We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
  • Bookmark

    Argos

Corporate Values

Overview

Argos has a consumer rating of 2.35 stars from 65 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Consumers complaining about Argos most frequently mention customer service and head office problems. Argos ranks 148th among Electronics sites.

  • Service
    7
  • Value
    7
  • Shipping
    6
  • Returns
    4
  • Quality
    7
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 8.3%
Positive
2
Neutral
0
Negative
22
View ratings trends
2
See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

No positive highlights yet

Critical highlights

  • No customer service no compassion and blatant disregard for the Law.
How would you rate Argos?
Top Positive Review

“Reliable and trustworthy”

Lyndsay W.
5/15/20

Always a pleasure to purchase from argos my. Order always comes with a delivery slot, clear. Communication and items always of great quality.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Help please Argos”

Diane N.
6/28/20

Monday 8 June you delivered me a Normandy 5 draw chest. In final assembly we realised that the top had "drop" damage. No luck at all on chat lines re. Covid too busy! In the end wrote to Argos head office enclosing a receipt plus photo of corner damage. Still no reply. This not like Argos and I am now getting so fed up with this "no customer care line free to help" Everything cannot be blamed on Covid, where can I speak to someone please who will help me. All your Argos stores are still closed too.

See critical reviews

Reviews (65)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

customer service (10)
andrewf423
1 review
6 helpful votes
June 20th, 2020

Tried returning an item bought in the covid lock down and finding it impossible to get either a refund or a replacement. They expect me to organise my own! This company does not follow the law with returns and repairs.

The local store manager at Barrow-In-Furness were rude and unhelpful. Instead of phoning the manager to ask for advice they ended up calling the police on me because she doesn't understand consumer rights. I will never shop at Argos again.

craigt233
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 17th, 2020

Just paid £199 for a camcorder to get a message saying your payment will be refunded within 7days, payments can take up to 30 days, lve gone onto live chat which said enter a order number which l have not received, when l finally got through they said it might not be in stock, if l had paid with paypal it takes 30 days to get your money back, reporting to ombudsman and argos l will never trade with you again

donaldm46
2 reviews
11 helpful votes
September 11th, 2020

Appalled at the level of customer service at Argos Oban store. I purchased a new vacuum yesterday which is obviously faulty. Took it back today however the staff and management were very dismissive and refused to refund or replace. I would not recommend Argos and will not be returning

paulinej12
1 review
1 helpful vote
May 21st, 2016

I ordered a t shirt online and paid for it then went to collect it. I was only in the sunderland high street store five minutes at the most the service was friendly, professional and very speedy well done

Tip for consumers:
if you pay online they have the goods ready for you at the counter

Service
Value
Quality
vimalc1
1 review
4 helpful votes
January 29th, 2020

Awful experience with Argos - terrible customer service from the telephone CS team

Reserved an item from a store 20 miles away (item wasn't available anywhere else)
Spent over 2 hours & fuel to collect item.

Back home, tested item was faulty (potentially a returned item) and should not have been resold.

Told Argos they should at least compensate me for the wasted journey, or offer to send a working replacement. They refused and said it "was a personal choice to collect item". It wasn't a personal choice to be sold a defective item!

A rude manager by the name of Rebecca refused to show any empathy and consideration for my awful experience.
Was told I could hand write a complaint to the Head Office of which I would not receive any correspondence. Very bizarre as there would be no proof that my complaint will ever be dealt with.

Argos has a poor dispute service and wont take responsibility for reselling returned & defective items. They hide behind a poor customer service policy which does not take into consideration the effort a consumer goes through to collect an item. They are also unwilling to take complaints via email and wont offer to post out a replacement.

Other online sellers are far more receptive and the distance selling regulations in the UK are far better than when physically purchasing from a store. It makes you wonder why the high street is failing us.

Argos simply hides behind a dated, inflexible and rigid Customer Service Policy which seems to make the managers think they can be rude to paying customers.

Poor form Argos!

sidneym91
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 30th, 2020

Terrible customer service and all around quality. I bought an item that was listed at the sale price, and was still charged the full amount. When I contacted customer service and they finally responded, they told me that the sale price was over despite it being still listed on their site when I bought the item. I sent them a screenshot of the listed price when I bought the item and they refused to refund me the price and instead left my only option to cancel the item. I truly will not be shopping here again, not worth it! Rude customer service

agbozied
13 reviews
7 helpful votes
August 25th, 2020

One of the best stores around, Their service is top notch, and their staffs are always ready to help

florinam1
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 8th, 2020

I'm actually on the line waiting for them to answer. 3 weeks later haven't heard about my order. Of course i called before but they kept saying that they have no info and that the "supplier" will contact me, strange thing that when you pay, you pay to argos...
Anyway, I understand now the bad reviews and those who gave 5 stars are completely lucky they've got their order.
I advise you to go always for collection (where rarely are problems), if you looking for an item to be delivered... look somewhere else... I wish I knew.

