We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
  • Bookmark

    HealthCare.gov

Corporate Values

Overview

HealthCare.gov has a consumer rating of 1.45 stars from 278 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Consumers complaining about HealthCare.gov most frequently mention customer service, insurance company and market place problems. HealthCare.gov ranks 11th among Affordable Care Act sites.

  • Service
    30
  • Value
    30
  • Shipping
    19
  • Returns
    22
  • Quality
    29
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 14.8%
Positive
4
Neutral
0
Negative
23
View ratings trends
7
See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

No positive highlights yet

Critical highlights

  • She was determined that I was wrong instead of realizing that MAYBE I DID obtain health insurance.
  • Poor customer service and not disclosing that at Tax time you will pay thousands of dollars!
How would you rate HealthCare.gov?
Top Positive Review

“Absolute Bull Crap.”

Josh W.
2/1/21

They cancelled my dental coverage without my consent and refused to add it on. Told me I needed to wait for open enrollment again (a whole $#*!ing year) which is bull$#*!. They make it to where you can't get dental without it and wouldn't add it in after THEY Took it off. Now I have no health insurance what so ever

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“I apologize to every DMV I ever got mad with”

Daniel L.
3/4/20

Stay away, turn around and never come back. I wish i could go back in time and never even think about healthcare.gov ever again. You will leave this place with less of yourself than when you first signed up. The accountability of customer service is the worse than anything I have ever experienced, I still think I'm going to wake up from this nightmare any minute, unfortunately I'm not. If I can save one person from this dreadful experience, the world will be a better place.

See critical reviews

Reviews (278)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

health insurance (51) customer service (33) insurance company (12) market place (12)
daniell693
1 review
9 helpful votes
March 4th, 2020

Stay away, turn around and never come back. I wish i could go back in time and never even think about healthcare.gov ever again. You will leave this place with less of yourself than when you first signed up. The accountability of customer service is the worse than anything I have ever experienced, I still think I'm going to wake up from this nightmare any minute, unfortunately I'm not. If I can save one person from this dreadful experience, the world will be a better place.

tennilles3
1 review
4 helpful votes
April 30th, 2019

I've never had any problems the past 4 years. Always easy to enroll and representatives friendly and knowledgeable. Always got affordable plan and eligible for decent tax credit. However, this year was terrible. Was put in wrong plan, then when they admitted it was their mistake, they allowed me to switch to correct plan, but expected me to pay the payments for past 4 months I was in wrong plan. I was told there was nothing they could do and told to file an appeal which I did, only to be told they couldn't approve my appeal request. Then, another representative was very nice and went above and beyond to fix it beings was their mistake, so either they are very helpful, or completely useless, depending who you talk to and if you're persistent.

courtneyd144
1 review
3 helpful votes
November 2nd, 2020

This site is completely useless because it never solves my ACTUAL PROBLEM. I have to spend hours of time digging through this site, Googling, and waiting for 45 minutes to talk to a customer service rep who may or may not be able to help me. It's such a waste of my time and constantly loops me to blanket answers that I am not looking for. This is the exact reason why I have sought healthcare outside of the government. It's a mess, terrible user experience, customer care, and a waste of resources.

cw435
1 review
4 helpful votes
January 6th, 2020

Worst customer service ever. Wish I could remember the man's name. Total a**. Asked a simple question and he went on a rant about how people never report things right and expect them to fix it, etc. All I did was ask how many paystubs I needed to send in, because I already sent 2 and got back a letter saying I needed more proof. Like what more proof do you need? I get same check every 2 weeks... do the math people.

joshw267
1 review
1 helpful vote
February 1st, 2021

They cancelled my dental coverage without my consent and refused to add it on. Told me I needed to wait for open enrollment again (a whole $#*!ing year) which is bull$#*!. They make it to where you can't get dental without it and wouldn't add it in after THEY Took it off. Now I have no health insurance what so ever

Tip for consumers:
Your better off uncovered

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
teresal8
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
November 9th, 2020

I had to go through hell and back to attempt to log i to HealthCare.gov. I ended up sending a request to change my password. I answered every one of the security questions correctly, but then I received a message that I attempted to log in too many time and to try back in an hour. Piece of crap web site. Not only that, I received notice that my health insurance increased from $877 to $950 and I go to the doctor once a year.

hillaryw13
1 review
5 helpful votes
March 4th, 2020

Marketplace is nothing but trash. I'm offended that this is acceptable for the people of america to have to deal with. Every single time I call in they do not have any idea of whats going on with my coverage or the fact that I even have coverage for that matter. Usually end up 3 way calling between my actual health insurance to get anywhere with them taking up lots of time.

