SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of Restaurant.com

Restaurant.com reviews

Is this your business?
479 reviews
12%
Categories: Coupons, Deal, Dining
1500 West Shure Drive, Suite 200
Arlington Heights, Illinois 60004, USA
Tel: 855.832.8728
This business is not yet responding to reviews. If this is your business claim it and respond free.

479 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
51
Value
48
Shipping
25
Returns
38
Quality
43

All Reviews

danap30
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/24/16

I went to Rising Sons in Madison on High Point Road, WI and was told by the owner that they do not want to honor the certificate that I purchased on restaurants.com. Eventually they took the certificate saying that because I already purchased they will take it this time. I believe that this certificate should not be offered if the owner does not want to honor it. I emailed restaurants.com and has never received response. I still see on the restaurants.com the same certificate for $10 to Rising Sons. It's scam to sell certificate that is not honored at the restaurant.

Ask Dana about Restaurant.com
Advertisement
jesusa17
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/24/16

Never authorized certificates for my restaurant......

Ask JESUS about Restaurant.com
chrisw196
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/23/16

Its bad customer service when you call in no one listens all they do if read off a paper saying same thing over an over then the restaurant s that deal with them are just as bad no know how to use them in any restaurant not even the manager s so why is this service even offered just bad bad bad all around never buy any restaurant anything off line again because of this company

Ask Chris about Restaurant.com
petero27
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/22/16

Absolute bull - all of it. You will never get the value. RIP OFF!! I recieved this as an Xmas gift and I feel bad my relative bought in to this nonsense.

Ask peter about Restaurant.com
pc77
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/21/16

I got a Restaurant.com card as a gift a year or so ago, only to find out that I can getgood deals on the coupon, but have to spend a minimum of $50 at most places, even Pizzeria's and cafe's, that I want to go to. I can't eat up $50 of food myself. Even with my wife, we can't eat $50 worth of food in a Mexican restaraunt. I'm in Florida, not New York, so prices are reasonable, but still...For instance, a $10 coupon for $4..but I have to spend a minimum of $50. Rediculous..................

Ask P about Restaurant.com
fredh66
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/19/16

These folks have no problem harassing a small business owner with multiple, back to back phone calls trying to sell whatever they sell.Rude, Monstrous, Ridiculous.

Ask Fred about Restaurant.com
brandic12
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/15/16

I bought a coupon for the Native Cafe in Pensacola Beach and tried to use it today just to find out they did not have permission to be selling them aso they are not redeemable! Never buy from this site!!!

Ask Brandi about Restaurant.com
caroliner25
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/15/16

I attempted to use a gift card from restaurant.com over the weekend just to learn that it wasn't accepted at one of the recommended places on their list. It is too difficult to use, and I had to pay the bill without using the card. I am very disappointed about this card.

Ask Caroline about Restaurant.com
babelyr
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/10/16

I don't even know what happened to them, it used to be a good way to save money but as a year and a half or so everything went down hill when I tried to use one of the certificates and the restaurant told me that they never authorized those certificates, I called Rest.com (when they used to answer the phone) they apologized and told me they will put it as a credit or gift card on my account... Long story short, now I have 7 certificate credits or gift cards, $25 worth each, that I can't use, when I go to exchange then it tells me that the same certificate number is linked to another account, I called them.... Over 40 minutes waiting after they first responded and left me waiting for customer service, no response, sent them multiple emails, no response either. What it was a good company now they are a scam, don't give them your money!!!

Ask Babely about Restaurant.com
catherines65
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/9/16

If you see an offer for any specials listed in conjunction with a restaurant.com certificate ignore it!! I mean that! You can never redeem the special and no one at restaurant.com will ever answer your email. It has happened to me two times. Never again!

Ask Catherine about Restaurant.com
susanb198
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/9/16

Before I get accused of not reading the fine print, I did, I read it all. I purchased a certificate on Groupon after looking on the restaurant.com website. The deals looked good, such as $10 for a $25 dollar restaurant gift card. I purchased the groupon but when I entered my redemption code, all of those deals went bye bye. Here's an example of my choices...$25 for a $25 gift card. That is no bargain, especially when you consider the $50 minimum at the local restaurant. Now, I agree, I did not pay the full price for $100 worth of credit on Restaurant.com so all in all, it would have been a deal...EXCEPT...not only did the deals change, after I redeemed $35 of my $100, my account all of a sudden showed a 0 balance. RIP-OFF. I emailed using the address on their site, but have received no response. I called the number Groupon gave me and it just lets me sit on hold for eons. Don't waste your money...I guess if it sounds too good to be true, it really is. My mistake, just trying to keep you from making it too.

