Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of mate1.com

mate1.com reviews

Is this your business?
126 reviews
4200 Saint-Laurent Blvd Suite 550
Montreal, Quebec H2W 2R2, Canada
upport@mate1.com

126 Reviews From Our Community

All Reviews

shawns185
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/19/19

UNBELIEVABLE!¡!
Thought,,,,,, Maybe, This One Is Different.
NOT!!!!!!!!!!
It Cost Me $40 To Find Out The Truth, Thank God I Bought A Card & Not Use My REAL CARD!!!!
FIRST & LAST TIME..........

Would have rated them with a zero, BUT IT WASN'T A CHOICE!!!!!!

garyo73
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/18/19

What I mean by "salt," is bait because nothing ever happened, at least for me, was a bunch of B.S. "Likes," with no follow through, no calls, and no dates. A good writer can make a person "feel like" they've died and gone to heaven, but that isn't reality if the prose don't come from a "real person." I just can't believe that they do here, as all I've ever experienced is a slew of bogus "like collectors" playing some kind of "hiding behind an e-site," "penpal games." I will never go back on this site again. It was my first and LAST dating site. Hey, I can walk down the street where I live and get my own dates. Bye, bye to Mate 1.

matts472
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/4/19

Signed up for the special 13.95 per month for 3 months, they charged me 39.95 right off the bat. Got a few likes 2 times, likes from girls in other states who where putting their phone #'s in their descriptions. Had one picture of a black girl and description said she was white/caucasian.

garyo71
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/27/19

I went on the site with an open mind and a purse heart, wanting to be able to date and hopefully have a relationship develop because of it. It seemed to me to be more of a "penpal" or "collecting" of "likes" site, as I got zero dates. I felt that I "almost" got one girl to meet with me for coffee, but then that fell through. I just don't believe in these "likes" sincerity. If you like someone's profile and you think that there may be a match between you, then meet that person. You can't find a relationship without meeting them in person. Bad experience, I cancelled my subscription and will never renew it.

tomh628
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/23/19

I've been on it 60 days sent 200 messages and never receive anything back
I gave it 1 because 0 is not a option it is a waste of time and money

michaell999
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/20/19

80 percent or more of the profiles are "borrowed" pictures and contain the cell number of someone asking to text.......If you try to get a refund because you realize it is a scammer haven you will have to snail mail a request to cancel within 3 days..no option to cancel by internet.....dont waste your money

lindah737
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/13/19

What a waste of time and money. Juvenile. Many responses "rather not say" rare to see a photo. Inappropriate titles and wording. I had no idea there were so many losers looking for love.

tonyv74
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/31/18

EACH PERSON LIVES IN 20 STATES OR MORE,,,,,,,, THIS PERSON IS NOT A LEGITIMATE PERSON ON MATE1,,,,,, PHONEY UPLOAD PHOTOS...... STAY AWAY FROM THIS SITE...

chloer23
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/14/18

Not as bad as most people try to make u believe. I personally prefer Mingle2day but just because there are more members in my area. But mate1 is still much better than the average dating site out there which are almost all full of fakers and scammers.

bills591
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
11/25/18

This is another scam site inasmuch as you will get loads of computer generated messages from in house made profiles. Im able to spot fake pics and profiles. Heres how: professional photos of modelesque women having no background stuff. The profiles are characteristically not completed. I live in a rural state which just does not have the diversity this site depicts. Run a deep image search and what you find should be telling. The object of the site operators is to get your money. Thats just one reason i never pay for adult sites. Another reason is im not very keen on sending financial info to off shore high risk credit processors. The legalese in the terms is one sided in their favor. Your lawyer is of no help since its doubtful theyre admitted to a foreign bar or licensed to practice there. You will undoubtedly get screwed thinking you have stopped the automatic billing or deduction from your card account. By using a debit card this outfit requires a bank connected card. I guess everybody knows all of this so thats all i have to say except finding a willing partner is much easier off line in real life.

chrisr508
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/20/18

I joined with a cheap trial membership just to see if this was real. Well, it's absolutely FAKE. I checked out 39 female profiles and 37 of the 39 profiles I did a deep dive on came back with FAKE photos that were pulled from other sources. Two photos came back as inconclusive. This is so fake I think it's got to be criminal fraud on the part of the company.

nikh15
1 review
5 helpful votes
10/8/18

Most of the photos appear to be fake.

The sites gets you to sign up by sending emails stating you have messages. When you go to the messages (after paying the fee) the messages are all Mate 1 match notices; no actual; real messages. Feeling very ripped off with this users experience

sarahm630
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/16/18

Warning this is a fake site that takes your money..non of the profiles on here are real its some phsycho using fake pics and taking money...best to report them to the ftc and bbb....this is huge abuse

theresad110
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/9/18

I sign-up for the 3 day trial and one of the users sent me a picture of his penis. I cannot believe the site approved the photo! Either they do not have a good review system or they don't care. Either way, if you're looking for a site that takes match making serious, THIS IS NOT IT! Apparently, if you're looking for a site that is more of a hookup or a porno site, then I highly recommend this site. Absolutely disgusting!

williamd361
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/13/18

have talked to 2 women in the last 2 weeks - checked are code phone #s - one New York - one Oklahoma - 1 in Nigeria - 1 in Cyprus - after 4-6 days needed money for plane ticket to spend life with me cause they love me so much?????? Have been with women for years that don't love me this much - SCAM

rafaelr55
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/20/18

A total scam do not. Do not waste their time. All profiles are fake from women in Ghana, Nigeria, Cypress, etc.... they all wanted one thing your information and for you to send them money. Careful if you dont want your identity stolen.

silencert
1 review
5 helpful votes
5/3/18

I have been on Mate1 for about 3 weeks, out of over 1200 messages, not a one has been real. Even if I were The Rock himself, I wouldn't want to dig thru thousands of fakes!

