Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of BareNecessities

BareNecessities reviews

21 reviews
90 Northfield Avenue
Edison, N.J. 08837-3807, US
Tel: 1.877.728.9272
info@barenecessities.com

21 Reviews From Our Community

Service
2
Value
1
Shipping
2
Returns
2
Quality
1

All Reviews

renatas9
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/21/19

The return/exchange process is super ridiculous. Takes 15 days for this delay I will not shop here again.

anjuliet
14 reviews
5 helpful votes
1/12/19

I had ordered bras online before and had a bad experience. I was skeptical, but this site was amazing. I ordered 2 bras and they arrived in about a week. The fit was perfect. I liked them so much I ordered 2 more and some underwear. I also received this order promptly and the quality was just as good. I love this site and will definitely be using it again.

Response from Tracy F., BareNecessities Representative
Hi Anjulie -

Thank you so much for providing this positive feedback of your recent experience at Bare Necessities! We are thrilled to hear that you were satisfied with the items that you purchased, and that you were pleased with the quality of the products that you had selected. Providing outstanding service to each and every one of our customers is our top priority, and nothing makes us happier than hearing from customers who love our site and plan to shop with us again. Please feel free to call one of our amBRAssadors at any time for expert style and fit knowledge at 1-877-728-9272, or visit www.barenecessities.com to chat with one of our representatives. We are grateful for your loyal patronage, and hope to have the pleasure of assisting you with your intimate apparel needs again in the near future!
jenniferm777
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
12/6/18

Awful company and customer service. Ordered leggings two weeks ago and still haven't received them. Had to send 3 emails and call. When I called, I was told my the woman that "I'm not qualified to help you." Are you kidding me???? She then said they don't know where the pants are!

Now I have to dispute with my credit card company. I will never buy from here again!!!

Response from Tracy F., BareNecessities Representative
Hi Jennifer -
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you encountered when attempting to place an order for leggings on our site. I am so sorry to hear that your inquiries were not responded to in a timely manner, since our Customer Service Team generally replies instantly to every e-mail received during business hours. All of our associates are qualified to help you, so if you spoke with someone who stated otherwise, I'm concerned that maybe you didn't actually reach our Customer Service Department. I hope that if you need any further assistance with your order, you will call our Customer Service Department at 1-877-728-9272 or use our Chat feature that is available on our site. We would appreciate the opportunity to rectify any issue that occurred with your recent order, and hope that you will return to barenecessities.com so that we can make every effort to fulfill your intimate apparel needs in the prompt and courteous manner that we strive to provide to each and every customer.
danit16
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
7/30/18

I was really happy with the selection and quality of the bathing suits here. I ordered two pieces and ended up returning one (not because of any quality issues) and the customer service help with the return and refund was great.

Response from Tracy F., BareNecessities Representative
Hi Dani -
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you were happy with the merchandise you purchased on our site. It is of paramount importance to us to provide superior customer service to each and every customer that visits our site, and I hope you will return to www.barenecessities.com in the near future so that we may again have the pleasure of assisting you with your swimwear or intimate apparel needs. Our Customer Service Department is available any time you need assistance and can be reached via phone at 1-877-728-9272 or using our Chat feature that is available on our site.
kellyz9
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
10/2/17

I ordered some bras from there will likely be the last time ever. One fit and the other did not fit at all so I have to return the one that doesn't fit. They are apparently going to not refund me the 6.95 for shipping on the item which is absurd for an American company now days. I have to wonder if the same were to apply to not use their label and send it snail mail for about $4 so I'd still be out money on it. I think from now on I'll just order from the actual bra maker in Europe.

justinp56
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/18/17

Descent website. Horrible shipping. They gladly state it can up to three business days to ship an order. Most companies can have an order delivered in that time. Subpar for ecommerce

debir6
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/8/17

BareNecessities is a great place to buy your unmentionables from! I have ordered all my bras, undies and pajamas from them for several years. They have great service In-cluding returns and exchanges for me. I would give them an A+ for their customer service. When it comes to undies and bras this is the place to shop!!! Debi Reisinger

Response from Tracy F., BareNecessities Representative
Hi Debi,

We are so glad to hear that you love Bare Necessities. We truly strive to make everyone's experience a memorable one!!

We hope you have an amazing day. Thank you for your business!

The Team at Bare Necessities
tanyad19
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/31/17

I placed an order on March 16 for 2 bras. I paid for the extra few dollars for shipping. I received them on March 20, but one of the bras was the wrong size. I returned the bra on March 21, marked up the receipt for exchange. On March 30 I received an email saying that I have been 88 and then will be charged when the new one shipped. Well, I've been charged the 88 when nothing has shipped (says it won't ship until April 5) and no credit has appeared. I spoke to the customer service rep and she informed me that I reordered it the day I called to ask questions about the exchange, March 20, which I clearly did not or I woul have the bra by now. When I asked to talk to a manager or supervisor, she said no one was available to speak to and that was it. All she could do was escalate the problem. So, at this point, little over 2 weeks later, I don't have the right bra and have been doubled charged for it. Horrible horrible customer service and shipping. I stopped using BN a few years ago because of this same problem. I was hoping it was fixed. Apparently it's still the same terrible service. I will never buy from this company again and will be sure to leave this review everywhere I can.

