SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of POF

POF reviews

Is this your business?
581 reviews
15%
Categories: Dating
701 Fifth Avenue, Suite 5400
Seattle, Washington 98104, CAN
Tel: 6360105675901
systems@pof.com
This business is not yet responding to reviews. If this is your business claim it and respond free.

581 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
57
Value
53
Shipping
21
Returns
26
Quality
50

All Reviews

philipa25
4 reviews
3 helpful votes
12/8/16

Just by reading five to ten reviews I get the idea: Wrong Expectation! POF is a free to use dating site and I am surprised to read so many negative reviews. Like I wrote in the beginning I think people have high expectations and for some reason POF was not able to meet their expectations. Let's make clear that I am also not a big fan of POF. I've used it and I rather spend a few bucks on a prime dating site like Mingle2day or eHarmony because in my opinion it gives me plenty of good options. But for being a mostly free to use dating site POF is a great alternative

Ask Philip about POF
Advertisement
dm403
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/4/16

I created a profile with a lengthy well thought out dialog. Browsed the sight for an hour and then "Please Log In". Come to find out the account was deleted. Registered a second time with the same email and username and the same thing browse for an hour and then "Please Log In" the account was deleted for a second time. There are thousands of negative reviews with deleted accounts and people that paid to "Upgraded" and had their account deleted essentially stealing their money. So if they create another account then they have to pay again, only to have the profile deleted again. A huge Red Flag should be the lack of Customer Service emails or Phone numbers they are hard to find or are non existent. There is also race and age discrimination going on. Another thing is if you get blocked too many times they delete your profile. I browsed several profiles and sent no messages so I wonder if those women all just hit the block button causing a deleted profile. Stay away from POF their terms and rules are absurd, the deleting of profiles Is pathetic.
I read a review that said Markus the founder of POF gets paid 30 bucks each time someone registers, that's a great incentive to program the site to auto delete certain profiles. It seems a lot of online dating sites are using scam techniques and what's called scraping of other websites. That's why you see the same females on about every dating site available. I highly doubt that many ladies are going to sign up for 8 dating sites, it's more like one site gets scraped and the fake profiles get created. Really a lack of ethics and overall scumbag tactics

Ask D about POF
billyh52
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/4/16

You're better off in a bar....the women get on there then get their heads blown up and become immature rude $#*!es...they respond immediately then wanna respond back every ten min then try and act surprised when you call them a rude $#*!,..even of you get their phone number they want you to wait weeks to get a date....99% have little kids and no life... Then say their kids come first etc....the women treat it like online shopping... All long looking for Mr Right or soul mate etc..analyzing the hell out of my you....they got little kids their ugly and broke and so on and trying to be picky....then you got your mooching gold diggers....then you got your its their new Facebook.....
Better off in a bar instead of dealing with deluded twats....

Ask Billy about POF
christianu4
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/30/16

A year and a half maybe a little more ago I met my husband on POF. He messaged me a month or two before I got back to him but once I did we spoke for two weeks and each day he peaked my interest more. On June 22nd 2015 he came to visit me we met at a motel six and did what you'd expect anyone to do in a motel room for six hours. The next day I never expected to hear from again but god knows I wanted to so I texted him even though I swore to myself I wouldn't. That whole week he spent 700 dollars to say in my town with me because he didn't want to leave me. Needless to say we have been together ever since we have had our ups and downs but he is my best friend and now I'm not sure what I'd do without him.

Ask Christian about POF
anonymousa97
1 review
5 helpful votes
11/29/16

Stormchaser1993 is Cheater and a lyer
He comes off so sweet ,says he's a Christian and loves the lord ,but I swear he won't show any real interest in you but sex right after I gave him my number..he told me he deleted his pof but was still on there a lot when we were together,something was very off about him but I wanted to believe he was a good guy so I stayed with him longer but I could not take all the conversations bout sex and my looks .so I broke up with him ..I got no reply back and that's odd for someone who was talking to me bout kids and building a family..he's still on pof fishing :/

Ask Anonymous about POF
kimp97
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/27/16

Full of cat-fishing men. In a 1 month period I had 1 legit response and 2 where they copied and pasted directly from the web and expected me to go along with it. Thank god I have good common sense and blocked them quick.

Ask Kim about POF
jakes79
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/24/16

Full of attention seeking women. Most of them are there to waste time. If you're lucky enough to get a reply the majority of them just want to gossip and will eventually get bored with talking to you. I gave it 2 stars as I was lucky enough to go on a date with someone and she was ok. The date lasted 4 hours and she expected me to talk constantly for all that time. The first couple of hours went ok, we had a lot to talk about and then the conversation went dead who the $#*! can talk constantly for four hours ??? I've now met someone no thanks to pof. Guys don't waste your time full of stuck up women.

Ask Jake about POF
johng410
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/23/16

Received suggestion for POF Account upgrade, upgraded and been locked out since, my username and password longer works, POF states that my email address is not registered to an account (when I am 100% certain it is) and there is some other dude using my scree-name. Tried contacting Customer Service, but there is none, have sent emails and received only automated responses which were useless. This is so unfortunate because I am actually a paying continued customer of more than 1 year.

