SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of GOG

GOG reviews

Is this your business?
27 reviews
44%
Categories: Downloads, Games
Tel: 5.9947901997
This business is not yet responding to reviews. If this is your business claim it and respond free.

27 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
4
Value
4
Shipping
3
Returns
4
Quality
4

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

bogdanb6
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/14/16

I bought a game that turned out to be missing few features in comparison with the same game offered directly by its producer. So I applied for a refund, as the description didn't mention the fact it is not a fully-featured version. Meeeh....

I had to wait 10 days for a response, sending them ~10 mails in the meantime. Then the response was something like "Here, take the money. Why did you buy it if you knew you didn't like it ? It's all your fault, be happy that we kindly give you a refund".

Garbage - never ever again. I don't want to go through this hell again.

Ask Bogdan about GOG
Advertisement
keithr40
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/9/16

YES, I'm one of the PISSED OFF customers. On May 28th, 2016 I Ordered and Paid to receive CONQUEST: FRONTIER WARS. I tried several times to download and it kept failing.
I have been trying to get a hold of someone at GOG ever since. NO SUCH LUCK!!! I would say it was like they disappeared off the face of the Earth, but NO, they are still around because I keep getting their 'offers' to buy more. GOOD LUCK WITH THAT EVER HAPPENING AGAIN!!
The $5.99 for the game, about 2x Fosters Oil cans worth, no biggie, but the principle of the matter, GOG, if they are going to operate like this, they need to be taken down, and I have given them several opportunities to make it right, and they won't even contact me and even have the decency to LIE to me, or give some BS excuse. So I'll revoke payment and report them the BBB. I suggest everyone do the same.

One FRIGGIN STAR because there is no ZERO stars.
Keith

Ask Keith about GOG
wills61
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/6/16

I purchased a game from GOG.com and so has one of my friends. Specifically I purchased Gangsters: Organized Crime and my friend purchased Dungeon Keeper 2. Both are slated to function on a Windows XP, Vista, or Windows 7. Needless to say, neither game functioned on any of the three systems (yes I am an adult computer nerd who has all 3 systems and so do my friends/colleagues :) ). Per the website's recommendations, I ensured all my directX drivers were updated, attempted to run the software in 256 color mode, as an administrator, and run in different compatibility modes for all three systems. Not to mention I used several other methods that I am aware of to attempt to get the game to work (including bypassing introductory videos through the game configuration code). The DirectDraw components on the dxdiag check are enabled and functioning appropriately as will as the Direct3D components. My friend attempted the same and no matter what we tried we still could not get the software to run.

My friend and I both requested a refund from this store and we were both denied despite being well within the 30 day money back guarantee period. The only thing we were offered was store credit which is apparently only good for a year. How can we purchase a product that doesn't function and then our store credit money is only good for a year?

On the homepage of the website they specifically state that if the game does not function that they will issue a refund. Apparently this is not the case. Even with using the Steam website I only ever had one of Steam's games that would not run and they issued me a prompt refund.

Stay away from GOG.com. They DO NOT honor their "Money Back" guarantee. The lack of integrity they possess as a company is deplorable and their business license should be revoked and their server promptly shut down. Some others my have been able to get their software to run, but they are taking quite a risk with purchasing from this company. Remember just because one purchased software component worked this time, doesn't mean a newly purchased piece of software will work next time and at that point with this company, you are just up the creek without a paddle.

Tip for consumers: Stay away!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Will about GOG
danc93
13 reviews
6 helpful votes
4/4/16

They have lots of sales on Games. However most of them are outdated and or older games that most people don't care to play anymore. I have never dealt with their customer service, but when you order a game it instantly starts downloading and an hour later you're playing.

Ask Dan about GOG
danielj56
7 reviews
1 helpful vote
2/13/16

Best site to buy games drm-free.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Daniel about GOG
jackw93
18 reviews
24 helpful votes
1/12/16

Sadly I didn't find this site and saw other GOG reviews that praised it. I purchased a game described as "download for multiple platforms" and started to download it. I cancelled the download when I found out it was ONLY Windows, and then asked for a refund. Throughout the purchase and all over their site is a "30-Day Money Back" guarantee, but when I contacted the site they only offered store credit under the guise that the game was already downloaded (also a lie). Not only did they lie about the platform of the game but the refund guarantee as well. I refused to take their store credit as I would not be using this scam website again. It looked like a scam for a reason: it IS!

Tip for consumers: Don't use it! It's a scam!

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
Ask Jack about GOG
kelld2
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
11/3/15

They seem to have some fine games on there...but I wouldn't know, I couldn't get it to work on my computer. Then life happened and I got busy: a month or so later, I contact them and tell them it won't work, but they won't refund my money. The email I received from "Lisa" in their customer service was short and not very honest/polite (it ended with the phrase "I can't help you.") After I told them their customer service sucks, they begrudgingly offered a credit. I told them to stick it up their a$$. I refuse to support a company that treats its customers like crap and so should you. Look elsewhere for your games.

Ask Kell about GOG
ruhelu
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/30/15

After repeated emails, i am at a loss as the company won't refund me my monies (even though it accepts the programmes doesn't work on Mac, even though they clearly advertise that it does). Instead they offer a credit on their account. Why should i have to settle for a credit? Can anyone give me advise what i should do?

