see people being angry with the Robux thing and how expensive it is, but cut them slack. Robux is used for mostly cosmetic items, with the exception of paid games and game-passes. Roblox is a FREE, F-R-E-E, meaning that it costs NOTHING (had to clear that out for all of the Karens out there) so they have to make money somehow. Yes, they take advertisements and sponsors, but Roblox has millions of players. They cannot run a giant platform like this, with only a few sponsors here and there. About the moderation, yes, there are a few problems. Roblox's moderation team is quite small, but they do have bots assisting them. There are inappropriate games, which are usually taken down very quickly. There are pedophiles and scammers sometime, but all you have to do is don't do anything inappropriate on the game and most importantly DO NOT GIVE ANY PERSONAL INFORMATION, including your real name, phone number, address, and password to ANYONE. I hope this review was helpful, and I hope anyone with a mainly negative opinion on the game will change their minds.
epicr
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/7/19
game so epic if you dont want to see the chat just go to the settings and disabled
Lots existing game and custumes this is a great game
People who give a one is just taking over ignore the they just play a game just have fun in roblox and do what you want to
Its exiting and challenging soo much fun its so epic just have fun and chill and chat is so epic you can make frend yeahh.
wanu
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/7/19
I saw Koneko's video and parents are actually stupid. Like wow. Play the game and understand it. Like stop the complaining. Anyways its a good game.
willt58
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/5/19
Roblox is a great platform where you can play all kinds of genres of games made by the community from Roleplay to FPS or even strategy. Although it has quite strict rules on what you can upload, say and do this is to keep it safe for it's main audience, younger children.
No matter what genre of gaming you're into, Roblox has something that you'll enjoy which is what makes it so special, and it only takes seconds to load into a game and start the fun. Yes, the main target audience is younger children, but pretty much anyone at any age who is into gaming can find some games they enjoy on the platform.

Another part of what makes Roblox so special is the fact that players can create their own games! On top of that, revenue earned from those games can be exchanged for real life currency - I myself own a game and have made £1700 and 700k Robux (the currency used in Roblox) off of my game, which is pretty amazing.
I won't pretend like it's easy to create a successful game on Roblox that earns you money, of course. Just like creating any game, you need to spend days planning and months developing it, not to mention hiring people for graphic design for your thumbnails etc, so it's not for everyone, but it's still something to think about if you're familiar with the LUA scripting language and know your way around the Roblox Studio.

I've seen a lot of people complain about how Roblox is unsafe for children because of online predators or other inappropriate content. As with all multiplayer games, there is always the chance, no-matter how small, that someone could expose a younger child to more adult content. However, with the right privacy settings and a child that knows what they're doing when it comes to talking with others online, you can pretty much eliminate any chance of this happening.

