We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    HealthCare.gov

Corporate Values

Overview

HealthCare.gov has a consumer rating of 1.43 stars from 256 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Consumers complaining about HealthCare.gov most frequently mention customer service, insurance company and last year problems. HealthCare.gov ranks 13th among Affordable Care Act sites.

  • Service
    14
  • Value
    14
  • Shipping
    4
  • Returns
    7
  • Quality
    13
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 11.1%
Positive
5
Neutral
0
Negative
40
View ratings trends
2
See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

No positive highlights yet

Critical highlights

  • She was determined that I was wrong instead of realizing that MAYBE I DID obtain health insurance.
  • The most horrible customer service that I have had of all times.
How would you rate HealthCare.gov?
Top Positive Review

“First time I've had a good experience and Lisa needs to be recognized.”

Ontario R.
4/16/20

We dread calling because we have never gotten our issues taken care of. I got Lisa Fisher and let me just say that she is the sweetest representative we have spoken to yet. She made sure to make sure we had everything taken care of and treated me like we were friends and not just another phone call. There needs to be more people like her.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“I apologize to every DMV I ever got mad with”

Daniel L.
3/4/20

Stay away, turn around and never come back. I wish i could go back in time and never even think about healthcare.gov ever again. You will leave this place with less of yourself than when you first signed up. The accountability of customer service is the worse than anything I have ever experienced, I still think I'm going to wake up from this nightmare any minute, unfortunately I'm not. If I can save one person from this dreadful experience, the world will be a better place.

