Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Fotolia

Fotolia reviews

Is this your business?
19 reviews
10003
Tel: +1 (888) 674-2299
enterprise@fotolia.com

19 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

craigc184
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/19/18

So much no, I would not even waste my time for this sentence. I received no decency of written expression in any type of relationship I had with them.

chanteld11
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/15/18

I just love Fotolia.
When I in the past forgot to set my subscription auto renewal off and I requested a refund they assisted me very efficiently.
When I accidentally left my auto refill button on with credits, I know many people do and blame Fotolia, they refunded me.

They are great at customer service and I guess only the rude and sad people write bad reviews, the happy customers have no time to write because they are enjoying life I guess.

christiank42
7 reviews
8 helpful votes
1/6/18

I purchased a quarterly subscription through Fotolia in order to take advantage of their niche of European photographers who haven't signed up at other stock photography websites. I love their dashboards and management tools for my subscription, purchases and light-boxes.

unhappyf1
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/14/17

They billed my card for 2 years, and I didn't even know about this.

They refuse to give refunds for "anything that is older than 3 months", and won't even let you use the credits.

£800 down the drain - don't waste your time, money, and energy. Plenty of significantly better providers out there.

calumc3
8 reviews
22 helpful votes
7/11/17

Scam, be careful. They'll automatically re-charge your credit card & steal your credits. You have to go digging through their 'Account' pages to find their auto-renewal and auto-top up sections, not shown when you start paying them. Their email customer service staff don't apologise for these practices, instead they blame you for not reading their small print. They don't answer questions, but instead send you copy-paste responses, closing your ticket after each and every reply. To add further insult to injury they permanently stop the conversation when they feel like it. Their prices are low, but as always there's a catch. So be super careful if you use them.

jonnyk4
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/18/17

Signed up for monthly subscroption and paid 100 a month for 25 images per month.
During a 4 month period i probably downloaded 20 images in total and had still about 80 images I could download since the unused image downloads rolls over to next month.
After 5 month I stopped my subscription and surprise surprise all imge credits were gone. So basically I paid 500 for 20 images.
Nobody tells you this before and if one ask customer service the talk about a paragraf in a meter long terms....!
Also be ware to cancel subscription 10 days befor renewal date after that you have to wait and of course pay another month before cancelling. (this is totally stupid and one should be able to cancel the day before since we ar not talking about any physical goods - delivery).
Stay away and use another company!

suzannec43
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/5/17

I purchased a digital image from them and was shocked to discover a couple of days later that they have automatically deducted an additional US$14 from me as "credits". Apparently there is an automatic renewal option that is automatically checked when you sign up. I've lodged a complaint and demand for refund and will be following up with paypal. Will see what they do.

bens162
1 review
6 helpful votes
3/2/17

I like many others hadn't realised that credits expire when your package expires, i.e.e you have to keep on paying a monthly fee to get access to the credits you have bought.

When you contact customer services you get a very smug reply pointing to a paragraph in a massive legal disclaimer that states this is the case.

Well done, one-nil to Fotolia and their robust legal agreement but in the process they've forgotten about customer service and lost a customer.

Please don't waste your money.

dasw3
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/15/17

Pro:
The reviewing time is good.

Con:
They drove me mad, because, they refused all my good work and accepted a couple of bad images; This case was the opposite of that from other stock agencies.
This perky procedure led me to the conclusion that, because I dont used the ADOBE products to fotoshop my Images; instead I used other (like GIMP, coreldraw...) they wanted let me know that I need to have better software to succeed

also one of the major contras is that when you have submitted your work you can not change anything (like tags, or to delete the submission...) while your work is in proccess; this is not the case with other stock agencies;

the search algorithym for your Images to be found is very bad, you dont have any chance against the big sellers

also the support is very bad, you're beginning to feel that you have a wall between you and the other side, because there is noone to help you for your case except you are chatting with some guys from bangladesh and they do not know whats about, whether Adobe products or contribution or buying stock, they get confused and so do you as well...

conclusion
fotolia and adobe stock is a big machinery not paying tribute to your talent... except big sellers... so i closed my account... feeling much better with all the other agencies... respecting my work

magdas4
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/27/16

They trick you by recharging your card multiple times if you don't uncheck a small box on the fine print. A purchase of 50 dollars ended up as 520! I had to put a dispute and cancel my credit card to put a stop on the auto refill

susanf74
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/26/16

Before I purchased a photo from Fotolia, I explained I wanted to buy one image ($25 USD) and did not want a subscription. They said that was fine. I paid for the image and downloaded it. They took another $25 USD from my card the following month. I had to cancel my credit card to put a stop to it.
This company is scamming.

moen2
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/22/16

Spoke with Will regarding our account and how I had only downloaded one picture and had purchased 5 photos. I was told to renew my subscription and told me that I can get 9 pictures including the ones that i did not download. I did not want to renew as I did not want to deal with the same issue just wanted to downloaded the 4 pictures that i had paid for. I asked to speak to a manger but was told here was no manager that it was a call center. its so stupid that before when he offered me the deal he mentioned that he can talk to his manager regarding my issue only if i resubscribe. Now they do not have a manager, like do they think us customers are dumb to fall for their tricks. I would not recommend this to anyone as its a waste of your money and time. its a SCAM!!!

maryr128
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/15/15

I called Will with customer service because someone stole my credit card information and made a purchase for $200. After 10 consecutive calls Will kindly told me he would not help me because I was not a customer, the person who used my card illegally was the customer. This is the worst business I have ever had to deal with. This company is nothing but a scam!

joed89
2 reviews
13 helpful votes
10/12/15

They cannot even manage the account creation functionality on their website and the phone number for support only gets you the great information that support is unavailable (Monday, 2 pm...).
This company is as crappy as it gets.

peterp70
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/29/15

I'm glad that we (Lessus Agency) have a Fotolia as a business partner. There never were any problem with payment, downloads or in searching specific photo - great job!

Greetings,
lessus.de

suet20
3 reviews
8 helpful votes
2/2/15

include the really nice stuff, you have to buy extra credits to download those. Thing that drives me crazy about this dumb site is the pop ups on roll over - it's like watching popcorn "pop". I have to shop pictures to complete my projects and after 10 minutes on this site, it's enough to give you a seizure from all the image pop ups. It's terrible! I've complained to them but they're pretty much, that's the way it is.

If you have a choice, the price might be nice but the you end up paying a lot extra with the annoyance factor - I mean a lot, all the artists hate it already. Think when we're up to renew again I'm a big thumbs down on this one.

javif
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
4/21/14

Coolest prices compared to similar sites that charge a lot. Fotolia is great.

vadymd
5 reviews
15 helpful votes
7/30/13

I've tried to buy image here once. -50$. I could not download any file, I could not get a refund. They said it was technical problem. Hope you die, fotolia.

kaig3
1 review
6 helpful votes
4/24/13

I have bought a subscription plan presented in way to download 25 high-res photos in one month. When I proceeded to checkout they asked me to buy credits for about 500USD to be able to download. Scam and total rip-off!

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Fotolia staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Fotolia?
Post Review