Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of PCRichards

PCRichards reviews

Is this your business?
14 reviews
150 Price Parkway
Farmingdale, New York 11735, United States
Tel: 1-631-773-4900

14 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

emilyn25
5 reviews
3 helpful votes
8/13/16

This review is more about customer service then the actual store. I bought my new refrigerator and upon installation I had a flood in my basement due to faulty connection of the ice maker. I had a lot of items on my shelves that were damaged ranging from watches to clothes to cameras. I called my sales person who told me he could not help with this and I had to call customer service. Customer service sent someone out in a few days to fix this all the while I was collecting water in buckets. No one responded to my damages so I called back and they told me that the claim was closed because they fixed the problem. After a long conversation they reopened the claim as no one had addressed the damage the flood caused. I was told someone would call me in 72 hours to handle this. It is 3 months later and nothing has been done. I keep calling and every time they tell me it's closed and they have to reopen it. My basement is still in disarray. I don't want to remove anything as I am assuming an adjuster has to come to assess the damages. I would never purchase anything from them again. Can u imagine what would happen if I did not pay the bill for my fridge. Very frustrating and disappointing. DON'T BUY HERE. There are plenty of other stores where prices are the same.

pushpaks
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
12/21/15

Recommend them.

stuarts1
61 reviews
162 helpful votes
12/9/12

In July I went out looking for a 55" Samsung SmartTV no 3D. I looked in Sears and other places and then decided to go to P C Richards. A friend of mine told me all about them and the deals he got. We went to P C Richards and looked around and started to leave, at the door they stopped us and asked us what they could do to make us happy. Well, we bargained back and forth and before long I got the Samsung and the mount for the wall for a very good price. I will continue to deal with them for now on. They treated us right. Try them, you'll like them. Bye Bye for now. Stuart

ncy
1 review
3 helpful votes
9/21/11

I just bought Pentax K5 from there and so far they sold me an extended battery for $45.00 instead of the advertised price of $89.00. They never pushed for insurance or tried to up the handling/shipping charges. I bought it on Sunday 9/18/11, they shipped it 9/20/11, and UPS tracking has it coming tomorrow 9/22/11, 700 miles from NY. We will see tomorrow if I did or did not receive exactly what I ordered, ie a new Pentax K5 with 18-55mm lens. Will keep you informed.
ncyankee

melissas9
1 review
6 helpful votes
8/25/11

Is there a ZERO star?! It's been 3 1/2 weeks since I placed my order and still nothing. They originally noted 1-2 days to ship,now they are out of stock and said 2 weeks. It's been over the 2 weeks and they said 2 more weeks, then he said they didn't know when they would be in, but they would "email me when they arrive". It sounded as if he had no idea when/and/if they would ever be getting them. I noticed the price went up on their website an additional $30, so I hate to cancel my order now. I just want my camcorder people! Geez, I'm missing all of my baby's "first's" because of this.
Probably worth the extra $ to just buy elsewhere. Oh, I did get the call from them originally saying they had to speak with me to verify the order before it could ship, and nothing was mentioned of it being out of stock...it was basically a call to try and sell me the accessories. When I declined, I feel like he got kind of rude with me. Same guy answers every time.
Just don't even bother with these people, they don't deserve our $, and we don't deserve their cr*ppy service and frustration.

joele1
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/22/11

I purchased a Panasonic FZ40 zoom camera. Before I opened it, I decided to exchange it for a Nikon S9100. After a careful discussion with AJRichard's customer service person, describing the fact that I didn't want restocking, etc. fees added, I sent the camera back. I called, after UPS delivered the camera to AJRichard, and they stated that they'd received the camera. They couldn't, however, make anything but an even exchange. I was to get an S9100 and an extra battery, which I had stated I didn't want, in exchange for the full cost of the previous transaction. When I stated I wasn't happy with that arrangment the customer service person stated I wasn't being charged a number of other charges, including restocking, remailing, insurance, etc. on the exchange. No matter how I tried they wouldn't cooperate and give me the camera I ordered in the way I ordered it and a refund of the extra charge. Realizing they had my money and my returned camera I told them I recognized how AJRichard did business and would accept the new camera, which I'm sure I'll enjoy, the battery, which I'm sure I'll use, and be done with them.

lajia
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/17/11

ajrichard.com sell products they really don't have. They get all your personal and credit card information and then they cancel your order when you call them for your order tree weeks later. They can not be trusted at all. you'd better to watch your credit card bill. I never gona order anything from them any more!

jimb25
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/16/11

i place an order for a Nikon d7000 camera body took advatage of there promotions with memory card upgrade and warrranty. I am not sure why everyone else is bashing the site but they seem to be more legit then most of the other scam sites that are out there just give them a chance

lukej2
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/6/11

it seems very unfair I have to give this seller even 1 star. Horrible does not begin to describe my experience. A short run down of our transaction so far.

