Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of KickStarter

KickStarter reviews

Is this your business?
138 reviews
155 Rivington Street
New York, NY 10002
Tel: 96682244657
support@kickstarter.com

138 Reviews From Our Community

Service
10
Value
10
Shipping
6
Returns
7
Quality
9

All Reviews

briang337
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/21/19

I backed a project and then the creator had to change to no profit to complete the project. I received no rewards nor my money back. Kickstarter does not help at all if there are problems with the creator. You are just donating your money with hopes that the creator is honest. I will never back a project again.

tonyd183
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/28/18

Avoid Kickstarter.
I invested in a project.
The Creator has failed to communicate since early August, now it is almost November and the project is 4 months late. Kickstarter basically takes the investors money and absolves itself of any and all responsibility to ensure the creator even talks to their investors let deliver on their promise. The project I backed has over 1200 comments - the vast majority are negative along the lines of "at least talk to us" or "where is my xxx", a few are "I have received it but it does not work".
I have rattled Kickstarters cage a few times asking them to do something - they steadfastly refuse and just say read our Terms and Conditions.
In my opinion it is tantamount to fraud.
They take our money and run.
To make matters worse the Creator is seeking funding on another project. Despite their failures on the other one Kickstarter has allowed it.
HOW CAN THAT BE RIGHT.

toms698
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/24/18

I've backed 10 projects. Four resulted in receiving what was promised.

LVL BSX is the worst with over $1M in backing and 18 months late.

No customer support from Kickstarter at all.

Waiting for last two projects to fulfill or disappear so I can finally delete this app and Kickstarter from my mind.

glorias47
2 reviews
10 helpful votes
10/21/18

I backed two projects, one not received, the other was two items ,both which did not function. Kickstarter told me to contact the creators....No surprise that I received no answer to my numerous emails. Kickstarter then suggestsThe burned backers resort to social media. In summary...kickstarter promotes projects, helps to take your money, and if you receive nothing, then they do not feel obliged to step-in. So it is wild west and encourages fraud.
-I will NEVER BACK ANOTHER KICKSTART PROJECT AND WILL DISCOURAGE EVERYONE I KNOW FROM DOING SO. BEST TO WAIT TILL PROJECTS ARE ON THE MARKET, SO IF YOU RECEIVE A NON-FUNCTIONING ITEM, YOU AT LEAST GET YOUR MONEY BACK OR A REPLACEMENT

benjaminb138
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
8/30/18

Kickstarter supports known scams. They allow companies to run 2nd and 3rd campaigns knowing they have not fulfilled their first campaign. I cannot urge anyone looking at Kickstarter to JUST WAIT!!!! Most of these companies do NOT finish their product. The ones that do always just charge the same amount for the finished product as they did on Kickstarter, which is supposed to be a discount. At least if you wait you won't lose your money. Please don't use kickstarter folks.

gohm
28 reviews
28 helpful votes
8/22/18

This site itself is really bad. It is unregulated and all it provides is a platform for projects to collect money.

The first project I backed never gave any updates and was supposed to give the "reward" 1.5 years ago. To date, I have not heard anything from the creator.

I considered contacting Kickstarter, but didn't, as it states in its terms of use that the project creator is completely responsible for delivering results and Kickstarter will not be liable for any poor results. The backer also has the responsibility to chase the creator if no results are shown.

If you're lucky to get your "reward", it's not because of any miracle that Kickstarter has worked. The success can only be attributed to responsible and upright project creators.

rajp39
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/24/18

Kiskstarter once rejected my project on the ground it should cover only ceretain sectors (e.g education), the upon resubmission after modifying the project, rejected again saying, consult rule book (no body mentioned which rule in the book is being violated). no customer support, no phone, no chat line ( it s like saying just get lost). Ok you guys lost a decent opportunity, where I have over 300,000 strong target mailing list, who would have loved to contribute.

Raj Popli
www.intlkrma.io

matthewm206
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/29/18

I have backed 4 projects not one has been on time or even close. I am currently waiting on an item that was supposed to ship in November of last year. They just shipped a few hundred. I am backer 1255 I might see mine in a year or never! Anyway your getting a break for backing the new product. I paid $89 for a hub from satachi that was to retail for $149 guess what it sells for now! Let somebody else be the guinea pig and front the money. Really Kickstarter should set better guidelines with realistic goals from project creators. Waste of time and aggravating. Wait for the finished product and the real life review of it. You will be happier and probably won't pay any more.

maxl44
23 reviews
36 helpful votes
2/21/18

I get as many users scammed, we claim and complain to Kickstarter several times. Customer Support do not give us refunds as gofundme that protect users and refund users if you get scammed. We ended up sad and after a year a lot of banks refuse to give us refund so we lost our money and also any hope to get help from this guys.
Stay away from Kickstarter they are OK with scams.

thomasd133
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/15/18

I have actually received the projects that I backed. But some of them are junk and Kickstarter says 'talk to manufacturer' and Manufacturer says 'Sorry you're not satisfied' and that's it. One advertised "three lamps" when it was one lamp with three shades. Total BUYER BEWARE!. My Misen knives, however are great. Won't use Kickstarter again.

garrettw17
3 reviews
23 helpful votes
1/15/18

I noticed a lot of these reviews are from the backer respective, really those complaints should probably be taken up with the company's launching those products and failing to fulfill. Speaking from a creator who's launched a product / used the platform. The overall experience was great and the tools provided useful. We didn't have to contact the team for any problems, so not direct experience dealing with the customer service team.

smiths50
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/6/18

Although they have their own screening process where KickStarter choose the projects that "sell," they claim no responsibility for the failed projects. It is the backers who are supposed to take all the responsibility and users/backers have no way of protecting themselves from frauds. KickStarter's practice is very much ethically questionable.

