We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
  • Bookmark

    Malwarebytes

Corporate Values

Overview

Malwarebytes has a consumer rating of 2.32 stars from 102 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Consumers complaining about Malwarebytes most frequently mention customer support, credit card and many years problems. Malwarebytes ranks 28th among Antivirus Software sites.

  • Service
    6
  • Value
    6
  • Shipping
    2
  • Returns
    4
  • Quality
    6
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 0%
Positive
0
Neutral
0
Negative
4
View ratings trends
See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • It is not an anti-virus program and does not provide real time protection.

Critical highlights

  • Your product isn't bad, your customer support and lack of business ethics are the problem.
  • I have been aware of Malwarebytes for ages and I bought premium version.
How would you rate Malwarebytes?
Top Positive Review

“Excellent Software, well worth it.”

Pablo M.
10/21/19

I have been a paid user for the last 2 years and it is definitely worth it. It has detected and blocked so many spyware/virus sites. I'm just glad I got it.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Malwarebytes Failure”

Tom A.
1/13/21

While doing an update of Malwarebytes, the software allowed in all sorts of spam and pushing. Contacted Malwarebytes for help. Received a support ticket, and that was it. No customer contact or support. Requested my premium account be closed. They sent two downloads (no explanations, reasons). Download files and they went directly to file directories. First time to experience a download doing this; frightening. Still no contatc or customer support from Malwarebytes. Can not recommend this product.

See critical reviews

Reviews (102)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

customer support (3) premium version (4) program (31) time protection (7) customer service (5) credit card (5) tech support (3) emails (4)
toma626
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 13th, 2021

While doing an update of Malwarebytes, the software allowed in all sorts of spam and pushing. Contacted Malwarebytes for help. Received a support ticket, and that was it. No customer contact or support. Requested my premium account be closed. They sent two downloads (no explanations, reasons). Download files and they went directly to file directories. First time to experience a download doing this; frightening. Still no contatc or customer support from Malwarebytes. Can not recommend this product.

Tip for consumers:
I can not recommend Malwarebytes.

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
stephenh621
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 9th, 2020

I bought this stupid product. Could not sign in or register the KEY. Certainly not a friendly product. Wasted over an hour of my time.

pablom67
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
October 21st, 2019

I have been a paid user for the last 2 years and it is definitely worth it. It has detected and blocked so many spyware/virus sites. I'm just glad I got it.

leanettet
3 reviews
14 helpful votes
October 12th, 2017

Downloaded this mainly to remove the bs comet. Yahoo extension malware. Absolute joke. Sure it scans, the same as any other "malware" software, but basically ends there. Only allowing a quarantine of alleged infections or warning, but won't activate the actual Web protection until actual purchase. Sorry, but I'm not forking over $40 for a scape ghost scan/protection "sampler". Show me that it actually works, and THEN maybe I'll purchase.

robertl324
58 reviews
1,406 helpful votes
February 26th, 2018

I actually kno little about the dot org one except it's in Canada, and Malwarebytes.com is in California. The later is the one I know and like, but this one has terrible reviews, and yet I see some of the same ones it Both Places!

That's the main reason for this review; to clue people that these two separate companies are being confused... And yes. COM has no phone customer service, but thru email I got fast and good service, while this. ORG one does, and from the reviews is useless.

Obviously they are Not the same, so check out Malwarebytes. COM, the one in California.

billc738
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 10th, 2020

Been using Malwarebytes for many years. It's flagged the odd thing over the years.

The current software upgrade finished with the message "Restart now or it will automatically restart in 10 minutes".

