Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of POF

POF reviews

Is this your business?
2,178 reviews
701 Fifth Avenue, Suite 5400
Seattle, Washington 98104, CAN
Tel: 6360105675901
systems@pof.com
2017 Customer choice award

2,178 Reviews From Our Community

Service
90
Value
85
Shipping
35
Returns
43
Quality
82

All Reviews

adriannes3
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/18/18

Despite putting thought into my profile I continue to get contacted by men who dont bother to read my profile. My matches dont have anything in common with me and there are a ton of married men on this site. Im an attractive female so I dont understand why my luck has been so horrible except this is a crappy site.

Advertisement
markw355
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/14/18

Hahaha who gave this site 3**?

Been on the site twice & won't be going back for number 3 That's for sure

Seems very small pool of women and a huge pool of men which obv makes the females very picky with a huge chip on the shoulders. It's like they think ooh I can reject all these decent men as they will be hundreds more coming. They tell you to message them and then ignore you
They all searching for some one from the movies who can take care of them financially. They don't even come across as nice people. First impressions count and majority of these lot come across badly. Their profiles all full of negativity and no positivity

Lots of them have long lists of what they like & dislike. Their attitude stinks & they need taking taking a peg or two. Would be great if men stopped messaging them & they had to do the chasing instead
Im sure there are some sleazy guys on here but they can't all be bad but the women on here stay on here for years it seems holding out for #1 hot model. holding out for the 10* star guy. It ain't happening but they are too dumb to realise it. These women aren't even close to the playboy bunnies they think they are. If 95% of them walked past you in the street you wouldn't give them a 2nd look

richardo57
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/14/18

POF sent me on dates with serial-dating women that were only interested in a free meal... furthermore... they sent me on a date with a catholic school teacher that was only interested in my finances and worth... I have been on several dates from match and they are not the "miracle" dating service that they portray themselves to be.

danielk147
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/8/18

But I'm still freaking single lol!!! Every1 seems 2b sayin wejustfit.com is a good option so will give that mofo a shot and double my chances, I need all the help I can get lol!!!

georgeg152
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/8/18

this is my review about plenty of fish its the worst app and site ever made your profile gets constantly deleted for absolute no reason and once your profile is deleted you can never sign back up again this is what plenty of fish state POF has 0 tolerance for users who are rude, upload fake pictures, married, use sexual language in their first email, upload nude photos or break our terms of service in any way. Any user caught doing so is deleted. You may also be deleted if you accumulate a high number of blocks. Users who are deleted may not signup to the service again.

which is a joke just because people block you or say your married and you just want to find some friends you cant because your profile gets deleted what a joke so lets say i didn't like someone so ill get a bunch of my friends and block them and then there profile will get deleted what a load of crap and without even doing a google search for there customer service address they dont even have it displayed on there site and even if you send them a email you wont even get a reply back and also girls can send any picture they like but when it comes to guys they expect us to upgrade just to send pictures sexist mother $#*!ers so just because i dont have a pussy between my legs i need to upgrade pfft i would not spend a cent on this stupid app and yet some hell its 1 of the most popular apps and now they even start advertising on television pfft what a joke if i could give this app a 0 or even a -1 i would but unfortunately they dont have that option for me so i would give them a 1 this app is run by $#*!ing wankers and i wish it was never made and i cant wait until the day these $#*!ing stupid dumb $#*!ing wankers go bankrupt and out of business DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY TO UPGRADE I REPEAT DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY to upgrade this stupid site cause if you do you will regret it and they dont even refund your money there a joke and a waste just google plenty of fish and see how many bad reviews these idiots have

tammys135
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/8/18

This is a web sight for men to just use women for sex while pretending to want something real. Even the profiles that say looking for long term are really not. I have never been ghosted in my entire life and these people will say and do anything for sex and then disappear like a magic trick. This sight should be shut down. It is likely the reason for more break ups and divorces then relationships. TOTAL WASTE OF TIME REALLY!! ALL USERS AND ABUSERS SPREADING DISEASES!!!

