We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    Healthful Chat

Corporate Values

Overview

Healthful Chat has a consumer rating of 2.03 stars from 40 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Healthful Chat also ranks 125th among Health Information sites.

  • Service
    1
  • Value
    1
  • Quality
    1
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 18.8%
Positive
3
Neutral
1
Negative
12
View ratings trends

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • Peer support site with over 50 different channels for mental, physical and mental illnesses.

Critical highlights

  • So, bullying does occur among chatters and moderators.
  • One of these disgusting moderators is named "Forever"
How would you rate Healthful Chat?
Top Positive Review

“What a hidden treasure”

Pyramid D.
6/30/20

I was so pleased to come across this free site, where I've made friends and developed acquaintances that understand my heath conditions. This is not professional counselling, but to me, it's even better... it introduces me to people that understand exactly what I'm going through. I can't thank this site enough for everything they and it's kind members have offered me. Thank you.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Not great”

Myriah U.
6/6/20

Though some of the users can be nice the mods tend to be over zealous, there are many things you can't discuss and if you discuss any one topic for too long they'll ask you to stop- and if you don't your banned. This hasn't happended to me but I've seen it with issues about parents, abortion, addiction, LGBT issues. So I would say this service really isn't inclusive and others have highlighted that the mods can and actually do bully.

See critical reviews

Reviews (40)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

chatters (17) moderators (21) people (23) peer support (4) chat rooms (4) mods (8) health issues (3) room assistants (4)
myriahu
1 review
1 helpful vote
June 6th, 2020
Though some of the users can be nice the mods tend to be over zealous, there are many things you can't discuss and if you discuss any one topic for too long they'll ask you to stop- and if you don't your banned. This hasn't happended to me but I've seen it with issues about parents, abortion, addiction, LGBT issues. So I would say this service really isn't inclusive and others have highlighted that the mods can and actually do bully.
vin10
1 review
25 helpful votes
February 19th, 2019
The site is filled with individuals claiming their disorders and whatnot. However, none of them are professional mental health specialists. So, they bring their own ignorance and character faults into the chatroom. The Moderators and Room Assistants show favoritism towards certain long time members and abuse their power in standing against a targeted party. So, bullying does occur among chatters and moderators. I would not support this room. Please seek a licensed professional for mental health concerns.

Tip for consumers: Strongly suggested making formal complaints to the site staff. Now I think nothing may result from it.

mountains1
113 reviews
40 helpful votes
September 27th, 2019
Yes, as you can see I borrowed from Dante Alighieri to emphasize my words of warning to anyone who decides to use Healthful Chat for emotional or social support. I have been a chatter therein for a number of years; I am an educated adult and hold a professional degree and current medical license. At the same time, when I found myself in personal and medical crisis, I looked to this site for camaraderie and as a source for practical tips and pointers. To be clear my role at Healthful chat is that of a chatter; I do not disclose my clinical background. My experience resonates with just about every other reviewer's here: the moderators are unqualified: they have no knowledge of group theory/practice and are woefully uninformed as to clinical issues. While a number of of moderators misuse power in place of wise discretion, other moderators are simply just ignorant, and would have been better off remaining in the role of chatters. As for the chatters themselves, most (in my experience) are people in need of support. However, many chatters end up in the wrong rooms and remain undirected -- often resulting in chaos to the room in which they are misplaced. Admittedly, there are a few so-called "trolls" however, these appear to be former chatters who at some point erupted in frustration, or were falsely accused, and now remain to lick their wounds. Overall, most chatters are human beings in need of fellowship and solace. I remain out of loyalty to a few fellow chatters. However, I strongly issue a cautionary note to those considering using this site: "Buyer beware ... you get what you pay for."
bene53
1 review
22 helpful votes
November 13th, 2018
Moderators there think they are gods and ban people for the most random things, mostly just because they do not agree with them on any subject.

