Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Ebates

Ebates reviews

1,305 reviews
160 Spear St., 19th Floor, Ebates
San Francisco, California 94105
2017 Customer choice award
Sign up for Ebates now and start earning Cash Back
Visit Us

1,305 Reviews From Our Community

Service
105
Value
72
Shipping
33
Returns
25
Quality
61

All Reviews

brendad74
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/17/18

Krystal @ Ebates was amazing. I had issues with my account when I got a new phone, all my fault not Ebates. She worked diligently to correct it so I could get my cash rebate. Love getting money back when I shop. Ebates is so easy to join, would recommend to anyone who shops online.

Advertisement
selenaw12
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/15/18

Ebates always don't issue rebates for hotel staying booked through ebates link to hotels.com, especially for high amount transactions, for example, a few hundreds or a few thousands. When I emailed them or called them regarding this, firstly they told me the rebates may get to my account after 6 weeks from hotel stay completion. When I call ebates after 6 weeks without seeing rebates to my account, they told me they didn't receive payment from the hotels I stayed and it is my responsibility to call hotels to see if the hotel paid ebates. Anyway, I didn't get rebate for the hotels I booked through the links on ebates eventually. And this happened a few times. Ebates seems no problem on small amount ebates, but they still sometimes don't you rebates automatically, you have to watch and do online inquiry when you see rebates not received. For small amount rebate, they usually issue you right away when you send inquiry.

dianen36
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/14/18

Wonderful program--it's a no brainer when you get paid to shop and buy the things you were going to buy anyway!

florencen10
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/13/18

Other companies should have customer service like Ebates. They always get back to you ASAP with an answer . Checks come the day they tell you that its coming. I've never had a problem. Love Ebates, They go Beyond.

johnf392
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/12/18

Who doesn't love free money!!

Throw in great customer service and you can't lose!!!!

Its a win-win

Thanks

christinaf43
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
1/12/18

I've received $100 cash back so far for buying things I would normally buy online. I once purchased from Sephora instead of Nordstrom because I got cash back buying the same thing for the same price with Sephora! On top of the great product, they have excellent customer service. Very fast and very helpful.

yuliag2
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
1/12/18

My estimated cash back was supposed to be 10% for purchasing airline and hotel tickets which I took a screenshot of and overnight the percentage somehow dropped to 1% only. they are fraud. will not used them again.

beverleyl5
5 reviews
0 helpful votes
1/9/18

I love it when I receive a check from Ebates! I can't believe that I do my shopping and get money back! I have told everyone I know.

cathyw62
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/6/18

One of my orders was not credited to my account - went to "help" and sent an inquiry. I immediately got a reply, with the tentative amount applied to my balance. The company I had ordered from is slow to respond with order confirmation. Very pleased with Ebates' quick response!

donnalynw
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/6/18

My first time,with debates my son told me about them ( Much applause for Lee Williams , and the crowd goes wild) So I went cruising through ebay clicking along, then came the part I dread password which I of course had forgotten... as is always the case. I have had a stroke.. So I went ahead and cashed out it occurred to me upon leaving ebay that I had neglected to do anything about debates or my son, (I mean surely he deserved something for turning me into debates. SO, I wrote debates and explained the whole thing to them, they "fixed my trouble and rewarded Lee. So with my fought for dime and i logged off satisfied and the continuation of Lee's future Sainthood the crowd again goes wild " I logged off much the wiser about eBates my stress level abated. Thanks to the fine people at eBates. The end ad they say in fairytale land.

chrism453
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/5/18

I am always impressed by Ebates and I have never had an issue in getting my cash back. If there is ever any question about a rebate that I did not receive, I contact customer care and they have always taken very good care of me. Their representatives are very professional and helpful.

kerryb52
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/5/18

I love getting cash back for purchases I would make anyway. Its like getting an extra discount! And their customer service is amazing. I placed a rather large order in the wrong browser not linked in Ebates. I contacted customer service and they credited it to me anyway- rather quickly too!

