We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    Hermes-Europe

Corporate Values

Overview

Hermes-Europe has a consumer rating of 1.43 stars from 21 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Hermes-Europe ranks 185th among Shipping sites.

  • Service
    2
  • Value
    1
  • Shipping
    1
  • Returns
    1
  • Quality
    1
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 0%
Positive
0
Neutral
0
Negative
4
View ratings trends
How would you rate Hermes-Europe?
Top Positive Review

“Excellent service”

Philip C.
12/1/18

My parcel delivered by Hermes was perfect. The courier was polite, friendly, well dressed and trustworthy. I would use Hermes again. They were cheaper than other delivery options

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Useless unhelpful complaint dodging breachers of contract”

jason r.
6/17/20

I took 41 parcels to a drop shop, labelled as provided by hermes online. Next day they emailed saying they had issue wrong labels, expect delay. 14 days later they start to be delivered, they relabelled with a 3-5 day label, not 1-2 days, or the 1-2days labell i paid for. I lost nearly £2000 of small plants, and had to refund most of my customers. Use these again? Tell others not to also... Be warned, spread the word - this is myhermes

See critical reviews

Reviews (21)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

jasonr684
1 review
4 helpful votes
June 17th, 2020
I took 41 parcels to a drop shop, labelled as provided by hermes online. Next day they emailed saying they had issue wrong labels, expect delay. 14 days later they start to be delivered, they relabelled with a 3-5 day label, not 1-2 days, or the 1-2days labell i paid for.
I lost nearly £2000 of small plants, and had to refund most of my customers.
Use these again? Tell others not to also...
Be warned, spread the word - this is myhermes
la151
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 12th, 2020
Every single parcel thats ever been sent via them has never arrived but always been signed for accordong to hermes as the driver is a thief, i now refuse to buy anything sent via hermes as it will just be stolen by the driver. The worst couriers on earth
mr479
1 review
2 helpful votes
November 22nd, 2019
Third time in six months that Hermes has dumped a parcel in my dustbin and called it delivered, as usual it arriving looking like it had been kicked all the way to my door.
As usual the parcel and contents were soaking wet.
And as usual I'm saying Hermes are the worst parcel delivery company in the UK.
Please stop using them and then maybe, hopefully, they'll go out of business.
Given one star because I can't leave zero.
stephenf739
5 reviews
0 helpful votes
November 23rd, 2020
"BBC Watchdog Live has received far more complaints about deliveries by Hermes than about any other delivery company." See the BBC Watchdog website for more info on this horrendous company.

Hermes UK aka Parcelnet are by far the worst of the worst in courier services. I've been through a new level of hell with this company and discovered a level of obstructiveness, disinterest and collusion with what appears to be widespread theft within Hermes. My parcel (value £760) was in the hands of the driver and out for delivery one minute, and then marked 'lost' the next. Hours and hours of my time has been spent chasing Hermes, from the robotic lackey at the bottom to Marijn de Lange, CEO at the top. None of them were interested. I've since made a complaint to Police and when you look at the negative reviews from the UK public up and down the country, people are reporting the same 'lost' items, items that the driver claims were delivered but were not, and other evidence of widespread theft. This level of theft is supported by Hermes executive of Hermes-Europe, who could not care less about their responsibilities to the public, judging by the obstructiveness of their responses to my emails. All I've tried to do is find out what the driver's explanation is of how he managed to lose my parcel when it was in his possession for delivery.

If you are wise, avoid Hermes and Parcelnet (who own Hermes) like the plague. Otherwise you are entrusting your property to a company of thieves confident that they will have to face no real consequences.
ellien19
1 review
1 helpful vote
January 11th, 2020
Hermes is a total joke, the courier, which delivers to the Centre View Apartments, Croydon, CR0 1EX, is absolutely irresponsible, although she is paid for her work fully. Our Christmas parcel for children from Germany got lost as she ticked it as delivered but we never received it. Maybe she handled it to the wrong addressant or she left it on the top of the mail boxes in the general hallway, what is normally does on the daily basis. I see Hermes parcels on the top of the post boxes every day. There are approx 75 flats in this property and there might be a few residents who can take others parcels?! We contacted to the customer services team but they failed to get in touch with her as she is not responding to their phone calls. You often can spot this courier, in the lift or the corridor, delivering 'Next' store orders and she deliverers them precisely door to door. Most likely the Next store doesn't pay her if she loses customers online orders. However, with Hermes, she can escape this situation. She is still paid, fully, even for not delivered orders. So, on the Christmas Eve after 6pm, she left our parcel somewhere and ticked it as delivered, without signature, without stating where she left it or to whom she left it. We all were at home, me, my mum and two kids. Noone rang to the main door and noone rang to our flat number. Also she MUST NOT TO LEAVE IT AS SIGNED AND ENTER ANY SURNAMES if she didn't handle it to that particular person and not tick it as signed (where is the signature?) Last week I saw again Hermes parcels on the top of the post boxes. We didn't ask Hermes compensation (because they said, it has to be done from Germany, but we want Hermes to take an action against such irresponsible work of the courier or change her to more responsible personal.
peacea6
8 reviews
5 helpful votes
December 14th, 2018
Ive used Hermes for over 100 postings (Sell on eBay).
Through Parcel2Go with minimal issues but as of late, they're becoming horrendous.

