Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Quora

Quora reviews

Is this your business?
281 reviews
94041
Tel: +1 916-445-1254
privacy@quora.com

281 Reviews From Our Community

Service
14
Value
15
Shipping
4
Returns
4
Quality
12

All Reviews

laot
2 reviews
106 helpful votes
10/4/18

This website is a complete garbage site created by pro-Israel interest groups with the sole purpose of pushing Zionist narratives and false Jewish mythologies above all while censoring scientific facts. Practically all large social media and information sites are controlled by them but Quora is particularly special in how blatant it is; much worse than Wikipedia which is already terrible. It pretends to be inclusive and unbiased but let's be honest here, anything that has a central authority will be under their complete control, especially if they were the ones who created it in the first place. If you counter their general narrative with proof and facts, which is very easy to do by the way, they will fabricate an excuse to have you censored and banned.

Edit: Just to be more precise, in my case they blocked me for allegedly violating the "name policy" based on no evidence whatsoever even though I was using my full real name and they won't even respond when I appeal the moderation decision.

Tip for consumers: Expose the website for what it really is and stay away.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
genes109
2 reviews
12 helpful votes
10/4/18

I have used Quora for a while and have posted answers to over 900 questions. However, recently they indicated with a thereat to violate my FIRST AMENDMENT RIGHTS. I cancelled the account. Many places on the net (like Face book) have realized how powerful they are in the social media network and use that power to advance their own agenda. To limit the freedom of speech is a very bad thing. That is almost like playing God. While I did like reading some answers as they could provide me with information that I was not aware of but interested in, most of the content and answers are not of that caliber. I would always research such interesting information to verify how accurate it was. I have never liked the fact that many of the questions are just plain stupid or lack so much clarification that almost no one could answer them to a satisfying degree. But I just accepted that as a part of the system. I look at it this way. They can make a threat on line and it is ok - but if I do it, I could very well be in big time trouble. I generally used Quora as just entertainment but when they want to limit my freedom of speech, I draw the line. While some may think I am over reacting, I say that if I think something is stupid I should be able to say that with that word and not be threatened. This does make me wonder what they might be up to.

joelk61
1 review
13 helpful votes
9/27/18

I was on Quora for just over a year. I got banned yesterday. Why? Because I constantly questioned the idiots who own and moderate Quora why my genuine criticism was sought to be downvoted and/or deleted, no matter how accurate it was, while the pathetic and provocative (and blatantly untruthful) questions were allowed to remain. It seems on Quora you're not allowed to criticise Americans for any reason, you're not allowed to question the bonafides of obviously fake profiles, you're not allowed to ask why abjectly inane and stupid questions are allowed to remain while comments questioning their validity are immediately deleted, etc.

And in the meantime we're treated to questions and comments from pornographers, prostitutes (a lot of them openly plying their trade on there), perverts (some of the questions are quite vile and sick) and poseurs, all of them accumulating "followers" by the dozen because for every pervert out there posting the question there are hundreds more perverts and sickos getting their kicks from responding to them with words and scenarios so graphic and ludicrous that even a jaded has-been like me would shake his head!

Well, I'm done with Quora, and frankly, life is a bit easier when you don't have to deal with dozens of losers (mostly Americans and Indians, and once in a while the odd Chinese person) aiming for you every single day just because you made an observation about their system, culture and leaders that they just didn't like. Quora doesn't know the difference between debate and dissent, just like it wouldn't know it's own anal orifice even if you gave them a map and a flash light.

PS: my nick on Quora was "Baji Surtees", just to set the record straight.

jamiem256
1 review
10 helpful votes
9/25/18

These people have a back door connection to chinese communists. Just like FB, using a plateform with fake freedom of speech from commies who limits free info. Shame on you, Quora!

