Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of GB Laptops Ltd

GB Laptops Ltd reviews

16 reviews
Warpsgrove Lane
Chalgrove, England OX44 7RW, United Kingdom
Tel: +44-844-3573543

16 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

simonw16
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/5/12

Brought a laptop "As New" off UKLaptops December 2011, which was cheaper than everywhere else.

Arrived with nasty scratches on the lid and so Windows 7 COA, laptop also needed activation, So it went back to be sorted.

Some days later after waiting for parts, the laptop arrived back, again marks on the lid, Windows had expired, Screen was actually wonky on the hinges and also loose around the screen.

So it went back again.

Arrived back in halfway through January, with 2 marks on the screen and still no Windows COA.

Off it goes again...

Arrives back, seems ok this time, please note this is 6th Feb, also received an Indian Windows 7 COA.

September comes, laptops getting too hot... Battery says its reached the end of its usable life?? After 8 months?

Off it goes again in October due to other commitments, arrives back with new compound on the CPU, no new battery, however the battery wasn't clipping in correctly, so it went back, with a return saying they should of charged me as they say there was nothing wrong.

Emailed about the battery, answer was " They do wear out.. the good news is that on eBay the cost of a new one is
about £20, Sorry we cannot be any further help on this matter "

So I paid for laptop in December, eventually received one I can use in February, after sending it back 4 times at my cost and having to wait 2 months from when I first brought the "As New" laptop and then being told after 8 months that a new battery is £20 on eBay and they cannot send me one as a good will gesture after everything I went through.

I will be staying well clear!!

julienv3
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/20/12

DO NOT BUY FROM THESE GUYS

first of all, i looked around for reviews but not well enough..
the positive ones on websites come from americans all wanting to buy or claiming to have bought several machines from them (odd to buy a pc 500 pounds if you can get it for 300 dollars ..)
on ebay they are very well noted, however if you look closely : only SELLERS leave positive remarks, BUYERS leave NEGATIVE or NEUTRAL.

this being said : my experience :
got the WRONG laptop, badly packed (stands broke off etcetera), not fully working, clearly NOT tested (backlight not working, leds not working, cdrom not working etc.. any one of these faults are evident as soon as you turn the thing on so obviously no'one with them turned it on or they deliberately choose to ship me a halfbroken thing)
They sold me a laptopt with a windows version it was never made for and withouth any licence (the licence is just torn off, glue still sticking on its place)

their only solution so far concisted of advising me ebay to get parts (that should have been working in the first place) and lots of emails without anythin concrete, still waiting to get a Windows licence for example... )

have my attorney and creditcard company on them now :(

domikas
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/10/12

Dell laptop is a magnificent electronic device which work outstanding. To buy a dells laptop I'm very pleased.I was very thanked ful to uk laptop for create a wonderful device.It's help me to creats various presentation to my works life.And thanks to all uk laptop companies staff's who help all the customer.So,many many thanks to dell laptop.

dominikt
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/9/12

Fantastic Dell store! Best of the best!! I was pleased with my purchases with them. It's worked very good. Quick procedure, top quality Dell laptops, good system and helpful customer service. If you need an cost-effective Dell computer, I recommend this store! Thank you UK Laptops!

jasonj10
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/20/12

After searching around the Internet for a Dell laptop that had everything I needed I finally found UK Laptops and I'm sure glad I did. They have awesome service and support. Their prices were comparable to other places I checked with only a few dollars each way but they did give better shipping prices for my order. I also like the fact that they have such a huge collection that is actually in stock and ready to ship. If you need a laptop then check with them first!

jackg9
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/16/12

First of all I'd just like to explain my story rather than just shout NO DON'T etc , just like to thank the people of uklaptops for 3 month long migraine they have given me. Right so first i order the laptop, received with a cracked screen, sent back received again with the computer unable to maintain power for longer than 10 seconds. received a third time with none of the usb ports functioning. Personally think the laptop was never pre tested, as all these problems I noticed immediately. Tried to haggle over delivery charges with me, which i thought was ridicules seeing as the machine was faulty from day one. I returned the laptop in person, they didn't even want to give me a receipt until i demanded one, was told the money would be paid in 3 days, then 5, then a week... you get the idea, waited 30 days still no money, when i phoned uklaptops to sort the matter, was told that it had been paid (lies) and was given an attitude like they couldn't care less, even put the phone down on me a few times. Im now taking these people to court so wish me luck. Also machine was marked with scratches, felt light and unauthentic basically a cheap refurbished faulty piece of crap with customer service to match, disgusting . Wouldn't deal with them again if they were the last computer company on the planet, so yes in short STAY AWAY

samv4
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/13/12

Love my Dell Inspiron 14. Great laptop, cheap price and received it in complete package. Thank you UK Laptops!

leonardoc1
1 review
5 helpful votes
5/11/12

Great Dell store! Best of the best!! I was happy with my purchases with them (I've bought 2 Dell laptops from this store). Everything has done quickly and the prices made my pocket jingle. Highly recommend UK Laptops to anyone!

