We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    Parcel Direct

Corporate Values

Overview

Parcel Direct has a consumer rating of 3.6 stars from 20 reviews indicating that most customers are generally satisfied with their purchases. Parcel Direct ranks 40th among Mail Forwarding sites.

Positive reviews (last 12 months): 60%
Positive
3
Neutral
0
Negative
2
View ratings trends
How would you rate Parcel Direct?
Top Positive Review

“Saved the day”

Sean B.
4/20/20

My parcel was delayed in pick up, but after a quick call to Michael in customer service, he got the courier back to collect the parcel quick as possible. They prioritised the parcel and made sure it arrived on time. Thanks, great job

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Terrible experience from A to Z”

Benny M.
4/6/20

Terrible experience on EVERY LEVEL. Disappointed I can't put 0 or negative star rating. Avoid, avoid, avoid. The only thing they are good at is taking our money. Be prepared for your parcel to be lost or destroyed. I booked 10 boxes for collection to be sent from Ireland to France and ended up only sending 9. For starters I am still waiting for the refund for the last box. That was over a month ago. On the collection day you are supposed to stay home from 8 to 5 and wait for the collection, they don't give you any further indication. I called in the morning to get information and was told they couldn't give me a time but for sure they wouldn't show up until after lunch time. If went out for 30 minutes at 12 and of course the man showed up during that time. In addition to that he was literally one of the rudest men I've ever encountered (and I worked in the service industry for 10 years). In the end he came back the next day. I tried to tell him that the website didn't allow me to chose the right town (in France you have one postcode for several towns) and he could not have cared less. He said he didn't have time to change all the boxes and moaned. He took the boxes and literally THREW THEM into his van. These could be fragile/personal stuff in those boxes, they should clearly be a little bit careful instead of being so brutal. I emailed straight away to tell Parcel Direct the exact address and they said you would pass it on. I also gave them my newly acquired phone number in France to phone me if needed. No surprise, the boxes arrived in the area and the delivery driver didn't find the address. I didn't receive any calls. After a few days I got an email asking for the exact delivery address because the driver was having trouble finding the house. Seriously? Talk about communication and professionalism. They finally passed on the phone number and the delivery driver called me to organise a delivery time. He was actually fairly pleasant and showed up at the said time. Only he only had 7 boxes, meaning we were missing two. How the f**k does that happen? They were all sent at the same time! Anyway. We took those boxes and opened them. Literally everything that could be broken has been broken, and even the things that I thought could't break have broken as well. I'm literally heartbroken. The 8th box arrived on its own about 10 days after. It showed up in a different box than the one I sent, everything inside is broken as well and I had to throw out about 70% of the content of this box. Some packs that were into smaller boxes have been broken to pieces and the boxes are even missing. Clearly something happened there, my guess is the box broke because it was carried around so carelessly. A number of my things have disappeared. Now he last box was due to be delivered a couple of days later - again, why? Late in the afternoon I wondered what happened and checked the parcel tracking - it was marked as delivered! We are in confinement so I was home all day. I called Parcel Direct to ask about my parcel and I was told it was sent by some "Cathy" which is not anywhere near my name. My belongings were apparently sitting in a stranger's home and Parcel Direct has told me they would try to get back to me in the next 7-10 days. SERIOUSLY? Luckily, the next day I received a call from a nearby store saying they had a box under my name. Interesting, so the driver just decided to drop off my things into a random store, without informing me. Seriously, what the hell? I paid 350 euros for this and none of the things I sent can be used any longer. I expect a full refund. I have been trying to contact Parcel Direct for nearly 10 days now and they are just completely ignoring me! I can't believe such a lack of professionalism and care from a company that is supposed to ship parcels etc. This is absolutely shocking. Stay away, people.

See critical reviews

Reviews (20)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

seanb294
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 20th, 2020
My parcel was delayed in pick up, but after a quick call to Michael in customer service, he got the courier back to collect the parcel quick as possible. They prioritised the parcel and made sure it arrived on time. Thanks, great job
maryl1569
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 30th, 2020
Thanks to the team a Parcel Direct for all their help with my parcel. When it go stuck in customs, they were able to help get it cleared for me very quickly. Thanks again
bennym40
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 6th, 2020
Terrible experience on EVERY LEVEL. Disappointed I can't put 0 or negative star rating. Avoid, avoid, avoid.
The only thing they are good at is taking our money. Be prepared for your parcel to be lost or destroyed.

