Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    Wikipedia

Corporate Values

Overview

Wikipedia has a consumer rating of 4.12 stars from 129 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally satisfied with their purchases. Wikipedia also ranks 2nd among Open Source sites.

  • Service
    9
  • Value
    12
  • Shipping
    3
  • Returns
    3
  • Quality
    12
View ratings trends

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • Wikipedia has brought information just one click away.
  • Even though people add or edit the info, most of the time it is accurate.

Critical highlights

No critical highlights yet

How would you rate Wikipedia?
Top Positive Review

“Wikipedia,...Best Encyclopedia”

ClarkKent K.
12/21/17

Wikipedia is the greatest and most useful encyclopedia that ever existed. It is damn near impossible to go an entire day without consulting Wikipedia. It has rich content that provides very comprehensive and informative details on nearly every subject, topic, individual, or event under the sun.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Corrupt.”

paul c.
8/27/18

I learned the hard way never to use wikipedia as a citation during online scientific debate, as on two occasions the person I was debating simply went and edited the page I cited to say something different. The pages were on Classical Mechanics and Exothermic Reactions and the vandalism to the latter has never been undone, making the page factually inaccurate to this day. I suppose the place is fine for stuff like the history of Harry Potter, but for science? No - it is completely unreliable and not to be trusted.

See critical reviews

Reviews (129)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

information (64) people (25) articles (20) heart heart heart (3) time (33)
kazukih
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
May 24th, 2019
Wikipedia is unique helpful website. The editing feature is great since many people have knowledge they can add in real time to correct, And For only $5, people can make a contribution to keep Wikipedia online. Even if we only contribute every few years, we show our respect for knowledge and for everyone else using the Internet, and Yeah some of the information is not entirely 100% accurate, just as many encyclopedias contain errors or become obsolete. Wikipedia was a great idea, and has been useful to millions.
xavierb39
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
December 27th, 2018
Very reliable website that is easy to edit (for better or for worse). Rarely fictitious and often edited by people who know what they are doing.
petert237
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
October 31st, 2018
I like wikipedia because you find information about pretty much anything. If you are a curious person and bored you can just go to wikipedia, go to a random article and learn something new. It might not be very practical, but it might help you think of something more interesting to do. Obviously its not a place to do scientific research, but the sources on articles can often times be quite valuable and help you find a more detailed source of information. Wikipedia is a great place to read biographies about real people. It can also be used as an unbiased news site.
deedeek4
1 review
3 helpful votes
July 12th, 2018
Wikipedia is contending for the number one source of online information.Given that it can practically be edited by anyone, caution should be exercised when use is official or formal in purpose.
ryann47
1 review
1 helpful vote
February 15th, 2017
Wikipedia is generally a reliable source for information, especially recent news and more obscure topics. Granted, some articles are tenuous and need more verification, and Wikipedia has a vandalism and slight problem, but in my experience the Wikipedia interfaces make it easy for anyone to just correct any wrongs as long as the information is correctly referenced. I would give it a B plus because, although it's convenient, it's not always correct, so double check every Wikipedia article if you think something is wrong.
ericas30
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
August 20th, 2016
I try not to use it as a source for research, but pretty good website if you want to find some interesting facts.
rhysj3
3 reviews
13 helpful votes
July 6th, 2015
Wikipedia provides good info and this site also provides editing services if there is any mistake you find in the data.
evanr8
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
June 27th, 2015
Many times i took data from wikipedia. Most of the time i got good marks in my assignments and research papers. thank you wikipedia.

Tip for consumers: Use this for quality data

zakg5
2 reviews
14 helpful votes
July 1st, 2015
wikipedia almost has correct data. i collect data from here and others many people get data and information.
rickj19
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
September 17th, 2014
Wiki is amazing. But you have to be attentive, because some articles might be incorrect. So I recommend to recheck the information before taking it from wikipedia. Also it is sad that such a great service searches for donations all the time. I truly hope they will manage find enough resources for further growth. Well done, keep going!
ashleyf15
9 reviews
11 helpful votes
January 7th, 2014
Short and sweet; it's open to the world for edits but the staff is generally excellent at fixing/correcting/banning blatant mistakes and/or opinions regarding the subject matter. Just the facts.

