Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of DeltaCloseouts

DeltaCloseouts reviews

Is this your business?
23 reviews
Orlando, FL 32817, US
Tel: 877-566-6679
sales@deltacloseouts.com

23 Reviews From Our Community

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
Service
4
Value
3
Shipping
2
Returns
2
Quality
3

All Reviews

ronalda55
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/8/18

Like so many others, I ordered a Canon camera online at an attractive advertised price. I was contacted and advised the camera was backordered and I needed to call and confirm the order. When I called some mention was made of a battery and I foolishly agreed to allow them to include the batteryNO PRICE WAS EVER QUOTED DURING THAT CALL. When I received my camera a few days later, the shipment included items (such as a tripod) that I never ordered, increasing the charge by approximately $80. When I called to complain, I was treated rudely and was told I could return everything at my expense. They refuse to pay return shipping and hit you with an exorbitant restocking fee. These are shysters, pure and simple.

miaj19
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/27/18

I want to give the business absolutely ZERO stars, but I can't. Well, I ordered 2 cameras from their website, and next day, I received an email saying I have to call about the order. I called them, and was told the cameras were not available. Even the guy didn't apologize at all, and said the order was canceled. Horrible.

conradf4
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/19/18

Tried to buy the Nikon L830, my order was confirmed, I received an email slightly later asking to contact a salesperson there personally (cannot remember I ever encountered anything like that before), he informed me that they have oversold their stock and have nothing available. I will have a very unhappy 12 year-old not getting a camera in time for her birthday. There should be an ombudsman available keeping these dubious tradesmen in check.

elainem55
1 review
8 helpful votes
9/29/16

I was just notified by a kind person that I screwed up and gave these thieves a 5 star rating, grief, no its should have been a 1, my mistake. These guys are total thieves. I was told that the Nikon camera that I ordered didn't come with a battery, they included a battery and a charger with the order which brought the cost of the
$ 299 camera to around $ 380!!! I ended up sending it back and paying the 15% restocking fee and some other fee that they charged, ( forgot what they called it, it as about 3 months ago) I just plain didn't want to deal with them anymore, the camera didnt charge, I got ripped off but I just couldn't deal with their nasty attitude again, worst, nastiest company that I've ever dealt with!!!

jamesr218
1 review
7 helpful votes
8/28/16

My Nikon Coolpix L840 sale was comparable to other reviews here.
1. Attempt at buying L830 model resulted in email, then bait-and-switch phone call. The guy claimed L830 was recalled (not true, just discontinued). He tried to sell L840 at higher price than listed on the website. I accepted camera sale at slightly reduced price, and declined battery. The L830 is still listed as available a month later, on the website.
2. Credit card charge was for about $30 more than stated price. Called back. Extra charge brushed off as for "handling" and "insurance", neither charges or amounts mentioned or disclosed at sale.
3. Camera took a week to ship, plus few days to arrive. The shipment did not include the free case mentioned in the website offering. The Nikon box inside had a Nikon tamper seal, so might have come from Nikon. There was no "Quick Start Guide" or warranty card. (No warranty card should have been tipoff to me of reduced 90-day warranty for refurbished.)
4. There was no email with an invoice, as promised. The invoice in the shipment stated Nikon L840 cost $0.00, Shipping/handling/insurance cost $0.00, "Package" (no contents listed) cost $223.95. I didn't buy a "package" with who knows what (baloney?) in it-I could argue my camera cost $0.00!
5. Called Nikon with the camera serial number. It was shipped new 7 months before I bought it, and re-shipped as factory refurbished 2 weeks before I bought it. The web site, under "About us", stated all merchandise is new.
6. I didn't return the camera, due to terms/conditions specifying a huge charge for returning items or cancelling the order.
7. I filed a dispute with the credit card, and suggested the charge be reduced about $84 for selling a 7-month-old used camera (somewhat improved by Nikon's refurbishing), without the case and without the undisclosed extra charges. We'll see what happens.
8. The company has at least 3 names, Deltacloseouts.com, More4LessDigital.com, and "Camera Store" in Brooklyn, New York, the shipper.
9. I should have used a different credit card, that has an option to reject all charges until the option is turned back on. I had a few hours between finding the website review here, and the charge appearing. 20-20 hindsight.