peggee
1 review
4 helpful votes
February 2nd, 2020

I signed up for coverage it said all my doctors are listed NO WERE DOES IT SAY Tear 1 or Tear 2 you have to wait for the book to come. I signed for this The Plan I selected 5/20 $ generic meds now I am being told all my doctors are 70% 30% percentage. A customer service rep I just talk to told go head and speak seriously FU I spoke know.
NEW JERSEY SUCKS BIG TIME. GO AHEAD DONT HELP THE AMERICANS BUT YOU HELP EVERYONE ELSE

carolc1186
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 16th, 2020

Not very friendly customer service representatives. I have had several representatives put me on hold and never returned because they don't want to attempt to solve my issue or even transfer my call to a supervisor, apparently this is their new way of hanging up on you so that you don't get to answer the reviews at the end of the call. They want the customer to hanging up first. One time I was placed on hold for 3 hrs, yes you heard it right. I had to end the call. You need to do better this is about people's health coverage.

ninab181
1 review
2 helpful votes
January 7th, 2020

Absolutely the worst customer service even when you ask for a manager or supervisor they are rude, uneducated about the process and brush you off easily to figure it out or help yourself. WHY ARE THESE MY OPTIONS FOR HEALTH INSURANCE? I'm paying them with my tax dollars and on the phone for over an hour and still can't get it right!?

ha33
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 14th, 2019

This is purely a one person customer service review. After hours on the phone with a sleuth of of people who kept dropping my call and had absolutely NO clue what they were talking about (I was only trying to reset my password and re-enroll for goodness sakes!) finally got someone to help me and answer all my questions. Thanks Delilah! (*one star deducted because the others were so pain stakingly terrible).

jessicad958
1 review
1 helpful vote
March 25th, 2021

Wish I could give them a -100000000! I am so sick of getting hung up on and treated like literal trash from this company! They are suspicious as hell and lie about information! I have been on a plan since with Florida Blue that was helping me receive coverage until I added my pregnant daughter to my existing plan. I was told if any changes are made in the household I would have to call to update. Instead of adding her to my existing plan, they didn't add her, they just changed my whole plan completely without my knowledge. We are now drowning in bills because we thought we were being covered by the plan I was told but instead are paying a premium a month for a high deductible plan that we are never going to reach! I have spent countless hours on the phone with them to help get this resolved and all I get in attitudes, getting transferred and getting hung up on. I am so frustrated and fed up I don't even know what to do anymore!

ontarior1
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 16th, 2020

We dread calling because we have never gotten our issues taken care of. I got Lisa Fisher and let me just say that she is the sweetest representative we have spoken to yet. She made sure to make sure we had everything taken care of and treated me like we were friends and not just another phone call. There needs to be more people like her.

mikaylah19
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 19th, 2020

I put my phone number in thinking ONE representative would call me about plan options. NOPE. Within an hour I had 12 missed calls from all different numbers so I didn't even bother trying to call anyone back and now it's been 24 hours and I'm up to 62 MISSED CALLS. I've now had to put my phone on do not disturb so that every 5 seconds I'm not rejecting a call.

shawnm291
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 15th, 2019

I've been to porn sites that are more intelligent and streamlined than this nightmare. Tried to enroll 3 times, each time it asked me the same information that I had already just given, and then about midway through it just says the server is down. All I wanted to know was what plans covered what and whether I qualified. The working poor and middle class people I have talked to tell me the prices are outrageous anyway and barely cover anything. I guess I'm just going to have to pay out of pocket up front for my primary and if a catastrophic event happens I'm screwed.

darcis6
1 review
6 helpful votes
February 10th, 2020

Would absolutely recommend no one EVER signs up with healthcare.gov. Absolute SCAM! Make sure you know the fine print when signing up - they have the right to auto enroll you for the next 5 years without ANY consent or knowledge! The coverage is horrible, never have any health care providers with availability in network. Its just all garbage. And again, they enrolled me another year WITHOUT TELLING ME! So now I owe them for insurance I didn't know I had and NEVER signed up for..

spaceb
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 23rd, 2021

Ms. Joan Ross from Kansas is phenomenal at what she does. Extremely knowledgeable. Polished professionalism.

