We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
  • Bookmark

    Ic3.gov

Corporate Values

Overview

Ic3.gov has a consumer rating of 1.93 stars from 42 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Ic3.gov ranks 39th among Consumer Protection sites.

  • Service
    5
  • Value
    5
  • Shipping
    4
  • Returns
    4
  • Quality
    5
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 25%
Positive
1
Neutral
0
Negative
3
View ratings trends
See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

No positive highlights yet

Critical highlights

  • It's just submitting a form that in theory a law enforcement agency might look at.
How would you rate Ic3.gov?
Top Positive Review

“Romantic scammer/Apps scammer”

DeMario R.
3/2/21

This is a Big Scam either Romantic Scam/Apps Scam to include (cash app, google pay, clime, zelle, coinflip/Bitcoin apps, and Venmo). Associated numbers are: *******412, *******272, *******611. Please stay away big RED FLAG

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Warning to all”

Aileen S.
12/11/20

Read reviews, not going to bother with a form. But I have all this information of the scammer who robbed me of $450. Bank was no help, paypal managed to refund me $50 of the original $500. The information is some of the emails, names, and numbers this scammer uses.

See critical reviews

Reviews (42)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

law enforcement (3)
aileens30
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 11th, 2020

Read reviews, not going to bother with a form. But I have all this information of the scammer who robbed me of $450. Bank was no help, paypal managed to refund me $50 of the original $500. The information is some of the emails, names, and numbers this scammer uses.

muriels29
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 16th, 2021

Error message on submitting IC3. No place to find assistance. Holding 22 min w/local FBI. Go online!

sondras6
1 review
16 helpful votes
February 8th, 2017

Been approached through Facebook by James Osborn asking for money I'm also working with another woman being scammed by the same person i reached out to her and since three days ago we've been working together. We all need to work on getting these guys. They all have different names and lots of phone numbers. I want to help in anyway possible to catch them. I have receipts for money grams I'm on Facebook inbox me so we can join forces. Sondra S from Connecticut

sueb266
1 review
0 helpful votes
May 7th, 2019

We average between 23-25 fraudulent calls, per day. Sometimes the same caller calls more than once. There are medical, Insurance, educational, banking, Auto repair...
Foreign employees that you cannot understand that keep calling.
These people behind the calls do not know "Please delete" our phone number we tell them, and they keep calling. We have family & friends that we need to talk to.
Thank-you for any help you can give us.

camilled46
1 review
4 helpful votes
October 28th, 2019

This review, but they are taking up a lot of space and a lot of time. Entity IC3 being before the FBI and NCMEC on the IC3 website; IC3 needs to be more respectful, reliable, and trustworthy. Why is a complaint I submit a "complaint referral"?

demarior1
1 review
1 helpful vote
March 2nd, 2021
Verified purchase

This is a Big Scam either Romantic Scam/Apps Scam to include (cash app, google pay, clime, zelle, coinflip/Bitcoin apps, and Venmo). Associated numbers are:
*******412, *******272, *******611. Please stay away big RED FLAG

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
elleryw
6 reviews
26 helpful votes
January 30th, 2015

The name says it, IC3 is one of the best sources to report cyber/internet crimes. In this new day & age, consumers need to be protected from dangerous Ponzi schemes, scammers and identity thieves. This agency is a division of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, so you can feel confident about IC3.

Tip for consumers:
Report any crime you feel is an act of cyber terrorism or scam.

Service
Value
Quality
darrella37
1 review
9 helpful votes
July 17th, 2019

I have filed several complaints with IC3 and I haven't been contacted by them that they have been investigated or turned over to another agency. Am I wasting my time?

pratikg2
1 review
4 helpful votes
March 25th, 2017

I had also sent money from Western Union as same case. And I want to get my money back, I had also contact him in facebook

larryr219
1 review
9 helpful votes
August 28th, 2019

There's no way to follow-up and I've never been contacted. Highly doubtful that anyone reads 99% of these. Sure go ahead and do it but it's really not worth the time, effort and the getting your hopes up.
Typical government BS.

wilmottem
1 review
4 helpful votes
June 24th, 2016

Hello, yes, I would like to see the evolution of the complaint that I filed; I have the number, and password, but I do not know where to go; thank you; complaint Id: I*******559512

*******@yahoo.fr

carlr228
1 review
6 helpful votes
August 19th, 2019

Waste of time filing the form. It takes some effort and time to fill in all the info they ask for, and there is absolutely no follow-up. It's like shouting into a black hole. Might as well not bother wasting your time.

krystleh
4 reviews
9 helpful votes
July 24th, 2019

I should know better by now than to shop as these bootleg online sites. I saw 2 nice affordable wigs that i thought i would like. I finaly get them and its 2 of the same #1 and #2 they look bad. I reach out to customer service like the site says. They reply 2x and when i asked for the return address like they said they would provide, they stop replying. So with that being said dont bother ordering from them the pix did NOT match the items they sent me at all.

Tip for consumers:
dont bother. if the item isnt what you thought they will stop responding to you. What kind of customer service is that ?!!

Products used:
i didnt use anything i sent the items back because they werent what i expected and 1 wasnt 1 that i paid for.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
mitchelll19
6 reviews
9 helpful votes
October 11th, 2018

USE FIREFOX, NOT Safari:
Using Safari 12.0 I was able to fill out the online form--tried TWICE (I was being extorted/blackmailed) but could not submit it. I turned off all my ad blockers and VPN... still could not submit. Called the FBI Sacramento (Roseville, CA.) office-- got no usable suggestions (1)come in waste 2 hrs there and back, (2) call Public Access Line *******324.

