Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    NitroTek

Corporate Values

Overview

NitroTek has a consumer rating of 4.07 stars from 560 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally satisfied with their purchases. NitroTek also ranks 1st among Remote Control Cars sites.

  • Service
    96
  • Value
    95
  • Shipping
    94
  • Returns
    89
  • Quality
    91
View ratings trends

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • It is terrific to have a hobby shop like Nitrotek in town.
  • Easy to use website at a great price, couldn't be happier.

Critical highlights

  • Arguments back and forth ensued, but their customer service has been terrible.
  • I bought my son a rc car from nitro tec last christmas.
How would you rate NitroTek?
Top Positive Review

“Ebike um”

Dave P.
2/18/20

Bought a Zipper ebike from Nitrotek in October. Arrived on time, easy to assemble and I absolutely loved it, used it most days for fun and for avoiding horrendous parking charges in town. Only downside was someone else also loved it - enough to steal it from my garage. They could've stolen my Jag or my motorbike but no, the Zipper was more appealing. I've just ordered a replacement - when it arrives I'll sleep with it under my pillow so this one doesn't get stolen.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Poor, poor, poor”

K C.
2/26/20

Ref:130018177 Ref: 130018177 Easy web site to navigate. Was happy with transaction. Just needed it to be delivered so had to review again as delivery wasn't as smooth as online purchase.....Not so happy now. Fuel provided leaked from an apparently sealed bottle all over everything in box. Drove once with 1/10 scale model and its never started again. Contacted this company but no joy, loads of replies but no mention of getting it sorted. Internet only company. No customer service to talk to. One needs to email everything but gets no real positive responses. Made me feel like I did something wrong. I will never recommend or use this lot ever again. Most expensive paper weight I've ever purchased yet. STAY AWAY! Go to a real model RC shop, deal with real people face to face.

See critical reviews

Reviews (560)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

customer service (51) rc car (64) trading standards (13) hobby shop (11) use website (10) sons birthday (8) day delivery (8) excellent service (15) rc toys (8) 5 stars (7) company (91) rc models (7)
nathanr153
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 26th, 2020
Fast delivery, very helpful help line for a change, even went out of his way to find other manufacturers to find upgrades
kc439
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 26th, 2020
Ref:130018177

Ref: 130018177
Easy web site to navigate. Was happy with transaction. Just needed it to be delivered so had to review again as delivery wasn't as smooth as online purchase.....Not so happy now. Fuel provided leaked from an apparently sealed bottle all over everything in box. Drove once with 1/10 scale model and its never started again. Contacted this company but no joy, loads of replies but no mention of getting it sorted. Internet only company. No customer service to talk to. One needs to email everything but gets no real positive responses. Made me feel like I did something wrong. I will never recommend or use this lot ever again. Most expensive paper weight I've ever purchased yet. STAY AWAY! Go to a real model RC shop, deal with real people face to face.
davep321
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 18th, 2020
Bought a Zipper ebike from Nitrotek in October. Arrived on time, easy to assemble and I absolutely loved it, used it most days for fun and for avoiding horrendous parking charges in town. Only downside was someone else also loved it - enough to steal it from my garage. They could've stolen my Jag or my motorbike but no, the Zipper was more appealing. I've just ordered a replacement - when it arrives I'll sleep with it under my pillow so this one doesn't get stolen.

Tip for consumers: Buy with confidence from Nitrotek

melvynp5
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 18th, 2020
Had a problem with a nitro car, but contacted me within 24hrs. Good service. Ordered quit a few items from this company with no complaints so far.
joannel169
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 10th, 2020
Website easy to use. Good deals on item I bought. Also found a voucher code for money off. Excellent
barrys243
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 10th, 2020
Very poor after sales service. You cannot call them but have to raise a ticket which then takes several days before a response a received. Then you get pre formed responses fobbing you off assuming you are as stupid as they are. They have my money and will not give me my money back. They apparently have to inspect (at cost to the customer) the returned faulty product first which has now been over a 6 weeks and each time I ask for an update, the same pre formed reply - it's in an inspection queue. The Birthday was mid December, it's now nearly mid Feb!!!! GIVE ME MY MONEY BACK and I'll get the car somewhere else.
jamesm2678
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 5th, 2020
Very good website and service bought a large scale rc car few years back still very durable and fun.
#130019244
thomasj609
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 27th, 2020
Excellent service on the phone and online very impressed fast delivery too will be using them again and again!
jordanr115
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 18th, 2020
Just ordered my first car from here great website plenty of spares and nice ease of use unlike other websites that have tried to cram in to much on one page 130018597
craigh318
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 18th, 2020
I purchased a condor for my son for Christmas and everything went smooth until I needed a refund for the fuel they could not deliver to me... very reluctant to refund me but after a few emails I got it returned... ordering system brilliant customer service not so good but not bad... if they cant provide the answer transfer me to accounts who does have the answer but apparently this isn't possible as they dont take calls... overall I must say it was a decent purchasing experience and I have since bought from them again...
anonymousp743
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 17th, 2020
Raise a query with customer services over a spare part and recieved a response within 48 hours with the correct part identified.
davidm2871
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 10th, 2020
I've had to buy wheel inserts as didn't have no wheels in stock but happy with them. Could you please order some more stock in. Thanks
jamesm2526
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 2nd, 2020
clear, quick, comprehensive, good value, you know what you are getting and when, no hidden price shocks.
simonw293
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 25th, 2019
Website was easy to use and found what I wanted straight away , will definitely order again in the future