Ask John about POF
jimw113
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/22/16

Pof is full of the lowest class of shallow women on the planet even the ugliest and fates women think they are divas and think millionaire movie stars are coming to find them all these women have Pretty Women Syndrome whores and birches thinking they are queens most won't even respond unless they think your rich and 6 ft 6 movie star looks don't even care about personality or anything that matters worst worst worst site run away

Ask Jim about POF
julier79
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
11/21/16

Catfish central! Very few real people on that site. The longer you are on it the more crap you have to deal with. People use it as their own way of getting revenge on people they don't like or people that wouldn't date them or broke up with them. Pathetic people try to exploit anyone who is legitimately looking for some kind of relationship.

Ask Julie about POF
dougc44
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/21/16

POF is pretty much useless. Anybody who is on POF for the right reasons gets drowned out by all of the other idiots. There are plenty of women on here who can be called "losers" (that's what they should really call this site). First of all, you have your single mothers, some with multiple kids. And where is the father, and in some cases fathers, to these children? Unless these men are deceased, why aren't they raising their kids? Seems to me that these women are looking for father figures for their kids. And then you have women who say they have bachelors degrees when all they really have is maybe a high school diploma. They must say that to try to attract educated guys. And then you also have women in their early to mid- thirties who say their students. What they're really saying is that they're unemployed or that they have a $#*!ty menial minimum wage job that they hate. It's possible that they could be going to school. Most likely a part-time evening college course. But who knows? Don't forget the single mothers who say family is important to them. Their probably trying to make it on their own but stay connected to mommy and daddy. They may even be living with their parents from time to time. Sounds like a double standard. A guy gets slammed for "living in mom's basement", but these women get off light just because their women. You also have women who are on here purely for entertainment purposes. They have no intention of actually dating. Don't even get me started on the fake profiles and scammers, or the fact that POF is anti-male. I'm not saying that women don't have a hard time on here, They do. It's just that men have to deal with a lot of bull$#*! too.

Ask Doug about POF
stevenm164
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/18/16

Hey, ive used POF quite a lot over the years and its definitely 1 of the best sites out there. It hasnt brought me the most dates (that would be WeJustFit.com) but it always has people to chat with and its a really nice site to use on your phone or your laptop (I use both). I like the features and how popular the site is even if that doesnt guarantee you success it still makes you feel youre getting a good opportunity for your money. Thanks for reading!

Ask Steven about POF
davidj227
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/16/16

Dont join POF.....they cxl yr profile if you dont pay to upgrade.....the profiles are five/ten years old..i joined 7years ago for a few weeks..joined recently and same photos on there..the women dont exist..be warned..its a rip off..n the joker called Markus...is fake.. Just wanted to warn others..try badoo...real people on the not like plenty of fakes...

Ask David about POF
shaunj11
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/16/16

I was deleted after a week for no reason at all.I had no nude pics and never said anything bad to anyone.From what i heard this happens to people all the time.Stay clear of that garbage site!

Ask Shaun about POF
lisab286
3 reviews
7 helpful votes
11/15/16

Been on just over a week. I get that guys say they get no attention but from a woman's point of view... I receive hundreds of messages. Sounds great. Yeah it would be if I'd found one single guy who doesn't yet fit into one of these categories: 25 year old losers who live at home with mum and dad... Nothing wrong with that except I'm 37 and all they want are nude pics to w@nk to... That's fine... Different strokes and all that.. But be honest instead of saying you want a relationship lol. Then there are the married creeps who lie that they're single and want a relationship...time wasters. Then there are the men who turn up who look absolutely nothing like their photo... Absolutely nothing.. And saying that all the women are stuck up what crap...there has to be an attraction and lieing that you're a certain colour when you're not or you actually weigh 40kg more than your photo... Well be honest or what do you expect? Then there's the amount of creeps, older ones who within two sentences are asking for nude shots and filthy poses... Yeah on their bio it says they want a relationship...like is this how they think a relationship starts? Also when you get online everyone on there knows it so trying to talk to one guy is almost impossible it's so hard to concentrate. Oh yeah also there's the ones that seem decent so you meet up and get along great it seems, well they stay for hours so you'd think...yeah this might lead to a second date....then they disappear off the face of the earth and I'm not gonna stalk anyone or chase people with mental problems. If you're not ready for a relationship don't say you are... Wastes peoples time. And as for men $#*!ing that you're judged too heavily on your photos... Well how about putting some decent ones up? Y'know without a bottle of piss in your hand, your kids and any other women you've ever met... Cos FFS that's obvious right? You wouldn't give your employer these photos to use on your work badge. So lol too many men on these review sites are saying how decent and wonderful they are its 100% the women are nuts, prostitutes or scammers yeah these people are everywhere but there's plenty of decent women. And yeah men have to work a bit harder send out loads of messages they have to work harder in real life too lol maybe unfair but that's life. Don't get me wrong I've been on heaps of great dates of all kinds haha... But anyone I'd go out of my way to see again? Nah...
..

