Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of MapQuest

MapQuest reviews

Is this your business?
154 reviews
80202
no-reply@mapquest.com

154 Reviews From Our Community

Service
1
Value
1
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
1

All Reviews

sharons569
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/20/19

I used to love this site. I would go on my laptop ahead of time to see where I needed to drive to get to a destination. Now there is literally a 2 inch strip of web page to get directions. Get rid of the services on the top of the page - don't care about motels, restaurants, etc - just need to map directions.

colink32
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/20/19

What a HORROR SHOW of bloated idiocy. 233 ads/tracking cookies per page. Bugs flitting up on the screen every time I click the mouse. I hate it. This is just like lean classic Intellicast turning into the new "improved" WeatherUnderground horror show. They just don't care, do they? They just don't care. It is all about monetizing the carcass of previously functional sites.

krish88
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/3/19

Mapquest used to be good - simple, straightforward. Now, can't get past the pop-ups, motel, restaurant, and assorted ads - so crowded with "stuff" and that's on the desktop. It's unusable in its current format.

ck194
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/24/19

It's next to impossible to create and save a map to your account. You can create a trip, but there is no button to just save it as a new map. If you start a new map from scratch, there is no way to go through the directions steps to create it.

lourdesa9
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/23/19

I would use mapquest in the past with little problem but I must have had ad block, without an ad block program it's an ass sore.

davidm783
2 reviews
12 helpful votes
4/7/19

I moved to Raleigh/Durham last September '18. Several people told me wife and I not trust Google Maps in this area. And to always pan out and "SEE" where the planed route is taking you,
Many times it took us on some pretty out of the way routes, and not due accidents.
I will NEVER use Google maps again.

After using MapQuest for 6 weeks now, I have not had a single issue. Plus, I like the time line on top, where it will show how many minutes your are from the destination.
I'd give MapQuest a constellation if I could!. Cheers! David C. Miller

alicer86
1 review
6 helpful votes
4/3/19

I just logged on to your site and I can't believe how you've sold your soul to the world of advertising. It's so bad that it's annoying to use your site for directions. Shame shame shame.... horrible website.

lynnk119
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/19/19

Mapquest used to be the go to for us almost daily. Too many advertising to go thru. If I were Priceline and mapquest l would retool this and fast. I have a good memory for bad sites and this one stinks. Whomever designed this should be fired.

ianl88
1 review
4 helpful votes
3/14/19

I use mapquest daily to map out routes for our technicians here and it is nothing but stupid ads. It takes years to load an address and good luck trying to use mapquest for over 20 minutes, once it hits that threshold it starts loading at -3 FPS and takes legitimately over a minute for ech stop. Not to mention half the ads are directing you to a different map and directions place. What a bunch of dumbasses! i would absolutley NOT RECOMMEND this abhorrent website unless you want viruses and a bad experiecnce.

kenyaa
1 review
6 helpful votes
3/12/19

I use to love mapquest and always used the site for driving directions. Today on the site, I couldn't even find a place to enter my destination address. The main site is so complicated, the destination address field is hidden by icons of hotels, food, coffee, gas, or priceline for airline tickets. The constant pop up of ads and etc is really confusing. The home site is no longer simple or user friendly. I googled simple driving directions and went with a different, less invasive and only giving driving directions site.

staciac2
1 review
6 helpful votes
2/11/19

I was simply trying to look up something for a school and project and every time I tried, Iall I got were freaking hotel ads!!! I will never even try to register to use your service!!! Aweful experience.

toddc142
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/10/19

Pastor Scott Wendal and the members at Valley Forge accepted my family in and have made us a part of the family. The most caring church I know

macd22
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/8/19

Seriously with the pop up ads every 3 seconds! And then the damn sidebar that you can close just keeps popping back out. Dude I closed you a reason I'll open you when I want you! It was like the longest most annoying way to try and get directions.

