Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Pinterest

Pinterest reviews

Is this your business?
201 reviews
Art, Fashion, Social Network
808 Brannan St.
San Francisco, California, USA
Tel: 6875467862
hi@pinterest.com

201 Reviews From Our Community

Service
8
Value
7
Shipping
3
Returns
3
Quality
6

All Reviews

mariej49
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/23/17

I have several good and interesting boards on Pinterest which I have had for 5 years or so. However, for the past three weeks I have been receiving up to 15 stupid automated emails a day from them saying they have removed various and perfectly innocent pins due to either copyright infringement or that they go against Pinterest rules and contain images of nudity/pornography. I have NEVER, NEVER, NEVER posted any kind of material like this and would never do so therefore I find their accusations a deformation of my character. For example, one pin they removed was of my new baby granddaughter on my secret board and said it contained images of nudity/pornography, when in actual fact it was of a new born baby aged 10 hours!!! I mean come on. Another one they have removed was of a blue rose bush. I always give credit to the original pinner when I share an image and if it is supposed to be copyrighted then why is it even on Pinterest in the first place? Furthermore, they are removing pins from two boards I have deleted some time ago so how do they get hold of these is my question? Complaining to them proves fruitless too as all I receive back each and every time is a stupid automated email which is totally full of irrelevant crap and never resolves or even remotely answers my question. I have spent ages building my boards only to have Pinterest screw them up and ruin everything, there doesn't even seem to be a head office I can write to. bye bye Pinterest.

Advertisement
indiae2
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/22/17

So I got on Pinterest about 2 years ago, and used it to compile ideas on projects, reference material for my art, and many other things. At the time, the site was easy to use and easy to personalize/organize. Since then, with successive updates, the site has become less and less user friendly, inundated with useless advertisements, and as of this very morning, I can no longer see what my friends post unless I click on their pins by chance. It is infuriating and has sapped the joy out of using their website.

juliab108
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/16/17

I too used to love Pinterest and found it inspiring and a good resource for collating ideas for future projects. Now it is just a disappointment. So many ads for products I am not interested in like sexy underwear I would look terrible in and nappy bags for which I have no use unless my teenage sons become incontinent. My feed is no longer a pleasure to peruse and there are so many repeats of pins I have already seen that its a near useless tool. And of course, no where to easily leave feedback on the site. Big thumbs down.

essw1
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/13/17

Random advertising all over my feed... Pinterest used to be so wonderful.. A platform for sharing art and creativity... Now just an advertisement board

ginas76
1 review
5 helpful votes
8/12/17

I used to love Pinterest. That was when I had control over my designs and my order, i. e. putting boards in a series. Suddenly they were all over the place and made no sense. They won't stay in the places I put them and instantly flip back to the random and ugly design of some thoughtless programmer.

patriciap130
1 review
5 helpful votes
8/7/17

I have sent four messages on the Pinterest Help Line since 8/4/17 to seek answers to what happened that scrambled all my boards (on both of my accounts) which I have spent great time alphabetizing. I have received two cryptic automated HELP responses back which did not address the problem. I am unable to correct "the scramble" as when I pin new pins to boards, those boards pop up first on my site and once again alphabetized boards cannot happen.. Who made these changes - WHY?WHY?WHY? Please stop this insanity - let us have PERSONALIZING control over our accounts - I AGREE 100% WITH 'IRENE R.' - "Once again it seems Pinterest wants the website to be more like the mobile app, which is just ridiculous." Please correct this mess.

irener20
1 review
8 helpful votes
8/6/17

Today I discovered that all my boards, which I have spent countless months painstakingly organizing to my liking, had been scrambled out of order by yet another unasked for and unwanted update from Pinterest! I tried desperately to fix them but it was no use. Once again it seems Pinterest wants the website to be more like the mobile app, which is just ridiculous. I am sick of all these pointless updates that keep robbing us of personalizing our profiles. The people in charge of this website have absolutely no regard for their users anymore.

lindao70
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/5/17

Please Help Pinterest~~~~In the Lady Linda account, you have my email as
linowen@charter.nrt In reality, it is linowen@charter.net. When I use this account the Pinterest main board does not identify who I am pinning from. It is kind of isolating... Is that the way a second account is supposed to be? You fixed the email here, but not my question.

