Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of ViewBug

ViewBug reviews

168 reviews
4502 CASS ST
SAN DIEGO, CA 92109-2802, United States
members@viewbug.com

168 Reviews From Our Community

Service
16
Value
16
Shipping
5
Returns
2
Quality
16

All Reviews

carlb210
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/11/19

Nothing. Not a single win, not a single mention, nothing. I've even suggested regional competitions, so that you wouldn't necessarily always feel that it you against the entire world, but the competitions the way they are now? C'mon. I'm not going to base my exposure on how much money I spend on the site. It's a waste of time. and o yes, of money.

philh118
1 review
7 helpful votes
1/11/19

Watch your credit card charges. I upgraded my ViewBug subscription in late November to "Pro+" for $79. On January 1 an unauthorized charge from ViewBug for $79 showed up on another card that I had used once a year or two ago.

I contacted their Customer Support. They claimed they did not make the charge and consequently would NOT reverse the charges. I had to file a dispute with my CC company.

I have since deleted ALL my pictures, website and profile on ViewBug. I do no tolerate unethical companies and ViewBug is one!!

paule228
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/28/18

I'm on viewbug and upgraded to start selling I was doing monthly repayments when I got 3 messages to say they where preparing to upgrade my account in other words they where going to take the money for the year without my permission so l cancel

deividass
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/20/18

I'm a photographer and thats are my full time job. I have my audiance here in country. But here at ViewBug is nothing happening simmular about it in this scammy, full of promotion ads $#*!. I quit.

monicam198
1 review
5 helpful votes
9/14/18

I have been using the website for 3 years, it's funny but of really no much use to improve with photography. I decided to not renew the premium membership and unticked automatic renewal box on my account. I didn't realize it had to be deactivated also from Paypal (why?) so today I got an unwanted payment. I'm trying since hours to talk about the issue to get my money (which I badly need!) back, I have a Case open but have no idea if and when someone will answer. It's ridiculous they have nothing like a real time chat for urgent matters at least.

jeanfrancoiss
1 review
4 helpful votes
8/14/18

I ask because I was probably stupid enough to "upgrade" to a Pro membership, and those guys refuse to send me an invoice. Every normal business should be able to send invoices but they wont...

lorenzoc41
1 review
7 helpful votes
7/20/18

I upgraded to PRO and registered my own domain with the included handy website option, while I see the payments and number of invoices in my profile settings (but no chance to download invoices from the website), assistance said they do not release invoices and say that they sent me billing e-mails which I never got. As a pro I need some receipt I can use for my accountancy and I won't renew PRO if they don't sort this out!

mickw17
3 reviews
8 helpful votes
7/18/18

Not the best of the photo competition sites, but not the worst either. Nice that it has competitions with prizes, but far too many clickbait emails and persistent notifications trying to get you to upgrade ($) to see your stats, enter off-limits competitions and gain other pointless social media-type benefits (ie, ones where you do the work and pay for the privilege). It has a ridiculous 'curator' system that encourages you to send pre-formed messages to complete strangers in order to get them to be more active. The UI is a bit bonkers, and makes it hard or impossible to see precisely how well you are doing or have done in challenges, how many votes you got, etc. Makes one wonder if there is deliberate obfuscation going on for some hidden purpose. Maybe the levels of user activity aren't as great as they like to imply.

Having been on this and other photo contest sites for several years, I think the biggest problem is that its peer image voting system (showing four photos of different sizes on a screen you have to scroll FCOL) simply doesn't work. Far too often the peer voted 'winner' in a challenge just isn't that good. This isn't sour grapes - it is an objective opinion that the site throws up poor images as winners far more often than other sites. This, again, suggests that the volume of voting isn't high enough for the magic 'algorithm' to work.

laurar256
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/15/18

This site is so easy to use.iam just a beginner and this site is the easiest to use and very fun and it's a great community to join as a photographer at ant level

jamesg625
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
6/28/18

I don't post to any of the sites for photographers to win anything I post for fun because I know no matter how good my photos are I will not sell any of them on Viewbug nor will I win anything for my work.

Response from ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Hi James,

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We have members from varying photography backgrounds and ranging from hobbyists to professionals, all are welcome! We have many photo contests running every day. Within many of our contests we have a separate winning category for Amateurs. Members who enter those contests and have their Account Settings >> Account >> Customize set to Amateur level, are eligible to win in the Amateur category.