Ask Lisa about POF
heatherb140
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/13/16

After a few absurd messages from some clearly diluded individuals.. I actaully met the woman I'm now marrying on the 28th of December this year. This site was perfect for us.. i highly recommend it. So thanks pof.. for finding me my wife

Ask Heather about POF
johnw565
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/7/16

Not exactly the best experience if you're a guy. No messages. No attention. Nothing whatsoever. If you happen to be a guy who is somewhat good-looking but have little to nothing going for him, even the bottom end of the women on this site wont talk to you. Women in your own backyard don't want anything to do with you. What if you're a unattractive guy? Forget about it. You're less than a blip on the screen. These women wont even look at your profile. I have so many bad things to say about this site that I've forgotten some of them. Just like I ought to forget that I ever tried this site. My advice to you men is STAY AWAY!

Ask John about POF
jaredg11
18 reviews
12 helpful votes
11/6/16

Had a gf who wanted to drink every day who moved in with me from here and tried to kill herself when I broke up with her.

Ask Jared about POF
tomosh1
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/31/16

Had a good date in my 2nd or 3rd week but things have dried up a bit since. If I compare with the other site I use (wejustfit.com) I'd have to admit that WJF wins cos ive had more dates and even met someone that I was seeing for a while on that site. Bottom line is both sites are good and if you can afford to join two, you could do worse than those. And if you get a chance with a nice person grab it with both hands. Good luck :-)

Ask Tomos about POF
johnf277
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/30/16

POF is woeful. Women are stuck up...Lads...avoid....

Ask John about POF
davyd8
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
10/29/16

I have been visiting POF for about six years. In the early years I dated and met a lot of women. Let me say I am NOT good looking. Just an average guy. Even some people might be cruel and say I am ugly. But no matter. In the early years women DID respond to messages. They DID read the profiles and they DID message first. At one time I had 38 unread messages in my inbox. This was about 2011. However, over the years the interest women have shown has declined. That said, even back as 2014, I was still receiving messages (different profile). Not as many as in 2011, but I was going on dates. But all this good stuff has now ended. In 2016 I have had six new profiles. No messages. No replies. And obviously no dates. With each new profile I felt I was invisible. And I probably am. No disrespect to the women on there, but I have even messaged the fat ugly ones and still no replies. Only 9 profile views over six profiles, over 11 months. It's not just POF. Oasis, OKCupid are also DEAD. I put this down to there being far too many scammers, fake men's profiles and of course the women are far too picky. Arrogant and won't even look at the profiles never mind message back. POF, RIP.

Ask Davy about POF
billm167
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/26/16

The subject line says it all.
ZIPPO in terms of customer service; no acknowledgement of emails; no acknowledgement of complaints; entirely slanted, biased and double standard moderation (against men); and idiotic for-pay features such as "Meet Me" & and the new even more assine feature of 'Super Meet Me' surely designed to make those rejected even angrier as they expect people to PAY for Super Meet Me's. One would be better off to save their money, NEVER upgrade and use an escort service instead.

Tip for consumers: ZERO CUSTOMER SERVICE - but very efficient at billing .. One would be better off to save their money, NEVER upgrade and use an escort service instead.

Service
Value
Quality
Ask Bill about POF
ashleyo20
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/25/16

I was on POF for years, on and off. Met my fair share of guys. Most were awful, but I never gave up! I met my very best male friend on POF! Even though nothing ever happened romantically between us, we have an incredible friendship! I thought I was lucky to find such an incredible friendship, especially on POF!... Cut to years later, I sent a guy a message. His profile matched what I was looking for and we started talking. Not too long after that, we met in person. It was pretty much love at first site and I was definitely swept off my feet. We have been together just over a year now and I can't imagine my life without him. We are to be married in August 2017. Never in my life did I think I'd find my husband online, let alone on POF. I'm extremely glad that I stuck with it and gave POF one more chance when I just wanted to delete my profile. I have never been happy. It's all because of POF that I met and fell in love with my husband to be! If you're thinking about giving up, don't. Even just one more chance on POF is all you may need to fall in love like we did.

Ask Ashley about POF
denisg30
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/20/16

My account got hacked someone has stolen my identity, and changed the e-mail address. I am getting tons of messages, and I can't open them. POF never responds to e-mails, or answers the phone. Stay clear if you care about your reputation at all, they clearly don't!

Ask denis about POF
terrellb6
1 review
5 helpful votes
10/19/16

Too many picky ass people on there. The females on there acted stuck up, meaning that they judge you by your images. Its garbage!!!

Ask Terrell about POF

95 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the POF staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
johng410
John G.
2 weeks, 3 days ago
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
leighs32
Leigh S.
3 weeks, 1 day ago
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
See 20 more questions
See more Q&A
Questions? Get answers from the POF staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

7 Photos for POF

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
POF?
Post Review