SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of Auction.com

Auction.com reviews

154 reviews
9%
Categories: Auction, Real Estate
One Mauchly
Irvine, CA 92618, USA
Tel: (800)793-6107
customerservice@auction.com

154 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
20
Value
19
Shipping
8
Returns
9
Quality
17

Review Highlights

cherylb24

Finally closed on this property it has been the worst real estate transaction ever, it dragged out for 7 months. (in 60 reviews)

laurak52

Based on the reviews, I was aware that auction.com may internally bid up the auction price, acting as another bidder. (in 99 reviews)

claudias20

The property consists of 1.15 acres and all but 8 ft of the property are in the front of the house. (in 56 reviews)

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

jamesw331
1 review
9 helpful votes
7/17/16

Bid on a house never had a chance to get it. I went and looked at the house and talked to a realtor the bid went higher than the realtor said market value was worth. Home finally sold later on the regular market for way less than the highest bid on Auction.com. What a scam.

Ask James about Auction.com
Advertisement
joelb58
2 reviews
13 helpful votes
7/8/16

Approximately 30,000 homes for sale at any given time. $2,500 deposit per bidder per house. Conservatively 5 bidders per house. This equals a liquid bank account of $375,000,000 at any given time in Auction.com's account. At 3% interest they earn $11,250,000 per year on interest from money they have on deposit from sucker bidders. They have no interest in actually selling a house. They are only interested in keeping as much deposit money in their account as long as possible. The real question is, why are reputable banks allowing them to sell their REO homes when they know what they are all about?

Ask Joel about Auction.com
samb157
1 review
9 helpful votes
6/27/16

After reading ALL of the terrible reviews here, I am no longer going to bid here. I think everyone needs to send the complaints to the Attorney Generals office in their state
and let a fraud investigation start. After a certain amount of complaints the Big Boys may get involved. This place needs to be shut down based on all I have read!

Ask sam about Auction.com
waltw2
1 review
4 helpful votes
6/25/16

The house for auction on June 28, Bardo Street, Visalia, is a RATS NEST. The yard is dry dirt, the inside is TRASHED, the windows are boarded as squatters were there until the police ran them away. Beware of this house. It is probably worth Ten to Twenty Thousand, and will require at least Fifty Thousand to make it liveable. Dr. Walters

Ask Walt about Auction.com
susanm218
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/23/16

I won a house in a pre-auction on Auction.com in CA. First time buyer and the whole deal was flawless no complaints whatsoever.
Sue in California

Ask Susan about Auction.com
walidf6
1 review
13 helpful votes
6/9/16

The bank can walk out of the auction any time. Not binding to any word they say. The auction I was looking at was going to start in few hours then all of a sudden the auction was cancelled. After hours of research,phone calls and visits to the property the bank just decides to cancel the auction!!! Such a waste of time, no transparency
Very disappointing!

Ask Walid about Auction.com
terrancep2
1 review
15 helpful votes
6/9/16

I spent much time reviewing their properties, and considered to buy multiple homes with over xxx,xxx cash. After reading about the shill bidding, poor customer service, and many other issues I am extremely hesitant to even place a bid. Most likely I will not be using your service, unless I see someone step in and address these complaints. As of now, there is not even one person defending your company, and tons of legitimate complaints from people who have used your service, and even a complaint from someone who worked for you. This is frustrating to see, especially after registering and spending much time on your site.

Ask Terrance about Auction.com
sarahl154
1 review
18 helpful votes
6/6/16

I've bought three properties from auction.com & the last one was the worst! There are some good deals, but you have to be really careful or they will just let deals sit with your money tied up, give you faulty title making a property impossible to sell, and screw up every piece of paperwork.

Do NOT use their closing company Servicelink-they are HORRIBLE and incompetent. We got to closing and they provided the wrong deed. It then took over 80 days to get them to correct it. The closing specialist at auction, Lynette Achong, was completely unresponsive for weeks-my realtor and I called and emailed daily for two weeks to get a response. She was rude and when we pushed, she would threaten to kill the whole deal & keep my earnest money if we didn't stop calling. I told her to bring it on-she wouldn't have a leg to stand on. She was basically mad we used our own title company who caught their mistake. She said she had planned to close our deal to have it count for her April numbers & our insisting on the correct deed was going to mess up her pay bonus...tough, honey...not my problem...

No one will ever let you talk to anyone's supervisor, but when we got to 80+ days and no response for weeks & her threats, they finally elevated it & got it done. It required a director at servicelink to force the title agent their, Heather Moeser, to do her job.

