Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of PayPal

PayPal reviews

Is this your business?
1,137 reviews
2211 North First Street
San Jose, CA 95131, USA
Tel: 1-888-221-1161, 1-402-935-2050
hostmaster@paypal.com
2017 Customer choice award

1,137 Reviews From Our Community

Service
58
Value
49
Shipping
25
Returns
38
Quality
47

All Reviews

johng133
7 reviews
2 helpful votes
1/19/18

Pay Pal helps me manage funds for purchases however they are exceptionally inefficient if you need customer support. When my daughter passed away I requested they close her account and forward any funds to me as I did not know her log in and her bank account was closed. I received conflicting instructions from them and although I forwarded all the documents to them they requested several times they failed again and again to do what several of their representatives said they would do. I have called them at least four times and have securely emailed them repeatedly. The only solution at this point is probably legal action. I would not use them if I were you. At this point I consider them thieves.

Advertisement
andreag78
5 reviews
2 helpful votes
1/16/18

I have used Paypal for over 10 years now and have never had an issue that they could not help me with. It is an absolute must to be able to pay for online purchases without the risk of being ripped off. I had an issue with a Paypal purchase where the company did not refund my money and Paypal got my money back for me. Their customer service is top notch. I do not like putting my banking information on websites to pay for stuff so I always use Paypal if it is an available method of payment. If you've ever had a credit card number stolen and used fraudulently you know what I mean. This payment option is my go to for online payments.

lisel11
2 reviews
14 helpful votes
1/12/18

I had to deposit $ in my ppal account to pay a supplier who only accept paypal for payment overseas... anyways, requested the money be taken from the confirmed bank account on jan. 6 ... on jan 8th the money was withdrawn and as of today jan 12, the money is still not deposited in my ppal account. Tried to reach customer service... the only way I could without having to hold on for hours on the phone... was to post a comment on the fb page... to which they replied the next day!!! telling me it may take up to 7 business days!!!! this is ridiculous... when the $ has been withdrawn... I suspect that Paypal is making a buck with our cash while hanging to it for that long... why would it take that long? I think this should be reported to authorities for abusive practices!!! This is the end of me with Paypal for sure... I have had worse experience doing business with them and ditched their services... they charge high fees and offer a very poor customer service... when you have a problem ... you're basically on your own and have to wait!!! they do not lift a finger to help. Paypal has enjoyed many years of monopoly for offering this service but competition is growing and I would strongly advise consumers to seek other companies .... paypal will eventually let you down... that's the only promise they can keep.

maureenc47
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
1/11/18

I had placed an order online and paid thru PayPal. I never received my items and PayPal got my money back. So happy I used my pay pal account instead of debit card. I would have never gotten my money back. Thank you PayPal!

mamunurr3
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/9/18

paypal is the most worst online money service agency. obviously i report it this site. They have no online chat system. step by step the harass me.

hikinggearl
5 reviews
4 helpful votes
1/3/18

I am using Paypal for 5 years, I had a very faithful experience with the service provided. No doubt, their service is very prompt. For paying for any service and for buying I used to use this service. The report and safety features are highly appreciable.

dawnh14
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
12/26/17

I contacted PayPal and explained to them that BN.com refused to cancel an order for a book they don't have in stock and have no idea when or if it will ever be in stock again. The PayPal customer rep told me she would contact the BN.com PayPal liaison person and have the order cancelled because BN.com can't fulfill the order. She said it would take 24-48 hours before the pending charge from BN.com would be taken off my PP account. It's now been 72 hours and the pending charge is still there. I am so tired of being lied to by customer reps!

robina62
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/24/17

Pay pal is great to have they back you up 100%if their was any illegal activuty.That's why I kind of don't shop on line due to that. I have a account but have not used it. But I will try today since I need to get a few gifts for my loving family.

loshithl
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
12/23/17

I came in contact with a company named "Mobileworld Company" which is a EC21 Member.

You can find more information above this seller using the following link which is their's storefront page.

https://mobileworldcompany.en.ec21.com/

He used a imposter fake courier company- stating that he has my item, but its delayed by customs, that I need to pay into a bank account- declaration fees, delivery charges and all sort of fake charges on the non existent item.This seller insists that he uses a particular shipping company to provide a phony email address to pose as DHL to send me a email using a free e-mail address.his sloppy content on his email tipped off me that he didn't even bother to proofread his own writing which left spelling and grammatical errors.

Courier Website:www.expdirectlogs.com
Courier Email:info@expdirectlogs.com
Scammer created courier gmail:expdirectlogs.info@gmail.com
Paypal ID:martinezpereztom@yahoo.com
Email:mobileworld.company@mail.com
Skype ID:mobileworldcompany

From my findings I could able to spot something was amiss about the shipping companys website, even if I couldnt quite put my finger on whats wrong but I have found that it has plagiarized content from legitimate shipping company's websites.And that might not be considered fair use because depending on the circumstances,the original website content is not allowed to be freely copied for commercial purposes.

