Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Quora

Quora reviews

Is this your business?
262 reviews
94041
Tel: +1 916-445-1254
privacy@quora.com

262 Reviews From Our Community

Service
12
Value
13
Shipping
4
Returns
4
Quality
10

All Reviews

johnc1069
1 review
5 helpful votes
5/3/18

Today I discovered an alarming subject I wasn't aware of which is the Grand Solar Minimum. After watching a 1:33 presentation by a very plausible expert scientist from Sweden I believe, I was rather shocked to find the evidence clearly shows the fact we are at the end of an inter-glacial period and the inescapable onset of another ice age for the planet within 20 years. So I set out to find verification of this if possible on a platform controlled by Goo gle. My first pick to research the topic was Quora. This answers I saw were all fluff and assured it will be a "little colder" BUT STILL not enough to offset "global warming". Hmmm. So I posed questions on other controversial subjects for which abundant evidence exists to refute the official narrative such as the neuro-toxicity of fluoride, geoengineering, GMO crops, nanotech , microwave/RF radiation effects on the mind and body etc for which I have invested 100s of hours of learning and discerning the good info from the bad. The site is clearly 1 sided and as stated by others here it is pretentious and as objective as CNN or Fox. My urge to object and set the record straight so to speak led me to the Registration page where I actually read the TOS. After reversing the site's intrusion into my Goo gl account info I stepped back and looked outside for some objective info asking is Quora to be trusted and found my answer here. Thank you. PS: I do agree there is some very interesting info there but based on the topics I'm researching Truth is scarce..... so where to look Now..?

shahmadb
1 review
9 helpful votes
4/24/18

Most of Quora admins and moderators are zionists or biased towards zionists and israel.

Any question asked regarding Apartheid israel or its atrocities or genocides, or Palestinians decades of plights, most of answers that are kept on the top are deceptive pro-zionist and most answers which present opposing views to zionists, even with ample arguments, backup references, articles, videos or evidences, quora-moderators simply hide them or lock them, frequently even ban them from Quora; hence, 9-10 out of 10-12 remaining top answers are fully bias towards zionist israel; the rest answers are hidden or locked. But this situation needs to be informed everywhere...
Although Quora has good answers for those questions which have zero relevance to zionists, zionism, Palestine, or israel for that matter.

Tip for consumers: About Quora, beware, be aware, and make others aware.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
ryex
1 review
7 helpful votes
4/23/18

Quora used to be a clean, ad-free place to ask interesting questions and get in depth answers. The website was polished and efficient, without unnecessary clutter of ads, graphics and other website 'noise'.

It's become a clunky, repetitive echo chamber with overly zealous moderation and selective enforcement of their so-called "Be Nice" policy. The website was recently sold and has become bloated with dozens of ads per page, obnoxious graphics and now loads incredibly slowly even on 5 mbps internet connections.

The questions are no longer interesting, with a good 80% being repetitive versions of why one political side does X or what Z and Q sides think of each other. Trolling questions have also proliferated as the moderation is busier playing favorites than keeping up on overall moderation.

panzers1
1 review
17 helpful votes
4/20/18

Don't get me wrong the site actually has a lot to offer to you if you are here ONLY to read and do so very selectively, since there are many people from all over the place so you can learn about a lot of things if you know what to look for. But then since a lot of the answers were answered by regular people (not experts/professionals) it might be good to keep in mind that what you read might not be always objective nor accurate. However, if you're here to write your own answers, and plan to do so routinely all I can say is that you are up to a lot of rage and disappointment. First of all there are a lot of snobs on the site who think they know everything there is to know and just don't know when to shut up. Then the worst thing is that since the site works like social media the consensus made by the crowd might come off so ridiculous you'll wonder what's the average IQ of the users there when totally dumb answers get more votes than the more informative ones. Also, the amount of circlejerking between users could shock you. If you are serious there and want to get readers you really have to make friends with the peeps and maybe lick some of the popular users' asses to get attention or audience otherwise forget about it. The site seem to value social interaction so much more than quality of the content (since more users means more content and traffic). You'd be better off making your own blog to write if you want to avoid unnecessary rage from seeing your well-written answer got less valued than some jackass with sub-par fiction writing skills that somehow managed to charm readers with some phony autobiography you'd had to have half a brain to believe it. The moderators also did jack $#*! to moderate the site which tells me that they have other priorities.

