Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of POF

POF reviews

Is this your business?
2,255 reviews
701 Fifth Avenue, Suite 5400
Seattle, Washington 98104, CAN
Tel: 6360105675901
hostmaster@pof.com
2017 Customer choice award

2,255 Reviews From Our Community

Service
91
Value
87
Shipping
36
Returns
44
Quality
83

All Reviews

melb80
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/15/18

POF is full of scammers, as well as rude men out for a roll in the sack only and their billing is just as bad. They make it so you have a hard time trusting anyone just sayin'.

mattc226
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/7/18

This is just full of women that are not rights. They're either past their best or they never had a best to pass
They all have attitude problems as well. Tons of women in their 30s who must have slept with 100s of men and now want Mr right now their looks are going.
Even the fatties and plain women on here of which there are many have chips on their shoulders. They all have unrealistic expectations of the man they want. Total waste of time even signing up.

They are all revolting and undateable

jakobl8
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/7/18

I've had some dates on POF but it does take a while to get going. Prefer wejustfit.com a fine choice if youve not tried it.

vickil89
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/6/18

pof is a joke an I say this cause no one seems sincere also most people are to far away to travel also there's profiles with no pic and very little about themselves

vickiee17
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/6/18

My ex husband is on Plenty of Fish in the Knoxville,Tn.and Dandridge, Tn area claiming to pamper and be good to his woman when in reality,He emotionally abused me.His id number on Plenty of Fish is 43432016 and his name is Tim.Ladies,please be aware.

cindyp152
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/27/18

Ladies beware of a flairjess, 25 years old in Flossmoor on POF. He is on there preying on women for sex. He pretends to be a nice guy just to earn a person's trust. Then he uses them for sex. Once he gets sex enough times, he starts playing the hot and cold game, and eventually he doesn't want to be bothered. He doesn't want a relationship. He also degrades women. He disrespects women on social media also.

michellep310
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/9/18

I started having problems on POF getting and sending messages. I contacted POF three times about my issues and they did nothing to resolve them. As far as the site goes, not bad but, the tech support is horrible!!!!! Don't expect help if you have issues. They don't care unless you are a paying member!!

simonh137
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/30/18

Its a 7/10 dating site for me. Not the worse out there but I prefer sites like wejustfit.com that are a tad more 'underground' and have people who know the internet better and IMHO are just more interesting

linar16
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/25/18

This dating site is disgusting is full of perverts and racist people guys are looking to have sex they are very disrespectful and a lot of white people treat Spanish girls like garbage

davidm1582
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/24/18

Was on here about 6 year ago and it wasn't good then. Now it's horrific, x30 worse

I sent a few messages and got ignored, 2 of them blocked me simply for asking how they were doing.... That's not normal behaviour. Thing seems to be they're all thinking they're entitled to a model kind of guy when they should be happy if anyone sends them mail
Some real funny headlines
Don't message me if you voted Brexit, don't message if you're under 5,11 tall. Don't message if you don't have green eyes
They have a ruddy cheek
I'm in the UK and wondering is it just the women here that are stupidly deluded or are they the same all around the world??

As I said I was on here back around 2012 and didn't take long to see familiar faces. If they've been on POF for 6 years you think they Would realise they're overvaluing themselves but no they're so stupid they'll be on here in another 6 years still single. If Mr male model didn't want you when you were 31 he's not going to turn up when you're 40 is he?

Men should boycott this site

craigl108
1 review
4 helpful votes
9/23/18

I will keep this short and sweet

Must be 200 men for every woman so all the women who would get zero attention in the real world become stuck up divas online, I have never seen so many women with chips on their shoulders.
They all claim to be independent as well yet cant see why no man wants them.

Online dating is useless for men and its only going to get worse. There is zero chance you will find a decent woman on here, all the best ones are taken, the rest are on here.

ianl44
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
9/20/18

Plenty of fish, well not really, especially for older generation, yet in saying that younger ones as well.
SHOULD BE PLENTY OF WHALES
Sad sad story, not sure whether reality is truly part of this site.
Male point of view some of the ladies are from RSVP and there photos are like 3 years ago and probably same age as 3 years ago. Then there is the favourite lady sayings
No one night stands
Must be honest
Integrity
Photos should be current
No friends with benefits
Really not sure but I think it must be run by?
Regards
Honest integral ONS FWB PLAYER MALE

chrissyc26
1 review
5 helpful votes
9/19/18

if you are a male or female with their life together, meaning job, car, no baby mama drama stay clear of POF. i swear its nothing but people with mental health issues, no social skills , control issues, abusive, insecure, desperate stalkers, the list goes on, i met one guy a total psycho, after one date come to find out he had multiple dui-s and claimed he did nothing wrong the police had it out for him? and had a wife?????? there are very few decent people on this site anymore as there used to be. its not for decent people its for creeps, psychos and abusive types. not to mention the people that use photos from college and high school claiming thats how they look now---SMH, true denial of the insane over there. to anyone reading this, you are better then POF

darrellf16
3 reviews
7 helpful votes
9/17/18

I admit I haven't been on this online dating venue; but, my older cousin who I had a long talk with recently this year,has told me a lot about his experience with it and other people's real experiences with it. I wanted to share this info to help and protect people online looking for true love. After all I truthfully learned, I will steer far clear of POF!

