Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Pinterest

Pinterest reviews

Is this your business?
183 reviews
Art, Fashion, Social Network
808 Brannan St.
San Francisco, California, USA
Tel: 6875467862
hi@pinterest.com

183 Reviews From Our Community

Service
8
Value
7
Shipping
3
Returns
3
Quality
6

All Reviews

jennyb63
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/24/17

So many knitting patterns say they're free...but I'm never able to find them or they list a price for the pattern. That's not free and misleading.

Advertisement
rogerh74
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
6/23/17

I keep receiving emails from these people which I have never requested and do not want. I have tried to unsubscribe on several occasions and surprise surprise their unsubscribe button doesn't unsubscribe. I would very much like them to refrain from sending them. I AM NOT INTERESTED IN THEIR PRODUCTS.

michaelt207
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
6/22/17

As a small business owner I used Pinterest during the holidays and spent a significant sum on promoted pins. The week before Christmas, Pinterest takes down my site because they claim I have something objectionable on it. It remains down until the third week of January. I will never use them again for arbitrarily taking my site down with all of the followers during my busiest time of year. They don't even have a helpdesk number or any way to resolve business conflicts. Pinterest is simply not ready for business. It should remain a high school bulletin board with grandmothers poking through it and the thieves who harvest intellectual property.

robinw71
10 reviews
4 helpful votes
6/18/17

Originally loved this site for exchanging craft and design ideas but now I cannot even log on. I get about 3 emails a day with crap pin listings that do not interest me. I liked being able to just browse over the pins without having to log in just to look. Now all that is changed and you can not look at a pin without logging in. This entire weekend I have not had any access because it keeps turning down my log in info.

makennac1
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/17/17

My mom is on this website all of the time and drags me to 3 craft stores in a day for 5 hours looking for craft things she will never find. Do precolored sheets of burlap exist? The world will never know.

marka212
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
6/15/17

Please do not use Pinterest. They are selling images stolen from my Copyrighted site on theirs. When I complained, they told me to complete a long DMCA complaint for each and every of the images they have ripped off my site. I am not going to submit one DMCA, let alone hundreds. Pinterest have now gone quiet, like the thieves they are. Pinterest; remove my Copyrighted images from your w****e web site and pay me compensation.

Pinterest complaint ID 3489645

kentw19
1 review
7 helpful votes
6/8/17

I have a business account with Pinterest, so I'm one of those that pays for promoted pins that so many complain about. I set up who I'd like to target and I honestly try to target only people that might be interested in my product. That said, when I look at the promoted pins or suggested pins that Pinterest sends me, easily 9 out of 10 have absolutely nothing to do with my interests, the pins I look at, like or save. I sell custom furniture. When I go to look at my own pins and then look at the pins they put withbthem as "more like this" I can't for the life of me figure out what sort of algorithm they use to match these. Pinterest could be very beneficial for a small business like mine but I've stopped using it because I feel like their targeting is just a joke. If you have a question and try to get in touch with their support team, it takes two or three days to get any kind of a response and again 9 out of 10 times they'll totally ignore the question I asked and refer me to their helps page. I've just given up.

tiffanyr31
1 review
4 helpful votes
6/5/17

I HATE it. If you do a basic google/Bing search for DIY or what every you need, a darn Pinterest link is bound to show up. So you click on the link it takes you to Pinterest but doesn't show you what you clicked on. Instead hundreds of similar other crap appears making you waste time looking for what you need. Then when you find it and click on the picture, it takes you on yet another goose chase!!! After spending an hour search... I gave up went back to me original search from google, saved the picture and did a image search. Took me right to where I needed to go.

kahnicac
1 review
6 helpful votes
5/20/17

Pinterest, I LOVE YOU,. I'm on you every day! Why did you take away the "Like" icon??? I'm annoyed because there are things I want to just like and save to my own private area. Please bring it back. And why did you change PIN to Save? It's called Pinterest, not Saveterest...just saying.

loris227
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
5/17/17

I used to love Pinterest, but when they changed it I don't pin anymore. They mess with your boards,When I log in it takes about 3 attempts and then I can't get my boards to come up.And I can't move my boards, When I try to let Pinterest know they do nothing about it. I am Done with them!!!!

jom112
1 review
7 helpful votes
5/13/17

But now I'm just sick to death of all the ads that have absolutely nothing to do with what I pin!! Hair ads, fashion ads, survey marketing ads and it goes on and on! I deactivated Facebook because of all the crap on that and thought I had Pinterest to fall back on, but alas no. Get your act together Pinterest and start listening to these complaints!