joycel122
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/8/19

Tried to get directions to place probably less than 10 miles from my home in KCK. I was given directions to first, a totally different address in KCK, and then to an address in Ft. Smith, Arkansas! I'll never waste my time again at this website!

michaelg1053
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/27/18

Absolute worst app form traveling. DO NOT USE unless you have more patience than God. I have to write 100 words to submit so you can stop reading. I believe I got my point across. Please let me know your preferred app like google maps or any other suggestions. Waze is pretty good but I'm still working out the kinks.

billk218
1 review
6 helpful votes
12/20/18

Map Quest use to be very user friendly. Today it's nothing but annoying pop up ads. Go back to the older version.

terryk143
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/29/18

More times than not I try to get direction from one site to another and when you hit Enter to get the printed directions nothing shows up. I've given up on MapQuest. It causes more frustration than anything else.

peggyv22
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/19/18

Can not tolerate this new version, can't see what I'm typing, can't figure it out, nothing but ads, don't want hotel accommodations, just want directions to where I'm going...just discovered Rand McNally, will use Rand McNally.

timothyw105
1 review
5 helpful votes
10/16/18

.Mapquest has deteriorated to the point where it is extremely difficult to use. Too many inane ads that just get in the way. To many mis-readings of the names of the places I wish to see.

davidg944
1 review
7 helpful votes
10/15/18

The design is no longer user friendly, it inundates with unrelated ads, and I choose to go elsewhere for custom trips. Horrendous for travelers, probably good for bottom line-initially. Goodbye MapQuest.

annas167
7 reviews
45 helpful votes
10/15/18

Mapquest is used to be my go-to site for all my mapping needs. This however has changed as now it is extremely difficult to navigate. As if it wasn't enough for them to run huge ads up and down that nearly block the map, thus efficiently defeating the purpose, a huge box pops up asking if I want to run the search again. There is an option to cancel this nonsense but the button doesn't work. This doesn't happen each time but is frustrating when it does happen. Nowadays it's a hit or miss. So I'm switching to Google Maps from now on. Don't waste your time with Mapquest.

jjs29
1 review
6 helpful votes
10/14/18

Mapquest has changed their site and it is now much more difficult to use. If you are looking for directions you must get through the advertisement for hotels.
I use Mapquest daily for our business, but I'm switching to another site.

brianm690
1 review
4 helpful votes
10/14/18

It's a shame when your governance decides to take a useful tool, gets greedy, fills the site with ads and simply ruins the basic functionality of the site. I will never use MapQuest again.

laurad99
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
10/5/18

I have been a long time customer of Public Storage since the 90's when it was Minikahda Mini-Storage; they were bought by Minneapolis Public Storage a couple of years ago. I am currently living in California, and had not been in my storage lockers in Minneapolis for 5 years. When I was recently home, and needing to quickly resolve a situation involving new locks, I was greatly helped by Alexander. I was fortunate that he was at the front desk on the day that I came in. Alexander researched what had happened with my lockers during the new management (a lock had been cut off) . I was very glad to have the mystery sorted out and resolved at that time. Alexander, even while helping other customers at the same time, gave me his full attention and came upstairs with me to my lockers to see what he could do to help. I am very grateful for Alexander's prompt and effective problem-solving!

jourdanc2
1 review
6 helpful votes
10/1/18

Dear God! Used this ONCE on my work computer and afterwards I started getting 22 ad's a day. That is not an exaggeration. I have to clear out 20 to 25 notifications from mapquest DAILY. Viagra ad's with what looks like a picture of a penis on it pops up. It is actually a finger dipped in vaseline for whatever reason. Fake news about Trump meeting with Hitler or whatever pops up. It never ends!!!!!!!! I had to email IT today even after I turned on pop-up blockers to get it off my computer. NEVER AGAIN!!!

12 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I agree with all the negative comments. It was not broken and the best fire the guys you paid to come up with this new format and get back to what you had if you want a webpage at all and followers

By Richard M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the MapQuest staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
MapQuest?
Post Review