Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

Member since February 2017

  • Reviews 4
  • First to Review 2
  • Thank Yous 0
  • Fans 0
  • Profile Views 209

Review Distribution

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
4

4 Reviews by Norman

Sort by: Most recent

Doordorks.com

Doordorks

4/25/18

A garage door spring broke and I Googled "garage door repairs San Marcos". Door Dorks displayed prominently with a favorable 56 Google 5-stars rating so that I read some of its reviews, "Jacob is friendly" and business does a good job. I gave Door Dorks a try, a big mistake.

After I made an appointment last Friday and Jacob came to service the call, Jacob was disappointingly not friendly at all. Though friendliness isn't a requirement for the job, Jacob was more abrupt and taciturn, no sign of politeness. I have wondered about and questioned the accuracy of the Google, and later, the Yelp, reviews of Door Dorks.

Moving on, oddly, I did not receive a written estimate before the repair; Jacob only said, "The office told you the price? Looking at your door, anywhere between $250 and $300" for one spring for a single garage in a two single garage newer home.

I mentioned that the size of his new spring did not match the size of the broken very short spring. Repairmen usually explain their choice of parts and work to the novice customer when asked; however, Jacob only answered, "I know my work than you, a longer spring lasts longer (I wondered why but an answer was not obviously forthcoming), but I can put in a shorter spring if you want".

On the receipt, the single "218Rx30" spring cost $139.98, a very high mark-up, and labor $95, for a total bill of $234.98.

Other garage door repair persons always asked before placing their business' emblem and phone number sticker next to the manual garage door opener in my homes. Unknown to me, after Jacob had finished the repair, without asking, Jacob gratuitously removed the previous garage door repair person's business emblem and phone number sticker and wire-stapled his non-sticking business emblem below the manual garage door opener. Doubting that I will use Jacob's service in the future in view of Jacob's behavior and high bill, I removed his stapled business emblem; as a result, I have two needlessly small holes to spackle now.

If the car, earlier stuck inside the garage, had not been needed, I would have preferred my regular garage door opener installer and repair shop with a friendly office staff, friendly repair people, and a very friendly and helpful owner, but, unfortunately, the office was on voicemail that Friday and I had to, VERY REGRETFULLY, settle on this over-rated business.

Tip for consumers: Please do not choose Door Dorks in San Marcos, CA based on Google and Yelp reviews

Service
Value
Oberto.com

Oberto

4/28/17

I had purchased a package of Oberto Original Beef Jerky 10 oz from amazon last year, received sealed and unopened, with a "Best By 05Jan18" date. On April 18, 2017, at least eight months before the product's Best By date, I discovered, via the package's clear windows, an abundance of white molds inside the still sealed and unopened package.
On the same day, at 11:34 a.m., I telephoned the company's consumer inquiries department, whose telephone number is listed on the lower back of the package, reported the extensive white molds, and requested a replacement or refund under warranty. The company's representative was hesitant in honoring a replacement or refund. The representative stated that I should contact amazon. I replied that my purchase is more than 30 days ago and that amazon will not honor a return or refund; I requested that the company honors its warranty. The representative repeated that I should contact amazon.

GreatClips

GreatClips

3/20/17

I have been almost exclusively going to Great Clips the past seventeen years, greatly enjoying the company's low prices.
On February 23, 2017, at approximately 9:25 a.m., I arrived at the company's 342 South Twin Oaks Valley RD, San Marcos, CA 92078, establishment for a haircut. Employee M. checked me in. At approximately 10:00 a.m., as another checked-in customer and I waited, Employee K. checked-in, animatedly spoke to, and focused on a customer on a first name basis. However, as my turn was next, Employee K. focused on her acquaintance, disregarded my name on her monitor, and invited her acquaintance to her chair, "You can go next, he [I] doesn't mind". K did not asked if I minded or not minded. The acquaintance asked, "Are you sure?". K replied, "Go ahead". Tactfully, I did not mention that I was next. However, as a result of K's preferential treatment for a late check-in customer, I waited an additional ten minutes while the customer behind me waited an additional 20 minutes. Reflecting on K's behavior, I find that K's blatant preferential treatment for an acquaintance over two earlier checked-in customers is highly unfair and not businesslike.
On the same day, February 23, 2017, I faxed Great Clips Corporate and asked "What can be done so that [Employee] Kxx does not repeat her favoritism toward one customer over other customers who had checked-in before her favorite customer?" No response from the company. On March 6, 2017, I re-faxed Great Clips Corporate and repeated my question. As of today, no response from the company.

TaxACT

TaxACT

2/22/17

Unaware, TaxAct Online had downgraded me from Premium filing (1040 with capital gains) to a simpler Plus filing (1040 with Schedule A and associated forms) for tax year 2016. I had been using TaxAct Online for at least 10 years. However, this year, TaxAct Online deleted my repeat-customer-guaranteed and locked-in $26.95 filing fee for Premium filing and charged me $40 for a simpler Plus filing. I had previously paid $16.95 or less for its Plus filing before using only once its Premium filing. I immediately telephoned TaxAct Online and reported the pricing discrepancy; the customer service representative lowered the Plus filing fee to $35, still above $16.95. After a day, I received a customer service representative emailed response; she lowered the Plus filing fee to $26.95, the previously guaranteed and lock-in Premium filing fee though I was using a simpler and less expensive Plus filing service. Since the higher pricing snafu is TaxAct Online mistake, "No, Thank you, TaxAct". Via an online search, I found many inexpensive filing services or free filing services with ads. One online filing service have no ads and offered everything that I needed at $0 cost. The only disadvantage at this competitor's filing service is that this year's tax data and info is not transferable to next year's filing. However, after completing TaxAct Online data input this year but surprised by TaxAct high regular pricing for a simple product, re-entering data on a competitor's online filing service is no biggie. Until TaxAct Online gets its act together, I would, and recommend that you, avoid TaxAct Online.

Norman Has Earned 10 Votes

Norman L.'s review of TaxACT earned a Very Helpful vote
2 days, 11 hours ago
Norman L.'s review of doordorks.com earned a Very Helpful vote
2 weeks, 6 days ago
Norman L.'s review of doordorks.com earned a Very Helpful vote
3 weeks, 4 days ago
Norman L.'s review of TaxACT earned a Very Helpful vote
on 4/17/18
Norman L.'s review of TaxACT earned a Very Helpful vote
on 4/1/18
Norman L.'s review of TaxACT earned a Very Helpful vote
on 3/25/18
Norman L.'s review of GreatClips earned a Very Helpful vote
on 1/25/18
Norman L.'s review of TaxACT earned a Very Helpful vote
on 4/12/17
Norman L.'s review of TaxACT earned a Very Helpful vote
on 4/11/17
Norman L.'s review of TaxACT earned a Very Helpful vote
on 3/7/17

Norman hasn’t received any thanks yous.

Norman doesn’t have any fans yet.

Norman isn’t following anybody yet.

Similar Reviewers on Sitejabber

roseanneh
2/20/17

I don't even want to call them stylists. They're not. And certainly not professional. I...

angelal83
2/13/17

I have a 17 years old boy, but he looks like 13 or 14 years old. He went for haircut by himself....