Dear Malwarebytes, that is an unacceptable ultimatum.

cliffh51
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
December 29th, 2019

Horrible product. Constantly sends me on-screen reminders to install the latest version - every day all day. At first I tried to install the "latest" version but it still reminds me every day of another "newest" version. I even tried to check the box for automatic updates. I have notifications turned off and still constant interruptions to my day. Then it is almost impossible to find someone to contact about this issue. Took me 10 minutes searching just to find a form which probably will not be read by anyone. I dont have time for this.

jays763
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 17th, 2020

There was a time when Malwarebytes was the go-to save for most if not all spyware problems I had. For many years it saved me from windows 98 thru windows 7 bugs. It could even smash the ransomware hold on my system the handful of times I got it.

But that was many years ago.

Today I installed what is says after installation as " Premium Trial 4. 2. 1., even though all I wanted and downloaded was the "free version" option and wanted nothing to do with the Premium, thats how it installs anyway.

And it still like past few years versions not only never detects anything (like it used to) but it's become a pain with the forced trial of the Premium that you can no longer opt out of like in previous versions I tried. I check back about once a year or two to see if it's actually become a working program again but only the interface changes - - becoming more bloated & annoying every year.

I don't need another un-helpful program sitting on my pc constantly accessing the web all day. Go back to the old program and update it. For me it's just another useless program among the many that find nothing.

rp189
1 review
2 helpful votes
March 18th, 2019
• Updated review

So after a few emails from support (*******@malwarebytes.com) I got this straightened out and I gave them the pft duh advice of putting support email on website for free. They thanked me, gave me a free year of MB and I got it all up and going again. All looks good now.

Malwarebytes has no support. Period
February 27th, 2019
• Previous review

Just paid another year but messed up email and now im screwed. No support number or email means i just wasted my money. I will never get this $#*! product again

billp710
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 22nd, 2021

2-15-2020: Purchased Malwarebytes (5 computers) "plus" Privacy ref. # 1399XXXX. All is working well with no issues.

01-04-2021: I emailed tech support with a question saying my interned speed 85mpbs X 45mbps normal here. However, when privacy mode is activated the internet speed drops to 16mbps X 18mbps. I also sent an image of that. This generated ticket 3307XXXX. See below

01-05-2021: Tech support emailed a repair tool link. Directions were followed and it sent it was sent to tech support successfully.

01-21-2021: Support now emails asking what email address is the account under. I responded *******@xxxxxxx and sent image of paid subscription and activation key code.

01-29-2021: I receive an unexpected email from support ( Adam V.), I've gone ahead and cancelled your subscription and initiated a refund. (I went ballistic.)

Ever since 01-30-2021 I have replied in ref. To ticket xxxxxxxx 3 times asking. Why this Subscription was Cancelled and Refunded when that was never a requested.

This all started 01-04-2021 with a simple question, tech support later sends a repair tool, a few days later someone irresponsible terminates the account... WHY?

Today 02-11-2021 ticket xxxxxxxx is generated and previous tickets have never been resolved. Now you have loyal customer of many years dealing with Malwarebytes Support for SEVEN WEEKS, now a VERY irritated customer and today you send me a email about a damn news letter and you cannot locate and my account? I've already sent you twice … Paid Order Ref. # 1399xxxx.

cheryla47
1 review
8 helpful votes
March 16th, 2017

Has become a problem product. Protection layers always shutting off. The worst thing they did was to eliminate the free standing product (discs). When I installed the discs, I had no problem, but since using the up-to-date version from download, I have had nothing but problems. Tech support suggests things, but it doesn't resolve issues.

ericf81
1 review
10 helpful votes
January 16th, 2018

I purchased Malwarebytes Premium about 7 months ago. Lately, I keep getting a pop-up window every few minutes alerting me that Real Time Web Protection is turned off. However, I am unable to turn it back on! Now my computer has been compromised by a virus and will cost me about $250 to rectify! Of course, Malwarebytes does not have a telephone number for help. Hey, Malwarebytes: BYTE ME!