Don't bother chatting with the unprofessional staff... you'll just waste your time, oh, if you think you'll call them, think twice, I'm still on the line 40 min later and keep ringing...

Argos, pls don't reply to my review, don't even bother. Rather then reply reviews, answer the people's

dianen326
1 review
4 helpful votes
June 28th, 2020

Monday 8 June you delivered me a Normandy 5 draw chest. In final assembly we realised that the top had "drop" damage. No luck at all on chat lines re. Covid too busy!
In the end wrote to Argos head office enclosing a receipt plus photo of corner damage. Still no reply. This not like Argos and I am now getting so fed up with this "no customer care line free to help"
Everything cannot be blamed on Covid, where can I speak to someone please who will help me. All your Argos stores are still closed too.

anthonyl648
2 reviews
12 helpful votes
December 13th, 2020

I purchased a pc which developed fault within months of purchase. Contacted Argos to return and in spite of consumer rights act they insist I contact manufacturer. Have explained time and again consumer act states they are responsible. Argos insist that I phone HP. During this time I live alone, no close family/friends I was taken to hospital and after number of visits was diagnosed with terminal lung cancer and was not able to use phone, on oxygen etc. I wrote to HP signed for twice and they failed to reply. In spite of above Argos are still insisting I phone HP to get PC exchanged. Its now been back n forwards for a year so I have no option but to take this arrogant law breaker to Court after Christmas, very difficult in my situation where my time is limited and perhaps this is what they are hoping for. No customer service no compassion and blatant disregard for the Law.

johnl3300
1 review
1 helpful vote
November 11th, 2020

What ever I want to buy shows up on there site but as soon as it's in the basket it shows out of stock for delivery, this web site is a total waste of time.

tomn327
1 review
1 helpful vote
November 6th, 2020

Arose currently advertising that they sell SIM Free Samsung Galaxy Note10+ 5G 512GB Mobile Phone–Black 202/1960 for £549 I tried every location locally but nowhere had it. I contacted customer service advice I was prepared to travel to any location to purchase and collect. Their response was we can't check stop. I emailed their head office same response. I attempted to check each region to determine where the phone could be collected without success. 2 months later the phone is still advertised and still no where stocks it. Argos need to get their act together.

lyndsayw77
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
May 15th, 2020

Always a pleasure to purchase from argos my. Order always comes with a delivery slot, clear. Communication and items always of great quality.

dk340
1 review
2 helpful votes
June 28th, 2020

Back in March I placed an order for a printer and it arrived on the day it was due. From the start the printer has been nothing but trouble with terrible quality streaky, patchy and washed out prints. Then after a handful of unusable prints it says "Low on ink" so i just presumed it must be faulty as my Sister has the exact same printer and says how brilliant it is.

I have VERY bad anxiety so i never use the phone and always prefer to email. There is NO contact email address on the Argos website which seems ludicrous to me in this day and age. But with some searching i managed to find an email address so i contact them there.
I get a reply saying before they can look into my order they need me to confirm my full address to which i reply straight away. Then exactly 30 days later they finally reply and tell me to get in touch with the manufacturer of the printer. I find it convenient that they reply exactly 30 days later so that i fall outside of their 30 day return window.
As i say i have VERY bad anxiety and never use the phone so to have to contact another company is just too much for me. I haven't even left my house for 20 years so that gives you an idea of how serious my "Issues" are.

So i am now stuck with a printer that does not function properly. The printer was packed up into the original packaging and put in our spare room shortly after it arrived as it is not fit for purpose.

I have since emailed Argos countless times and have not had one reply. And looking at all their other reviews it seems i am not the only person to have been ripped off by them. It's bad enough for people who don't have any issues to lose their money but for people with Mental Health issues like myself it makes things So much harder! It seems Argos do not care about that as long as they have your money they do not give a damn about what happens to your item.

How can a HUGE company like Argos be allowed to send customers faulty products and then simply do nothing about it when the customer informs them?

