SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of AbeBooks

AbeBooks reviews

Is this your business?
174 reviews
31%
Categories: Books, Textbooks, Used Books
Suite 500 - 655, Tyee Road
Victoria, BC V9A 6X5, Canada
Tel: +1.2504123200
domains@abebooks.com
This business is not yet responding to reviews. If this is your business claim it and respond free.

174 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
25
Value
24
Shipping
24
Returns
13
Quality
18

All Reviews

sherryb54
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/21/17

I purchased a signed copy of a book and was very excited to find it.
But then, WITH NO EXPLANATION, they returned my money on PayPal and just cancelled my order.
They ignored my requests for an explanation.
Really really bad service. Don't use these people.

Advertisement
johnb778
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/19/17

Ordered an oversized book from Abebooks I normally use Amazon but they had the best price. The put the book in a book with only bubble wrap on one side to fill up the box so of course the other two corners were severely damaged on transit. Then it costs me almost as much as the book to send back for a refund. So I technically paid the Post Office money for nothing and Abebooks will just sell the damaged book and still come out with a profit. I will never order another book from them again.

geraldineb13
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/15/17

I have ordered twice from Abe Books, the second time the book was fine, but the first time I ordered two identical books both supposedly 'Good', but I wouldn't really describe either as good, and one of them (ex-library) had a piece cut out of a page! Even if that had not been spotted then the overall look of the book should have warranted a lesser price and description.

dallinl
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/13/17

They are a nightmare. Awful communication. Bought book on dec 30. They sent me shipping information that told me the book would arrive on the Jan 24. No company needs to wait 25 day to give you your product. I needed the book by Jan 10th so I had to buy it through my campus bookstore. A couple days later the book arrived and they refused a return/refund. Now i'm out 80 bucks.

nobodysf
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/11/17

First time I've ordered a used book from Abe Books. Description says its in good condition and there is nothing about the torn and old and dirty. It took forever to get the book and when I got it saw the book I was so upset. It was all torn and its nothing like what was saying in the description of the book. I can't never trust the ABE BOOKS. I should read the review before I decide to purchase from Abe Books. I will never use Abe books again. By the way it was a bible that I've ordered.

timothym85
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/8/17

They must be too busy making commissions to really care about the customer. They assert no pressure or performance expectations on their sellers, except they have to respond to emails in 2 days. The book seller (Books Tell You Why - ABAA/ILAB) accepted an order on a book, then it never arrived after a month. Reason, you ask? "Bookseller accepted order in error
Comments: Our apology, this book was misplaced, the order was mishandled."
If I wouldn't have inquired, I would have never known there was a problem....not a way to do business. I can no longer trust Abe Books. They could have tried to find another copy and expedited shipping! At least they say they are giving me a refund, but Christmas is long past.

jessicas212
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/8/17

Got a later start than normal funding books. Ordered the book a week and a half before class started. Paid expedited shipping to make sure I would get it on time. It has now been over 2 weeks and I have not received the book. Abesbooks customer service is not helpful at all. Told me shipping delays were normal and I could try to contact the seller. Would not recommend th8s site to anyone.

unhappyb6
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/6/17

At present, abebooks is having difficulty policing its sellers. A central problem is that the abebooks.com website has no provision for feedback from buyers. Because unhappy buyers are silenced, prospective buyers can not tell good sellers from the unscrupulous. Based on the complaints here, as well as my own experience, sellers know that can provide less than satisfactory service, with no expectation of being policed by the abebooks people. It is somewhat shocking that abebooks states they are an amazon.com subsidiary, as Amazon tries much harder,

So, rhetorically, why not one star? The reason is that the abebooks phone service did initiate a refund promptly in my case.

My case: Placed an order, paying for expedited shipping. Seller waited ten days to ship, then purchased the cheapest shipping service available (media mail), not priority service, as promised. Book is not scheduled to arrive by promised date. Seller sent obviously false claims in email.