marym46
1 review
5 helpful votes
5/11/12

I was recommended to go to UK Laptops to purchase a laptop by a friend who had recently bought from them and was very happy with their laptop. I had no clue what was the best machine to buy for my needs, so I contacted the guys at UK Laptops, they were extremely helpful in providing me a laptop which fitted the bill and it was so much cheaper than other retailers. I got a bargain!. I've had my laptop now for some time and it is PERFECT! I am very happy with my purchase and would recommend UK Laptops to anyone wanting to purchase a laptops. First Class service!

georgeb14
1 review
5 helpful votes
5/10/12

I was happy with my purchased in UK Laptops. Fast process, high quality Dell laptops, good package and friendly customer support. If you need an affordable Dell laptop, I highly recommend this store!

topia
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/4/12

Avoid these shop!

I bought a refrubished Dell xp 1640 at February 2010. Since I didn't have credit card or paypal, I paid by wire bank transfer. Computer arrived soon, but it broke by itself in a few days, within the timeframe of 7 working days so I sent the computer back and asked for reimbursement. (Later on it turned out that I'm not entitled to reimbursement, but only repair, but that's not the main point now).

In the following email conversation they said to me that they didn't get the computer back at all, even though I got from the post office UK Laptops digital signature showing that they actually got it!

Soon they didn't reply to my emails anymore, and I contacted European Consumer Center (as I live in another EU country), which in the end couldn't be of any help. They adviced that there is a possibility to take UK Laptops to court, but at the same time warned about the price of the process, so I didn't.

I lost about 1200 :(

ryank1
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/28/10

AVOID these robbing *****@stards.

I have a Dell XPS M1710 with a failed graphics card. I sent the card off to be repaired and they repaired it in a reasonable amount of time (about a week) and sent it back once I'd made a payment to them. The cost was over £100 for the repair and shipping. That was less than 6 weeks ago.

The graphics card has failed already, and when I phoned up UKLaptops, they informed me that the warranty is only 14 days long. They don't make this clear enough on their website as I didn't realise this.

They kindly offered to repair it again for about £50 - to which I replied, "Well what's to stop it failing again in a few weeks, and £150 is about half the cost of a new cheap PC, so I might as well cut my losses now".

I'm very unhappy with the sites warranty policy. Seems like a licence to print money, at the customer's expense. I'm now left £100 out of pocket, and have a laptop that is essentially a very expensive paperweight.

However, their customer service was pleasant, if unhelpful to my plight.

If you use this site, make sure that you're aware that you could well be wasting money on a sub-par repair service. I suppose you may get lucky, but with a 14 day warranty, it seems to me they have no interest in fixing your laptop properly as it will profit them more to get it just about working so they can rob some more cash off you when it inevitably fails again.

Very disappointed, and I won't be using them again. I should have put the money towards a new PC instead.

jamesc18
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/9/10

Ordered a Dell 1545 laptop on the Wednesday and it arrived on the thursday morning
it was as described and looks perfect, saved around £200
very happy, would buy again

edw14
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/10/10

Having done all the due diligence, I decided to take the risk and order a Dell E6500 from UK Laptops. The price quoted was more than £300 less than the equivalent spec on Dell's website. Other than a few minor scratches the laptop was advertised to be in very good condition.

The laptop was delivered just two days later. I received a couple of emails notifying me of the delivery: the first notifying me of the day and the second the hour of the day the delivery was expected. The delivery occurred exactly as promised.

The laptop was exactly as described in the advert: excellent condition except for the minor scratches on the lid. The only item included with the laptop was the Dell power adaptor, which was also in excellent condition. Unfortunately I was also expecting an XP Professional installation CD and a Microsoft certificate of authenticity for the OS, but neither were included.

I immediately contacted UK Laptops. They apologised for the oversight and immediately dispatched both the COA and the installation CD. They were sent recorded delivery and arrived a couple of days later. I was very impressed with their service at this point. Unfortunately, having received the CD I went ahead and repartitioned my hard drive in readiness to reinstall the OS. The CD is unreadable! It has been very badly scratched and even after careful cleaning cannot be read. I've tried three PCs.

I contacted UK laptops again and I was assured they would send a new XP Professional Installation CD. It's been a week now and I'm still waiting. Fortunately I was able to obtain an XP Pro installation CD from my workplace's IT service department

davec2
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/30/09

I bought a refurbished Inspiron laptop from these guys in November. I would like to say that both the product and customer service was excellant and I saved a fortune buying a laptop which was as good as a new one.

bramb
1 review
4 helpful votes
10/12/09

Please stay away from these guys! They are scammers and will rip you off. I just lost 60 pounds because i wouldn't listen to all the other bad reviews on the internet!!!
They can't fix your card and will send it back to you without even trying to repair it! They say it is fixed but i will not work. After bugging them for a long time they finally refunded me about half the amount I paid them.........

SO STAY AWAY from UKLAPTOPS.CO.UK and uklaptopsonline.co.uk.
They are the same bad company....

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the GB Laptops Ltd staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
GB Laptops Ltd?
Post Review