Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    HealthCare.gov

Corporate Values

Overview

HealthCare.gov has a consumer rating of 1.43 stars from 233 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. HealthCare.gov also ranks 14th among Affordable Care Act sites. The most common issues with HealthCare.gov are around customer service, which is not as good as expected by some customers.

  • Service
    13
  • Value
    13
  • Shipping
    4
  • Returns
    6
  • Quality
    13
View ratings trends

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

No positive highlights yet

Critical highlights

  • I'm not about to sell my house and give up paying my mortgage just so I can have health insurance.
  • I can not retrieve this form with the website because of reasons unknown to me and the customer service.
How would you rate HealthCare.gov?
Top Positive Review

“A great place for open insurance enrollment”

Barbara W.
11/19/19

So far so good,dismiss any negative hear say,stating that you will have to pay the government back,after tax filing.this is only true ,if you lied about your annual income ,being much more than you stated during enrollment.and if you get a raise,rasing your annual income, you should call the health market place, and inform them.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Prepare yourself for the worst possible...”

Dennis M.
10/3/19

Jumped through countless hoops for enrollment and eligibility, but once I was deemed eligible, I was told I now have missed open enrollment period. Filed an appeal, as lack of coverage could seriously jeopardize my health. The appeal is designed to allow for enrollment outside of open enrollment period. It took FOUR MONTHS for them to finally tell me i could enroll! I then spent TWO HOURS & FORTY MINUTES on the phone with no less than five different representatives. Each one told me something different than the one before about the final enrollment steps. I gave up when the 5th rep. told me I needed to call the number I originally called nearly three hours earlier. I'm fortunate to have found enough financial help via charitable acts of private citizens and family members to at least have medications needed to survive. There is NO excuse for such an organization to conduct themselves this way. Especially when their actions have a direct affect on people's lives!

See critical reviews

Reviews (233)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

health insurance (43) customer service (30) insurance company (11) health coverage (9) market place (12) coverage (49) application (40) plan (60) insurance companies (9) enrollment period (6) time (72) life change (5)
ninab181
1 review
2 helpful votes
January 7th, 2020
Absolutely the worst customer service even when you ask for a manager or supervisor they are rude, uneducated about the process and brush you off easily to figure it out or help yourself. WHY ARE THESE MY OPTIONS FOR HEALTH INSURANCE? I'm paying them with my tax dollars and on the phone for over an hour and still can't get it right!?
peggee
1 review
2 helpful votes
February 2nd, 2020
I signed up for coverage it said all my doctors are listed NO WERE DOES IT SAY Tear 1 or Tear 2 you have to wait for the book to come. I signed for this The Plan I selected 5/20 $ generic meds now I am being told all my doctors are 70% 30% percentage. A customer service rep I just talk to told go head and speak seriously FU I spoke know.
NEW JERSEY SUCKS BIG TIME. GO AHEAD DONT HELP THE AMERICANS BUT YOU HELP EVERYONE ELSE
darcis6
1 review
1 helpful vote
February 10th, 2020
Would absolutely recommend no one EVER signs up with healthcare.gov. Absolute SCAM! Make sure you know the fine print when signing up - they have the right to auto enroll you for the next 5 years without ANY consent or knowledge! The coverage is horrible, never have any health care providers with availability in network. Its just all garbage. And again, they enrolled me another year WITHOUT TELLING ME! So now I owe them for insurance I didn't know I had and NEVER signed up for..
cw435
1 review
2 helpful votes
January 6th, 2020
Worst customer service ever. Wish I could remember the man's name. Total a**. Asked a simple question and he went on a rant about how people never report things right and expect them to fix it, etc. All I did was ask how many paystubs I needed to send in, because I already sent 2 and got back a letter saying I needed more proof. Like what more proof do you need? I get same check every 2 weeks...do the math people.
donm387
1 review
3 helpful votes
December 26th, 2019
I sure hope that some poor, sick souls somewhere are benefiting from ObamaCare...