nanm6
2 reviews
13 helpful votes
January 28th, 2018

Wrangled with "Stew" over cancelling automatic renew.
Claimed he couldn't find my account.
Wanted the license number and key.
I deleted it and the program long ago.
The website as NO WAY to contact a real person.
EMAIL: *******@malwarebytes.com
It was a shot in the dark that paid off.
I reminded "Stew" I now had email evidence for my credit card company to cancel all future transaction attempts.
Suddenly he found my account.
Cancelled everything per my request.
Stay FAR away from this company.

professorm
7 reviews
48 helpful votes
August 28th, 2014

This is a legitimate site, i had tried it and have not uninstalled it since the day i got it

Tip for consumers:
good ware

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
missig1
1 review
14 helpful votes
April 18th, 2017

Full 2 weeks before my premium expired, they were constantly bombarding me with notices to renew - I did not want before it was time, not to loose the 2 weeks - so they switched off features such as updating, scans, and who knows what else - eventually I had to download a free version for 2 weeks (they promise a 30 day trial period! But get only 14 days! - an other one contravening the trade description act!) to be protected;
Needless to say am now buying an other make! I'd give it zero if I could.

charlesd138
1 review
11 helpful votes
October 26th, 2017

No customers service. No 1-800 number a human to talk with. If you have an issue they do nothing. The product sucks and really conflicted with other programs on my computer. I have to remove it from my computer 2 weeks after purchasing it. Also 1 year later they automatically bill your credit card for a 2nd year then they fight you when you ask for your money back. A very terrible company and product! Charles

westleyc1
1 review
8 helpful votes
March 18th, 2017

I used to like Malwarebytes Anti-malware and recommended it to clients. After finding out that they removed Iobit Advanced Systemcare 10.2 from my computer since they seem to think that it is a PUP. I removed MBAM from my pc and am not going to recommend their product to my clients anymore unless they fix their mistake. I trust Iobit and use several of their products. Malwarebytes is no-longer trustworthy. It piss's me off that their software which I still have a Premier membership for at least 140 something days is now useless. Buyer Beware!

tonyh107
1 review
8 helpful votes
September 12th, 2017

I was using the free version which allows you to scan your Mac on command. I decided buy for $40 annual fee the full automatic scanning version. Don't do it! A process called RTProtectionDaemon will suck up your machine. Many folks have this problem. Hard to imagine the even tested this. I took me a while but I finally got it uninstalled. (You have to download the install package - inside you have an uninstall choice. Bad product.

richardd212
1 review
19 helpful votes
February 15th, 2018

ATTN:
Kevin Goodwin
Director, Malwarebytes Consumer Support

This is the first, of many, posts to online forums where I will share my dismal experience with Malwarebytes. This will continue unless and until you honor your promise. Period.

You have a lot of pissed off customers. I am now one of them unless you correct this problem. It is beyond me why any organization today would risk their well-being with such poor service. Your product isn't bad, your customer support and lack of business ethics are the problem.

Should I keep posting? There are also other remedies available should you choose to ignore me hoping I'll go away. Your move.
==============================================================================
Posted February 13,2018

Where do I begin. As soon as I purchased a subscription, I started having problems with Real-Time Protection. I emailed, repeatedly, to no avail. At the time, you were able to call their support line, but only received voicemail, which they never monitored. Now they don't even offer phone support. I guess that tells you something about their claim to provide quality customer support.

I eventually was able to solve the problem - on my own - and then, magically, "Andy" with Malwarebytes contacted me to see about resolving the problem. I informed him I was able to resolve the issue, and he promised, in writing, to extend my license period for the amount of time I experienced problems, plus another six (6) months. This was last June 2017.

Now I am getting daily popups notifying me that my license expires (now in 11 days). I reached out to Malwarebytes including all of the previous emails so they could see the history of the problem, and that I was not simply attempting to get something for nothing. The only reply was from "Jeremy" who provided a list of "fixes" for the real-time protection problem. I replied and said the problem had been resolved, and that the primary issue was the license extension. No response.