Ask Susan about Restaurant.com
annaf45
1 review
5 helpful votes
8/4/16

O received a gift Certificate of $100.00, a while ago, but up to today no able to redeem because the offer on this site are too low. I just don't know what to do with this stupid Certificate. If I use $40.00 Certificate I have to spend, minimum $200 at restaurant. What is this? The deal is only good for the restaurant and to the site, For me nothing. I am extremely unhappy with this. So, if you want to give me a gift certificate. please do no - DO NOT - go for Restaurant.com

Ask anna about Restaurant.com
patrickc80
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/2/16

Bought a certificate for a restaurant that my wife loves. Two weeks later I get an email stating that particular restaurant is no longer accepting the certificates. So be it, I will get a refund. Wrong, I was told by an Alex that they do not give refunds and I can only get a certificate for a different restaurant. I told him if I wanted the other restaurants I would have bought them but only bought from restaurant I did try and buy. This is a complete rip off. I asked him what is stopping them from listing cheap certificates to nice restaurants and then once they sold enough to just cancel it and make everyone now use that money for the restaurants that aren't selling. I believe this was a setup all along. I asked for a supervisor, which of course I was told they are all busy. They wanted to have one call me back but I told them I would wait on hold for as long as it took...half hour and they keep checking back but saying still not available. Will wait this out on principle alone

Ask Patrick about Restaurant.com
louk182
1 review
8 helpful votes
8/1/16

WHAT A CROCK OF GARBAGE THIS SITE IS! I have a $100.00 gift card stored in my account. So.... I should be able to just click on a deal and redeem like it says I can right? WRONG.. Each time I go to redeem it says I have no funds available.. BUT.. when I go into my account.. it says I have $100.00 to redeem. Why... it even congratulates me on this great feat of having a gift card in the system.. THE ONLY THING it will allow me to do, is to input my credit card, thus charging me INSTEAD of using my $100.00 stored gift card. WHAT A SCAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can not believe (1) They are still in operation (maybe they aren't and no one knows it) and (2) Major lawsuits of fraud have not been attached to them..

Ask Lou about Restaurant.com
bobg77
1 review
8 helpful votes
7/28/16

Restaurant.com lists our diner for their customers. Unfortunately we have never had a contractual relationship with restaurant.com. An Internet crime complaint has been filed. Buyer beware.

Ask Bob about Restaurant.com
erinw33
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/27/16

The worst. Very difficult to use. You must find an approved restaurant listed on their website first, purchase the gift certificate, print out the certificate and then bring it to the restaurant. Every restaurant requires you to spend a certain amount of money to use the gift certificate. Usually, the certificate saves you half. For instance, the gift certificate may be for $25, but you have to spend $50 at the restaurant to use it.

I have received two $100 Restaurant.com gift cards as gifts (I'm sure it's because no one wants to deal with them). I have used $30 on one of them 4 years ago and will likely not bother using it ever again, it was such a pain.

I have been trying to contact customer service for days now to find out which one of my gift cards is the unused one so I can give it away as a gift, but there is no way to look up that information on the website. I did receive an email in response to my inquiry, but it was automated and did not answer my question.

Thankfully, I've never used any of my own money for these useless gift cards. Just don't bother wasting your time on these.

Ask Erin about Restaurant.com
dwighth18
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/27/16

I HAVE A $100 GIFT CARD. ONLY HAVE ONE RESTAURANT IN OUR TOWN THAT WAS LISTED. I WAS SKEPTICAL BECAUSE THE FINE PRINT SAID THAT YOU HAD TO PURCHASE $50.00 TO USE A $25.00 CERTIFICATE. WHEN I TOOK IT TO THE RESTAURANT THEY HAD A PICTURE OF THE CERTIFICATE HANGING UP SAYING THEY DID NOT HONOR THE CARD. ABSOLUTELY WORTHLESS! STAY AWAY FROM THIS PROGRAM.

Ask Dwight about Restaurant.com
pennyc26
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/21/16

Bought 4 tickets to see Wicked and promotion included a free CD. No CD. Waited for 6 months and have contacted customer service several times. Also difficult to find restaurants taking $50 e-certificates. Seats cost the same throughout Ticket Master and you get to pick your seats.

Ask Penny about Restaurant.com
gerrib3
1 review
7 helpful votes
7/21/16

They sold me a package by fast talk. I tried the next day (before my card was charged) and no one would answer the phone. One week later I chose the option for person who wanted a promotion and that call was answered immediately. This is no accident they refused to remove the charge. I am going to try and get the chamber of commerce where their office is to file a complaint. I hope this site will let me register a zero.

