Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

Light Grey Design reviews

Is this your business?
7 reviews
21897 S Diamond Lake Rd #400
Rogers, MN 55374, US
Tel: 888.750.5045
service@lightgreydesign.com

7 Reviews From Our Community

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

petew11
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/30/14

Buyer BEWARE! They advertise they are a faith based company and yet they do NOT deliver on their word. Don't ship as promise, short ship and you are out money.

kimm38
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/30/13

I attempted to purchase a chair from this company. I received the run around for over a month. I sent numerous emails and was responded to very unprofessionally every time. The CEO finally contacted me via email and stated that a customer had just cancelled their order and he would send the chair to me, but needed my security code on my credit card. This sent up an immediate red flag. I had already made this purchase, so why would they need my security code now. I obviously did not provide it. Instead I did some research on this company. I am not going to state all my finding, but enter Light Grey Design Complaints in your search engine. The top link should be the BBB of Minnesota. Very interesting report. The following links have a lot of supporting information as well. I wrote him back attaching the BBB link and informed him that I did not wish to continue my order and to refund my money ASAP. I received a condescending reply followed by numerous emails well past midnight threatening me with legal action for defamation of character. I think he has done that all on his own. Just make sure you research companies before you buy from them. He has many online companies, so make sure you are not the victim of one of them.

sylviac4
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/4/11

We too were taken to the cleaners by Urbanhom, now known as LightGreyDesign.

Our nightmare began two years ago (and still has not ended) when we purchased an Outdoor Lounge Set. In addition, we paid extra for a matching ottoman and custom made covers for each pc. of furniture.
After waiting four months our set arrives. Wrong color wicker, wrong color cushions, no ottoman, no covers. The set was very well manufactured, cushions firm, material for the cushions great, truly top notch. Shane agreed the order was incorrect and placed a re-order for the correct color fabric and wicker. He also assured us that our re-order would include the ottoman and custom covers. He also gave us a $585 credit for the mixup.
Six months later our re-order arrives and it is junk! The Lounge Set had smaller dimensions than the original and did not match his web site dimensions. It looked like miniature furniture. The wicker was threaded black as opposed to flat black, material on the cushions was cheap, flimsy and was already sagging. The foam cushions were soft and mushy. Once you sat in them you pretty much sank to the bottom. The chairs wobbled when you sat down, even with the screw in levelers. This time we received the ottoman but still no custom made covers as promised. I now know why he was able to give us a credit. He switched manufacturers and this Lounge Set was nowhere close to the quality of the original set.
Shane once again agreed there was an error, placing a third order and his e-mail stating " hopefully the third time is a charm". After constant phone calls, and e-mails ( responses from Shane, Jake, etc..being few and far between) there were always excuses. The new set was still being made, on the way, was at customs etc... it was all a lie. Our third re-order was placed in Apr. 2010, he sends us an e-mail in Oct. 2010 that his manufacturer sold our set to someone else and all he could do is "express our sincere apologies" and was never able to get hold of him again.
Shane claims in his web site that they have improved many of their problems that they had in the past, However I find this hard to believe. Many of the 35 complaints at the BBB of MN & ND are recent, Apr., May, and June 2011. He has an F rating, and the BBB can't even get him to respond.
I have filed with the BBB of MN & ND, AG of MI, AG of MN., in the process of filing with the FTC and FBI. I will also contact our local news station, which will work with its affiliate in the MN area. I am very glad that I kept all correspondance, and original website photos. As I have learned, he does not tell truths when corresponding.
Save yourself a major headache, and spend your hard earned cash with a reputable company.

brendac3
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
4/20/11

BEWARE! This is a fraudulent company. They were previously called Urban Hom. I now know why they keep changing their business name. I had to file a dispute through my credit card company to get my money back. This company will take your money and will not deliver your furniture. They will not reply to emails, answer phones, or reply to voicemail once you have placed your order. I wish I had read the reviews from other customers who had the same experience before I ordered from them. I'm just thankful that I ordered with my credit card and that my credit card company handled the dispute.

johnb61
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/5/11

WARNING!!! - I would not order anything from this website at all. We have ordered 2 items from this company. Item #1 was promised to be in stock and delivered in 7-10 days.... It was never delivered and 2 months later we had to DISPUTE the charges with Visa to get our money back... Item #2 was not in stock but promised within 10-12 weeks.... It has also not arrived!! Beware of this company. No one answers the phone, they have lame excuse after excuse .... Go to EBAY you can find the exact same items for sale by HONEST companies who abide by EBAY selling rules. LightGreyDesign.com would likely be kicked off ebay for non-delivery of products. If you don't believe me, check out their Amazon.com ranking... I assume lightgreydesign.com will be kicked off Amazon very soon... Buy your item somewhere else. Ebay has all the same products at the same price.

wernerd
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
2/28/11

In June 2010 I ordered a Wagenfeld Bauhaus Lamp from "http://www.urbanhom.com". A few months ago that website has been closed down and the identical site is now advertizing at "http://www.lightgreydesign.com/" - including the use of the same listed telephone numbers. As of today I have not received the lamp. Email inquiries generate an automatic response which is never followed up with a substantive answer. Calls are never answered. As tempting as the price and item displayed is, do not waste your money.

johnd49
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
1/11/11

This company used to be known as Urban Hom. Make sure to read the reviews on that company at http://www.sitejabber.com/reviews/www.urbanhom.com before making any purchasing decisions.

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the Light Grey Design staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Light Grey Design?
Post Review