Tip for consumers: Beware of polished and slick deceptive sales tactics. Reject all add-ons.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
cd87
3 reviews
12 helpful votes
5/12/16

Delta closeouts is a 100% SCAM! They get you to order something and then tell you that what you ordered is not available in the US, but they have one that is and of course it's more expensive. I just called to try to speak to Bruce about it and he was very rude, spoke over me and said that if I didn't want the camera to send it back, then he proceeded to hang up on me when I asked to speak to his manager. Do not order from this company!!!

joeb222
1 review
8 helpful votes
5/11/16

5-9-16.. . I ordered a DSLR at a good price for a new old stock item from deltacloseouts.com. I was a bit suspicious as the website did not show the items included in the package and nothing but extended warranties till closing out. Further, I did not receive a conformation email after hitting the order button, I only got a number to call ( ? Bruce ? ) to confirm my order. OK! I called that number and got rude 'Bruce'. This turned out to be a Bait and Switch. The service person talked over me, not really answering my questions or listening to me. I will not deal with them again nor should anyone else.

The gory details up to now, read on if you dare.

SO it turned out the advertised product was not a US version (according to rude-BRUCE) and did not come with a battery, or charger. He kept saying the Case/bag was free. So what, I would said. I was then talked into the US product, a battery ( which should come in the OEM box anyway, a charger which I already have and a 3yr warranty.) After he quoted several prices for all this, reducing the price several times, I was clipped for another $115. YES I should have stopped it right there but I decided to try this anyway. I can always use another battery ( I have several from another camera I have that fit the new camera and two chargers, now I have three chargers and another battery ) PLUS an extra 3YR warranty.
I will let this play out, receive the product AND see if there is a standard Manufactures warranty in the box ( since I opted for the US product. ) Once I receive the product in a few days I'll have that information and I suspect I'll continue this review then.

Bottom line, DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS RETAILER AT ANY COST. They have high pressure and RUDE sales personal and exhibit deceptive sales practices on the web site, making them on the very edge of being legal, gray area advertising.

Stay tuned

Tip for consumers: It maybe worth organizing a class-action lawsuit. So document every communication with this group.

Service
Value
Quality
sherryr20
1 review
9 helpful votes
3/21/16

Placed an order online..got an email from
Bruce asking to confirm order...called. Bruce informs me that I ordered a export camera. Ok when I go to ask questions, Bruce gets snarky with me so I just say to cancel the order. He starts over talking me and when I interrupt he yells at me that the order is cancelled. I say well isn't that a pleasant response. And he proceeds to tell me that I shouldn't talk over him...ok but thinking I'm the customer with the question he should probably listen for the question...just saying. Never ordering from them again...

jackg52
1 review
8 helpful votes
2/15/16

Found a good deal, lower than any other site so I placed the order for a camera and got the email that everyone is writing about from Jerry saying call. I called and said NO to the battery question and he then said, they should have it the next day. I called the next day and Jerry said it was back ordered till Feb 14 (Sun.). Called Feb 15 and still back ordered so I cancelled my order. I think that if you do not order the battery that the camera you want does not exist or wont exist. PLEASE AVOID THIS PLACE!!!!!! (order was placed 1/9/16 online)

johnp190
19 reviews
17 helpful votes
1/25/16

Nasty customer service personnel. Their Web site makes you think you're getting a new camera when they supply something refurbished. When you order, they call you back telling you that you have to buy a battery and other things that should come with a new camera.

brig84
1 review
17 helpful votes
1/18/16

I ordered a Nikon COOLPIX AW130 waterproof Digital Camera (blue) from DeltaCloseouts.com for $228 on 1/09/16. There was no description of what came with the camera, but did suggest additional items to buy for it. My order included a free camera case and free shipping. I did not receive a confirmation email.