Tip for consumers: You might want to avoid the site. Even if you are here just to read, you really have to filter the good answers from the bad ones way too often since there are way too many answers for a question it might actually confuse you. If you want to write, bring friends with you for some support.

Service
Value
Quality
joes777
1 review
5 helpful votes
4/13/18

Quora will shut your account down without any explanation and you won't even be able to contact support! Your mail and user ID will be blacklisted and they won't even bother replying if you contact through another account.

timg114
1 review
10 helpful votes
4/13/18

Only two days of answering political questions of which most answers were referencing the U.S. Constitution - blocked by moderators.

I noticed the environment was highly liberal - should've known it was due to blocking all conservative questions and answers.

anonymousr17
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/11/18

Edit 5: Alot of people at Quora really tried to help out in the process eventually. So, since it's free, and I really needed that support, I guess I can update this to two more stars.
If they can solve the trolling problem on the site, and I understand the point of the site is to connect users, but it would be helpful if they could find ways that people aren't forced to interact with other users, or see their content, it would really help the site.
Edit 4: All of this, I am not assuming, they bragged about it in answers.
Edit 4: Franklin Veaux accuses women on the internet, after going to their personal accounts where they have blocked him on everything possible, cause he feels entitled to blame them for him being a complete pervert and creep stalking them on marijuana, but can't understand it is more a mystery that how HE gets any dates, at all.
Edit : I have blocked Dushka Zapata on all my accounts too.Sane women focus on their partners, they don't stalk people from across the world for 1 year. She should get in therapy for menopause and talk to her boyfriend about her guilt on cheating on her boyfriend with Franklin, and maybe she did more, I don't know. Her standards for cheating for herself is having an orgy, but for strangers she doesn't know is liking articles (irrespective of whether they are in a relationship or not). But I guess this is her relationship after couple of marriages, she feels insecure.
By now, I have zero expectations from you all. Please leave me alone. I don't care, I will not get back my time back I lost in this. Let's just move on, there are more people like you in the world. Get new hobbies.

Edit 3: I also think Franklin Veaux was a pimp or a former anal pegged worker at sex parties in that industry (he knows quite a lot of workers since 2015), and a guy who operated silk trade drug dealer in deep web (wrote a lot of answers on how to get drugs from deep web when it was illegal in his country) and a former child porn collector or child sex offender, cause he was supporting pedophiles against being registered in sex offender registeries.He is also almost homeless and earns less than a fastfood person, so clearly he might have done some illegal things to earn money. He has no degree or skills. I think he is drugs and has some addiction, finance handling problems. He thinks he looks in his mid 30s at 50s. All of this is illegal in both USA and Canada.I also think his wife loves her lover more than him, they don't have a single picture together , but she has a lot of her and her lover since 2013.

He spends his time as an internet creep nowadays stalking and harassing minority female users on Quora who have threatened restraining orders against him. He is married. He also is a pathological liar, stalker, No one I know would ever ask him out. Ever. Is he mentally ill?

I guess he is already polyamorous,but I think he only talks about the all sex positive stuff cause one, he is supported financially by the network he has, two it helps him get laid with easily manipulated women, who are somehow okay with him, I really don't know how, don't they have issues shaking hands with him, and three cause he has build a brand and his work on the lifestyle. I don't think he believes a word he is saying.

I also think since he is not earning much, he is being paid or given some help by a user Dushka Zapata to defame users on the site for the last 9 months so that she could carry out cheating on her current boyfriend by having affairs on the site. He also has issues with being called a beta male. Don't call him that, he gets offended.

Edit: So a popular Quoran Dushka Zapata and Franklin Veaux had an affair on Franklin Veaux's wedding night (or bachelor party), I don't think their spouses knew. Franklin said for a long while Dushka was his crush, and Dushka Zapata attended their wedding, on her own. I think Dushka's first wedding was for "love".
Here Franklin Veaux wrote about it, apparently, they were pegging and having oral sex. Here he hinted at it.
http://qr.ae/TUTY5A
He posted this afterward. Dushka also participates in Burning Man.
This is his crush (at that time it was Dushka and she was at his wedding)
http://qr.ae/TUTY5H

Edit 2:

Dushka wrote these after that event. I am sure it's true.
http://qr.ae/TUTH7K
http://qr.ae/TUTH7C
http://qr.ae/TUTH7o
http://qr.ae/TUTH7P

Franklin seemed highly relieved after that.
http://qr.ae/TUTH7Z

They are both twice or thrice divorced, so maybe both are polyamorous, however, I don't think their spouses knew. I also think Dushka wanted to hit on users, maybe one Irish guy, and so was targetting users based on details from her life.

