Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Quora

Quora reviews

Is this your business?
279 reviews
94041
Tel: +1 916-445-1254
privacy@quora.com

279 Reviews From Our Community

Service
13
Value
14
Shipping
4
Returns
4
Quality
11

All Reviews

tl115
1 review
5 helpful votes
7/2/18

I believe Quora censored me because I asked a polite but controversial question of American Football. I asked why was real Football's name was usurped by American football which in reality is handball. Real Football or a form there off dates back to 5000-600 BC. So technically God could have played a variation of the sport. Fake football aka American football was invented in the 1920's. I guess Quora did not like my question. I had been posting with the same name for at least a few months. Then immediately after I ask the question they sensor me due to "unverified name" What B.S. In my Opinion for legal purposes. I deleted the App from my Phone.

muhammadq2
1 review
4 helpful votes
6/28/18

If you want to see some very biased $#*!, it's this site. Too much indians for my liking, they throw garbage questions on an astonishing pace.

dominiqueg26
2 reviews
11 helpful votes
6/26/18

went on for professional legal advice- all I got was a bunch of cry baby patronizing male chauvinists who did not comprehend the difference between "I am .. and I have not for 18 years"- hypocritical ass wipes who like to control women because (gasp!) they may have made some mistakes in the Past- well this is now, not then- Bunch of weak men!

nityas4
24 reviews
19 helpful votes
6/22/18

I had a worst experience with quora
What a pathetic system they had.
No freedom to write. So much restrictions.
They merge your answers as well questions with others answers and questions.
Collapse your questions, if they don't like it.
You get so many random requests to answer some useless questions.
I mean useless that makes no sense.
People are so rude here, like they force you check their answers, upvote them or even follow them.
Actually quora want you to do what ever they want but you can't do what ever you want to do.
quora is a cage or a prison.
Omg, I wasted so many days here.
Honestly replying to questions asked or requested to me. Until and unless you get stressed out and check notifications, answer requests or your email inbox full of nonscence questions all the time. You had to answer all, if you don't want to they will show their real face.
I hate quora.com

johne401
1 review
11 helpful votes
6/20/18

Can't always answer questions anonymously even though I wanted to. People there think they know everything when they don't. All give bias answers and show hatred on different matters. They always think their own opinions are always right and true. Those people think the world revolves around them when it doesn't and consider themselves perfect when their not. Wish this website didn't exist honestly.

kennethl115
1 review
14 helpful votes
6/18/18

First off. Some questions here and there have great responses. But way to many debates are with no real reason flagged or dropped. Some things cannot be discussed at all, like Islam or Women equality etc. Political correctness seems to undermine everything. If you are polite but have a opinion that goes against left sided mindsett, you get flagged or banned.
So to those that think that you get great answers on this site. You may not get the actual truth. Think about that!

mattd164
1 review
13 helpful votes
6/16/18

Far left propaganda masquerading as impartiality. If you don't like being told exactly how you should be thinking by biased ideologues pushing their political dogma, avoid it.

anonymousu40
1 review
10 helpful votes
6/14/18

The website is a big scam. It is not at all for knowledge sharing. They create fake popular Quorans by cteating robot accounts just ment to follow and upvote. They sell you a dream of fame. Trolls are actually backed up by moderators to do their unofficial job. The moment you crack and abuse a troll, the mods will through their useless policy at your face and ban you. Its a big scam just to sell ads and earn profits. Please stay away from it at all costs.

jamesd699
1 review
10 helpful votes
6/14/18

Yeah it's just a little bit frustrating to find that most everything that we try to discuss openly it can't be done due to the fact that 2 left wing ideology. The fact that they're wrong 90% of the time you would think that they would want to get an opinion from the other side but they prefer just to listen to an echo chamber. It's very annoying when you get referred to quora when you ask Google a question. In no way should they ever be referenced to or referred to as fact.

lorig127
1 review
10 helpful votes
6/11/18

I initially joined Quora because I was told it was a more professional site where members could engage in actual discourse and critique. However, that is as far from the truth as one can get. The censorship goes beyond what is reasonable. Any disgruntled member or troll can flag your answer for simply not liking it. You can forget using critical thinking skills on this site because any perceived slight will result in the writer being censured for not adhering to the "be nice" policy. But, troll questions are allowed to permeate the site. And, you may run the risk of having a member stalk your social media and contact your employer to complain, as I had happen to me. All because they disagreed with me. Thankfully, my employer knew this individual was a liar and an idiot.