I received an email on 1/11/16 with a request to call "Jerry" to confirm the order. I called the number and got a hold of Jerry he told me that he needed the security code from my credit card because I had entered the 3-digit code wrong. I had questioned him multiple times as to why he needed it, but he insisted. He then told me that I had forgotten to purchase a battery for the camera. I questioned him again why I needed a battery for a camera if it was new because they always come with batteries, but I bought the battery despite my instinct telling me not to. He told me that I would receive an invoice confirmation by email, but I never received it.

I received the camera on 1/18/16 and I had noticed that the camera was not the right color. I looked at the invoice that was in the package and at the bottom of it states their company policies. The very last one states, we do not under any circumstances specify colors or the items being purchased, if we do not have a specific color available we will ship out same model camera, alternative color. I called Jerry and complained to him and he tried to transfer me over to talk to customer service, but said that customer service was down and to call back in 15 to 20 minutes. I called customer service and explained that I had not received an invoice by email and their privacy policy and terms and conditions on their website does not mention this company policy and got very defensive and rude to me saying that in fact it is stated on the website. I said that I wanted the color that I ordered or I wanted to return the camera, which he then told me that I would have to pay a minimum restocking fee of 15%. I then hung up on him because I was so mad. I paid $318.95 for the wrong colored camera and a battery that should have been included. The charge on the credit card appeared under More4LessDigit00.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
geraldd14
1 review
17 helpful votes
1/5/16

Total scam and ripoff -- all these reviews are right on -- I'm going to figure out how to put these guys out of business

tg38
1 review
13 helpful votes
1/4/16

Ordered camera, week later asked to confirm when I already thought it was on it's way, called multiple times weeks before xmas, was told it would be here before, finally went to Target to get it!! Camera arrived on 12/29, well after Santa's visit to my 11 year old. Once the camera arrived, we were able to see that it wasn't sent to UPS until 12/23! We ordered it online on 12/7! Stay away from this company, and Jerry, or whomever he is really?

bradleys49
1 review
27 helpful votes
12/22/15

Delta closeouts will advertise a low and attractive price. You will fall for it...order it...and give your credit card information. You will then receive an email in which Jerry will tell you that he "is missing your three digit code from the back of your card" and that you need to call. When you call...he will act like he has your best interest in mind and will tell you that you forgot a battery. You will buy the battery...which he will tell you is $29.99. When you get your receipt... It will NOT be itemized but will be expensive. When you call to get an itemization... They will tell you that the camera was the price that you agreed upon. They will then tell you that the battery was $80 and that you were never told differently. Research on that battery pack will lead you to find it for $10.99. Yes...$10.99. They charge $80. If you want to return it, they charge a restocking fee of %15. They are argumentative and rude and tale no accountability. DO NOT BUY FROM THEM. EVER.

josieh3
2 reviews
30 helpful votes
11/28/15

Bait and switch, overcharged
11/21/15 Ordered a Canon Powershot on DeltaCloseout.Com for advertised price of $189. Did not get a confirmation email or anything. Got an email on 11/23 with a request to call "Jerry" to confirm order. After several attempts to call I eventually got "Jerry" on the phone and he confirmed the order but said the camera came without a battery and sold me a additional five hour battery for $29. Total would come to $219. I gave verbal permission to complete the order stating I wanted a invoice confirmation by email. Never received it.
I then started doing research on the company (which I should have done beforehand and also should have trusted my instinct and not proceeded with the purchase) and find prior scams. Called "Jerry " back and questioned him about lack of invoice etc, he became rude and defensive. Told him I wanted to cancel the order, he stated the order was already processed. I called credit card company, find out I was charged $270.40. Called Jerry back and he was not helpful, claimed he couldn't access my account and to call customer service # which I did, which resulted in being routed to Jerry and he claimed customer service was open next Monday ( this by now being Black Friday which according to Jerry caused him to be too busy to address the issue and besides according to Jerry it was a 'national holiday')
The charge on the credit card appeared under More4LessDigital.com which turns out to be the same outfit with a different name and a different online store front.
I am currently disputing the charge through my credit card company

