Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Wikipedia

Wikipedia reviews

28 reviews
149 New Montgomery Street, Floor 6
San Francisco, CA 94105, US
Tel: 3286542401
privacy@wikimedia.org

28 reviews with 4 stars

kazukih
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
5/24/19

Wikipedia is unique helpful website. The editing feature is great since many people have knowledge they can add in real time to correct, And For only $5, people can make a contribution to keep Wikipedia online. Even if we only contribute every few years, we show our respect for knowledge and for everyone else using the Internet, and Yeah some of the information is not entirely 100% accurate, just as many encyclopedias contain errors or become obsolete. Wikipedia was a great idea, and has been useful to millions.

xavierb39
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
12/27/18

Very reliable website that is easy to edit (for better or for worse). Rarely fictitious and often edited by people who know what they are doing.

petert237
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
10/31/18

I like wikipedia because you find information about pretty much anything. If you are a curious person and bored you can just go to wikipedia, go to a random article and learn something new. It might not be very practical, but it might help you think of something more interesting to do. Obviously its not a place to do scientific research, but the sources on articles can often times be quite valuable and help you find a more detailed source of information. Wikipedia is a great place to read biographies about real people. It can also be used as an unbiased news site.

deedeek4
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/12/18

Wikipedia is contending for the number one source of online information.Given that it can practically be edited by anyone, caution should be exercised when use is official or formal in purpose.

hassellk
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
3/20/18
• Updated review

Hi, I've previously written a less then positive review of Wikipedia, but have come to be much more fond of it over the past couple of months. I still think that when it comes to participating in Wikipedia from the side of editing pages and participating in there community they can be often unfriendly (not always of course). But I have realized that Wikipedia is quite impressive. I think they have done a good job with what resources they have and that opinion of mine goes especially for the top administration. Wikipedia does provide in fact very accurate information for most of there articles. They don't hire famous professionals in there fields like other encyclopedias, which I would say are a tad more accurate, but Wikipedia provides tremendously more information about any given topic then the usual encyclopedia. They've put trust in people and barred people from doing 'whatever thing' sparingly, and they have managed to allow people to produce a high quality COMPREHENSIVE, (which is unusual) encyclopedia. I visit it often for researching small and large things often. Is it a perfect fact book? No, most of there pages contain at least a few errors within them, and my experience has been that it is hard to edit them quickly, but they are usually tiny issues. They have provided a, for the majority, highly accurate and largely comprehensive encyclopedia that helps with my research especially often. Everything for the most part, is, properly written. Maybe people are relying on it much more often then they should, but it is very helpful when properly used, thanks for this resource, Wikipedia!

“A unreliable website”
3/20/18
• Previous review

Wikipedia is a website I go to many times, and is a good starting place to learn about a particular subject. But although, it is an untrustworthy site that is not often accurate and, sometimes frankly biased. You have to take everything you read there with a grain of salt (especially now). Anyone can write for them which isnt bad, but they advertise themselves like there the almighty settler of information, when in fact they shouldnt be taken (the information there) alone with nothing to back it up! Most pages on Wikipedia are false, it is really a mess. Also, it has a one star for user friendliness. The only reason Im tarring it 3 stars is because of its much info.

ryann47
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/15/17

Wikipedia is generally a reliable source for information, especially recent news and more obscure topics. Granted, some articles are tenuous and need more verification, and Wikipedia has a vandalism and slight problem, but in my experience the Wikipedia interfaces make it easy for anyone to just correct any wrongs as long as the information is correctly referenced. I would give it a B plus because, although it's convenient, it's not always correct, so double check every Wikipedia article if you think something is wrong.

Service
Value
Quality
ericas30
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
8/20/16

I try not to use it as a source for research, but pretty good website if you want to find some interesting facts.

rhysj3
3 reviews
13 helpful votes
7/6/15

Wikipedia provides good info and this site also provides editing services if there is any mistake you find in the data.

zakg5
2 reviews
14 helpful votes
7/1/15

wikipedia almost has correct data. i collect data from here and others many people get data and information.

evanr8
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
6/27/15

Many times i took data from wikipedia. Most of the time i got good marks in my assignments and research papers. thank you wikipedia.

