Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of POF

POF reviews

Is this your business?
2,233 reviews
701 Fifth Avenue, Suite 5400
Seattle, Washington 98104, CAN
Tel: 6360105675901
hostmaster@pof.com
2017 Customer choice award

2,233 Reviews From Our Community

Service
91
Value
87
Shipping
36
Returns
44
Quality
83

All Reviews

christianc122
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/16/18

I've been on POF for almost a month now. I've had a few messages but never came across someone who seemed serious and real to meet and create a conversation how it should seem to be. Sadly I only came across scams. I don't know what happened to this site. Probably half of the people you find there are fake. This site has wasted a lot of my time.

rtiu
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/13/18

If u update once for a month they will keep taking money and theres no way of cancelling unless u delete your account.. i tried messaging them many times.. no answer.. dont recommens

lynns227
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/11/18

Waste of time!!!! Not much more to say besides most of the people on POF are looking for rebound sex not romantic relationships. Its very sad that this sight probably doesn't work for 90% may be more. Nothing but heartbreak and disappointment and ghosting from these weird people. It should be called wastemytime.com.

refernott
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/8/18

Gives me people nothing of my interest, age groups or interests as my "matches". The only criteria for them becoming ultimate matches is if the are paying members who have interest in me. I havent found one im interested in even slightly. Found a couple of narcissists with red flags flying everywhere.

chrism781
1 review
4 helpful votes
8/1/18

Never seen such many rude plain trampy unintelligent women in my life. This site is vile and the women everything you wouldn't want from a decent partner. No wonder nobody wants them. Rude aggressive untouchable pigs

The first profile i saw said if you only say hi how are you then I'll delete you. What kind of way is that to talk to people you're wanting to date??

You need to tick about 20 boxes before they'll even consider a reply to you. I. Wouldn't mind if they were nice pleasant and attractive but 99% are aggressive deluded and unattractive. Total waste of time and effort even setting up a profile if you're a man.

I honestly don't know how they have the cheek to be how they are. If the internet wasn't around these lot would be single forever yet act like princesses online

Don't feed their egos by messaging them. If enough men stopped sending these vulgar beasts messages maybe their behaviour would improve

PS what's with all the fake reviews that only written to mention justfit like the one below?

yaneyl
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/31/18

Let me educate the men on here who are upset that they can't find a decent woman. From a woman point of view the women you are messaging probably have trust issues for one. As a woman who only been on POF for less than a year, I was sexually assaulted and I have had what appeared to be a pimp trying to get me to meet up with him, even sent me a very degrading message. All men who messaged me wanted my phone number right away and when I first signed up and didn't know any better I would give my number which leaded to the men wanting to come to my place and wanted to sleep with me, so I stopped giving out my number and expressed just wanting to chat and getting to know people first, which leaded to men not talking to me anymore. There are many stories of women being sexually assaulted by men on POF, so there's the answer to why many of you men can't find a woman who's so willing. Then there's also your married men or men who have girlfriends who want to just text you. I had a guy get so mad at me for calling him that he made me feel like sh*t. Many are Construction workers who only have time to text, but not talk, so be aware ladies. I also had a few run ins with what I believe were pimps. Although I am still on POF I don't see myself being on there much longer. I rather be safe than sorry. Guys, don't blame most of us women, blame the men who are the real ones making it hard for you by being dishonest and even going as far as assaulting women. I even heard stories of women being full blown raped.

