SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of POF

POF reviews

Is this your business?
524 reviews
15%
Categories: Dating
701 Fifth Avenue, Suite 5400
Seattle, Washington 98104, CAN
Tel: 6360105675901
systems@pof.com
This business is not yet responding to reviews. If this is your business claim it and respond free.

524 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
56
Value
52
Shipping
21
Returns
26
Quality
48

All Reviews

truthh4
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/30/16

It used to be a decent site, but since it was bought out by a certain match web site it appears to have been deliberately sabotaged. On their forum there's even a message at the top bragging about how the moderators have no clue how the site works because the admin keeps them in the dark. Profiles get randomly deleted with no notification, although they let you sign up with the same user name and email. This site should be called plenty of phish!

Tip for consumers: Don't. Just don't.

Service
Value
Quality
Ask Truth about POF
Advertisement
vivianr25
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/28/16

Not many replies and honestly I haven't met anyone yet. But it is free to use so I did not expect anything. I have been a member of so called 'prime dating sites' and I think most of them were actually better. But they are not 100% free to use! Expect to upgrade your profile before you can use the whole functionality. So it really depends on what you are looking for. I was happy using Mingle2day and was a gold member for three months with great results but I understand if some guys prefer to use all free dating sites and for that purpose POF seems to be just fine.

Ask Vivian about POF
hannahm44
5 reviews
2 helpful votes
8/25/16

Been on here on and off for a few years this site is s waste of time guys on pof would say they are looking for Relationships and are just after one thing guys here thing they are something special avoid this site too many fake guys and liars don't trust this site and the people on it would never join pof ever again in my life don't bother

Ask Hannah about POF
davem176
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/23/16

I like this site, its easily up there with match and wejustfit.com and with some tweaks it would equal those guys. Check it out.

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
Ask Dave about POF
annam175
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/23/16

Met many men on here. Jms4848 is one they claim to want a relationship and see them a few times only for them to get what they want and ghost you. Liars, non relationship wanting, man whores. Should have an area to post these dudes pics to other women as a warning.

Ask Anna about POF
andrewy11
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
8/23/16

I vied many profiles. sent a lot of messages and got 0 local replies. I received some messages from other states mostly from scamers or women looking for bill gates type sugar daddys.Don't waste your time or money.

Ask andrew about POF
joeh118
1 review
6 helpful votes
8/18/16

POF is so fake. The majority of the profiles are all fake. I sent 20 instant messages to different women and asked for a response if it it was a courtesy response of 'no thanks'. Not a single response. I then chose 10 of those 20 and sent a follow up note and asked if they are real profiles'...again, no response. POF shows that those FAKE profiles 'looked' at your profile, but that is pretty simple to do by POF to cross reference those FAKE profiles and then show that they looked at your profile. Then there is the issue of the 'meet me' app. That too is a way to lure you into signing up and paying for this FAKE site. I received 40 'meet me' requests right after I posted a picture of myself. I then searched POF for about 20 of those profiles and guess what? They were NOT anywhere to be found. The 'meet me' app is a clever way to seduce you into paying a fee. I even contacted a few of the less desireable women that show up on POF and those that were as homely as possible to see if they are real and guess what? They don't respond. I had to do this experiment to see just how much of a rip off this site is and I was not surprised to see how bad it really is. Stay away!

Ask Joe about POF
die421
11 reviews
48 helpful votes
8/17/16

If you don't hang out at the bars, casinos or clubs this might be another avenue to look into. Though its not perfect it is better than some of those paying sites. You can filter the ones you are looking for such as type of religion, marital status, age, area, no pictures, ect...
I would recommend this site, but like any website use it wisely.

Ask Diana about POF
crystalc46
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/17/16

Thanks to this FREE APP I found the love of my life was only on it on and off for about 2 weeks. From the moment we met at our blind date (my house) I knew he was the one we both smiled at eachother like if we've known eachother for a while I love this person from the bottom of my heart and I'm glad I finally found him he's the sweetest cutest most lovable boyfriend I've ever had

Ask Crystal about POF
carll39
1 review
10 helpful votes
8/15/16

The female on POF all have 1 thing in common. They all have an attitude even if there are butt ugly. It seems all western women are like it these days

I guess if your getting 100 messages a day from desperate men then you are going to think you are something special. No chance you will meet a ltr on here. I think the women just use to it play games for DRAMA and attention

Every profile is the same. They all have the most amazing friends who mean the world to them. If that's the case date one of them?

And what's with photos of tattoos and pets in the photos why do I want to see that

Also the lists there have of things they hate make me laugh. Who actually likes bad hygiene text talk and ignorance . Although they hate ignorance but they'll ignore your message. They are too stupid to understand the irony there

Conclusion. Whales unattractive females both inside and out. Avoid like the plague

Ask Carl about POF
fernandop21
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/15/16

hi , I paid $73.40 for 8 month and I got only 4 months why ? the last four number of my credit card is 5262. my name is Fernando pacheco

Ask fernando about POF
maryp155
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/15/16

My account was hacked on August 13 around 10 Pm. Someone took over my account, posted pictures that are not me and changed my user name from Maziepate1 to Maziepate12. I have tried to contact POF by numerous emails asking them to send me a link to get a new password as the link that is on the site won't work to get sent to me, I have threatened to get the Police involved. I paid to be on this site and I have two months left on the payment. I do not know what to do. I even sent an email to their legal department and nothing. The girl that took over my account is 25 years old and I am 70 with blonde hair. I had 12 pictures on there she has two and they are not of me. I have 23 messages on my page and I can't answer them as I can't get into my own paid account. PLEASE HELP there has to be a way to fix this. POF is responsible to take care of this. I do not want to build a new account and pay again.

