SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of Restaurant.com

Restaurant.com reviews

Is this your business?
462 reviews
12%
Categories: Coupons, Deal, Dining
1500 West Shure Drive, Suite 200
Arlington Heights, Illinois 60004, USA
Tel: 855.832.8728
This business is not yet responding to reviews. If this is your business claim it and respond free.

462 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
51
Value
48
Shipping
25
Returns
38
Quality
43

Review Highlights

richardd51

Why is it that some of these internet sites no longer provide a customer service number to talk to a live person? (in 63 reviews)

pc1

As an example we used one yesterday that was a $25 gift card for $2. (in 76 reviews)

jakec27

So how then did I manage to obtain a gift certificate with the restaurant's name and logo? (in 74 reviews)

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

pennyc26
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/21/16

Bought 4 tickets to see Wicked and promotion included a free CD. No CD. Waited for 6 months and have contacted customer service several times. Also difficult to find restaurants taking $50 e-certificates. Seats cost the same throughout Ticket Master and you get to pick your seats.

Ask Penny about Restaurant.com
Advertisement
gerrib3
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/21/16

They sold me a package by fast talk. I tried the next day (before my card was charged) and no one would answer the phone. One week later I chose the option for person who wanted a promotion and that call was answered immediately. This is no accident they refused to remove the charge. I am going to try and get the chamber of commerce where their office is to file a complaint. I hope this site will let me register a zero.

Ask Gerri about Restaurant.com
loup22
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/19/16

Got this gift card from my local Bj's club for renewing my membership. The girl who gave it to me said it was very simple to use. Followed the instruction on the card itself which was simple however I did not know I had to select a restaurant from a list. Ok so I go through the list a saw a restaurant that was mentioned by a few friends and family as a great place but I could not use my certificate because they were out. It said to check back often. So that's what I've been doing for 6 months !!!! I finally sent an email to restarants.com about the issue but got no response. I'm puzzled. I have a $50 certificate to use but cant use it because the restaurant is out of certificates???? I didn't pay for it and im glad because I will warn all friends and family not to fall for this scam. I also plan to inform my local BJ's club about it.

Ask Lou about Restaurant.com
fredp46
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/17/16

We unfortunately received 2 certificates. Be careful, most of these coupons require a minimum purchase of twice the certificate amount and some of the restaurants opted out of the program. If you do use it, just be careful. Call ahead and read the fine print. Not very convenient though.

Ask Fred about Restaurant.com
erics166
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/17/16

Their version...
Restaurant.com
Your Order with Restaurant.com #xxxxxxxxx
It's time to dine! Save today - your deal is ready! View as a webpage RESTAURANT.COM - BEST DEAL. EVERY MEAL. IT'S TIME TO DINE! Your deals are ready in your Account. Use on-the-go

REALITY...
HOG-WASH!!! DISPUTED CHARGES !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I attempted to redeem $48 from a $100 GIFT card I was given. I created my new account as site instructed, entered the redemption code as instructed and received confirmation. I then clicked the redeem icon for my gift card, chose the restaurants I was halfway interested in (special sales) and they CHARGED MY CREDIT CARD!!!!! I tried to call these charlatans but they're not available on the weekends so I emailed their "Help" desk so a customer service representative could assist but even their email is an automated response. I immediately called my credit card company and they confirmed Restaurants.com charged my card and the funds are in cyber-limbo until they actually post. I have to wait for that posting to file formal charge disputes.

I am TICKED OFF, why the HECK was I charged for redeeming a gift card?

I started by filing a formal complaint with the Better Business Bureau and if the restitution I expect does not happen by FIRST available business day I will escalate complaints to the FBIs online fraud department, the IRS just because, my credit card's attorneys for credit card fraud, and any other acronym company that has a complaint board (SAG {State Attorney General}, the SEC, DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND TRADE, etc.)

DO NOT, I REPEAT, DO NOT DO ANY BUSINESS WHATSOEVER WITH RESTAURANTS.COM! paste this on all social media and put these flim-flam convicts out of business!!!


