Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of mate1.com

mate1.com reviews

Is this your business?
119 reviews
4200 Saint-Laurent Blvd Suite 550
Montreal, Quebec H2W 2R2, Canada
upport@mate1.com

119 Reviews From Our Community

Service
6
Value
6
Shipping
3
Returns
4
Quality
7

All Reviews

tonyv74
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/31/18

EACH PERSON LIVES IN 20 STATES OR MORE,,,,,,,, THIS PERSON IS NOT A LEGITIMATE PERSON ON MATE1,,,,,, PHONEY UPLOAD PHOTOS...... STAY AWAY FROM THIS SITE...

chloer23
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/14/18

Not as bad as most people try to make u believe. I personally prefer Mingle2day but just because there are more members in my area. But mate1 is still much better than the average dating site out there which are almost all full of fakers and scammers.

bills591
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
11/25/18

This is another scam site inasmuch as you will get loads of computer generated messages from in house made profiles. Im able to spot fake pics and profiles. Heres how: professional photos of modelesque women having no background stuff. The profiles are characteristically not completed. I live in a rural state which just does not have the diversity this site depicts. Run a deep image search and what you find should be telling. The object of the site operators is to get your money. Thats just one reason i never pay for adult sites. Another reason is im not very keen on sending financial info to off shore high risk credit processors. The legalese in the terms is one sided in their favor. Your lawyer is of no help since its doubtful theyre admitted to a foreign bar or licensed to practice there. You will undoubtedly get screwed thinking you have stopped the automatic billing or deduction from your card account. By using a debit card this outfit requires a bank connected card. I guess everybody knows all of this so thats all i have to say except finding a willing partner is much easier off line in real life.

chrisr508
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/20/18

I joined with a cheap trial membership just to see if this was real. Well, it's absolutely FAKE. I checked out 39 female profiles and 37 of the 39 profiles I did a deep dive on came back with FAKE photos that were pulled from other sources. Two photos came back as inconclusive. This is so fake I think it's got to be criminal fraud on the part of the company.

nikh15
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/8/18

Most of the photos appear to be fake.

The sites gets you to sign up by sending emails stating you have messages. When you go to the messages (after paying the fee) the messages are all Mate 1 match notices; no actual; real messages. Feeling very ripped off with this users experience

sarahm630
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/16/18

Warning this is a fake site that takes your money..non of the profiles on here are real its some phsycho using fake pics and taking money...best to report them to the ftc and bbb....this is huge abuse

theresad110
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/9/18

I sign-up for the 3 day trial and one of the users sent me a picture of his penis. I cannot believe the site approved the photo! Either they do not have a good review system or they don't care. Either way, if you're looking for a site that takes match making serious, THIS IS NOT IT! Apparently, if you're looking for a site that is more of a hookup or a porno site, then I highly recommend this site. Absolutely disgusting!

williamd361
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/13/18

have talked to 2 women in the last 2 weeks - checked are code phone #s - one New York - one Oklahoma - 1 in Nigeria - 1 in Cyprus - after 4-6 days needed money for plane ticket to spend life with me cause they love me so much?????? Have been with women for years that don't love me this much - SCAM

rafaelr55
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/20/18

A total scam do not. Do not waste their time. All profiles are fake from women in Ghana, Nigeria, Cypress, etc.... they all wanted one thing your information and for you to send them money. Careful if you dont want your identity stolen.

silencert
1 review
5 helpful votes
5/3/18

I have been on Mate1 for about 3 weeks, out of over 1200 messages, not a one has been real. Even if I were The Rock himself, I wouldn't want to dig thru thousands of fakes!