Horrible site - stay away.

coreyg31
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/21/18

Do not agree to send any money, gift cards, phone cards, Apple cards or money to these people. They lure u into thinking they love u within first couple of days. I didnt get screamed, thank God, but held them off long enough to do my research. They are people from Malaysia, claiming to be the person of ur dreams and even use people, aunts, uncles etc, here in the US to collect the funds for them. U can read the warnings on US Embassies website in Kuala Lumpur. Dont send them pictures either, they will in turn use ur pictures to make u think they r a beautiful woman or handsome man to lure u in. They also tell u stories about how theyre in trouble and need your help. Please dont fall for it. The pictures of the 2 girls they sent me are beautiful and really wouldnt mind meeting the real girls, but have no clue who they r or where theyre from. They prey on the divorced and widowed no matter if u can afford or not and they dont care. If u have been scammed, Im sorry, but u can help the US Embassy in Kuala Lumpur, help catch the people, buy giving all ur info on the email address found on the embassy website. Please b careful!!!!!! If I could give a 0 rating, I would

bethef1
1 review
5 helpful votes
4/2/18

Portrayed as a officer of the Army. Saying all the nice things like a lady wants to hear. Thought something wasnt right when I couldnt find after doing a background check. And never could produce any pictures , but the one on Mate1. Then started to Ask for money or i tune cards asking all kinds of thing but when you call them they don't answer they say cant use the phones in Africa on dangerous area. Then say NO to the money and iTune card. Started calling me stingy and no worthless. I actually went to the Army and asked questions. Said they here it several times a day. Scamming. Stay out don't get fool by these scammers Watch out for Jamie Beaty

davidb905
4 reviews
30 helpful votes
4/1/18

Basically any date site that doesn't at least provide an address/location of their "company" then it's almost always a fraud. This same one runs several other sites, and pretty sure they own the one(which i won't name) that hacked my cell phone somehow. Probably due to a very bad review i gave, or maybe for calling out one of there fake "members/profiles"? Either way it's ok since that was really all i used my cheap phone for anyway, but would advise anyone to NEVER use your own for any date site, unless you are very careful!!

jimw98
1 review
8 helpful votes
3/27/18

CRAP 100% It is fake, from overseas, total fake profiles, one of the worst I have ever seen. Even if just casually looking this is the worst site I have ever seen. They should be arrested for what they are being allowed to do .... TOTAL SCAM! AVOID AT ALL COST! Had to cancel my credit cards due to over seas charges ! THE WORST!

johnm1334
1 review
7 helpful votes
3/14/18

I am a senior looking for a significant other and started with Matchseniors.com. As I went through their questions instead of joining Matchsenior I ended up on Mate1.com. After looking at it for a while I decided to do a 3-month subscription. In the first day I received 100+ messages all of them wanting my phone number or wanting to give me theirs... this is the true mark of a scammer. When I called Mate1 customer service, since I was within the window for a refund then sent me an email supposedly to their user-agreement where in section 5 would be the process for a refund. I was never able to get to their user agreement let alone section 5. So I am going to eat the $30 and write a few reviews about my experiences with Mate1. My suggestion would be that you run from Mate1 as fast as you can and avoid MatchSeniors. This is definitely a case of buyer beware. John M.

mollyf10
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/11/18

no question just a comment I joined for a 3 day trial I has so many people contacting me I was elated but of the 20 men that I responded all turned out to be scammers....

wilsonm30
1 review
4 helpful votes
2/8/18

5 STARZ BABY!!! LOVIN MATE1.COM VERY GOOD WEBSITE. I WOULD ALSO RECOMMEND WEJUSTFIT.COM ;-) THANK ME LATER! XXX

jewelk7
1 review
5 helpful votes
2/4/18

Better read their terms and conditions before you use the free trial. I chose a 3-day free trial and checked my visa charge account and they had charged me $49.95. Then I went in and ready their terms and conditions - and yep, there it was. They will charge you full membership if you do not remove your profile before the free trial period ends. I sent them a message, stating what I felt about this and that I am elderly on a fixed income and to refund me. Doubtful that will happen!

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I asked for a certain age, race and distance and everyone is too old, white and way too far.

By Merlene H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

It's hard to. You have to know their exact username. It won't help most of the time because a lot of them are fake profiles though.

By Robert H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I have reported this to my credit card company and they continue to pay Mate1 for service I did not request. How does a dating service get $49.95 per month when all you requested was a 3 day trial for $1.98. I am going to either cancel my card or my Credit union.

By Merlene H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I paid the dollar 49 for up to 3 days with my checking account for my boyfriend and I tried on the third day to get a hold of them and I couldn't get ahold of anybody and then finally on the fourth day they finally answered the phone for me after it took me waiting for them to answer for over 2 hours

By Chrystal k.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Just to take your money.i emailed them and they are a scam

By Tom H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I suspect that the views vary so much because many of them must be affiliated with the business. My experience was terrible. I got lots of people contacting me but the site is very slow in loading one page from another. And I was suspicious of many of the users. What are the chances of 85% of them being Widowed? And why would a man lie about that?

By Brenda T.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Jerome I. Yes. They have billed me $49.95 twice in one month and all I ordered was the 3 day trial.

By Merlene H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the mate1.com staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

6 Photos for mate1.com

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
mate1.com?
Post Review