Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of POF

POF reviews

Is this your business?
2,299 reviews
701 Fifth Avenue, Suite 5400
Seattle, Washington 98104
Tel: 6360105675901
hostmaster@pof.com
2018 Customer choice award

2,299 Reviews From Our Community

Service
93
Value
89
Quality
85

All Reviews

beng152
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
4/17/19

TOO MANY FAKE ACCOUNTS! Clean this site up! This site can potentially be a great place to meet your match. I like the fact that you can chat with people without having to pay. But, I don't like that fact that there are sooooooooooo many fake accounts. They say that they're working on eliminating the fake accounts but everyday there are more and more. That's too bad. I am happy to be a NON paying member!

steves959
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/17/19

This site is a joke and I can't log on and not get flooded with fake profiles. You have to be a moron to be a paying member.

johnp1452
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/14/19

Don't waste your time. 1 in 5 profiles is fake and it a scam. 20 something women scantly clad in bikinis or less claiming to be 40-50+ average women. Some blatantly asking for sex in their profile. POF doesn't review a thing when profiles are created because they are way to easy to spot. Usually a single picture and mumbling broken English comments in their profiles. All claim to be Caucasian even when obviously not. When they message you it's alway "Hey there:)". Every time. Wasted site as it's been overtaken by bots and fakes

lisac823
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/11/19

First there's not a real customer service number, there's no way to contact someone for assistance. Next in order to use the service you have to answer the very limited options even if they doubt apply, meaning a person would have to lie in order to use the service. My parents background, income and job title are none of their business! Then when I wasn't happy about these questions and not interested in their service I was not allowed to cancel and delete my account, advised I have to wait at least 24 hours, enough time for them to extract my information. I am extremely uncomfortable with this.

joes1064
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/6/19

Plenty of fake profiles. You get to where you can spot them. They pop up when you log in a few times with just "hey there" for a message. They try to take you to porn sites or other nonsense. Actually getting a woman to write you back is difficult. I went on two dates, both of them had been married twice. All 4 guys were drunk losers and I had to hear all about them. The women all are looking for some great looking guy when they are fat, old, and have kids and are divorced multiple times. Not a good way to meet women I am afraid.

tonyp200
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/6/19

I would give POF 3 stars personally. I've had a date but only one so far. I had three by this point on wejustfit.com. Think about that for a second. POF is still good but is it still the leader? Times they are a' changin'!

brianm783
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/5/19

This site is nothing but a joke there is nothing real about it other than the money you just threw away.

ryanh307
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/3/19

Signed up saw a load of fake profiles & profiles with obese unattractive or very plain females
A profile I read said "CALL ME BABE + UR BLOCKED" as the headline
This was from an obese women who had a real attitude problem. She should have been grateful to be called babe looking at the state of her.

Looked around some more & just saw desperately picky unattractive women saying how they weren't prepared to settle for 2nd best. Frankly they should be grateful men are even sending them messages in the 1st place. ALL of them seemed to have a chip on their shoulders

I logged out never to return

mattg198
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/1/19

Let's not beat about the bush. It's much easier for women to meet a man than the other way round so the fact the women have to resort online dating says it all
They're ugly or fat. Sometimes both. They call themselves princess as the username but I've never seen a princess that looked so rough.
They have issues otherwise they wouldn't be single. They are damaged screwed up and are undateable
Most are a 2/10 but stupidly believe they are a 10 and won't settle for anything less than a CK model.
It's quite pathetic really. Online dating is for women that can't get a man in the real world

johns3757
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/31/19

Seems that this site is for hookers. Can't tell you how many times I get someone who looks 25, claims she is 55 and says nothing but "hi there." followed by a web link.

michaell1016
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/31/19

I will not recommend plentyoffish I had asked them for a refund not long ago now there kicking me out of there site for unfounded reasons when I've done nothing in the first place

darrenh72
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/31/19

I gave this site a chance 6 years ago and gave up, I thought I would see if its any better now, but its worse!!! Worse times 1000.