This 40K per year family is getting destroyed by it (Terrible customer service, monthly premiums, deductibles, etc.) I can's write anymore.
melodyg35
1 review
4 helpful votes
November 18th, 2019
Dealing with these people has been a horrible experience, they all say something different every time I had to call for something. Thanks to their incompetence now I owe the insurance company AND the doctors office thousands of dollars, and they still can't give me a straight answer of fix the situation. I just can't understand how this can happen and there be no repercussions for them at all.
jims816
1 review
3 helpful votes
December 3rd, 2019
I just spent 3 hours wandering around a site that navigates like a car with no wheels in a maze!!
Links don't work, error messages when trying to save completed work, suggestions to log out and back in that don't work, loss of data entered that wouldn't save, and the list goes on and on.
If I ran my business like the government runs the "Healthcare.gov" website, I wouldn't have a business!!!
shawnm291
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 15th, 2019
I've been to porn sites that are more intelligent and streamlined than this nightmare. Tried to enroll 3 times, each time it asked me the same information that I had already just given, and then about midway through it just says the server is down. All I wanted to know was what plans covered what and whether I qualified. The working poor and middle class people I have talked to tell me the prices are outrageous anyway and barely cover anything. I guess I'm just going to have to pay out of pocket up front for my primary and if a catastrophic event happens I'm screwed.
jimm1045
1 review
1 helpful vote
December 16th, 2019
Once again the site is unavailable before the deadline has been reached. Only the government can sweep this under the rug! The picture below is what I got when trying to log in. Needless to say, the telephone lines were inoperative also.
angelah136
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
September 10th, 2019
Well I sent in my proof of income and some incompetent employee put in that I made 220,000 instead of 22,000 so I had to file an appeal. I am very technically challenged and couldn't figure out how to do this. I now have 2 weeks to get this appeal in but trying to do this on my computer has caused me great hardship. They say it's my responsibility to appeal their mistake and now I can't figure out how to get the form through this adobe reader so I give up! I'm so stressed out over having to appeal their mistake that I'm going to lose my insurance! I guess I'm just an idiot!!
hubertl15
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 7th, 2019
I would like to inform the US government and everyone on particular that the supervisor of the marketplace.gov her name is KiKi Feven was so rude and yelling at me for asking questions. She sent me away to do it by myself or find somebody else. She is so unprofessional, and she needs to be trained properly to deal with customers not to tell at them. She is not qualify to be a supervisor. She has bad temper.
valeriec225
1 review
1 helpful vote
November 22nd, 2019
Perhaps training personnel or actually having a website that is not broken 90% of the time? Trying to make a simple application change so that we can pay the premium, but the site doesn't work, directs us to call.......... 60 minutes later, we are STILL trying to get this done. NO EXCUSE for this kind of systemic failure.
michelez8
1 review
5 helpful votes
August 20th, 2019
What a joke. Covers absolutely nothing until you pay thousands in premiums, co pays and deductibles. I am barely making a living and it quoted me close to 700/mo with a 7,500 deductible. It's pretty clear. The middle class is screwed. I'm furious. Going to pay cash for medical services because a) I hate health insurance companies b) I'm disgusted by healthcare.gov and c) it's a whole lot cheaper.
andrewl580
1 review
2 helpful votes
October 18th, 2019
Extremely time consuming way to get zero help. Go to a private company, don't waste your time with this site.
annac347
1 review
1 helpful vote
September 5th, 2019
THE EMPLOYEES DO NOT KNOW WHAT THE HELL THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT! EACH ONE TELLS YOU SOMETHING DIFFERENT AND THEN EVERYTHING IS SO SCREWED UP. THE BIGGEST HEADACHE EVER! STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!!!
jeffl330
1 review
1 helpful vote
July 25th, 2019
I am an agent who helps people to enroll in health plans via healthcare.gov. The first 2 years were fine. Then later they changed or terminated some of my client's health plans. Start from this year, they changed and terminated a lot of my client's health plans without sending notices to my clients. My clients found their plans either changed or terminated when they see doctors. Some got huge medical bills and thought that's my faults. It's obviously affect my business, trust, reputation!!!
