Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Quora

Quora reviews

Is this your business?
278 reviews
94041
Tel: +1 916-445-1254
privacy@quora.com

278 Reviews From Our Community

Service
13
Value
14
Shipping
4
Returns
4
Quality
11

All Reviews

deborahc281
1 review
10 helpful votes
12/30/18

Totally dominated by the Israeli lobby and apologists with absurd responses to set-up questions and a complete whitewashing of Israeli brutality and demonizing of anything Palestinian - a propaganda machine.

lisah695
1 review
12 helpful votes
12/29/18

I was banned for asking support a question. I wanted to know if it was possible to change my name, because I've picked up a stalker. I'm a "Top Writer" and I didn't know if changing my name would affect that, or if it was even possible. Instead of answering my question they sent a cut and paste threat telling me that because I wasn't using my real name I would need to verify my identity before proceeding. Then they locked me out of my account. Note: I didn't change my name. Note: I'm actually using my real name. Note: all I did was ask a question. None of that matters, and now they won't respond at all.

I used to think Quora was amazing. But the real test of any organization is how they deal with a problem. Avoid this place like the plague.

chrish856
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/20/18

Having to sign in to get informed responses always seems anti-freedom. I want a library filled with books and latest news - online - for free. Quora is against that openness.

jans277
1 review
11 helpful votes
12/12/18

Don't waste you're time. A ton of weird Donald Trump junk questions. They pull off any discussion from the right - just a junk site

davidn378
1 review
12 helpful votes
12/11/18

No Neutrality, seems to prefer to censor answer to questions that are not center-left and prefers to give voice to leftist, pro radical extremists.

roccom35
1 review
14 helpful votes
12/9/18

In a nutshell: A very radical hard leftist bent on this site. No actual neutrality.
Only ever went there to laugh at their seriously insane Marxtard bull$#*!.

emilj8
21 reviews
92 helpful votes
11/28/18

I can't even log off and I decided to never go on it and it's also full of too much smartasses to be honest

fkuf
1 review
8 helpful votes
11/24/18

Too many answers are so pro Zionist uber Israel and against Palestine and Muslim culture as to make it uninformative and worthless. Seems to be a dearth of real academics in yr employee roster. Logging off. Permanently. #BDS

susans879
1 review
11 helpful votes
11/20/18

IF they were NOT libtards they would NOT post such hateful slanted questions and then promote them by emailing them out to everyone who shows interest in the political category. Oh but look, Quora company is based in Mountan View, Ca., no wonder, that is the same town as GOOGLE Corp offices....do you see the dots connecting here. Just like GAIA, owned and operated by the evils of the people....

xisav
1 review
8 helpful votes
11/9/18

The more I browse through the site the dumber I got. It's one of that new cancer on google search result. For some reason google keeps on pushing this site on search result. Go figure. Lots of idiots with highly opinionated pov who thinks they're geniuses just because other idiots on the site pump upvote into their answers. Very biased moderators, they pick and choose who to ban. Last straw for me was when I read an answer from a popular user (read: good for nothin chap irl) actually justify the site as another social media site with 'most users' (on quote) on the site prefer to spend their time reading other people's phony life stories instead of good information. Well that's when you know a site that claimed to be a source of good information is going downhill.

robv40
1 review
7 helpful votes
11/6/18

Poor & inappropriate suggestions & answers. Too many adverts. Unqualified writers poor in English & grammar. Looks like a knowledgeable site but is only a Facebook style social media site that makes unsuspecting readers think it is providing qualified information - & it does not!! Also near impossible to unsubscribe.

isaacl31
1 review
8 helpful votes
11/4/18

Quora and it's forced login screen can suck my $#*!ing $#*!, I hope you and your children all die of bubonic plague and your dog survives by eating your shriveled up plague $#*! you $#*!ing soulless pieces of useless monkey $#*!, kill yourself, you deserve it you $#*!ing cocksucker.

andersa9
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/4/18

I use the site every day to spread my hatred for Jehovahs witnesses. I also attack users by reporting their posts, until the Quora bots ban the user. so if you dislike someone, Like I do the Jehovahs witnesses, its a great place to get away with it.
If you have peers that can assist you in reporting a user you dont like, on outside sites like Facebook, you can really attack someone faster...and out they go...

Ive attacked many people, and look forward to spewing hate further. the site is Pro LGBT to the max, so they wont ever do anything if I keep attacking religious people.

leroyj18
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
11/4/18

I discovered Quora a couple of years back and it seemed quite novel at the time, filled with interesting tech related answers from various experts in their fields. Later some well known celebrities joined in and it was still fascinating to see what people from NASA had to say or some political people. But now its filled with various self-help and motivational speeches with thousands of likes from seemingly random people which aren't exactly helpful to my interests.