Plus it didnt take long to see familiar faces from 2013 either, with the same photos.So they haven't changed their looks and they are the female equivalent of Peter pan or more likely they are lying about their looks. Some men will be in for a shock then, thats if they either meet them and not just sit messaging. How can you still have old photos up? Thats deceptive for a start, whats worse is how can you still e on a dating site for 6 years and not have found anyone

The females on this site are on another planet quite frankly. All i read was there has to be a spark or initial attraction or I wont reply back to you. Most of the time this was from a women who was the male equivalent of Shrek, where do they get the balls to make such demands? They all seem to go online and become a diva with demands that make me laugh. Another one is you must be tall 6 foot or higher or I will ignore you, I look at their profile and they are 5 foot 1, a female munchkin! Again I ask how can they be so picky?? Then they cry on their profile where are all the genuine men?

Majority of them were overweight sticking their tongues out in photos looking dreadful but still making outrageous demands from a prospective suitor that you wouldnt get away with in the real world. I have no idea if anyone messages these people but if they do then shame on them
Another thing they like to do is say that if you only send them Hi or hello or ask how they are you will be blocked. How sweet
then you look at their about me section and its blank. Theyre on another planet these chicks. no wonder no man wants them

finally 75% of these women claim to hold some sort of degree yet have a bad job. More lies apart from the slew of teachers on here who cant get a man as they are married to their job which rules their life.

When I was filling my profile out and browsing I was constantly getting meet me messages from blatantly fake profiles, there were lots of them. If the owner cared about this then they could charge a small amount to your credit card of 1c just to make sure you are real but they dont seem to care, the site is spammed with these fake profiles just like fake review below pretending to review the site but just getting a mention of their dating site

shakot
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/28/19

I have never been able to log into my account using the login and password I have set, moreover the option to recover my password has never worked for me, I tried a few times, just never received their email, I have only received an email on the account's creation. Now I have an online profile that I can't delete because you can't contact customer service either...In short: Avoid, it sucks.

dianet151
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/19/19

A bit slow for my liking but maybe thats just me? Im more into wejustfit.com at the moment, quick and easy. Diane (36), Wolverhampton GB

duras
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/16/19

The only kind of conversation
I've had so far is women who do sex videos and have posted their profile to send you the webbangocams.com or some other kind of sex site where they will be starring and so will others.
This is sad because I haven't had
one real response yet.
Anyhow... why would a man view someone touching themselves on a website when he can invite one over and touch her in person.
That is not the most Christian sounding thing I've ever said.
But that is the reality of what it is
when someone redirects you to a porn site.
It is so sad that there is no real dating and interaction sites where someone can meet another person or even find new friendships with females.
I'm a pretty all right looking
slender tall man
and I desire to have
more female friends
and maybe a relationship, too.
This site (POF) is owned by match.com
I will probably do better without a dating site- on my own.

porshan
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
3/12/19

Ladies, women, beware and STAY FAR AWAY from a man with the username flairjess, 25 years old on POF. He put his place of location as n/a, Illinois. He uses women for sex. He PRETENDS to be a nice guy until he uses people enough times for sex. Afterwards, he wants his space, he becomes hard to reach by phone and will start becoming extremely emotionally abusive and verbally abusive. Eventually, he will get to a point where he doesn't want to be bothered anymore. Something is terribly wrong with him! He devalues women he uses for sex. He DOESN'T want a relationship. Furthermore, he enjoys making fun of women. Women, DON'T give flairjess, 25 years old, any of your time. AVOID HIM. HE IS EVIL.

mickd28
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/12/19

My name is Mick=mickeydd0@gmail.com. Please get in touch. I am Retired. Am looking to get married soon.

mattyv1
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/11/19

In order for this site to have 3 stars they must be from 2003 when you had a chance at meeting someone not today

When you finally finish wading through the TONS and TONS of fake profiles and ones trying to sell you nudes which must be 70 percent of the site you'll come to the real women and wish you hadn't bothered

To say they are rude aggressive and unpleasant is an understatement. I immediately thought nobody wants these women and they're bitter now. Misandry is rife

If I'm being polite I'd say they were all very average looking
if I was being honest id say they were either
Overweight,
Past their best,
Tattooed all over and proud!!
Unintelligent
Utterly Deluded
An entire picky mob who all think they will get a male model and won't reply to anyone who doesn't look like one regardless of how they look. Online dating is for women not men that much I realised