janines23
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
1/2/18

Ebates picks and chooses which rebates they want to honor. I push the E button before a transaction and sometimes the transaction still is not honored. I write to them identifying the order number, date and transaction and before I can blink they write me an email saying that they cannot find the transaction. I send them back a print screen of the transaction to prove it is on the up and up and they do not say that they are in error, they say: "We didnt find a shopping trip for this order, but as a courtesy we have added your Cash Back for this order." I do not lie. Either they are told not to honor transactions right off or they can't be bothered to do their job. Hey, if they don't want to work - find another job! I find it very frustrating and believe it or not I am an easy going person. The reviewer of this transaction was Tim R. I sincerely thanked him for honoring the transaction and the next thing I get is a thank you for writing a good review. Well, this is my review. I felt that I was being pushed to lie regarding the entire incident. If anyone from upper management would like to contact me - please do so. I have saved the emails I have received. Janine Schreiber

janeyp1
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/1/18

I have been using ebates for about 5 years now and it's really been a mixed bag - don't get me wrong, they do pay out and mostly deliver what they promise (I've cashed out $100's of dollars over the years with them) but ONLY when making small purchases (a couple of dollars here, $5 there). Any time I've made a $500+ purchase or been entitled to an ebate totaling more than say $10-20, I've been met with the same bs - "your purchase was attributed to another company due to you clicking something-or-other during your transaction so we cannot pay you." EVERY. TIME. Over the holidays I purchased a $750 desktop, I was entitled to a $45+ ebate and have just been told by their customer service that I will not be paid bc ebates supposedly did not receive credit for my purchase and I must have entered some other company's promo code or clicked out of my browser window. I know for CERTAIN that this is nonsense because when I saw how big the ebate was going to be and knowing that I have had exactly this issue with this company and larger rebates in the past, I made certain I closed every thing else on my computer, opened a brand new window to complete my transaction and clicked on the ebates extension right as I began my checkout process. I did not enter any supposed "promo codes," or open up any other windows during the transaction, and watched to make sure the extension stayed active during every step of my completing my purchase. This company is just fine paying you those smaller payouts on smaller transactions (they have to be to hold onto their reputation as a reliable company), but the moment you make a big ticket purchase and they owe you anything over $10, they randomly decided whether or not they feel like paying you (and, in my case, it's usually not). I'm going to be trying "Piggy" on my next big-ticket purchase, we'll see if they're a little less choosy about which rebates they honor and which they don't.

Service
Value
Quality
annet670
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/31/17

Cash back for shopping at places you were shopping at anyway. 100% legit. I have received money back.

andrewk129
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/30/17

They keep their word and have awesome customer service. They will work to make sure you get your cash back! No other service I use can say the same. They work with many merchants and their cash back rates are pretty damn good. Overall, you gotta get an account! Damn I love them so much I should start getting paid by them! If Ebates sees this hit up your boy and toss him some dough!

cybelew
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/29/17

Not only have all my shopping trips been accurately logged but when I had a large shopping trip missing, customer service was quick to respond and even emailed me a week later to say "we haven't forgotten about you, we are waiting to hear back from the company." Who does that?? And they got me my money. Unexpectedly above and beyond responsive service.

conniem91
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/24/17

Great customer service and response. Highly recommend. Easy way to shop and make money. Love this app.

gregoryd37
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/24/17

You can't beat receiving a check for shopping online. The customer service is fantastic! Ever have an issue, they are on it!

deysil1
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/23/17

I love Ebates, its excellent and fast way to shop online it has many stores to choose.I just want to thank Ebates and the incredible helpful staff. I make such easy money just going through Ebates before I go to the on line stores I want to shop at! It is the best and most productive way to shop today...if you are not a member of Ebates, what are you waiting for!!! It really is so good and true!!!