Thanks for getting through my review!
I hope you found it interesting, peace out.
hahan2
1 review
5 helpful votes
11/4/19
roblo,x sucks it took me ki,ds mony and the were kidnopped a weak ago, rob,lox is bad be,cause it is BIG noob and it took m,y mony, roblox got my kods kidnaped and ot re,aly os bad roblox is bad bad good bad b,ad bad gam lol noob also did i mention my kods were kodnipped also did i mentian that it took my mony, it took 1000 dollars from me becuz it os nib PLAY GTA OR MINECRAFT OR FORTNITE OR APEX LEG,ONDS OR ROBLOX but watevor u do dint play, roblix. NOOB also dod i mentioan thot i get kodniped yearsteyadar becazus ouf robliox NOOB
yeetf
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/3/19
This is my favorite game, roblox it's is a playground game made for kid to play and really bad thing happened, ADULT ruined it! I used to play meepcity and hangout, dancing in party and one day, I found some fishy oDer that is spamming in the chat "HARDER HARDER" and I try to find the guy who write that text I found a guy that is having sex, so I tell other to report them they do it for whole 30 minute hope this is helpful for someone. I hate writing long text :(
basicllya
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/3/19
Scam sites are now tagged (aka the free robux) its great funny bugs liek the vehicle fling Builders club is my nostalgia its now gone Dont say anything about saying anything gets banned they dont reports are dead TBH anyways here are my words: Dont trust free robux sites and live the way you want with the chat tab closed thank you
unknownp18
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/26/19
Roblox, a great online gaming service. I've had this amazing game for 3 years (2019). But even the best of games need bug spray, and by that, I mean there are some bugs. For example, I tried to join a game, but it said that, 'Guests are not permitted in this game.' I checked if I was logged out and I wasn't. Please tell me if you have experienced this issue before.
Thank you.
zachariyah
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/26/19
I am being honest but roblox is literally aweso.e my username is thecoolboy8948 no caps no spaces but its AWESOME
juliannas10
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/25/19
This game is the best in the world I love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I think my kids will have so much fun I know you can get ban but that's if you brake a rule Games have rules I mean what do you expect
helpm5
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/23/19
Parents know nothing about roblox when parents see someone curse they think roblox allows it and thinks its a bad game that their kids shouldnt be playing, roblox has decent free hats that you can get they also have pretty good games you can make your own game you also can learn about scripting and grammar in roblox, reporting usually works with a valid and a good reason. Yes there is volence but its not like you ram into people then there are blood everywhere, i have been playing for 2 years and i have seen useless updates, sometime they listen and make really good updates, i recommend roblox for 7+ y/o
wholj
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/22/19
This is a very good platfor but.. in meepcity everyone is saying stuff like A* B* SH* F* S*X stuff like that also youtubers such as flamingo got banned for saying the word "yes". Exploitiers are just wild. In otherwords roblox is a good platform just PLEASE PLEASE fix moderating!
huskeyc
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/21/19
Roblox is a great game! As a Roblox player for two years I know what the community is like. The site itself is perfectly safe it's just the Roblox community you need to be careful about. Kids on this game like to be very annoying and immature. Some of them going as far as cussing in the Roblox chat and doing erotic roleplaying. I would say that if your kid is young you should monitor them. Doing so would fix a lot of problems within the community. If you want to go further you should make sure your kid's account is under 13 (Activates safe chat). You can also disable chat in the settings. Another feature that is very useful but not many people know about is the mute feature! All you have to do is type /mute username in the chat. Doing this hides the person from the chat and you can no longer see what they type. You can also block users if you want, but it does not hide what they say in the chat. So my opinion on Roblox is, that it is safe as long as you watch your kid and take precautionary measures.
Service
Value
Returns
Quality
ianp108
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/20/19
if you wanted to say anything on roblox... well guess what, you get banned. It's also a complete money steal, and roblox makes you wanna get robux ALL the time. Everything costs robux, and if they don't they are the worst made things in the world, and look plain ugly. You get made fun of so much that kids have been through actual depression. Oh yeah, did I mention that im a 12 year old that met a child predator. He added me on discord thinking he was gonna be a normal person but ended up sending me porn. Would never recommend to anyone. Babies, Kids, Teens, Adults, Seniors (especially) and to just stay away from this game
leiraa
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/19/19
Don't let your child roblox they get your money away even a little information you provide .it is made my evil person ,scammer!!
damianc44
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/18/19
Well, you should play it because it is fun and you can have a lot of friends there and if someone bullys you block them then leave the game!
haidin
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/18/19
Ya, so basically people say that Roblox is bad because of the hackers, bullies, exploiters or those kind of people. And they blame ROBLOX on that, not the people. That's just extremely unfair! They also say that if you're under 13 you can't chat, trade or other things and apparently, that's ageist for some people. To be honest, that's just trying to keep your mind innocent and prevent you from being groomed or anything else bad.. People also say that when buying Robux, their number gets saved and there are additional charges which don't exactly make sense. I know a lot of people who buy Roblox and there are no additional charges. My guess is their kid just remembered the number and used your money. There's also these people who say that when you report someone the moderators don't do anything cause they're lazy. But think about it, there are more than one million people playing this game, and that would mean quite a handful of people would've been reported, AND the moderator team is quite small. It shouldn't surprise you it might take a while for the Roblox team to get your message!
Removing Tix: I perasnally wasn't in the Roblox community back then, but I know Tix was kinda like a cents to dollars. Ten Tix were worth one robux. When Roblox removed Tix, people said they were greedy and wanted money. That COULD be true except there is a bare chance. As some of you know, whenever someone joined your game, you would get a certain amount of Tix. These days, there were botted games that would've allowed you to accumulate a bunch of 'players,' which are mostly just bots. Then, you'd get Tix for basically just that, and that's unfair. Roblox probably just knew that this was going to happen along with many other possibilities, so that's why they probably removed Tix. Also, they were very open about it, too. They wrote an entire post about it, and said in 30 days Tix would be removed. They even made an event. They were very patient about this and they didn't just say: "Oh yah, so you now have a day to convert your Tix to Robux or your Tix will go bye bye!" 0
Mind you that, these are just a few.
Also, I don't mean to stir any hate but I hope while reading this you will see a better version of Roblox, not just what some people see it as. My overall review for this is that the community has been ruined by bots, 'toxic people,' and those who can't seem to be able to grasp the truth.
squeakys
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/16/19
Hear me out, Roblox is a FANTASTIC game, i've played it for 4 years now, the insane parents that say: oMg r0bLoX iS s0 bAd beCaUsE tHiS hApPeNd tO mY ChIld!!!1, ITS NOT ROBLOX'S FAULT, its your stupid kids fault for actuallly falling for it, yea sure alot of 5+ year old children play this, but its your fault for letting them play unsupervised, i do suggest playing Roblox, its really fun.
malaysiaf1
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/13/19
Roblox is a good game for kids. It's also educational. Some parents do not like roblox, but they never really played it. I have played many fun games on roblox. Also roblox got more moderators then any before. So you don't have to worry. Roblox is also a free app unlike minecraft having to pay 7 dollars. Save your money and let your kids play roblox.
4 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 4
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I suggest this game for 12 and up. Or until your child is responsible enough to handle swear words.

By Daniel K.
Helpful answer 6
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

no one really knows but it's pretty clear roblox isn't a children game anymore

By zinger y.
Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Sophia P, helpful answer. But there is more to it, roblox has things that cost robux so they can make money. Without robux they wouldn't make money; not have devs to pay as they dont make money, then the game would go way downhill.

By Esta E.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

They aren't... its a $#*!ing business ok? All businesses need money so they don't fall off.

By haha n.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, sometimes but considering how many reports come in and the fact that the roblox moderation team is very small means that they cant go through every report.

By haha n.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No there aren't. It must be that the ROBLOX filter saw it as against Terms and service on the website or it could be a admin troller.

By Wan U.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

This could be a thing, but players dont know yet. Currently, only a group of people selected by ROBLOX can upload Hats and some accessorys.

By Danny D.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes there is, When you have an Xbox One (and you need one, and xbox live gold) download roblox, go to catalog (create an account first) choose a pakahe, go ta avatar, then apply it

By Esher D.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

It may be blocked in your country due to country laws or blocked in a school for obvious reasons.

By Sophia P.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Obviously you haven't used a computer very much, have you? If your child is able to get your credit card information, they're able to purchase things. As for your computer freezing on the email site you use, that's YOUR EMAIL PROVIDER'S FAULT, not ROBLOX's.

By Dante V.
Questions? Get answers from the Roblox staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

7 Photos for Roblox

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Roblox?
Post Review