Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Roku, Inc.

Roku, Inc. reviews

Is this your business?
64 reviews
95070
Tel: +1-408-446-1734
hostmaster@roku.com

64 Reviews From Our Community

Service
2
Value
2
Shipping
1
Returns
1
Quality
2

All Reviews

kong16
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
12/7/18

The set up was so stupid .Its can go on and
on with robot proofing with no end and come
with error.I just trashed it since I kept pass return dateline before installation.

timmyn2
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/26/18

I use my Roku to access all the streaming services I need to watch the most amazing content out there. It is very easy to use and reliable.

davidb1798
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/3/18

bought a roku tv, im trying to create a roku account, and every time it says "invalid email format". so i try on my laptop, i go on the website and go to create an account and all it says is "error try again"

lindal610
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/12/18

Roku has their number "displayed" on PayPal...I called several times to make sure the actually didn't post a sex line as ROKU'S phone number. The customer service is nonexistent. If still in doubt look at consumer Affairs at Roku. It's been almost two months and I'm out 80.00, I actually called hulu to help me figure out why the application wasn't on there. Hulu spent almost two hours on phone helping to no avail.

loiso
17 reviews
6 helpful votes
9/2/18

Used to be commericial-free apps but now there has been an ad explosion.
Full ads not just the 4 second skip type. I don\t mind those but full ads without being able to opt out unless you pay 99 cents per month on some of the apps that's taking advantage of users. All or nothing it seems.

emilyb241
76 reviews
70 helpful votes
8/6/18

The Roku Stick has everything. I usually use it for Netflix, pandora and YouTube but there's a lot on the Roku stick

loganw39
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/14/18

Eww. What a crappy little get away :/ but yeah for sure! Either or. My snap is emmerowe & my numbers 369-4464.

robertc454
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/23/18

1) I am a ROKU lover...I have 2 ROKU 4's, 1 ROKU 3 and 1 ROKU 2.
2) Never had any issue with them until the 2 ROKU 4 units seemed to have failed.
3) As a recap (as per the 3 request tickets #1378967, 1392691 and 1402172), the issue started as follows:
a) ROKU 4 in living room was frozen on menu screen.
b) Tried to restart with screen...frozen.
c) Pulled out the "plug" from the ROKU 4 and it started up with the ROKU screen looping.
d) Tried to reset by holding the "button" at the bottom for 30 seconds or more...still looping.
e) Went to the bedroom where the other ROKU 4 is and verified that it is working OK.
f) Decided to SWAP the bedroom unit with the living room unit and the bedroom unit is now looping.
g) Swapped the bedroom unit and the living room unit back and the bedroom unit is now looping.
h) Called ROKU Customer Support and went through all the ROKU testing...same result.
i) ROKU customer support recommended buying a new power unit...I did...same result.
j) RoKU customer support concluded that both units are defected and the only solution is to buy 2 more units since my warranty is over.
4) Is there anything that the ROKU company can do for me ==> I asked ROKU customer support.

ROKU RESPONSE:
Hi Robert,

Your request #(1402172) has been marked as resolved.
To add additional comments to this ticket , reply to this email.
Issue : Re: Stuck on Roku logo

Ash, Feb 21, 14:53 PST:
Hi Robert,
Thank you for writing to us, while checking your account in the email address (xxxxxxxx@xxx.net), I see the both the Roku 4 devices are out of warranty. Unfortunately, we can't replace the device for you. I request you to select the link given below and select the products option in the top to check about the new Roku models available in market.
Link : https://www.roku.com

Take care and have a good day.
Regards,
Ash

This is my warning to all ROKU owners:

1) Despite the fact that I am a satisfied, happy ROKU owner and a ROKU lover with 4 ROKU devices, I would have thought that ROKU would have given me a discount on a purchase of a new ROKU unit...at least.
2) I would have thought ROKU would have wanted their original power unit back and the old ROKU's (ROKU 4's) back for analysis.
3) My assumptions are:
a) ROKU did some update that made the 2 ROK4's useless???
b) The power unit somehow "fried" the ROKU 4 and then when I swapped it out
for my other ROKU 4 that was working..it "fried" this too.

What can I say? I guess this is their business practice??? SAD

randyw53
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/21/17

Roku has no customer support, but the simple stuff on-line. My problem is not listed and therefore I have no remedy. Never buy anything that you cannot get live support.

kims266
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/20/17

Purchased a new TV from Best Buy, setting it up we were advised to activate the television call . Upon calling we were informed that because we purchased from a third party (a store) we would have to pay $40. WTF, My husband is at Best Buy right now returning this TV, and advising them of your strong arm method of holding the cusumer hostage. The young man just kept saying, "if you had bought from us direct at a higher cost you wouldn't have to pay." I'm disgusted!

johnr438
4 reviews
1 helpful vote
2/18/17

Apple, and Amazon are breathing down the necks of this pioneer Service/product and others are trying to swallow it up from the inside, but still it offers the best way into streaming content into your box--unless you are a real techie type who goes on the web and still Roku offers some place for that.