Response from Tracy F., BareNecessities Representative
Hi Tanya,

I am so sorry that you did not have an amazing experience with Bare Necessities. Our exchanges are done in a two part process. First we refund you for the item that you are returning and them recharge you for the new item going out. I have reached out to you via phone with no success and sent you an e-mail. I look forward to turning this experience around for you. We truly strive to ensure that all of our customers have a wonderful experience. I look forward to assisting you with this matter.

Mette
Customer Service Supervisor
Bare Necessities
miacovou@barenecessities.com
lesliev11
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/28/17

they shipped me the wrong item and then tells me they will wave the return shipping of $6.95 what kind of business is this very bad customer service and then wants to charge me for the correct item the same day i received the wrong one.

Response from Tracy F., BareNecessities Representative
Hi Leslie,

I am so sorry that you did not receive the correct item. I would love to help you have an outstanding customer service experience.
Please call 877-728-9272, press option 4 and ask for me directly.

Mette
Customer Service Supervisor
miacovou@barenecessities.com
jessiem69
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
3/26/17

I will never buy from them again. I received an ill fitting bra of poor quality. I could have bought 2 better bras at target with no shipping costs for the price I paid for their poor excuse for a bra with no support. It was no where near true to size but I, the customer, have to pay to return it. I've actually lost money trying this company out. never again! Don't buy from them. It's not worth it. Go somewhere else.

Response to BN:
I know my bra size. I actually ordered a smaller bra because customers said the cup ran larger than a true size. The cup was still too big. It had no padding at all and no support. What kind of strapless bra has no push up, no support, and no padding? It was a cheaply made bra and I will not be giving your company a second chance because if I don't like the bra, I'll have to pay again for shipping to exchange it. Stop charging customers for shipping to exchange their merchandise and maybe then I'll give you another chance.

Response from Tracy F., BareNecessities Representative
Hi Jessie,

I am so sorry that you were not happy with the bras you purchased from our website. We are a retailer of many brands and I am a product expert. I would love to help you find the perfect fit in the perfect bra. I hope that you will allow me the opportunity to help you.
Please call me at 877-728-9272 and press option 4 when prompted and ask for me.

Mette
Customer Service Supervisor
miacovou@barenecessities.com
sandrad77
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/13/17

I've ordered at least 4 different times within a 30 day time span. Shipping and delivery takes forever! I've returned one garment using my own FedEx account for shipping. Make sure you read their return/exchange policy. I have found their exchange system is lousy. I made a purchase via Gift Card however I was unhappy with the garment and returned it. The exchange was more than the original item. They would not permit me to pay the difference with another form of payment which did not make sense to me. So now I have to wait for the purchase amount to be returned to the Gift Card or select something at the original price point. I decided for a full refund (glad I kept the gift card) and will spend my money elsewhere. BARE NECESSITIES will never get my business again.

xxxx21
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/29/16

I ordered for a gift giving enough time to be early. They said up to 9 business days. Still an empty mail box. I will deal with them through my credit card co if the parcel is not delivered on the 11 business day. 1st time and last time to do any business with this co.

Response from Tracy F., BareNecessities Representative
Hi There,

I'm so sorry to hear that you have not received your package yet. Please call our customer service department so that we can look into what happened to your order.
Please call 877-728-9272 and press option 4 when prompted.

Kindest Regards,

Mette
Customer Service Supervisor
ashlynb3
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/7/16

Ordered a MONTH ago. Had to do an exchange for size (which they charge for). Sent exchange back on 2/17. STILL Not here. Order has been delayed THREE TIMES. They use FedEx Smartpost which is basically the slowest possible way to ship something so - there you go. Tracking info reveals my parcel sitting in various cities for days at a time. Reached out to CS to get some help and they stopped responding after sending a mildly generic 1st email saying they could offer me free shipping on my next return. Not helpful at all. I would never refer anybody to this website. Order somewhere else - seriously.

Tip for consumers: Don't - just don't.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Response from Tracy F., BareNecessities Representative
Hi Ashlyn,
Thank you so much for your feedback. I have responded to you via Trust Pilot but will just restate that you can reach out to me directly at 732-902-5092. I will be more than happy to refund you for the merchandise that you have sent back. I sincerely apologize for all the aggravation this has caused you. We truly pride ourselves in providing outstanding customer service.

Kindest Regards,

Mette
jenniferh159
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/13/16

I ordered $80.00 worth of merchandise, including 3 pairs of briefs. They shipped the 3 pairs of briefs in 2 different sizes, none of which was the one I ordered. Of the 2 bras I ordered, one was the wrong model. They are actually charging me $6.95 for a "convenience fee" to return the merchandise, as well as shopping! I won't be buying from this company again.

Response from Tracy F., BareNecessities Representative
Hi Jennifer,

Thank you so much for your feed back. If you could please reach out to me directly, I would really appreciate it. You should not have had to pay for return shipping since the error fell on Bare Necessities. I would be more than happy to refund you for the return shipping that you paid. Please call me directly at 732-902-5092.