I have sent several emails asking for a reply, and also addressed one to Kevin Goodwin, Director, Malwarebytes Customer Support. The response? Nothing. Nada. I even asked in my emails if they cared about their reputation since they seemed to have a problem providing customer support. Still. Crickets.

It is absolutelty pitiful they way they run their business. Anyone thinking about subscribing to their service; don't. Not unless you do not require any support.

Bottom line: good news travels. Bad news travels fast. I will share this story with anyone who cares to listen.

marting15
4 reviews
6 helpful votes
December 12th, 2012

Malwarebytes is a site that offers Anti-Malware software for cleaning up those little nasties that creep through. I have used the Free version of this software and always seems to get the PC running smoothly again after any hiccups.

johnw655
8 reviews
4 helpful votes
May 14th, 2017

I have been using Malwarebytes for years. Used the free version for quite a few years, always with either Norton or MacFee. Put the free version on over 50 different laptops and desktops in my clients compters. Woried just fine for us.
I am running Norton Security Deluxe 2017 with Latest Malware bytes. Work great together. My Malware was just like Norton, both upgraded the older to the newer with no interaction from me.
I highly recommend this product.

laurencew15
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
February 4th, 2018

What a piece of junk stop my computer this weekend only found out through searching my programs. Apparently there was an error issued Jan 27 that ram was being eaten up by the program it killed my PC. Found this;
https://forums.malwarebytes.com/topic/220528-web-blocking-ram-usage-how-to-recover-home-users/
Yah you dim- a- holes could have done an update or email to warn people about this problem, Then you shut down any conversation regarding it. COVER-UP..

paulp190
2 reviews
17 helpful votes
January 27th, 2018

They really need to up their game. Recent update borked all machines for all users. Not Recommended.

ad5170
1 review
10 helpful votes
September 13th, 2015

I bought and paid for Malwarebytes and ran it. It cleaned the computer apparently including its own executable, which couldn't be found in any folder, directory, or registry search after running. So I'm a sucker. The company wanted to fix the problem but I had spent over half a day fussing it and I was very done with it. Moving on...

zoij
1 review
4 helpful votes
June 23rd, 2013

The program is not a virus. It is truely a legit website and will help clean your computer from the fake ICE virus.

Q&A (28)

Answer:

As I wrote in my review, the freeware version deleted an important file from my PaintShop Pro program. My worry about downloading and using Malwarebytes is that it might inadvertently remove a file critical to my operating system.

By William S.
See more answers (4)
Answer:

If you get an email eluding to something you've done on your computer, then YES. If you have Windows, go to task manager, go to the Processes tab and read every line. Look for a suspicious process (unsigned) running on your computer. Google Search anything you don't understand, or are unfamiliar with.

By Nan M.
Answer:

MalwareBytes is installing Windows 10 files in to incompatible Systems. If you HAVE Windows 10, and still get hosed, please let me know. Thanks. Nan

By Nan M.
Answer:

RE: my previous question. I checked again and my Malwarebytes Premium 3.0 states on the icon "Its disabled."...

By Suzanne S.
Answer:

Download=Malwarebytes anti-rootkit remover and run it once it clears the infection install=Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit -powerlinks infection is a powerful trojan not easy to remove.

By duncan l.
Answer:

I had all the similar problems as you 2 years ago, the company was going through a complete change over, don't drop this company as they are the tops in the country for what they do, I can send you the company Techs e-mails to me that walked me through the very same problems and she fixed it, yea, I know, been to the "India" thing too, you don't need to go there trust me on that one, stay clear of that. If you want that fix, here's my e-mail address and give me yours plus your exact problem and I'll send you the very same e-mails I got that got me all squared away, I've had no problems for 2 years now. My e-mail is tonydeleano@cox.net I'll see if I can help you.

By tony d.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Malwarebytes staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Malwarebytes protects you against malware, ransomware, and other advanced online threats that have made antivirus obsolete and ineffective.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Malwarebytes?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Chrome extension

2.3
101 reviews
Have a question about Malwarebytes?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business