Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Mozy

Mozy reviews

Is this your business?
10 reviews
13197 Frontrunner Boulevard
Pleasant Grove, UT 84062, US
Tel: (877)-669-9776
terms@mozy.com

10 Reviews From Our Community

Service
1
Value
1
Shipping
0
Returns
1
Quality
1

All Reviews

julianl33
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/8/18

Over limit warnings - Mozy Home's overlimit messages come with no attribution that they come from Mozy, just a message that pops up in the middle of your screen. These messages resemble something a hacker would put out to lure the unsuspecting. When traced down these were from Mozy. I loggged in it said their was open space remaining on my account. I contacted Mozy support. Mozy support had me send logs and redo settings but this did not resolve the issue. Then another tech followed up and said yes, you have open space but their scan of my system said it would put me over limit. That would have been nice to know before spending 2 -3 hours chasing down the problem. So, I removed an older computer from the back up set. I have 9 months of pre-paid storage left. I decided to use up the remaining time and then switch services. I attempted to turn off auto renewal. The only way to turn off auto-renewal is to cancel the account and lose 9 months of paid for service. I contact customer service and was told bluntly too bad there was no resolution for a Mozy Home user. I asked for a phone call. They said they do not provide "phone support" for Mozy Home users. I was not asking for phone support I was asking for customer support to resolve a billing challenge.

janh179
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/2/18

I've had the $67 annual contract with Mozy for my personal computer. My MacBook Pro crashed and, because Mozy does not keep up with Apple updates, I've had very, very limited access to all my cloud documents while waiting for a repair. Customer support was very kind, but made it clear there are no plans to update the problem with Apple products. Incredibly frustrated and plan to find a more up-to-date cloud storage system after a final repair or replacement of laptop. Wondering if they'll refund my annual fee?

stephaniel61
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/3/16

These crooks charged my credit card to renew my contract for 2 years in June 2015. In January, just 6 months later, I moved my business's files to the cloud and called to cancel. They will not issue a refund of any sort. Have tried multiple times. That's almost $1000 down the tubes or rather down to their bottom line.

angelag28
5 reviews
14 helpful votes
8/2/15

My subscription expired Aug. 1. I was given no warning in advance that it was going to expire. At some point in the day I got a msg saying it was expired but they'd give me a little grace period to renew. (I forget actual wording). Then a few hours later, a msg saying it had expired and I had to renew for my data to be backed up. It would not be backed up until I renewed. So I renewed at night 8/1.

I thought after I paid the renewal, my subscription would be automatically extended. No, you need to re-install their software. Which didn't work. I get an error msg saying "renewal is incomplete." I look on their database about how to solve the situation, but neither of the 2 entries are relevant to my situation.

Not only is it not backing up, the custom designation I gave for which files to back up and which not to appears to be lost so I'll have to redo all that, probably.

So I wait till 8/3 morning and call them. The tech supporter I get, not impressed with her. I explain the situation and she says oh, you got an error msg saying such and such. She didn't ASK if I got that error msg., she SAID I did when I hadn't.

She gets into my machine remotely, spends maybe 45 minutes reinstalling and trying to get it to work. Not successful. She says call back in 30 - 60 minutes when server should be up.

I wait 90 minutes, call back, not only am I told server is still down, this time I'm told wait till tomorrow morning!!! The server is supposedly down for scheduled maintenance, both of them tell me that, but one things it'll be up in 30 - 60 minutes while the other says wait 18 hours???!!!!

Why is resubscribing such a hassle? Why do I need to re-install? Why is a server for "continuous backup" down such a long time for "scheduled maintenance" and why don't the support people know how long it will be down??????

They spend too much resources and attn on advertising and not enough on their so-called "continuous backup."

linz8
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/13/15

Awful service. No refund after year's of inactivity. Look somewhere else!

Tip for consumers: Use a service that doesn't auto-renew. Avoid scams like Mozy.

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
ellenb1
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/27/12

Awful. Run. I have a Mac and apparently no one there could help me resolve the issue of why the back up was not backing up. so frustrating to deal with an online chat person that doesn't even respond. I have asked to cancel and get a refund since this has been going on for 2wks. I just wasted 2 hrs tonight doing an online 'chat' trying to get help on a service that they are supposed to be providing and provided absolutely nothing! We shall see if I get a refund. doubtful!

michaell
66 reviews
383 helpful votes
8/11/10

I've been using Mozy for several years and consider it one of the best online storage providers out there. There are many alternatives in the crowded online storage space, but Mozy is operated by EMC, a world-class leader in commercial storage and networking solutions, which automatically gives it a lot of reliability and credibility over smaller startups.

What I like most about Mozy is its easy-to-use client. You can use it to specify which files or directories on your computer to back up or restore, as well as when you want an automatic backup to occur. I have mine set at 2am every night, so when I wake up every morning I am welcomed by a reassuring message saying all my data has been backed up and is safe.

The only drawback (and I believe this to be true of all online storage solutions) is that the initial backup or restore takes a long time (several hours or days, depending on your connection). But once you cross that hurdle, all subsequent updates only take a few seconds, since it only updates new or changed files.