My complaint has been received and routed to the following BBB: BBB Chicago & N. Illinois (Chicago, IL) 330 N. Wabash, Ste. 3120 Chicago, IL 60611-7621 Phone: (312)832-0500 Fax: (312)832-9985
Yesterday

Ask Eric about Restaurant.com
niyaw1
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/16/16

Got a 50 gift certificate as a gift and when I went to use it the place said I had to spend money to get 50 off! Huh what kind of scam its a gift therefore the person using it doesn't pay! Trickery at it's best. So my friend spent 50 on a certificate I can never use

Ask Niya about Restaurant.com
vk25
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/14/16

I received $25 certificate as a gift. Created my account and it showed $25 as available. Saved it to my account to use later. Logged in three days later - no balance. Money is gone. Tried to send a message to customer service - they do not want to hear from you. Stay away from this. It only works if you use it right this minute - hungry or not.

Ask V about Restaurant.com
christophere25
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/12/16

I had a $25 gift certificate, once I entered the code it said I only had $10 to use. Never used it before. I didn't feel like making an issue of it so I chose a restaurant to use the $10 at. All of a sudden the credit is missing from my account. It just disappeared and I didn't get to actually use it. This is probably the worst site I've ever dealt with.

Ask Christopher about Restaurant.com
macks16
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/11/16

Have used these certificates quite a few times. Sure, the restaurants are limited (133 in Washington, DC, and few "5 star restaurants" but easily used and lots of "new" good food experiences. Suggest go to Tripadvisor and check out the restaurant, give them a call and ask if they honor, and if they do, print the certificate and enjoy..

Ask Mack about Restaurant.com
katherinef9
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/9/16

Purchased a Groupon thinking we had $100 to spend at restaurant.com for any restaurant as long as it was one on the site. Site said must spend minimum of $50, so we bought 2-$25 gift cards. Turns out had to spend $50 minimum at the restaurant itself to receive $25 off the bill. Extremely misleading both on Groupon and restaurant.com.
Very very disappointing. Buyer beware.

Ask Katherine about Restaurant.com
michellem185
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/8/16

Website:
You type in a promo code, says it is applied, makes you choose an offer, makes you sign in, then the promo code DISAPPEARS! You re-search for the offer you chose before, and then there's NO place to re-enter the promo code!

You try and forget the promo code and use previous credit you bought, and the website doesn't even let you use it! It's like one big continuous loop making you accidentally buy more gift card credit.

It makes it seem like you can merge different gift card credit to buy one big offer, but the website won't let you.

App:
Tried it on the app too, and when it says it added your credit there's a dotted circle that keeps spinning and spinning then doesn't go anywhere. Wasted way too much time on this website and have probably $50 tied up in it.

Customer Service:
There is a phone number that says to order by phone, maybe because the website and app sucks so much ya think?? When I called twice the phone line was busy. Seems like the only time the phone line ISN'T busy is after hours when they are already closed & the automated machine picks up telling you when their business hours are.

Overall:
Restaurant choices suck. They used to have better ones, but I think over the years the website has gone downhill and is just too hard to order anything once you do find something you might like.

Ask MICHELLE about Restaurant.com
brians233
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/7/16

Years ago I purchased many certificates from this outfit. Got some good deals at good, local restaurants. Looking though the site now, I don't see any decent restaurants in my area - never heard of most of them!

Ask Brian about Restaurant.com
pk46
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/4/16

I received a $25 coupon as part of a promotion run by a hotel chain. Unlike gift cards, to redeem a restaurant.com deal, you have to first register, then pick a restaurant (no chains or popular ones), then 'redeem the code', print a certficate ... at this point, I just gave up and moved on. What a joke!