miram13
5 reviews
10 helpful votes
9/23/18

When I only started using Quora, it seemed compelling and versatile until I asked an ironical question about banning badly written books... While I partly meant it because I think that graphomaniacs, who poorly imitate decent ideas of great authors, shouldn't be published, I also didn't expect that people will attack me, some with threats. I could have apologized but I wasn't a monster, I just asked and shared my opinion, you have a right to disagree but not to react violently. After this situation, I became more attentive to what others ask and answer. So many questions are just silly and annoying, but of course, there are questions that encourage you to think and even get some kind of enlightenment to answer eloquently and profoundly. I also like many answers, but a certain category of people there are just obsessed with graphomania (yea, again) and I suspect that lots of authors of badly written books originate from Quora. Despite the negative attributes, I still find it useful, interesting, and creative. You can definitely find like-minded fellows there, add them to friends, and enjoy eloquent private messaging or simply joyfully immerse in their tasteful answers. I like when people reply humorously and with imagination. You shouldn't get too serious in this biased realm but if you describe even the most old-fashioned and awkward prejudice of yours in a unique way, it will be enticing to read it. Quora collected people with different intellectual abilities, some answers are surprisingly smart and sophisticated, especially if you deal with science or arts. We'll see what happens next. Hopefully, more witty minds will appear there. ;)

connorf10
1 review
7 helpful votes
9/22/18

If you like math, it's like an easier-to-follow-along math stack exchange. If you like learning about how people like to present themselves, you might also find the site entertaining. Occasionally there is some run-of-the-mill fellow who sounds honest and reasonable, but that is a refreshment in the desert. The rest of it is garbled nonsense. The vast majority of the questions hardly make any sense, and the same goes for the vast majority of answers to the vast majority of questions. Heavy left-wing bias, nihilism, arrogance, self-indulgence, and ideological insanity abound. There is a pervasive (albeit subtle) narcissistic fog that suffocates any kind of hope I have for this site to develop into a healthy online community. It is a neurotic site that enables and exacerbates a very unhealthy "information" addiction. It's like Oceania online. 2 stars gives an apt description: would not recommend.

mathiash24
1 review
11 helpful votes
9/19/18

For the record,

https://www.quora.com/profile/Mathias-Holzfeller

This is my account on Quora. This account is not very popular. It is not extremely grandiose, and it does not attract much attention.

But Quora has an iron grip on the posters of its content, and the moment you step out of line from the viewpoints that the website holds, they hammer down on you like an oppressive regime. Do you accidentally criticize the wrong person or group of people, such as the moderators, the criminals of the inner city, or leftists? Congratulations, your answer has been collapsed. Did you repeal said collapse with a well-reasoned response? Congratulations, your repeal was rejected within five minutes.

Have you espoused viewpoints that fall anywhere right of center-left? Congratulations, your account has a Quora moderation tick on it now. Your comment has been censored and you are not allowed to reply to the same answer again. Have a good day.

Do you believe that you should be able to debate against someone with hard truths rather than having to tip-toe through the debate, all while your opponent calls you names like "Whitey," "Nazi scum," "fascist pig," "misogynist $#*!bag," etcetera? Congratulations, your comments have been removed and your account is banned. Your opponent who called you all of these names and by all means has violated Quora's policies? No, they get to keep their comments and posts.

Too many times. This has happened to me too many times.

I will keep writing on Quora, but you bet that I will never, ever recommend this website to anyone else.

adamb358
1 review
9 helpful votes
9/17/18

Quora is completely biased and left-wing. They refuse to intervene when one is racist towards white people. The majority of their ads on Quora are aimed at attacking the Trump presidency - very one sided and biased set of rules. If you don't agree with them then you are out, but hey that's what "equality" truly means right?

cricketh
3 reviews
7 helpful votes
9/16/18

Do not become indoctrinated by the Mainstream Media such as CNN, MSNBC or the Alphabet "News stations. They are completely one-sided and wish to brain-wash what they believe that all Americans are: "Stupid!" Do your own research and check-out FOX News for a week. At least they have both Liberal guests as well as Conservative ones, so you can make-up your own mind. The other stations have been caught numerous times lying, editing conservative audio and video, so it fits their narrative, in order to turn America into a Socialist/Commie country. If it works, and it is, only the wealthy, the D.C. Elite, etc. Will have all the power and money. The middle-class and poor will have nothing, look at all the people who live in similar countries such as Venezuela! That will tell you everything you must learn!