The non-moderator visitors are generally nice people though and make it worthwhile to spend some time there.
chrisj341
1 review
21 helpful votes
March 2nd, 2019
• Updated review
Just a comment on Marie B's review because when I try to leave a comment there it doesn't get posted.
No offence but that post looks like nothing more than a promo for the site because it doesn't address any of the following.
1. It's a UK site so the legal age is 16 but the fact is it should be for 18 yr and older. There's far too much talk about porn as well as other "adult" content subjects.
Keep your kids safe, you don't want them being befriended by men in their 30s and 40s or older.
Moderators agree that 16 is too young for the site.
Protect your children from being exposed to people who could be there to groom them.
2. Typically on about 12-15 of the 50 channels are ever used so if you're looking for support for BDD, Autism, Parenting, Stroke or a bunch of others including fitness then you'll be out of luck because those rooms never have chatters.
3. Well moderated should be defined. For a start, there aren't always moderators on the site so it can't be well moderated if nobody's there to do it.
4. The standard of moderating depends on the moderators personalities and that's a big issue. Some moderators don't get involved unless there are rule breaks but others behave like chatters and then will use their role as a moderator if you disagree with their comments.
5. It's clear some moderators and room assistants have favorites which means it's not done fairly.
6. A lot depends on the which people are on, some people treat it like a social thing and just want to talk about food and movies so if you come in with an eating disorder or bereavement don't expect much compassion or understanding. But if you come on at a different time when some really nice understanding people are there, then you'll get understanding and compassion.
7. It gives company the way that a tv gives company but it doesn't give companionship because that's about a relationship with another person and if you want to invest hours each week building relationships with people over several months then you're likely to get something that looks like companionship.
8. Respect for all is a joke, some people including moderators are respectful and some people including moderators are rude and disrespectful
Just like in real life.
If you're lonely and want a bit of chat it's fine but that's all
February 28th, 2019
• Previous review
If you want trained listeners who can actually give practical support and advice then go to the 7cups chat room site instead of this site.
The title sums it up. Not really support because support depends on who is there and it just seems full of people who want to talk about their sexuality or non binary gender or pizza or gardening.
alib148
4 reviews
8 helpful votes
October 23rd, 2019
You won't get real help here, maybe some sympathy but if you want anything more than breathing techniques for anxiety and sympathy for loss then get professional help.

The moderating is awful.

Sage Aurora and Rosie are the newest recruits to moderating
Rosie is hypocritical and quick to post every rule she can think of without reading what's been said: She will post a rule at a chatter if someone says they don't want to PM but the chatter has asked publicly to PM and so hasn't done anything wrong. She'll post a rule for swearing but will swear herself: she'll tell people not to talk about food because it's "triggering for people with eating disorders" then she'll tell everyone what she'll be eating that day and will repeat this in different rooms like Anxiety, Lounge, PTSD, Motivation. She doesn't like guests and if you're friends with her, she'll let you get away with stuff. Rosie never admits when she is wrong instead she says "let's get back to support" or says she's just got out of bed.

It seems like she must have been trained by Forever because Forever is still up to the same old thing of letting her friends get away with things, targeting guests and being rude to people. Forever's new tactic is to secretly mute and remove chat permission. This basically means she secretly mutes you so you don't know and then she removes chat permissions which mean you cannot change rooms and you cannot use the site, but you still think you're live on the site. Forever does this when you disagree with her not because you break rules. Other moderators have confirmed they use covert bans but mainly on people who are clearly trolling not just because they dislike someone.

Aurora has the same problem as Rosie and doesn't know how to comprehend words on a screen and so just repeats "respect the RAs and respect others or you will be removed". She will say this no matter what the issue is because according to Aurora if you don't agree with her then you are disrespectful.