They both have 100s of failed relationships. They left their partners for being eye roving philanderers or for cheating.They were falsely targetting other users for a year so that they could find romantic affairs on the Quora site. So, bit surprised to see this surface.

Good things, the feed and ability to connect to great experts. Quora is great for having a high number of sources and information about things. They may be biased, but they exist and you can work the algorithm to what you would like to read. The experts are amazing, but they are being harassed out of the site.

I hate their moderation cause lot of good writers are being banned, sometimes on hate crimes, and they do nothing about it. The questions are extremely banal and trollish.

But it is just a website. Quora competes with feedly and medium. Compared to those two it is slightly better off, but there is a lot of bad content you'd have to go through.

But then user generated content is not exactly Quora's problem.

I edited my rating from 2 to 3, since the website is free. They don't really owe you anything.

Quora's network of users is also pretty good. So that is a plus.

I think they are now kind of doing surveillance on the site.And take more than necessary information for verification, so that is also a problem. It could be just an efficient system for knowledge discovery.

But, it is currently kind of a popularity contest currently between bullies and teens. The quora moderation behaves exactly like it's algorithm. Soon you start getting harassed, stalked, users troll you and mass report you on polite and helpful answers.There is also a kind of an echo chamber over there. There are some popular users who are completely insane and get away with it, because their harassment is within the lines of bnbr, and then flag you. If you are a female, expect harassment and yes, internet stalking. Worse, if you take it to quora mods, they will report you instead. The users there are highly pretentious, and think that Quora is actually legitimate place with laws, while harassing you. Most popular quorans aren't that successful outside that website to be honest.

You get stalked by users and trolls from the website. You don't know them, but the next thing you know they start to harass you offline and damage your reputation cause you rejected them, in some way. Especially if you write on controversial subjects.

But, I have to say it is still a great place to read about world experts. If you are a fan of science and technology, quora still is a good place.

Tip for consumers: As a woman, be careful. You get stalked, sometimes wrongly defamed if you get popular, and the website does nothing, it is worth the bnbr.

The popular writers are bit crazy and think the internet fame makes them better than you. But the scientific and entrepreneurship experts are great.

Mute dating, sex, politics, religion topics for your sanity. Quite alot of trolls post stuff on it.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
jayp138
1 review
6 helpful votes
4/10/18

In early internet days (and to some degree still) we were plagued with sites that captured your search process in secret or even worse. Quota is like a throwback to those days and learned my lesson with slower performance and your data shared everywhere and to spammers, etc. Quality of so-called answers varies but that is all ways going to be subjective. Also hate all sites that try to trick you in search results

maheshs12
28 reviews
134 helpful votes
4/7/18

I know there are many, many flaws but considering the fact that how much I am benefitted from this website, I can't help myself from rating this website 5/5.

Best things about Quora:

1. Coverage on vast topics.
2. Quite an availability of active experts. Most of the users are the experts on their own way.
3. Great website for marketing and reaching out the targeted audience for free.
4. Ads are less annoying than that of Facebook.
5. Strict policies to protect user's reputation.
6. Contents are original.

Some of the things that the website let's down are:

1. The website goes down frequently, like for 30% of the time in a day!
2, Forced login for viewing and reading the answers other than the answer landed from the search engine or direct link!
3. The app is not as much as optimized and friendly as it could be and should be!
4. Too much of the experimental features tested to all of the users at once. There's no dedicated group of users to beta test the experimental features!
5. Strict policies and sometimes dumb moderators!

Service
Value
Quality
kevinvanloonv
1 review
7 helpful votes
4/3/18

just srs i just wanna read stuff and i dont want a inbox full of mails and i dont want you to have my data

michaelf283
1 review
11 helpful votes
4/2/18

Once you say anything even slightly negative about feminist ideology or Islam or anything of the sort their mods will find a post from weeks or months ago that was never reported and ban you for it, pretending it breaks the rules.

tomh289
1 review
7 helpful votes
3/28/18

You can't express an opinion found "offensive" by anyone who is easily offended. I had some opinions that I put in a question that I asked about gender. As soon as I said something the moderators didn't agree with, I was attacked, they tried to make me feel stupid, and when I stood firm on my opinion, they deleted the question. Honestly, why have a website where people are supposed to share insight, when if your insight isn't what is wanted to be heard, it's deemed invalid and thrown away? Very biased and terribly moderated.

