Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Airfare.com

Airfare.com reviews

23 reviews
4619 41st Street NW, Suite 300
Washington, DC 20016, US
Tel: 1-800-AIR-FARE(247-3273)
cs@airfare.com

23 Reviews From Our Community

Service
1
Value
2
Shipping
0
Returns
1
Quality
0

All Reviews

franckc1
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/14/17

This company is a complete joke.

These people are using an easy scam: they cancel your flight just after they book it for you, then they try to book a trip with the same destination and departure cities, but with totally different conditions: low cost airlines, stops and long connections whereas you booked a direct flight, etc.

I checked with American Airlines who was supposed to operate a roundtrip NYC-Paris flight I booked using Airfare. I went to one of their centers in NYC to be sure. They showed me the voided flights, then they called Airfare.com on my behalf, and it's needless to say they don't have a proper customer service.

Talking about their customer service, I received lots of emails from them. They were first threatening me of voiding my flights if I didn't confirm my identity (although I knew after with AA that my flights had already been cancelled) with a fraudulent method. I didn't check my identity with them but I guess they try to get your card information to steal you more money.

Then they say they'll refund you after finally telling you they have voided your flights. Of course they won't refund you.

The only thing you can do if you have already booked with them (sorry for you) is ask them to cancel your flight, and dispute the payment with your bank. If you're quick you can try to cancel the flights with the operating airline company, but it's a bit hopeless I think.

If you just booked a flight with them, here are some of the emails you'll soon receive from them:

"Due to security reasons, there is one more step required in completing your reservation. Airfare.com needs to verify the credit card. In doing so, there is a security step that you need to complete.
Airfare.com has placed a temporary charge of under $5 on your credit card that will be refunded immediately. To verify your card, please call your bank to find that amount. You need to complete this process otherwise your booking will be cancelled."

"Due to security reasons, a credit card verification was requested at the time of booking. Because your credit card was not verified within the 8 hour time limit, your reservation has been cancelled and a refunded has been processed. Although fares are not guaranteed, we can check if the fare and seats are still available and give you the option to rebook. If you are interested in rebooking this reservation, you can do so in one step by clicking here."

sheyhanj
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/10/17

I purchased a ticket from Airfare.com back in November for a flight in the December. Due to some emergency I could not go on that trip and when I asked for the refund, they refused to pay me back. I did cancel the ticket before flight.

Then again in March they changed me the same amount again for no reason. Initial refund was not given to me and yet again they charged me the same amount in March. They still have not responded to the dispute since 3 months now.

They technically stole my money. Not once but twice.I will be calling my lawyer to settle this up accordingly.

Never buy any services from airfare.com.

pr3738
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/19/17

My family and I bought plane tickets for a trip in June but then had to cancel the trip do to serious medical reasons (found out in April). We talked to the doctor and they told us that as long as we showed them a letter and diagnose to the company they would refund our tickets. We put in the request in April and have not heard anything until I called in may. They stated that they were waiting to hear back from the airline and supposedly emailed them various times. I called the airline and was told that all the company had to do was process the refund on their and it could be done in 5 minutes. I then had to call airfare.com back to tell them what the airline said and the representative told me that is not how it works and I needed to wait. Reading other complaints, this is not uncommon for the business to be like this. I just warn whoever is reading this, that it is a gamble using this company.

andreasm18
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/12/16

Air Peace airline online customer care contact 07069724297 for booking and ticketing

tonyf47
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
12/3/16

I recently booked a trip to London through kayak.com. The fares were in line with other sites and about $100 cheaper than American airlines. When I purchased the ticket through KAYAK, it sent me an email from another service, airfares.com, that said in addition to the ticket not being fully refundable, there was a $350 change fee and a $450 cancellation fee if the ticket was canceled or changed before the date of travel. Unfortunately I was unable to use the ticket so I contacted British airways to cancel. British airways told me that they could not cancel my ticket because it had been issued through an agent who they identified as International Travel Consolidators. British Airways could not provide me a working telephone number for their agent (International travel consolidators), I later remembered the airfare.com email and called their offices. This all occurred before the departure date and time. Airfare.com told me that there would be a $450 cancellation fee which would net about $110 refund, but to get that, I would need to pay them the $450 cancellation fee then wait 3 to 6 weeks to receive back the $450+$110 refund. If I can't even get a portion of your original payment back, I certainly wouldn't send them more money.
Kayaks position is that they are only a search site, not the ticket agent, so they have no responsibility or control. Based on airfare.com's change & cancellation policy requiring that you pay their fee on top of what you have already paid (which I believe is a scam), I would say NOT TO USE THEM, go directly to the airline or someone like Expedia, a travel agent or someone reputable who you can contact for service issues.