metroa1
1 review
3 helpful votes
9/10/18

Once you connect, it's almost impossible to get rid of it. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

jasonb202
1 review
4 helpful votes
9/4/18

banned after being reported by mentally ill political science (professors). Stated reason was, "sock puppeting" improving my answers on 2 accounts. Offered to remove one or combine both accounts. I was never informed this was "against the rules". I appealed after looking up what "sock puppeting" is. Quora is only interested in spreading gossip and stealing users content and selling ads. Would fund a Conservative alternative.

jonis27
1 review
11 helpful votes
8/30/18

I will unsubscribe today. It's totally a left wing platform with absolutely nothing but a bunch of propaganda.

etl1
1 review
8 helpful votes
8/30/18

Quora fails to apply its own user rules. Users degrade the site with lowbrow name calling, a fallback for inarticulate people. Quora does nothing despite lofty claims of being a cordial site. Offenders complain when their victims defend themselves, implicating their victims fraudulently. Unless Quora makes an investment in intelligent human monitoring of its members, it's become a borderline vitriolic site full of hate language, four-letter words, and political divisiveness. We can get that anywhere on the web. So, Quora, what's your value to the online world? Me thinks: Not much untill you commit yourselves to integrity. As of now, you're just another hate site. And, yes, ugly name calling anyone who disagrees with you, incessant use of the "f" word, among other hate language, DOES put you in the hate site category.
Shame on you.

adamn73
1 review
14 helpful votes
8/28/18

Quora is a propaganda website, where there is no free speech and no freedom of opinion. Moderators fiercely push their political agenda, censoring anything which goes against their agenda, regardless whether it is factual or not. Quora is designed to whitewash the truth and present only one specific answer on many topics. An example is the topic of Israel and Palestine. Quora will ban answers, comments and accounts of anyone who supports Palestinian rights, whilst they will promote those who support Zionism. They will even promote for example extremist anti-muslim views, such as people claiming that muslims want to kill all non muslims, claiming lies there are no minority religions in existence in any muslim nation, they are happy for these comments to be on their site, but they will censor and ban a person who responds against this! (See photo for proof).

This is just one example, where quora moderation is extremely anti muslim, anti palestinian, pro judaism and pro zionism. I am sure there are many other exampes where quora moderation are pushing their agenda whilst whitewashing and censoring anything which goes against it.

paulc635
9 reviews
63 helpful votes
8/27/18

Absolutely useless for any scientific or technical subject, with most answers provided by fake Indian science Phd's who can barely write in English and don't even understand how Force Vectors work..There is no way that these clowns are accredited experts in their fields, and thus I can only conclude the site is a total fraud. Likeliest reason is the site is compromised by Silicon Valley venture capitalists to enable the pushing of fake tech like Theranos, Hyperloop, etc.

jessew90
1 review
4 helpful votes
8/25/18

The majority of answers to questions I explored on Quora are constructive, helpful, thoughtful, and possess merit. I value reading multiple answers from people around the world, and I appreciate when people provide info about their credentials. While there are a few unhelpful, self-serving or negative responses, the majority reflect positive, well-meaning people offering truly helpful responses. One thing I like about this site is the focus on constructive dialogue even on contentious issues (very little in the way of rude, offensive, or judgemental language -- people leave crude language, profanity, etc. out of their responses (or I guess they are filtered out). Collapsed answers, which are not readily promoted, generally failed to answer the question in a helpful way or to provide supportive evidence for some of their responses; they might simply express a rudely worded opinion without any support or justification -- not really helpful. Quora is not meant to be a venting medium, and I value this about it, too. It focuses on exploring answers to questions. I have found this site very helpful. My one caution is that the information is given in goodwill, as I understand, so if you are sharing unique ideas there's a possibility others may use your ideas to their own advantage (publication, etc.). I'm not sure what the copyright is on the information you provide. Otherwise, I have found this site helpful, intelligent, and full of well-meaning exchanges of info between people living in various communities around the world. I love it!

robertj429
1 review
12 helpful votes
8/21/18

If you get too controversial Quora will find a way to get rid of you - on a pretext, if necessary. In my case I followed the guidelines to what I thought was the letter but still had my answers collapsed. You get one appeal, and no feedback from the moderators. Controversy, in my case, related to answers about personality disorders, backed up by endless references. I think I stepped over an invisible line by quoting professionals about Tr**p's state of mind. Don't invest hours of your time on Quora - they can and will remove any posts on what appears to be a whim. Put that time into a book, or a website, or something you have control over.