Maru

Ask Mary about POF
aegons
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/15/16

Rediculous that people use a TOTALLY FREE dating site and dare to complain about quality of profiles, bad male-female ratio and scammers on the site. If you expect quality join a dating site like Match or Mingle2day but hey, you would most likely need to upgrade your profile to some kind of gold membership in order to use the whole functionality, right?! Oh, and of course you don't want to do that! Instead you use a 100% FREE dating site like POF but complain that you don't meet anyone?! Rediculous! POF is a good dating site. Keep in mind that it is FREE and you get what you pay for. Don't expect miracles.

Ask Aegon about POF
cjh11
1 review
7 helpful votes
8/13/16

When you have average looking women calling themselves Princesses you know it's a bad sign. We can thank the feminists and media for brainwashing every woman into thinking they deserve a James Bond type guy, regardless of the way they look. They offer very little but demand the earth

Don't expect a reply if you do message. Picky stuck up and ignorant all seeking Mr Darcy. I sarcastically emailed one woman who had ignored by opening email the word 'thanks' and she replied 'you're welcome' that's the attitude you're dealing with on here. They wouldn't do that in a nightclub. The women in here treat it like online shopping. Not in the real world. Lots of them demand a decent long reply or you'll be ignored yet their profile is blank. It's just rancid you won't find a keeper on here

Just avoid the site then maybe women will go back to being pleasant and friendly when they realise water finds its own level

Ask Cj about POF
sammies24
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
8/11/16

Guys have profile pics of their little ding ding's, they are rude, raunchy, disrespectful. I have been on a few dates. I usually get along with anyone, so that's no issue. But i think it's well beyond hilarious when a guy won't call me back all because I didn't sleep with him on the first night. I usually talk on the site as well as the phone a few days before even meeting. Convo is always great, THEY we meet.... and everything changes. I don't truely expect to find "THE ONE" on here. But a decent friend just to hang with would be nice.

Ask Sammie about POF
joshl35
2 reviews
14 helpful votes
8/9/16

Just because this site is "free" means very little. I'll just share a few examples in point form. To begin I want to make it clear that this applies to both men and women but because I'm a male, I'm simply sharing my observations on the women's profiles.

1. Most of the single women on POF have kids and are simply looking for a man to take care of them.
2. Women who claim in their profiles that they like to travel simply mean that they are looking for man to take her on vacations and pay all expenses. I've been in contact with a few of these "charming" women who seem to feel they deserve this treatment and they are entitled to them.
3. Many profiles are fake because you'll see the photos listed on a Toronto profile and then the same photos in a Vancouver profile.
4. Most of the women never, never reply which suggests that these are either fake profiles or the women are just playing games with no intention of ever meeting.
5. I've been in contact with a few women over the months and they asked to meet for a drink but they didn't show up or even bother to notify me that they changed their minds.
6. POF offers a "meet me" feature. You receive an email about twice a week informing you that "these women (or men if you're a woman) want to meet you. Click on their profile to see who they are". This is a huge red flag. POF is supposed to be free and here they inform you that a mystery member is very interested in you, but, if you want to know who they are you need to pay. Why pay for a service that is already free to begin with? If these women are interested in me then why didn't they contact me themselves? POF is working hard a scamming people out of money.

I would like to add to #5 with a policy that POF has in place regarding "inappropriate" letters. I was stood up by a woman recently who had no courtesy to call or text me especially when she knew I was driving almost an hour to meet her. I was left sitting alone with no way of knowing what happened to her. I called her twice and she didn't answer. I then texted her to find out if she was ok but again no reply. I drove back home and found a letter from her on POF. She simply said "I changed my mind". I replied by saying "you were inconsiderate in how you treated me. That was disgusting behavior for somebody your age". In the span of 2 hours my account was shut down and I was banned from POF for "violating site rules". Customer service informed me that I was "rude" in my reply and POF has a zero tolerance for rude comments. This clearly is a site with ambiguous rules that can go in any direction.

You really don't want anything to do with this scam "dating" site. It's not worth the frustration or effort. You're better off staying home alone with a movie, then again, what exactly do you expect from a free "dating" site?

Ask josh about POF
dorothyc28
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
8/7/16

He is all lies. Not into any kind of relationship. He's good in playing head games. Doesn't care about anything but himself. He is nothing but a low life loser. He doesn't have anything to offer. Has one profile but uses to different states. East Syracuse NY and Bremen GA. When he is done playing head games with you and doesn't want anything more from you he tells all his friends that your a crazy psycho nut. He is the psycho. So ladies beware and don't fall

Tip for consumers: Be very careful. This site has to many profiles that say looking for a relationship. When it should say looking for a one night stand.

