Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Airbnb

Airbnb reviews

Is this your business?
1,004 reviews
888 Brannan Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
Tel: 1-855-424-7262
terms@airbnb.com

1,004 Reviews From Our Community

Service
100
Value
92
Shipping
33
Returns
48
Quality
88

All Reviews

randys235
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/24/19

I rented a place on Air B&B in January of 2018 for a 6 week rental in February of 2019. My first payment went thru no problem but I changed my credit card before the second payment was due. I called them and also changed my payment method online but they still tried to put second payment thru my old card which, of course, would not go thru. They tried to blame me for their error and call me a liar. I do not like being told I didn't let them know when I had, twice.

aprilg73
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/23/19

I booked a condo and the photos are NOT what the condo actually is. Photos are deceiving. The condo I booked was filthy and unsanitary. There was food on the knives that were in the butcher block. Yuck! The bed smelled. I do not trust AirBNB. They DO NOT visit each condo they list. They DO NOT remove condos that have been reported in poor condition. AirBNB doesn't care. They just want your money.

eriep1
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/23/19

This is a difficult review to write as nothing horrendous occurred. We booked three accommodations, one was great, one had to cancel for very legitimate reasons and one was just ok. The accommodation that had to cancel did so because the island had no water so it was the responsible thing to do. Unfortunately it occurred one day before we were to arrive. We were able to find another place and with the help of the owner received a full refund. Without his help however my feeling is that we would not have received it so quickly. Trying to contact Airbnb with concerns is not easy.

My complaint with the company is there is no consistency in how places are rated so you are never really confident about what you might be getting. In the two places we stayed they were rated the same, hosts were both super hosts and there was a world of difference between the two ....the accommodations were also rated the same and yet again there was a big discrepancy.

We have used VRBO often and there has never been such a discrepancy. There seems to be more scrutiny and control over who can put there accommodation on VRBO vs. Airbnb. I have not heard of last minute cancellations by owners on VRBO either. It is important to feel confident when booking your accommodation and after this experience I won't use Airbnb again unless there is no other possible option.

erinm340
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/22/19

Customer service at its worst! They don't respond when you reach out and or follow through once you do finally get a response

stephenh121
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
3/22/19

I made a booking with Airbnb in December 2018 and paid half the amount in advance. I was later contacted by the agent for the host and told that he required the apartment for two days of my booking and they would move me during the stay to an alternative apartment. This was not acceptable as I considered the host was inconveniencing the customer and this was bad business practice. I then asked for a discount due to the trouble and made an offer. The agent failed to confirm the dates or provide a discount acceptance. After contacting Airbnb a number of times with no resolution or confirmation; I cancelled the booking. They then tried to take a service fee from the payment which included cleaning, even though we had cancelled well in advance due to their poor business practice, which we considered a breach of contract. We later found out that the Airbnb policy was to give a discount and the agent withheld this. We threatened to sue and finally received a full refund. I would not use this organization again and other reviews I have read paint a very poor picture with both customers and hosts complaining. You do not make money in business by acting in this way and they fell short of acceptable business standards in this matter. Hosts who think that they can treat customers any way they want to, may occur and if Airbnb does not properly intervene then these sorts of problems will continue, with it sure to impact on their business. I therefore, do not recommend using this organization, customer service is still in its infancy as seen from this experience.

pottymouthp
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/19/19

Advertised as "PET FREE" we found TWO barking dogs living on property.
Advertised on AIRBNB as "cooler than standard construction" we found a furnace with no windows and no a/c.
"clean and well equipped" I say not, plastic outdoor furniture as our furnishings, no salt or pepper or oil in kitchen as advertised.
We had to ask/beg for toilet paper and shampoo and soap...says it was provided.
Found THREE PINS IN MY PILLOW, one poking my cheek about 1/2 inch from my eye.

johnr1404
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/19/19

I booked a condo with Airbnb and had to cancel several tunes due to my passport not being ready. The last reservation, the host insisted that I book a month instead of 3 weeks. By doing so, the host was now protected and received the WHOLE amount and I cannot receive any refunds. When I was trying to cancel, Airbnb told me that i would lose ALL the money and the host had total control of my money. I insisted on changing it back to 3 weeks and the host raised the price by 30%. When I was finally able to get a refund, I only received %20. Airbnb backed the host %100 even though he is a lawyer and studied the policies well enough so that they had his back and I was ripped off. Dont use Airbnb unless you are 300% sure not to make any changes or you lose all your hard earned money.

