SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of AbeBooks

AbeBooks reviews

Is this your business?
155 reviews
34%
Categories: Books, Textbooks, Used Books
Suite 500 - 655, Tyee Road
Victoria, BC V9A 6X5, Canada
Tel: +1.2504123200
domains@abebooks.com
This business is not yet responding to reviews. If this is your business claim it and respond free.

155 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
24
Value
24
Shipping
23
Returns
12
Quality
18

All Reviews

hatimm1
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/26/16

I ordered a book with my VISA.
after almost 2 weeks, they sent me an email showing that they got an error with the payment!
when I contacted them they said that they refund the cost because the seller has already sold the book! and it's no longer available.

I lost 2 weeks waiting the book!

Ask hatim about AbeBooks
Advertisement
meganj14
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/22/16

A textbook that was $200 + in my school bookstore, I found for $23.50 plus shipping(which I spent the $5 extra dollars to have it rushed). The textbook came with within a week, and I was updated via email the whole process! Will definitely re-visit this website.

Ask Megan about AbeBooks
chasitye1
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/21/16

Purchased a book for school and waited for it while tracking the delivery. The book was ahead of schedule but later than the original tracking date since it kept getting stuck at each stop. The day of delivery it stated that it was delivered however just not to my address. I have checked with neighbors and the post office. The post office said only the shipper could inquire. However abebooks said since it says it was delivered then there is nothing further they would do. Don't buy from them!!!!

Ask Chasity about AbeBooks
joannad15
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/21/16

I was afraid to use this web site after reading all the bad reviews, but couldn't pass up the deal. I paid less than half the price on Amazon! The service was excellent. I received email confirmation, shipping tracking info, and my book arrived in less than a week!

Ask Joanna about AbeBooks
riaans2
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/17/16

Delivery was late, more than 200 pages missing and not returning my queries.

Order details below:

Sales Order No. 103710283 has been received and forwarded to the bookseller listed below. We will provide updates as the bookseller processes the order.

View Order Details


Sales Order No.: 103710283
Status: Order Received
Order Date: August 4, 2016
Order Total: US$ 27.62
Shipping Address:
xxxxxx
Perth WA
Australia


Bookseller: US_Superfast_Bookstore
AbeBooks Purchase Order No.: 128082051
Purchase Method: MasterCard
Estimated Delivery Date: August 20, 2016
Approximate Shipping Speed: 4 - 8 business days

Title: Corporate Governance: Principles, Policies, And Practices 3Rd Edition
Author:
Quantity: 1
Book Description: This is an International Edition Brand New Paperback Same Title Author and Edition as listed. ISBN and Cover design differs. Similar Contents as U.S Edition. Standard Delivery within 6-14 business days ACROSS THE GLOBE. We can ship to PO Box address in US. International Edition Textbooks may bear a label Not for sale in the U.S. or Canada or For sale in Asia only or similar restrictions- printed only to discourage students from obtaining an af...
ISBN: 9780198702757
Binding: Soft cover
Book Condition: New
Book Price: US$ 15.63
Shipping Price: US$ 11.99

Ask Riaan about AbeBooks
sebastiaans6
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/15/16

Highly incorrect. False declaration. Order number:104477243
Bought a book via AbeBooks website. Waited for the reply for more than a week. Then, when asked to AbeBooks, they siad that the book store: L Books (Montrouge, France), cancelled the order:
-without advising me
-leaving me for a week to wait for nothing
-And most of all they wrote on the reason of the remboursment that I renounce to the order , which is false and I can prove it.
Avoid totally

Ask Sebastiaan about AbeBooks
tanyag25
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/12/16

I needed to buy a textbook. I used Ables for the first time. On their website they do not say they only sell used books. I purchase a specific book they gave me an estimated date of 5 days from my purchase. It didn't arrive until 14 days after my purchase. Then I opened it up it's the wrong book. Not only is it the wrong book but Pages torn from it the book isn't even sellable. Trying to get this resolved is impossible . the only way to contact them is through email. They keep emailing me telling me they have a 30 day guarantee of return books and I keep emailing them back that I am not paying for shipping when you ship the wrong book. Don't ever ever ever buy from these people!!!!

Ask Tanya about AbeBooks
js230
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/8/16

The most aggravating part is that I started emailing them a week ago. Only received canned non-helpful replies. Finally got the DHL tracking number, and when I called DHL, I was told they received an email saying they would get something to ship 3 WEEKS ago -- but never received an item. No customer service, no information, no book for me. Never again.