Instead I changed to FIREFOX... and that browser allowed me to file the IC3.gov report. I do not expect a reply... nor that anything is done as I was asked only for 3000usd and I did NOT pay it. But I kept the emails should FBI need them.

ronk
138 reviews
1,008 helpful votes
January 4th, 2010

POINT YOUR BROWSER HERE: http://www.ic3.gov/contact/default.aspx
Complaint Referral Form
Internet Crime Complaint Center_(*This is the information you'll find on the ACTUAL report form. This organization is an alliance between the FBI, Better Business Bureau, and The FTC. Very "heavy" group.

Ron*)_Thank you for filing a complaint with the Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3).
Your complaint has been submitted. Once processed by the IC3, you will be sent an email containing your complaint id and password to be used for future contacts with the IC3. This process can take several hours.

The IC3's mission is to serve as a vehicle to receive, develop, and refer criminal complaints regarding the rapidly expanding arena of cyber crime. The IC3 aims to give the victims of cyber crime a convenient and easy-to-use reporting mechanism. If you have comments or problems related to the IC3 website, please contact us.
Complaint Status

The IC3 receives thousands of complaints each month and does not have the resources to respond to inquiries regarding the status of complaints. It is the IC3's intention to review all complaints and refer them to law enforcement and regulatory agencies having jurisdiction. Ultimately, investigation and prosecution are at the discretion of the receiving agencies.
Evidence

It is important that you maintain any evidence you may have relating to your complaint. Evidence may include canceled checks, credit card receipts, phone bills, mailing envelopes, mail receipts, a printed copy of a website, copies of emails, or similar items. Please keep the items in a safe location, in case you are requested to provide them for investigative purposes.

deba39
1 review
15 helpful votes
January 30th, 2017

Submitted complaint 6wk ago and no one has contacted me. I still have an active communication with this man still asking for $$. I don't want to lose him... Need to catch him picking up moneygram

neemas2
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
October 30th, 2016

Cant email the complaints, FBI does not have Fax numbers

jw204
1 review
17 helpful votes
May 10th, 2018

I guess the complaint forms just go into a virtual trash can. No one ever got back to me for any sort of update. I don't expect them to fly to Hong Kong and knock on every door. But an email about the status would help. Thanks for nothing "state and/or federal agencies..." Our tax dollars at work.

bettys17
1 review
9 helpful votes
October 29th, 2014

Monday, Oct 27 2014 someone called me, I couldn't understand her, so a man got on the phone, he wasn' any easier to understand. They spoke like Vietmese. My caller ID showed it was Dave Steffenson # *******050. ( I thought it was a friend from Bloomington MN calling. This guy said I had to pay $399.00 for a license on my computer, and if I didn't I would be committing CyberCrime. I told him I never heard of such a thhing and that I wouldn't pay any money. He kept me on the phone for over an hour and I don't know that much about a computer, but I knew I wasn't going to pay any money. I told him I had to get off the phone because I had a Co. Meeting I had to attend. I finally just hung up on him, which I should've done to begin with.
I did go to the Blaine Police Tues. AM and he told me it was a scam.
The caller was very convincing and no doubt he was able to get some other people to pay the sum he requested. How very terrible!

desw3
1 review
33 helpful votes
June 28th, 2017

Okay, I just wasted time writing to these people, thought I was being helped out but what ive seen so far in the reviews makes me lose hope for the resolve of my complaint.

Still, I thank everyone for their reviews...
Have a nice day ic3

melanier98
1 review
1 helpful vote
October 23rd, 2018

I have spent hours in the last two days trying to file a complaint and there is a glitch in their own system. No wonder all these scammers are getting away with things. Beware bernedoodlespets.com SCAM

elan51
1 review
13 helpful votes
June 13th, 2017

I submitted to IC3 in January 3 complaints about a Nigerian scam with American citizens as mules, and I haven't got for any of them a file number and not any answer. FBI should investigate these cases and catch the criminals. If they don't do this, it means USA is supporting international crime.

brycen4
10 reviews
53 helpful votes
December 2nd, 2018

If filling about a form about a scam makes you feel better, go for it.

There's no clear path for any sort of followup. It's just submitting a form that in theory a law enforcement agency might look at. I found the local law enforcement won't investigate Internet scams at all, they just send you to ic3.gov. Pointless.

herbertm40
1 review
7 helpful votes
May 11th, 2018

Not only is IC3 useless. Now, with the new 2018 tax law changes, I can't even get any tax losses in my tax returns! Something is wrong here.

jeannep14
2 reviews
16 helpful votes
November 9th, 2017

Its useless and scammers are having a field day. I lost everything and heard nothing from IC3 after filing TWICE

Q&A (72)

Answer:

Were you able to get the number? I spent hours filling out the form but it won't file - telling me the Captcha questions needs to be answered but I answered all the questions.

By Lillian A.
Answer:

I filed a IC3 complaint over my older son and I can't find it so it can be reported to the US attorney I have family who did fraud, not myself.

By Michelle G.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Ic3.gov staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Ic3.gov?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Firefox extension

1.9
42 reviews
Have a question about Ic3.gov?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business