Overall, I'd say that abebooks is a service I would use, but not if I needed the book promptly. If I had, say, six or eight weeks before I needed the book, I'd try abebooks, then cancel the transaction if the associated seller failed to deliver, using another supplier.

everettv2
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/26/16

Many years I always bought from Abe Books, over all other booksellers.
I am a public library librarian.Recently I discovered their customer "problem" response-an automated system website---is, in effect: If there is a screwup, it is the responsibility of the consumer/customer.

jonathant45
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
12/17/16

Customer Service NIGHTMARE. I emailed your company seconds after a misinformed purchase was made on your site due to incorrect information in the ad for the book i ordered connected with this Order number AB-10507. I was not reached by email until 24 hours later, which is probably automated so they don't have to deal with cancelations. This site is ILLEGAL in the way it informs and deals intentionally denies your right to canceling a misrepresented product.


until 24 hours after my emails alerting your company of the falsely
represented book.

davidb599
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/12/16

I've used Abebooks for several years and in the past have been satisfied with most of the transactions. Now however, Abebooks has a policy of allowing Sellers to disguise their location - for example, a seller may represent they are based in a United States city but in reality are an overseas company AND shipping FROM overseas to the United States. Abebooks allows a loophole for an overseas Seller to do this as long as they indicate somewhere in their listing that they "MAY" ship from some other location - even without full disclosure. This enables Sellers' deception of point of origin of your package. This directly impacts shipping time, increases the risk of damage and increases your financial privacy risks of dealing with a disguised, overseas Seller. I first contacted Abebooks about this policy, they determined the Seller "met their requirements" and took no action other than to tell me I could request a refund. I am very disappointed Abebooks is enabling this kind of Seller deception and encourage you to think twice before using this service.

ufiwh
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/13/16

They sent me the wrong book, probably on purpose. Scammers, I will pay more on Amazon than buy from these people

brendanm26
1 review
10 helpful votes
10/28/16

Book says in stock, you pay, you get an email saying successful purchase and it will arrive in 4-6 business days. Then a month later still no book has arrived. You ask what is happening, answer given is "book got lost by the courier" and a refund is on the way and there is no more stock of this book. They never contact you to tell you there is a problem. You have to chase after them. After all of this I look at the website, says book is in stock! Avoid like the plague

shirleys84
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/25/16

I ordered books from AbeBooks recently and I received them in good time. Previous orders have also been received with no issues. I would buy from AbeBooks again.

bobb1082
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/15/16

Probably the worst online transaction ever. Sent defective merchandise and received conflicting instructions for the return. I finally disputed the charges with my credit card company who reimbursed me. Too much drama with these guys

kateb62
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/12/16

If you get the book you ordered and it comes on time, then good for you; you are truly lucky! However, in the event you have ANY sort of problem with your order then good luck getting anything handled or fixed at all. I have been in the process of trying to return a book for a month and a half now, and it wasn't that I ordered the wrong book, what I received was not at all as described on the website. The individual seller that I have been trying to work with (Bookish) has absolutely WORTHLESS customer service, and AbeBooks has been no help in the issue either. Do yourself a favor and order your books from another website, the few dollars you may save by going through AbeBooks is not at all worth the stress and frustration of trying to deal with returns and customer service of this company.

Service
Shipping
Returns
maxw236
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/11/16

I ordered my book for my microeconomics on September 11th. The estimated delivery date was the 25th, which at first I thought was pretty late delivery date, but I was willing to stick with it. It is now Oct 12th and I have already gotten the scores back from my first exam, and the book still has not arrived. I emailed them but they said they cannot do anything unless it is 25 days past the estimated delivery date, and that they don't have a tracking number for me! Stay Away!!!!

marym394
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/4/16

Sometimes I received books on time, sometimes not and sometimes not at all! The times it worked was good but in the latest episode they took money from my debit card, claimed it was shipped from a supplier on August 23 to arrive about September 12. I contacted them a week ago and they didn't even acknowledge my request for more information. I searched for the Customer Service # and found it in the #2 font fine print. The guy I spoke to wasn't apologetic and neither was his e-mail. They told me too bad about your loss but NO REFUND, that's our policy because we aren't going to hold the carrier accountable on your behalf. LOUSY ! I will not buy from them again.

