SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of GuruAid

GuruAid reviews

1318 reviews
95%
Categories: Tech Support
19 Business Park Drive
Branford, CT 06405, USA
Tel: 855 575 5140
customerservice@guruaid.com

1,318 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
527
Value
466
Shipping
114
Returns
107
Quality
340

All Reviews

colinm56
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/2/16

Service so far has been very good

Ask Colin about GuruAid
Advertisement
charless156
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/30/16

Called them for what I thought was the Webroot support number. The "support tech" said he needed to sign on my computer, which Webroot always does. The difference being that Webroot has outstanding support and GuruAid couldn't write a dir command without a syntax error. He said he worked to Webroot, which was a lie. After screwing around on my computer for almost an hour it became obvious to me he had no idea how to restore Webroot on my new computer and, but for $80 he could a "technician" clean up all the errors on my 2 day old machine.
My guess is that if you think they did a good job you really didn't need them.

STAY AWAY! IT IS A SCAM!

Ask Charles about GuruAid
thomasn43
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/25/16

Just got off the phone with an Email problem I refused to pay for repairs now I can not log in to my computer. My password has been changed and I have a system boot error .

Ask Thomas about GuruAid
leslieb86
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/24/16

very prompt in use

Ask Leslie about GuruAid
christineh82
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/20/16

I am very happy with your service

Ask Christine about GuruAid
rebecal1
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/16/16

I consider the above named company to be an excellent assistance provider for help with my computer problems

Ask Rebeca about GuruAid
robbinr5
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/16/16

I thought I was calling ESET. After letting them have remote access and paying $110, I am finding the next day that a lot of the clean up they said they had done, they did not. They were able to fix my problem with my security, however, I was told it would take 40 minutes and it took over 8 hrs. I actually had to call them back because the tech left me hanging on remote for a long time without doing anything. Once he started working on it again he was finished very quickly. Don't know if I got him in trouble and he skipped over things or what. I even missed a planned event with my Grandchildren because he had told me I needed to stay by the computer. Would not use them again. I could have done most of what he did.

Ask Robbin about GuruAid
alanw66
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/13/16

guruaid very happy with there service

Ask alan about GuruAid
dorist11
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/11/16

I have been very satisfied with Guru Aid, All personnel have always been very polite and helpful.

Ask Doris about GuruAid
wilmetg
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/8/16

Thank you for all your help.

Ask Wilmet about GuruAid
donnar48
3 reviews
34 helpful votes
10/7/16

I would give minus stars if I could.I thought I was contacting Dell support and this number popped up and they acted like Dell support when I explained my issue. computer.Before they could service my computer I needed to buy a service contract.I agreed to $179,00 for one year thinking this was Dell' Iwas billed $299.99. Bottom line they accessed my computer, removed Kaspersky and caused seriously infected my computer,. Requiring me to cancel my Discover card and Dell to take much time to remove all the spyware. A very upsetting situation. To say the least.

Ask Donna about GuruAid
edwardv21
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/3/16

I spent $240 Australian dollars( $170US$) for a years subscription for Guru Aid technical support. My computer had a virus so I tried to contact them (Guru Aid) and they seem to have disappeared Guru Aids phone number 1800-156-016 keeps giving me the engaged signal. I am afraid to say that I have been scammed.big time ...Edward

Ask Edward about GuruAid
carolinep14
10 reviews
12 helpful votes
2/22/16

Spent half an hour with one of their 'techs'..Stupid me gave him access to remotely solve problem with my AVG ZEN (which was a problem in and of itself. Don't know what this tech did but my desktop became unstable and virus ridden!..he said he'd sort it out if I paid £80 or if I couldn't afford that what could I afford?..I put the phone down. What confuses me is why AVG allow themselves to be associated with Malware snipers!..One can only wonder.