I have had to appeal in the past, but this latest experience has sent me over the edge. With over 500 upvotes and counting, they decide to collapse my answer because I did not adhere to the over generalized "be nice and respectful policy." Really? I did not use foul language, but I did speak my mind on a racist question that was posted by none other than "anonymous." How does anyone justify being nice and respectful to a racist question? I have had many responses with high upvotes and views. I try to be as cordial as possible, but this is ridiculous. They asked me to edit my text, which I will not do. But, I have no clue as what they even find offensive! As far as I'm concerned this is nothing but a glorified version of Facebook. There is nothing professional about this site and the trolls are allowed to run amok and post the most horrible questions.

williaml374
1 review
18 helpful votes
5/28/18

Unless you are so left winged that you move in circles, Quora is nothing more than a propaganda and hate donald trump site. Don't waste your time unless you are considering a career in Snowflakeology.

chesterv4
1 review
9 helpful votes
5/26/18

I don't know how they got my info, must have been some site I visited, but all of a sudden I'm getting emails and spam from Quora. I decided to see what the hell this was, so I got on Quora and saw you can ask questions on there. So I did.

Now I'm getting emails from the admin of Quora telling me that I've been BANNED because of my "name" on my account???!!!!!

I DIDN'T EVEN SIGN UP FOR THEIR GODDAMNED ACCOUNT!!!! I WAS HIJACKED!!!

THEY took MY information without my permission and created an "account" for me!
THEY took it upon themselves to STEAL my information and hook me up to THEIR website!!!!

***I*** NEVER signed up for their stupid site!!!!

And now they are banning me????

F**K YOU QUORA!!!!

SCAMMERS! FRAUDS!!!!

denisep134
2 reviews
16 helpful votes
5/21/18

If I could give half a star to Quora, I would.
After 15 months on Q, I earned 12 Top Topic badges ( even its founder only holds 2), 1,600 answers, 1.1k followers, having my answers in over 650 digests and 2.1 million views. But being popular on Quora makes you a target for its ridiculous, over policed policies. And because the site is grossly understaffed, Quora actually doesnt question trolls who may turn you in for imagined slights. My account password WAS HACKED BY A STALKER ON QUORA; I SENT IN 50 requests to get the back door closed on my account. QUORA MODS FINALLY RESPONDED BUT AFTER GIVING ME THREE PASSWORDS THAT FAILED, they thought I got in but I didnt. SOMEONE DID BUT NOT ME. They never fixed it. The virus spread into my email account. Further, if you become vocal on Quora, they surpress your views and upvotes. It is as if you are writing in a void. QUORA IS QUITE HACKABLE, Google how the CEO of Google had his account hacked on Quora. Adam dAngelo founded Quora hoping to start the library of Alexandria, it is more akin to Larry Flints bookstore. YOU NEED STAFF TO POLICE A SITE OVERWROUGHT WITH SOCK PUPPET ACCOUNTS AND TROLLS.
GO GENTLY INTO THAT GOOD NIGHT KNOWN AS QUORA, its days of high intellect are long gone.
I actually had to pay a hacker to get me a password so I could delete my account. That is scary....

stephenu10
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/17/18

This site blocked me for asking someone. Am I a faggot? What do they not want me to be mean to myself?

julieg213
1 review
16 helpful votes
5/6/18

I hate Quora and I can't tell you how much in words how awful it is. But they are completely biased if you don't agree with them and if you have a different view then you will get laughed at and they attack you. They force you to change because they don't accept you and they don't like what you say. There is something wrong with the people running the site and the people who comment on my posts are ridiculous. Half of them don't even read what you wrote and just tell you a bunch of nonsense that is irrelevant to what you are talking about because they believe what someone else said to you, even though they don't know the situation. One last thing I forgot to mention is that the people think they know everything and they tell you your WRONG all the time. There is no freedom of speech and no sense of respect for someone else's point of views. This site should be shut down!

robertf341
1 review
9 helpful votes
5/3/18

I love the concept of Quora, but am confused exactly why the posts I write never have hardly any views. For instance, I couldn't help expressing my opinion for the question, "Do you share your wife?". There were not that many answers. Several weeks after I had written it, I went back to see just how many people had read it. The 'yes' answers had thousands of views, buy my short answer that started with 'hell no!' had ONE view. How is that possible? Did none of the thousands of people that scrolled down that short list of answers somehow always stop scrolling immediately before my answer appeared? My assumption is that Quora's algorithm or moderators must have something to do with the reason the vast majority of visible answers are usually from a left-wing viewpoint and commonly mis-characterizing the people who might disagree with them. It would make you think that there are no people with traditional viewpoints who can read or write. I can't help but suspect that not all answers have the same chance to be viewed by the Quora community