Tip for consumers: USE A DIFFERENT PROVIDER unless you are absolutely willing to throw your ticket away and loose $100%.

Service
Value
Returns
trub9
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/31/16

AVOID using this company!!! There is a good reason for all the 1 star reviews.
They lure you in with low prices, but after you have chosen and paid for a specific airline,
they will switch your reservation to a cheaper, lower rated airline.
They say FREE cancellations, in big print, but once you buy the ticket you later learn you had less than 2 hours after booking to cancel. They charge you upfront $500 per ticket to cancel, but 5 weeks later I am still waiting for my refund of original ticket

mischelem
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/25/16

I have experienced in 2 weeks time such amazing insubordinate behavior from this website. I do not want anyone to go through what I have experienced so that is why I am writing the most important review of my life...I am actually a believer in positive and enabling and think extraordinary people or companies should be praised but I also believe in protecting others.

In just one day I have witnessed with this website a change to our tickets supposedly authorized by me for an additional $1938 plus our original airfare. As my witness my husband and I sat together making a hard decision to change or cancel our flight at a $700 fee and chose to cancel. Next we got a confirmation for the change at $1938. Next I call saying the booking shows our original tickets..he gives me a new confirmation no. I look up this confirmation and it says "cancelled" so I call for the the fifty millionth time and he says our confirm is gong to be sent... Different dates and times from our agreement go figure....then call Bach yet again and he says no it is confirmed for the agreed date and time. Sends another confirmation (oh by the way mentioned I should check with airline to confirm...if I said what the he'll kind of service are you providing" lol no response....just I sent you a new itinerary. Let's just say the war isn't over yet. I will always fight for justice

Tip for consumers: Do not I repeat do not use this sight!!!!

Value
samuela20
1 review
6 helpful votes
4/28/15

I would rather run to my destination than buying ticket for this site. I wanted to book a ticket from kayak but instead they redirected me to this site. I did not know what I was getting into until I called them. Customer support one of the worst ever in my life. They shout at you if you call. By shout I mean literally shout if you want to change or cancel ticket. I warn all my fellow passengers do not buy tickets from kayak if they redirect you to airfare.com. The worst part is kayak simply ignores this issues and says they are not responsible. I lost 1400$ doing so and never booking my tickets from any site kayak or airfare.com except the airline site even if I have to pay a couple of hundreds more.

peterc77
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/29/14

I used Airfare.com to book a round trip to New Zealand and worked ONLY with Airfare.com. No other travel agency was involved. The fare was decent in comparison to others. The charge to my credit card did not occur until the arrangements with United and Air New Zealand were completed. I had read other reviews about Airfare.com AFTER using it to book my flight and became very nervous about what might happen. What did happen? Nothing, except I had a seamless process occur, including an emailed itinerary shortly after booking. The only other thing I did was to select my seats, directly with ANZ.

inmaculadam
1 review
9 helpful votes
12/10/14

I cannot begin to warn you about the HORRENDOUS SERVICE provided by this company!!! Here are the details:
Booked a flight through Kayak.com, not aware it was a third party doing the booking (1st problem and unacceptable practice from Kayak) - The booking company turned out to be Airfare.com
The fare was a little better than others, but not much, and definitely not worth the aggravation and excess charges.
Change fees are $350 DOLLARS, when the airline only charges $200.00, but they claim its the airline. So they are charging $150 dollars above the airline fees for themselves.
It is an absolute nightmare to make any changes, since they are incredibly inefficient. Unfortunately, you are forced to go through them for any issues with your ticket.
I needed to make a change to my outbound flight, so I sent a request through their site.
24 hours later I had no reply or confirmation of receipt, so I called their "customer service"
The agent that answered spoke broken English and sounded like he was eating while on the call with me.
He informed me my record showed no change request, so advised me to send a follow-up email.
This time I sent it directly through my Outlook, so that I would have proof of my communications.
30 hours after that, still having received no reply, not even an acknowledgment of having received by change request, I called in again.
I asked to speak with a supervisor, who turned out to be even worse than a regular agent, if that's even possible. Aside from taking 15 minutes to come to the phone, "supervisor" Robert ID # 308 was incredibly rude and provided false information, as follows:
He claimed requests are answered within 24 to 48 hours. My request was placed 56 hours ago and still no reply or acknowledgment of receipt.
When I pointed this out, he said that my matter was not urgent so they would take longer???? This is Christmas time so it is urgent.
When I complained that I had not even received an acknowledgement my request was received by them, he threatened to hang up on me!!!!!
When I commented on the extra $150 dollar change fee above what the airline charges, he said I didn't know that, but I actually do, because I am a trained travel agent and work as an outside sales agent. But when I said that he countered asking me why had I booked through them then...actually that is a good question, the answer is the fare was a little lower than what I could get, but mostly that I was fooled into thinking I was booking through Kayak, not this joke of a company.
I ended up accomplishing nothing other than aggravation, although I did have the pleasure of hanging up on him.
I'm considering purchasing a whole new ticket, just to avoid paying them any change fees.
If you care about your money, time, and most importantly your peace of mind, don't use this company ever. I'll be sending an official complaint the BBB and to Kayak.com, because it makes them look very bad having this kind of rip-off company associated with them.