The vast majority of their properties have a problem, which is why the banks use the auction sites to sell them. You have to do your homework and I wouldn't recommend the site for inexperienced real estate investors unless you have a savvy realtor to help you. Properties are sold as is, including title issues, so it requires either a lot of due diligence or such low prices you're not risking much.

Ask Sarah about Auction.com
jeniferz
1 review
11 helpful votes
6/3/16

If it states a home is for sale at auction contact the sheriffs dept to verify! They list homes not for sale! Lawsuit pending against auction.com

Ask Jenifer about Auction.com
jenniferm225
1 review
5 helpful votes
6/1/16

The closing took 3 hours where they had all the paperwork wrong, they sent a notary who they forgot to send the pw to and the Realtors had to print. Buyers handed over a check for remaining balance and left with no keys or instructions as to how to take possession, because AUCTION.COM did not supply any. They never kept contact with me even after assigning an asset manager who NEVER ONCE (JACK DYU) responded to a single email.

Ask Jennifer about Auction.com
shawnm64
1 review
7 helpful votes
5/15/16

These people are incompetent. They want to control the closing but they can't get the correct deed. They have bumped back the closing date twice. In the real world there would be very serious ramifications for not holding a closing date but they don't care.

Ask Shawn about Auction.com
keithp35
1 review
33 helpful votes
5/10/16

I won the auction, met the reserve price, paid my deposit and had a signed purchase agreement then sat waiting for the deal to close. After two weeks Auction.com sent me a email asking me to sign to agree to cancel the transaction due to it being conveyed to HUD. I refused to sign for over a week and every day I would get the same email Then all of a sudden I get an email. "Thank you for confirming an unilateral sellers cancellation will be sent to all parties." I sent and email stating that I did not sign anything and this is what I got back."In my email it states unilateral sellers cancellation. This would not require a the buyers to sign the form." As of today I do not have my deposit back and I do not know when I will get it. But from the look of this whole experience, auctions on Auction.com are not final and the seller can pull it back at any time. However the buyer is not able to inspect the inside of the property and you could loose your deposit if the buyer decides to back out. If this is not the case someone can correct me. But this is the way I feel. And yes all of this may very well be in the sellers agreement but I have never been to an auction where the property was sold then pulled back. Seems shady to me.

Ask Keith about Auction.com
andresh15
1 review
15 helpful votes
5/10/16

I've been reading some very bad reviews from people and collectively they are correct. What I have experienced with these guys is poor service. Once you win the auction you are setup with a contact person, designated go-to person. The first email I received from my agent was a demand to send EMD within 24 hours. OK, I understand that part. The next part of the demand is to sign and return a contract within 2 hours. I am an investor and I prefer to take these contracts to my attorney to review and explain to me any pitfalls.
I attempted to contact my agent and it rolled into voicemail. The voicemail says he will return my call in 24 hours. Already this will put me past my deadline. I read it as a delay tactic to force you to abide by any terms in the contract.

I communicated several times through voicemail and email. I received slow to no response. One of the emails I received urged me to contact his higher up. I did on two occasions and received no response. I guess that makes sense, the boss
sets the tone for the employees. While I disliked the service, I now know what to expect on my next endeavor with auction.com. I think it's an easy service, definitely better than attending a live auction where properties can be cancelled and postponed.

Use the service and focus on low prices. Bid on many properties expecting to lose many. All you need is one right?

In hindsight, the service is terrible but not unbearable, as long as you keep the right perspective.

Hope this helps!

Andres Hernandez
H3 First Investments LLC
www.h3first.com

Tip for consumers: Close the deal you want, not the one they want.

Service
Value
Quality
Ask Andres about Auction.com
tyroneh17
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/26/16

Teevee going places

Ask tyrone about Auction.com
nf37
1 review
14 helpful votes
4/26/16

I started with a bid of $2500, the seller countered my bid to $7500. Oh, that's smart. Normally, the increments for other auctions in $1000, nope, for them it's $5000. So now they expect me to bid $12500? Really? for a house worth less?

The old owner left because of the crime in the neighborhood, so they walked away from the house. Highest crime rate out of all the neighborhoods in the city, and the city has hit #2 on a couple occasions as the worst in crime in the US. At best, it's worth $10K, if you're willing to put up with the gunfire.

Not even the seller got out of his truck to take a picture of the house, which by the way, is the wrong house. Auction.com never bothered to check! The seller rolled up, took a picture through the driver side window, stuck the camera outside to take a picture of the street in front and back. Note, they think the house is worth more. LOL!