bettyb73
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
11/25/16

I like Roku cause here I always can find smth to watch

kurth28
6 reviews
22 helpful votes
11/5/16

In some cases, just another monthly fee to be paid.

ilovem
4 reviews
9 helpful votes
6/12/16

100% love it. Especially for VUDU

mellodies
14 reviews
14 helpful votes
2/29/16

Finally someone invented the real tv box named Roku! That is so COOL. I cannot wait to receive my own. so I get away from the expensive cable.

colinp17
5 reviews
3 helpful votes
2/24/16

I have a Roku model 1. I still use it, even though I recently bought an updated Roku 4. The Roku 4 does offer more streaming options than the first one. The search interfaces on both are clunky but usable. That's not the problem.

The Roku 4 has too much electronics packed into a tight, not ventilated plastic container. It gets hot and freezes up. To use it at all I had to pull the power plug and reboot it almost every time I turned on the TV. The older Roku 1 works without trouble.

I tried proping the Roku 4 up on home made wooden legs to keep it cooler. That helped a little but not much. My return period had past so I had no choice. I drilled many holes in the plastic case to ventilate it better. That helped too. It doesn't freeze up as often now. But it still does. Don't buy Roku 4.

jamesp199
27 reviews
24 helpful votes
1/11/16

Roku makes it quite easy to connect your TV to all your streaming servies. The Roku products are priced very low and are well worth it. Very high value. I've never had any problems with my Roku stick.

Service
Value
Quality
mikem313
6 reviews
6 helpful votes
12/14/15

Bought this and used it to access netflix in my bedroom. Installation was easy and straightforward.

johnb475
1 review
5 helpful votes
11/3/15

I'm the owner of 4 Roku's over the last 9 yrs. A month ago, I received an email from Roku that said support was ending for one of my original models. They offered a 20% off coupon to their loyal customers if I wanted to buy a new model.

I went to their website and tried to use the coupon. It wouldn't work so I contacted technical support. They told me not to worry; just buy it and they would issue me a credit. So I paid regular price.

When I didn't receive my credit after 3 days, I contact Roku support again. That was the start of 5 online chats, 2 phone calls, 7 emails and 2 escalations. I was told they (the outsourced support team in India? Roku themselves?) couldn't afford to give me 20% off since the $99.99 device was on sale for $89.99, $10 off regular price when I bought it. I pointed out the email didn't say it was not valid if they changed their price or ran a sale. It was just 20% off. And if corp forgot to include that, why did support tell me they would and follow up in writing that they would.

In an attempt to resolve, I called corporate HQ in Sarasota, CA pleading for help with their terrible customer service team. I left 3 voicemails over a week and half but never received a return call.

I had to escalate my request for an RMA to a supervisor. She kept arguing with issuing one until I started counting out loud, "This is my 6th request. This is my 7th request." I started out calm but I was loud by the time i got to 9. Felt bad afterwards but jeez, they were not going to honor their promised to me for anything. I had the email in writing, i had an email confirmation that they were going to credit me $20.

They didn't care what they had put in writing, they didn't care what I was promised. It's like the company would go out of business over $20, that's how hard they fought.

Long time loyal customer who Roku was going to go to the mat over a lousy $20. I bet that sold my returned roku as "open box" for $30 or more off.

What a company. I never knew until I had an issue.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
jimd80
8 reviews
28 helpful votes
10/20/15

Good choice of online activities

marianb4
19 reviews
57 helpful votes
10/13/15

I have had roku since 2009. It was always good but now its really wonderful. So easy to use. you can get the Roku USB Stick Player for Free if you buy 3 mos of HULU and the more expensive Roku models 2 and 3 for half price.at HULU...good deal.
Also it works on many cable company's universal remotes but your cable company never knows this. Look it up on your providers code list...Usually it falls under AUX.

stevenh77
10 reviews
4 helpful votes
8/16/15

My LCD isn't a smart tv so there's no WIFI. Roku has my TV online and has been for more than three years quite reliably.

annk25
10 reviews
3 helpful votes
8/1/15

Love using this
Where I can alway find something to watch

melissad37
9 reviews
43 helpful votes
5/19/15

Roku is one of the only ways you can use Acorn TV. Acorn TV provides the best of British (and sometimes Australian) television. Stuff you can't get on Netflix or Hulu or Amazon.

stephenb73
6 reviews
43 helpful votes
4/15/15

was thinking about getting a Roku 3 or 2 or 1, but I wanted to call them first to ask some questions that I could not find answers to. Called 3 times and I could not understand them at all. It was like using sign language over the standard telephone. Just does not work. I never did get any answers answered. I will not buy something where if I had a problem with it, I could not ask questions and get answers for! It would be better to use $100.00 bill to start a fire with.

34 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Roku, Inc. staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Roku, Inc.?
Post Review