I also found a legitimate carrier company with almost the same name and domain, www.exp-logistics.com.

You can see that this is a legitimate company with visible contact information that also is well optimized.I noticed that the fake carrier site has no search engine optimization and is poorly done. They only have an info email, no phone number, or customer service information.

Although, I have to applaud him/them for putting so much effort into this scam. I wonder how many stressed out buyers they have scammed so far.

I am very disappointed in PayPal, I have been using this service for 8 years without a hitch.Even if I am clearly correct and am entitled to my money back, paypal will find a way to deny me.paypal knows this is impossible and will make me feel like I am at fault for not following your impossible demands.There are so many impossible mandates to comply with, to honest people like us,it would be the looser of the process every time.

Tip for consumers: Either way, there's fraud going on or not,since some scams are so well organized and convincing and the people behind so difficult to catch it is still inevitable to spreading awareness and giving information to hopefully help others avoid falling victim to it.

Service
Value
Quality
spyrosp3
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
12/20/17

A must have tool, especially when you buy from abroad.
Excellent services. It was there when i needed it!

Service
Value
Quality
anthonyt68
4 reviews
0 helpful votes
12/16/17

I went through their required process to link a bank account and then completed a few transfers of relatively small amounts to my bank account. approximately one per week for a few weeks.. Last week I completed a transfer as usual then a couple days later after receiving a payment for an item i sold i attempted to complete another transfer to my bank account, then for no reason paypal decided it would take extra time for that transaction because more information was needed. why? i have no idea. i called them and spoke with customer service, after waiting for 40 minutes i finally got to speak with someone,they attempted to placate me and told me no additional information was needed., but that it can take up to 5 days to complete a transfer, (?then why did a message pop up when i confirmed the transfer on their site?) the transaction remained in "pending" status for no known reason and now it finally shows completed but the funds still are not showing in my bank account. I sent a message to paypal through their site and the next day got an automated response containing useless information. They are a joke, their service is terrible and i am very unhappy and frustrated with them, they are con artists, i dont trust them at all.

Service
Value
Quality
kimg42
5 reviews
10 helpful votes
12/14/17

I noticed a post that stated it was from PayPal & they said 'it does not appear to us that Rosewe or RoseGal is an International site.....BEWARE THEN; because I have personally ordered from Rosegal/Rosewe & they INDEED are an INTERNATIONAL COMPANY. They ship from China & no items I ordered from them matched what I received....Not Even Close. I would Not order from them again, As I said clothes did not match what I ordered, the material was VERY cheap & all items were poorly made & Far, Far to small, more like a fit for a child, oh & one of the shirts I ordered was white & it had a Big Coffee Stain on it!!! They change their name from time to time so really do your research before you even Think about ordering from them. Also there are fake reviews left on many sites that just happen to say WONDERFUL things about the clothes, company or customer service....these are a lie to simply get you to buy!!!
Sincerely,
~Kim

destinyc14
5 reviews
0 helpful votes
12/14/17

Ive been using Paypal for over a decade. I had to close my account due to someone hacking into it. Paypal was the first to contact me as soon as they noticed the discrepancies in my account. Ive been back with them for about a few years. It has been smooth sailing. Paypal is easiest way to pay merchants,bills & send money to friends & family. It is accepted at stores,in online orders,internationally,ect. And not to mention being able to apply for Paypal credit. Extra money always a plus.

christopherb144
15 reviews
5 helpful votes
12/6/17

I don't have ANY REASON TO TRUST THESE PEOPLE,THEY SCAM WITH E-LAME,AND AmaZONK,BY TAKING YOUR MONEY AND ALLOCATING IT WHERE EVER IT WANT TO GO,DUE TO IGNORANT AND POORLY TRAINED IN "ENGRISH"or Arabic,so communication SUCKS,and money that U have,can just be applied w/o any knowledge of the buyer and doesn't EVEN BOTHER TO TRY AND HELP CUSTOMERS,CUZ THEY'RE JUST SIMPLY TOO IGNORANT TO KNOW HOW TO TREAT PEOPLE AT ALL.Can't stand em' anymore!Now that I DUMPED E-BAY and Amazon,my life can return to peace,and not be on the phone with those JOKERS ANY LONGER, EVER AGAIN!Good riddance E-Lame and CRAPAzon!!