So I tried to contact the seller who at this point is wearing rose colored glasses to call me after this thing ends and no else bids on it, and I know I'm the only one willing to work out a deal for them. No, they won't let me. Nothing they can do. Uh, auction.com left a bad taste in my mouth.

Ask N about Auction.com
lesterm28
1 review
18 helpful votes
4/25/16

I'm over a month in to what should have been a two week escrow and I'm experiencing the same bull$#*! as everyone else- no progress being made and the closing specialist (ursala auger) refuses to answer the phone or return emails.

There is no way I would ever deal with auction.com again.

Ask Lester about Auction.com
paulab43
1 review
22 helpful votes
4/17/16

I had register for a bid and they hold $2,500 deposit for over a week after the action ended and the Seller never accept the highest bid(not mine). I had to call them many times to see my money back.
They did not let me see the property (even holding a Real Estate Broker license), so does not make any sense to me, besides that they told me we are responsible for all unpaid taxes and any lien the property has...
I stopped looking their site and I think they are not serious... so be careful, because you can loose a lot of money with this auction.com scam company.

Ask Paula about Auction.com
georgej51
1 review
18 helpful votes
4/15/16

won bid in feb. paid 2650.00 deposit and have been strung along ever since I am thing it is some kind of scam out only deposit so far the good part of whole afair

Ask george about Auction.com
junm3
1 review
38 helpful votes
3/30/16

I can not believe that such practice even survived so long in the United States. I want to warn anybody who are thinking to buy from auction.com. There are several things you need to pay attention to. First, when you bid online, the auction.com will bid against to raise the price. If your bid does not meet the reserve, they will keep up bidding against you. If nobody win the bid, they will post the property one day later. Second, the auction.com has terrible closing services. You need to be careful what you signed for. Usually, you will have to pay the closing cost for the seller. The closing agency they are using is called service link. Both auction.com and service link has terrible services. They only want money. They do not want to do the work. Most important, you need to ask them whether they have the key to the property. Our experience is that we paid everything for the closing and waiting for the key. Auction.com told us that they do not have key to the property. You have to break the door to gain access.

I posted my experience here to let other people know so that you won't get hurt by auction.com.

Ask Jun about Auction.com
tomm1065
1 review
33 helpful votes
3/26/16

The bank or whomever will bump the bid to over the value. This site allows shil bidding so the owner is bidding on his own property ( a violation in an ethical auction) or snipe bid at the end of the auction I gave them a seldom used credit card and one month later it was used in another state miles away, watched an auction, house went for over the asking price, months later still for sale, BUYER BEWARE

Ask Tom about Auction.com
cad54
1 review
34 helpful votes
3/24/16

Action.com lies about people occupying homes because they don't want you to see them. If you saw the true conditions you wouldn't bid on them. The pics they show on site are 10 plus years old. When you do bid they will jack up prices 3x the value of properties. This site is a Scam!!! To say they use false advertising is a huge understatement. Nothing good will come from Action.com.

Ask Ca about Auction.com
toldy
1 review
15 helpful votes
3/18/16

This is a scam! Be aware that homes are listed in which are NOT for sale!

Ask Told about Auction.com
paulettem7
1 review
19 helpful votes
3/14/16

Recently there was a property that I was interested in bidding on. The bidding was to be from the 17th to the 19th of February. I went to place a bid and the property was not there. I contacted them and they said that it had been sold at pre auction. I did not see anything about a pre auction when I was researching.

This is not fair nor ethical. I did not get a chance to bid. When I asked who had purchased the property they would not tell me. How can they get away with such underhanded dealings? I cannot believe this is legal,

Ask Paulette about Auction.com
carlyj7
1 review
25 helpful votes
3/7/16

I have tried for several weeks to get someone there to answer the phone during business hours but all you get is voice mail. I also tried live chat TWICE and no one chatted.

I doubt this is a real business. The next thing I am going to do is contact the CA State Real Estate Licensing Board and investigate the person who claims to be the licensed real estate agent on the front page of auction.com Then I am going to contact my State Licensing Boards to see if he is registered to sell in my state.

Ask Carly about Auction.com
yrjh
1 review
6 helpful votes
3/7/16

i sold my fresh hairy smellt crispy $#*! and they wouldnt accept it muther$#*!ers

Ask yrj about Auction.com
1 rating was submitted through the SiteJabber Browser Extension

42 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Auction.com staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
6 days ago
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
1 week ago
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
See 20 more questions
See more Q&A
Questions? Get answers from the Auction.com staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

7 Photos for Auction.com

From reviewers
×
Have a question about
Auction.com?
Post Review