What I learned from POF, if a guy is truly interested in getting to know you, he will respect you not wanting to give out your personal information right away. He wouldn't mind video chatting or meeting up in a public place. Don't be so quick to go to his place or invite him to yours, or even give him your number. This site is a huge risk. I'm sure there are some nice guys, but that's if you can make it through the crazy ones first.

steveb605
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/30/18

What can I say? POF still pretty much rules the roost. Sure there are some other contenders like WeJustFit (worth trying if you havent already) and maybe 2 or 3 others but overall I bet if you ask ten people on the street to name an online dating site then you can be sure 8 or 9 will say POF.

mannyb16
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
7/24/18

I gave this site two stars out of generosity. I should give them one. As you can see there are plenty of one star reviews for this site and that should tell you something. You have to do a lot of searching before you finally meet a match if in fact that ever happens. A lot of writing and reading and nothing develops. Even when you are matched with someone that is supposedly compatible nothing happens. I still have a profile on there but I have lost almost all hope. I go on there from time to time for maybe a minute or two and am done. A lot of fish but nothing biting. You are probably better off going somewhere to meet people than this online crap.

tinad140
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/23/18

While not a paying member, I have been using this site for a couple of months and have met some nice guys.
There are some who write and immediately want my phone number/email address. I insist on staying on the site for initial communications. Some never write back after that. If they're that impatient, no great loss. Others do not read my profile (in spite of the fact that I attempt, patiently, to direct them to it), and insist on asking me questions that are answered on my profile, or they say they've read it and have ignored the important parts. Sometimes I just give up on those guys (I'm thinking, "What, you have a Master's/PhD?"). And then there are those who say something like, "Ask me anything", and they don't answer when you ask, even twice.
I've also seen two or three profiles (probably with phony pictures) that say exactly the same thing, word-for-word! They say they have "No pets", but write glowingly about their dog, Max!
There are lots of guys on there who are from other countries, and some don't say what they mean (or the opposite!). They are so difficult to understand or communicate with that I generally try to steer clear of them, without being rude.
I still have hopes of meeting some really nice guys I've been corresponding with/talking with on the phone, and others as well. Sometimes schedules just don't mesh! And even as a non-paying member, I found that I can write to those who
"fave" me, by clicking on the tabs and their pictures/screen names. Sometimes they even show a picture of someone who "wants to meet" me (click on the number of views at the top of the page), and if they're new, I can find them on "New Users" and click to see their profile.
If you join, happy fishing! Maybe you'll find me!

sandyc150
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/21/18

I am finding too many frauds lying about general information and fake profiles. I can figure it out pretty fast so not sure what the fake profiles are trying to do. Very disappointing and aggravating! I'm in south florida and trying to find a decent man close to my age. I am 49 but considered really good looking and in-shape since I eat pretty healthy and workout. So can't find men with enough common interests and also good looking to me and in-shape with good personality. I'm shocked how people in general don't take care of themselves where the weather is beautiful. And, yes, plenty of weirdos on here....Should be called POW.

mechelem1
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/20/18

Soon as they message it isnt long before they want your number and start talking about coming over. Most of them talk nasty from the very beginning and they all lie. The profile pics are 20 years old. Its really a pit for pigs.

jeffb481
1 review
8 helpful votes
7/11/18

I'm a good looking guy. I wouldn't call myself athletic, but I do exercise, eat right and take care of myself. So I signed up for POF.com to try for some summer dating. I go through all their nonsense and start searching. It didn't matter how wide I threw my net. When I searched for body type "skinny", "athletic", or even "average", I came up with goose eggs - zero! So let's try "a few extra pounds". OK got something. Taking a look, these gals are all fatties being flattering about their obesity. I'm pretty sure everyone's taking about 10-20 years off their age too. And whew - the picky descriptions about exactly what kinda guys these ladies are looking for! Sorry, I'm going up to strangers in the supermarket and asking for phone numbers before I talk up any of these demanding old fatties online!

Value
garym406
1 review
7 helpful votes
7/9/18

What an absolute haggle of trout's on here. Nasty rude aggressive and picky. They all think they're entitlement to the best

Take a look at the headlines.
Are you the one I'm looking for?
Make me laugh
Why should I pick you?

The women should get tickets on themselves.
Check the professions for a laugh. Being amazing. Being Me. Being a princess. Stay At Home Mum (since when has that been a profession?)