catherineg114
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/17/19

We are a small Bed and Breakfast business in Cumbria in the UK. We have never given Airbnb our details and have never asked to be registered with them. Twice now we have had telephone calls from people who say they have booked our accommodation through Airbnb. In both cases they were advised that we had accommodation available and in one case they had already paid money and received confirmation by post on headed notepaper displaying the heading from our web-page. In neither case have Airbnb been in touch with us. AS FAR AS WE ARE CONCERNED THEY ARE USING OUR DETAILS WITHOUT OUR PERMISSION AND IN OUR OPINION POTENTIALLY MAKING FRAUDULENT USE OF THEM.

kimberlyf104
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
3/13/19

I have booked several apartments for our European trip via this service. The process of booking was very convenient and easy. Reviews of visitors are always helpful. Even if a host cancel reservation they offer some compensation and pick listings according to your previously chosen options in the same area. In general, I am glad to find them as with Airbnb I can feel like home in any corner of the world.

oliviam160
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/8/19

Terrible customer service. Cannot get a hold of ANYONE! i sit on hold for 10 minutes to get hung up on. Not once, not twice. But 3 times. Not impressed. Ill be deleting my profile and not using this again.

elenak58
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/4/19

I tried calling customer support many times since my account was blocked by airbnb. The response is: you will recieve an email/call from us shortly. no call . no email. no account. terrible customer servies today - was on the phone with them for 15 min and they disconnected me. i can't use their services because they can't reactivate my account.

lisad593
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/2/19

I rented a home for a weekend and a window was damaged. I contacted the company I rented from (a very popular on line rental company that people put thier privatley owned homes up for rental. I don't want be sued by naming them but the name of the company starts with an A and ends with a B and the name is 6 letters with A's b's and an i in the name) because I have integrity and felt it dishonest not to do so. The property owner sent in an invoice for the wrong type window which was $1000 more than I owe for the actual window we broke. The owner acknowledge his mistake immediatly and agreed with me. I received an invoice for payment for the incorrect amount from Airbnb. When I contacted them regarding this I advised them they needed to contact the host to get corrected invoice. I then received a dismissive email from a customer service rep named JOAO. Joao wrote that after "careful review" I still owed the incorrect amount and that my future reservations had been cancelled and my account deactivated. I had rented 4 times in the last 6 months from them so I am not a new customer.I have been trying to reach them on the phone to no avail. Do not rent from A_ _ B N B. You can contact any host on the site with questions before you pay anything. Contact that host and ask to rent directly from them. Use A _ _ _ _ b in the same disgusting manner in which they treat thier good customers. I am so angry. I am also contacting the Better Business Bureau and will make it my mission to write reviews to help others to not get SCAMMED and DISMISSED by this disreputable company. Shame on you A_ _ _ _ b.

lisau31
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/26/19

Never will book again with Airbnb. The owner struggled for four hours to add a day to our reservation. It took Airbnb until 2:40 the next morning to acknowledge my attempt to book a townhome in Mammoth. I loaded three photos over three hours by instruction of the customer staff. The company cancelled my reservation three hours before it was to timeout. Had to keep writing the owner. Called customer service at 5:00 am because our reservation was still not confirmed. The automated system kept not accepting my photo to match with the government ID (California Driver's License, front and back) I submitted. After 1.5 hours in a chat with customer service. Leizel said she had to go to a meeting and would call me in an hour -- when my reservation had been cancelled! There were between 20 minutes and over I hour in gaps to the chat responding.

I WILL NEVER BOOK Airbnb again. VBRO IS SOOOOO SUPERIOR AND THE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS FANTASTIC COMPARED TO WHAT I AM EXPERIENCING WITH Airbnb.

norag25
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/26/19

They will give you the run around when it comes to refunds! I have been trying to get my $486 refund which they claim to have processed in November 2018! I've yet to receive the money and when I call I cannot speak to the department handling my issue as they only respond to their online chat support. Really?!!

xxxx11
3 reviews
6 helpful votes
2/26/19

Their famous service does not equal to their customer support. Definitely the worst I've encounter yet!! I was just asking them to delete my account since I have the right to have my personal information removed. Instead, what I received was rude agents and they only "deactivate" my account. No further help or respond was provided. Becareful and beware!!!