Horrible site - stay away.

coreyg31
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/21/18

Do not agree to send any money, gift cards, phone cards, Apple cards or money to these people. They lure u into thinking they love u within first couple of days. I didnt get screamed, thank God, but held them off long enough to do my research. They are people from Malaysia, claiming to be the person of ur dreams and even use people, aunts, uncles etc, here in the US to collect the funds for them. U can read the warnings on US Embassies website in Kuala Lumpur. Dont send them pictures either, they will in turn use ur pictures to make u think they r a beautiful woman or handsome man to lure u in. They also tell u stories about how theyre in trouble and need your help. Please dont fall for it. The pictures of the 2 girls they sent me are beautiful and really wouldnt mind meeting the real girls, but have no clue who they r or where theyre from. They prey on the divorced and widowed no matter if u can afford or not and they dont care. If u have been scammed, Im sorry, but u can help the US Embassy in Kuala Lumpur, help catch the people, buy giving all ur info on the email address found on the embassy website. Please b careful!!!!!! If I could give a 0 rating, I would

bethef1
1 review
5 helpful votes
4/2/18

Portrayed as a officer of the Army. Saying all the nice things like a lady wants to hear. Thought something wasnt right when I couldnt find after doing a background check. And never could produce any pictures , but the one on Mate1. Then started to Ask for money or i tune cards asking all kinds of thing but when you call them they don't answer they say cant use the phones in Africa on dangerous area. Then say NO to the money and iTune card. Started calling me stingy and no worthless. I actually went to the Army and asked questions. Said they here it several times a day. Scamming. Stay out don't get fool by these scammers Watch out for Jamie Beaty

davidb905
4 reviews
29 helpful votes
4/1/18

Basically any date site that doesn't at least provide an address/location of their "company" then it's almost always a fraud. This same one runs several other sites, and pretty sure they own the one(which i won't name) that hacked my cell phone somehow. Probably due to a very bad review i gave, or maybe for calling out one of there fake "members/profiles"? Either way it's ok since that was really all i used my cheap phone for anyway, but would advise anyone to NEVER use your own for any date site, unless you are very careful!!

jimw98
1 review
8 helpful votes
3/27/18

CRAP 100% It is fake, from overseas, total fake profiles, one of the worst I have ever seen. Even if just casually looking this is the worst site I have ever seen. They should be arrested for what they are being allowed to do .... TOTAL SCAM! AVOID AT ALL COST! Had to cancel my credit cards due to over seas charges ! THE WORST!

johnm1334
1 review
6 helpful votes
3/14/18

I am a senior looking for a significant other and started with Matchseniors.com. As I went through their questions instead of joining Matchsenior I ended up on Mate1.com. After looking at it for a while I decided to do a 3-month subscription. In the first day I received 100+ messages all of them wanting my phone number or wanting to give me theirs... this is the true mark of a scammer. When I called Mate1 customer service, since I was within the window for a refund then sent me an email supposedly to their user-agreement where in section 5 would be the process for a refund. I was never able to get to their user agreement let alone section 5. So I am going to eat the $30 and write a few reviews about my experiences with Mate1. My suggestion would be that you run from Mate1 as fast as you can and avoid MatchSeniors. This is definitely a case of buyer beware. John M.

mollyf10
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/11/18

no question just a comment I joined for a 3 day trial I has so many people contacting me I was elated but of the 20 men that I responded all turned out to be scammers....

wilsonm30
1 review
4 helpful votes
2/8/18

5 STARZ BABY!!! LOVIN MATE1.COM VERY GOOD WEBSITE. I WOULD ALSO RECOMMEND WEJUSTFIT.COM ;-) THANK ME LATER! XXX

jewelk7
1 review
5 helpful votes
2/4/18

Better read their terms and conditions before you use the free trial. I chose a 3-day free trial and checked my visa charge account and they had charged me $49.95. Then I went in and ready their terms and conditions - and yep, there it was. They will charge you full membership if you do not remove your profile before the free trial period ends. I sent them a message, stating what I felt about this and that I am elderly on a fixed income and to refund me. Doubtful that will happen!

joea200
1 review
6 helpful votes
1/30/18

Am not paid member but I see a lot of em from Ghana or Nigeria or Kenya somewhere from Africa also some other state most of em ask for money or asking I tune cards asking all kinds of thing but when you called them they don't answer they say there phone have bad connection can't talk Stay out don't get fool by this scammers

katherinem91
1 review
6 helpful votes
1/22/18

They say it's Free. But that's garbage . Sent me a lot of messages saying I had email's from people . But then when you try to read them they say you can't until you pay for a monthly subscription . DON'THE USE THIS SITE, TO MUCH GARBAGE. The so called men say they are military, then start trying to get you to do things for them. This site gets you to sign up saying it's FREE FOR WOMEN . DON'THE BELIEVE IT