I used to use an external hard drive for all my storage, but even that crashed on me and I lost years and year of irreplaceable memories / photos. Now I don't trust any physical device and only rely on the cloud. Since I switched to Mozy, my computer has crashed and been wiped clean several times, and each time I have successfully used Mozy to restore all my files. It's been a lifesaver and I would highly recommend it to anyone who is serious about truly safeguarding their data.

jeremyg
106 reviews
509 helpful votes
8/11/10

I signed up for Mozy to back up my computer which has been crashing. The service has been abysmal for 6 reasons:

1) Cost of Mozy Pro and Mozy Home were not clearly stated on sign up
2) Mozy client did not easily let me select which files I wanted uploaded
3) I could not log into Mozy in Safe Mode (which I am now writing this review in because my computer has been crashing) OR run the Mozy client.
4) I could not contact their technical support because I cannot log in (their support line is just a recording)
5) I emailed Mozy on the support email provided to me, only to get an auto-response saying that email address is no longer accepting support questions.
6) Even the the Mozy sales office is closed (it's 5:05pm I guess?)

If you need to back up your computer, get an external hard-drive or use another online backup service. I would not use this one.

UPDATE: once I was able to log into my Mozy account I requested a cancellation and a refund and received both promptly so changes my rating from a S#@! to a Meh.

chriso1
660 reviews
3,068 helpful votes
5/15/10

Mozy provides space online for you to backup your files. There are two levels of service, for home and business users, plus a completely free offer for home users which provides 2Gb of storage for nothing, forever. The paid home service is cheap in any case, at $5 a month with discounts for longer term payments, and for that you get unlimited space to backup all your precious documents, movies, photos and so forth.

It has some limitations: it's a backup, rather than storage, solution, so it isn't designed to allow you to share your files with others. And transfer speeds are possibly going to be much slower than you would expect, especially if you have a fibre-optic connection and you're running at 15Mb/s or more. Your initial backup, if you're doing the whole system in one go, could last days, or even weeks, though of course that's a one-time episode and subsequently, only files that have changed in the last couple of hours will be backed up. Even so, you might find the low speed irritating. I've read that this and other similar services are generally capped at less than 5mbps, sometimes as low as 1.5mbps, which is impossibly slow for a storage solution but fine if you're running overnight backups. Lastly there is as yet no mobile option, so you can only restore your files to your desktop, but that's likely to change eventually as mobile devices continue to proliferate.

More restrictions may switch in if you're using the service too vigorously, and Mozy reserves the right to curtail your usage if it feels that you're "overusing" the system. It's not clear when this might happen or what the trigger might be, but it's obviously a consequence of the service being cheap, and not intended for constant transfers back and forth. If you're looking for online storage that offers faster and more frequent access to files you use regularly and maybe also need to share, you'll need to look elsewhere.

Mozy is one of the major players in this field, it has been operating successfully for years and it has solid corporate backing. Your files will be encrypted in transmission at the highest possible level, and of course Mozy promises that it won't peek at your content or even consider selling it to anyone else. This, along with the unlimited space on offer, makes it a good business choice too, and so far 50,000 businesses have apparently trusted their sensitive files to Mozy. The business rates, which apply per desktop and per server, are also inexpensive, currently at $3.95 +0.50 cents/Gb and $6.95 +0.50/Gb a month, respectively.

Mozy has recently rolled out a UK and an Irish service too, at the .co.uk and .ie sites, respectively. I don't think it really matters which you use, but if you prefer to have your files stored more locally and to deal in Euros or Sterling, you may want to look at the new options now available.

There is a competing service called Carbonite (www.carbonite.com) which is virtually identical to Mozy, but a touch cheaper with the current promotions. The free offer here is 15 days of unlimited storage, there is no permanent free option, and the fees, which are the same for either home or business users, are for annual or longer periods with no monthly rate available. Both services otherwise offer identical features, as far as I can tell, and both have their fans and critics but both are good options for online backups. Both are suitable for both Windows PC and Mac, so you might want to try each and see which feels easier or more comfortable for you. In any case, it's hard to find an argument against using the free 2 gigs that Mozy is handing out, even if you choose Carbonite for your main backups.

For the average home user, there's no great urgency to try out online or "cloud" storage; both portable and internal hard drives are rapidly growing in size and easily keeping pace with increasing demand. Of course you run the risk of ending up like me, with a desk strewn with USB drives, and I've still not got enough spare space to make a backup copy of anything. If the dog knocks a drive off the table, I risk losing up to a Terabyte of data, but so far I've never got around to looking at a better solution. So I'll probably be giving Mozy's free 2 gigabytes a try now; that'll be plenty to store a backup of my most important documents and images if I can still remember which drive I put them on. I think it has to be worth anyone checking out, while the price is right.

oscarj
83 reviews
762 helpful votes
6/11/08

mozy is the best online back up program out there - It is all about security, if your online back up system doesn't have real security, it is useless. Mozy landed a deal with GE, and so if GE trusts them then so do I. Though I'm sure they are using the pro version. Nevertheless, I use the regular version of mozy and find it easy and keeps me from feeling like the world has ended with the HD fails.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Some time after I reviewed this one I signed up for the free version, and found that if I refer people and they sign up for the free version too, I get an extra 1Gb storage for every two signups and each referred person gets a half gig extra too. That's 2.5Gb free storage each. If anyone is thinking of trying out Mozy anyway and would like to share some extra free storage space with me, please use the following URL: https://mozy.com/?ref=LZ349C

By Chris O.
Questions? Get answers from the Mozy staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Mozy?
Post Review