Ask caroline about GuruAid
judyj16
1 review
7 helpful votes
2/18/16

bought a new computer and McAfee would not load rang guru aid thinking it was connected to McAfee -they said problem would not be fixed under computer warranty but they would fix it for a price.
They did fix it but I declined the further annual fee
3 week later my computer is unusable - files have been encrypted with virus which can only be removed if money is paid
Coincidence - I think not
BE WARE

Ask judy about GuruAid
davidw315
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
2/16/16

I have been a user of the Guruaid service for the past 2 years.They are a fantastic service that gives professional service to resolve all issues with my pc.I would recommend them to anyone as they give excellent value for money and peace of mind when issues arise.They carry out corrective action to resolution with full satisfaction of the client.

Ask David about GuruAid
masona8
1 review
7 helpful votes
2/1/16

THEY TOOK FROM MY BANK ACCOUNT

Ask mason about GuruAid
charlesd83
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/29/16

I can't praise GuRu Aid enough. I have never been less than pleased with the service, and the agents are so understanding of my lack of knowledge of the computer. Always thorough & don't leave 'til I'm satisfied. I give them 5 stars.

Ask Charles about GuruAid
barbaral57
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/27/16

They restored the missing icons and cleaned the computer

Ask Barbara about GuruAid
johnm663
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/26/16

The folks I communicated with were direct and very helpful. While I hope I don't need their services again, I know that, if I do, my problems will be addressed and solved

Ask john about GuruAid
josephw50
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/22/16

Quick, and accurate

Ask JOSEPH about GuruAid
dennisb87
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/22/16

I joined GURUAID 9 days ago and initially I was impressed and the problem I had at the time got resolved in reasonable time, unfortunately today after a second problem occurred I spent almost 7 and half hours in front of my screen. I cannot explain why but one of the service centre individuals made an incorrect acusation which totally made me very angry partivularly as I had been very patient all along. I have paid for a year contract which I certainly will use should the situation arise BUT as things are right now I will be reluctant to continue or even recommend if the gentleman or any colleague responds to me in the way he did today. The actual individual who was trying to sort my problem was most polite.

Ask Dennis about GuruAid
blakef7
1 review
5 helpful votes
1/19/16

Rude phishing scammers. I was looking to speed my computer up but that was not the case. The first person who I spoke to did not even seem to care and told me to stop "prank calling" and hung up. I called back and was repeatedly was put on hold for 20 minutes while he 'spoke' to his technician. The phone eventually got disconnected. I finally, got to talk to someone who I explained my situation to told me that it was no problem to fix. When I gave him my name he ended up going through his computer and told me files no files matched my name and repeatedly told me I would to repay the $200 plus bucks. I told him that I was not going to repay for some of fix I could eventually do myself ,he eventually said he would diagnose my computer and help me find my receipt on my email. He got remote access control, but I just logged off my computer as I could not be bothered with him contradicting and yelling at me all the time. Eventually, I had a local technician look at my computer and it turned out that he found corrupt files placed in my computer from the day GuruAid looked at it from somewhere overseas in India. Never use these rude, phishing, con artists.

Tip for consumers: Do NOT USE

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Blake about GuruAid
carll32
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/18/16

I received outstanding support from GURUAID every time I have utilized their service. I would gladly recommend them to anyone.

Ask Carl about GuruAid
peterw73
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/18/16

The service was thorough and very helpful.

Ask Peter about GuruAid
sandraj32
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/17/16

very good service, the tech was able to fix my problem in a short time! he was excellent!!! However I did have to wait over four hours to receive service, the I got disconnected twice! this does not reflect at any way with tech! he did very well

Ask sandra about GuruAid
1 rating was submitted through the SiteJabber Browser Extension

7 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the GuruAid staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
lindah197
Linda H.
on 7/19/16
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
jacks459
JACK S.
on 3/24/16
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
See 5 more questions
See more Q&A
Questions? Get answers from the GuruAid staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

21 Photos for GuruAid

From reviewers
From the business

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
GuruAid?
Post Review