I booked 10 boxes for collection to be sent from Ireland to France and ended up only sending 9.

For starters I am still waiting for the refund for the last box. That was over a month ago.

On the collection day you are supposed to stay home from 8 to 5 and wait for the collection, they don't give you any further indication. I called in the morning to get information and was told they couldn't give me a time but for sure they wouldn't show up until after lunch time. If went out for 30 minutes at 12 and of course the man showed up during that time.

In addition to that he was literally one of the rudest men I've ever encountered (and I worked in the service industry for 10 years). In the end he came back the next day.

I tried to tell him that the website didn't allow me to chose the right town (in France you have one postcode for several towns) and he could not have cared less. He said he didn't have time to change all the boxes and moaned.

He took the boxes and literally THREW THEM into his van. These could be fragile/personal stuff in those boxes, they should clearly be a little bit careful instead of being so brutal.

I emailed straight away to tell Parcel Direct the exact address and they said you would pass it on. I also gave them my newly acquired phone number in France to phone me if needed.

No surprise, the boxes arrived in the area and the delivery driver didn't find the address. I didn't receive any calls.

After a few days I got an email asking for the exact delivery address because the driver was having trouble finding the house. Seriously? Talk about communication and professionalism.

They finally passed on the phone number and the delivery driver called me to organise a delivery time. He was actually fairly pleasant and showed up at the said time. Only he only had 7 boxes, meaning we were missing two. How the f**k does that happen? They were all sent at the same time!

Anyway. We took those boxes and opened them. Literally everything that could be broken has been broken, and even the things that I thought could't break have broken as well. I'm literally heartbroken.

The 8th box arrived on its own about 10 days after. It showed up in a different box than the one I sent, everything inside is broken as well and I had to throw out about 70% of the content of this box. Some packs that were into smaller boxes have been broken to pieces and the boxes are even missing. Clearly something happened there, my guess is the box broke because it was carried around so carelessly. A number of my things have disappeared.

Now he last box was due to be delivered a couple of days later - again, why? Late in the afternoon I wondered what happened and checked the parcel tracking - it was marked as delivered! We are in confinement so I was home all day. I called Parcel Direct to ask about my parcel and I was told it was sent by some "Cathy" which is not anywhere near my name.

My belongings were apparently sitting in a stranger's home and Parcel Direct has told me they would try to get back to me in the next 7-10 days. SERIOUSLY?

Luckily, the next day I received a call from a nearby store saying they had a box under my name. Interesting, so the driver just decided to drop off my things into a random store, without informing me. Seriously, what the hell?

I paid 350 euros for this and none of the things I sent can be used any longer. I expect a full refund.

I have been trying to contact Parcel Direct for nearly 10 days now and they are just completely ignoring me!

I can't believe such a lack of professionalism and care from a company that is supposed to ship parcels etc. This is absolutely shocking. Stay away, people.
joannea100
1 review
0 helpful votes
May 19th, 2020
Michael and the team there are so helpful and kind. The talked me through everything and the prices were great. Highly recommended
jamesp869
1 review
0 helpful votes
May 19th, 2019
Thanks to Michael and the team for all your help. My parcel was delayed in Customs in China, but they were on the phone to make sure it was all sorted quickly for me. Thanks so much!
paulm1068
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 17th, 2019
Great to talk to someone on the phone. They are very helpful and great prices. I needed some help with my parcel and they were there to help out
matthews340
1 review
1 helpful vote
August 10th, 2018
Have used Parcel Direct 3 times now and they are unbeatable for everything from price to service. I have no hesitation in recommending them to ll my friends and colleagues
stephenc136
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 18th, 2017
We use Parcel Direct for all our business deliveries and they never let us down. Always there to help out and give good advice.
moirag11
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 16th, 2020
Absolutely appalling!

Placed and paid for order on Sunday afternoon, received email confirmation and invoice with collection of parcel for 9am-5pm next day.

Next day came and went, I chased them.

Next day came and went, I chased them.

Next day came and went, I chased them... and on and on and on until finally 6 DAYS later on Saturday afternoon it was collected.

So much time time wasted chasing up what should have been a simple and transparent transaction. My mother spent days waiting for a courier to come and each day if she had to leave the house left these gifts sitting in the doorway 'in case' a driver might show up. A birthday gift arriving almost a week late instead of a nice surprise on time,

Excuse? Oh we are really busy, oh there are unprecedented times... guys we are 11 full months into this crap, if you don't have your $#*! together you will keep loosing business to those who do!