In my main or 1st account, Linda Owen my email is: ladyinred_77777@yahoo.com. I have the following issues- I received a message saying I am over the pin limit; Even though I deleted a lot of boards, pins and my Likes that were relocated to my secret board section (totaling close to the 200, 000 Likes Limit). My pin total amount reads no changes and is reading under the limit on my board. Although I continue deleting boards and pins, I receive the same overage message. Could you please help me? I have been away for well over a year, partially due to my nearness to the limits. My boards = 365 my pins = 144,413 Count them please. I did. This is my 4th attempt to get you to fix the in error over the limit amount messages that prevents me from using my Linda Owen account. Now everyones boards are scrambled much to most users dismay and regret; mine as well we do not like this change at all. Pinterest is about arranging pins and boards and following people who are kindred pinner. Why do us such a disservice by ignoring us? Fix Pinterest and make the adjustments necessary to prevent crippling this site by increasing your ability to accommodate pinners and pins. It would be a greater investment than your disliked random changes Make your help center a real viable help. Open a valid communication with us all. You can make this one of the most popular sites on the web again. I hope with all of Pinterest that you do! We all truly loved Pinterest before the changes! Thank You!!!

tikac
1 review
14 helpful votes
8/4/17

I have painstakenly, with much time consuming effort, moved my boards ..over 100...to create a visually pleasing site in general. Two days ago, the boards were scrambled and I have tried to re organize them as before only to find they become out of order all over again. Very frustrating! Anyone else having this problem ?

maryj320
1 review
8 helpful votes
8/3/17

Why did you get rid of likes? Stupid!! That was part of it's draw. Why did you scramble my boards and put the group boards all up top? Basically the ones I don't care about. So since I can't unscramble them, and put them where I want, like I used to, and since I didn't really care about them anyway, I DELETED them. So now stuck with boards where I don't want them, because you guys are control freaks??? Really? It was so. much. fun. til about a year ago, before there were so many stupid changes that made it much less enjoyable. You guys suck so badly!! You took control from the user and that's just messed up. Here's an analogy...it's kind of like giving a kid a lollypop, and then grabbing their hand and making them shove the lollypop in a pile of dog crap, then telling them to enjoy the candy.

marians23
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/28/17

There needs to be some "administrative" work done on pinterest. All the bad language and name calling is miserable.

keithf31
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/19/17

it took 8 weeks for my order to reach this country after many conversation with support they insisted it was on the way when i finally got shipping i had seen the didn't even give the shipper detail until 4 weeks had past

ruthb79
1 review
11 helpful votes
7/16/17

I've been using Pinterest as a 'visual resume' for the past four years. Up until a year ago, it was a very useful social media tool. But now, with it's blatant consumerism & switching it's algorithms in a way that is not beneficial to business pinners; I find it a total mess. The worst problem several pinners are having now is; their follower number counts are dropping massive amounts of numbers & not revealing the corrected numbers, after their fluctuations. But the worst of it is - their Help Center is completely worthless - No one ever gets back to me, with legitimate problems that need to be addressed. It's all about Money & Promoted Pins & it's nothing like the original 'user friendly' formatting - I wish someone could start up a new & improved, less commercial 'Pinterest', that really would be of interest to us all!

richardd180
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/15/17

They keep on sending me stuff in foreign languages.I can't read those languages. I've TRIED to tell them before.