Sage used to hang out in philosophy and was obnoxious every time he was there, he was so obnoxious that chatters would say "I almost wish Sage was here" whenever a really abusive troll came into the room.
Sage likes to think he's always right and doesn't like to admit when he's wrong even when everyone tells him that he's wrong. Much like Rosie he jumps the gun and doesn't read the whole conversation, instead he just sees the last comment and decides you must be doing something wrong and puts up a rule or mutes or kicks. When he's told to read the whole chat to prove the chatter hasn't done anything wrong, he ignores this.
These guys give moderating a bad name.
To the reviewer Nora's comments about vendettas
Southerngent used to be a moderator and since he quit he goes into anxiety room and has said that as a moderator he wasn't always professional and thinks a lot of chatters are idiots.
If a moderator thinks of chatters as idiots, then they're going to treat them like trash and be unprofessional.
hekel
1 review
8 helpful votes
June 3rd, 2019
Went to this site looking for help about how to manage anxiety and found the anxiety room filled with "regulars" that only talk about movies, music and food. When I complained I was told to join in the conversation about the show Killing Eve in order to distract myself from anxiety. How is that supposed to help me when I have a panic attack?
The room assistant called Rosie was more interested in joining in than getting them to change the subject.
A real let down thanks to selfish chatters who think "distracting" by talking about movies will help you with panic attacks.
If you want to talk about movies with people aged 25-50 who talk like their 15 then this is the place, but if you want help with anxiety, go somewhere else.
ms580
2 reviews
19 helpful votes
April 29th, 2019
Like Emily said the moderator Forever is on a power trip and a complete bully, one of the worst moderators along with CGJ.
She's well over 50yo and you'd think kindness would come with age, but it seems like it's bullying instead. Forever bullies by muting chatters and then keep them muted until she logs off. The other moderators won't unmute you while she's there which means she can keep chatters on mute. While you're on mute she either ignores your messages or just PMs snarky comments like "so how are you?" or "you seem to think you have a lot of fans here" or "not much going on with me". It's part of the bullying to avoid talking about why she muted you and to provoke you. She keeps you on mute and then logs off and you have to wait until another moderator comes on and ask them to unmute you.

The rules about warnings, kicks and bans are supposed to be: 3 warnings then a kick and then 3 kicks and then a ban. But a new moderator rule stated by CGJ who's a bully depending on what day of the week it is, means the moderators can kick or ban you straight away without warning "if they feel like it". Those were his exact words.
This means the site's rules cover any action the moderators and room assistants take, it might as well say "moderators and RAs can mute and kick whenever they "feel" like it and don't need to warn". That's fine when you have trolls coming trying to get nude pics of chatters, but it means that regular chatters can be kicked or banned whenever a moderator "feels" like it, even if it's just for disagreeing with them, which is now what happens.
If that's not rule that encourages bullying, then what is?
jaxk
1 review
13 helpful votes
May 12th, 2019
There are a couple of moderators that are ok, a couple that never seem to do anything and then there's a bunch that should find something else to do.
Not interested in drama so never had a problem with mods, but seen the cause problems with chatters and some clearly got beef with guests.
Mods gang up and they have favorites, Stayathome who is on a "break" from moderating but is still just as snarky and Jameson and Forever too. Recently Forever and Stayathome are like a wrestling tag-team setting chatters up.
Forever and Stayathome actually have ongoing petty arguments with chatters, one time in anxiety they did this with a chatter who's a nurse and basically waited for her to say something about her job and then said stuff like "glad I'm not one of your patients" and then the other said something else and they just kept taking turns in taking shots for over an hour.

Mods are chatters who volunteer for the site. Some mods have mood swings and openly admit to being in bad moods and then start muting and kicking as a way of projecting that bad mood.
If you remember that mods have issues that include personality disorders and depressive disorders, bipolar and adhd then it's not exactly surprising that their behavior can swing so much.
The site could use more mods who are more professional and less personality.
Best advice, avoid the drama and don't let moody mods spoil your time.
kipperg
1 review
15 helpful votes
April 10th, 2019
Moderators are allowed to talk to guests like their dirt. You're allowed to be a guest and if you choose a nickname you're stuck with it and not allowed to change it, so I was just trying to wait until I found one that I wanted to use long-term but instead of being welcomed as a guest I got treated like dirt. I'd get it if I was doing something wrong, but just joining in the anxiety chat was a problem for the moderators and some chatters who gang up on guests. Basically if you're a guest then you have to keep quiet as only nicknames are allowed to chat. Some chatter called Sonzz kept saying "I've got a nickname and I've been here for years, you're just a guest". Anyone would think having your life ruined by health anxiety for years and then getting a nickname and using a support site for years and not getting better was some sort of achievement.