Tip for consumers: DON'T USE THIS SITE, THE PRO FILES ARE BOGUS. THEY TRY TO GET YOU TO DO THINGS FOR THEM. AND YOU DON'THE EVEN KNOW THESE JERKS.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
sheranned
1 review
7 helpful votes
12/4/17

I took advantage of the 3 day trial membership and when I noticed that they charged my credit card for $49 I immediately called. I cancelled and asked for a refund. I was told to read the conditions of the subscription. They wanted a handwritten letter postmarked no later then 72 hours after my phone call, mailed to them with everything included. I did this. Today I got a response saying I was not eligible for a refund because I used the site after my 3 day trial. I went on the site for information as to how to cancel and get a refund. They have a real racket going on here. Most people will not write for a refund and if they do they have another way around it. I will dispute this further. This is taking advantage of people.

cristiana18
1 review
5 helpful votes
11/28/17

Had a good date in my 2nd or 3rd week but things have dried up a bit since. If I compare with the other site I use (wejustfit.com) I'd have to admit that WJF wins cos ive had more dates and even met someone that I was seeing for a while on that site. Bottom line is both sites are good and if you can afford to join two, you could do worse than those. And if you get a chance with a nice person grab it with both hands. Good luck :-)

virginiac39
1 review
8 helpful votes
11/28/17

I'm a woman and all I get in response are scammers. All who have responded to my profile are way too young for me.

michaelb597
1 review
7 helpful votes
11/1/17

BEWARE! DO NOT give your credit card Info to these Scammers!!! This site is a Fraud. Check Reviews & you will discovet the TRUTH re: Mate1
CANCELL MEMBERSHIP ... Good Luck It's Not EZ to do!

timw129
1 review
7 helpful votes
10/30/17

Not sure how sites are allowed to run in our great country, when it clearly is only there to rob the hard working citizens of thefrre hard earned money one way or any! I have a couple extremely persistent individuals that have been in contact with me for quite a few months now ! I truly am starting to believe that there's a possible link between this site and a branch of our government, primarily the FBI
I suspect this do to the fact that a male while try to court a female will sometimes divulge more information about themselves in order to get a possible mate! And I have been conducting a sort of study on the two primary contacts to figure out whether information shared with one can become known to the other. I have concluded that this is absolutely taking place, which indicates to me a database is building a file that then a texting version of the ebot is in place using all collected data to insiure future individuals are always being contacted by the next possible female counterpart that has more and more incommen with the user that is possibly under some sort of investigation for whatever reason. And all information collected ins and will be used against him in a court of law!
So in conclusion I am going to bet that what u are saying once a member is probable cause for a warrant to be issued without u even knowing how
they infiltrated your network safety net! And its completely legal because of a agreement you enter with the dating site and there terms and conditions which allow them to collaborate with state and federal law enforcement! So remember when meeting a possible women on line ,there's a incredibly high likelihood that u could be giving a federal agent information that they gather in a despicable way to infiltrate members of crime networks without them even knowing!

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I asked for a certain age, race and distance and everyone is too old, white and way too far.

By Merlene H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

It's hard to. You have to know their exact username. It won't help most of the time because a lot of them are fake profiles though.

By Robert H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I have reported this to my credit card company and they continue to pay Mate1 for service I did not request. How does a dating service get $49.95 per month when all you requested was a 3 day trial for $1.98. I am going to either cancel my card or my Credit union.

By Merlene H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I paid the dollar 49 for up to 3 days with my checking account for my boyfriend and I tried on the third day to get a hold of them and I couldn't get ahold of anybody and then finally on the fourth day they finally answered the phone for me after it took me waiting for them to answer for over 2 hours

By Chrystal k.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I suspect that the views vary so much because many of them must be affiliated with the business. My experience was terrible. I got lots of people contacting me but the site is very slow in loading one page from another. And I was suspicious of many of the users. What are the chances of 85% of them being Widowed? And why would a man lie about that?

By Brenda T.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Jerome I. Yes. They have billed me $49.95 twice in one month and all I ordered was the 3 day trial.

By Merlene H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the mate1.com staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

5 Photos for mate1.com

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
mate1.com?
Post Review