ssdn
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/12/17

Cleaned out my playboy pics after years of it being acceptable photography art. 3rd suspension in 6mo.'s after new review "bot" I assume. They won't even prove to me there was a violation of their policy. Going to find an alternative. Free Internet, my ars! FB, Google, Reddit, YouTube, this scensorship B.S. is out of control. GOOD RIDDENS!

dianes169
5 reviews
3 helpful votes
5/3/17

I don't like the fact that they have people "following" me who I DON'T EVEN KNOW! What's this about??? They just put this crap on my profile w/OUT MY KNOWLEDGE??
I do like getting ideas for knitting and sewing patterns which is what I use it for.......to get ideas on things. Some things cost bux tho......But overall it's okay. You can get some neat ideas and free stuff on there. I once tried to get FREE SAMPLES of ??? and I did start the process only to have my email FLOODED w/SPAM! You Need to be VERY cautious of what sites you go on! I found that out REAL FAST!!!
Ironically I googled a cousin of mine, name and I found HER !!! So it is good for such! I Couldn't believe that one! I hadn't seen or heard from her in YEARS! So I tried to see if she was on there and sure enough she was! Wow! There are Good things on here but as w/Always you Need to be careful!

Tip for consumers: You may get on there and never get off!!!!

erikk24
1 review
8 helpful votes
5/2/17

1) Loved this service for the creativity and interactions it made possible.
2) Tried HARD to follow their vague guidelines, then tried even harder to actually communicate with customer service when they began destroying boards of mine.
3) Finally gave up this week. Here's the note that I wrote them this morning:

"I have to confess that this is both disappointing and not surprising. It is radically untrue that the majority of my pins go against any acceptable use policy. I had hundreds of travel pins, fashion pins, science-fiction pins, famous or useful saying pins that didn't get close to violating your policy, and as for the single board that's actually in question I worked my butt off to try and comply with your Acceptable Use Policy. I had no interest in posting pornography, especially after it became clear from my first effort at Pinterest that even private boards were not OK for anything involving sexuality.

Pinterest can be a wonderful service. I've learned a lot about a number of things, gained some good ideas and even met some great people. At the same time you make it all but impossible to really contact anyone in customer service, you are very uneven and very vague in your Acceptable Use Policy and when you combine that with the remarkable challenge of actually getting an answer back from customer service it's no wonder that I've worked on my boards for months and wind up losing all the work I've put into my boards. It's unfair, it's poor customer service and it could have ALL been resolved quickly and easily if you 1) had some clear examples and information around your limits for pictures and 2) could make a better effort at actually being accessible to your customers.

It's a shame, really. No worries - I won't make another effort. I look forward to your successor, someday soon."

laurab241
1 review
9 helpful votes
4/27/17

I am disgusted by the way Pinterest treated me, I merely posted pins already on other people's boards about the 80's, with no knowledge of the fact these pics were of a famous model or copy righted, Pinterest told me in emails that the pins were removed but not my fault but then went on to suspend my account. I emailed the copy right holder and explained and she wrote to them removing the complaint. They have never answered my emails or read what she wrote. 6 years of being a user did not matter. User's mean nothing, only advertiser's. They don't care about the time or effort put in. In South Africa we don't have easy internet access and it cost me a lot over the years to build my account. I am disgusted and will not make another account.

katew62
1 review
8 helpful votes
4/24/17

What a shame this latest update is! There are too many complaints to mention, if I did my head would explode!! Pinterest has stopped caring and it doesn't look like they r in any hurry to improve this horrible update! Also pins have been shrinking and the clarity of some are so poor I have either deleted them or won't pin them! I've pinned so little since this crappy update which is a shame on them! The Pinterest experts where always there to help and now it's an automatic respond which is NO help at all!!! Better fix this or I'll just google instead which is easier!

gingerw6
1 review
10 helpful votes
4/23/17

I never tried to contact Pinterest until two days ago. All they did was send me the exact same "fix" as they have in their help center, word for word. My boards rearrange themselves. I put them in alphabetical order and next time I log in, they are messed up.Also I spend five minutes trying to get a new board from the bottom to the top. It won't let me drag it more than one row at a time so I am siting here -drag and drop - drag and drop- all the way to where I want it. It does the same on my husband's computer so it's not that. I have tons of photos to put on Pinterest but hate to do them one at a time. Why can't we drag and drop from our own files on our computer. 'We used to be able to' is NOT an answer.Stop asking for my phone number when I log in. You're not going to call me, you won't even address my complaints.