I know that it is a very difficult time that we are all living in right now but i placed my order back in March. If Argos could arrange a collection i do not mind at all. All i want it my money back.

And obviously i will NEVER be shopping with Argos ever again. They could take a tip from Amazon as their returns process is simple and hassle free.

davidr3078
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 13th, 2021

I bought a TV which turned out to be defective, but Argos refused to let me return to the store where I bought it - a proper Argos, not just a collection point - expected me to return it to a store 4 miles away.
I, done with this useless company!

Service
Returns
panark
9 reviews
19 helpful votes
March 15th, 2016

In the beginning of December I ordered some gifts. Later during the month, I recieved e-mail that there was a try the purchased items to be delivered and there was noone at home. Which is lie- all day there was a person, the doorbell (working) did not ring all day, there was no notification for delivery on e-mail, there was no notification put on the door for try for delivery. After another day and hour range for delivery was set, nothing happened. A second call was made. From Argos they informed me that the item i out of stock from November. How they accept payment for item which is out of stock? How they try to deliver something that do not exist in their warehouse?
Later I got my money for the item back. But I did not get my money for the delivery back. A delivery that was not made, that does not exist as there is not good to be delivered.
A third call had to be made for getting my money for delivery back. It took me a month to play on "give-my-money-back" game.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
alanh349
1 review
4 helpful votes
April 20th, 2020

It seems that Argos have stopped collections for return items. They expect us to store items indefinitely until the end of the Covo crisis. It was only when I went onto the Argos site that I only then found out about the storage issue; they don't tell you about this when you order. We ordered a Spear & Jackson S2434CR lawn mower which had a defect in manufacture but this is a bulky item to store. They seem to be determined to stop anyone contacting them about this. Telephoning is impossible and they send an automatic reply to emails saying that they don't look at them! If you are thinking of ordering a large item, as we did, think do you have room to store it.

clairet74
1 review
6 helpful votes
March 22nd, 2020

If you take your item out of the packet to look at they term it as used and won't refund it. This has now happened to me twice.
The staff are very aggressive.
A poor lady tried to exchange her phone because she couldn't hear it, she was told it was used and they wouldn't even exchange.
Won't use them again.

munroa2
1 review
4 helpful votes
December 21st, 2019

If you have last minute presents to buy, avoid Argos at all costs. I ordered four presents in Novemeber, and despite several promises, including specific delivery dates, when my parents waited in for nothing.
My nephews now have nothing to open on Christmas morning, and I am sat in another country, in floods of tears, because i believed Argos' lies, and did not arrange to have something else delivered.
I will be taking legal action, and will be leaving regular reviews on social media and internet sites, to highlight the issue.
Argos, you have completely ruined Christmas for my family.

aishh
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 16th, 2020

They didnt replace my damaged item though I bought 3 year replacement card by paying extra. And they are holding me on call for the ages and disconnecting the call after 1 - 2 hrs when I make the complaint. They are playing tricks with the customers. They robbing money from the customers

fabion11
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 26th, 2021

Just gave them over 1.5k and been bumped from a unexperienced and lazy chat operator who did not help at all indeed, even after asking 5 times did not gave me his name to complaint...

No more orders...

Their websites had a few issues and now I am delivering late an order for a silly lazy and coward operator...

Wow...

Last order with you

And a big fxxx u [A: James]

Go to clean toilet no to talk to people as you have no skills and so rude even during this times...

Wow, can't believe a huge company like them wastes their money with people like you... it would be better to burn it rather than pay u as ur service is below zero...

Clown james;-) and thanks to your rude service Argos get 1 star review congrats rude boy you will get in touch with your manager...

Enjoy;-)

Tip for consumers:
a few operator ruined company names...I've been their customers for years and left over a k in the last week in purchases....and this is the first time I've been treated so rudely....no sorry no support...
Please, chiefs at Argos, remove people like James...they are lazy, neglecting their job and careless towards customers indeed, see our chat to see his performances

Products used:
Just gave them over 1.5k and been bumped from a unexperienced and lazy chat operator who did not help at all indeed, even after asking 5 times did not gave me his name to complaint....

No more orders...

Their websites had a few issues and now I am delivering late an order for a silly lazy and coward operator....

wow.....