teressas4
1 review
8 helpful votes
11/3/18

WHATEVER YOU DO, READ THIS UNTIL THE END. Don't go on this site. You'll get addicted for a while, but somehow, you'll wake up. One day. I got banned in an attempt to jokingly change my name to Shrigis. When I tried to take the flag off of my account, the people we rude, and asked to see my personal ID. When I didn't send it, saying that was not necessary, they messaged me saying that I'd defied their rules many times. One time I got into a fight with a guy who was calling gays "freaks." I got reported for BNBR. That was the only time. Anyway, I had another account with a different email set up to it. And I had a different name and everything. But one day, that account got banned, too, saying "multiple accounts are not allowed on Quora." Let me explain. They didn't know they were the same person from seeing the accounts, obviously, and the email addresses are nothing alike. One is a name and one is a number with a word, and they're also for different emails (one is outlook one is gmail). But they knew anyway. Wanna know how? They hacked. Both accounts. There's no other way. Unless YOU know another way? But since the accounts shared no personal information, and my outlook and gmail accounts are not connected, they hacked. They saw my freaking emails, and saw that I got similar people and sites messaging me, so they knew I was the same person. SO, ALL IN ALL, IF YOU SAY SOMETHING TO MILDLY PISS OFF QUORA, THEY WILL HACK YOUR EMAIL. STAY AWAY.

chrisk71
3 reviews
32 helpful votes
11/3/18

Many people claim of the liberal bias within quora. Well I can tell you, coming from a progressive Democrat as myself, I actually agree. That may come as a shock but I found that quora seems to be a popularity contest. It seems to be the Super cocky Elite tend to "win" in terms of which answers are placed at the top. Of course quora corporate will say that they have an algorithm that is fair but all it takes is about a month on the site to realize that there is a unfair bias. Quora uses favoritism and actually has a system that gives more Merit to certain people that give up votes than others. Imagine voting in an election and your vote carries more weight. Not cool right? Well, take the answers on quora with a grain of salt. From my experience, I found that the answers with maybe four or five up votes are the most reasonable Solutions the most people's queries. The ones with 2.3 thousand votes, you might want to avoid them.

debbier194
1 review
10 helpful votes
10/27/18

The not being nice policy only goes one direction and it is only what agrees with the moderators. I will never be on this site again. Hypocrisy at its finest :(

ganad
1 review
8 helpful votes
10/18/18

You have to answer on 100 questions before they let you in! Also, you have to log in and give them your personal information. It is just not worth it...

beae2
2 reviews
11 helpful votes
10/17/18

After years of quality input on quora (I call it quality because I've had tens of thousands of views and thousands of 'likes') I received an email saying my account was blocked because I used a shortened version of my name that just happens to be a proper name in itself, which is considered against their policy. For instance, if your name is Peter, you can't give Pete as your name. I explained that I've spent 8 years being followed around the internet and in real life by a stalker who has all but taken my life away. I received an email today from them that they're 'unable to' help. Either they aren't interested or their web team have no control over the site - I know which one I'm guessing at. They also told me they refuse to unblock my account unless I update my profile with my full name. I can only assume their name policy is more important than ensuring the safety of their members. Surely quality content is more important than what people call themselves? I'm wondering, if I was born male and changed my sex, would they still insist on calling me male? In the UK that would be classed as a 'hate crime' and can mean you're looking at a prison sentence.

It's also well worth remembering that if you don't always hold popular views and refuse to attack the people they disagree with, you might as well not waste your time on quora, personal attacks and vexatious reporting are very much a thing - but that's acceptable, just so long as you use your real name.

pandur2
1 review
14 helpful votes
10/10/18

Please, Dont visit this website, even by mistake.
This website is full of trash content and biased criticism.
Bigotry is very high in this site. And quora is silent about it.
The moderators censor user content like answers silently, like criticizing the Government Constructively.
Most of the answers were factually incorrect and dumb.
Youtube comments are more intelligent than quora answers.
This website promotes celebrity worship.
Self promotion is very high in this site.
Many of the users like Indians post their daily life events as an important things, which gets 1k upvotes.
While I am an indian, 90% of the content written by Indian teens and Indian youth users, of this site is rubbish.
Mass upvoted and promoted opinion based answers has more value over individual intelligent and facts based answers.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
hbkn
1 review
22 helpful votes
10/8/18

Used quora for 2-3 months in 2018 to discover following.
1. Quora is not neutral.
2. Quora has purpose of social engineering
3. Quora wants to be one stop destination to frequently asked questions and maneuver future generations towards ignorance or nensensical propaganda.
4. Any contribution to this that is against their social engineering agenda will be removed.
5. Don't waste time on quora

terezap2
1 review
17 helpful votes
10/6/18

I left Quora after a year. I had even been named among the 2018 top writers. And then I discovered that the website is full of troll profiles, some of them very well built up, some of them even among the top writers. The area I wrote about was psychology and there were people spreading total non-sense that is in absolute contrast to all the 'official knowledge' out there - like making up their own definitions of codependency,psychopathy - spreading non-sense and somehow not only getting away with it but actually getting a lot of views and high ranking. If you say on Quora that someone is saying something that is non-sense - you will be censored because you are breaching Quora's policy of being nice and respectful, which essentially means that everyone can say whatever, claim they are whoever and get away with it. Quora officially claims they require people to register with their real names but I would love to know how this is being ensured. I am now trying to figure out how to filter Quora from my Internet searches since I don't want to contribute any traffic to this and I am quite disappointed that Google is actually pushing Quora up. It certainly is not the new Wikipedia.

laot
2 reviews
102 helpful votes
10/4/18

This website is a complete garbage site created by pro-Israel interest groups with the sole purpose of pushing Zionist narratives and false Jewish mythologies above all while censoring scientific facts. Practically all large social media and information sites are controlled by them but Quora is particularly special in how blatant it is; much worse than Wikipedia which is already terrible. It pretends to be inclusive and unbiased but let's be honest here, anything that has a central authority will be under their complete control, especially if they were the ones who created it in the first place. If you counter their general narrative with proof and facts, which is very easy to do by the way, they will fabricate an excuse to have you censored and banned.