On occasion we also run an entire contest specifically for skill level, such as our recent (already closed) The Battle of Professionals, Battle of Advanced, and Battle of Amateurs contest series.

We take great care in offering a variety of photo contests, prizes, and use a proprietary voting system to help maintain the integrity of our contests. If you ever have any concerns or questions, please feel free to reach out to our Member Support Team at bit.ly/EmailVB .

Thank you again for the time you've shared within the community, we definitely appreciate it.

Wishing you all the best,

The ViewBug Team
andrep50
1 review
17 helpful votes
6/1/18

After being a Premium Member for a few years, I think i can share a little bit of my experience with this site.

Things i like about ViewBug:

Plenty of good photographers and good photographs, makes it really hard to even think about winning a contest, so I've given up on that haha. I had a photo chosen as a finalist twice, that made me happy!

the design of the site is al-right, it displays the photos in a good way and disables right clicking, which is good to discourage thieves!

I've got quite a few awards from the ViewBug team, which i think is really awesome. One of my photos was featured as the cover of the site for a day. I'm not sure if they still do this, but i thought it was really nice and definitely encouraged me to keep shooting, back in 2013 :) So thanks for that ViewBug!

The whole contest thing, what ViewBug is really about, is amazing and it makes Viewbug a very unique site! It's really easy to join contests, there's no confusing stuff or anything involved, and you maintain the rights to your work. This is 100% why i joined ViewBug in the first place, to enter contests!

It's hard to know how well your photo placed, as many people have said. Yeah that's true, but it all comes down to a Jury so if they think your photo is good enough to be the winner, it will be. So i don't really care much about how well my photos did, as long as i have a chance to win.

---------

Things that i do NOT like about Viewbug:

You can report a picture a thousand times for being inappropriate, nothing happens.
you can report it for being stolen, nothing happens.
I've seen many profiles with stolen photos, photos that have almost won contests, I've reported them and nothing happened. this is definitely the thing that worries me the most. One time i even contacted the real photographer to let him know that his photo was stolen, he said he contacted ViewBug about it, but it's still online and gathering likes and peer awards.

Memberships are too expensive, especially if having a Premium, Pro or Lite membership makes no difference to you. If you are sure you have what it takes to win a contest, then pay for the PRO membership and enter as many contests as you can.

View count is depressing. If you post a photo and don't add it to any contest or photo challenge, that photo will get maybe 2 or 3 views in a month.

Right now i have 4745 followers. Posted a photo a few weeks ago, and it has 34 views. and yeah it's a really good photo. This isn't the site to get views, so i wouldn't bother joining if that's all you're interested in. Join 500px or Instagram for that.

Bot members. Yes there are plenty of bot members! These are members who award everything and like everything! It's super annoying, I've got a few of them following me and whatever it is i post, they like and award. even if the photo is completely white or black, they will like and award. They are real accounts with real photos, but they probably use bots or whatever, to like and award everything they see automatically. So they end up with thousands of followers, even if their photos are bad.

Stuff i do not care about:

Points and being a curator ( you can be a curator in 1 day if you really apply yourself by liking and awarding everything you see ). By being a Curator, you welcome other people to the site, comment on their photos, like and award, ask them to join contests and photo challenges and whatnot. I've never done that. Sorry! :)

I'd give 3.5 / 5 stars.

Conclusion on a very long post:

If you're interested in joining photo contests and growing as a photographer, JOIN!
If you're interested in views, comments, awards, whatever, but don't really want to push yourself to have a chance at winning contests, then don't bother joining.

Response from ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Hi Andre,

Thanks for your thorough and honest post about your experience with ViewBug. We truly appreciate your feedback.

One quick note about photo views, on our site the 'Photo Views' count displays the number of time the individual photo page has been clicked on and viewed. Photos have many opportunities to be viewed on our main photo's page, in the recommended photos area, new uploads, photo contests, photo challenges, etc. These are impressions that a photo is still receiving, they are not counted as individual page view counts unless a viewer clicks to the specific photo's page.

Additionally, with regard to reporting photos our team takes this process very seriously. Members who have reached moderator access can use the Report Image link on individual photo pages and all members are able to submit reports/concerns via email as well. Copyright and violations of our site's terms are of great importance to us, as we work to preserve the integrity and community values of ViewBug.com.