tath8
1 review
10 helpful votes
4/14/17

They messed the format now i cant even see who post anything or which board they used. Getting quite annoying to use it

testert2
1 review
9 helpful votes
4/3/17

Was good a few years ago. Then they started messing with the format, saturating it with useless ads that don't match any of my interests and locking accounts. Got tired of contacting customer support with no response. Awful. No wonder they're losing subscribers and scrambling to monetize it. Was a good idea which is now poorly executed.

vanh23
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
4/3/17

The service is quite fun to use and very convenient as I can store different materials in one place. However it has ads and some content stored by other users may be unsafe to minors - take care knowing that!

bethf24
1 review
7 helpful votes
3/26/17

I was deactivated by pinterest with no email on suspension or deactivation. I have been a avid pinner on the site for years. I have 30 boards...some conservative, wedding plans for children and building plans. I even have a site locked with personal family pictures. I have not gotten any assistance with pinterest on the deactivation of my account. No assistance except for email survey request that I have sent dissatisfied. I don't know what else to do. Update::::It has been a week! Pinterest has not bothered to contact me. I feel pinterest has stolen my pictures of my boys...I pray everyone think again before trusting pinterest..especially with family pictures...The company deactivated my account with no warning.... They do not care.update..after a month emailing Pinterest of the diagnosis of my account...they emailed me that it was permantly deleted...Due to hate speech. I read conservative read, Fox News, Weazel zippers and they deleted my entire accounts. Stole family pictures. They accuse me of hate!!!!!! I have no hateful bone in my body!!!!!! This is Soooo Unjust!!!

heidid27
1 review
5 helpful votes
3/17/17

I have noticed that when I'm looking at pins, food, dessert, etc..... That there are ads of women in bras, bikinis, etc......

julier93
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/5/17

I have had the same problem as Sue e .The filthy porn that pops up is disgusting, I have emailed a complaint and am now awaiting a reply. The disgusting photos and videos are truly shocking. I was only looking at hair styles if I wanted to look at men masterbating then I'd go on a porn site .

lulut1
1 review
11 helpful votes
3/1/17

I collect recipes and conscientiously wrote notes on the pins on hundreds of them which I had cooked and adjusted the ingredients. Then Pinterest hid my notes so I could not easily access them. Then they changed the format and gave us a TRIED button. I used this to easily see what I had cooked and adjusted. I had over 100 Tried notes. Now they are gone and all my hard work lost again. I had 4 Hidden Boards with my personal favourite recipes. They are now removed with no mention so that I had time to save the contents. Pinterest cannot be trusted. I look fwd to someone building a better platform. Pinterest sucks.

viviand16
1 review
6 helpful votes
3/1/17

I've had pinterest for not that long and they susPender it for not reason.I've been suspend for a month now and I've emailed them constantly as in every 3 days. They don't reply to my emails and questionss and they seem to just ignore you. I'm very frustrated with them and I feel that they should improve their service

7 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer
1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I warned everyone about what a piece of crap pinterest is and now their true colors are showing. #PinterestSucks

By Jason B. on 2/16/17
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I no longer receive when someone pins/follows my Boards. I believe it is another way to not give an accurate count as I just mentioned.. I have only been been utilizing Pinterest for several months. But, I came to the conclusion they are definitely not to be trusted when it come to personal board followers/ pinning/ counts I believe they need to be properly investigated to see what is realy going on inside their devious company. I am not the only one who feels this way There are several private newspaper investigation currently going on concerning many facets when it comes to this I am starting to believe shady company Hang in there partner I believe They are in for a rude awakening JERRY GARRETT.

By Jerry G. on 9/20/12
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I think the deleted my account because I expressed no interest,and deleted their adverts.

By Spank A. on 12/22/16
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes that happened to me too.

By Spank A. on 9/18/16
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

The answer is they now only want business members,and you no longer matter to them.

By Spank A. on 2/4/16
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Reliable .............. NO Fraud site ............ Its steals your photo's,

By Spank A. on 8/2/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

The customer support for pinterest is so inadequate,you will be lucky to get an answer at at.

By Spank A. on 5/19/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Pinterest staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Pinterest?
Post Review