onge3
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/21/19

Airbnb confirmed a reservation for my homestay. Airbnb send me a email to check in a customer. After customer check out, Airbnb does not want to pay me. The reason is Airbnb need to collect payment from customer before they pay me. They said customer have some payment issues. Airbnb said i need to wait until the cow comes home or until customer pays up. Many message to Airbnb has been closed by them. Beware of Monster Airbnb who does not care about Host. Sometimes also teaching customer to cheat Host.

jeffd256
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/20/19

Once I received the address after booking and searched the rental I found it 1,000 cheaper. If you try to cancel your reservation you only receive 25% refund. Do not use AirBNB, they are a scam company just search through other more reputable companies.

erica172
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/18/19

Terrible experience. My wife made a reservation for a month in advance and canceled it two days later. They would not refund all of my money. My daughter used them on a separate trip and the rental was cockroach infested.

edies9
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/18/19

We have several homes that we manage and unfortunately, a couple of years ago, some of our property owners had heard of Air B&B and insisted that we try them. We now have lost half of our properties because Air B&B doesn't pay us and hence we cannot pay the property owners or our cleaning crews. The president of our company has had to get personal loans to cover the amounts that are due to be paid out to the property owners. We are talking about hundreds of thousands of dollars. It has gotten to a point where every booking we receive through Air B&B has to be verified over the phone to make sure they have sent our money to the proper / working bank account. They are still holding a huge amount of money from 2 years ago.

If you are considering trying Air B&B, I recommend that you reconsider. VRBO/HomeAway is not any better either. These companies have gotten so big that they now control most of the Internet bookings and apparently are not capable of keeping themselves organized. If you are lucky enough to talk to someone that can actually communicate with you, you can expect rude service and even hang ups.

One thing I DO recommend is that even though both Air B&B and VRBO/HomeAway will not divulge the e-mail addresses or phone numbers of the renters until they are actually booked, once they have booked one of your houses, encourage them to book directly through YOU the next time they want to rent one of your houses. I send our clients a friendly e-mail once they check out and tell them how much they could have saved if they would have booked directly through us.

joea277
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/12/19

I'm reading a lot of reviews here from renters but need to add my own as a property owner. We own and/or manage 17 vacation rental properties in two countries and have been Air BnB hosts for over 10 years with 95% 5-star ratings. Every now and then, we get a weird bad review-usually due to a gap between what we offer and the expectations of the guest. Recently, we got a 4-star review from someone whose issues included no water in the ice cube tray, exposed television cables on the wall, no door on the closet and not understanding that Air BnB properties don't include breakfast (it was her first time using the platform). As a result, Air BnB suspended the listing for a week because it fell below their arbitrary 5-star requirements, with no option for disputing the review and no one to talk to at customer service. Their attitude is "we let the reviews speak for themselves", even when the review is clearly unreasonable. I can live with a bad review-I can't accept the arbitrary suspension as "punishment". 10 years ago I used to tell everyone how great customer service was at AirBnB, and it was. Something went wrong somewhere along the way and they have become arbitrary, unresponsive and arrogant. There are better choices out there including VRBO/HomeAway and Trip Advisor/Flipkey We've developed our own booking site and related marketing tools and last year, it came close to beating Air BnB in total booking revenue for our properties. So we're winding down our participation on the Air BnB platform this year. They don't seem to understand that property owners are their lifeblood and responsible for 100% of their income. I would have written them to tell them of our decision directly but they don't seem to want or care about this feedback.

chrism910
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/12/19

One of the worst travel platforms to work with... they provide zero support for hosts despite years of loyal working relationship, they will turn on you with no real justification. Not worth the anxiety for a big Disappointment at the end. Their customer support also sucks they provide only useless textbook answers with no real solution at the end!!! They are an utter disappointment to work with whether a host or a traveler!

heathers421
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/11/19

I booked a home that when I arrived was in a seedy neighborhood with people drinking and hanging out on the corner. I didn't even enter the home. The owner did not answer and the people at Airbnb kept giving me excuses about a refund as I didn't feel safe. The house didn't even look like the picture posted. The bars on the windows of houses next door and the drug deals going on state not a good place to stay but the ad said nice neighborhood. Huh. Not sure if I will ever use this site again and this ruins it for the good hosts

kristenm120
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
2/11/19

Not sure about all these negative feedbacks, but I had an awesome experience with this company. Great deals, brilliant service - everything was pretty cool.