While we do permit artistic nudity, those images should always be marked with the Adult Content filter so that members who do not want to view that type of photography can filter them out. That said, we do not permit pornography or x-rated material. Members can use the Adult Content Filter, which allows members to filter out photos that are marked with the Adult Content filter.

Again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you'd like, please do reach out to our member support team at bit.ly/EmailVB , with any questions or concerns and they'll be glad to assist.

Thank you!

The ViewBug Team
karenap
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
5/22/18

I want to know a few things about this site. I joined anf got selected ro join adobe stock photos.

I can't find ANY legal stuff as to what my percent of sales would be for my work.

This bothers me.

I checked adobe's stock website and it's 33% of the sale that I make that way.

If i go through viewbug I simply can't find any info on what I'll make for my work. Of course i can't reach a human to answer my questions.

Another thing, the adobe istock link Viewbug sent me had the words "viewbug sponsored".

What does that mean? It makes this offer sound like I'm being suckered into a vanity publishing thing. Did viewbug pay to send users this link?

I would appreciate an answer to my questions.

Thank you.

Response from ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Hello Karena,

Thanks for your post! This is definitely something our Member Support Team can assist with. Please do reach out to them ASAP at bit.ly/EmailVB and they'll most certainly be able to help get this sorted. :)

Thank you for your participation and support!

The ViewBug Team
thelmaw11
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/24/18
• Updated review

Your reply is appreciated, however; the email address for Viewbug is NOT complete.
(bit.ly/EmailVB) gets you nowhere!

Response from ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Hello Thelma,

We apologize for any confusion. Please copy & paste the link in to your browser, it takes you directly to the support page where you can submit your email.

Simply copy the following and paste it in to your browser's address bar: bit.ly/EmailVB

Great day!
“Logo”
4/8/18
• Previous review

Purchased a new logo and was to be notified when it became available for download. Perhaps it was sent and I mistakenly deleted. Wonder how the logo could be obtained. Have an Invoice ID. Please let me know to whom this can be provided.
Thank you in advance for your help.

Response from ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Hello Thelma,

Thanks for your post! This is definitely something our Member Support Team can assist with. Please do reach out to them ASAP at bit.ly/EmailVB and they'll most certainly be able to help get this sorted. :)

Thank you for your participation and support!

The ViewBug Team
thomash209
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/23/18

The main reason it is impossible to get an answer, I had a problem with two of my contests, I searched for answers and found none. I sent in requests for help, all I got was the automated answers which didn't help my situation. Also if I pay for something I would like to be able to download my photos if I should loose them. I can find no way to download them and find no answer on the automated answers. I am sure this question has been asked. I have enjoyed my time there but it seems there are much fewer photos being uploaded, most contests are the same pictures. Also there needs to be a way of deleting photos that I want to remove as having over 1,000 photos is hard to find something. So, you have to go to edit and delete and then start over again, very slow especially if you internet isn't working well.

Response from ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Hi Thomas,

Thank you for your feedback!

Our Member Support Team is available 7 days per week and all inquiries are responded to within 24 hours. Our system tracks all incoming member emails and an automatic email reply is sent to confirm that our system has received the email inquiry. A live agent then replies within 24 hours (usually less)!

Cloud-based storage and/or downloading is not a feature that is currently available, though it is a feature our tech team is exploring.

If we can be of any further assistance, please do reach out to our Member Support Team at bit.ly/EmailVB

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and for your participation within the community.

The ViewBug Team
trer11
1 review
7 helpful votes
4/12/18

A friend signed me up for Viewbug and all I get is spam...all BS like 'you've been chosen!' and 'your views are going up!'....when I've got nothing on the website.
I've unsubscribed and STILL get email spam from them. Very unprofessional.

Response from ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Hello Tre,

Thanks for the post! We're very sorry to hear you're receiving unwanted emails. We definitely want to assist you with this. Please contact our Member Support Team at bit.ly/EmailVB and be sure to include the email address that is attached to your ViewBug account. Our team can help you resolve this as quickly as possible.