Order number (#130017819)
jasonn165
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 22nd, 2019
Easy to find parts I needed it was the only place I could find what I needed and at a very good price 130017692 order number
fredr131
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 16th, 2019
I have recently purchased a 1-8 Dune Buggy for my Grandson and the car is as described on there site, Being new to this type of rc car I needed clarification on a couple of things, I phoned them and was given all the information I needed and more ,the staff were extremely helpful and polite .
I couldn't be mor pleased.
Fred Rudd
jasonb901
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 14th, 2019
On the downside a bit too much out of stock for too long too often, but on the plus side overall great to deal with, website is easy to navigate, good knowledge of products, presales and aftersales support is very good, quick delivery from order, any issues quickly sorted. 130017138
stephenc472
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 14th, 2019
Website very detailed lots of information and pictures to help choose item and very fast posting service order number 130016915
emmam224
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 10th, 2019
Found what wanted and was super easy to navigate site and even free fast delivery. Loads of extra bits to add when you find the right one for you to make the car even more customised to your requirements.
leew391
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 3rd, 2019
Very simple but effective website. Providing me with everything I needed to know. Easy check out and very positive feedback in precious
Reviews.. can't wait for delivery of items now
mikeb1187
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 3rd, 2019
Great team to buy from, easy transaction and quick shipping and good prices, impressed 5 stars

Will be back to buy more
ryanh439
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 30th, 2019
I think there really good and easy to deal with when coming to ordering heard they are good as well waiting for the product and then I'll see
benp201
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 30th, 2019
Nice and easy shopping experience explains everything you need to know a pleasure to browse and to wish you could buy all!
matthewl381
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 26th, 2019
Great service and great car, order arrived on time only issues is you must ensure you have oil for air filter
barryw145
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 25th, 2019
This company's after sales service is one of the worst I have ever come across . The RC which was sold had a one way bearing which seized after a couple of pulls on the starter cord . Their so called fault finding correspondence went round in circles with them not wanting to admit any liability as far as parts were concerned. We even sent a video of trying to start the RC with the pull cord not retracting. Being an engineer it was obvious what the problem was even though I had no experience with RC's . We bought the new part from ebay and the car engine now starts. After asking for a refund for the price of the bearing, we were told that because we didn't purchase it from Nitrotek , they wouldn't refund the cost of the replacement part. Bearing in mind that we spent 3 weeks following their so called fault finding and eventually losing patience , their excuse not to refund us didn't come as a surprise. Avoid this company if you expect reasonable after sales service.

Q&A (9)

Answer:

Hi Chloe You can only deal this this dodgy outfit by email and good luck it will be your fault it's broke. Thanks john Am still trying 1 year on ha

By John t.
See more answers (9)
Answer:

Avoid! If anything is wrong with it, you'll get every excuse under the sun for them to deal with it. Plus you#ll have to pay for the return postage, which is illegal btw, pay for the inspection and pay for the return postage! I've been waiting 6 weeks to get my money back for a car that was sent back faulty

By Barry S.
See more answers (4)
Answer:

Good man. I think they are scum, modelsport all the way nitrotek in desperation

By Darren M.
Answer:

Hi, if you have any questions about delivery times please contact support@nitrotek.co.uk

By Lauren K.,
Question:

Is it genuine

Answer:

THIS IS A RIP OFF COMPANY I'VE HAD A TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE! I was well within the 14 day refund period but they have totally ignored the refund request I entered on their website. YOU CAN NOT CONTACT THIS COMPANY BY TELEPHONE!! It is a case of what you purchased from them, you are on your own to repair or in my case LOOSE £479.00!!

By Rich W.
Answer:

You will have to go through their bull$#*! fresh desk email system which is just an excuse to give you the run-around for the next two or three months during which time you get so pissed off (which is what they are counting on) or you up the anti with a "letter before action" (google it!) and threaten to take them to the small claims court which is the only reason I got a refund. I was still down about fifteen quid for postage costs that they never refunded but I cut my losses and ran. Now I just badmouth them every chance I get so people will stay away from them. Good luck, you'll need it!"

By R B.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the NitroTek staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Find a big range of petrol, electric and nitro RC cars, planes and radio controlled helicopters with free UK next day delivery and the lowest prices guaranteed.

Company Representative

laurenk46
Lauren K.
Customer service

How do I know I can trust these reviews about NitroTek?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about NitroTek?