johannac31
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/10/19

Aweful user experience in website!!! Lots of glitches impacted negatively our experience while we naviguate on your website, so annoying !!
- Map (search functionality )
- Mobile app : "verify your identity",but never received an email, button stay loading
) ....

mikej365
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/6/19

I work for a trade show company in Southern California and we make frequent trips out to Las Vegas for various trade shows. There was a house that I saw that was available by a host named Andreas (From Los Angeles) that I wanted to book for my boss, myself, and my employees. So while I have this reserved, there were some things I had to change about the profile since it was a company profile under a former employee's name. While doing so our reservation was canceled and we were only offered a partial refund. I contacted the host about refunding the rest and he offered me a bogus special that was for $199 per night. Well, the original price was for about $150 per night. He also told me that he contacted Airbnb and they informed him that it was an error that caused the cancellation. So he was of no help to me. I then proceeded to call Airbnb in which the first operator that I spoke to hung up in my face. Then the second individual tried to put the blame on me before it was handled by her manager who is named Diana. Diana contacted Andreas about offering a refund and he refused. Then she turned around and told me that it was me that canceled, and a full refund would not be provided. So Andreas gets a free $500 on top of the new guest who reserved his house. Good job with supporting scammers Airbnb. I will be reporting you to the Better Business Bureau.

3 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Being a host, I can say that when things are going good, all is great, but if something goes wrong, as a host, you will not get the support from Airbnb that is promised. They do not stand behind their hosts, I find they like to a facade that all is great in the land of Airbnb. I have cancelled my listing and will not deal with them anymore in the future.

By Rita V.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

AirBnB is the worst. You might be able to go to the resolution centre, but previous posts are correct. Watch your money with them. Once they make an error it's hard to get it back. You may have to go through the credit card you charged it to and even then the dispute process might take awhile. Hopefully, you have other money to use in the mean time or the date of your trip is at least weeks out? They are asking you to "verify your ID" so they can gain access to your linked in, Facebook and google contacts. They say it's a security measure to protect you and everyone else but it's not. They are pirating your info. They take your contacts and use it as a marketing tool for themselves or sell the contacts to other distributors. It's very common with sites like this now. If you want to continue using AirBnB you have no choice unfortunately.

By Marcus D.
Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You don't. The only thing that you can be sure of is that if you have a problem Airbnb will be unreachable. They hide from dissatisfied customers and hosts alike. You are taking big chances when you deal with them. The benefits just aren't worth the risks.

By Mark F.
Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I haven't been a host, but would certainly recommend that you read ALL the reviews here before getting involved with Airbnb. I can't think of ANY business of ANY type I would patronize that got a 1.5 star rating after 382 reviews.

By Sally M.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

As a host & licensed realtor with multiple properties in both Los Angeles & Las Vegas which I book directly and also have listed with multiple vacation rental agencies, SAVE YOURSELF TIME, MONEY & AGGRAVATION by booking either DIRECTLY with the host or through other REPUTABLE agencies, such as Roomorama.

By cheri w.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You will NOT get all your money back. Airbnb will KEEP the booking fee and the host may keep all or a percentage of the rate you paid depending on their cancellation policy, which should be stated when you booked. They usually state whether they have a mild, medium or strict cancellation policy. So if you cancel within a certain number of days it will affect how much you get back. But Airbnb ALWAYS take the booking fee, and that can vary depending on how many days you have booked.

By Sue G.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hello, First, the credit card co. needs to be notified and will refund the amount spent. In turn, the cc co. will backcharge. Airbnb is notorious for these types transactions and should be shutdown. Your son has learned a business lesson....research a business prior to do business!

By Scott B.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

They offered $25 discount of next booking I just chose to go else where

By James S.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

This is the root of my problem with AIRBNB. They do not check to see if a host can legitimately rent the place they are advertising. In my experience, the host cancelled 48 hours before, claimed she was going to be evicted if she rented to me. I was only 3000 miles from home. AIRBNB offered me a 10% discount to rebook another place. I did not and will not use them again.

By Lucille G.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Susan's answer is very thorough and I agree with her. Even more important when booking places outside your country of origin to ensure you don't get a flea pit. Also, always look at the reviews, they are very important. If there is a really bad review, don't stay there. You need to check the locations online as well. You don't want to be in a bad, dangerous area...this just happened to someone staying in Philadelphia. If you have a problem, the AirBnB website is useless. Google the AirBnB customer service number from your location. Renee

By Renee J.
Questions? Get answers from the Airbnb staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Airbnb?
Post Review