Service
Value
Quality
georgiab111
1 review
1 helpful vote
September 24th, 2020

I am still wondering how they let people with no courtesy become agents. The man I spoke to started off with a snarky attitude. When I tried to say I was not interested he kept talking. I told him I was not interested, thank you, good bye. He called back and started off using the F word and was so disrespectful, hurtful and derogatory. I saved the voice mail. If I can I will ask he be removed from his job. I will not attempt to use the marketplace to get insurance!

hubertl15
1 review
2 helpful votes
December 7th, 2019

I would like to inform the US government and everyone on particular that the supervisor of the marketplace.gov her name is KiKi Feven was so rude and yelling at me for asking questions. She sent me away to do it by myself or find somebody else. She is so unprofessional, and she needs to be trained properly to deal with customers not to tell at them. She is not qualify to be a supervisor. She has bad temper.

at144
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 7th, 2020

Since I have to give it a star I gave it one, but really it's ZERO stars. It is completely ridiculous! What took me a 15-minute call when my firstborn was needed to be added to our insurance before the marketplace has now taken 4 months, 3 "application" processes, 30 pieces of physical paper, over 15 phone calls, and a whole lot of frustration, and guess what they still haven't taken care of it. I would love to be able to call up an insurance provider and just buy actual coverage but I can't it has to go through the Marketplace. At this point paying out of pocket for medical expenses is cheaper than going through this crap.

terryb581
1 review
1 helpful vote
April 9th, 2020

In short the marketplace cannot figure out how to apply my tax credit for 4 days, this has caused my health insurance to cancel this week, very scary since i now have organ problems and cannot fill any prescriptions also had to cancel may doctor appointments, they gave me a tax credit of $872 per month but a glitch happened where the tax credit wasn't applied for 4 days causing my premium to be $925 for that period instead of $84 which it should be, i've tried for 2 months and filing multiple appeals but no one there can figure out how to apply the credit for 4 days, i'm scared especially with this pandemic.

jennak76
12 reviews
1 helpful vote
June 8th, 2021

This is also America in a nutshell. It costs so much money to get a monthly premium, whether you are "successful" or not - whether you are "poor" or rich. Holly S is a capitalist-sympathizing $#*!. Being a nanny isn't $#*!ing successful. You're just playing Mommy. That's all. That isn't "successful", and it definitely isn't a career that deserves insurance. Get a REAL job. This is coming from an ACTUAL mother, too.
ANYWAY… they spam you with emails, they FAIL to send password reset emails, and these premiums are wayyyy too expensive for ANYONE. It's disgusting how hard it is to get the medical attention you need in America, but dumb ‘Murican whores like Holly S. Will forever be the contribution to how $#*! this country is.

Tip for consumers:
You patriots need to accept the fact that as a “first world country”, America is $#*!.

teresag348
1 review
4 helpful votes
February 24th, 2021

I retired before 65 yo (medicare eligibility). Needed an affordable monthly insurance premium as I couldn't afford the state med insurance with student loans and a mortgage payment. I applied on HealthCare.gov and had a great agent for the Bright Health Insurance which helped me qualify for an extremely affordable monthly premium for my circumstances. What they neglected to tell me was that I would have to be paying back to the irs the tax credit I received and qualified for the full year I used this insurance at the time I would have to file my taxes. The total amount I owed back to the irs was over $5,000! I am a retired teacher and this is going to cause a financial burden for me. This is criminal! Wanted to warn anyone else thinking of using this insurance coverage.

Tip for consumers:
If you qualify for an affordable monthly insurance premium, make sure you don't have to pay the savings back to the irs. The amount owed back to the IRS when you file taxes could be extremely expensive. If you choose to pay back in an installment plan, they will charge you interest.

Service
Value
Quality
nathanielj42
1 review
0 helpful votes
May 14th, 2021

I don't know how they train there agents but they don't seem to know what the hell they're doing. And I've spoken to multiple people. I wonder how many people like me have given up just because of that. So frustrating.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
mayas57
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 19th, 2020

Matt helped me set up my health insurance and he was amazing! Super friendly. Super professional, very informative. Just great energy. I'm so please with the service he gave me! His name is MATT. He is AMAZING!

Q&A (12)

Answer:

BECAUSE THEY ARE UNEDUCATED IGNORANT PEOPLE THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT HIRED. TRUMP NEEDS TO FIRE ALL THEM AND SHUT THIS DOWN. THEY HAVE YET AGAIN SCREWED UP MY PLAN AND MY DAUGHTERS 15 CALLS LATER AND I RENEWED IN NOVEMBER... THEY DELETED ME AND PUT MY DAUGHTER... JERKS THEN GAVE HER A MESSED UP PLAN

By SARA A.
Answer:

BECAUSE MARKETPLACE NEEDS SHUT DOWN

By SARA A.
Answer:

I got one too and they refuse to fix it. Total scam.

By Dale S.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the HealthCare.gov staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

The official website for the U.S. Government's federal health insurance marketplace, as described in the Affordable Care Act of 2010.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about HealthCare.gov?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Firefox extension

1.5
277 reviews
Have a question about HealthCare.gov?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business