They have lost multiple packages & because i bought through Shutl (Another useless company), Hermes are quick to pass the buck.
On top of that, their customer service is disgusting.

Another business quick to take your money but hide behind T&C's and excuses when they fail

I strongly advise you find another courier.
simond60
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
April 22nd, 2019
Absolutely appalling service, they take the parcel, throw it around and then report that it's damaged beyond repair. Well, that's what one tracking system said, the other said it was "out for delivery"! They then destroy the parcel so you have no evidence to pursue the matter. An absolute disgrace.
reviewr6
11 reviews
12 helpful votes
December 5th, 2018
And the bin men took it.

Hermes denied this, until I scanned and sent them the 'in black bin' slip. They then presumably sent the seller a claim form.

They kindly sent me a survey via email, by the time the parcel had been resent and arrived (a month after purchase) the survey was closed.
philipc158
1 review
1 helpful vote
December 1st, 2018
My parcel delivered by Hermes was perfect. The courier was polite, friendly, well dressed and trustworthy. I would use Hermes again. They were cheaper than other delivery options
gracej60
1 review
1 helpful vote
July 8th, 2019
Second time this so called company in Portugal handles my parcel. Never attempted delivery, never contacted me, not allowed to collect it myself!, they just returned to sender.
Someone needs to audit them... they are a con and lazy, wasting people's money.
paulg646
1 review
5 helpful votes
September 26th, 2019
Just dont bother, they will fail at every level
Failed to collect, very difficult to contact, phone lines have prerecorded message then cut you off telling you to go to website. Help is useless, hard to find the live chat, the bot is terrible and just repeats the same questions over and over, eventually by typing AGENT repeatedly it gave up trying to get rid of me got through to someone who on the first day said it would be collected before 8pm after I'd waited in all day (having placed the order the previous day) - it wasnt collected. The next day the tracking said theyd tried to collect at 2.15pm the previous day (they hadnt, I checked the CCTV, plus I was in, plus they left no card) when I told live chat this they said the vehicle had broken done. When I asked for the registration number or some evidence I was ignored, despite asking for it a number of times. They are simply not fit for service, just dont use them, its not worth all the frustration.
garyh132
51 reviews
53 helpful votes
June 20th, 2016
A very easy company to deal with, Online payment system and home collection service, Very cheap compared to other delivery companies, I cannot fault this company, A First Class Company
daruisd
1 review
2 helpful votes
August 22nd, 2017
I placed an order through Asos for next day delivery. This afternoon i checked to see what time my item would be delivered and it said they had attempted delivery but could not. I have been home all day and no one has attempted any sort of delivery. I ordered a gift for a birthday later this evening and i cannot even speak to a human being on the telephone, the live chat online wasnt much help either as she kept repeating herself saying there was nothing she could do. Absolutely shocking customer service and delivery drivers too lazy to actually knock on the door. Disgusted with how this company is run!
johnr520
1 review
1 helpful vote
August 22nd, 2017
Where do I start?

Where do I start. LIES: I have a good view of my postbox and then say refused etc when they fail to arrive. TIME: eBay vendor states sent... no reason to doubt him, tracking states awaiting collection. Average time from order to delivery is 10 days. I could crawl on my hands and knees to the vendor to collect and it would be faster! Do they use ZX Spectrum computers and rickshaws to deliver? PRICE: To any vendors I can assure you they are not THAT cheaper. In fact, I now look to see if they use Hermes (or Yodel) and I avoid so is that saving you money or costing you money by way of customer flight? How did CIty Link go bust when they were 1000% better than this mob of self drivers, throwing stuff in their hatchback or 15 year old van. You pay peanuts you get monkeys.
hermesisacompleted
1 review
1 helpful vote
August 22nd, 2017
Worse courier company to ever exist