yohancet
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
7/12/17

I receive several emails from them about pins that supposedly should interest me. But they won't let me look at any pins until I log on. It is just very annoying

morgann6
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/10/17

The fact that I have a Pinterest account at all should prove that I love it because I hate social media so much. I'm a 24 year-old with no facebook, no snapchat, no twitter, no instagram etc. I just have Pinterest. Usually I don't have a problem with Pinterest's new updates. They are supposed to make the site more navigable and user family. However with the past few updates that has not been the case. Let me start with the new inbox. You used to be able to send pins in messages to your friends with relative ease. That is no longer the case. Now you can pin the image from your inbox, you have to open the whole thing, and when you open the whole thing the message icon goes away so that to write a response you have to go all the way back to your inbox. Not to mention you can't just click out of the new pin that was sent to you and go back to the page you were just looking at. It's like opening up a whole new page, and it didn't used to be that way. It makes checking messages really inconvenient. Secondly they took away the slideshow button. I don't know why you would remove this feature. It was pretty handy if you were making an aesthetics themed board. Lastly, the suggested pins. I find this especially annoying because it had the potential to be a great feature, and at first it was. The problem with suggested pins is that they really need to improve the way they find pins to suggest for you because lately they get it so wrong. The suggested pins are supposed to be based on your recent Pinterest activity and now I believe they use your browser history as well, but some of the things Pinterest has suggested for me lately are so left field I seriously have no idea why they would be suggested for me. For instance, Pinterest has been under the impression for a really long time now that I am a huge One Direction fan. I have NEVER pinned anything One Direction! I seriously have no idea where this came from! Pinterest also keeps sending me hairstyling tutorials for black women which would be great if I were black, but I am not, I'm a plain old white person and these pins are irrelevant to me. I tried tailoring my suggested pins by liking certain pins so I wouldn't have to keep pinning the same thing but then they took away the like button. Then they started suggesting pins for me that were straight up offensive. This has been happening for several months, and for several months I click on the button of the suggested pin saying this isn't my style, it's irrelevant, etc. but that seems to do nothing because it continues to suggest pins for me that I don't like, sometimes it's pins that I have already said not to send me. As of yesterday it began suggesting pins to me that criticized my faith while simultaneously suggesting pins about my faith. My homepage is currently a blend of bible verses and posts about atheism. Where did this come from? It says "inspired by your recent activity," what recent activity? I went back and looked at my pins looking for anything that I might have posted pertaining to atheism, and there was nothing! There is nothing in my browser history to give any reason to these suggested pins. This is so left field, I seriously have no idea where it came from. Now let me be clear about one thing: If it were someone else's pin that's fine, that doesn't bother me, people can pin whatever they want, it's a free country, I don't care. What bothers me is that Pinterest suggested these pins for me! Based on what? There is nothing in my browser history or recent activity to suggested that I am into these pins. When I tried to say I wasn't interested in these pins they popped right back up on my feed. Finally I had to disable the suggested pins feature. I was disappointed because as I stated before this feature had the potential to be really useful instead it was annoying. I used to get on Pinterest and be really happy because it wasn't like social media, I didn't have to deal with a bunch of negativity and white noise, but with the malfunctioning suggested pins feature I'm left feeling frustrated and upset. Oh and the first time I disabled the feature it didn't work and continued to send me the suggested pins. Also I told this to my friend and she confessed that she was experiencing a similar problem with Pinterest suggesting irrelevant pins for her. Stop with the irrelevant pin suggestions!!!

Tip for consumers: -Turn of the suggested pins or else Pinterest will send you completely irrelevant pins claiming that they're based on your recent activity when it has absolutely nothing to do with your recent activity. Weird example: if you absolutely loved the state of Maine or something and you pinned a bunch of stuff about loving Maine, Pinterest is going to suggest pins to you about hating the state of Maine and how it is the most awful place on the planet, that's how screwy the suggested pins are.

suzannec50
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/5/17

It used to be possible to see full sized pins from boards in sequence without returning to the thumbnails.
The arrows that allow this are now gone,and it is impossible to see pins slideshow style anymore, help center says this was done deliberately as an "experiment"

WHY?

What use are image boards that don't let you look at the images?

It's destroyed my ability to use and enjoy this site and no one can tell me why they would make a crazy change like this.

psulm
4 reviews
8 helpful votes
6/29/17

Why hide? The process to make complaints or seek help is a joke. This billion dollar company doesn't even list its corporate contact info.