yuvalc
31 reviews
3 helpful votes
12/4/17

PayPal is a great tool to pay over the internet without exposing your credit card. It can be used for money transfer for family, friends or business. It is all easy and nice. They also have an insurance and protect you when it is needed. Sometimes they charge a bit high fee but in return they give very good tool

silvanap2
8 reviews
19 helpful votes
11/30/17

hI GUYS I'M BACK. I VERY RARELY WRITE AN EXCELLENT REVIEW BUT THIS ONE IS IT - THE BEST !! THIS ORGANISATION ARE BRILLIANT - NOT ONLY DO THEY TAKE THE TIME TO LISTEN TO YOU (AND LET ME SAY I AM A PAIN) BUT THEY ARE SO COURTEOUS AND PATIENT AND THEN THEY STRIKE - THEY WOULD HAVE TO BE THE FAIREST AND BESTEST IN THE WORLD - I LIVE ONLINE AND THEREFORE I MAKE A LOT OF PURCHASES AND SOMETIMES THEY DON'T GO TO PLAN AND I DO TRY TO RESOLVE IT MYSELF BUT NOT ALWAYS GOING TO HAPPEN BUT I BUY EVERYTHING THRU PAYPAL AND THEY ARE SO PROTECTIVE OF MY MONEY AND SO FAIR AND REASONABLE I DON;T KNOW HOW TO EXPRESS MY GRATITUDE ANY FURTHER BUT TO SAY TO YOU OUT THERE EVERYBODY DO NOT PURCHASE WITHOUT BECOMING A PAYPAL MEMBER. LOVE YOU GUYS AND I HOPE YOU READ THIS XXXX

jennifers429
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
11/28/17

Every time I turn around if it inst Ebay it's PayPal coming up with a way to take money you earned. I'm done with them both. I'll stick with Amazon!

mambar
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/24/17

Paypall won't accept payments for no reason. Paypall is very touchy-feely /fastidious regarding any visa or master card payment without any reason. Many people avoiding paying trough the paypal. Why? Because Paypall will make their problems - your problem : "The card you entered cannot be used for this payment. Please enter a different credit or debit card number." Guess what - merchants are loosing money because of that. Paypall just don't care as usual.

marka257
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/22/17

Just remember that if they find a single complaint against you they'll wipe you out. They'll refund every transaction you've made and block your money. It's their main earning source.

laural186
15 reviews
10 helpful votes
11/10/17

My PayPal Business DEBIT Card was used for unauthorized purchases for week and without any hesitation customer service not only helped me to sort-out through the fraudulent charges, but they refunded them within a day. They really did care and I appreciate that!

rital46
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/9/17

I was with paypal for years, just for small transactions and sending a few hundred dollars to relatives. I never had a thousand dollars in my paypal. Suddenly I got a message they want all my personal info. I called them and they claimed it is on behalf of the Aus govt. But where you go to update personal info they ask permission to share it with an American company called Equifax. A company which has already lost millions of people's personal info. No more paypal for me

rodrigod5
66 reviews
44 helpful votes
10/31/17

It's unbelievable how PayPal always finds a reason to limit my account for security reasons even though my account is verified. I got 2 bank accounts linked, one debit and credit card and also gave this joke of a "company" my SSN. Nonetheless, PayPal limited my account due to a sudden and "suspicious" increase of sales volume - $230 instead of the average of around $100 a month. Of course, there were much more issues I had with PayPal. Yet, what brought me to close my account for good is a buyer who after almost 6 months filed a claim about missing an order and the thugs of PayPal gave her right.

I switched to alternative payment methods like Cash.me, Thanks to PayPal I am accepting now even Bitcoins.

In retrospect, I regret having given these PayPal crooks all my personal info, who knows what they're doing with it...

Tip for consumers: Use it as little as possible and never have lots of money in your PP account as they can freeze your account whenever they like.

Service
Value
Quality
hanjod
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
10/23/17

PayPal for me is irreplaceable.
If an online webshop doesn't support this as payment option I won't dare to buy anything that has a bit value!
Due the fact they give u insurance on your package I'm happy to deal through PayPal..Everytime!

richardm301
3 reviews
6 helpful votes
10/21/17

I got ripped off on 3 separate purchases with PayPal over the last 4 months. PayPal has not returned my money! I have provided proof, downloads, and did everything possible to show I was ripped off. BUT NO!! No coverage from PayPal! PayPal got their cut, now way they are giving it beck! I uploaded the picture of the product I was supposed to get and the picture of the fake ripoff product I actually got and the dispute just sits there in review for 4 months now without a word. I called more than once and they just keep saying" is is in review"! Total lairs!

I am closing my account and I will only buy from trusted sellers like amazon who backs me up every time!

leiac
1 review
5 helpful votes
10/21/17

My husband had a Paypal account before he passed away. He had $2000 balance in his account. I had faxed everything required by Paypal but four months later as of today, I still have not received my late husband's remaining funds. Each time when I called, they would tell me something different. The customer service department told me a totally different things with their complaint department. I think this is very chaotic company and it is a worst US Company I have ever dealt with. I would never contribute anything to this company.

624 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Don't do it or be very cautious and major on top of it. Seems PayPal is getting worse and worse and im banning any business from China..to many scams PayPal backs up

By Tiffany H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No.

By Sean S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Roxi C....I wish I could help you with your question about..PayPal working capital to a new start-up business?..I honestly have no idea..You can go to Paypal and ask them..good luck :-)

By Dianne B.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the PayPal staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

14 Photos for PayPal

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
PayPal?
Post Review