ta7444
1 review
6 helpful votes
10/4/16

If by chance you decided to look up the validity of these company before you buy GREAT FOR YOU. DO NOT buy from this company. I ordered an accounting book for over $200 as it was sold out at my school bookstore. I only had an option of renting from the school and the rental alone was $200 for a used book. I decided to give this pathetic source a try, and they shipped me an edition 3 back from the one I ordered. By this time I had waited and missed an assignment for a 7 week class and still had to purchase the original book. I returned my book to them and to this day still am out of $200+ dollars and cant get anyone on the phone. They are horrible with customer service and take 0 accountability for my misfortune. PLEASE do not order from them.

hatimm1
1 review
5 helpful votes
9/26/16

I ordered a book with my VISA.
after almost 2 weeks, they sent me an email showing that they got an error with the payment!
when I contacted them they said that they refund the cost because the seller has already sold the book! and it's no longer available.

I lost 2 weeks waiting the book!

meganj14
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/22/16

A textbook that was $200 + in my school bookstore, I found for $23.50 plus shipping(which I spent the $5 extra dollars to have it rushed). The textbook came with within a week, and I was updated via email the whole process! Will definitely re-visit this website.

chasitye1
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/21/16

Purchased a book for school and waited for it while tracking the delivery. The book was ahead of schedule but later than the original tracking date since it kept getting stuck at each stop. The day of delivery it stated that it was delivered however just not to my address. I have checked with neighbors and the post office. The post office said only the shipper could inquire. However abebooks said since it says it was delivered then there is nothing further they would do. Don't buy from them!!!!

joannad15
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/21/16

I was afraid to use this web site after reading all the bad reviews, but couldn't pass up the deal. I paid less than half the price on Amazon! The service was excellent. I received email confirmation, shipping tracking info, and my book arrived in less than a week!

riaans2
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/17/16

Delivery was late, more than 200 pages missing and not returning my queries.

Order details below:

Sales Order No. 103710283 has been received and forwarded to the bookseller listed below. We will provide updates as the bookseller processes the order.

View Order Details


Sales Order No.: 103710283
Status: Order Received
Order Date: August 4, 2016
Order Total: US$ 27.62
Shipping Address:
xxxxxx
Perth WA
Australia


Bookseller: US_Superfast_Bookstore
AbeBooks Purchase Order No.: 128082051
Purchase Method: MasterCard
Estimated Delivery Date: August 20, 2016
Approximate Shipping Speed: 4 - 8 business days

Title: Corporate Governance: Principles, Policies, And Practices 3Rd Edition
Author:
Quantity: 1
Book Description: This is an International Edition Brand New Paperback Same Title Author and Edition as listed. ISBN and Cover design differs. Similar Contents as U.S Edition. Standard Delivery within 6-14 business days ACROSS THE GLOBE. We can ship to PO Box address in US. International Edition Textbooks may bear a label Not for sale in the U.S. or Canada or For sale in Asia only or similar restrictions- printed only to discourage students from obtaining an af...
ISBN: 9780198702757
Binding: Soft cover
Book Condition: New
Book Price: US$ 15.63
Shipping Price: US$ 11.99

sebastiaans6
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/15/16

Highly incorrect. False declaration. Order number:104477243
Bought a book via AbeBooks website. Waited for the reply for more than a week. Then, when asked to AbeBooks, they siad that the book store: L Books (Montrouge, France), cancelled the order:
-without advising me
-leaving me for a week to wait for nothing
-And most of all they wrote on the reason of the remboursment that I renounce to the order , which is false and I can prove it.
Avoid totally

22 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the AbeBooks staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
jyothsnar
JYOTHSNA R.
2 days, 14 hours ago
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
fahadm3
Fahad M.
3 days, 15 hours ago
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
See 20 more questions
See more Q&A
Questions? Get answers from the AbeBooks staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
AbeBooks?
Post Review