tg26
1 review
6 helpful votes
11/17/14

do not use this company! unprofessional, poor service, and tried to get my ticket changed to no avail. they put me on hold and never picked up again. called 4 days in a row and was promised each time that a change was coming. it never happened.
scam site

joakimm
1 review
8 helpful votes
8/10/14

hate policy, hate customer service and hate their policy

sams151
1 review
6 helpful votes
7/14/14

DO NOT BUY FROM them. Horrible experience the manager was yelling at me over the phone after harassing me because he wants almost $700.00 to rebook my flights and by the way charged my credit card. I will never go back to Kayak or Airfare again.

lindal69
1 review
5 helpful votes
6/15/14

Airfare.com is the WORST experience I have ever had with booking a tix. Bought tix from MIA to ZRH for 7/2/14. Have jury duty on 7/3/14. Gave documentation. Was denied. Called Swiss Air (that is the airline I am booked on), they said I could cancel, but have to go through Airfare.com. Called Airfare,com who had me on hold for 63 minutes. Hung up and called the 1-800 hoping to get through faster. When I finally got a hold of an agent, not only was he rude, but he hung up on me! Called my credit card company who along with a Swiss Air rep. talked with Airfare.com representative that also was rude, condescending to all of us (credit card rep., Swiss Air rep and myself). I will follow up with fighting the charge through my credit card company and also file a complaint through BBB.

robertp66
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/2/14

Be leery of Airfare.com. I booked through Kayak and got passed to this horrible site. I paid $863 for ticket which was a few dollars cheaper than buying direct but my bad luck had it I made a typo. Now they want over $350 more to correct. do not use either company.

rogerh35
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
2/23/14

recently booked an overseas flight with kayak and they passed to these folks'ss web site. Had to make a change due to an unfortunate accident and I will NEVER call them again for the following

1) spoke to airfare.com after over a dozen phone calls and folks who lied and tried to extort an additional 350 dollar change fee found out they had listed us as a no call no show, even tho we had emailed prior to the deadline after speaking to an agent who advised us to do so
2)airlines folks where rude, non truthful and most definitely trying to scam us wide range of stories and excuses.
3) you can not actually get to speak to a rep from airfare .comw ho will answer any Q truthfully. supervisor rude and offensive

still on going but legal action to be taken to get back well over 1500 dollars in scammed fees

michaelp69
139 reviews
1,400 helpful votes
10/18/13

I know a lot of people will disagree with me on this but this is the way I feel....

If you buy from websites based in China, Nigeria, Congo, Namibia, Iran, Syria, etc etc... a good rule of thumb is don't buy technology (phones, computers, cars etc...) and food (baby food, formula etc...).
If you buy anything at all...buy cheap plastic things like cd holders and make sure they aren't priced over $5. This goes for palm reading too.
Also when you order from places like this don't give them a credit card number otherwise you will be overcharged. Use something safer like a disposable credit card that only has $5 of credit.

PS. Don't order more than one item at a time that way your never out more than $5.

jayd149
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/18/13

Unprofessional and cannot speak English very well. The agent was laughing and speaking another language to the person sitting next to him while I was waiting for him to respond. Why would kayak.com use such an unprofessional service?

xxx8
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/11/13

Avoid Airfare at all costs!

I got into a predicament with them not knowing what they are. Sure their prices are cheap. But in my case I ended up paying twice the initial cost of the tickets just to get myself back home after a nightmare 36 hour+ trip. When I was stuck, airfare insisted that they will help me once I get back home. Once I got home all I got from is "really? Did we say that?". They didn't stop there, they ignore your emails and phone call messages and in the slight chance that they actually do get back to you, they are hands down the rudest jerks I have ever dealt with in the USA. They practically tell you to go screw yourself in plain English and there's absolutely nothing you can do against them. So the least I can do now is warn others about them so no one else has to go through what I went through.