...not much more than a PORN SITE.

jennyb63
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/24/17

So many knitting patterns say they're free...but I'm never able to find them or they list a price for the pattern. That's not free and misleading.

rogerh74
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
6/23/17

I keep receiving emails from these people which I have never requested and do not want. I have tried to unsubscribe on several occasions and surprise surprise their unsubscribe button doesn't unsubscribe. I would very much like them to refrain from sending them. I AM NOT INTERESTED IN THEIR PRODUCTS.

robinw71
10 reviews
8 helpful votes
6/18/17

Originally loved this site for exchanging craft and design ideas but now I cannot even log on. I get about 3 emails a day with crap pin listings that do not interest me. I liked being able to just browse over the pins without having to log in just to look. Now all that is changed and you can not look at a pin without logging in. This entire weekend I have not had any access because it keeps turning down my log in info.

makennac1
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/17/17

My mom is on this website all of the time and drags me to 3 craft stores in a day for 5 hours looking for craft things she will never find. Do precolored sheets of burlap exist? The world will never know.

marka212
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
6/15/17

Please do not use Pinterest. They are selling images stolen from my Copyrighted site on theirs. When I complained, they told me to complete a long DMCA complaint for each and every of the images they have ripped off my site. I am not going to submit one DMCA, let alone hundreds. Pinterest have now gone quiet, like the thieves they are. Pinterest; remove my Copyrighted images from your w****e web site and pay me compensation.

Pinterest complaint ID 3489645

kentw19
1 review
12 helpful votes
6/8/17

I have a business account with Pinterest, so I'm one of those that pays for promoted pins that so many complain about. I set up who I'd like to target and I honestly try to target only people that might be interested in my product. That said, when I look at the promoted pins or suggested pins that Pinterest sends me, easily 9 out of 10 have absolutely nothing to do with my interests, the pins I look at, like or save. I sell custom furniture. When I go to look at my own pins and then look at the pins they put withbthem as "more like this" I can't for the life of me figure out what sort of algorithm they use to match these. Pinterest could be very beneficial for a small business like mine but I've stopped using it because I feel like their targeting is just a joke. If you have a question and try to get in touch with their support team, it takes two or three days to get any kind of a response and again 9 out of 10 times they'll totally ignore the question I asked and refer me to their helps page. I've just given up.

tiffanyr31
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
6/5/17

I HATE it. If you do a basic google/Bing search for DIY or what every you need, a darn Pinterest link is bound to show up. So you click on the link it takes you to Pinterest but doesn't show you what you clicked on. Instead hundreds of similar other crap appears making you waste time looking for what you need. Then when you find it and click on the picture, it takes you on yet another goose chase!!! After spending an hour search... I gave up went back to me original search from google, saved the picture and did a image search. Took me right to where I needed to go.

7 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer
4
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I warned everyone about what a piece of crap pinterest is and now their true colors are showing. #PinterestSucks

By Jason B. on 2/16/17
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I no longer receive when someone pins/follows my Boards. I believe it is another way to not give an accurate count as I just mentioned.. I have only been been utilizing Pinterest for several months. But, I came to the conclusion they are definitely not to be trusted when it come to personal board followers/ pinning/ counts I believe they need to be properly investigated to see what is realy going on inside their devious company. I am not the only one who feels this way There are several private newspaper investigation currently going on concerning many facets when it comes to this I am starting to believe shady company Hang in there partner I believe They are in for a rude awakening JERRY GARRETT.

By Jerry G. on 9/20/12
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I think the deleted my account because I expressed no interest,and deleted their adverts.

By Spank A. on 12/22/16
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes that happened to me too.

By Spank A. on 9/18/16
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

The answer is they now only want business members,and you no longer matter to them.

By Spank A. on 2/4/16
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Reliable .............. NO Fraud site ............ Its steals your photo's,

By Spank A. on 8/2/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

The customer support for pinterest is so inadequate,you will be lucky to get an answer at at.

By Spank A. on 5/19/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Pinterest staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Pinterest?
Post Review