Last order with you

and a big fxxx u [A:James]

go to clean toilet no to talk to people as you have no skills and so rude even during this times.....

wow, can't believe a huge company like them wastes their money with people like you...it would be better to burn it rather than pay u as ur service is below zero.....

clown james ;-) and thanks to your rude service Argos get 1 star review congrats rude boy you will get in touch with your manager....

enjoy ;-)

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
grahamw97
1 review
3 helpful votes
August 18th, 2020

Ordered a washing machine - all other on line companies offer next day or 3-4day deliery. Argos offered me the earliest slot of 17 days. I was going away for 7 days so decided I could live with the wait and at least I'd have all my holiday clothes to test it on. 2 days before delivery they magically changed my slot to another 18 days out and asked me to confirm this was ok. 35 days wait for a ashing machine. What a joke. I cancelled. Now waiting for my money back - they have had my money for 20 days... thanks Argos...

roberth2852
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 21st, 2020

Easy to purchase from but absolute nightmare to return anything. Purchased a television from them earlier this year that isn't fit for purpose but can't get it repaired or return it.

Dreadful company to deal with.

alexh444
3 reviews
10 helpful votes
September 30th, 2020

I bought a dishwasher and installation from Argos earlier this year for £299. When it arrived the dishwasher was dented on the side. I agreed to keep it, as this wouldn't be seen. Two months later it stopped working. I contacted Argos and they booked in an appointment with their preferred repair company.
The engineer on his first visit was rude and advised he needed a new part. A new appointment was booked for the following week. On the night before (and the morning of) the visit we received two texts confirming his visit. He didn't arrive. On contacting the company wondering when he would come, they advised he didn't have the part and so wasn't actually coming. They hadn't bothered to tell us this and so wasted our time instead.
An appointment was then booked for the following week again. I raised a complaint but never heard back from their manager despite repeated chases - they clearly didn't give a damn. I followed up a day before the third visit was due. I was advised that they wouldn't be coming as the part still wasn't in stock (a third wasted annual leave day.). If I hadn't called then we would have been waiting in for them again to be stood up, where they hadn't bothered to notify us. They confirmed they would advise Argos of these problems and recommend that Argos replace the faulty machine.
I called Argos - the initial call handler was unhelpful. She said they don't have any replacements in stock and would not be issuing a good will gesture for the three full days of annual leave this issue has wasted.
She transferred me to someone in their complaints team. He offered a £30 credit towards a replacement dishwasher. I accepted and asked which replacement they would then send. On calling me back he advised that the nearest one would require me paying an additional c. £70 on top of the credit(!) Clearly this is outrageous.

They should not be making more money out of customers because their products being faulty.

I declined this and asked for a refund, (which would require a 5th day of annual leave), together with compensation for the 5 wasted days. He advised that he would provide a £30 credit note towards a next purchase. I advised this was, frankly insulting given that five days will have been wasted, together with around 7 hours on the phone to Argos and their repair company combined (and counting).

He advised I could make an application to their Head Office for "loss of earnings", but that they would require a letter from my accountant disclosing my annual salary, dividends and other income - so they can decide if they will reimburse me for the days they wasted.

Who the hell do Argos think they are, demanding detailed personal financial information such as this? They are a shop who have failed to provide a working produce that I have paid for - they are not HMRC!

On top of that, a letter from my accountant will cost me at least £150+VAT, as accountants don't work for free. The call handler advised that Argos wouldn't reimburse me for any fees I would have pay in order to get the letter they were requesting.

So in summary:

1) Argos has wasted 5 days of time by supplying a faulty product and instructing a repair company who were not fit for the intended purpose.

2) They have wasted an additional 7 hours (and counting) of my time in admin trying to sort this out.

3) And they now have the audacity to demand that I pay extra money for an accountants letter, and disclose to them my intimate financial details - all without any guarantee they will reimburse me for any of it. This is adding insult upon insult to injury. I should not have to do this, and pay money, effectively, in order to complain about already poor service.

I have been told that a 'Resolutions Leader' will contact me, but that she will only repeat the above.

The situation is therefore still ongoing. Argos, do you consider the above to be either acceptable, or reasonable service to your customers? I look forward to someone contacting me and resolving this reasonably and sensibly.

ismal
10 reviews
7 helpful votes
February 25th, 2020

Always helpful and you get your purchase within minutes, you can pre-order and pay in store or pay on-line and click and collect

Q&A (5)

Answer:

No, because they may not honour guarantees and it would appear their after sales support is zero

By Anthony L.
See more answers (2)

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Argos staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Get what you want today with Fast Track same day delivery only £3.95,7 days a week or faster in-store collection for free

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Argos?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about Argos?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business