johnc1069
1 review
5 helpful votes
5/3/18

Today I discovered an alarming subject I wasn't aware of which is the Grand Solar Minimum. After watching a 1:33 presentation by a very plausible expert scientist from Sweden I believe, I was rather shocked to find the evidence clearly shows the fact we are at the end of an inter-glacial period and the inescapable onset of another ice age for the planet within 20 years. So I set out to find verification of this if possible on a platform controlled by Goo gle. My first pick to research the topic was Quora. This answers I saw were all fluff and assured it will be a "little colder" BUT STILL not enough to offset "global warming". Hmmm. So I posed questions on other controversial subjects for which abundant evidence exists to refute the official narrative such as the neuro-toxicity of fluoride, geoengineering, GMO crops, nanotech , microwave/RF radiation effects on the mind and body etc for which I have invested 100s of hours of learning and discerning the good info from the bad. The site is clearly 1 sided and as stated by others here it is pretentious and as objective as CNN or Fox. My urge to object and set the record straight so to speak led me to the Registration page where I actually read the TOS. After reversing the site's intrusion into my Goo gl account info I stepped back and looked outside for some objective info asking is Quora to be trusted and found my answer here. Thank you. PS: I do agree there is some very interesting info there but based on the topics I'm researching Truth is scarce..... so where to look Now..?

shahmadb
1 review
9 helpful votes
4/24/18

Most of Quora admins and moderators are zionists or biased towards zionists and israel.

Any question asked regarding Apartheid israel or its atrocities or genocides, or Palestinians decades of plights, most of answers that are kept on the top are deceptive pro-zionist and most answers which present opposing views to zionists, even with ample arguments, backup references, articles, videos or evidences, quora-moderators simply hide them or lock them, frequently even ban them from Quora; hence, 9-10 out of 10-12 remaining top answers are fully bias towards zionist israel; the rest answers are hidden or locked. But this situation needs to be informed everywhere...
Although Quora has good answers for those questions which have zero relevance to zionists, zionism, Palestine, or israel for that matter.

Tip for consumers: About Quora, beware, be aware, and make others aware.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
ryex
1 review
7 helpful votes
4/23/18

Quora used to be a clean, ad-free place to ask interesting questions and get in depth answers. The website was polished and efficient, without unnecessary clutter of ads, graphics and other website 'noise'.

It's become a clunky, repetitive echo chamber with overly zealous moderation and selective enforcement of their so-called "Be Nice" policy. The website was recently sold and has become bloated with dozens of ads per page, obnoxious graphics and now loads incredibly slowly even on 5 mbps internet connections.

The questions are no longer interesting, with a good 80% being repetitive versions of why one political side does X or what Z and Q sides think of each other. Trolling questions have also proliferated as the moderation is busier playing favorites than keeping up on overall moderation.

panzers1
1 review
17 helpful votes
4/20/18

Don't get me wrong the site actually has a lot to offer to you if you are here ONLY to read and do so very selectively, since there are many people from all over the place so you can learn about a lot of things if you know what to look for. But then since a lot of the answers were answered by regular people (not experts/professionals) it might be good to keep in mind that what you read might not be always objective nor accurate. However, if you're here to write your own answers, and plan to do so routinely all I can say is that you are up to a lot of rage and disappointment. First of all there are a lot of snobs on the site who think they know everything there is to know and just don't know when to shut up. Then the worst thing is that since the site works like social media the consensus made by the crowd might come off so ridiculous you'll wonder what's the average IQ of the users there when totally dumb answers get more votes than the more informative ones. Also, the amount of circlejerking between users could shock you. If you are serious there and want to get readers you really have to make friends with the peeps and maybe lick some of the popular users' asses to get attention or audience otherwise forget about it. The site seem to value social interaction so much more than quality of the content (since more users means more content and traffic). You'd be better off making your own blog to write if you want to avoid unnecessary rage from seeing your well-written answer got less valued than some jackass with sub-par fiction writing skills that somehow managed to charm readers with some phony autobiography you'd had to have half a brain to believe it. The moderators also did jack $#*! to moderate the site which tells me that they have other priorities.

Tip for consumers: You might want to avoid the site. Even if you are here just to read, you really have to filter the good answers from the bad ones way too often since there are way too many answers for a question it might actually confuse you. If you want to write, bring friends with you for some support.

Service
Value
Quality
joes777
1 review
5 helpful votes
4/13/18

Quora will shut your account down without any explanation and you won't even be able to contact support! Your mail and user ID will be blacklisted and they won't even bother replying if you contact through another account.

timg114
1 review
11 helpful votes
4/13/18

Only two days of answering political questions of which most answers were referencing the U.S. Constitution - blocked by moderators.