Ask J about AbeBooks
kimberlyd37
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/30/16

I ordered a book for class through Abe Books. The order actually came from Indoo (whoever they are in NJ). When my book arrived it was just a card with a code on it (I knew this when I ordered it) and I scratched off the stuff to get signed up into my class online. It told me the code was for another book. I turned the card over and sure enough IT WAS! Didn't even send me the right one! So I message them like it says to do. Indoo never replied to me for 3 days... HELLOOOO class is starting! So I went through the process through Abe Books to get a refund initiated. They got the order return process going and it said to ship the book back to their address and to enter the tracking number when I did. That means I'm paying for return shipping on a book Indoo messed up the order on right? So I package it up and get the postage to include a tracking number on it because that's what I was instructed to do! When I then emailed Indoo again and told them how much the shipping was, they said, "We only refund for the amount of Media Mail through the USPS!" Like WHAT?! Then why did Abe Books require me to pay for tracking too? So I message Abe Books and go back and forth with them about this only to find out, they aren't paying me for it and I'm out the cost to mail back the order that I didn't mess up on, and I paid them in good faith for, but they screwed up and sent the wrong order on! If they'd have just done it right the first time, I wouldn't have had to return the dang thing! Indoo is some crap company that I'm not worried about, but Abe Books I expected better from! I have been a customer of theirs for a long time and this was my first problem I had with them, and they keep emailing me these smug emails saying they aren't required to pay me back for my shipping costs! Thanks Abe! You just lost me as a customer and anyone else I can convince not to purchase from them!

Ask Kimberly about AbeBooks
jerrym92
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/25/16

This company appears to have a number of shell book stores it used for its used books. its also hard to find a review site! they have no google page which truly says volumes as well! We ordered one book through Booked Again books which just links back to Abe. The book was ordered and needed asap. Three days later, I get an email that the seller of the book now wands an additional $20.00 on top of the expedited shipping i paid when i ordered it or they were canceling the order! This is for a poor condition $21.20 book to start with. My daughter needs the book, but i'll be ordering it from someone else for sure. More money is what i'll happily pay rather than be extorted after the fact. This is absolutely one of the worst things i have every seen someone do in business.

Ask jerry about AbeBooks
mervt
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/24/16

I ordered a book and the order was accepted. A few days later they requested an additional $30.00 or my order would be canceled. I declined and my order was canceled. I have never had that happen before and was quite surprised. If I could I would give them a less than 1 star rating.

Ask Merv about AbeBooks
salm93
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/17/16

Evidently this publisher is a LLC partner with Amazon.com. I ordered a book online through Amazon. It arrived with zero publishing info --I found out it was published by Abe Books only by googling the ISBN number--. There is no forward --strange for a classic written in the 1800's. There is no information about the author or the translation/translator (from Italian to English). Further, the print is extremely small as to render the book unreadable.
There is, however, the 13 digit ISBN number printed on the back cover, 9781484891988. --the very last page states "Made in the USA San Bernadino, CA 10 July 2016" --the same date as my Amazon order.
I am disappointed with Amazon.com doing business with a partner such as this.
I have since ordered this very same book from reliable Penquin Classics.

Ask Sal about AbeBooks
mikem399
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/15/16

Lately off shore "international" or "print on demand" book copiers have been dumping books into the market place. These books have color copies of original covers ( in the ads) and under inspection I find the following: Weak non-stitched spines, poor paper quality (laser paper) Black and White reproductions (poor quality scans or photocopy) pictures that are difficult to see details, This make it impossible to read because your seeing three pages of text or pictures - or worse, no ability to put on a projector for educational purposes or loss of eye sight assistance. Trimming errors up to a 1/8 inch or more and duplication's or missing sections. ABE Books technical support said because of their volume they could not tell me if the book I was buying was the genuine or these sham books. If you don't have a policy - get one! I will not waste my time returning books after I have done your quality control.

Ask mike about AbeBooks
jenniferm241
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/11/16

I ordered a specific numbered book (new) for a class I was taking. It was $30-$60 cheaper than all other places I researched. Of course I was abit apprehensive after checking out the reviews, like on here. But I figured what did I have to lose.. I gave it a whirl. So glad I did! Of course this is only my experience, but as we all know, many times reviewers are often the disgruntled. . And the happy never say a word..so just abit of noise from a happy one. :)

Ask Jennifer about AbeBooks
evam50
6 reviews
0 helpful votes
6/28/16

Couldn't be happier with Abe Books! They've become my go-to online bookstore thanks to their awesome client service and super fast delivery.