Thank you,

The ViewBug Team
tomd177
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
3/29/18

Sometimes, it feels like ViewBug's marketing plan is to get you to not only do your own marketing but their marketing as well. It's very easy to advertise yourself (and thus viewbug) on social media. Although they encourage you to pose photo challenges, it's a crap shoot as to whether they will put your challenge of the "hub" where others can see it. And if you don't make the hub, all you can do is spam your contacts on social media or individually invite ViewBug members without the ability to copy-and-paste or even share your challenge URL. What's up with that? And "reward points" are just vanity points, like all the silly "badges" they give.
THAT SAID, the site is addictive. I quit at one point of frustration with the patronizing attitude of "support." But I discovered, I just didn't shoot as many pictures, much less better pictures. I rejoined for the fun and learning I get from competing with professional and amateur photographers all over the world. The chances of winning any real prize (like a camera) are miniscule, but you can get rankings as how you compare to other photographers.
All in all, it's one of those sites where the more you put into it, the more you get out of it.

Response from ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Hello Tom,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and for participating within the community!

ViewBug is always appreciative when members share photos and content about/from ViewBug. That said, we definitely also invest our resources in promoting our site, contests, winners, finalists, featured images, blog features, etc. This is part of our regular process to provide as much exposure to as many of our members as possible.

With regard to Photo challenges, the goal is to allow members to create their own photo challenges that allow members from around the world to rally around a specific theme, subject, or photography style. We definitely recommend that members encourage their followers and other interested photographers to participate. We also set up a ViewBug system notification that is also sent out to all of a challenge creator's followers when their new challenge is published.

While we endeavor to include as many Photo Challenges in the main ViewBug Challenges >> Explore area, it is true that not all challenges will be included there. With that said, the criteria for getting Photo Challenges approved are included here: http://bit.ly/VBchallenges and quite often when photo challenges meet these guidelines, they're often included on the main Challenges page.

Rewards Points are not the main focus for most members on ViewBug, though many do enjoy them. Rewards points have milestones that unlock special benefits such as extra contest submissions (on top of your regular submission limits), moderator access, curator status, ambassador level, and VIP level perks, etc. You can view the milestones and their rewards points equivalents by going here: http://www.viewbug.com/user/reward-points (must be logged in to your account)

Again, we appreciate your honest feedback and we graciously accept your input. We are also glad to know you're finding pleasure in participating within the community. :-)

All the best,

The ViewBug Team
aprils126
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/21/18

I looked at the website was a free user for a while but decided to upgrade. when i did i was going for a monthly subscription. the validation process and the screen was confusing. i ended up with my credit card being charged for the whole year. not only that but some of the pictures that i submitted to contests were not fairly judged. some of the pictures that were blown out and with terrible color won over mine! and if you submit your pictures to a contest they never tell you where you placed..misleading and confusing! i want a refund!

Response from ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Hello April,

Thanks for your post! Based on your post, this situation sounds like a billing issue that our Member Support Team can assist with. Please do reach out to them at bit.ly/EmailVB, you'll receive an automatic confirmation email letting you know your email has been received. Once our live agents review it, someone replies within 24 hours (usually less).

Be sure to include the email address and username that are attached to your account. Keep an eye out for the automatic confirmation email letting you know your email has been received and that an agent will reply to you within 24 hours.

We look forward to assisting you with this,

The ViewBug Team
paulm505
1 review
12 helpful votes
3/11/18
• Updated review

Thanks Viewbug for your response.

Could you please give me some more feedback on the following.
As a paid member i can use more peer awards than a none paying member such as "magnificent capture". Could you advise what these are used for? They seam pointless as they do not effect any voting or gain you anything in regards to challenges of contests. If these are just to give a complement then why is it an upgrade when i could just say it in a comment on the photo as both have no effect on anything?
I am almost daily getting messages from other competitors saying "congratulations on becoming a curator". these as stated in my review we know are generated by viewbug and not written by anyone, this is solely so someone gains a badge for communicating. Its no better than dating sites using fake profiles of good looking people to send messages to new members to get them to pay. I have had a few real comments for others and find this really rewarding only to be diluted by the amount of fake ones.
As for being able to see how my photos are doing in a contest. First i could have 5 in each contest and would have to go into each photo one at a time to get any information, what i get is, Your doing great. Your photo is in the top 30% most voted!
Your photo placed ahead of 27,649 submissions. witch really means i am somewhere around 11,849 th place if i bother doing the math. I don't see how may people have had the chance to vote or how many have voted for my photo. How could anyone see this as a transparent way of running any competition? and please remember this is not a free site like many others as to enter a lot of competitions you need to pay a fee.
If you could give more transparent information and site guideline it would help others make a more informed choice. Information as to what peer awards are for, the face that messages can be sent from viewbug with the click of a button from a curator not knowing what they will be sending or even having looked at your work. How and when dose a photo qualify for your hall of fame so it gets way more exposure than any other photographs on the site?
I feel all the above are reasonable to expect from a product i have paid for and should already be available to a paying or not paying member as to allow an informed choice. one that if i had to make again would currently be a none paying if at all member
Thanks

Response from ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Hi Paul,

Thanks for your reply. We'll do our best to assist with your inquiries, though contacting our support team at bit.ly/EmailVB may be a more efficient way to assist. Please do feel free to reach out them directly.