When I did an internet search on them I was totally shocked by how many bad reviews these people get. Yet they're still in business. They should be pulled out.

So this is all I can do now. Please spread the word. AVOID AIRFARE at all costs! These guys are practically thieves.

You don't have to take my word for it, check out the multiple review links out there about them:

http://www.yelp.com/biz/airfare-com-washington

http://www.consumeraffairs.com/travel/airfare_dot_com.html

http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Airfare

http://travelsitecritic.com/reviews/1-2/airfare-com/

barbeet
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/30/13

I bought Alaska Air tickets for myself and my family through this site, as I could get the time/days I wanted that I couldn't find on the Alaska site. Then my son died. Alaska Air graciously said they would refund his ticket fully and that of his girlfiend, but that I needed to get a "OSI" from the vendor (airfare.com) validating that I had paid for the tickets. Email never answered. Called. Endless time on the phone. Bad English accents. No understanding of what an OSI was. Wanted $200 to do the transaction.

Oh yes - their printed itineraries SUCK. STAY AWAY -FAR, FAR AWAY

kamilih
1 review
6 helpful votes
5/21/13

i booked two round-trip tix from LGA NY to toronto, thru airfare.com, via kayak.com. normally, i research a company prior to booking. especially if i'm unfamiliar with them. lucky for me, i did the reverse this time. if i'd read all of the very bad reviews first, i would have been scared off! the reviews for this company are horrible. admittedly, i was nervous so i called them before the midnight cutoff. as promised, they had 24 hour customer service. the rep that i reached, was a supervisor. he was well aware of the terrible reviews and laid my fears to rest. after we hung up, i took a look at a few more sites. upon closer inspection its clear the bad reviews are from inexperienced travelers who didn't do their homework prior (one person didn't know they needed a travel visa!). others are from people who wanted to change a DISCOUNTED NON-REFUNDABLE ticket without paying fees. what planet are they from??!! i booked my tickets and received my confirmation email right away. within 24 hours i received my ticket numbers from the airline. the only place i would say there's room for improvement, is perhaps they should let the customer know they're going to need to confirm the charges even after the confirmation email. but with that said, i'd still give 5 stars and recommend them. they had the lowest price, and our trip went off without a single hitch. i decided to write a review to try to add a little balance. most people write a review only after a bad experience. mine was great!

bradk3
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/27/11

To get in touch with customer service is impossible. It looks like they will make reservation but the tickets will be issued by another company. To avoid anxiety and uncertainty do not use them.

lilrebelc
68 reviews
405 helpful votes
6/28/10

Well, since I'm in the process of making flight arrangements for a trip to Australia, I've utilized the multi airline search engines to find the best deal on my international flights.

I came across this website which boasts of a possible 70% savings over other ticketing/booking companies like cheaptickets.com etc...

I entered my info and wow! I found a pretty darn good deal that would have saved about $200-$300 over all the other companies.

Great! I was ready to book! Then I got a funny nagging gut feeling of impending doom and gloom so I decided to research them and check out any reviews and most importantly, check them with the Better Business Bureau.

It wasn't pretty! The BBB rated this company with a grade F. (Works like our report card from school, folks. A-F with F being the kind of grade that would get you grounded and in summer school if you'd been sent home to Mom and Dad with it.) So, I checked out even more review sites and only saw maybe 4 reviews that were favorable. However, the BBB showed that in some cases, the company didn't even respond to the BBB complaint/inquiry.

Seems the main problems with this company are hidden charges showing up on your credit card and costing you hundreds more dollars, etickets being improperly issued and not issued in some cases at all and very rude customer service when and if you're able to get someone to talk to you at all! To be fair, I will say I called and a representative answered promptly but still, the negative reviews say that you get the run around and one person was on the phone with them and it took 9 hours to get things straight and that they were hung up on several times.

So, fair warning here. Some people even had to close their bank accounts to stop the unauthorized charges. I'd steer clear of this one. Stick with companies like cheaptickets.com which I've used 3 times without any problem at all.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Did not apply in my case.

By Peter C.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

My trip ID was in the upper left of the order confirmation. All flight information was entered correctly. I know this as I contacted ANZ to make my seating arrangements (I am tall and wanted as much leg room as I could get). The ANZ agent knew who I was, where I was flying from, connecting flights, and my return itinerary from Auckland. I guess I don't know what more to say other than, "Lucky me?"

By Peter C.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Airfare.com staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Airfare.com?
Post Review