All of this aggro because I said you don't have to be stuck with GAD for life but they all think you're stuck with it forever. How depressing and pessimistic.

There's definitely a guest prejudice at this site, and the moderators are part of the problem because they join in attacking guests saying that most guests are there to troll. Just because I was a guest the moderators Forever and stayathome said
"aren't you brave enough to get a nickname?"
"why come here again and again and not get a nickname?" and
"why are you here hiding behind a guest nick" Obviously "Forever" and "Stayathome78" are their real names that there parents gave them, so they're not "hiding" behind names either, pathetitc.

If they want guests to get nicknames maybe they should try being nicer to them, instead of treating them like dirt.
mk231
2 reviews
23 helpful votes
May 5th, 2019
Supposed to be anxiety support but instead it's anything but that. This is a copy 10 seconds of the anxiety support chat, where there is a moderator participating in the conversation
kath: whats a Honkie ?
AmandaMA: kath the opposite og golliw-g
redwelshy: Racist term
stayathome78: honkie is a pathetic attempt at a racial slur
AmandaMA: kath its a bad word
kath: So its a white person ?
stayathome78: yeah kath
AmandaMA: it doesnt offend me though lol
kath: stayathome78 wow

Someone sent me a private message telling me that stayathome is a moderator and prone to making subtle racist remarks (kinda obvious from his comment that it's a "pathetic attempt at a racial slur". All that was missing was his grading it an F and saying "must try harder".
The private message also said that Amanda likes to repeat any racial slur and pretends she doesn't know what it means and in the past has repeated the question "what is a golliw--"
The whole word was written out in the chatroom, But I'm not writing it out here.

None of this is about anxiety, and I've been there for an hour and seen talk about dropping babies, ending relationships and smoking weed but nothing about anxiety support although someone said they were buying the weed that's a "special anti-anxiety variety" so I guess that kinda relates to anxiety :/
I'll be looking for anxiety support somewhere else.

Q&A (5)

Answer:

Healthful Chat is legit. Many of the negative reviews here are not. The wording and that names have been changed, but reviewed with the same content and on the same day, are indication the same person keeps reviewing. Myself personally am a Healthful Chat chatter who has used the site for several years and been helped by it, rather than a "sponsor" (whatever that is) as I've been accused of here. All the negative reviews are obviously disgruntled chatters who have been asked to follow the rules by moderators and now have a vendetta against the site. Use the site properly and follow the rules, respect the mods and room assistants, and you will get help from Healthful Chat. I see your type in Healthful Chat consistently and what you're doing in this review process is very apparent. I've even seen disgruntled chatters go to reddit and request people to join them in trolling stayathome78, forever and one other moderator. Very pathetic.

By Mikey C.
See more answers (6)
Answer:

Easy to use, friendly and the variety of having numerous subject room.

By Mikey C.
See more answers (4)
Answer:

Many chatters, including room assistants and moderators, have helped me. They've supported me with struggles with my conditions, motivated me to improve my lifestyle, and encouraged me to seek treatment. The Healthfulchat behind the scenes staff went the extra mile to fix a very serious issue I was facing. Very much appreciated!

By S J.
See more answers (3)
Answer:

You're being trolled via the Notice feature in NickServ. Someone does not like you for whatever reason or sees that you will respond to trolling so has chosen to target you. If you don't respond they stop trying and will leave you alone. If you send this to report content or speak to a moderator they will permit a name change for you.Being a victim of trolling is unfortunately a repercussion of using the internet, it is up to you whether or not you want to add fuel to the fire.

By Mikey C.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Healthful Chat staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Peer support health community, including: health chat rooms, mental health chat rooms, heath forums, peer support health social networking

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Healthful Chat?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about Healthful Chat?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business