They stick their tongues out in the photos. Make outlandish demands from men and are basically the dregs nobody else wants

I actually got messaged first by a woman but all she did was talk about herself and asked nothing about me. I sent a message but got told it was too generic. Yes I'm going to spend a hour composing a message you'll ignore anyway

It seems they have either mental issues, are immature, don't like men, are just on the site messing about or seem to think they are some kind of goddess expecting the perfect man to rock up to their pathetic profile and message them.

Don't know if it's the culture of the day or the internet that's caused it but the vast majority of woman on here have a real chip on their shoulders and even when they're average at best they want some tall dark handsome man and won't compromise

Good riddance I'd sooner be single

bettyt54
1 review
7 helpful votes
7/9/18

I saw a commercial on TV that promoted POF as free, comparing it to other dating sites where you have to pay. Well, I completed the profile information and was delighted to see the next morning that 9 men wanted to meet me. Only problem,, I had to upgrade to a paying membershipto see any information on these people. I deleted the app.If they are deceptive about this, what else do they deceive about?.

jordang77
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/5/18

This brand gets a lot of coverage so im trying to judge it fairly but cant help but feel that some less famous sites (like wejustfit.com) pip match to the post when it comes to final results. Im sure a lot of ppl have done well on it but for me it's not quite what you see on the tin.

julese10
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/5/18

Stay away from Bill Lee who lives in Mesquite. He was nice the first month then he flipped his crazy switch. He messed up alot and always tries to turn it around on you. Lied alot about where he was so he could be with his ex Sabrina. He says he's in a band but all he is the bands gofer. Gets their drinks and gets them dates & they're all married. He says he's a teacher. He's not licensed or certified to be a teacher. He works at a day care. He likes calling women bad nasty names when you call him out. Never ever go to his trailer house!! Bathroom is nasty and his house smells like cat piss. His couch and bed have bed bugs...nasty. He once pulled down my 2 year old grandsons underwear while he was walking by and thought it was funny. He's crazy, nasty, and not right in the head.

jacquesl19
1 review
7 helpful votes
7/1/18

Had a few dates, all of the ladies were weird whether we got intimate first date or not.

The pretty ones were horrifically ugly by being arrogant and some otherwise unattractive ladies seemed nice on line.

I guess one gets what they pay for, nothing and a waste of time in general... most action takes place as soon as you sign up, then, *crickets*....

darrels13
2 reviews
10 helpful votes
6/29/18

I met several women on this site. Each one of them has some sort of mental problem.

One I dated for five months, a 70 year old looking for a sugar daddy. Had I stayed for the long term I would have been husband number nine.

Stay away from this site.

sharonc139
3 reviews
25 helpful votes
6/26/18

POF blew away a paid account based on some algorithm that scans for possible scam activity. There's no such thing!
If it was true, all the Nigerian men pretending to be Americans and tryinig to scam me would also have their accounts blown away, but they seem to make it around the system.
Of course, they're allowiing me to sign up again, but I've lost all of my contacts and emails and they're not helpful in any way.
And, there's no such things as customer service. Their customer service website runs you in circles with no actual contact.
The fact that it took me over an hour just to Google and find a way to contact them directly with my issue is absurd.
By the way, the email address is csr@pof.com
Even more absurd, if I directly reply to their email, the communication will be automatically deleted.

I actually met someone there. Thankfully, we exchanged phone numbers the day before my account was blown away!

They don't care about their services or the people they're serving. I will NEVER do business with them again. They ONLY care about the money!

If I could rate them a zero star, I would.

jeffk223
1 review
11 helpful votes
6/24/18

Ive been on Pof for over 7 years and I can say It Is Impossibile to meet real women on there 99% of there profiles you click on they say your not there match what the hell does that mean ?? and If you do find one they never message you back whats up with that they looking for prince charming to come on a white horse and sweep them up off there feet and customer service Is the worst I have ever ever seen on any site before so bottom line avoid this website whatever you do take my word and first hand experience. Jeff

hhgffhh
1 review
6 helpful votes
6/17/18

I really like this site, but the admin is just appalling. You will be blocked with no explanation whatsoever. Pay for an upgraded membership....it will still happen. You can be mid conversation with someone you have been chatting to for a few days and then goodbye. Ask customer service for a reason why and you will not hear a thing.