That being said, it should not be considered the end all be all. Dare to use reputable news sites and/or *gasp* an actual book to conduct serious research.
amyl26
25 reviews
108 helpful votes
December 7th, 2013
Great site I hope it stays up for many years to come. It needs more supporters though helping with donations.
mm70
10 reviews
17 helpful votes
August 8th, 2013
Awesome site. But ..... the editors are sometimes a bit like "Hitlers" to new comers. I think it would be better if the editors were supervised and treated new users with respect for the contributions they make to help improve the site.
jolynl
3 reviews
27 helpful votes
April 30th, 2013
Wikipedia is a good, somewhat useful site. The problem is users can go in and change things so sometimes the information is not 100 percent accurate. It isn't a bad place to start if you want some simple facts about a famous person, tv show, movie, etc. but if you need to do more indepth research, there are better places to go.
draken
4 reviews
5 helpful votes
April 16th, 2013
Great for looking up info quickly. Simple to use, good design, Plenty of links so you don't need to constantly look up every big word you see.
juliannaw1
7 reviews
14 helpful votes
September 7th, 2012
As long as you use wikipedia as *one* of the sources of your information, it's a wonderful aggregation of information about topics. Certainly anyone can change it, but that's the beauty of it - if pages are changed incorrectly, others typically go in and correct the error (whether intentional or not). Crowd sourcing at its best.
kylew6
8 reviews
9 helpful votes
August 2nd, 2012
Wikipedia. It's a site where a person can learn about many topics. The main concern is that since anyone can edit or post pages on Wikipedia, the site can contain inaccurate information (which is why teachers strongly discourage using Wikipedia as a reference on essays and research papers).
elliec1
9 reviews
41 helpful votes
April 9th, 2012
Wikipedia is a nice website with all the information and knowledge about different stuff. I browse it mostly for geographical contents like countries, places, and cultures.
clived
15 reviews
14 helpful votes
January 11th, 2012
lisaf12
5 reviews
10 helpful votes
December 21st, 2011
Who doesn't love Wikipedia! Okay some of the info can be outdated or even incorrect, but considering the cost (FREE) you can get info on just about anything or anyone.
mikeb47
3 reviews
6 helpful votes
September 19th, 2011
It revolutionized the information industry. Basic information about just about anything can be accessed quickly. It also gives people without the proper credentials, an opportunity to prove themselves (write, author articles, create logos, familiarized with copyright rules).
manekin
5 reviews
14 helpful votes
August 3rd, 2011
I had to get one star off, as the professors on my college didn't approve some of my papers where I cited Wiki as a secondary source.
Otherwise, ver, VERY informative site!
adityap
3 reviews
20 helpful votes
January 25th, 2011
Has some of the best and most widely used reference on the Web, but watch out for vandalism - when some idiot tries to put spam in a page. The vandalism is fixed quickly though. Not a 4-star site because of Vandalism. Still one of the best sites of the World Wide Web.

P.S. Remember to check out it's sister projects too! They are quite interesting.
kevinb7
36 reviews
186 helpful votes
December 8th, 2010
who doesn't ref wiki, i use it a lot like a lot a lot LOL it's content and ability to be accurate has of lately come under question. thats not good. we need wiki to be top notch. long live wiki.
rosek
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
April 19th, 2010
This is good for getting information on almost anything. It is good to also get the year a specific song came out. It doesn't always have the song you are looking for and sometimes you have several steps to getting that information and some reading to get to it. It is a reliable website that you don't have to worry about getting a virus / worm / trojan like if you make the mistake of clicking on songfacts, which puts an extremely high risk infection on your computer system!

Q&A (1)

Answer:

That's how they are. They call everything they don't like "vandalism." They called it vandalism when I wrote on my own user page about how I disagreed with decisions that were made. I guess this is an old post, but it still matters, and they haven't changed at Wikipedia in any way that I'm aware of.

By Ron S.
See more answers (2)

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Wikipedia staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Wikipedia is a free online encyclopedia, created and edited by volunteers around the world and hosted by the Wikimedia Foundation.

Company Representative

jonatans1
Jonatan S.
Other

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Wikipedia?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about Wikipedia?