However, controversial 'fake' questions which I suspect Quora insiders dream up to arouse interest regularly appear in my inbox in their digest. It's not by any means a level playing field. Controversial and 'popular' (i.e. lowest common denominator) answers regularly get into the digest posted out to all and sundry.

I strongly suspect there are psychological deviants in the moderators and / or staff, filtering out those posters they consider to be 'undesirable'. There are also lots of deliberately misinformative answers, and troll commenters seeking to get an emotional reaction that will lead to you being banned.

If you're answering questions about maths, or tigers, or anything straightforward you'll be welcome.

mitcha21
1 review
11 helpful votes
8/17/18

I was contributing to Quora in the narcissist section, because I was in a relationship with a covert narcissist for 8.5 years and thought I could help others from my experience. I had commented on a few posts by some shady characters:

1. A mobile/online self proclaimed expert on narcissism who met his life partner, a DID w/23 different personalities, on Quora and has links to his website trolling for clients on Quora complete with testimonials and zero credentials.
2. A Machiavellian/Sociopath/Narcissist (enough said?)
3. A state registered nurse that was clueless

So, my account was suspended by a moderator, because I was using an initial for my last name since I joined 6 months ago. Quora has a policy of using your real full name that is visible to everyone using the site, which includes some seriously demented freaks. As recently as two days ago, Quora sent me a notice about site safety, but I figured I was pretty safe just having an initial for my last name. The Quora profile page offers you the opportunity to have your full name, address, employment, web page link and whatever, which I consider pretty unsafe.

I decided to put my last name in and it takes me to a page with the link to edit my name and the same page are comments about what people think about the name policy, which includes discussions on having a fake name and Quora has no means of verification, seriously.

So, I deleted my account and will start up a fake one, because there are some very credible posters and you can follow them without being seen by the trolls or freaks.

jonr123
1 review
4 helpful votes
8/14/18

If you publish something on Quora don't expect to get credit for it. If someone wants to make a copy of your work, they can but they cannot copy your name or any other info about you.

gorankoi
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
8/6/18

Quora has blogging feature. It allows to create blogs. Quorans give good answers. I am satisfied and I enjoy using Quora.

joec409
1 review
20 helpful votes
7/22/18

When countering Zionist propaganda with common sense and facts, I was not only attacked with several replies calling me names I was then booted off the forum. This, of course, is not unique to Quora but is a phenomena seen across several social media websites.

marrys12
1 review
14 helpful votes
7/17/18

Leftist censorship moderators make hell out of this website. You can search the internet to see how many normal questions have been deleted even though it was not hate speech. Zero trust. Controlling amd abusive

johnnyb106
1 review
16 helpful votes
7/14/18

The website promised a lot of things upfront, but quickly falls short the moment you are expecting those things. I didn't realize it at first, but the more I used the website the more it is obvious that the contents there are very very biased towards certain ideology and political narrative. Many other users have mentioned this as well, and the fact that they're not doing anything about this for so long now, proved how deliberate the whole thing is.

The site might have been good in the past, but as any other user forums I've participated, the moment you flood them with mass, mainstream users with practically no filtering, quality of content is going down the drain very quick for sure. Even 4chan, infamous for questionable contents by default, experienced this as well.

When it comes to userbase, I can safely say quite a lot of the users there think the site is Facebook, but refuse to acknowledge it so they don't have to burst their own bubble. My experience have told me over and over again that in its current state, the site is just another social media. It is all about popularity, numbers and pissing contest, no matter how some users outright denied this. They will tell you Quora is about SHARING KNOWLEDGE, not about views, upvotes or popularity. While that sounds fair, the behaviors of these users will show to you that this is not the case at all. It's all about the numbers. I bet you my money if it is not because of the numbers, most of the people here will find their way out of the site, the way it is for many bloggers who might find it difficult to maintain their blogs when there is not a single response at all to their content.