See critical reviews

Reviews (256)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

health insurance (51) customer service (33) insurance company (12) market place (12)
daniell693
1 review
3 helpful votes
March 4th, 2020
Stay away, turn around and never come back. I wish i could go back in time and never even think about healthcare.gov ever again. You will leave this place with less of yourself than when you first signed up. The accountability of customer service is the worse than anything I have ever experienced, I still think I'm going to wake up from this nightmare any minute, unfortunately I'm not. If I can save one person from this dreadful experience, the world will be a better place.
cw435
1 review
2 helpful votes
January 6th, 2020
Worst customer service ever. Wish I could remember the man's name. Total a**. Asked a simple question and he went on a rant about how people never report things right and expect them to fix it, etc. All I did was ask how many paystubs I needed to send in, because I already sent 2 and got back a letter saying I needed more proof. Like what more proof do you need? I get same check every 2 weeks... do the math people.
hillaryw13
1 review
3 helpful votes
March 4th, 2020
Marketplace is nothing but trash. I'm offended that this is acceptable for the people of america to have to deal with. Every single time I call in they do not have any idea of whats going on with my coverage or the fact that I even have coverage for that matter. Usually end up 3 way calling between my actual health insurance to get anywhere with them taking up lots of time.
angelah136
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
September 10th, 2019
Well I sent in my proof of income and some incompetent employee put in that I made 220,000 instead of 22,000 so I had to file an appeal. I am very technically challenged and couldn't figure out how to do this. I now have 2 weeks to get this appeal in but trying to do this on my computer has caused me great hardship. They say it's my responsibility to appeal their mistake and now I can't figure out how to get the form through this adobe reader so I give up! I'm so stressed out over having to appeal their mistake that I'm going to lose my insurance! I guess I'm just an idiot!
tennilles3
1 review
3 helpful votes
April 30th, 2019
I've never had any problems the past 4 years. Always easy to enroll and representatives friendly and knowledgeable. Always got affordable plan and eligible for decent tax credit. However, this year was terrible. Was put in wrong plan, then when they admitted it was their mistake, they allowed me to switch to correct plan, but expected me to pay the payments for past 4 months I was in wrong plan. I was told there was nothing they could do and told to file an appeal which I did, only to be told they couldn't approve my appeal request. Then, another representative was very nice and went above and beyond to fix it beings was their mistake, so either they are very helpful, or completely useless, depending who you talk to and if you're persistent.
peggee
1 review
2 helpful votes
February 2nd, 2020
I signed up for coverage it said all my doctors are listed NO WERE DOES IT SAY Tear 1 or Tear 2 you have to wait for the book to come. I signed for this The Plan I selected 5/20 $ generic meds now I am being told all my doctors are 70% 30% percentage. A customer service rep I just talk to told go head and speak seriously FU I spoke know.
NEW JERSEY SUCKS BIG TIME. GO AHEAD DONT HELP THE AMERICANS BUT YOU HELP EVERYONE ELSE
ninab181
1 review
2 helpful votes
January 7th, 2020
Absolutely the worst customer service even when you ask for a manager or supervisor they are rude, uneducated about the process and brush you off easily to figure it out or help yourself. WHY ARE THESE MY OPTIONS FOR HEALTH INSURANCE? I'm paying them with my tax dollars and on the phone for over an hour and still can't get it right!?
mikaylah19
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 19th, 2020
I put my phone number in thinking ONE representative would call me about plan options. NOPE. Within an hour I had 12 missed calls from all different numbers so I didn't even bother trying to call anyone back and now it's been 24 hours and I'm up to 62 MISSED CALLS. I've now had to put my phone on do not disturb so that every 5 seconds I'm not rejecting a call.
shawnm291
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 15th, 2019
I've been to porn sites that are more intelligent and streamlined than this nightmare. Tried to enroll 3 times, each time it asked me the same information that I had already just given, and then about midway through it just says the server is down. All I wanted to know was what plans covered what and whether I qualified. The working poor and middle class people I have talked to tell me the prices are outrageous anyway and barely cover anything. I guess I'm just going to have to pay out of pocket up front for my primary and if a catastrophic event happens I'm screwed.
darcis6
1 review
4 helpful votes
February 10th, 2020
Would absolutely recommend no one EVER signs up with healthcare.gov. Absolute SCAM! Make sure you know the fine print when signing up - they have the right to auto enroll you for the next 5 years without ANY consent or knowledge! The coverage is horrible, never have any health care providers with availability in network. Its just all garbage. And again, they enrolled me another year WITHOUT TELLING ME! So now I owe them for insurance I didn't know I had and NEVER signed up for..
georgiab111
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 24th, 2020
I am still wondering how they let people with no courtesy become agents. The man I spoke to started off with a snarky attitude. When I tried to say I was not interested he kept talking. I told him I was not interested, thank you, good bye. He called back and started off using the F word and was so disrespectful, hurtful and derogatory. I saved the voice mail. If I can I will ask he be removed from his job. I will not attempt to use the marketplace to get insurance!
hubertl15
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 7th, 2019
I would like to inform the US government and everyone on particular that the supervisor of the marketplace.gov her name is KiKi Feven was so rude and yelling at me for asking questions. She sent me away to do it by myself or find somebody else. She is so unprofessional, and she needs to be trained properly to deal with customers not to tell at them. She is not qualify to be a supervisor. She has bad temper.
at144
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 7th, 2020
Since I have to give it a star I gave it one, but really it's ZERO stars. It is completely ridiculous! What took me a 15-minute call when my firstborn was needed to be added to our insurance before the marketplace has now taken 4 months, 3 "application" processes, 30 pieces of physical paper, over 15 phone calls, and a whole lot of frustration, and guess what they still haven't taken care of it. I would love to be able to call up an insurance provider and just buy actual coverage but I can't it has to go through the Marketplace. At this point paying out of pocket for medical expenses is cheaper than going through this crap.
terryb581
1 review
1 helpful vote
April 9th, 2020
In short the marketplace cannot figure out how to apply my tax credit for 4 days, this has caused my health insurance to cancel this week, very scary since i now have organ problems and cannot fill any prescriptions also had to cancel may doctor appointments, they gave me a tax credit of $872 per month but a glitch happened where the tax credit wasn't applied for 4 days causing my premium to be $925 for that period instead of $84 which it should be, i've tried for 2 months and filing multiple appeals but no one there can figure out how to apply the credit for 4 days, i'm scared especially with this pandemic.