carlf45
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/5/18

Sent out quite a few messages and they all looked at my profile. Have a good job and work out. Not one reply. 4 of them actually blocked me for sending them a polite message. Who do they think they are? No thanks but no thanks just ignore or block, what lovely people. They all seem to be waiting for some hot model to message them. Half of them can't be bothered to fill the profile out and a lot can't work out how to put their photo the right way up... let's be honest if they're that ignorant and rude then it's no great loss. Women need to change their stuck. up attitude or nobody will want them

Only messages I got were ridiculous scammers with links wanted you to sign up for their site. Oh and the meet me were just fake profiles you could spot a mile off

Plenty of low grade trash

The rant/review below from the woman sums their attitude up.

angeliiiisb
2 reviews
13 helpful votes
2/4/18

THE GUYS on POF are the biggest LOSERS on the planet. They are either looking for a woman that will wipe their a**e* or want a puppet on a string to be available 24/7 for when ever they are not going out with their jock jerk friends. POF DOES NOT have the number of men and woman it claims as there are many fake profiles and MANY MORE DUPLICATES. I have watch ultra match. It starts with 70 prospective mates and after deleting the majority of dog, cat or smokers I may luck out with 2 out of 10. Of the 2 1 is definitely good looking but has no interest in anything but hitting the sheets and are masaganist at heart, the other 1 out of two are lushes and half the time would probably use a sheep or what ever else they can get their penises into. LOSERS!!! For the few real guys that are legit, woman are so worn out they have probably given up on finding some one real and would make good marriage or even dating material. I think that both sexes with any real potential have probably burned out and have given up. TRULY A WASTE OF YOUR TIME.

rudyb20
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/4/18

Its a bizarre cyber universe where a handful of women lord it over a mass of guys competing for dates. If you aren't a GQ guy you'll be lucky to date fat ugly women who expect you do give them the world. Plenty of fake phishing messages though.

michaelp380
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/3/18

Five days ago I emailed POF to cancel my acct, BEFORE the end of my subscription. Today, five days later, they charged my Paypal acct for renewal

granth39
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/28/18

They block your IP address and dont let you login when asking the POF TEAM they say to upgrade and I wouldnt have that problem. They have done this to other users as well. POF are scammers

davidl519
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/28/18

You can't blame the site it's the content but with so many blatant fake profiles appearing it surely can't last much longer. Although I'm sure Markus has made enough money

Basically the girls on this site are the leftovers on society. They are the ones you see in a bar at closing time still on the own
They are fat (but say plus sized). They are unintelligent lack class and are just common trash
You wouldn't take any of these to meet your mum
But strangely they don't see how bad they are they actually think they're a catch LOL. Check out the usernames HOTPROPERTY. SEXIBABE4U. SMARTANDSEXY. hahaha you have to admire the optimism of these unattractive whales.

Decent women don't need POF to find a guy.

benc219
1 review
5 helpful votes
1/26/18

An online sewer all with unrealistic women thinking they are some sort of catch despite their best years behind them. 'Here I am ' or 'You've found me ' are popular headlines...... really? Maybe 15 years ago

Full of Soulless materialistic types who think S*x And the City is how to live your life. Spend all their time on social media and their photos are all skimpy selfies despite being 37 sticking their tongues out drunk

They say they have great family friends and their life is in order and they love going on holidays. But they're reaching the end of time for child bearing. They so great yet no man has ever asked them them to marry them. The good ones get snapped up quickly and the fact they're on here bragging how great everything is but they've never had a relationship longer than a year tells me all i need to know. They've never been able to hang onto a man and that's a huge sign something is wrong with them

Mind boggles how many partners they've slept with and been out partying every night having fun and now they want to settle down with a decent guy. No thanks I'm worth more than these skanks on on here. So stop posting thinking you're a catch when you should have settled down years ago.

neily7
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/25/18

About three quarters of all the responses I get on POF are obviously attempts to rip me off or upgrade me. Women will contact me, always asking for my email account. Giving me some piss poor reason like 'I can't upload images on POF. I'm new here!' when it is just as easy to upload a photo on POF as any email. Then, coincidentally, their profiles are removed after I question their statements. All in all, POF is populated by scammers and not in my opinion a legit dating site.

renshawm
1 review
5 helpful votes
1/21/18

How on earth does this site get 3.5 stars?

