We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

Alex S.

1 Level 1 Contributor
  • 4 Reviews
  • 34 Helpful Votes
  • 0 Thank Yous

Experience: Beauty, Business, Health

Member since August 2013

  • Reviews

    4

  • First Reviews

    2

  • Thank Yous

    0

  • Fans

    0

  • Profile Views

    522

Review Distribution

4 Reviews by Alex

10/2/17
I have no idea if the product is any good, because I am still waiting on a two week old order. I have sent emails and left voicemails with no response. I would order from elsewhere next time and avoid the hassle.
10/2/17
I started their free trial for a 2nd phone line. They took my credit card info, and the site would not allow me to create my account. In the end, it never worked, and they refused to cancel my service. I had to contact the credit card company to dispute the charge.
Stay away, horrible product that does not work, and scammers on top of it all that will take your money anyways.
10/2/17
Ordered my product 10 days ago, still hasn't shipped. Maybe I'll get it this month?

I would save myself the trouble next time and just buy from Amazon.ca
8/14/13
Summary: I purchased a shipment of various Overstock items from Genco and was delivered only 25% of the items ordered. Half of that 25% were damaged beyond salvage. The company response was to ignore my requests and when finally pressured to tell me essentially "not our problem". Story below:
WARNING- GENCO IS A SCAM. Deal with them at your own risk...

On June 21st, 2013, I purchased a load from Genco Marketplace. It was sold to me as an Overstock load (not returns or salvage). I paid $20,000 USD for it the same day it was ordered, it cost me another $8,000 with shipping, duties, taxes, etc. Genco had various minor issues finding the payment and pushed to have the load picked up before they closed their Ohio facility. No big deal.

The shipment of 19 skids arrived at my shop On July 15th, 2013 and I immediately noticed it was in very bad shape. Most of the skids looked as if a dinosaur had eaten them ( I have many pics), and many were mangled and bent beyond salvage. I notified Genco the following day July 16th. At that point, I was unaware of the worst part, which I shortly discovered after inspecting and cataloguing the load.

After inspection, it became very clear that I was either being scammed or Genco had made a huge error somewhere. I was missing 75% of the items I had purchased. Of the 25% that did arrive, only half was salvageable. This is a serious issue that a reputable company would want to look into asap. Not so for Genco. I informed my sales rep (Ray Gallagher) at Genco Marketplace on July 19th via phone message and email and received no response.

On July 22nd we completed inspecting the last few skids and our suspicions of having been shortchanged were confirmed. At this point I checked our Bill of Lading and found that the shipment was actually short 4,000lbs (of 13,500lbs). I immediately sent a follow-up email to my sales rep. He requested a list of what was missing and damaged. On July 23rd we sent him a complete list of damaged and missing items with a summary and pictures. No response was received.

On July 25th, we sent another follow-up email requesting an update. No response. July 26th, I decided to go above my sales rep and phoned their customer support and spoke with a lady by the name of Carol. I passed on all the info and was promised a response. None was received, so I followed up with an email addressed to both customer support and my sales rep. No responses received.

I phoned again to customer support and was passed on to Vince Curtain, Director of Sales, and left him a voicemail explaining the situation. I received a brief voicemail the following day explaining that the alledged issue was under review. I called back several times and left him a voicemail to please contact me, no response. I finally got ahold of my sales rep by phone (same day I filed a BBB complaint, hmm). He assured me they wanted to keep doing business with me and that they would review the issue. I asked what sort of timeline I could expect for a response, and was told he was not sure. At this point I was becoming increasingly concerned at the lack of interest in the problem, and that they were ignoring the majority of my emails and calls, and that I had been given no explanation or timeline for a response to my inquiries.

I finally had my lawyer draft a letter, to which did get a response from Vince saying only that they had upheld their portion of the communication, and that the issue was under review. I also filed a Better Business Bureau complaint, and received the same one line response the issue is under review. What did this review entail? When would it provide me and answer? More importantly, what were they going to do about selling me a product and not delivering it?

By August 8th, almost a month since I first reported the issue, NO ONE has contacted me for additional information. NO ONE has taken the initiative to discover what has gone wrong. NO ONE has made any effort whatsoever to rectify the problem, except to infrequently answer my calls/emails when pressed by my lawyer or the Better Business Bureau. I had my lawyer send a second email to the CEO, a Mr. Robert Auray Jr warning that legal action would be taken if no responses were received. Today, August 13th we received a response saying that their position is that the load was shipped in tact. No explanation. Not one person phoned me to ask questions about the missing and damaged shipment. Is this how you investigate a claim? This is how you ignore one. Genco was very communicative when it came to taking my money, but has avoided my calls and emails and now says essentially tough luck.

AVOID GENCO MAKETPLACE...

Alex Has Earned 34 Votes

Alex S.'s review of GENCO Marketplace earned 30 Very Helpful votes

Alex S.'s review of GENCO Marketplace earned a Funny vote

Alex S.'s review of eVoice earned a Very Helpful vote

Alex S.'s review of Well.ca earned 2 Very Helpful votes

Alex hasn’t received any thanks yous.

Alex doesn’t have any fans yet.

Alex isn’t following anybody yet.

Similar Reviewers on Sitejabber

charlesl528
4/17/20

Used eVoice for my business for years. Everything was going good until it started redirecting me...

davidp1671
David P. reviewed eVoice
1/14/20

DO not use, free month was cancelled but charge was made to bank. Then refund promised and not at...