ha33
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 14th, 2019
This is purely a one person customer service review. After hours on the phone with a sleuth of of people who kept dropping my call and had absolutely NO clue what they were talking about (I was only trying to reset my password and re-enroll for goodness sakes!) finally got someone to help me and answer all my questions. Thanks Delilah! (*one star deducted because the others were so pain stakingly terrible).
ashleys653
3 reviews
9 helpful votes
April 28th, 2020
Worst place ever I spent hours and hours trying to get my account corrected they auto-enrolled me twice. They're holding up my taxes for 2019 because they never generated a 1095a... I'd give them zero stars if I could
gregorioa12
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 9th, 2020
Our son was born last year, the marketplace entered his his date of birth incorrectly, which resulted in some of the doctors charges being denied by Blue Cross. When we tried to correct this through the marketplace they kept giving us the run around. Blue Cross said there was nothing they could do. We spent over 10 hours on numerous different occasions talking to the marketplace which resulted in nothing. We are almost being sent to collections because of this outstanding $1500 bill & we have been fighting this for 7 wks. We pay for the best BCBS PPO plan which doesn't matter when theres an issue as the customer service is horrible. The service makes no sense, it's as if its intentionally bad.
peterh993
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 2nd, 2020
I enrolled the plan at the end of Jun for cover starting Aug 1. The first week of July, I received a billing asking for the payment from April to end of July that I never signed up for. I called them up to have the record fixed, I called them almost every day, spent three to four hours each time on the phone for 2 months now. They turned me around and around, told me to escalate and appeal. Marketplace appeal center said that this is not under their authority. I never got a answer or get the problem solved. I don't know what to do, I guess I just wait to have it solve in court. I want to give a negative number in rating but it is not available.
hm155
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 14th, 2020
Tried logging into the site to check on health insurance plans, several times. Called the 1-800 number and voice message stated that the site is down for maintenance. Why doesnt the site state that instead of doing the circling act between the log in button to sending me to another site within that site. Stupid.
lexif11
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 27th, 2020
Taking advantage of people during covid-19. I submitted my financial change during covid-19 on the 16th they apparently update every 15 days which would land me march 31 and was still charged the full amount. High mark told me on there end I only owe 63.83 and just need the paperwork sent over. Health care.gov said, "sorry nothing we can do". This is disgusting and wrong. This is the third time I have been burned by this site. Its a joke, last year I didn't get coverage because I clicked the x out of a popup window and didn't press close so it apparently didn't submit so I had no coverage for a year and was told I didn't qualify for special enrollment period. The year before they chose a plan for me that was $600 a month and there was nothing I could do about it and was told I HAD to pay the $600 to change my plan even though I chose a different one but they already made the selection for me. DISGUSTING business practice.
briannal76
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 1st, 2020
Marketplace gave me a decent amount in the beginning of my health insurance. All of a sudden it cost $300 monthly for it out of nowhere. They claim I did not provide enough info on time, but that's not correct. I get a notice of a if I don't pay by a certain time I'll be terminated. It says you have 90 days. They counted from when the insurance started in the 90 days and Then ended my health insurance wanting me to pay $1100 in 1 month. RIDICULOUS! Long story short they terminated my health insurance during a pandemic! What if I get Covid? I can't even afford to go to the doctors now. I'm disappointed and hope I can get some help since being unemployed and now with no health insurance. They do not care about your well being. Tread lightly if you want good health insurance.
Service
Value
ontarior1
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 16th, 2020
We dread calling because we have never gotten our issues taken care of. I got Lisa Fisher and let me just say that she is the sweetest representative we have spoken to yet. She made sure to make sure we had everything taken care of and treated me like we were friends and not just another phone call. There needs to be more people like her.
terryb559
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
March 2nd, 2020
I have tried for 6 weeks once a week and still not correct, these people are either under educated or just plan stupid, therefore i'm with no insurance now for 6 weeks
danielt417
1 review
1 helpful vote
January 26th, 2020
This is a by far one of the most expensive health insurances. Huge deductibles, huge bloodwork fees, outrageous ER visits because of the "off network" clinic/hospital etc... Sorry I did not have time to check Cigna's app at 3:20am while I had a massive nose bleed. When you call to select or renew your plan the people on the phone are sort of rude and very under impressed, not a good help at all, not a piece of advice. I ended up getting private insurance with more features and for $28 more a month. Affordable Care Act, yeah right.
If you are computer savvy just do everything online or search for places in your are where people can offer some help with this health insurance options.
mayas57
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 19th, 2020
Matt helped me set up my health insurance and he was amazing! Super friendly. Super professional, very informative. Just great energy. I'm so please with the service he gave me! His name is MATT. He is AMAZING!

Q&A (12)

Answer:

BECAUSE THEY ARE UNEDUCATED IGNORANT PEOPLE THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT HIRED. TRUMP NEEDS TO FIRE ALL THEM AND SHUT THIS DOWN. THEY HAVE YET AGAIN SCREWED UP MY PLAN AND MY DAUGHTERS 15 CALLS LATER AND I RENEWED IN NOVEMBER... THEY DELETED ME AND PUT MY DAUGHTER... JERKS THEN GAVE HER A MESSED UP PLAN

By SARA A.
Answer:

BECAUSE MARKETPLACE NEEDS SHUT DOWN

By SARA A.
Answer:

I have Ambetter Health insurance this year for 2016 i have found out that ambetter in Texas is a scam the doctors listed under the insurance.are refusing to accept the insurance because the are having. Problems collecting money because of this i can not fine a doctor under this program i even check further and found complaints under the BBB website. Due i have to continue paying NOWING NOW THAT THIS IS A SCAM.

By Elnora L.
Answer:

I got one too and they refuse to fix it. Total scam.

By Dale S.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the HealthCare.gov staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

The official website for the U.S. Government's federal health insurance marketplace, as described in the Affordable Care Act of 2010.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about HealthCare.gov?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about HealthCare.gov?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business