I noticed the environment was highly liberal - should've known it was due to blocking all conservative questions and answers.

anonymousr17
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/11/18

Edit 5: Alot of people at Quora really tried to help out in the process eventually. So, since it's free, and I really needed that support, I guess I can update this to two more stars.
If they can solve the trolling problem on the site, and I understand the point of the site is to connect users, but it would be helpful if they could find ways that people aren't forced to interact with other users, or see their content, it would really help the site.
Edit 4: All of this, I am not assuming, they bragged about it in answers.
Edit 4: Franklin Veaux accuses women on the internet, after going to their personal accounts where they have blocked him on everything possible, cause he feels entitled to blame them for him being a complete pervert and creep stalking them on marijuana, but can't understand it is more a mystery that how HE gets any dates, at all.
Edit : I have blocked Dushka Zapata on all my accounts too.Sane women focus on their partners, they don't stalk people from across the world for 1 year. She should get in therapy for menopause and talk to her boyfriend about her guilt on cheating on her boyfriend with Franklin, and maybe she did more, I don't know. Her standards for cheating for herself is having an orgy, but for strangers she doesn't know is liking articles (irrespective of whether they are in a relationship or not). But I guess this is her relationship after couple of marriages, she feels insecure.
By now, I have zero expectations from you all. Please leave me alone. I don't care, I will not get back my time back I lost in this. Let's just move on, there are more people like you in the world. Get new hobbies.

Edit 3: I also think Franklin Veaux was a pimp or a former anal pegged worker at sex parties in that industry (he knows quite a lot of workers since 2015), and a guy who operated silk trade drug dealer in deep web (wrote a lot of answers on how to get drugs from deep web when it was illegal in his country) and a former child porn collector or child sex offender, cause he was supporting pedophiles against being registered in sex offender registeries.He is also almost homeless and earns less than a fastfood person, so clearly he might have done some illegal things to earn money. He has no degree or skills. I think he is drugs and has some addiction, finance handling problems. He thinks he looks in his mid 30s at 50s. All of this is illegal in both USA and Canada.I also think his wife loves her lover more than him, they don't have a single picture together , but she has a lot of her and her lover since 2013.

He spends his time as an internet creep nowadays stalking and harassing minority female users on Quora who have threatened restraining orders against him. He is married. He also is a pathological liar, stalker, No one I know would ever ask him out. Ever. Is he mentally ill?

I guess he is already polyamorous,but I think he only talks about the all sex positive stuff cause one, he is supported financially by the network he has, two it helps him get laid with easily manipulated women, who are somehow okay with him, I really don't know how, don't they have issues shaking hands with him, and three cause he has build a brand and his work on the lifestyle. I don't think he believes a word he is saying.

I also think since he is not earning much, he is being paid or given some help by a user Dushka Zapata to defame users on the site for the last 9 months so that she could carry out cheating on her current boyfriend by having affairs on the site. He also has issues with being called a beta male. Don't call him that, he gets offended.

Edit: So a popular Quoran Dushka Zapata and Franklin Veaux had an affair on Franklin Veaux's wedding night (or bachelor party), I don't think their spouses knew. Franklin said for a long while Dushka was his crush, and Dushka Zapata attended their wedding, on her own. I think Dushka's first wedding was for "love".
Here Franklin Veaux wrote about it, apparently, they were pegging and having oral sex. Here he hinted at it.
http://qr.ae/TUTY5A
He posted this afterward. Dushka also participates in Burning Man.
This is his crush (at that time it was Dushka and she was at his wedding)
http://qr.ae/TUTY5H

Edit 2:

Dushka wrote these after that event. I am sure it's true.
http://qr.ae/TUTH7K
http://qr.ae/TUTH7C
http://qr.ae/TUTH7o
http://qr.ae/TUTH7P

Franklin seemed highly relieved after that.
http://qr.ae/TUTH7Z

They are both twice or thrice divorced, so maybe both are polyamorous, however, I don't think their spouses knew. I also think Dushka wanted to hit on users, maybe one Irish guy, and so was targetting users based on details from her life.

They both have 100s of failed relationships. They left their partners for being eye roving philanderers or for cheating.They were falsely targetting other users for a year so that they could find romantic affairs on the Quora site. So, bit surprised to see this surface.

Good things, the feed and ability to connect to great experts. Quora is great for having a high number of sources and information about things. They may be biased, but they exist and you can work the algorithm to what you would like to read. The experts are amazing, but they are being harassed out of the site.

I hate their moderation cause lot of good writers are being banned, sometimes on hate crimes, and they do nothing about it. The questions are extremely banal and trollish.