Peer awards are awards that members can give to one another. This is a purely a way for members to award photos that they love, give recognition or appreciation for images. Giving peer awards is optional for members. Some like to give peer awards, while others like to leave comments or send inbox messages, or simply 'like' the photo. Given the online community is comprised of users with different engagement preferences, the peer award is one way to engage with one another's images.

Regarding access to Peer Awards, ALL members can give peer awards. Members with Premium membership have access to a few more peer awards and PRO members have access to even more. Members do not have to upgrade their accounts to give peer awards, those that want the additional Premium or PRO level access, get additional peer awards along with it.


We have recently rolled out a new Curator Dashboard program, which does include new features for sending quick acknowledgements. This does not replace the ability to send customized, individually crafted messages. It's a new feature, based on previous member requests, that we've introduced. Our team is reviewing member feedback on this as we continue to tweak the new Curator Dashboard functionality. We appreciate you sharing your input.


With regard to contest rankings and voting, we do not publish total votes on each individual photo instead we share where each photo ranks among the other photo entries. Photo rankings are shared for each week of the voting period, in each contest.

Members are not required to upgrade in order to participate in photo contests. We offer many contests that are free and open to all members. We do have additional contests which are open to Premium, and then PRO members. The additional access to contests is based on membership level, and there are always free contests open.

The Hall of Fame photos are selected based on curation by guest and resident judges. The goal is to share creative material from members in the community and to provide exposure to as many photographers as possible. Featured images from the homepage are included in the Hall of Fame gallery.

Our staff, guest and resident judges constantly curating all the uploaded photos to the community to find the next featured shots and some contest prizes include a homepage features.

Thanks again for your post and for any further inquiries or feedback, please do reach out to our Member Support Team at bit.ly/EmailVB

The ViewBug Team
“lack of views bugs me”
2/27/18
• Previous review

Paid my pro fee a month ago after being on the site just over a week. Liked the fact more people made comments etc on you photos and like fact they had a lot of different competitions and challenges. One month on and my most viewed photo has had 114 views and that's after being in 8 competitions and counting views from others who visited my profile. I cant see how any photos are doing in any of the competitions or even if the views are from any competitions at all.
Got made a curator after gaining enough points and now realise it askes you to send comments to others (it writes them and you don't know what you are saying) as you get points for making comments. View bug selects how you should comment on and I'm guessing it picks a lot of new members who maybe haven't yet paid??
Curator level also lets you award 4 photos at a time (you get points for this) and again it picks these for you, you can remove any you don't want to award but they will appear the next time you go to use it until you get fed up removing them and give awards, photos with a lot of awards go onto their Hall of Fame were you are asked to give more awards LOL.
You could be the worlds worst photographer and move up by liking, following and awarding others. And all this time you spend giving awards and liking may help someone get points but it counts for nothing in any challenge and if you want likes just save yourself the cash and post on facebook.
If you want to get inspiration and see loads of great photographers work do join but don't waist you cash thinking your missing out. Ive been on other sites for months and they have their faults but at least i can see how my photos are doing in competitions i enter and the get hundreds more views per competition unlike the Viewbug.

Response from ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Hello Paul,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with ViewBug.com.

Members definitely have access to their photo rankings in photo contests, so if you're having trouble accessing those, we encourage you to reach out to our member support team, here: bit.ly/EmailVB . Our team is always happy to help.

The views on a photo during the voting process and when viewed in the galleries are not counted as individual page views on your photo's page. The page views on your individual photo page's are based on actual views of that specific photo page. Meaning, members click on your photo and navigate to that photo's individual page, this triggers a new page view on that photo.

We've recently rolled out a new Curator program, with the goal of increasing interaction between members. We are certainly still tweaking and improving as we go. That's really great feedback about the "Connecting with other photographers" section of the newly updated Curator Dashboard. We will definitely be sharing your input with our team for review and consideration.