All I want to do is pay for my membership,!!

malcolmh33
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/15/18

AFTER ALL MY BUDDIES TELLING ME THAT POF IS THE PLACE TO BE AND ME GETTING NOWHERE FAST I ADDED 'WE JUST FIT'S ONLINE DATING WEBSITE AND BOOM! GOT MYSELF A DATE YALL!

iains10
1 review
11 helpful votes
6/15/18

When you finally get thru all the fake profiles and there are loads and loads, you will find all the females moaning they dont want one night stands + are sick of getting rude pics they just want to find a decent bloke, so you message them asking how they are and they either block you, ignore you or tell you your message isnt long enough

as the review below points out we aint talking hot models here but seems to me thats what they are wanting from any men that contact them

They will be on here for years pouting with their attitude they have of only replying to stunning hot guys so leave them to it, They should be grateful anyone messages them nevetmind get picky who they reply to.
Leave the dogs on there to catch fleas

matth230
1 review
12 helpful votes
6/15/18

I don't think I've seen so many average looking woman on one website. Average is doing them a favour tbh as most arent even that good yet they seem to think they're a catch and havea list of what you boxes you must tick if you want them to reply LOL.

They all babble on how great they are but if they're that great why are they single and why are they mostly in their 30s with longest relationship of only a year??
Majority are ignorant picky rude and are suffering from delusions of grandeur

Ps how did it get rated 3 stars on here?

ramdahlg
1 review
6 helpful votes
6/11/18

Pof was a very good site until recently they are now overrun with profiles
promoting porn web sites with very raunchy pictures of old ladies and old men. Before just usual fake scammers from Ghana Albania etc. Pictures of 25-30 yr olds claiming to be 55-65 yr olds. It seems they want there users to report these profiles. Most of porn site profiles are disgusting looking old women ,in very compromising positions. Not a turn on at all!!! Since Match.COM bought it has had a steady decline. Actually had my profile deleted "by accident" for reporting scammers.
"I'm not in Mass or CT right now I'm overseas send me your email or text me BS.
Too much BS on the site now. If your 50 you get profiles of 30 yr olds online like that's gonna happen.

1,010 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I just deactivated my account. This site is a sewer. Do not pay anything for this site or any site. I searched for free on other site( even paid ones you can search for free) and I saw the same guys on most of the other sites as well. I'm gonna grow old alone unless luck steps in and maybe I'll meet my guy IRL.

By ann b.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Don't waste your money or your time! Go outside and play. Meet someone the old fashion way. Too many fake/scammers on this sight. And those paying sights aren't any better! Spending money isn't going to make a difference. All the best!

By Becky C.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes its possible

By tacha t.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

POF is not free at all, you have to upgrade; become a paying member to be able to do anything interesting.

By Sugar S.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Fake doesn't really describe them... more like downright liars!!!

By Carolyn H.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

STAY AWAY FROM THIS SCAMMING SITE!!!! any good you hear from or about it... DUH ITS THE SCAMMERS THAT WORK FOR EM. i been booted so many times due to unpopularity cuz i wont date trash so i get booted they keep your money they are garbage

By jon d.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You cannot do it from the mobile site . You need to use your search , example safari and look up pof desktop version and go to the help in the top left. It will walk you thru it , if I remember correctly . Good luck

By Lara S.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

First, write to POF and explain. Now, and I mean NOW call up your credit card company and tell them what happened. I am sure POF will not contact you. Make sure to use the word "unacceptable" when describing the consumer service to the CC company about POF. Keep all emails too.Please keep me posted. Thanks Ann B.

By ann b.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I've set several messages to women who supposedly were interested. No response. Is this because I haven't upgraded?

By mike n.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Account. Delete profile. You have to look at all options.

By Rachel C.
Questions? Get answers from the POF staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

23 Photos for POF

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
POF?
Post Review