Ask P about Restaurant.com
valerieb35
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/1/16

I spoke with waitress Aurora about certificate from Restaurant.com. The manager or owner Maria Martinez came out telling me that she only has $10 and $15 certificates not $25 and I need to print it out. I stated thats not what the certificate says and she needs to deal with Restaurant.com. Manager started arguing saying that she is not giving out free food and all thats involve in making it. She had a tantrum attack, not even apologized for inconvenience or misunderstanding, she was the victim being abused. I just paid full bill to get out of there. I would have spent so much less if I knew she didn't accept it thats why I asked before hand. I have the recepit for proof and my son and waitress Aurora witness it. She didn't honor certificate even when it says it clearly spend $50 or more get $25 off. Its not my problem what she negotiated with Restaurant.com or her losses. Such a hassle and terrible experience. Another purchase to a different restaurant was out of business. The credit code provided for inconvenience was invalid. Go figure. Close for long weekend until Tuesday.

Ask Valerie about Restaurant.com
erikam32
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/1/16

I have over a hundred and fifty dollars in money tied up with this company. I thought this would be great gift ideas, who doesn't love to eat! I've been to two places that took the coupons ,everywhere else has stop taking them. When you contact them they will offer you a $25 certificate for your troubles. but what good is that if you cant find anywhere to eat! never again will I order from this company, I feel scammed and extremely disappointed!

Tip for consumers: Please call any place you think of ordering from and make sure they accept a discount or certificate from this company before ordering. Even after reporting that certain places do not accept the coupons anymore they are still listed for sale!

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
Ask Erika about Restaurant.com
markl194
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/30/16

They offer what seems to be amazing deals. Then they don't operate the promo codes in the typical fashion that everyone else does. When you do figure things out and try to type in the code, it "conveniently" doesn't let you enter the promo code. Just a scam to get you to look at their Web site without the realization of the promises made....

Ask Mark about Restaurant.com
kimm179
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/30/16

My husband and I signed up our small local mom-and-pop restaurant. The persistent sales person told us that we would gain more traffic and they would raise awareness for our restaurant through their marketing efforts. First they posted a high ticket gift certificates which is a death sentence for our single $ business. After a follow-up conversation with the salesmen he reduced the gift certificate purchase amount to $5 and $10. In a very short time a good number of certificates have been purchased of both the high and low denominations. But here's the problem. There wasn't one new customer, it was all existing customers that came with the certificate - purchasing $20 $30, $50 worth of food for half the price. One of our existing customers bought three coupons and plans to come back and use each one to save half off her order. I am sure our customers think we are getting a portion of the original investment they made but we get none of it!
We had our name pulled down from the site immediately and we are no longer honoring any certificates that are presented. No loss for the customer, restaurant.com will allow them to switch it for something else. My husband and I run specials and promos all the time but this type of promo is detrimental to our bottom line. We did not see any benefit only loss.

Ask Kim about Restaurant.com
ericm133
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/23/16

I had United Airline's mileage and was about to expire. Then, I used all of mileage to get restaurant.com certificate last night. I just saw simple terms and condition you have to do minimum purchase $40 to use this certificate. Then, I ordered more than 20 certificates. After that, certificates were sent by email and I checked the certificates. Its terms and condition says only 1 certificate may be deemed per party, per month, per restaurant. These guys did scam for me. I called customer service and they said its general terms and condition but they never showed it before I purchase. Again, this is fraud. The guy said they can credit back the point or something which can be used to purchase certificate again. I wanted United mileage back to my United account but they guy asked to talk to United. IM EXTREMELY UNCOMFORTABLE!!!! Dont use restaurant.com!!

Ask Eric about Restaurant.com
alishah11
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/20/16