tonym254
1 review
6 helpful votes
3/27/18

I always posted balanced views - particularly on Israel, which always attracts the most extreme on either side. I found a few inexplicably blocked for "violating their code... causing offence etc" which was demonstrably ridiculous. As there seem to be people on the site who devote much time to purely propagate one side of the Israel/Palestine debate, I assumed someone routinely reports these and they are not checked unless appealed. One answer I appealed years ago was revoked for that reason. The last few times however, all I get in response to my appeal, are cut-n-paste replies that make no attempt to address the appeal - even my appeal against their cut-n-paste reply to my email. Don't know if they just use bots, but this means that the whole premise of attempted objectivity is bogus. If they routinely censor answers for no reason and have no real means for appeal, they're just another unfiltered tool for propagandists.

rogierl
3 reviews
13 helpful votes
3/26/18

I'm a member of quora for 1 year and I'm really tired of it! Can't I say anything "unpolite"? are you kiddin' me? I don't like quora's policy and I'm leaving it!

taray12
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/25/18

No clear explanation about the spamming policy, very biased judgment too. This has been an issue since 2014 (or perhaps years before) and here we are in 2018 without even slightly improvement, someone even said that it getting worse.
My the one and only "answer" too got judged as a spam when my answer doesn't even have any political thing nor promotion (it was not about politic/sjw afterall), just a simple answer with simple link of my source of thinking and now that my answer is gone, I don't have a chance to contact them and ask for clarification at all. The warning I got only explained basic things why it could be considered "spam" including "repetitive/mutiple" promotion to certain link whereas I only wrote an answer only "once."
There is no screening for "question", any question (including trolling & hate-speech) is fine, but regarding the "answer", comes "be nice, be respectful" rule. Question is even more vital than answer, u know. My answer that got warned and deleted was about stabbing people, this could be understandable since it was involved in "how to hurt someone", but what can I help if the question itself asking "When stabbing the chest, should the blade be turned horizontal or vertical?", so the question itself is about hurting people!!
Not to mention that now I can't even upvote anyone, only downvote is the option I have.

susanv68
1 review
8 helpful votes
2/28/18

I made one comment in response to a woman who writes extreme left/leberal comments and was deleted. Wish I could give it negative stars, so if you don't agree, your out, what does that sound like ?

dank151
1 review
4 helpful votes
2/26/18

I had been on Quora since Trump won election. Lots of views and upvotes. My questions or answers never been "collapsed" before ever. Exception - spelling mistakes which I gladly correct (English is my 4th language I have learned).
Last week , while answering somebodies question "why so many hateful comments from Russians", I replied comparing Kremlin trolls to lice in human hair and how to get rid of it. Secondly, I warned Quora if they don't clean up the site, they may end up before senate committee like Facebook and Tweeter.
Those two factors were possible reason for collapsing my answer and warning me of suspending. I was fuming. After couple days I just cancel account all together.
There is chinese proverb: "Man stops being smart minute replies to stupid question"
My conclusion is either moderators are very low IQ (if any) or it really infested with Kremlin stooges.

paulg131
3 reviews
12 helpful votes
2/24/18

I spent quite sometime building up answers on this site and had 1 or 2 questions cancelled, which, after appeal were reinstated so I assume there was no real issue. Then out of the blue I was banned, no explanation, no appeal, nothing. In a way Im glad as its 80% full of idiots asking questions like if I had 20 one dollar bills how many 5 dollar bills could I change it to? And Im serious! Its a complete waste of internet space.

scotth183
1 review
10 helpful votes
2/22/18

The QUORA website is mostly just for entertaining myself, and to see if it's posible to not be surprised by the latest, greatest, anti-Trump rhetoric. And my basic response is ... "been there, done that." The vast majority of opinions there are of course extremely liberal. I've spent countless hours there because I have time on my hands due to a disability. I've even received lots of positive responses from people who share my point of viiew. But as soon as you point out the hopocricy of any Leftist rhetoric, you immediately get branded a TROLL. And now I've been been blocked there from both responding to and asking questions. Not hard to understand, since that company is based in California, as far as I know.

demtrekd
1 review
12 helpful votes
2/18/18

This site is clearly bias to their "point of view". Anything written against it is punished, even if backed up with historical evidence, such as verified documentation. I think they just want people to copy and paste Wiki on their site for the answer to be to their liking.