If you have any further questions or concerns, please do feel free to connect with our member support team, here: bit.ly/EmailVB

Thank you again,

The ViewBug Team
nicolel126
1 review
5 helpful votes
3/10/18

While I appreciate Viewbugs enthusiasm, which is wonderful and is an enjoyable photo exposure platform, However, something about is not transparent, and doesn't add up. After entering a competition, It doesn't show number of views but reveals rank after a while. I clicked on 'where my photo ranked', each seperate time the numbers of each image were distinctly different by thousands to the first click. The ranking and awards don't make sense. Am I really in the top 18,000 submissions and then it may change to 12,000, on clicking the same photo again. I would like to know how? As I am busy I don't enter enough but suddenly am notified I am a curator or am now silver level, and people send messages saying the same thing. I don't know how I got to silver level or what it means. I am quite new. I bought the pro but can't find how it all works, also who to ask about building a website from their platform.

Response from ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Hi Nicole,

Thanks for your input!

With regard to "page views" on ViewBug, we do not count photo impressions as 'page views'. Member's photos are seen on many different pages within the site (contest entry galleries, inspiration galleries, photo section, new photos, etc.) so we do not count every impression (aka when a photo is seen) as an actual page view. Views on our site are counted as a page view, when a photo is clicked on and the viewer is taken to the photo's individual page. This allows for the view count to be more focussed (and accurate), being tallied when a specific photo's page is viewed.

With photo contests, once a contest's voting period has begun, rankings are sent out to participants each week. The rankings are based on the voting for that specific week only, which is why rankings can change from week to week during the voting period. A photo can receive more votes in one week than in another, so each week's rankings are based on the voting during that week's timeframe.

The total number of entries is published on each contest's page, in the DETAILS section where it says "Here's How It Works". The total number of entries and your photo's ranking can tell you how your image is performing in relationship to other entries within that contest.

If you have additional questions or concerns, please feel free to contact our Member Support Team at bit.ly/EmailVB

Thank you again,
The ViewBug Team
paulj166
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/19/18

There are so many things that I like about ViewBug. I am a senior with a strong passion for photography ever since I was a kid. ViewBug provides me the opportunity to keep learning from my peers, communicate with my peers and take full advantage of the enormous amount of data that the organizers of the site provide.

I especially like that hundreds of thousands of photographers at every level are volunteering their time to review and award photos they judge as good. It is especially impressive to see so many photographers with inspiration scores equal or higher than their own number of awards, given that the inspiration category is a good measure of how much effort they have put into awarding others. It is that effort that has a lot to do with the site's success.

The continually updated stats on our photos is extremely useful in helping us photographers figure out how we are doing. One additional piece of data I would like to see included is the percentage of peer awards relative to the total number of views for each photo. Having 35 peer awards for one photo and 20 peer awards for another for example does not mean that the one with the higher number is doing better. If the one with 35 awards has received hundreds of views while the one with 20 awards has only had 20 views the one with the 20 awards is really much better in terms of how it is being perceived.

It has been not quite two years since I joined ViewBug. When it comes to being awarded the ViewBug judges and volunteers have been very generous. It definitely has kept me highly motivated. It has been a bit of a struggle, but so far I have been able to stay in the top 10 percent category in terms of popularity week after week with very few exceptions. I have acquired over 11 k awards, won over 30 challenges or been a contest finalist, and accumulated over 500,000 points. The highlight was winning a Sony a3000 camera in a photo contest where the subject was Minimalism. It felt a bit like winning the lottery given that there were over 18,000 entries.

A big thank you to all the ViewBug staff and your very dedicated army of volunteers.

Paul J.

Response from ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Hello Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience with ViewBug. We are so pleased to know that you're finding value and enjoyment within the community. We take great pride in our community and are so honored to share it with you. Thank you for your participation, support, and collaboration!

Warmest regards,
The ViewBug Team
brendam183
1 review
6 helpful votes
2/11/18

I joined viewbug and decided to pay the $79 for the upgrade. They took my money, but never upgraded my account. Not only am I out the money, they won't answer any emails and I can't find a phone number. What a ripoff!!

Response from ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Hello Brenda,

Thank you for your participation in the ViewBug community.