It must be all the people from wejustfit or whatever it is coming on here giving it great marks but also using it to promote their site

This site is full of women who think they're brand new Lamborghinis when in fact they're 30 year old Chevvys with rust and due for the scrap yard

The women constantly complain about men only wanting one thing but don't seem to get dressing your main photo as a pouting bikini shot isn't going to get any decent men messaging them

They're all stuck up and seem to think they are way better than they actually are. I hope the internet breaks and then they have to put the hard yards in the real world. No men would waste their time chatting them up in a bar but on the internet they lose touch with reality hence the Lamborghini/Chevvy comparison

jesser2
59 reviews
111 helpful votes
1/18/18

POF has a lot of unintelligent people. Way too many netspeak-users and cliche-ridden profiles.

They also have some heavy-handed "autoblock" policy where you can't message someone more than 10 years younger than you. Even if POF shows their profile when you're surfing.

So that beautiful blonde in an American flag bikini? Sorry, she turned 21 after you turned 31. No dice.

The worst part is the one girl I sort of "met" was creepy. I never saw her in person but she saw me twice when I was eating at the McDonald's in her WalMart. She never talked to me but would text me saying she saw me there and it was... creepy.

Wish it was that hot girl that saw me, not this unattractive creeper.

Site could work if you put effort in, but not if you're a "guy like me".

jimmyw54
2 reviews
14 helpful votes
1/17/18

When POF frist started, it was interesting. Some nice ladies and interesting as well. Now, they all try to impress you with their "great bodies" online. It seems POF should enforce their decency code. I'm not interested in seeing a 60 year old woman in a bikini, not that there is anythng wrong that that (apparently). In reality, it seems POF has gone the way of many of the international sites in trying to squeeze money out of you in any way possible.

tomm1432
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/12/18

I cant say that PlentyOfFish is perfect but its up their with the best sites Ive tryed (wejustfit.com etc) and if youre single like me and looking for some one then you need to go with the top sites or you will end up wasting youre time.

lukeh59
1 review
9 helpful votes
1/7/18

I was last on this site in 2011 and although wasn't great then it wasn't that bad and the women seemed ok and replied. Fast forward to 2018 and wow it's truly horrible. The whole universe seems to be on here and the women seem determined to punch above their weight.
I signed up and didn't take me long to see a photo from the past. A woman in a black bikini next to a swimming pool I remembered. So unless she's Peter Pan she's using the same photo from 6 years ago. Some guy is going to be in for a shock if they meet. I guess it must be all an ego trip.

Saw a few other faces from the past just with different hair etc and couldn't help but think if you are on a dating site for 6 years surely you'd think I'm being too picky or it's not working. How is it possible to be on pof that long and not find a decent man??? Yes sure there are sleazy men but must be some good ones.

From what I remember at least back in 2011 the woman were somewhat polite. This 2018 mob are just rude picky and crazy. Page after page of profiles all the same. All like holidays and socialising. Alot of them don't have photos, have photos kissing their pets or photos I'd class as inappropriate for a open source 'dating' site. I'm not a prude but half your body naked for all to see??

I think most on here for attention and no intention of dating or they're looking for a man that doesn't exist. There's a lot of low quality women on here with high demands Which really doesn't make sense as I said before quite a lot seem to want to punch above their weight. They all want a 10/10 but if they were out a night they would do well to get a 4/10 guy. The internet sends them all crazy I think
And if there's one thing that is going to make me ignore a profile it's READ PROFILE BEFORE MESSAGING
Havent these women heard of being polite?

Definitely gone downhill in last 6 years and judging from the toxic woman on here I've not missed a great deal. Used to be dating now looks like a hook up place for unpleasant pouting brats. I'll leave it another 6 years before I bother again

seank60
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
1/6/18

As a transgender woman with or without surgery, it is hard for me to find a man who is willing to accept me for who I am. I have been using online dating sites for four years and I still have not accomplished my biggest dream. The reason why I am giving this site such a low rating is because once each guy sends me a like, I end up being blocked by many of them on this site every time I begin to text them. Maybe because they think it's funny to joke around with trans girls or because they enjoy hurting them. It is either legit or a scam, but in whichever way, I would not recommend it to transgender ladies. I even reported a few guys for doing that and even though it is a free website, I don't think this site is worth it.

