We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
This website seems to be closed. Find similar businesses
  • Bookmark

    JadeGowns.co.uk

Corporate Values

Overview

JadeGowns.co.uk has a consumer rating of 3.29 stars from 59 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally satisfied with their purchases. JadeGowns.co.uk also ranks 189th among Prom Dresses sites. The most common issues with JadeGowns.co.uk are around returns, which are more complicated than expected by some customers.

See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • And I am very satisfied with it,the material,the color,the fits and the customer service they offered me.
  • I ordered a prom dress for my daughter then started to panic at all the bad reviews.

Critical highlights

  • They just want your money and have no pride in the dress's they make (and I use the term loosely!
  • Customer services say leave email email left .responce sent 3 weeks later saying have a nice day?
How would you rate JadeGowns.co.uk?
Top Positive Review

“My experience of Jadegowns”

Kelly H.
9/21/15

I read all bad reviews of Jadegowns, but fortunately when I received my dress, everything is ok. And I am very satisfied with it, the material, the color, the fits and the customer service they offered me. Please don't pay much attention to the bad reviews, everyone has their own experience, You will be fine if you offered them your exact measurements, the color and your other requirements. I certainly was. Thanks you Jadegowns!

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“WARNING - DO NOT ORDER FROM THEM - RIP OFF MERCHANTS”

Victoria R.
1/18/18

Please learn from my experience. I ordered a dress respite the mixed feedback, and how I regret it. Colour was not what was expected and the measurements were incorrect. Despite their website illustrating they will accept returns and give you refunds - THEY DO NOT. Owner does not want to know, they simply offer you a discount off another order - They have ripped me of £115 - Please do not use them!

See critical reviews

Reviews (59)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

dress (53) customer service (10) 3 weeks (5) prom dress (4)
victoriar55
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 18th, 2018
Please learn from my experience. I ordered a dress respite the mixed feedback, and how I regret it. Colour was not what was expected and the measurements were incorrect. Despite their website illustrating they will accept returns and give you refunds - THEY DO NOT. Owner does not want to know, they simply offer you a discount off another order - They have ripped me of £115 - Please do not use them!
carolem42
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 9th, 2018
Ordered a dress with a jacket the jacket was smaller than the dress so i couldnt wear it. They forgot to add the beading. They must of cut holes out of the lace. The colour was the wrong shade. And they still say the dress fits so wear that. Honestly do not shop here. I am making my experience with them public on facebook so it can be shared to stop other people being conned.
donnas399
1 review
1 helpful vote
May 18th, 2018
AVOID THIS WEBSITE AT ALL COSTS!
Paid £135 for a dress for my sons wedding. It arrived In time I will give them that but absolutely shocked! Nothing as in the picture. Wrong Colour arrived. I ordered silver and received lilac. Incorrect sizing I ordered a UK 18 the bust was 34! Couldnt even get my arms into the sleeves. Shocking workmanship the hem didnt even join up at the seams the lace was sewn up inside too. Reported to Trading Standards they do not have jurisdiction to be able to intervene. They are using designer photos to advertise the dresses but they are made not even close to it... and the workmanship/quality is atrocious. I have now contacted all the Designers like Ronald Joyce etc as per my conversation with Trading Standards because it is a copyright issue and the designer can then take it forward.
I will not see my £135 back but I have learned a huge lesson if the website does not have an address etc although it looks legit its probably a scam.
stephe844
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
May 15th, 2015
Very bad company £115 paid for prom dress
Guess what... No dress delivered
Customer services say leave email email left. Responce sent 3 weeks later saying have a nice day? No response to the contents of my email. Eventually they send an email with a telephone number to call. I call message says this number does not exist. I try live chat they will not discuss tell me to email.
Total waste of time may as well have put our hard earned money down the drain
tiez
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 9th, 2017
I buy a dress in this company to my sister, but when i got the dress, everthing just ok, It's not what i want. Maybe I come to visit the website next day.
juliem234
1 review
1 helpful vote
October 17th, 2017
Ripped me off over £100. Liars and cowboys. Makes me so angry. They need to be shut down. How can they take my money and not deliver my goods. Disgusting.
maddys4
1 review
3 helpful votes
March 3rd, 2016
Wrong dress colour and their policy said full refund and they offered $24 back from a $280 purchase. Worst site ever!
kirstym8
2 reviews
19 helpful votes
January 25th, 2016
Jadegowns was the company who invoiced me when I bought a dress from Shilla.co.uk
The company provided me with a horrible, poor quality dress that looked elegant and pretty on the site. Boy did it look different In real life. Badly fitting with glass and metal embellishments that fall off and patches without any. Shilla.co.uk are being sued for counterfeiting and are linked to Jade gowns.co.uk. If you buy from these companies you do run the risk of losing the money you spend, and if you needed a dress for a special occasion you could well be very disappointed. Steer clear!
sharag1
1 review
3 helpful votes
February 26th, 2016
I brought a wedding dress from this company and payed approx $400. The dress came 3 weeks later than requested and after numerous emails to them. The dress is an absolute joke. It looks nothing like the picture on the Internet. Wrong size and colour. It was also ripped and gad a large whole at the bottom of the dress. I contacted the company and they offered a $25 refund. BE REALLY CAREFUL these people are a bunch of ripoff artists.
stuartl22
1 review
0 helpful votes
October 8th, 2015
I bought a prom gown for my daughter from jade gowns and even though i paid for fast delivery, the dress didn't arrive in time for her prom. When i tried to contact customer services to return it for a full refund they would not accept it and pleaded with me to just keep the dress and help them. I am now £120 pounds out of pocket and stuck with a dress that never got worn. I would think twice before buying from this company. Very disapointed.