But it is just a website. Quora competes with feedly and medium. Compared to those two it is slightly better off, but there is a lot of bad content you'd have to go through.

But then user generated content is not exactly Quora's problem.

I edited my rating from 2 to 3, since the website is free. They don't really owe you anything.

Quora's network of users is also pretty good. So that is a plus.

I think they are now kind of doing surveillance on the site.And take more than necessary information for verification, so that is also a problem. It could be just an efficient system for knowledge discovery.

But, it is currently kind of a popularity contest currently between bullies and teens. The quora moderation behaves exactly like it's algorithm. Soon you start getting harassed, stalked, users troll you and mass report you on polite and helpful answers.There is also a kind of an echo chamber over there. There are some popular users who are completely insane and get away with it, because their harassment is within the lines of bnbr, and then flag you. If you are a female, expect harassment and yes, internet stalking. Worse, if you take it to quora mods, they will report you instead. The users there are highly pretentious, and think that Quora is actually legitimate place with laws, while harassing you. Most popular quorans aren't that successful outside that website to be honest.

You get stalked by users and trolls from the website. You don't know them, but the next thing you know they start to harass you offline and damage your reputation cause you rejected them, in some way. Especially if you write on controversial subjects.

But, I have to say it is still a great place to read about world experts. If you are a fan of science and technology, quora still is a good place.

Tip for consumers: As a woman, be careful. You get stalked, sometimes wrongly defamed if you get popular, and the website does nothing, it is worth the bnbr.

The popular writers are bit crazy and think the internet fame makes them better than you. But the scientific and entrepreneurship experts are great.

Mute dating, sex, politics, religion topics for your sanity. Quite alot of trolls post stuff on it.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
jayp138
1 review
7 helpful votes
4/10/18

In early internet days (and to some degree still) we were plagued with sites that captured your search process in secret or even worse. Quota is like a throwback to those days and learned my lesson with slower performance and your data shared everywhere and to spammers, etc. Quality of so-called answers varies but that is all ways going to be subjective. Also hate all sites that try to trick you in search results

maheshs12
28 reviews
138 helpful votes
4/7/18

I know there are many, many flaws but considering the fact that how much I am benefitted from this website, I can't help myself from rating this website 5/5.

Best things about Quora:

1. Coverage on vast topics.
2. Quite an availability of active experts. Most of the users are the experts on their own way.
3. Great website for marketing and reaching out the targeted audience for free.
4. Ads are less annoying than that of Facebook.
5. Strict policies to protect user's reputation.
6. Contents are original.

Some of the things that the website let's down are:

1. The website goes down frequently, like for 30% of the time in a day!
2, Forced login for viewing and reading the answers other than the answer landed from the search engine or direct link!
3. The app is not as much as optimized and friendly as it could be and should be!
4. Too much of the experimental features tested to all of the users at once. There's no dedicated group of users to beta test the experimental features!
5. Strict policies and sometimes dumb moderators!

Service
Value
Quality
42 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, the questions about penis size and virginity seems to sponsor endless discussion!

By Michael G.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Because Quora is run by an amateur who may aspire to be Zuckeberg, yet is nowhere near as savvy.

By Sarah H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I honestly feel and highly suspect from certain traits that Quora pays Google to be high on the rank and they get *buddy buddy* with the government. Quora is essentially too big to fail. We no longer have capitalism but now live under governmentism which Trump pledges to end but can he? Does he really mean what he says? That is the million $ question.

By Kyle H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Agreed. Strange but true. The only place that requires full name when you already have an account where the username to use. Why? Just more of the old information collecting processes. Blatant disregard.

By Leo A.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No financial gain for Quora users as referenced to the Partners Program. Quora will drop you quickly if you challenge them on any moderation they made to your questions or answers. Too many rules too few incentives to write.

By Sam F.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No, it is obviously leftist but it does on occasion allow questions or replies for short periods of time that are obviously uncomfortable to the "politicaly correct" crowd in a useless attempt to appear unbiased.

By David N.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Resilience is when you can read Quora answers for about half an hour without puking. Joke's on you mate.

By Isaac K.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Because Google put Quora answers at the top of their search results when people search for a question they see the answer from Quora. Which is stupid because most answers on Quora aren't even correct lol. Idk why Google wants to promote that site, if they own it or they want to buy it and incorporate it into Google at some point. I think the site is awful and it should be shut down because it's just a propaganda site. You do not see Quora from any other search engine for example duckduckgo. But you see it in Google.

By Aare t.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

as well as to discuss their sexual proclivities in anonymity.

By Michael G.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Quora staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

8 Photos for Quora

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Quora?
Post Review