Tip for consumers: FOR TRANSGENDER GIRLS OR LADYBOYS USING THIS SITE:

Please keep in mind that just because this guy sends you a like doesn't mean that he really likes you. Legit or not, some guys who are considered LGBT haters only do that so they can hurt you in any way after you try messaging them. I don't want any other transgender girl to go through what I have been through on this site and I am writing this honest review to share what I have experienced with this site before anyone joins it.

jims324
4 reviews
1 helpful vote
1/6/18

This site is one that works if you are prepared to sort the wheat from the chaff. A lot of dross on here, but hey it's free - in the most part.

nancyo43
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/31/17

Married men, men with girlfriends even single men, men just love this site SO ladies beware, if you are unfortunate to find yourself in a new relationship with a guy you have met on here, he will be loathed to close his account down... they carry on fishing behind your back!

vicenteb14
1 review
7 helpful votes
12/30/17

The profiles are either fake or belong to THE MOST DELUSIONAL women on the planet!! One woman said she wanted to be spoiled. Jokingly I asked her how so? She literally responded "Babe send me money. " Really b#tch..!!?? LMAO!! Don't waste your time or money here. Totally not worth it.

mattyk3
1 review
5 helpful votes
12/28/17

I'm sure this site might have been okay 10 years ago but now it's rancid chock a block and no chance finding anybody decent
Half the profiles are fake and make no attempt to hide the fact they are screenshots to get people to sign up for an adult site. I'm guessing it must be 95% men and 5% women after browsing the profiles and seeing how nasty and demanding the women are. Must be saturated with guys so much that the women all start thinking they're hot when they're anything but

It must be an attention fix as nobody wants to date. One profile had an average looking women saying if you message just and said hi/hello you would be blocked and then another rambling list of what you had to do just to get a reply from her. They must have tons of desperate guys messaging if they can get away with talking to strangers like that. I thought the idea of this was to get men to like you not scare them away.

30 minutes of my life I'll never get back

rebeccag87
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/23/17

Cannot access account set up less than 24 hours ago. Frustrating that there is no customer support and the account may have been compromised.

1,010 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 6
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I just deactivated my account. This site is a sewer. Do not pay anything for this site or any site. I searched for free on other site( even paid ones you can search for free) and I saw the same guys on most of the other sites as well. I'm gonna grow old alone unless luck steps in and maybe I'll meet my guy IRL.

By ann b. [POF Rep]
Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Don't waste your money or your time! Go outside and play. Meet someone the old fashion way. Too many fake/scammers on this sight. And those paying sights aren't any better! Spending money isn't going to make a difference. All the best!

By Becky C. [POF Rep]
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes its possible

By tacha t. [POF Rep]
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

POF is not free at all, you have to upgrade; become a paying member to be able to do anything interesting.

By Sugar S. [POF Rep]
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Fake doesn't really describe them... more like downright liars!!!

By Carolyn H. [POF Rep]
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

STAY AWAY FROM THIS SCAMMING SITE!!!! any good you hear from or about it... DUH ITS THE SCAMMERS THAT WORK FOR EM. i been booted so many times due to unpopularity cuz i wont date trash so i get booted they keep your money they are garbage

By jon d. [POF Rep]
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You cannot do it from the mobile site . You need to use your search , example safari and look up pof desktop version and go to the help in the top left. It will walk you thru it , if I remember correctly . Good luck

By Lara S. [POF Rep]
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

First, write to POF and explain. Now, and I mean NOW call up your credit card company and tell them what happened. I am sure POF will not contact you. Make sure to use the word "unacceptable" when describing the consumer service to the CC company about POF. Keep all emails too.Please keep me posted. Thanks Ann B.

By ann b. [POF Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I've set several messages to women who supposedly were interested. No response. Is this because I haven't upgraded?

By mike n. [POF Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Account. Delete profile. You have to look at all options.

By Rachel C. [POF Rep]
Questions? Get answers from the POF staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

23 Photos for POF

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
POF?
Post Review