Tip for consumers: Use a different company.

sarahb183
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 28th, 2015
The Jadegowns website states that they have a "customer friendly returns policy". My daughter was sent a dress that was too small after sending them the measurements - they got it wrong and made the dress too small. When we enquired about getting a refund they said they would give us $25 when the dress cost over $200.
This is disgusting and definitely not "customer friendly"
I will NEVER buy from them again
amandag60
1 review
8 helpful votes
February 4th, 2016
They just want your money and have no pride in the dress's they make (and I use the term loosely! Or any customer service. The dress is unwearable and they absolutely DID get the measurements WRONG but will not admit it. Upsetting and devastating for me and my daughter as she now has no Year 12 graduation gown to wear. They want another $125 to remake or will only reimburse $25 for a $205 dress.
They do not stand by or honour their own Exchange & Return policy so they are fraudulent and corrupt. We have been scammed and they should not be allowed to continue to trade.
They asked me to take it to a local tailor to see if I could get alterations done!, Its too badly made to be fixed/altered. There is no excess material in the seams - as they promise in their policy, the bust cannot be taken in because of the way it is already made and confirmed my measurements are correct and that they - JADE GOWNS have got the measurements completely wrong. Do not use this site at all. Online shopping in the 21st century should not be at the customers risk. Deplorable service and company.
carolt87
1 review
1 helpful vote
January 26th, 2018
I ordered a 'so called tailor made gown in December and paid an extra £15 for express delivery. The total cost of my order was £135. This is what happened or didn't as the case may be.

Firstly my dress didn't arrive on time and after numerous emails to which I received no reply, I eventually discovered the order was stuck in Toulousse for 10 days as Jade Gowns had not given permission for its release to the UK. SO PAYING FOR EXPRESS DELIVERY DIDNT WORK.

Secondly when the dress arrived it didn't fit and was of poor quality and badly made. I COMPLAINED. I was then asked to send photos of the issues in question, which I duly did., they didn't acknowledge receipt if the photos and It made no difference to their communication which is poor at best. The dress was far too small at the top, far too long, of poor quality material and badly finished. THIS WAS SUPPOSED TO BE MADE TO MY SPECIFIC MEASUREMENTS.

Lastly I received an offer of compensation of 12% of the cost of the dress, no consideration was given for the payment of express delivery... I COMPLAINED, It made no difference, I just kept receiving emails offering me 12% of the cost of the dress. I asked for a return address and a full refund to which they replied that I return would cost me too much to return the item and it may get lost in transit and as the dress was 'tailor made' for me, which is a complete joke, a full refund was not possible.

I am now the proud owner of a dress that I would not insult the charity shop with and am £120 out of pocket.

Please don't be tempted by the lovely photos they post as believe me in my experience you will be very, very disappointed.

THEY SHOULD BE PROSECUTED FOR MISLEADING ADVERTISING.
kerrin10
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
March 20th, 2017
I made an order for this charming wedding dress from clavonna online shop and it had a perfect fitting as if it was tailor made. The floral beads ruffles intrigued me.
maryj132
1 review
1 helpful vote
December 9th, 2015
Don't buy from this shop.
Dress wasn't anything like shown or described on website.
Poor and cheap quality.
Paid for express freight and product arrived 6 days after it was due.
Company refused to give me a refund.
Disgusting.
maigenl
1 review
1 helpful vote
November 7th, 2015
NEVER, buy from this company, JADEGOWNS. They are a nightmare and do not make your order right, then have the nerve to stuff you around with emails after emails. Asking for more money to remake the gown when it is there mistake in the first place. KARMA will catch up with you and even though l won't be there to see it. KARMA will get you!