Worse courier company to ever exist. Paid for nominated delivery for my delivery to specifically be delivered to me on a Saturday and for it to be SIGNED for. I waited for the whole day for my delivery to arrive. Not only did they not deliver it, the driver has lied in the tracking information to say he delivered it when he didn't and there is no signature from me to say my order was delivered. This is now the third time this has happened and I advise all companies to shut there accounts with this courier.
lailag
2 reviews
10 helpful votes
September 30th, 2017
I first thought it was just bad luck on my part, but it seems others have the same problem, items go missing, they never respond, you can't reach them by phone, they aren't responsible for anything...
Service
matteoc11
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
September 13th, 2016
I have been chasing my parcels all week! Hermes simply does not deliver, no matter how much i try to contact them... I have been receiving parcels with Royal mail and Dpd everyday, no issues at all, only Hermes is unable to do it's job.
Simply a ridicolous company!
wendyp67
1 review
2 helpful votes
August 22nd, 2017
I chose 1 star because I couldn't choose ZERO or minus. Hermes continue to disappoint. I was supposed to have a delivery 10th August, waited all day. Website says they attempted a delivery. With 5 people in the house, a dog that goes mad if somebody approaches the house and no card posted. Hmm. Yep, that so called attempt was a lie. I was advised they would deliver the 11th August, waited all day, no delivery. Was promised 12th August (The day the item was needed for) waited all day, no delivery. I have just contacted them this morning. I asked will it be delivered today, they advise it might be, but possible another 24- 48 hours. They have had the parcel for 7 days already! From now on, any retailer that I deal with that uses Hermes are losing my order. They are a joke. I have emailed them on 2 occasions and I have been ignored. I have spoken on the livechat 9 times so far, and I suspect I will be again. They will go the way of CityLink and go under eventually. Seems most others have issues, the reviews on here are an embarrassment. The Directors should really take the fact that their company is being slammed on here. Its also worth noting that my previous experience with Hermes earlier in the year was 2 packages of clothing, in excess of £400 disappeared without a trace. Their response, we know we received it in the warehouse, but we cannot find it. Epic! Well Done Hermes. When the retailer (Asos) offered me a replacement, No thank you, just a refund will suffice :) Note to the pen pushers at Hermes. If you continue this service, expect your retailers to leave you. If you need a lesson in business, the more customers that leave you the less your revenue will be, therefore you make less money. I would hope you already know this, but my perception of your ability in business would suggest that the incompetence runs from the leaders to the pawns. If you want more advice, look to DPD for inspiration, I have yet to have a single issue with them, I even use them for my company on a daily basis. Now they offer a top class service. Have a pleasant day all.

Tip for consumers: Pay extra for a real courier, these guys are minimum wage slavers being sued by unions for their illegal practices

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
sp542
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
April 13th, 2013
I'm surprised this courier service is still running.

They frequently 'lose' parcels, I spoke to one of the employees once when I rang to complain and she reluctantly admitted that certain employees steal packages.

I honestly don't know why major companies use Hermes, when they have a notorious reputation.
jeremys55
1 review
3 helpful votes
September 8th, 2015
I am at my wits end with these people.

Firstly I ordered something from H&M, thought fine that's great, after a reported incident of hate crime previously since the previous courier was being really unprofessional and blerted out what was in my parcel accross the street to humiliate me! Which I reported to the police and even have a crime ref number for which was the only time they bothered (as this wasn't unusual for the abusive courier) they did nothing about previous to me reporting to the police.

Anyway, I got an email notification telling me they'd sent it out with the courier, they then said to H&m they'd attempted delivery and was undelivered I thought ah ok that's fair enough no problems there I will wait for them to make a 2nd attempt.

Nothing came from the 2nd attempt (since they do a max of 3 attempts for delivery) they then said they couldn't locate my address, weird which completely (being the logical person I am) contradicts the previous message, they basically flat out deceived me (not the answers from a professional company I know, but we are talking about how useless hermes are).

The 3rd one they didn't even bother and for some reason they'd removed the can't find my address or undelivered message (I can't remember which I smartly took a screen shot because as far as I am aware nothings below these people to deceive anyone so I have them in the corner on this one).

I would not trust this company to send a 50p item let alone just over £60 worth of clothing and shoes let alone anything else, avoid completely.

I can't help but think from contacting H&M (because that was what I was advised to do) about the hate crime incident previous to this H&M order, that they'd be using another courier as they are self employed, I can't help but think the two are very much related to each other, they basically all in all flat out lie about everything and never tell the truth.

Don't go near this company unless you want loads of stress and grief!

PS I hope one of the footwear I ordered in it is back instock when I get to reorder this or I will be livid with hermes for their incompetence, to be honest I think it's more a lack of communication but either way this is completely unacceptable and unprofessional to be lied to.

To add insult to injury (in my own humble opinion) they've apologized which to me means nothing unless they're going to do something about it!

It's a good job H&M cancelled and refunded the order (it's not their fault regardless, I mean we're both very confused as to why hermes claim (but actually have evidently lied) about trying to make the 1st attempt then to say they couldn't find my address on the 2nd, something I fail to see any logic in at all must think i was born yesterday!
rosea16
10 reviews
11 helpful votes
October 17th, 2012
This company is the worst company we have dealt with in courier service, doesnt collect parcels, opens parcels! Fraudelent this company is and do not use as they do not care. Kkeps parcels in couriers cars over night..

Q&A (0)

Questions? Get answers from the Hermes-Europe staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Hermes-Europe?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Firefox extension

1.4
21 reviews
Have a question about Hermes-Europe?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business