Edit: Just to be more precise, in my case they blocked me for allegedly violating the "name policy" based on no evidence whatsoever even though I was using my full real name and they won't even respond when I appeal the moderation decision.

Tip for consumers: Expose the website for what it really is and stay away.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
genes109
2 reviews
12 helpful votes
10/4/18

I have used Quora for a while and have posted answers to over 900 questions. However, recently they indicated with a thereat to violate my FIRST AMENDMENT RIGHTS. I cancelled the account. Many places on the net (like Face book) have realized how powerful they are in the social media network and use that power to advance their own agenda. To limit the freedom of speech is a very bad thing. That is almost like playing God. While I did like reading some answers as they could provide me with information that I was not aware of but interested in, most of the content and answers are not of that caliber. I would always research such interesting information to verify how accurate it was. I have never liked the fact that many of the questions are just plain stupid or lack so much clarification that almost no one could answer them to a satisfying degree. But I just accepted that as a part of the system. I look at it this way. They can make a threat on line and it is ok - but if I do it, I could very well be in big time trouble. I generally used Quora as just entertainment but when they want to limit my freedom of speech, I draw the line. While some may think I am over reacting, I say that if I think something is stupid I should be able to say that with that word and not be threatened. This does make me wonder what they might be up to.

joelk61
1 review
13 helpful votes
9/27/18

I was on Quora for just over a year. I got banned yesterday. Why? Because I constantly questioned the idiots who own and moderate Quora why my genuine criticism was sought to be downvoted and/or deleted, no matter how accurate it was, while the pathetic and provocative (and blatantly untruthful) questions were allowed to remain. It seems on Quora you're not allowed to criticise Americans for any reason, you're not allowed to question the bonafides of obviously fake profiles, you're not allowed to ask why abjectly inane and stupid questions are allowed to remain while comments questioning their validity are immediately deleted, etc.

And in the meantime we're treated to questions and comments from pornographers, prostitutes (a lot of them openly plying their trade on there), perverts (some of the questions are quite vile and sick) and poseurs, all of them accumulating "followers" by the dozen because for every pervert out there posting the question there are hundreds more perverts and sickos getting their kicks from responding to them with words and scenarios so graphic and ludicrous that even a jaded has-been like me would shake his head!

Well, I'm done with Quora, and frankly, life is a bit easier when you don't have to deal with dozens of losers (mostly Americans and Indians, and once in a while the odd Chinese person) aiming for you every single day just because you made an observation about their system, culture and leaders that they just didn't like. Quora doesn't know the difference between debate and dissent, just like it wouldn't know it's own anal orifice even if you gave them a map and a flash light.

PS: my nick on Quora was "Baji Surtees", just to set the record straight.

42 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, the questions about penis size and virginity seems to sponsor endless discussion!

By Michael G.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Because Quora is run by an amateur who may aspire to be Zuckeberg, yet is nowhere near as savvy.

By Sarah H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I honestly feel and highly suspect from certain traits that Quora pays Google to be high on the rank and they get *buddy buddy* with the government. Quora is essentially too big to fail. We no longer have capitalism but now live under governmentism which Trump pledges to end but can he? Does he really mean what he says? That is the million $ question.

By Kyle H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Agreed. Strange but true. The only place that requires full name when you already have an account where the username to use. Why? Just more of the old information collecting processes. Blatant disregard.

By Leo A.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No financial gain for Quora users as referenced to the Partners Program. Quora will drop you quickly if you challenge them on any moderation they made to your questions or answers. Too many rules too few incentives to write.

By Sam F.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No, it is obviously leftist but it does on occasion allow questions or replies for short periods of time that are obviously uncomfortable to the "politicaly correct" crowd in a useless attempt to appear unbiased.

By David N.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Resilience is when you can read Quora answers for about half an hour without puking. Joke's on you mate.

By Isaac K.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Because Google put Quora answers at the top of their search results when people search for a question they see the answer from Quora. Which is stupid because most answers on Quora aren't even correct lol. Idk why Google wants to promote that site, if they own it or they want to buy it and incorporate it into Google at some point. I think the site is awful and it should be shut down because it's just a propaganda site. You do not see Quora from any other search engine for example duckduckgo. But you see it in Google.

By Aare t.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

as well as to discuss their sexual proclivities in anonymity.

By Michael G.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Quora staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

7 Photos for Quora

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Quora?
Post Review