First off, it is beyond me how this site could have won the "2017 Customer Choice Award"! I mean, it friggin has more 1 star rated reviews than any other star review for crying out loud!!
From receiving a lot of info according to my cousin about POF, I honestly believe this is one of the absolute worst sites to search for a quality, lasting relationship with someone special -unless you're very lucky. Most of the people on there are immoral and just looking for a temporary sexual mate or drug partner or someone to get money from! There is so little class in these people. First date sex stands seem to be common.
My cousin, who unlike me has actually used this site over past years, told me true stories from people whom have used this site looking for someone special. His ex-girlfriend (who I guess he's still text friends with) actually fell victim to a thieving pervert on POF who had sex with her after less a week/ only a week being together and stole some of her belongings when he immediately left her. My far more classy and cool, smart cousin also told me of men e-mailing pictures to women of their ding dong private parts, and slutty women looking for first date sex hookups just like the pig men that are on there. Even though you may call this just hearsay, I know my cousin is fairly honest to me. He had no reason to make any of this up.
On POF, all you're most likely to discover wanting to go out with you, is a horny slut or a sex maniac or drug junkie who cares nothing about best friendship or growing a trusting lasting relationship of love! For that matter, many other reviewers who have been on POF claim of scammers being on the site and greedy fakes only being on there after your money / credit card information. I have no idea how the policing staff at POF handle all that.
Overall, POF should abbreviate for "Plenty Of Fu@#%rs! They should class up like most the sleazeballs on there.

bent116
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/9/18

Any decent woman shouldn't need to be on a dating site & from what I've seen there's very few decent woman on POF
There's something wrong with them all. Either the job rules their life, they're fat, they're rude, they're unpleasant, they're unintelligent, they have kids, they have poor jobs, they have no class, no morals & extremely picky. They're all looking for Mr Right but Mr Right wouldn't look twice at this loss

How can you be 38 years old and longest relationship be under 1 year long? It's full of this kind of females and this tells you there's something wrong with them if they can't keep a man??

matthewf18
7 reviews
60 helpful votes
9/7/18
• Updated review

The women on this site want men for a meal ticket although I did meet one who was very nice and insisted on buying me lunch. Admittedly I had some bad experiences which I brought as baggage but "a few pounds" isn't 50 or 60 so I met a lot of overweight women if they were willing to meet at all. If you piss a couple off they are going to give you bad press and get your profile deleted.

“terrible site”
2/28/15
• Previous review

arrogant women, fat women who lie about their ages and post old pictures. I had one contacting me when I accused her of being fake my account was deleted

Tip for consumers: run Forest run

deanneh5
1 review
4 helpful votes
9/1/18

I've been a free member for quite some time. This website has become a porn,prostitute website and I am totally turned off by this. Fake men, women with their body parts hanging out!!! Over the years it has only gotten worse, men who post several fake accounts, turns out to be the same person. No credibility whatsoever. Run away from this website.

deanl20
8 reviews
144 helpful votes
9/1/18
• Updated review

I recently when back onto the piece of $#*! dating website and it quite surprising and how Bull$#*! there is on the site. Like I don't date black men or you got 6ft tall for me to date seriously this how picky these women are and if you don't meet their tick list they just don't want to know. Another nearly all women on there always jump the gun when they put i'm not looking for one night stand or friends with benefits and not all men are like that.
I love to send all these bad reviews to Markus Frind to tell him how $#*!ing $#*! this site actually is

“plenty of $#*! more like”
1/19/16
• Previous review

I have had nothing but bad experiences on this site and to tell you the truth this site is a waste of time and very depressing I haven't got any confidence what so ever but when a girl tells you "you're their type" it really knock you back for me it has gotten to the point where I tell the person to Bollocks or go screw themselves or telling them to stick it etc this site isn't that great because woman on there are too $#*!ing picky and so are high maintenance and looking guy with no brains or on drugs good looking with big $#*!s they don't seem to know you do etc whoever create this site needs to shut it down for good

brutallyh
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/28/18

Very poor customer service. They don't vet the profiles and they allow criminals, wife beaters and abusers to become members. The men posing as single and successful are actually married and financially broke.

stevens494
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/27/18

I would say I had a somewhat different experience than what I am reading here.

Did POF for six months in 2014. I was 49 (male). I had good pics but far from a male model. I have a good job but far from wealthy. I live in a small city (60K pop) with 200k metro.

I found it quite easy to get into conversations. In fact I could hardly engage in a text conversation with all of the women who offered their numbers. Also getting a meeting in person was not difficult. Easily could have met 3 a week if I had the energy.