nohno
1 review
10 helpful votes
2/18/18

Quora started out interesting and borderline useful. Frequently short on academic type facts but quite a bit of still useful and interesting personal experience anecdotal responses. It has since sank into a pretentious elitist leftist echo chamber where any vitriol or venom from the left is heroic, and challenging with fact from anywhere but the Bay Area Newthink party line "violates the be nice be respectful policy". It has pretty much ceased to be either useful or interesting and may even be encouraging to leftist nutcases intent on dangerous things.

jamess680
1 review
10 helpful votes
1/25/18

I spent a year with Quora, had a total of 1 million questions and answer views, and 100s of followers. The be all and end all of Quora is the "Be Nice, Be Respectful" which is peer enforced by 'flagging' or reporting offensive answers. You can post absolutely tripe and offal on Quora posing as 'answers' and it will be allowed. Holocaust deniers, flat earth, keep women in their place, no women are not demeaned and abused, etc. abound, but don't you dare violate the Be Nice, Be Nice Respectful Policy and call them on opinions that continue to reinforce cultural stereotypes. It is like sorting through a layers of garbage or tons of ore, occasionally finding a diamond or a nuggets of gold. Quora describes itself as a "place for knowledge and better understand the world'. However when you post the question on Quora, 'What are the metrics that guide the selection of top writers? The absence of accurate information from those who do the selecting is deafening and is indicative of the quandary that Quora faces, does it want to be a repository of excellence with solid information, or a social site which prioritizes enabling people to meet and voice opinions without confrontation with no regard to accuracy?

jennaj18
25 reviews
53 helpful votes
1/23/18

this community is filled with pretentious white young adults. i left after a couple middle class white women got shook i called out a sexual harasser. the design is also atrocious

miker321
1 review
14 helpful votes
1/17/18

Quora blocked me on a supposed "Real Name" violation. My name is common but foreign - perhaps unfamiliar to Americans. They asked for a link to my linkedin profile, which I provided. They unblocked me that day. Two days later, they blocked me again, and demanded that I mail in some sort of "official government ID". I have been posting conservative libertarian (non-extreme) political content but I have posted some Answers supportive of Trump. There is no question that that is why I have been hassled so much by Quora moderators. The site should just admit what it is, a progressive echo chamber, and not pretend it is a repository of knowledge. Good luck if you want to use it, but be sure not to have wrongthink if you want to maintain an account in good standing.

laurenk60
1 review
5 helpful votes
1/16/18

My personal experience as a herbivore is that Quora favors carnism, ie. the mentality "I have to kill to survive" and is not a website that allows true discussion and debate. This is based on a potential discussion about whether a person who has been anorexic could eat vegan afterwards. My comment challenging those who said that was "dangerous" was flagged as a violation. Quora is a website for the masses; they will remove your comments if they don't agree with mass opinion. Where is the learning and knowledge in that? Don't waste your time. Don't let them steal your time.

41 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, the questions about penis size and virginity seems to sponsor endless discussion!

By Michael G.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Because Quora is run by an amateur who may aspire to be Zuckeberg, yet is nowhere near as savvy.

By Sarah H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I honestly feel and highly suspect from certain traits that Quora pays Google to be high on the rank and they get *buddy buddy* with the government. Quora is essentially too big to fail. We no longer have capitalism but now live under governmentism which Trump pledges to end but can he? Does he really mean what he says? That is the million $ question.

By Kyle H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Agreed. Strange but true. The only place that requires full name when you already have an account where the username to use. Why? Just more of the old information collecting processes. Blatant disregard.

By Leo A.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No financial gain for Quora users as referenced to the Partners Program. Quora will drop you quickly if you challenge them on any moderation they made to your questions or answers. Too many rules too few incentives to write.

By Sam F.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Resilience is when you can read Quora answers for about half an hour without puking. Joke's on you mate.

By Isaac K.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Because Google put Quora answers at the top of their search results when people search for a question they see the answer from Quora. Which is stupid because most answers on Quora aren't even correct lol. Idk why Google wants to promote that site, if they own it or they want to buy it and incorporate it into Google at some point. I think the site is awful and it should be shut down because it's just a propaganda site. You do not see Quora from any other search engine for example duckduckgo. But you see it in Google.

By Aare t.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

as well as to discuss their sexual proclivities in anonymity.

By Michael G.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Quora staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

5 Photos for Quora

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Quora?
Post Review