Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Redfin

Redfin reviews

Is this your business?
9 reviews
15219
Tel: 877-973-3346
customer-service@redfin.com

9 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

robertc1272
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/3/19

Redfin
has some very good agents and some very poor agents. Read reviews
before you choose an agent.

My beef with Redfin is their online computer generated value for my home
I have for sale is over 10% lower than comparable sales around my home.
I have called in to customer support and they say "nothing we can do
because the computer algorithm determines home prices" When I tried to
do an 'Owner's Evaluation' of value the comparable sales prices are all
adjusted downward by about 10%. I called in about that and was told the
sale prices are adjusted for different locations and square footages. I
then told them my home had the EXACT same square footage, more upgrades,
and in a BETTER location - their response "Huh, interesting". Nothing
has been done to rectify the situation or research the problem. A person
came to my open house and said my home price is too high and when I
asked why they said that their reply was 'I looked up your home on
Redfin and it says your almost $80,000 too high!"

The whole point of this is 1) there is no way to contact upper
management or corporate, 2) the front line people have no knowledge or
control over how the computer evaluates home values, 3) if you DO list
your home with Redfin, I have read that they block your house from
showing on Zillow, Trulia, etc., 4) they say they care but the person I
talked to in customer support got very snippy and when I reminded her
that all calls are recorded she hung up on me!

This really has been a sore subject for me as I do like the Redfin
agents I have met and have several rental properties I will be selling
in addition to the one I currently am now selling myself. Because of
the technical issues with their website, I will not be taking my
business to Redfin. In addition, everyone that comes in contact with us
has something negative to say about Redfin. Oddly enough it is with the
management rather than particular agents. Go Figure.

Anyway, they have a great sales idea but they lack follow through with
real customer service. I do NOT recommend Redfin.

bobj173
4 reviews
4 helpful votes
4/19/18

I had terrible neighbors that would beat on the walls and ceiling for 5 month. They put holes in there apartment. I asked to get out of my lease and was told they would work on it. Greystar manages the property and after 5 months I just moved out. Greystar then said I broke the lease and refused to negotiate the lease termination fee. They just want to threaten to put it on my credit,

jamesh553
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
3/12/18

If you want tons of details updated frequently on homes for sale it's a great site. You may find it frustrating to wade through so much data. Do you really need to know the name of the township, that parcel identification number or that the condo's lot dimensions are common before you see a property?

Don't get lured into using their agents. A scheduler will schedule your showing. A driver will accompany you on the showing. Another agent will handle the contract, etc. You're put on an assembly line. Good luck if there's an issue after you've signed a contract.

isajob
11 reviews
5 helpful votes
6/19/16

Redfin showed new listing between 12 and 24 hours before Zillow. It was crucial for us as we were racing against other buyers in a very tight market last year. Both sites are complimentary, Zillow tends to have more complete data, Redfin is faster, but with missing info at times.

bobbis5
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
11/28/15

Our realtor in purchasing our home was Royce Stringer of The Zona Team in Prescott, AZ. We put this poor man through more than any realtor should have to endure. He smiled, laughed, and remained perfectly professional through it all. Three contracts on three houses within a month. Had to cancel the first two due to undisclosed situations with each property. The third one was our "meant to be" house though, and we have been in it for almost a month now. Royce is as accommodating as a realtor can be. Great communication, prompt action on addressing issues, and a skillful negotiator. Highly, highly recommend.

janep29
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
8/7/15

They use your information for their own advertising and do nothing about it when you ask them not too! Information can be invalid but still used for their own gains. Place blame on others and not accountable. STAY AWAY!

stephanien3
86 reviews
164 helpful votes
4/21/14

I haven't used this site to purchase a place, but I am very impressed with how quickly the information is updated when the house is sold. It's the first place to list the selling price and date.

lynnl20
5 reviews
5 helpful votes
4/9/14

I have been using redfin.com for the last few months to research houses to purchase. This site has the most up-to-date information; it will tell you DAYS faster when a house comes on the market, and if/when one goes under contract so you don't waste time imagining life in a house that's already been sold. Like other real estate sites, it also has information about the demographics of the neighborhood, crime rates, schools, etc... I've tried the app on my Windows phone, but for me it is easier to maneuver back and forth on the full website. I would highly recommend this site to anyone on the market for a new home.

colleend4
5 reviews
7 helpful votes
3/3/14

I found out about this site through good friends who recently bought their home in the Bay Area and found their new home using Redfin. I'm not sure it's the premiere source for serious buyers, but it's a fun source for looking at homes.

Typically, I use the app rather than the website. It's useful for getting an overview of what's available. If you're traveling and want to see what the local real estate averages are, you can easily and quickly get a sense of that particular local market.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Redfin has some very good agents and some very poor agents. Read reviews before you choose an agent. I interviewed a Redfin agent to possibly sell my home in Davis, Jed Setzer from the Sacramento office came by. He is a very nice guy and I would have been happy to have him sell my home but for a disagreement with Redfin's estimated value of my home. He gave me comparable sales info and a number as what he thought my house should be listed for. I told him that his number was way higher than what Redfin showed my house was worth AND that all the comparable sales he showed me were also higher than Redfin's estimated price. He said he would look in to that and bring it to his manager's attention but I never heard back from him about the anomaly. My beef with Redfin is their online computer generated value for my home I have for sale is over 15% lower than comparable sales around my home. (Estimated price difference for my home between Zillow and Redfin is over $100,000! Similar home within 500 feet of my home recently sold for Zillow estimated price.) I have called in to Redfin customer support and they say "nothing we can do because the computer algorithm determines home prices" When I tried to do an 'Owner's Evaluation' of value the comparable sales prices are all adjusted downward by over 10%. I called in about that and was told the sale prices are adjusted for different locations and square footages. I then told them my home had the EXACT same square footage, more upgrades, and in a BETTER location - their response "Huh, interesting". Nothing has been done to rectify the situation or research the problem. A person came to my open house and said my home price is too high and when I asked why they said that their reply was 'I looked up your home on Redfin and it says your over $80,000 too high!" The whole point of this is 1) there is no way to contact upper management or corporate, 2) the front line people have no knowledge or control over how the computer evaluates home values, 3) if you DO list your home with Redfin, I have read that they block your house from showing on Zillow, Trulia, etc., 4) they say they care but the person I talked to in customer support got very snippy and when I reminded her that all calls are recorded she hung up on me! This really has been a sore subject for me as I do like the Redfin agents I have met and have several rental properties I will be selling in addition to the one I currently am now selling myself. Because of the technical issues with their website, I will not be taking my business to Redfin. In addition, everyone that comes in contact with us has something negative to say about Redfin. Oddly enough it is with the management rather than particular agents. Go Figure. Anyway, they have a great sales idea but they lack follow through with real customer service. I do NOT recommend Redfin.

By Robert C.
Questions? Get answers from the Redfin staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Redfin?
Post Review