My approach was to start with a light first message. I always referenced something in the woman's profile (no-one likes a form letter). Also I generally kept the convo light until they clearly signaled they wanted to meet.

Now were these women people I wanted to date? Sadly no. They were nice enough, but not attractive (to me). Actually the process was tiring.

I went back on last night just to see if it was similar. 30 minutes I was offered a phone number. I am guessing not much has change.

jasons588
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/26/18

I made a full profile, surveys, pictures, everything, and everything clean and in order. Responded to a few people without issue. Within 2 hours my account was deleted, but I see the spammer I reported is still there. Last email I got was to buy a premium subscription, then poof. Stay away, it's not worth the time.

michaels1625
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/26/18

I THINK THIS SITE IS RUN BY LIBRALS BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU SAY THEY SEND YOU FAKE STUFF TO GET YOU ON A PAYMENT PLAN SO WATCH OUT DONT JOIN ANY THING TRY IT OUT FIRST FOR A FEW MONTHS BEFOR YOU PAY !!!!!

jennifers794
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/25/18

15yrs on this filthy site and all I got was a few trips to unplanned parenthood...the ratios are way off and the selection is slim so good luck to all u spinsters out there - you got yer work cut out for u!!

mattp151
8 reviews
16 helpful votes
8/19/18

As a non-paying member, this is the site that gives the least free features out of all the dating sites. They'll show you photos of members, and you can indicate if you're interested. But,lol, they will send you a notification saying, "(This member) wants to meet you. All excited, you click on the link, and there's a blurred out photo. You can somewhat make out where they are from, so you do a search. But you will never find a profile with their name. They will never show up in your matches. So, are they real? Or you're playing a hard hardball, POF? "Oh, you both want to meet? No, we will only allow you to connect if you give us $$. POF." Have ya ever gone fishin? Ya sit there ALL day, catch nothin', and think "Well, that was a waste of time?". Get ready for a lot of thinkin'.

mattl162
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/19/18

DO NOT join this site if you are a man as there must be 200+ guys to every woman and unless you look like James Bond you will be ignored regardless of what kind of woman you message.
I will be honest and say there are not many decent females on the site but ALL of them think they are a great catch and will normally have a HUGE list of what boxes you must tick before you can send them mail, it is bordering on ridiculous there is way they could be so picky and OTT if they weren't getting tons of messages everyday. Plain Janes cant be picky unless they are on POF

The majority of women are either teachers who have no social life, people with low intelligence and the IQ of a slug or women that say that they are independent and cant understand why are 34 they haven't got a man!
They all love travelling and going on road trips even if they dont drive which always makes me laugh.

What you have is a bunch of plain jane/chunky women all wanting a guy on his white horse to rescue them and give them a life of luxury.

I did send one message but her profile was so long to read fully so I just sent a Hi how are you doing this Wednesday? But apparently her profile contained a keyword which you must say when you messaged her so she knew you had read all her profile, I kid you not, and because I didn't mention this word she abused me then blocked me. This is how I know there are way too many men on this site otherwise how could they get away with being so rude and nasty to a potential partner?

The photos aren't just of the women, they also like for some unknown reason like to put up photos of cakes, paintings and pics of their pets kissing their dogs

I wouldn't recommend signing up to this site but its worth browsing just to see how online dating has made women out of touch with reality. Rename the site Chunkies with attitude

1,010 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I just deactivated my account. This site is a sewer. Do not pay anything for this site or any site. I searched for free on other site( even paid ones you can search for free) and I saw the same guys on most of the other sites as well. I'm gonna grow old alone unless luck steps in and maybe I'll meet my guy IRL.

By ann b.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Don't waste your money or your time! Go outside and play. Meet someone the old fashion way. Too many fake/scammers on this sight. And those paying sights aren't any better! Spending money isn't going to make a difference. All the best!

By Becky C.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes its possible

By tacha t.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

POF is not free at all, you have to upgrade; become a paying member to be able to do anything interesting.

By Sugar S.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Fake doesn't really describe them... more like downright liars!!!

By Carolyn H.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

STAY AWAY FROM THIS SCAMMING SITE!!!! any good you hear from or about it... DUH ITS THE SCAMMERS THAT WORK FOR EM. i been booted so many times due to unpopularity cuz i wont date trash so i get booted they keep your money they are garbage

By jon d.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You cannot do it from the mobile site . You need to use your search , example safari and look up pof desktop version and go to the help in the top left. It will walk you thru it , if I remember correctly . Good luck

By Lara S.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

First, write to POF and explain. Now, and I mean NOW call up your credit card company and tell them what happened. I am sure POF will not contact you. Make sure to use the word "unacceptable" when describing the consumer service to the CC company about POF. Keep all emails too.Please keep me posted. Thanks Ann B.

By ann b.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I've set several messages to women who supposedly were interested. No response. Is this because I haven't upgraded?

By mike n.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Account. Delete profile. You have to look at all options.

By Rachel C.
Questions? Get answers from the POF staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
POF?
Post Review