Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Wikipedia

Wikipedia reviews

127 reviews
149 New Montgomery Street, Floor 6
San Francisco, CA 94105, US
Tel: 3286542401
privacy@wikimedia.org

127 Reviews From Our Community

Service
9
Value
12
Shipping
3
Returns
3
Quality
12

All Reviews

andrewa41
3 reviews
7 helpful votes
4/17/15

Always enjoyed the simplicity, and it's an online encyclopedia so I don't need to buy a whole set of books. It's possibly one of the most amazing sites on the Internet.

jacks420
15 reviews
28 helpful votes
2/3/15

I wouldn't have graduated without Wikipedia, and contrary to popular belief, the information on there is pretty legit

fernandom18
7 reviews
8 helpful votes
11/5/14

Wikipedia is great as it has info on a lot of things, especially for school reports/essays/ETC. I wish schools/colleges could let us use Wikipedia for our reports as it easily helps out a lot and has a lot of their info backed up with sources to weed out fakers or trolls with false information.

patrickj21
7 reviews
17 helpful votes
11/2/14

This is one of the most informative and best of its kind of sites. Incredible help for people who have access to the Internet. Here you will find information about absolutely everything, for those who like to grow and improve their knowledge!

justinh55
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/3/14

While controversial I feel that Wikipedia is an interesting and important tool to internet users. It provides the opportunity for people to collaborate with complete strangers to further the availability of knowledge to people. The fact that it is easy to use makes it a common site for students especially and though most instructors would discourage its use, if not the use of the actual page one can use the source lists that are available on the page to find published sources that are credible in most instances. The best way to change the perception of this tool would be to educate its users on the better ways to use the tool to their ends, especially at a student level while continuing to allow the freedom it allows for most to edit and help to endow others with knowledge.

rickj19
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
9/17/14

Wiki is amazing. But you have to be attentive, because some articles might be incorrect. So I recommend to recheck the information before taking it from wikipedia. Also it is sad that such a great service searches for donations all the time. I truly hope they will manage find enough resources for further growth. Well done, keep going!

Value
Quality
paulc77
Paul C.
80 reviews
92 helpful votes
8/16/14

Would be better if only veteran members can edit pages. I hate the fact that anyone can edit them. There are some pages that upset me and that's what takes three stars off of this site. Some pages are editable and I even want to edit the Sonic the Hedgehog 2006 video game page, but it's semi-protected. That's about it.

Tip for consumers: Don't create an account. You won't be able to edit any page anyway.

Value
Quality
nancyc39
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/11/14

i think that light in the box is great. I ordered my wedding dresses there and it wasperfect.

alfonsos16
11 reviews
22 helpful votes
6/3/14

I use it daily
The best website, second to none!

beng34
15 reviews
27 helpful votes
5/24/14

A great way to explore movies,games,companies,people,music and health.

mackd14
4 reviews
13 helpful votes
4/5/14
oliviam10
7 reviews
12 helpful votes
3/31/14
pharh
7 reviews
21 helpful votes
2/19/14

wikipedia.org is a great free service to find out a lot of good detailed information about pretty much any subject you want, thank you wikipedia!

ashleyf15
9 reviews
11 helpful votes
1/7/14

Short and sweet; it's open to the world for edits but the staff is generally excellent at fixing/correcting/banning blatant mistakes and/or opinions regarding the subject matter. Just the facts.

That being said, it should not be considered the end all be all. Dare to use reputable news sites and/or *gasp* an actual book to conduct serious research.

amyl26
25 reviews
106 helpful votes
12/7/13

Great site I hope it stays up for many years to come. It needs more supporters though helping with donations.

ericl38
32 reviews
40 helpful votes
11/30/13

Love it! Always enjoyed the simplicity, and it's an online encyclopedia so I don't need to buy a whole set of books. It's possibly one of the most amazing sites on the Internet.

gillh2
5 reviews
6 helpful votes
11/5/13

A top-notch online encyclopedia for readers. The creator is a genius, to come with such a great idea.

sharonk15
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
11/1/13

Can always find useful information on any topics, phrases or persons. When I am not sure about certain fixed phrases or special events of another culture, I use wiki. It is one of the most useful platforms for people to get to know different things.

mm70
10 reviews
17 helpful votes
8/8/13

Awesome site. But ..... the editors are sometimes a bit like "Hitlers" to new comers. I think it would be better if the editors were supervised and treated new users with respect for the contributions they make to help improve the site.

adamp21
9 reviews
47 helpful votes
7/30/13

Wikipedia is great. Only one problem. They keep asking for donations and from what I read, they make TOO MUCH money for being a non profit company.

Money is money though and I'm not surprised but the service they offer to the world has helped millions so I'm not going to rate them poorly even though they are greedy.

naomit
5 reviews
8 helpful votes
7/25/13

I seriously don't know what a geek like me would do without wikipedia.org. My first go-to website for any question or mystery. For real.

ryanf11
3 reviews
13 helpful votes
7/24/13

It is user-created and un-scholarly, any article on anything controversial is typically either biased or incomprehensible because sentences contradict each other, or are otherwise so watered down that it is not worth the effort. "Just checking for a simple facts" is not an excuse to use Wikipedia, there is no way to confirm with all the edits whether the content is genuine or has been skewered over time by biased users.

Wikipedia is a catastrophe for public knowledge precisely because it allows anyone to pretend to be an expert on a topic, when they likely are not and the person is unknown and their motives are not known. Wikipedia sounds great for an idea, but expertise is required for controversial topics.

All you have to do now is go to Google Scholar to find scholarly work, the popularity of Wikipedia these days can only be ascribed to the dominance of Wikipedia on the internet as a first search result and laziness or lack of awareness by people to find professional, scholarly books that are accessible via sites like Google Scholar.

jolynl
3 reviews
27 helpful votes
4/30/13

Wikipedia is a good, somewhat useful site. The problem is users can go in and change things so sometimes the information is not 100 percent accurate. It isn't a bad place to start if you want some simple facts about a famous person, tv show, movie, etc. but if you need to do more indepth research, there are better places to go.

annc18
11 reviews
19 helpful votes
4/25/13

The editors on this site are sometimes really uptight and rude. The information is top-notch, however. I visit this website more than any other.

draken
4 reviews
5 helpful votes
4/16/13

Great for looking up info quickly. Simple to use, good design, Plenty of links so you don't need to constantly look up every big word you see.

1 rating was submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Maybe you can begin by trying to write proper English.

By jabba t.
Questions? Get answers from the Wikipedia staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

2 Photos for Wikipedia

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Wikipedia?
Post Review