Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of MapQuest

MapQuest reviews

Is this your business?
144 reviews
80202
no-reply@mapquest.com

144 Reviews From Our Community

Service
1
Value
1
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
1

All Reviews

staciac2
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/11/19

I was simply trying to look up something for a school and project and every time I tried, Iall I got were freaking hotel ads!!! I will never even try to register to use your service!!! Aweful experience.

toddc142
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/10/19

Pastor Scott Wendal and the members at Valley Forge accepted my family in and have made us a part of the family. The most caring church I know

macd22
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/8/19

Seriously with the pop up ads every 3 seconds! And then the damn sidebar that you can close just keeps popping back out. Dude I closed you a reason I'll open you when I want you! It was like the longest most annoying way to try and get directions.

joycel122
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/8/19

Tried to get directions to place probably less than 10 miles from my home in KCK. I was given directions to first, a totally different address in KCK, and then to an address in Ft. Smith, Arkansas! I'll never waste my time again at this website!

michaelg1053
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/27/18

Absolute worst app form traveling. DO NOT USE unless you have more patience than God. I have to write 100 words to submit so you can stop reading. I believe I got my point across. Please let me know your preferred app like google maps or any other suggestions. Waze is pretty good but I'm still working out the kinks.

billk218
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/20/18

Map Quest use to be very user friendly. Today it's nothing but annoying pop up ads. Go back to the older version.

terryk143
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/29/18

More times than not I try to get direction from one site to another and when you hit Enter to get the printed directions nothing shows up. I've given up on MapQuest. It causes more frustration than anything else.

peggyv22
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/19/18

Can not tolerate this new version, can't see what I'm typing, can't figure it out, nothing but ads, don't want hotel accommodations, just want directions to where I'm going...just discovered Rand McNally, will use Rand McNally.

timothyw105
1 review
4 helpful votes
10/16/18

.Mapquest has deteriorated to the point where it is extremely difficult to use. Too many inane ads that just get in the way. To many mis-readings of the names of the places I wish to see.

davidg944
1 review
5 helpful votes
10/15/18

The design is no longer user friendly, it inundates with unrelated ads, and I choose to go elsewhere for custom trips. Horrendous for travelers, probably good for bottom line-initially. Goodbye MapQuest.

annas167
7 reviews
41 helpful votes
10/15/18

Mapquest is used to be my go-to site for all my mapping needs. This however has changed as now it is extremely difficult to navigate. As if it wasn't enough for them to run huge ads up and down that nearly block the map, thus efficiently defeating the purpose, a huge box pops up asking if I want to run the search again. There is an option to cancel this nonsense but the button doesn't work. This doesn't happen each time but is frustrating when it does happen. Nowadays it's a hit or miss. So I'm switching to Google Maps from now on. Don't waste your time with Mapquest.

jjs29
1 review
4 helpful votes
10/14/18

Mapquest has changed their site and it is now much more difficult to use. If you are looking for directions you must get through the advertisement for hotels.
I use Mapquest daily for our business, but I'm switching to another site.

brianm690
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/14/18

It's a shame when your governance decides to take a useful tool, gets greedy, fills the site with ads and simply ruins the basic functionality of the site. I will never use MapQuest again.

laurad99
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
10/5/18

I have been a long time customer of Public Storage since the 90's when it was Minikahda Mini-Storage; they were bought by Minneapolis Public Storage a couple of years ago. I am currently living in California, and had not been in my storage lockers in Minneapolis for 5 years. When I was recently home, and needing to quickly resolve a situation involving new locks, I was greatly helped by Alexander. I was fortunate that he was at the front desk on the day that I came in. Alexander researched what had happened with my lockers during the new management (a lock had been cut off) . I was very glad to have the mystery sorted out and resolved at that time. Alexander, even while helping other customers at the same time, gave me his full attention and came upstairs with me to my lockers to see what he could do to help. I am very grateful for Alexander's prompt and effective problem-solving!

jourdanc2
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/1/18

Dear God! Used this ONCE on my work computer and afterwards I started getting 22 ad's a day. That is not an exaggeration. I have to clear out 20 to 25 notifications from mapquest DAILY. Viagra ad's with what looks like a picture of a penis on it pops up. It is actually a finger dipped in vaseline for whatever reason. Fake news about Trump meeting with Hitler or whatever pops up. It never ends!!!!!!!! I had to email IT today even after I turned on pop-up blockers to get it off my computer. NEVER AGAIN!!!

philm139
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
9/30/18

As most of the nation knows by now, there is a huge problem with Yelp and the method they use to determine which "reviews" to post. Yelp has an algorithm that favors posting negative reviews and hiding the positive reviews. Well, MapQuest picks up all of Yelps "suggested" reviews. These two companies are ruining the reputations of hard working businesses. Shame on you MapQuest! Either collect reviews from several sources or don't re-post reviews at all! By doing this, you're no better than Yelp!

urm2
1 review
3 helpful votes
9/24/18

Boy do I love all the ads! It's really helpful when they cover the entire map with soooooo many ads! I also LOVE the fact that the ads will reappear after a while! 10/10 would defiantly rate 5 stars

rjn4
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/16/18

$#*! you mapquest vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

janed338
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/11/18

The ads cover the map. The "x" that should have closed the ad just moved it a little. I couldn't get a printed map with the zoom I chose. My choices were a map zoomed out so far that there were no individual streets at all or zoomed in so close it only showed the building at my destination. There are a lot of one-way streets in the area and I need a detailed map. They promised the ads wouldn't print on the directions but they did. I used to love mapquest and used it often but this is crappy! And who's going to patronize companies that advertise in this way. I don't know what HUM is but I'll be sure never to use them!

dont101
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/29/18

bout a ran mcnally much eaiser to use and no fricking adds POS the internet was better 10 years ago now everyone just trying to make an easy buck good luck.

josephd127
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
6/11/18

Yelp just removed a fraudulent review by an imposter Andrew W. from Flint, Michigan. So, Mapquest has now posted the exact same review ! This is abusive and criminal behaviour. Mapquest you are shameless!

herbertb34
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/31/18

I worked on a trip last night and saved it. This morning it is not letting me log on to access. Every time I click log on, it returns to the same page. Too many issues.I'm done. Used to be a great service. Google maps here I come

jimb492
1 review
7 helpful votes
5/15/18

MapQuest "Used to be" an easy and simple tool to find street addresses, get driving directions and that kind of thing. Now, with the new changes, you practically need to be some kind of computer expert to get a simple address!! Change it back to the way it was!!!!!!!!!!

lisak278
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/12/18

We had to change our address on everything, marriage license, driver's licenses, credit cards, EVERYTHING, because Mapquest got our Street name wrong. It's supposed to be NW, but our county made us change it to NE because our 911 system uses Mapquest. All the other mapping systems, Google, Garmin, etc. use our old address. We're ticked.

davidh737
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/2/18

I click on avoid tolls and when it goes to print out it switches to the shortest route even if there are tolls in it.

12 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I agree with all the negative comments. It was not broken and the best fire the guys you paid to come up with this new format and get back to what you had if you want a webpage at all and followers

By Richard M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the MapQuest staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
MapQuest?
Post Review