arturog12
1 review
19 helpful votes
11/27/15

I was shopping for a cannon 7d and found the best deal at delta close outs, I called them to see if they were for real, and the person said if you don't want to shop with us than don't and hung up on me, so I looked for reviews and found nothing but negative reviews. Thank goodness for reviews!!!

kr2540
1 review
37 helpful votes
11/16/15

I wrote a review describing my experience with Delta Closeouts a few weeks ago. Here's the update: it has taken weeks to get the refund from these crooks. I sent the camera back and it was signed for on 11/23. After a few days, I finally reached "Jerry" (who also goes by Peter and Leon--same accent, same rude behavior). He told me that I would have to forfeit a 15% "restocking fee" and pay the shipping costs. I protested the restocking and shipping charges, (since they sent a refurbished camera instead of the new camera advertised) but as I was also out $389 for a $209 camera (original cost on the website for the Coolpix that I ordered), there was no point in arguing with him.

On Black Friday there was no answer at any of the many company phone numbers (Allstate Cameras and/or Delta Closeouts)). Finally, on Monday, Nov 30 my husband got Peter (Jerry) on the phone. It took two hours of calling on three different phones, and being on hold for a long time. It seems that Jerry/Peter has ID-ed the incoming numbers of problem customers and avoids them. Eventually when we did get someone, we were redirected to a Customer Service Department and there was Jerry/Peter on the other end. He told me that the company policy (no where to be found) is that refunds take from 10-14 BUSINESS days! He then counted down from the 24th ("Frank" signed for the camera there on the 23rd, but that didn't seem to matter to Jerry/Peter) and told me that the refund would be processed on Friday, December 4. Yesterday my husband called again (took hours to get a body on the phone), got Jerry/Peter as usual, and was provided a Transaction number indicating that the refund had been made.

Today is Tuesday, December 8th. The refund appeared in my account today, this morning. Not Friday, not over the weekend, not yesterday. This is 16 days from the date the package was signed for--with the appropriate Return Authorization Number issued by Jerry/Peter.

Of note: there was no deduction for the "restocking fee" and no deduction for any shipping fees. The entire $389 was returned to my account (I'd paid with my debit card, thank God... no having to deal with the credit card company and no access to my credit by Jerry/Peter).

For anyone else who has had to fight with this fraudulent company, I suggest nonstop calls, emails and explanations to this creep that you will take the matter to the NY State Consumer Protection authority, to the NY State Attorney General's Office, etc. Jerry/Peter is rude, condescending and nasty, but he is not stupid. He certainly understands that the state can take serious actions against his scam enterprise.

Good luck!

annah78
1 review
22 helpful votes
11/3/15

First you have to confirm your order and they want more money when you call. When I refused I was charged a cancelation fee the yelled at. YES YELLED AT over the phone. If you are looking for a quality item that isn't a scam this is not the company for you.

denises49
1 review
19 helpful votes
10/15/15

I SO wish I had read the reviews BEFORE placing my order!!
my $149 camera ended up costing me $218!!
First off, they MAKE you call them, before they will process your order. You get nowhere trying to email them asking why you need to call. So when I did call I was told the battery was not included...not true, any other website, the battery IS included....so I forked out an additional $29.99 for a battery...my second mistake...the first one was ordering from them to begin with!!!
Delta Closeouts even makes it impossible to return anything. Once you open the box and return it, you can only make an exchange...so I thought ok...I'll refuse shipment..when they come to the door today, I will just tell them to take it back.. but then you are charged so much for return to stock fees, plus the additional $15 refusal fee, minus shipping....
I am so angry right now,,, I wish I could swear...I guess I just have to chalk it up to a very expensive lesson learned... NEVER order from a place before reading reviews...AND if you place an order, and they ask you to call them, BEWARE AND CANCEL YOUR ORDER>>>>