Ruhel

Ask ruhel about GOG
joshuag25
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/20/15

Gog.com has delivered countless titles, playable straight "out of the box." This site has made it easy to download and play classic titles immediately on modern versions of Windows. I am impressed with the service and the library of games available.

Ask Joshua about GOG
davel77
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/16/15

Got myself Kings Bounty on GOG.COM.Had every single bug possible,payed the same price at Steam.com.No issues what soever.Waste of money and time

Ask Dave about GOG
bobf42
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/8/15

Its a complete scam. I downloaded commados pack and it wont work. reinstalled gog and galaxy etc. all games too. wont even load. I cancelled the credit card i used just in case its a hoax. Oh and go ahead and try to use the site to contact customer care. Its not possible as they dont exist. Be warned I really think all the reviews and so called "users"are complete shills. I bet no one has ever downloaded a gamer from them.

Ask bob about GOG
ronalds61
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/28/15

Apparently if a CD-Key is bought from a third party and that key happened to be originally bought with a stolen credit card. They'll revoke YOUR game after you bought it legally, despite having no knowledge whatsoever about how it was originally purchased. Without any notification.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Ronald about GOG
mikem277
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/27/15

I bought NWN diamond and NWN 2 Complete and neither would even download. I tried the new Gog Galaxy and the older Gog downloader and neither will even start the download. I tried the use the report feature two different times and it pops up an error message. I contacted tech support and never heard back. Poorest quality game site I have ever seen.

Ask Mike about GOG
patrickw44
1 review
5 helpful votes
5/31/15

I bought the game "Torchlight" from gog.com on macintosh. It fails to work, and I've messaged their technical support three times and counting about it, over the past week. I've received no reply. Also note that three of the positive reviews for gog.com on this site are cut and pasted from each other, which is always suspicious.

Ask Patrick about GOG
johns890
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/18/15

No installation instructions requires you to download a 4 gig file in browser before it can install do not buy large games from gog.

Ask John about GOG
karlp15
1 review
4 helpful votes
4/28/15

Downloaded software and it would not run. Asked for refund and was told to send diag. files. So now I paid for the opportunity to be their debugger! Think not. They claim software would work - it did not so refund my money. DO NOT USE THIS SITE.

Ask kARL about GOG
shaunh14
1 review
6 helpful votes
4/5/15

If you ever have a problem with anything there will be no help. Their payment options also are quite odd. I had more then enough money and a card that allowed international. would not accept payment. then switched money to paypal account to buy it. told me payment was not accepted but got charged. Had to fight tooth and nail to get the money back but they could not give me the game. I find them to be garbage mostly. but if you can get your games might be ok. Go steam if you have an option. Also if you notice most of the reviews are copy/paste. clearly company at work.

Ask Shaun about GOG
jackc57
8 reviews
12 helpful votes
3/31/14

Good website. There's a lot of old but cool games you can buy and play on.

Ask Jack about GOG
emmaj10
5 reviews
21 helpful votes
3/26/14

I love this site, it's easy to use and I found a lot of games I haven't played for a looong time! Very fun and the games are at the right price. I'm really glad to have found this site. ^^

Ask Emma about GOG
chancep3
5 reviews
15 helpful votes
11/2/13

Been wanting to buy something off GOG for a few years and finally a Dungeon Keeper 2 promo came along where it was like $2.50. I couldn't pass it up. Well not only did the site actually do what it was supposed to, but the game was fully patched AND actually plays properly!!!! And on top of that I got Witcher for free which I wasn't expecting and didn't even know about that promo. Maybe my expectations are really low and I'm used to things never, ever working, but GOG did come through seamlessly.

So... obviously you need Steam due to some games ONLY being on Steam (and some content being workshop-only also, and multi-player 1st or 3rd party...), but whenever possible get your stuff DRM-free from GOG.

Ask Chance about GOG
dannys22
4 reviews
5 helpful votes
10/26/13

1 of the best site i found really enjoy with it! love!

Ask Danny about GOG
nealb22
4 reviews
8 helpful votes
9/9/13

FANTASTIC SITE! Great bargains on great games, always doing special deals, and entirely trustworthy. I've bought loads of games from them with not a single problem so far.

Can't recommend GOG enough.

Ask Neal about GOG
harolds26
7 reviews
17 helpful votes
6/18/13

Love the site. Good deals on games, delivery is quick. Never had an issue with them.

Ask Harold about GOG
marleya2
6 reviews
10 helpful votes
4/3/13

Great website for your old school games. Every game comes with it's own installer from GOG that works on all operating systems. Great prices and special deals are always running for many different games. I recommend this to anyone who is looking for classic games of any kind.

Ask Marley about GOG
marsc
8 reviews
40 helpful votes
8/14/10

I agree entirely with Chris O. review of GOG. Cheap, reliable, DRM free and a really great community and customer support to boot. I highly recommend them.

One word of caution, the reviews on the site often tend to rate games much more highly than they deserve, so take that with a grain of salt.

Ask Mars about GOG
1 rating was submitted through the SiteJabber Browser Extension

1 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the GOG staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
6/4/16
Add your answer
I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines
Questions? Get answers from the GOG staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
GOG?
Post Review