Kindest Regards,

Mette
jessicav19
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
1/4/16

I placed an order for around $70 on December 14, 2015. The tracking information updated on December 22, 2015 to say it had been delivered. I was surprised, because I was initially really unhappy to find out that they'd shipped my order FedEx SmartPost.

This usually means I'm going to be severely annoyed by the time I get my package. I don't see the point of SmartPost, the service is horrible and its basically USPS shipping anyway, so just take the stupid box to the post office! Anyway, I waited until the next day thinking maybe a neighbor had gotten it or it would show up the next day, but it wasn't there when I got home so I called the customer service line.

The rep acted like she didn't believe me when I said it wasn't there, and after I finally assured her that I had waited a reasonable amount of time, had checked with my neighbors and all that, she opened an "investigation."

I never did get any more information about who was investigating, but it seemed like it was maybe FedEx, since they said it would take 8 business days to get a response. Seriously? At least a week and a half before I am supposed to hear anything?

So I waited like a week and emailed hoping something had been updated, but didn't get a response until I called (after the 24 hours they said it would take someone to email me back, btw) and asked if there were any updates to the status of my order. I was put off again, with the added bonus of the rep giving me the impression she thought I couldn't count, I assume because it hadn't been 8 business days yet.

They said "up to" 8 business days, sorry for bothering you by asking for an update! Geeze, I'm so demanding. This was like 7 days after I first called, but it had only been 4 business days. I never got a response to the email, but to be fair maybe they updated my ticket when I spoke to a rep on the phone.

That was last week, and I still haven't heard anything. Because of the holidays, they still have 2 of their ridiculous 8 business days to get in touch with me, but they have absolutely lost a customer. If the problem is that it takes their shipping service 8 days to figure out where a package is gone, I think they have bigger issues as a company than one lost order.

I will NEVER order from Bare Necessities again, and I'm absolutely going to bring it up in every conversation I have about ordering women's clothes online. It should NOT take 12 days (and counting, because they still haven't done ANYTHING), to resolve an issue like this. I foresee a Paypal dispute in my future, which is about as exciting as the prospect of dental surgery.

Tip for consumers: Don't. If everything goes well you may have gotten a good deal. If you have a problem, just forget about it.

Service
Shipping
Returns
keris
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
7/17/15

Everything fit as expected and the shipping was very fast!

kimc60
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
10/27/14

I previously rated this company 5 stars, however, 3 months later the mesh on the bra ripped. I contacted customer service via email with a picture. I received a reply telling me that I'd be able to exchange it, and I should call. I called this morning and was disconnected, which was frustrating. I called back later, explained the situation to Toun. She advised me that I would have to buy another since it's passed 60 days. I'm now waiting to hear from customer service, hopefully by Monday, Toun told me. They aren't there because of the weather. I have to wear that bra. No stars because of the complete aggravation experienced from the beginning. Jonte and Dana still get 5 stars for being great.

noras15
4 reviews
20 helpful votes
9/24/13

My only complaint is that they ship it to you for $5, but if you want to return it, they deduct $6.95 off your credit. Not cool! I hate it when companies do that! Now i'm $11.95 short and nothing to show for it. Threw money out of the window!

jackiem21
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/23/13

Products didn't fit. Material was cheap. (how can u claim to cater to well endowded women with cheap products). Sent it back last week on Wed and it's STILL supposedly sitting in a warehouse 5 mins away from my house. Called CS. the lady said her name was sheena. Sheena was very rude and doesnt know what shes talking about hung up on me. Tiffany (if thats her real name) said theres no one by that name at the company and I have to wait 3 THREE FREAKIN WEEKS to return the product and get a refund of the cheaply made flimsy products. i am so sorry i ever dealt with this horrible company.

melissaa3
4 reviews
7 helpful votes
3/3/12

Bare necessities offers excellent prices, prompt, reasonably priced shipping and great communication. I have been purchasing from the site for 4 years on a bi-monthly basis and never experienced an issue. I recommend the site on a regular basis.

tracye1
54 reviews
143 helpful votes
8/11/10

Excellent website with name brands of lingerie and undergarments.

I have used this site many times with zero problems. I often find a favorite brand or style and found it at Bare Necessities for less than the cost at a local store. Sign up for the email notifications because they contain a lot of sale notifications and discounts.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

All of the products sold on Bare Necessities are direct from the manufacturer. Every single item we sell is legitimate and we do not ever sell knock-offs of any kind. Occasionally there are differences in product quality when a particular manufacturer makes modifications to the product specifications, but that would be due to the production of the garment, and not be attributed to purchasing from this reputable site. We are the largest online retailer of intimate apparel, and take great pride in consistently offering high-quality merchandise to our customers at an excellent value while providing superior customer service in each and every transaction. We hope to have the pleasure of assisting you with your intimate apparel needs in the near future!

By Tracy F., BareNecessities Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the BareNecessities staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
BareNecessities?
Post Review