Tip for consumers: NEVER BUY FROM JADEGOWNS...YOU WILL BE SORRY AND DISAPPOINTED. PLEASE SHUT THIS SITE DOWN.

jenniferm121
1 review
4 helpful votes
June 10th, 2015
I ordered 2 evening gowns worth more than AUS$400. They did not deliver the kind of gowns that are shown in their photos. I emailed them numerous times, but all they said was 'we cannot accept returns, because we cannot re-sell them'. What a joke. Never ever buy any gown online, especially if they do not have any return address, no contact number, and if it appears like they are for China/HK. They are using co.uk, but they are obviously from HK or China, having poor English, though their email replies. Also be warned about other sites like Angela Mall. They look like they have the same owners or manufacturers.
emmaw54
1 review
5 helpful votes
March 28th, 2016
DO NOT BUY FROM THIS SCAM COMPANY! I spent over $500 for 2 dresses that took forever to receive and when I did receive them the dresses were shocking! Really bad quality and workmanship and look nothing like the pictures they advertise. When I contacted customer service they were not interested in helping in anyway basically having the attitude as oh well not our problem now as you have the dresses and have already paid for them even though I sent them photos as they asked on what was wrong with the items. The Dresses were sent back at my own cost to CHINA not Australia as their website suggests you are buying from. From there they said they would only refund half of the cost of the dresses which I waited for but was never done. When followed up again they had gone down to only refunding 10% of the $520. I shop online all the time and have never dealt with such a dodgy unhelpful company in my life.
kellyh81
1 review
2 helpful votes
September 21st, 2015
I read all bad reviews of Jadegowns, but fortunately when I received my dress, everything is ok. And I am very satisfied with it, the material, the color, the fits and the customer service they offered me.
Please don't pay much attention to the bad reviews, everyone has their own experience, You will be fine if you offered them your exact measurements, the color and your other requirements. I certainly was. Thanks you Jadegowns!
ariyannap
1 review
6 helpful votes
April 23rd, 2015
I ordered the "Sweep Train Red Charming Prom Dress" in the colour Watermelon, and what i received was beyond ridiculous... The sleeves are way too short, the beaded cufflinks are absurd, they are not even beads but sequences simply sown onto the dress... it is horrendous. The train is certainly way too long, the dress is about 4 layers too thick, the neckline cut is not even close to the image, and the way it hands off of my shoulders is just displeasing. THE DRESS IS A COMPLETE NIGHTMARE! Do not order from this website. What they are doing is certainly illegal, since they assure "the best quality and precision". I emailed them with complaints and asked for a refund, which I am not going to receive I am sure of it. It is a complete scam and a major rip off, I invested over 100 euros on this dress, and what is not mentioned is 3 weeks after having made the order there will be a text message sent to you which asks for a payment for travel costs, so there goes another 40 euros. This was supposed to be my beautiful, glamorous and stunning prom dress, and what I received will just make me look like a joke... thank you Jade Gowns for being such a disgrace.

Tip for consumers: Do not use this website, it is fake, a scam, and they should be sued, since what they are doing is illegal!!

shamimai
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
January 10th, 2015
STAY AWAY FROM THIS BUSINESS
Previously called Taylor Gowns. 1/10/15
Stay away from this shoddy excuse for a business. This business gave me a horrible experience. When my dress arrived it looked nothing like the picture, it was a horrible pink instead of navy. It was tacky, cheaply made, uncomfortable, absolutely nothing like the picture. "Linda Taylor" refused to refund me and kept offering me amounts such as 20 pounds for tailoring, I refused and then got sick of listening to their rubbish and accepted £50. Worst customer service experience of my life.
amandag75
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
September 13th, 2016
Terrible dress. Suppose to be custom made to body and height. Dress about 4 sizes to big and would fit a. Giant... horrible. Requesting refund from bank
jow21
1 review
2 helpful votes
November 17th, 2015
Dress was actually ok but sizing was wrong and had to be taken in but they charged me twice for same dress and although I had proof they refuse to give me refund and now are ignoring my messages. BAD, BAD BUSINESS!
jayf23
1 review
2 helpful votes
September 20th, 2015
I bought a gown from this site for a wedding. The dress arrived after 3 weeks and it's not even close to what was described online. The measurements are wrong and the quality of the fabric is bad. For what I paid for, it was very cheaply done. I still have the product and they wouldn't let me return it!
robynp7
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 14th, 2016
We have already received the dress. To say we are happy, is an understatement. It is perfect in everyway. Wonderful experience, would certainly recommend Jadegowns. Many thanks for everything

Q&A (6)

Answer:

All I can say is DO NOT BOTHER.! Dress was awful. I payed $360 and they offered me $25 refund which I never got. Bunch of scammers.

By Shara G.
See more answers (4)
Answer:

I have just had to shell out another £120'for a dress u are throwing your money away.

By Steph E.
See more answers (3)

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the JadeGowns.co.uk staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

How do I know I can trust these reviews about JadeGowns.co.uk?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about JadeGowns.co.uk?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business

Related articles and tips

6 Prom Dress Disasters

Prom season is here, and you deserve to look and feel amazing for your big party! Whether you are attending prom for the first... read more