1. My wife ordered a camera on Wednesday. On Friday she recieved a call to confirm the order. At that time she was confronted with pushy upsales for various accessories. (strike 1) Then they told her there would be an additional $20 "handling and insurance" fee added to the order. The website listed a 2.99 shipping fee, and said nothing about this extra $20, which actually made them more expensive then other sites. (strike 2)

The order was not actually shipped until the following Wednesday. Why it took a week to put a camera in a box and ship is beyond me. (strike 3).

a week later, the camera arrives. My wife is sitting on our couch, and opens the box. She starts to play with it, and it doesn't work. Once the zoom is extended, it will not retract unless you remove the batteries. So we put it back in the box and ship it back the next day.

2 days after they receive the camera back, they call us. They tell us the camera has a scratch on the body near the lens, and we must have dropped it. The only place we could have dropped it was on the couch, and there was no scratch on it when we mailed it. They said they would send it to the manufacturer, but in there opinion we had damaged it and most likely the manufacturer would send us back the broken camera.

jonb9
14 reviews
63 helpful votes
6/12/11

Bad Experience - I should have known better. Canon S95 - their price was $20 less than others. I place order online. No action. I call next day - they try to upsell me by telling me the battery that comes with the camera is only good for 30 minutes. That's pure BS and they know it. Then he tells me my total price is xxxx. $35 more than my online order. He explains....handling, insurance etc. At this point I realize their game. I reply "Look at my order..I agreed to pay $379.99" - he says well the total is $402.xx
I say again...look at my order...and tell me what I agreed to pay? He he - he wouldnt do it..just said...do you want to cancel your order. I said YES

anneb7
1 review
6 helpful votes
5/27/11

I ordered a Nikon D7000 with a lens for a great price. It gave me a final price at checkout of 1349.00. Today, I got a call from them trying to sell me a longer life battery and I declined. He told me the battery I that came with it took 10 hours to charge and only lasts 30 minutes! I told him I would get the accessories at my Navy Exchange because they were cheaper and no tax. He then questioned why I didn't order the camera from them and I told them they were out of stock due to the tragedy in Japan. He then stated I wouldn't be able to find any accessories anywhere for it there, either!! He then told the the final price was 1459. I asked why it wasn't the price I checked out with last night online and he said there was 107.00 of shipping insurance. This should have been noted on the website. Fraud! I just canceled my order!

billk10
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/24/11

"I had very bad experience with this seller. I placed an order on line for a Canon camera. The next day they sent an mail stating "We have been unable to process your order due to verification issues." When I called them to verify, the salesman gave me a final price for my camera that was about $50 more than the final price showed me on their website. When asked why, I was told that this was a "delivery insurance" charge! I said your website did not mentioned this charge at all, but the salesman said "this needs to be added, or I can cancel my order". Of cause I cancelled my order just because of their cheating practice. "

timm15
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/10/11

Absolutely cannot trust AJRICHARDS. I am in the process of contacting the State of NY about their business practices. I ordered a Canon 1Ds Mark III from them. The camera was listed as in stock and the price was $6799. Today, they cancelled without warning. They did not want to honor the price. They have changed the price to $7599. THEY DO NOT WISH TO HONOR THE PRICE THAT WE AGREED TO. DO NOT TRUST AJRICHARDS. DO NOT BUY FROM THEM.

lulux
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/29/11

I was looking for a Nikon d7000 and found it on amazon first for a 1199.95 and ordered it there, but later on canceled my order with them because i found the same camera body at ajrichard for 1159.95 with the same no shipping, no tax deal. Turn out they charge you a hidden "handling fee" of 60.00. This charge does not appear on your online receipt nor it appear on the receipt they will email you. I accidentally found out about it only by calling their customer service to make sure I will receive my camera before I leave for my vacation. I didn't canceled my order with them at the time because the price on Amazon had gone back up to 1499.95. Couple days later, I called again to find out when the camera will be shipped since the status has been changed to "ready to ship" for few days. The same man who answered my call the first time told me it will be shipped tomorrow. The same afternoon I went to Amazon and found the price has dropped back to 1199.95. I call ajrichard try to cancel my order with them. Frankly, I was not happy with the hidden charge and rather pay the same amount of 1159.95 + handling fee with amazon. I read the cancellation policy and it stated that as long as the order is not shipped one can canceled it without paying any extra fees. To be sure, I rechecked my order status and nothing has changed. The SAME MAN answered my call, after hearing the reason of my call he checked my order and said its already shipped. I told him I am the one who called this morning and was told that it will be shipped tomorrow. Also my order status says its not yet shipped. He then told me my order is already on the truck and I will have to wait till I received the order then pay for the restock fee and the return shipping. I told him as far as I know my order is not shipped and I want it to be canceled. Then I told him I am not happy with the hidden handling fee to be start with. He was angry but said will try to cancel my order for me then hang up the phone. I called back still trying to be polite, he answered the call again but pretend to be someone else. I didn't want to get into another argument with him and played alone. I asked him to cancel my order for me again this time, and he then told me seems like his "co-worker" had already done so and my credit card will be credited within 7 to 10 days. He again asked what's the reason for me to canceled my order. I simply told him cause i find it somewhere cheaper. He said "oh well, i was going to offer you another 100 off from our price." At this point I would rather pay a hundred more at anywhere else than buying it from this site. Now I will wait and see if they credit back the full amount back to my credit card.

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the PCRichards staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
PCRichards?
Post Review