chrisr272
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/15/17

I was a big Kickstarter supporter but now refuse to back anything. There are too many scammers and no support from Kickstarter for scammed backers. Stay far far away from anything Kickstarter.

draganb1
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/3/17

I was really impressed by a couple of german guys, who managed to fit a solar powered engine into a fidget spinner. The idea amused me so much, that i think, it is worth to be mentioned here. If you like, visit https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/195577569/youla-the-brand-new-solar-powered-spinner?
For myself, it is totally worth it, to get a kickstarter account and order some for my family. Enjoy!!

sharir12
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
7/22/17

I backed a project called Edible Cutlery that failed. I never received the goods promised or a refund. Kickstarter does not support the backers and offers no refunds for failed projects. I would stay far away.

philipl38
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/19/17

I realize it's not the fault of kickstarter but the last three project I backed have yet to deliver. One has shut down the website, the other 2 are now claiming ship dates well into the future. From now on I will just wait until I can buy the product outright.

barryc48
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/18/17

KS knowingly allow fraud to be committed on their site and flat out refuse to help backers.
DO NOT use the site for any reason. Regardless of how professional a project looks it's probably a scam.

bradn14
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
7/16/17

I literally hate them with every fiber of my being. Their website is ridiculously hard to navigate. I has been 1 hour and I havent been able to accomplish to simple task I came here for.

larryl24
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
7/4/17

I was a backer for the Trunskster which is a fraud. Kickstarter are no help and do not want to help. They are happy to take the money but do not want to vet the outfits. They are a part of it and should take up their act.

kv45
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/27/17

Literally the worst software product. The pledge made was for $499. Someone from the company emailed me today after less than 2 years that I needed to renew my subscription. A series of email was sent back and forth to which the company CEO, I presume, told me that they are shutting down the platform. This is after being backed for more than $30,000. I'm curious to know where the money went. They over promise and under deliver. Absolutely make sure you want to pledge money for something before doing it.

Service
Value
Quality
tinam137
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/9/17

I purchased an item for $73 last October and still waiting. Excuses about delays. Excuses about they sent it out and must have gotten lost. Keep asking for my address. One excuse after the other. Still waiting after they said they wete goinv to send put and asked for my address again.

joed149
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/24/17

I bought a Bakblade but they never sent it I contacted them but they gave me the run around total ripoff don't waste your money these people are thieves!

haroldh44
1 review
5 helpful votes
5/15/17

They provide quite a bit of protection to ensure creators get their money and even help defend against chargebacks while at the same time sending form letters to backers that complain that the creator has disappeared with the money. Great concept but terrible implementation. Too bad they don't release the funds to the creator based on performance in intervals rather than all up front. I have had a few creators just flat take the money and run.

peggyg20
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/10/17

Noria project; small a/c: bought four units a year ago. Paid $2500. Promised delivery date March of 2017. Got an email last week saying, 'we are on schedule to ship your products in October of 2017.'Totally disingenuous. A transparent business would have said something like, sorry, there has been a delay. The implicit lie in the email is what, more than the delay itself, has made me lose confidence in this 'start-up'. To that end I would like an honest discussion of what is going on, whether the a/c is no longer a viable project (in which case I will have central air installed for next year) or why there is a delay, f. Please be realistic and honest, not patronizing and vague and 'hopeful'. I sent an email asking the reason for the delay and have received no reply. I looked up Noria online and found that they are still selling the a/c's to 'investors' but for far less money than I have paid them. Please reply. It is common courtesy and a good business strategy.

orvalw8
1 review
7 helpful votes
4/16/17

I a have had one good and one okay experience and the rest were much worse. From late deliveries to out right scams claiming their finances were stolen, Kickstarter has gone down the toilet. Great idea if they could eep the criminals out, maybe someone could make that a project.

1 rating was submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I would like to hear from anyone who has received money from Kickstarter.

By Carol B.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Kickstarter takes NO responsibility when a participant doesn't deliver on their promise. I think this happens all of the time. Kickstarter's response is "read our rules - we are not responsible." They do NOTHING. They don't get involved even to the extent of urging the participant to follow through, publishing the names of bad participants etc. I think if Kickstarter took a more active role in pursuing the participants who just "take the money and run" or at least actively publicizing the names of those participants, people might be less likely to renege on their promises. Instead, there are no consequences whatsoever to the participants who just do not deliver. The guy I foolishly gave money to, Scott Crider, was just putting together a book of photographs that the "investors" sent him. What could be easier? He wasn't inventing anything or manufacturing anything etc. He just spent the money and delivered nothing. Kickstarter's response to all of the complaints was "read our rules; we are not responsible." Never again.

By L W.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Avoid them like the plague. In theory, kickstarter and indiegogo seem like a great idea but if you think about what is actually transpiring, you're better off creating your own website for your particular project.

By Jimmy B.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Investors beware. I've had one good experience with Kickstarter with Exploding Kittens game, but another fairly poor one. I've learned to research the Creator before pledging my money because there is no buyer protection and you're at the mercy of the competence and integrity of the Creator.

By Sascha H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

let me put it like this...two of the projects arrived a year later than promised, so if you don care which birthday your sons receives the game..go for it! If the game is not as described, does not fuction, or never arrives...you will not get any help from kickstarter . Might as well throw your money out the window. It is worse than gambling.

By Gloria S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I don't know about the life planner but the way kickstarter works is you give them your money then wait for them to make the product and send it to you. If they fail (for whatever reason) you don't get your money back. The project I supported raised 2.3 million and a year and half later one of the partners left the country and everyone got screwed. I say save your money and see if the company comes thru. If they do you'll be able to buy whatever it is once they are established. Jus sayin!

By Yvette P.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the KickStarter staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
KickStarter?
Post Review