At no point did the driver or parcel direct contact myself or my mother who's number was given, yes I did receive prompt and polite replies from the customer service (which I am grateful for) but all in all I would NEVER recommend this company and will bring business elsewhere.
lorcanm17
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 10th, 2018
Super service, and prices. Sent all my suff to German in only 4 days. So glad I found parcel direct. Will definitely use again.
ianc83
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 8th, 2017
It's so nice to deal with real people at the end of the phone. They were so helpful with us moving home. Such a huge relief to find them. Thanks guys
patriciak86
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 12th, 2017
Thanks you to all the guys at Parcel Direct, such a big help sending my parcels. Thank you again so much, it was a huge releif to find you and have all my stuff arive safe and sound
lauriem18
1 review
2 helpful votes
July 22nd, 2014
Fantastic site with great prices and loads of services. I sent a pallet to France with them for about half what I was quoted elsewhere. You just book online with free collection easy peasy
jamesb162
1 review
2 helpful votes
August 7th, 2014
Great Company, Brilliant Service. So easy to use, just book online, sit back and wait for the courier to call and pick up your parcel and deliver it for you. Great stuff and very cheap www.parceldirect.ie, can't recommend them enough
georgeb540
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 17th, 2019
Lost bronze statue going to USA (it happens!) and admitted it was due to their driver not scanning the parcel at pickup. Have had to engage a solicitor to try recover my 51 plus 20 insurance. Told my money was being returned to my card before Christmas and this after constantly been totally ignored with no engagement. Make up your own mind!
stepheno14
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 11th, 2014
Great company to deal with, very friendly and helpful and great prices
colmd2
1 review
1 helpful vote
May 4th, 2017
BEWARE!
Appalling service. They lost a box of mine with 1000 worth of contents (for which I paid extra to insure). They only subcontract from other companies, so you lose all protections these other companies (like FedEx etc) would normally give.

They lost the box December 2016, and here I am in May 2017 and this is still not resolved.

They made me fill in hours worth of paperwork, before eventually making an insulting offer of compensation that barely covered the fee they charged! The cheek they had to think I still ought to pay for a service I didn't receive!

I am only left with the option of taking them to small claims court so this is ongoing.

KEEP AWAY.

Tip for consumers: Dont go near this company!

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
stepheno22
Stephen O. – Parcel Direct Rep
Hi Colm, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am so sorry you were not happy with your experience with us. We are sorry your parcel was misplaced with your belongings and we did a long search with the carrier to try and find it. We had to have the paperwork filled out so we could provide it to the carrier to complete a search. When the carrier could not find the parcel they offered compensation in line with the Warsaw Convention, although we did try to get this increased, we were unable. You did take out extra cover for €125 per parcel and we did offer to refund this in full to you. Again I can only say sorry for the loss of your parcel and we did everything in our power to try and have it retrieved, but on very rare occasions parcels do go missing and cannot be found, I am so sorry about that. All the best PD
celestynaf
1 review
6 helpful votes
May 23rd, 2015
Very poor customer service - doesn't reply to customers emails. NO refund of cancelled order as promised - they took 355 Eur for nothing! Waiting for my money for over 3 months and they don't even have the dignity to answer my emails. NO cancellation policy on their website. This company is a joke!
joshg37
1 review
2 helpful votes
January 31st, 2016
Beware of this company as they are a scam, was suppose to broker a transaction as a third party for SB tickets. Took over $1600 of my money and nowhere to be found or responding to emails. This company is a scam!
stepheno22
Stephen O. – Parcel Direct Rep
Hi, This is a review for another site, not ParcelDirect.ie. This message was left by someone in the USA who tried to buy Super Bowl tickets and is not our company.
saraha94
1 review
3 helpful votes
February 26th, 2016
WE GOT HALF OF THE BOXES WE SENT. WE ARE WAITING FOR THE REST. JUST BE CAREFUL DON T TRUST

Q&A (0)

Questions? Get answers from the Parcel Direct staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Save Time & Money With ParcelDirect.ie, Book Online With FREE Collection From Only? 6.50. Save Up To 80% On Low Cost Courier Services from Ireland, Cheap Parcel & Pallet Delivery throughout Ireland, to the UK, Europe and Worldwide

Company Representative

stepheno22
Stephen O.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Parcel Direct?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Chrome extension

3.6
20 reviews
Have a question about Parcel Direct?