If you're below average looking and mid 30s early 40s how can you have a checklist of 12 things a guy must say yes to? It's ridiculous the women act like that and they seriously wonder why they are single
They need to realise the difference between being realistic and being totally deluded. The older you get the more your worth goes down. It's like a car. Why would I would an old banger when I can get a decent model. I would wager the same women will be on here in 10 years time no doubt still nasty bitter and with the same photos up

I did chuckle when they put they enjoy road trips. You live in Wolverhampton ffs not near route 66 plus you don't drive!!!!
They also like the beach when there's not one near for 300 miles. Also hobbies sleeping, snoozing and gaming aren't going to endear yourself to me

Ps what's with all the photos of women kissing their dogs??? I like dogs but don't wanna kiss them. Love me love my dogs is a well worn headline they use.

tomt310
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
3/10/19

You have bad encounters site, POF is worse than that, this is a bad site ruled by dishonest stupid people.

I made an account in France it was not so many people, but i see there were plenty in UK, so i made 2 accounts
In the french side, i was contacted daily by scammers , which had always the same name (like Mary1343432), the same city (St Denis) the same occupation, the same dialog. Every day you start to get angry with them but with moderation too, because they are unable to block a stupid scammer doing the same fakes and visiting me with 50 new profiles everyday..
How surpised i was to see POF blocked ME , and blocked my 2 accounts just with the IP adress i guess.

SO how the hell they are not able to block scammers if they can block every account in a IP adress??
This show this site goes further in dumbness, it looks like they do 50/50 with the online frauds, cause they prefer to remove users to cover them.
This site is a shame it is not only the worst encounter site but maybe the worse in every category. This one should be closed and $#*! Markus should be in jail.
I hope this is a question of time, sites like this one should not exist

nonyab18
15 reviews
18 helpful votes
3/5/19

This site is so overrun by scammers. PoF will delete a REAL profile for calling them out. Check out this email's grammar. This profile was supposed to have been written by a man holding a Bachelors degree:

"please reply me with your email address so that we can talk better because i am not always on this site" EWWWWW

It's bad enough having to wade through the sex addicts and men with mental, physical, and hygienic challenges, and pretty certain hot looking guys are on their way out of life from STDs, but if you're not really blessed with a lot of free time and want to at least -sort of- screen possible mates, at least it's free.

Match.com is no better for quality potentials, tbh. Paying creeps are still creeps. $20/mo for a website full of emotionally starving, intellectually inept individuals is like shooting- or scooping out- fish in a barrel. Today's sexual predator is a wolf in sheep's clothing on these sites.

They could be good sites, but for the crappy people. Much like the world, huh?

Maybe it's time for a class action lawsuit?

SIGN ME UP for THAT!

Tip for consumers: DON'T DO IT. PoF is one of those sites where you get WAY less than you pay for and a boatload more than you're bargaining for.

Service
Value
Quality
michellev124
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/4/19

POF excells in the art of. B.S. Today I met a man on there who was a total a**s wipe. I am a middle aged overweight woman
I do know the odds of rejection are high. But did the guy have to call me hideous? Like I had a half a face? Bad enough I was abused most of my life! Doesn't this site know how to match people?!? I believed the viewed me column in that site meant that the guys who did see me liked me not HATED me!! Then I get these messages that this so and so wants to meet me but in reality does not. I HATE DATING!! I now wish I could be spayed like a dog so that I never have to deal with the opposite sex ever again!!

donovane3
1 review
6 helpful votes
2/25/19

POF was the first dating site I ever tried just a week ago, got my account deleted because got tired of scammers trying to con me so I got upset and I told them how it was so I got blocked from being able to sign in, nothing but scammers prostitutes and fakes on this site, it totally blows just like the creator Markus frind Who truly is a living breathing anus

michaelo292
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/18/19

I've been on this site for couple weeks now and it's not free. Once you have started a chat with someone they all start the same, Hey there, then it's automatic. They give you the link to another site and want to to go there.. If you don't, then that's it. Chat is finished. Seems to me that the due only promotes a variety of other sites. And when you are really interested in someone you get blocked by the company until you pay. It's bogus if you ask me.