dwaynem22
1 review
18 helpful votes
9/29/15

I wish I would have read the reviews first. Its been over a week since I order from DetaCoseouts.com I had to call to get a confermation email. However, I have not gotten any information on shipping. So I called, got a recording the they are close until October 7, I will contact my Credit card company to see if I can stop Payment. Cheaper is not always better

barryw24
2 reviews
20 helpful votes
9/17/15

I ordered a $350 camera from them. As with others, the next day they sent an e-mail asking me to call to confirm that it was me placing the order. When I call I get a very rude man speaking broken English saying that I would need to pay another $90 to get the battery and charger for this camera. Kept having to have him repeat what he was saying to finally figure it out. He got very upset that I couldn't understand him. I said I would think about it and get back to them. Did some research and read what people were saying about them doing this. I called the next day to cancel the order. Foreign guy says it was already shipped. I received the camera including the battery and charger without paying any additional $90. Was all a scam to try to get more money out of me. Very shady company.

teev1
3 reviews
43 helpful votes
8/21/15

I had a negative experience with DeltaCloseouts as well. Ordered NEW Nikon camera...a day later, email to call them because something was 'an issue' with my order (missing code from credit card...total lie) And while they had me on the phone said that the camera I ordered didn't include the battery that I can buy from them for "only $29.99") I smelled a scam since every other site lists this camera as including battery and I said as much to the (rude) sales rep on the phone. He got all indignant and said 'Fine, we'll cancel your order' to which I said that was what I wanted anyway. I was ticked off so I called back to sales manager and relayed my story...but the sales manager just told me 'so what?' and blew it off. I had to contact them a day later to request an email confirmation of the order being cancelled. I was so glad I did, because then I started hearing about other buys being scammed by them, even though their negative reviews were not showing up on the site I found them at in the first place (RateRetailers.com). I reposted mine again three times and yet, it's still not there. I emailed RateRetailers.com about the issue twice and they haven't responded at all, which makes me wonder about them being a crooked organization (or perhaps run by Delta Closeouts???). I'm trying to get the word out about them from any other site that I can..which is why I'm posting this here.

Tip for consumers: Avoid these guys like the plague...they are crooks and scammers.

Service
georges130
1 review
24 helpful votes
7/17/15

This is a typical "bait and switch" business. If you order a listed item, you are requested to call and verify your order. You are then told you ordered the "overseas" model which does not have all the features of the "US" model. For another $150.00 or so, you can get the "US" model.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

The reasons for negative reviews are because some of us that experienced over-the-top poor service (or outright scams), have taken the time to report these guys in the hopes that other consumers wouldn't have to go through the same experience. They won't answer questions with the truth...they are crooks, who are only out to scam people out of money. I've reported them to the Better Business Bureau and on every consumer site I could find. But if buyers don't thorough research them before making a purchase, they can still make their money.

By Tee V.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

The reasons for negative reviews are because some of us that experienced over-the-top poor service (or outright scams), have taken the time to report these guys in the hopes that other consumers wouldn't have to go through the same experience. They won't answer questions with the truth...they are crooks, who are only out to scam people out of money. I've reported them to the Better Business Bureau and on every consumer site I could find. But if buyers don't thorough research them before making a purchase, they can still make their money.

By Tee V.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

It's been 4 months since your question so I'm curious about whether or not you were able to cancel your order or if you were fortunate enough to actually get what your ordered? Thank you!

By Tee V.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I don't know the answer to your question but can only warn you not to purchase anything from this company. The negative reviews here for them are only a small portion of all the customers of them that they have duped.

By Tee V.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the DeltaCloseouts staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
DeltaCloseouts?
Post Review