Ask Gerri about Restaurant.com
loup22
1 review
5 helpful votes
7/19/16

Got this gift card from my local Bj's club for renewing my membership. The girl who gave it to me said it was very simple to use. Followed the instruction on the card itself which was simple however I did not know I had to select a restaurant from a list. Ok so I go through the list a saw a restaurant that was mentioned by a few friends and family as a great place but I could not use my certificate because they were out. It said to check back often. So that's what I've been doing for 6 months !!!! I finally sent an email to restarants.com about the issue but got no response. I'm puzzled. I have a $50 certificate to use but cant use it because the restaurant is out of certificates???? I didn't pay for it and im glad because I will warn all friends and family not to fall for this scam. I also plan to inform my local BJ's club about it.

Ask Lou about Restaurant.com
fredp46
1 review
5 helpful votes
7/17/16

We unfortunately received 2 certificates. Be careful, most of these coupons require a minimum purchase of twice the certificate amount and some of the restaurants opted out of the program. If you do use it, just be careful. Call ahead and read the fine print. Not very convenient though.

Ask Fred about Restaurant.com
erics166
1 review
6 helpful votes
7/17/16

Their version...
Restaurant.com
Your Order with Restaurant.com #xxxxxxxxx
It's time to dine! Save today - your deal is ready! View as a webpage RESTAURANT.COM - BEST DEAL. EVERY MEAL. IT'S TIME TO DINE! Your deals are ready in your Account. Use on-the-go

REALITY...
HOG-WASH!!! DISPUTED CHARGES !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I attempted to redeem $48 from a $100 GIFT card I was given. I created my new account as site instructed, entered the redemption code as instructed and received confirmation. I then clicked the redeem icon for my gift card, chose the restaurants I was halfway interested in (special sales) and they CHARGED MY CREDIT CARD!!!!! I tried to call these charlatans but they're not available on the weekends so I emailed their "Help" desk so a customer service representative could assist but even their email is an automated response. I immediately called my credit card company and they confirmed Restaurants.com charged my card and the funds are in cyber-limbo until they actually post. I have to wait for that posting to file formal charge disputes.

I am TICKED OFF, why the HECK was I charged for redeeming a gift card?

I started by filing a formal complaint with the Better Business Bureau and if the restitution I expect does not happen by FIRST available business day I will escalate complaints to the FBIs online fraud department, the IRS just because, my credit card's attorneys for credit card fraud, and any other acronym company that has a complaint board (SAG {State Attorney General}, the SEC, DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND TRADE, etc.)

DO NOT, I REPEAT, DO NOT DO ANY BUSINESS WHATSOEVER WITH RESTAURANTS.COM! paste this on all social media and put these flim-flam convicts out of business!!!


My complaint has been received and routed to the following BBB: BBB Chicago & N. Illinois (Chicago, IL) 330 N. Wabash, Ste. 3120 Chicago, IL 60611-7621 Phone: (312)832-0500 Fax: (312)832-9985
Yesterday

***Side note***
THEY ADVERTISE THEIR PRODUCT AS A "GIFT CARD" AND ALL IT REALLY IS IS A GLORIFIED "BUY-ONE-GET-ONE" COUPON!!!! AND THEN IT ONLY WORKS IF THE COMPANY YOU CHOOSE HONORS THIS SNAKE-OIL. Does anyone know of an attorney who will probono (sp?) a class-action suit. Time to fight back sick of being fleeced.

Ask Eric about Restaurant.com
niyaw1
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/16/16

Got a 50 gift certificate as a gift and when I went to use it the place said I had to spend money to get 50 off! Huh what kind of scam its a gift therefore the person using it doesn't pay! Trickery at it's best. So my friend spent 50 on a certificate I can never use

Ask Niya about Restaurant.com
vk25
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/14/16

I received $25 certificate as a gift. Created my account and it showed $25 as available. Saved it to my account to use later. Logged in three days later - no balance. Money is gone. Tried to send a message to customer service - they do not want to hear from you. Stay away from this. It only works if you use it right this minute - hungry or not.

Ask V about Restaurant.com
christophere25
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/12/16

I had a $25 gift certificate, once I entered the code it said I only had $10 to use. Never used it before. I didn't feel like making an issue of it so I chose a restaurant to use the $10 at. All of a sudden the credit is missing from my account. It just disappeared and I didn't get to actually use it. This is probably the worst site I've ever dealt with.

Ask Christopher about Restaurant.com

52 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Restaurant.com staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
1 week ago
Add your answer
I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines
2 weeks ago
Add your answer
I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines
See 20 more questions
See more Q&A
LoadingLoading...
Questions? Get answers from the Restaurant.com staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Similar Pages

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Restaurant.com?
Post Review