bc80
3 reviews
6 helpful votes
June 7th, 2019
I went on the website just to see what I qualify for... I hear with my income I should be covered completely free because I make so little. I used a calculator which required me to enter a phone number and since then I received dozens of calls a day, and texts. I did not agree to be spammed like this!!! One agent told me that as soon as I entered my info on the calculator it was made public. I'll probably have to change me number now, as I'm already on the National DMV and still getting spammed!
laurent108
1 review
3 helpful votes
May 2nd, 2019
I aged out of my parents policy in March so as of April 1, I have had no insurance. I understand having to prove aging out but it's been 2 weeks since I have uploaded my supporting documents and I just not get a call saying they need more proof and that i need to write a letter. So your going to believe me over my official BCBS letter? I am 26 years old and will be paying out of my own pocket for health insurance. The LEAST the government could do is have decent staff who at least half way cares about the ones who are paying their own way.
al270
1 review
2 helpful votes
May 22nd, 2019
In what world is narcolepsy medication considered "not a necessary medication" (in their words)?! Will it take me falling asleep in front of a bus and getting run over to prove that I need it? Also, how is it that the ONE 24 hour urgent care within a 2 hour radius of me (basically my only option to go to after hours) makes me pay 50% of the bill? I pay for the most expensive plan you can get, but honestly, what is the point? Anything through the marketplace is literally only catastrophic insurance at 20x the price. What a rip off.
ha33
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 14th, 2019
This is purely a one person customer service review. After hours on the phone with a sleuth of of people who kept dropping my call and had absolutely NO clue what they were talking about (I was only trying to reset my password and re-enroll for goodness sakes!!!) finally got someone to help me and answer all my questions. Thanks Delilah ! (*one star deducted because the others were so pain stakingly terrible).
dales180
1 review
3 helpful votes
May 28th, 2019
I cant say what I really want to say about these idiots. This is a complete scam there is no other way to say it. They should have zero stars these idiots are what's wrong with health coverage. SCAM SCAM SCAM
sophiap36
1 review
2 helpful votes
June 21st, 2019
All I asked was for a refund in April for overlapping coverage and they cancelled my entire dental policy.
latiesham
1 review
2 helpful votes
June 13th, 2019
This is a $#*!ty ass place to be under the federal government. The agent Sheniqua Owens (suppose to be Supervisor) was rude and does not need to be in charge of anybody especially answering the phones.
barbaraw455
1 review
1 helpful vote
November 19th, 2019
So far so good,dismiss any negative hear say,stating that you will have to pay the government back,after tax filing.this is only true ,if you lied about your annual income ,being much more than you stated during enrollment.and if you get a raise,rasing your annual income, you should call the health market place, and inform them.
alician33
1 review
1 helpful vote
June 18th, 2019
three representative hung up in My face just because I asked for the supervisor one of the administrators got on phone and he really had an attitude he said I was talking to loud and he said calm my voice b4 he hang up on me and he did

Q&A (11)

Answer:

BECAUSE THEY ARE UNEDUCATED IGNORANT PEOPLE THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT HIRED. TRUMP NEEDS TO FIRE ALL THEM AND SHUT THIS DOWN. THEY HAVE YET AGAIN SCREWED UP MY PLAN AND MY DAUGHTERS 15 CALLS LATER AND I RENEWED IN NOVEMBER ...THEY DELETED ME AND PUT MY DAUGHTER...JERKS THEN GAVE HER A MESSED UP PLAN

By SARA A.
Answer:

BECAUSE MARKETPLACE NEEDS SHUT DOWN

By SARA A.
Answer:

I have Ambetter Health insurance this year for 2016 i have found out that ambetter in Texas is a scam the doctors listed under the insurance.are refusing to accept the insurance because the are having.problems collecting money because of this i can not fine a doctor under this program i even check further and found complaints under the BBB website. due i have to continue paying NOWING NOW THAT THIS IS A SCAM.

By Elnora L.
Answer:

I got one too and they refuse to fix it. Total scam.

By Dale S.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the HealthCare.gov staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

The official website for the U.S. Government's federal health insurance marketplace, as described in the Affordable Care Act of 2010.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about HealthCare.gov?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about HealthCare.gov?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business