bonniev9
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/21/17

I removed my cash back on an order by mistake. I contacted Ebates, gave them the info on the order & they applied my cash back. They were so helpful! Gratefully appreciated!

elnah2
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
12/19/17

This is a reputable business with very helpful staff I would recommend E Bates to everyone . Cash back is generous and run qualified the cash goes into your account immediately it is a pleasure to go shopping when you get cash back .

kathleenm122
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/19/17

Ebates picks and chooses which rebates they want to honor. Over the last several months I have to to keep track of every purchase, then fight with Ebates customer service to get my rebates. Making everything so difficult and unpleasant. Right now if someone asked me about Ebates I would have to tell them to watch everything to make sure you get your money as promised; or stay away from Ebates because they will honor their own site.

celesteb8
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
12/17/17

Cash back for shopping is easy through Ebates. Excellent customer service. Promptly responded with a very quick resolve.

kevinandkimberc
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/17/17

Have used Ebates for a few years now and have always enjoyed getting the rebate check once in a while. Now that they've added some retailers that also reward in-store purchases, the service is only better. Today, I had my first issue using the mobile app and verifying with Troop ID. Customer Service quickly responded and corrected the issue for me within a few hours.

Tip for consumers: Install the browser add-on's for when you're shopping online, but always check the mobile app, too -- sometimes there are higher rebates if you use your mobile app to complete the purchase. Also, gather any coupon codes from other resources ahead of time - if you leave the site after starting your shopping trip, you won't get credit if you don't activate the shopping trip again.

Service
Value

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I dont know there some wierred how come I just order some jewelry.com and I order two earring only and its just 30.00 dollars. But when I use debates the price went up to high.

By susan k.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

If it for some reason doesn't show like it should, I contact ebates. I include a copy of the email with the information from the order placed. Normally I wait until the purchase has arrived. This gives ebates and the store to put the transaction in your account.

By lisa k.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Jenny, Ebates does not earn credit for phone orders. We do not advise any of our members to place orders over the phone. If this happened, please send me the message showing where we advised this so that I can try to resolve the matter for you. My direct address is facebookhelp@ebates.com

By Max C. [Ebates Rep]
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Jenny, Ebates does not earn credit for phone orders. We do not advise any of our members to place orders over the phone. If this happened, please send me the message showing where we advised this so that I can try to resolve the matter for you. My direct address is facebookhelp@ebates.com

By Max C. [Ebates Rep]
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Jenny, Ebates does not earn credit for phone orders. We do not advise any of our members to place orders over the phone. If this happened, please send me the message showing where we advised this so that I can try to resolve the matter for you. My direct address is facebookhelp@ebates.com

By Max C. [Ebates Rep]
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Mike, This is a great idea. I'll make sure that our leadership team is aware of this suggestion and I'll see what we can do to make it happen in the future. We know that Ebates is the best Cash Back shopping service, but we appreciate your confirmation of this fact.

By Max C. [Ebates Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Deb, This is very odd. We would really need to see what you saw. Would you be able to send screenshots of the two different prices? This is certainly something that should never happen. My address is facebookhelp@ebates.com. Please help us by sending this along when you have the time. We appreciate it. Thank you, Ebates

By Max C. [Ebates Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No. If you did not go through the Ebates site to make the purchase, you are out of luck. I just read this on their app's HELP page.

By Bb m.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Jenni, This can happen if the stores deems the order invalid or ineligible for Ebates credit. We are here to help. Please send us the details using this page: https://www.ebates.com/help/customer_care/wheresmycashback.htm

By Max C. [Ebates Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

HI Susan, We are here to help. I don't have your account information, so you can use this link to send us the details of your order. We can then also help you with the bonus. https://www.ebates.com/help/customer_care/wheresmycashback.htm

By Max C. [Ebates Rep]
Questions? Get answers from the Ebates staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

5 Photos for Ebates

From reviewers
From the business

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Ebates?
Post Review