Don't get me started on the content. A lot of users will deliberately misrepresent certain things which in reality, are totally opposite of what they're saying, sometimes it's so sickening. Even the worst thing like incest or pedophilia, could somehow find its way to be justified by some users on the site, and mind you these users aren't just regular ones, they are the ones with thousands of followers which means they can reach large audience spreading nonsense like these. This makes it even worse since other users will perpetuate those things and make it seem as if it's true while it's not which told me how much of a sheep most users on the site truly is.

At the end of the day, I have to say that while there are SOME good contents on the site, as for most scenarios where you want to find useful, accurate and unbiased information about anything important, I highly caution you to avoid the site, or if you insist, read anything on the site with a JAR of salt. I've been using the site a lot in the past and decided to leave, since I'm tired of seeing how dishonest some of the users there in misrepresenting some factual information which you could find anywhere else without all the embroidery of political correctness.

am241
1 review
15 helpful votes
7/13/18

I agree with another user; Quora has a definite politically correct vibe. Last straw was when the daily digests they sent me had a rainbow 'Q' icon. So much for impartiality to all viewpoints.

borisz5
2 reviews
19 helpful votes
7/9/18

Quora perfectly represents the overly-sanitized and politicaly correct times we live in. Get ready to read some of the most patronizing, condescendant answers you have ever read, written by extremely pretentious hypocrits who obviously never put what they write on this moralizing bull$#*! website in practice in real life.
The answers are extremely unrealistic, hypocritical and written by pretentious mormons who love to hear themselves talk. The weirdest thing with quora is that all the answers share the same characteristics : written by ultra moraly advanced people that see the good in every situation and who don't suffer the negative traits of regular people like frustration, anger, annoyance...problem is you NEVER run into people like that in real life. Outside of the internet, these moraly-perfect gems of people simply do not exist. And dont even try to say anything negative of emit criticism on quora : your content WILL be censored. Quora is overly, almost worryingly optimistic about everything in life, and it just comes off as really fake and uncinsere. And I'm tired of seeing this $#*!ing website pop up every time I ask google something. Quora is a megaphone for hordes of boring politically correct, overly enthusiastic and dead inside people, which really don't represent reality at all. And once again the condecendence....OOOOOOOoooh the condescendence. This website should be closed down. Quora I think is trying to normalize people and turn them into a boring mass of jello that says yes to everything and never criticizes anything. You know, mindless idiots who never put anything into question and blindly follow orders, just like our politicians would like us to be. So really I'm starting to think quora is a political tool to turn the masses into docile, servile sponges to whom you can do anything you like without risking consequences.

42 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, the questions about penis size and virginity seems to sponsor endless discussion!

By Michael G.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Because Quora is run by an amateur who may aspire to be Zuckeberg, yet is nowhere near as savvy.

By Sarah H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I honestly feel and highly suspect from certain traits that Quora pays Google to be high on the rank and they get *buddy buddy* with the government. Quora is essentially too big to fail. We no longer have capitalism but now live under governmentism which Trump pledges to end but can he? Does he really mean what he says? That is the million $ question.

By Kyle H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Agreed. Strange but true. The only place that requires full name when you already have an account where the username to use. Why? Just more of the old information collecting processes. Blatant disregard.

By Leo A.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No financial gain for Quora users as referenced to the Partners Program. Quora will drop you quickly if you challenge them on any moderation they made to your questions or answers. Too many rules too few incentives to write.

By Sam F.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No, it is obviously leftist but it does on occasion allow questions or replies for short periods of time that are obviously uncomfortable to the "politicaly correct" crowd in a useless attempt to appear unbiased.

By David N.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Resilience is when you can read Quora answers for about half an hour without puking. Joke's on you mate.

By Isaac K.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Because Google put Quora answers at the top of their search results when people search for a question they see the answer from Quora. Which is stupid because most answers on Quora aren't even correct lol. Idk why Google wants to promote that site, if they own it or they want to buy it and incorporate it into Google at some point. I think the site is awful and it should be shut down because it's just a propaganda site. You do not see Quora from any other search engine for example duckduckgo. But you see it in Google.

By Aare t.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

as well as to discuss their sexual proclivities in anonymity.

By Michael G.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Quora staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

8 Photos for Quora

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Quora?
Post Review