I especially buy rare editions on their site and titles that I simply cannot find elsewhere. I've never had any problem with their authenticity: everything is real and in great condition.

Look no further if you're looking for a terrific online book store. These guys are fantastic!

Ask Eva about AbeBooks
marys369
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/25/16

Never received my $100 book. They changed the arrived by date after I contacted them the first time and told me I'd have to wait until that date to request a refund. Then when that date arrived they said I'd have to wait an ADDITIONAL 8 days, in case it was late. Well, 5-14 business days for shipping is ludicrous even for media mail. I ordered June 2, and won't even be eligible for a refund until July 7, if that extra 8 day wait is also 8 business days. Very disappointed. The shipper was INDOO. Do not use that shipper, and dont use ABE.

Ask Mary about AbeBooks
kookiek
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/19/16

I ordered my book on June 1st. The book was supposed to be here 5-14 business days. It's June 19 and my online course starts tomorrow and I have yet to receive the book. Never ordering from AbeBooks again!!!!

Ask Kookie about AbeBooks
ritub4
1 review
4 helpful votes
6/19/16

I was shipped a wrong book from an address in the US, then on asking for a refund, was asked to ship book to Thailand, with tracking, and that return shipping isn't refundable. Shipping to Thailand costs a lot!! Is it a method to prevent any returns? I wonder...
My order number was 102539*** for an Economics book.

Ask Ritu about AbeBooks
lynneh11
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/13/16

After reading about other people's bad experiences I was a little apprehensive about buying from Abe Books. I decided to take a chance anyway because the book I wanted to buy was so hard to find and it would have been much more expensive had I been able to find it elsewhere. My book arrived sooner than expected and it was just as described and very well packed. I'm only sorry I couldn't leave positive feedback for the seller.

Lynne Hearn

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Lynne about AbeBooks
saran43
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/24/16

Just don't use them. Their supplier gave me a delivery date of 2-4 working days. it's now over a week and nothing....expect cut and paste apologies and eventually a refund. If I had wanted the money, I would haven't ordered the book in the first place.
Complete waste of time

Ask Sara about AbeBooks
maribelz1
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
5/22/16

Love the customer service here and all information they gave me about the book, including delivery date was correct !

Ask Maribel about AbeBooks
pacorink
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/17/16

Ordered two books on April 13 and today May 17 there is no sign of my books. Estimated arrival date was May 11 but it did not arrive and nobody contact me for the delay. I ordered these books for my course which started in the beginning of the May. Here I am third week of my course without required books because I thought they will deliver them within 15 to 21 business days as they are promoting. If you are not living in US or Canada don't bother to order any book from them.

Ask Pacorin about AbeBooks
robertd205
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/10/16

customer service is great on text, but no delivery, would be scared or lets put it this way i would never order from this company again, seems like a scam
robert dirnfeld
roby855@yahoo.com

Ask robert about AbeBooks
jessicaj30
2 reviews
17 helpful votes
5/7/16

What used to be a decent company to go through has become so sketchy I've stopped spending money through their site. I find the sellers on any other marketplace that will protect my purchase. In the last several months, I've placed several orders. The ones I've had issues with started to bring to light some unsavory new policies. In one instance, I received a book with water damage. Pictures were sent to the seller with a request for a return shipping label. The seller did not respond. I emailed Abebooks and they said they would contact the seller and, in the meantime, they initiated a return for me. What you have to read the fine print for is that they will not guarantee you reimbursement of the return shipping costs. Bottom line is I will be out money for a book that was not in the advertised condition. Hm. That's not quite right. They used to reimburse return shipping. Not anymore. In another instance, I was shipped three copies of an illegally produced book direct from India. I pointed this out to Abebooks, but they responded that they have to have pictures of the books. The books LOOK identical to the original with the exception that 40 or so pages were UPSIDE DOWN. I emailed them back and they said they couldn't see how this made the book a fraudulent copy and refused a return. Hm. Yeah. Now I won't work with them anymore, which will cost them about $150,000 in sales a year. Whoops.

Ask Jessica about AbeBooks
garyh122
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/4/16

I ordered a book recently, it was received promptly and exactly as described. Wonderful highly recommend.

Ask gary about AbeBooks

19 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the AbeBooks staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
1 day ago
Add your answer
I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines
3 weeks ago
Answer
tanyag25
A: No do not trust this site. They send the wrong books pages missing and it takes 3 to 5 weeks to finally get you
2 weeks ago
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines
See 17 more questions
See more Q&A
LoadingLoading...
Questions? Get answers from the AbeBooks staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
AbeBooks?
Post Review