zanec14
1 review
6 helpful votes
2/12/19

This sums pof up

Saw a profile from an average looking woman with a huge nose
It said only contact me if you're decent looking
I asked her why she had put that & she said she was tired of being messaged all time by mingers (slang for ugly)
It didn't occur to her that she herself was no oil painting.
Women 3/10 thinking they can get guys who are 10/10. Absolutely ridiculous

db385
1 review
5 helpful votes
2/12/19

I've never seen a site with so many fake scammer profiles on in my entire life. I looked at 4 pages and they were all virtually fake profiles with fake photos. Even while I was browsing I kept getting told women (scammers) wanted to meet me and I got messages from them. I said hi out of curiosity and got a link to chat for free some webcam scam from abroad
It seems as fast as they're deleted more spring up, seems a scamming gang are doing it. Must be 50% scammers at least on here

The other 50% real women are not much better. The ones on here are a mixture of extremely choosy, rude, unpleasant, nasty, aggressive, deluded, game playing, unintelligent, overweight, demanding, controlling, suffering from princess syndrome. They demand in the headlines ' make me laugh' or 'Prove you're the one for me'. They have pics pouting , sticking their tongues out, kissing their dogs and what seems to be done childish filters. Or they have One photo and there's a group in them and you have to guess which she is

I'm looking for someone to make my life better not worse, they obv not heard of creating a good first impression as the vast majority of the profiles is them demanding what you can offer them. They are moaning in the profiles about what they don't want. They say they're sick of pervy men but can't see by having photos up in their bikinis or tops revealing most of their breasts they're asking for that kind of attention. I didn't see one profile in which a woman told me what she would bring to the relationship. It was all about her and what she wanted. All these when would give you is a headache. You see longest relationship less than a year and you can see why. I don't think many really want relationships they want attention or just playing games.

The words distinctly average women is a woeful understatement. Dreadful on the inside and outside

I would have loved to see a profile from a pleasant female telling me how she would make me laugh and how she is a good catch and would be great for me. Not a chance. All self indulgent moaning drivel was all I saw.

And don't get me started with the lists they have
One example was a 44 year old woman. She was Overweight said she was feisty bossy and opinionated. (What a bundle of joy) and then I Swear must have been 5 paragraphs on what she was looking for from a man. You couldn't make it up. I've never seen anything like it before in my life. Who is messaging these trollops? Don't dare have a 100 Point list of what you want when you're so unattractive unpleasant and overweight

I love the internet but 20 yrs ago before it came popular and internet dating wasn't a thing these women would not have a man look twice at them in their entire lives. Now online they think they're a catch and act like a diva. It's tragic really. They must get messages otherwise they wouldn't be so rude and abrupt in their profiles. You have butt ugly women putting 'If I don't reply don't keep messaging get the message I don't find you attractive' in their profiles. You couldn't make this up.

1,010 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Don't waste your money or your time! Go outside and play. Meet someone the old fashion way. Too many fake/scammers on this sight. And those paying sights aren't any better! Spending money isn't going to make a difference. All the best!

By Becky C.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I just deactivated my account. This site is a sewer. Do not pay anything for this site or any site. I searched for free on other site( even paid ones you can search for free) and I saw the same guys on most of the other sites as well. I'm gonna grow old alone unless luck steps in and maybe I'll meet my guy IRL.

By ann b.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes its possible

By tacha t.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

POF is not free at all, you have to upgrade; become a paying member to be able to do anything interesting.

By Sugar S.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Fake doesn't really describe them... more like downright liars!!!

By Carolyn H.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

STAY AWAY FROM THIS SCAMMING SITE!!!! any good you hear from or about it... DUH ITS THE SCAMMERS THAT WORK FOR EM. i been booted so many times due to unpopularity cuz i wont date trash so i get booted they keep your money they are garbage

By jon d.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You cannot do it from the mobile site . You need to use your search , example safari and look up pof desktop version and go to the help in the top left. It will walk you thru it , if I remember correctly . Good luck

By Lara S.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

First, write to POF and explain. Now, and I mean NOW call up your credit card company and tell them what happened. I am sure POF will not contact you. Make sure to use the word "unacceptable" when describing the consumer service to the CC company about POF. Keep all emails too.Please keep me posted. Thanks Ann B.

By ann b.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I've set several messages to women who supposedly were interested. No response. Is this because I haven't upgraded?

By mike n.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Account. Delete profile. You have to look at all options.

By Rachel C.
Questions? Get answers from the POF staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
POF?
Post Review