Ask Dee about POF
karenm236
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/7/16

At first I was skeptical to join this site but I met my husband here and can't complain eventhough I wasn't really active in the site but I messaged him and we were together for 2 years and 6 months married

Ask Karen about POF
michaelp240
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/6/16

Just signed up and my first message was a Virus, thanks POF any more and I will be finished, I would expect that on a porn site!

Mike

Ask Michael about POF
jasonw121
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
8/6/16

I used to be able to send a couple of dozen messages over a weekend, using an effective opening message I've developed which explains who I am and what I'm looking for. Now POF blocks them after the first few, saying copy and paste messages are not allowed.

This defies all logic; a standard greeting makes perfect sense because we know almost nothing about each other. And besides, they probably won't write back anyway so it's not fair to expect guys to invest a lot of time on a personalized opening message. The opener really needs to be standard, with the recipient's name added at the beginning if they provide one in their profile. Then the second message can be personalized sure if they show any interest.

The 14 year rule was bad enough, but now they won't even let me say what I want to say? Jeez, enough is enough. Time to look for alternatives, whether it be Tinder or a paid dating site. POF used to be good but they went too far with all their restrictions.

Tip for consumers: Tip for consumers: Be prepared for lots of "Hi how you doin'" sort of messages. Anything longer tends to get blocked.

Ask Jason about POF
suzannem5
2 reviews
16 helpful votes
8/6/16

The site is owned by IAC, who own Match, Tinder and OKcupid. They use this site to gather your data and information. That is why it is free to join. The site is NOT moderated because they need that data to survive. That means the site is FULL fakes and scammers. Web traffic and usage is falling so will they will allow everyone to join to make the site look like it is more popular than it is. Also everyday PoF itself adds hundreds of fake profiles, mostly female profiles, to try and attract more new users. If you join they WILL sell your information. You will be targeted by scammers.

How do I know? I work for IAC.

Ask Suzanne about POF
eddiem51
1 review
5 helpful votes
8/5/16

This dating site sucks the women never reply to messages and they block you for no reason.Also if by chance of a miracle that the do reply to a message they always have something rude to say to you.Women on here act like and think they are playboy models and they are wanting a man that looks like a wrestler.Well news flash women on pof are average looking at best and no man can be perfect.If women on here would stop being so damn picky and shallow there would not hardly be any single men on this crappy dating site.

Ask Eddie about POF
carlh51
1 review
4 helpful votes
8/4/16

The problem is way too many men which means the women even the average ones gets tons of mail and their standards go ridiculously high.
If you are a 5/10 you wouldn't expect to be able to interest a 9/10 it doesn't work like that in real life yet the deluded women on POF think it does

I was on about 3 years ago, signed back up and it wasn't 5 minutes until I saw people online from 2013 with exactly the same photo up! Numerous people with old photos looking for genuine guys!

I'm not buying there are no decent guys my view is that the women think this is like online shopping and the longer they wait the more chance Mr Right will come along
They aren't interested in Mr great they all want Mr Perfect which is ridiculous when most of those women are 5/10 at best. You wouldn't go upto a fit guy in real life if he's out your depth but online the women think it's acceptable

Even if you find a decent woman who isn't deluded stuck up and uber picky the chances are she'll get another 190 messages overnight and forget about you

A total waste of time due to deluded woman and the sheer numbers of men outnumbering the woman

Ask Carl about POF
simonw56
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
8/3/16

Shockingly bad iface to register & a terribly complicated contradictory set of registration questions about you? the site is one of the most well known BUT not for the right reasons, im married getting divorced after many years to the same partner and all i wanted to do was to find friends locally to me as mine live at the other side of the country BUT NO! POF dont allow you to signup to be friends with people do they? so i had to lie on my application form which i didnt like one bit and when it came to the questions all 75 of them (Multiple choice) & here is three examples of the CROCK you have to answer:

Q 59: i cant get to know everything about a love intrest fast enough?

Q 69: i am drawn to other for their strenghs especially the ones i dont have?

Q 72: few people love me other than those i know online..

Seriously DONT use the site more so now they are charging...(How dare they) there has been so many relationships ended from the site people arguing people falling out abuse....the list is endless.....If you want to find a partner LOOK closer to home...start by going out and really meeting people actually in person....Hope this helps.

Ask sorry about POF
andresi2
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/1/16

'Plenty of Fish' but also 'Plenty of Scammers'. Just like on any other dating site you will receive bunch of messages from scammers. But obviously scammers love POF a little more, LOL! If you want to get into the dating game I'd prefer Match (which is expensive but has many members) or Mingle2day (great site but not many members in some areas). POF is a fun site to spend a little time. Not bad and not good, at least in my opinion.

Ask Andres about POF

85 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the POF staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
1 day ago
Add your answer
I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines
3 days ago
Add your answer
I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines
See 20 more questions
See more Q&A
LoadingLoading...
Questions? Get answers from the POF staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

7 Photos for POF

From reviewers

Similar Pages

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
POF?
Post Review