Tip for consumers: Use this for quality data

Service
Value
Quality
justinh55
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/3/14

While controversial I feel that Wikipedia is an interesting and important tool to internet users. It provides the opportunity for people to collaborate with complete strangers to further the availability of knowledge to people. The fact that it is easy to use makes it a common site for students especially and though most instructors would discourage its use, if not the use of the actual page one can use the source lists that are available on the page to find published sources that are credible in most instances. The best way to change the perception of this tool would be to educate its users on the better ways to use the tool to their ends, especially at a student level while continuing to allow the freedom it allows for most to edit and help to endow others with knowledge.

rickj19
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
9/17/14

Wiki is amazing. But you have to be attentive, because some articles might be incorrect. So I recommend to recheck the information before taking it from wikipedia. Also it is sad that such a great service searches for donations all the time. I truly hope they will manage find enough resources for further growth. Well done, keep going!

Value
Quality
ashleyf15
9 reviews
11 helpful votes
1/7/14

Short and sweet; it's open to the world for edits but the staff is generally excellent at fixing/correcting/banning blatant mistakes and/or opinions regarding the subject matter. Just the facts.

That being said, it should not be considered the end all be all. Dare to use reputable news sites and/or *gasp* an actual book to conduct serious research.

amyl26
25 reviews
106 helpful votes
12/7/13

Great site I hope it stays up for many years to come. It needs more supporters though helping with donations.

mm70
10 reviews
17 helpful votes
8/8/13

Awesome site. But ..... the editors are sometimes a bit like "Hitlers" to new comers. I think it would be better if the editors were supervised and treated new users with respect for the contributions they make to help improve the site.

jolynl
3 reviews
27 helpful votes
4/30/13

Wikipedia is a good, somewhat useful site. The problem is users can go in and change things so sometimes the information is not 100 percent accurate. It isn't a bad place to start if you want some simple facts about a famous person, tv show, movie, etc. but if you need to do more indepth research, there are better places to go.

draken
4 reviews
5 helpful votes
4/16/13

Great for looking up info quickly. Simple to use, good design, Plenty of links so you don't need to constantly look up every big word you see.

pamelad7
3 reviews
10 helpful votes
1/27/13

Whenever I want quick reference on something, for instance, when I'm watching television, Wikipedia is great. It covers so many unexpected subjects. In actual fact, it is somewhat moderated, and not just anybody can edit some subjects. That aside, as a retired librarian, what I really like about the Wikipedia articles are the references to other resources given at the end of the articles. These are the most important for verifying the information in the Wikipedia article. The references may make Wikipedia more valuable for a research project than the actual Wikipedia articles. Wikipedia may be best used as a spring board to finding good resources. The internal links in the articles are useful, but you must remember, they are internal and can be just as erroneous.

juliannaw1
7 reviews
14 helpful votes
9/7/12

As long as you use wikipedia as *one* of the sources of your information, it's a wonderful aggregation of information about topics. Certainly anyone can change it, but that's the beauty of it - if pages are changed incorrectly, others typically go in and correct the error (whether intentional or not). Crowd sourcing at its best.

kylew6
8 reviews
9 helpful votes
8/2/12

Wikipedia. It's a site where a person can learn about many topics. The main concern is that since anyone can edit or post pages on Wikipedia, the site can contain inaccurate information (which is why teachers strongly discourage using Wikipedia as a reference on essays and research papers).

elliec1
9 reviews
41 helpful votes
4/9/12

Wikipedia is a nice website with all the information and knowledge about different stuff. I browse it mostly for geographical contents like countries, places, and cultures.

clived
15 reviews
14 helpful votes
1/11/12
lisaf12
5 reviews
10 helpful votes
12/21/11

Who doesn't love Wikipedia! Okay some of the info can be outdated or even incorrect, but considering the cost (FREE) you can get info on just about anything or anyone.

mikeb47
3 reviews
6 helpful votes
9/19/11

It revolutionized the information industry. Basic information about just about anything can be accessed quickly. It also gives people without the proper credentials, an opportunity to prove themselves (write, author articles, create logos, familiarized with copyright rules).

manekin
5 reviews
14 helpful votes
8/3/11

I had to get one star off, as the professors on my college didn't approve some of my papers where I cited Wiki as a secondary source.
Otherwise, ver, VERY informative site!

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Maybe you can begin by trying to write proper English.

By jabba t.
Questions? Get answers from the Wikipedia staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

2 Photos for Wikipedia

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Wikipedia?
Post Review