This is a horrible, horrible business.
I received a $50 gift card and had multiple issues with redeeming "deals". The first 2 restaurants I went to trying redeem "deals" said they don't honor restaurant.com and don't know why they are still listed on the website. My third attempt, at a restaurant this weekend, agreed to the restaurant.com deal, then I had issues with the app and website. First, the app I had downloaded was not working at all, flashing on and off, and not recognizing my log in info. I un-installed the app and used the internet on my phone to go through the restaurant.com website. I tried to redeem this restaurant's "deal" ($25 off a $50 check), and first the website wouldn't recognize the code on my gift card. Then the site charged me $10 to redeem the deal, after accepting my gift card's code. Nothing made any sense. I had to pay for it, because I had already spent more money on the check than I wanted to and had been sitting there for 20 minutes after getting the check, trying to get the stupid site to work. The site also redeemed my "deal" twice, without warning, with no way of reversing it.
I emailed help@restaurant.com and received a generic, unhelpful response. Finally, I called today to speak to a "customer service representative" and experienced THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER. The man I spoke to was raising his voice at me, blaming me for what I did wrong (???), saying "you're the one not letting me help you", just being completely rude and not helpful. I actually asked him if he had any previous customer service experience, because he certainly wasn't acting like it. I asked if I could speak to someone else, to which he responded that I could call back but he would not transfer my call (which I couldn't do as I was calling on my break at work after already waiting 15 minutes to talk to this schmuck). He kept repeating that restaurant.com had a "no refund policy", which also wasn't making sense considering they charged me to use a gift card?! Finally, he placed me on hold for a couple of minutes and then came back on and told me that they will be refunding the $10 charge.
Summary: Here's why I hate this business - restaurants don't honor the "deals", faulty app, faulty website, got charged to use my gift card, terrible customer service. I will be throwing away the gift card that still has $25 on it. It's not even worth it.

Ask Alisha about Restaurant.com
avatarg
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/16/16

I used to work at a call center in México city where they forced the reps to lie to the restaurants in order to make them confirm their info so they could récord that and list them even when whoever answered was not the owner or mánager. Also we did not get payed most of the times and did not have law benefits. The mánager would sleep with the boss in order to do whatever she wanted. Her name was E. you can verify calling 210 247 4156 they will say they are located in San Antonio but they are actually in México also they mostly scam latino restaurants as it ia easier for language reasons

Ask Avatar about Restaurant.com
shequanp
1 review
4 helpful votes
6/15/16

my first experience with this company was horrible however, the second experience wasn't bad at all. It's was okay

Ask Shequan about Restaurant.com
mariaf57
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/14/16

I am a business owner of a restaurant listed on the site, when I called inquire why my business was on the site, I was put on hold, hung up and passed around to different reps until they finally "wrote down my info". This site is a fraud. DO NOT PURCHASE anything until you can verify the restaurant is using them. It's also a knock off of an accredited site (restaurants.com) - word to the wise- DO NOT USE

Fellow business owners- check for your restaurants- they have fake logos with our real information and we didn't sign up for his service.

Ask Maria about Restaurant.com
khemaa
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/10/16

El Coqui, San Antonio, Texas does NOT honor the certificate you buy from Restaurant.com, claiming the Restaurant.com has not set up the account with them. So call the restaurant you would like to buy a certificate for BEFORE you purchase the "so called" discount certificate.

Ask Khema about Restaurant.com
nyc30
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/10/16

I bought the "GC", but later read the fine print that the minimum spent has to be doubled that at Sencha Tea. So I called back to customer service, and explain to the customer associate that I had made the mistake of not reading the fine print. It was my fault for doing so, and I would like to get my refund back. Samantha was very nice and understanding and said she will do a one time courtesy refund, which is all that I need because I've learned my lesson from this. She also said it would take 3 to 5 business days for the refund for me to receive an e-mail about the refund. To my surprise, I received it the next day and my refund the day after that. So yes, it was misleading the way they advertised it, but their customer service reps are very courteous and friendly and for that they get a five star review from me. Thank you Samantha for your assistance!

Ask Ny about Restaurant.com
mjl4
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/7/16

This company is a complete SCAM!!! I purchased a gift card. I tried to use it on the website and I wasn't able to. I called for a refund and they said it was nonrefundable. There was nothing to indicate the gift cards are nonrefundable. They claim I agreed to the terms when I purchased the card, but you are given terms on the uses of their gift cards and certificates after you have purchased them. I intend to pursue other avenues to get my money back. The crazy part is that my purchase was only $15. THEY WON'T REFUND A $15 PURCHASE!!! SCAM!!! SCAM!!! SCAM!!!

Ask MJ about Restaurant.com

49 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Restaurant.com staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
1 week ago
Add your answer
I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines
1 week ago
Add your answer
I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines
See 20 more questions
See more Q&A
Questions? Get answers from the Restaurant.com staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Restaurant.com?
Post Review