We apologize for the inconvenience. We have reviewed our records and we see that the following message was sent to you in response to the email received on January 13th and January 20th 2018:
_______________________________________________________________________
We have reviewed your account and we see that there are no payments registered. We believe you may have accidentally created a duplicate account. Is there any other email address that the account could have been created with?
_______________________________________________________________________
After reviewing your account, we see that this could be a duplicate account as it has only 1 photo and again, no information regarding recent payments. Please provide us with any possible email address your main account could be linked to so that we can further review this issue.

**In case you're not receiving our emails, please check your spam/junk folder to validate if our emails are being redirected to these folders** If possible, send your response to our member support email so we validate your information as soon as possible.

We look forward to your response.

Kind regards,
Your friends at ViewBug
amandal155
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/7/18

I am a Lite Member and LOVE IT. Viewbug gives me the opportunity to see other's work and to gather inspiration the next time I use my camera. I'm not a pro by any means. Just a person who is enjoying a hobby. Yes, I enter contest and could careless if I win...the likes and small peer awards that I am receiving give me the courage to press on and hopefully one day capture the most amazing photo ever.

Response from ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Hi Amanda,

Thank you for sharing. We're so glad to hear you're enjoying the community! We truly appreciate your participation and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Warmest regards,
The ViewBug Team
carolg143
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/27/18

Viewbug have taken money from my account at least twice in the last year even though I have not bought or entered anything...these payments are for nearly £50 each time! I cannot see how to stop them or cancel membership which I have never consciously paid for!! Anyone else have this problem? I have replied to emails but have had no response and another payment gone out in November. I never enter,upgrade or buy anything and want to cancel.

Response from ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Hello Carol,

Please accept our most sincere apologies for any confusion or inconvenience.

While we love for members to experience the benefits of an upgraded account, we'd never continue billing an account that's been cancelled.
Based on what you've shared, it definitely sounds like something our teammates can assist with.

Our system tracks all incoming member emails and whenever you email our Member Support Team here at bit.ly/EmailVB, you'll receive an automatic confirmation email letting you know your email has been received. Once our live agents review it, someone replies within 24 hours (usually less).

Please contact our Member Support Team at bit.ly/EmailVB and be sure to include the email address and username that are attached to your account. Keep an eye out for the automatic confirmation email letting you know your email has been received and that an agent will reply to you within 24 hours.

We look forward to assisting you with this,

The ViewBug Team
ericw127
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/22/18

I have my own web page as well for four year now I can get 20000 views a week on it with out a sale .What a lot of people don't think about how much photographers that there is in the world .Now on ViewBug I have come in under a 1000 views a few times with my pictures that's fine with me for being a bit of fun lets you know you are doing something right So think every one a lot of people thinks there the best but a lot of people gets sales with bad pictures its the luck of the draw its a 24/7 learning curve there not such as I think am the best . https://www.ericwatt.co.uk/ that's a link to my own page its a professional page this takes a lot of work for no sales .

Tip for consumers: Just found out Viewbug a rip off they put up this offers to get you pay twice they even close down your pro account then they say they cant give back your over payment there not such a law so every one pass the word around .

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Response from ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Hello Eric,

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your honest feedback. We truly are happy that you're enjoying and find value in the community.

Thank you for your participation!

Warmest regards,

The ViewBug Team
katarinaw1
13 reviews
21 helpful votes
1/20/18

I love ViewBug because as a photographer, I can share my work with the world. People can leave you feedback on your photo's, you can enter photo competitions and contests to get social exposure to your name and work, plus win cool prizes like tripods, gift cards, and cameras. It's really helped build up my clientele, plus people have the options of taking a picture and paying to get it put on a canvas or print, so you can make money from your work. A passive income. Plus, I don't have to pay to be part of the community. Overall, I give ViewBug a 5 star rating. Thank you for the exposure to my photography.

Service
Quality
Response from ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Hi Katarina,

We're so glad to hear you're enjoying the community! We truly appreciate your participation and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Best wishes,
The ViewBug Team

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hello Cameron, Thanks for your question. We allow members to mark their own original photography for print sale. We offer 3 print types, members can set their own markup price. The printing and shipping is handled by our team. You can view more about selling photo prints on ViewBug, here: http://bit.ly/VBprints

By ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hello Rebecca, Thank you for your follow up message! We do not charge additional fees for exposure or any other features. Our members have the option to keep their account as a Free Lite account if they prefer or pay for Monthly or Yearly Premium or Pro membership. If you have any additional questions, please kindly contact our member support team at members@viewbug.com as we are required to provide support and/or answer questions via our own support portal to maintain an archive of the communication. Have a good day!

By ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I received a Summer Award, but that is not the point. These awards are virtual, the same as winning Challenges. What they really amount to, is a virtual pat on the back to encourage you to continue and to improve. The difference comes in with the Contests. There you can win a tangible prize like a camera, a tripod, etc. To me all of this is no issue. I love photography, although I'm still in the learning phase, I enjoy posting my photos and appreciate it if I receive likes and really love it when I receive peer awards. By the way, the various awards, from "peer" through "virtuoso" have no tangible effect in the sense of prize money or objects, it only makes a difference in the satisfaction the receiver might feel.....oh yes and they add up points that make both the awarder and the receiver climb up the virtual ladder of progress from "Bronze" to "Ambassador".

By Angela B.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hello Tony, Congratulations on your Member Selection Award. :-) All members received this award for their most viewed photo on their profile, this year! This award is not connected to any contests, prizes, or special features. If you have any further questions or concerns, please contact our member support team at members@viewbug.com Have a good day! Your friends at ViewBug

By ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hello Janet, Thanks for your question! We have a peer award system where members are able to give/receive awards to one another. This is a great way to show recognition for photos that you truly enjoy. Our staff and judges also have awards that they give to photos whose photos stood out. This is often based on criteria such as creativity, composition, perspective, etc. We have a helpful FAQ center here: http://help.viewbug.com/ and you're always welcome to contact our Member Support Team with any questions or concerns. Here's a quick link to contact the support team: http://help.viewbug.com/customer/portal/emails/new

By ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

: Hello Derick, Thank you for your message. When members reach Ambassador level, they are eligible to receive a ViewBug swag bag. Unfortunately, we don't release the contents of the swag bag as it's supposed to be a surprise for eligible members. We also do not publish the total number of members who reached the Ambassador level at this time. If you have any further questions or concerns, please contact our member support team at members@viewbug.com and they'll be more than happy to assist you. :) Have a great day! Your friends at ViewBug ------------------------------------------------------------------ Hello Mike M., We are sorry to hear that you didn't receive your Swag. We send out a notification email to members who reach 500k Points requesting their shipping address. It's possible that our email went to your Spam / Junk folder. No need to worry. Simply contact our member support team at members@viewbug.com and they'll be more than happy to assist you. :) Have a great day! Your friends at ViewBug

By ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Jim, Thank you for your message! You can see all your awards by clicking on 'Awards' tab within your ViewBug profile. If you have any further questions or need assistance, please contact our member support team at members@viewbug.com Have a lovely day! The ViewBug Team ------------------------------------------------------------------ Hi Janet, Thank you for your message! We have many members that won prizes from all over the world. You are welcome to reach out to contest winners and confirm with them. All contest winners are announced in our Blog at http://www.viewbug.com/blog/winners. If you have any further questions or concerns, please contact our member support team at members@viewbug.com Have a nice day! The ViewBug Team

By ViewBug T., ViewBug Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I have been asking a similar question, but regarding contests and challenges. It came to mind while voting on a contest that I couldn't POSSIBLY look at and vote on all the entries. It's simply too taxing. So what happens to those whose work never gets seen, let alone voted on in a contest? It seems the answer ought to be some sort of scrambling process whereby every time someone goes in to vote, the order of the photos is automatically scrambled to provide a different lineup and at least even the odds of your photo(s) being seen and voted on. With some contests getting 20,000 or more entries, how can we be assured our work even gets SEEN?

By Rebecca B.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

That's an excellent question. And while Viewbug does take steps to make copyright violation harder, I still wonder if some of my images are out there, floating around and being used without my permission anyway. One thing you might try is to type a search such as "photos of red roses" or whatever subject you've done, and see what pops up. Bing often displays results of hundreds and hundreds, if not thousands, of photo and graphic images of all sorts.

By Rebecca B.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I agree with Vash, the first time you log in, you'll open to the homepage. There is a go pro tap click on that and you can see the 3 different membership options. I actually got an advertisement for a trial membership that was for 15 days. I'm not sure if you can get that offer when you log on the first time. But try it. Viewbug is very easy to use, and if you need help they are always willing to give it to you. Stef

By Stephanie B.
Questions? Get answers from the ViewBug staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
ViewBug?
Post Review